Report Review
9 Reviews


Pixil
Pixil rated it
Prince Takatsuki’s Mind is Coloured Pink
March 5, 2018
Status: c4
Oh boy. The title of this one really mislead me. I thought coloured pink meaning head full of fluff, or in the clouds. Boy, was I wrong. Extremely wrong.

... more>>
Spoiler

Takatsuki's a no-good pervert. I admire his single-mindedness though. A++

[collapse]

It's cute though. Manaka is a kind, pretty innocent guy who just had his rose-coloured glasses cracked.

Spoiler

It's funny since he really wants to think the best of Takatsuki but the thoughts he glimpses from Takatsuki's mind are too much to simply ignore or forget. I like how he's aware that Takatsuki's dangerous (in the this guy wants to eat me kind of way) and he's learning to take actions to protect himself. Manaka's thoughts regarding his situation are hilarious.

[collapse]

As of now, definitely a must-read! <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
June 5, 2017
Status: c12
It's hard to find bl novels that have interesting stories. This one so far is interesting enough with the historical tag, future just desserts and accidental seduction lol.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC is smart and knows how to maneuver enough in the ancient political scene that he can move up. I have to admit that it is kind of off-putting that he is so far submissive but well what can one really do in front of the emperor? At least he knows how not to die. He's an admirable somewhat Machiavellian character. I am looking forward to seeing how he'll carry out his actions in the future and endear himself further in the eyes of the emperor hahaha.

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil rated it
My New Life, Won’t You Please Become Peaceful!
December 15, 2017
Status: c17
I love this! The MC is the son of a Duke. The Dukes' surnames are the same as the Knights of the Round Table's. As well, they are loyal to the king/dom. Iirc each ducal house is normally associated to a certain god and blessed by them. Also, they are known for a certain quality they have. Gawains are the leaders, Lancelots are powerful, Bediveres are loyal, etcetera etcetera.

Interesting premise, exasperating but adorable MC, and pretty great leads.

... more>>
Spoiler

I say great but great in that "damn, they're f**king twisted" kind of way. They're so twisted oh my gOD. I was so shocked when Nigel turned out to be a two-faced bastard. I prolly should have been suspicious but, eh. So now there's a predatory bastard, a two-faced bastard, and a dark-humoured bastard. I'm pretty sure they're gonna be Gilbert's but I'd really pity Cass if he gets them because they're twisted as f**k. At least Gil's kinda aware (though not about Nigel hahahaa)

Sorry 'bout the swearing, I'm staggered by their damn twistedness.

[collapse]

I quite like them. They add to to the story in an interesting way. I can't wait to see how it develops. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
September 2, 2017
Status: c7
A novel set post-zombie apocalypse where human civilization is on the path of rebuilding itself. It is interesting because the MC is not what you'd expect after reading so many zombie novels. While he is smart, he is also very human. He feels fear, and it sometimes causes him to freeze as that is what fear most often does. He's not all that heroic, but he does mourn. I can't really say if this novel will continue being well-liked by me with the 7 chapters currently translated, but as of... more>> now, 5 stars. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil rated it
Secret Nights In The Inner Palace
August 19, 2018
Status: c7 part4
This novel was so good. The translation, as many have already praised, is amazing. The rape element actually did slightly discourage me from planning to read this but I bit the bullet and soldiered on.

How the story progressed was pleasantly surprising. I like how the relationship developed and how the novel tackled their issues though more so for Sekka (MC). I disliked Kishoh (ML) at the start but scenes in the novel proved Kishoh's feelings for Sekka and somehow I was moved. Usually, I would add a spoiler about events... more>> in the review but I think it's worth it to go through every chapter and be all the more satisfied reading the final one.

The final chapter gave closure to just about everything I wanted to be tackled, except perhaps wanting to know more about what happened after that (basically, I wanted a sequel, though the last part prevents that from happening). Of all the novel endings I've read, this was one of the most satisfying (story-wise, though the s*x scenes did just as well). Sekka's thoughts at the end was everything I had hoped it would be.

This is very much worth a read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
DKC is a likeable novel due to the female lead and the male lead. I loved how they were cruel to people who have wronged them and cold to people they don't know. It's refreshing. The male lead is a bit too forceful and the female lead is not yet as strong so i'd give this 3.7. It's a fun read.

Just ignore the flowery language. They're easy to overlook. I like how the female lead always ones up the people who wronged her. She is also very spiteful when it comes to retribution so it's quite entertaining.

At first, I did like this novel because the MC had such amazing potential and the guy was hot and domineering (which is cool in fiction but actually not that desired in real... more>> life haha). It was also pretty funny. But I disliked the way it progressed, and also got disenchanted with the mc's personality. I guess the first thing that irked me was that part where the ML doubted her. It's okay. It's pretty good, just not for me. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil
Stellar Transformation
January 21, 2016
Status: --
I actually hated this novel because the first few books are too slow. The MC wasn't really getting any stronger. It seemed to go on forever in a bad way. Fortunately, I endured and the pace picked up. The MC is at least making progress. I've only read up to book 7 so I'm probably not the best judge. I think Coiling Dragon was not boring at this point, though. In conclusion, so far, CD is better than ST.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil
Child of Light
January 21, 2016
Status: --
I like Child of Light. I mean, sure, the main character is lazy and it's like he didn't need to work for anything. Things go unbelievably well for him too despite the fact that he has not really honourable ulterior motives (yeah, yeah, ulterior already implies it's not honourable, but it feels worse when the ones being fooled think he's an honest guy) at the start on some situations. It's fun to read if you don't want too much drama (except for the Ma Ke thing). ... more>>
Spoiler

There's also the irony where the person he falls in love with is actually a demon, which means that the magic he majors in is her race's biggest weakness. He's also unaware of the fact.

[collapse]
The deciding factor, though, for whether I'd like the novel or not was Ma Ke Sai's situation. I liked the plot and MC enough but I f**king hate that he's best friends with an idiot. Now, don't get me wrong, Ma Ke was average in my eyes but then he became so hopelessly in love with a girl who delivered scathing, uninformed (blind, biased) insults to him and still did even after getting a boyfriend (so practically, a b*tch). Not to mention,
Spoiler

the b*tch almost killed the MC, who is, mind you, his BEST FRIEND, but he's still in love with her. True the b*tch later on accepts him but bloody hell, how blind can he be? She's not f**king worth it. He should have moved the f**k on.

[collapse]
....... Yeah. I kind of went on a tangent there but I hated the parts where said true love was featured. The novel is actually pretty good if you don't like drama too much or bloodletting. It's kind of easygoing, so I recommend it if you simply want something to pass the time and not get too bored. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixil
Pixil rated it
Coiling Dragon
January 21, 2016
Status: --
Rating: 4.5
Coiling dragon is the first xianxia novel i've finished and I have to say none has beaten it so far. I've read others, even Stellar Transformations, yet it wasn't as exciting as CD. It was a bit disappointing how the ending was so rushed. Be be ... more>>
Spoiler

even though he had so much more potential than Linley before isn't even at least a High God Paragon but merely a High God

[collapse]
, not to mention the fact that the ending felt cut off. It was so rushed.
Spoiler

Linley just became this Universe Creator and that's it

[collapse]
There was no sort of satisfactory conclusion, there weren't even reactions from his families and friends shown. I also felt that the second half
Spoiler

where he goes to the Infernal Realm

[collapse]
was a bit boring in comparison to the first half. Other than the aforementioned, the novel was pretty good. It doesn't hurt that the main character is loyal to one person, too. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report