Report Review
27 Reviews


Pixeldrum
I'll make this review quite brief. The plot is quite bland and overused. As boring as it can be. It follows the typical JP protagonist reincarnation web novel where Some guy that is OP is reincarnated into a child's body and has powers sealed. Then it is just him acting like a 12 year old with "no common sense." If you really like bland novels, this is for you. I only gave it 2 stars because of good translation quality
73 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Carefree Path of Dreams
April 9, 2018
Status: c70
It's really not bad at all. If you liked WMW, then you definitely will like this novel. With almost the same temperament (although MC here is definitely more righteous), you won't be disappointed. It's pretty difficult to find a novel with an MC that has a calm and collected personality. Most of the times, you'll find yourselves looking at completely apathetic killers, or righteous to the point of childish and unrealistic.

Again, I'm only at chapter 70 of the hundreds of chapters in the novel, but it is quite good, and... more>> the five star rating is for the future prospects that this novel can give. Although MC also gets a lot of cheats, and undoubtedly rises in power as lot easier than Leylin does, I hope that in the future, MC will slow down because his
Spoiler

advantages in terms of constitution should fade away.

[collapse]
If MC gets too OP too fast, I'll have to definitely lower the rating, however, as the author of WMW, I hope the author wouldn't be making such an amateurish mistake <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Reverend Insanity
May 26, 2018
Status: c300
Great novel, definitely publish worthy. I just wrote this review because the two reviews before me complaining about "useless information." Yeah, sorry dude, gotta make some shallow brain dead bread and butter cultivation novel instead. Sorry for adding detailed information to have a more fleshed out universe... Lotr is also awful too haha!!

I think that adding the detail that the author gives is one of the reasons why I like it. A more slow paced novel, that seems very realistic. The entire universe is very well made, and it gives... more>> a lot more world building than your average Chinese cultivation novel. Amazing read, although of course, it's not with its flaws, but that is with every book. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
July 15, 2016
Status: --
While I am all for the ruthless MC's, it seems that this novel uses it as an excuse for poor plot execution, and lack of writing ability. The entire first volume is fairly rushed, I don't feel attached to any of the characters, and over all terrible. Clearly, even though the author tries to have the MC have some logic incorporated into his brain, it is very illogical and incomprehensible. He contradicts himself too often and has a very flawed personality.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
For the 10 chapters of this that I read, from what I can see, the author doesn't really know what pacing means. Things that could take a couple hundred pages at the very least get gleamed over within 17 pages, and things that can be gleamed over take tens of pages.

Also, this is 100% one of those webnovels where they have the "I'm a guy who got reincarnated, but I am a girl now, but don't worry this is just a tropey plot device that really won't impact the plot... more>> at all, other than the token mention every so often that is mandatory of every novel that does this"

Conclusion: If you're bored out of your mind or really don't care about quality and want to read a brain dead poorly executed slice of life novel involving a child actress, this is for you. Sorry, I can't really mention any good things about it. Everything about this webnovel has flaws and is full of holes. Cliches and tropes are sprawled around everywhere, and I just had to drop it after 10 chapters. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Gate of God
June 15, 2018
Status: c120
The only thing this novel's got going for it is the unique and i'll be honest, interesting cultivating system. However, just because the cultivation is unique and fresh doesn't make this novel an automatic 5/5.

Take the way to cultivate out of the equation, and the novel is filled with cliches, one sided, one dimensional characters, MC is a mary sue that never loses, and "coincidentally" makes friends with the most powerful people. Many typical "villains" and other archetypes that are repeated over and over again in cultivation novels like these

I... more>> endured for 120 chapters, but it doesn't seem like it will ever get better. Author needs to learn how to write well <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
July 1, 2020
Status: c250
I first started reading Tensei Slime well before the anime adaption, and probably when the novel had around...50 chapters? The beginning of the novel is fine. You could even call it pretty good. However, as the novel progresses, the power creep just keeps on coming and coming, and you wonder if it'll ever stop. It really doesn't.

Many webnovels suffers the fate of going from lvl 1 to OP tier way too fast, and as we all know, there needs to be a decent balance to a novel for it to... more>> be good. Tensei Slime has the actual worse power management with characters and plot. Characters don't "progress." They get absurdly OP within a span of tens of chapters. Coincidentally, they're also all characters on the "good side." Pair this along with "magic science/technology" (Literal 5th grade science, makes you wonder why other people that transmigrated didn't come up with anything) Rimuru's "country" becomes absolutely unstoppable very quickly. In the end, Rimuru and all his subordinates are extremely OP, and there's literally no opposition to speak of. Rimuru is the player, everyone else are NPC's at his whim. It's extremely sad. Super high level existences become a mere nuisance for Rimuru to deal with.

Rimuru wins fights against entire armies. "Wars" are fought yet it's a complete wipeout and surrender from the enemy with 0 causalities on Rimuru's "good" side. Prisoners and neighboring countries integrate within his territory. Subordinates are empty husks that serve as plot armor for Rimuru. There is no sort of struggle that Rimuru or his comrades ever have to deal with. They just plow through with their OP abilities. "Peace" is then achieved, Japanese culture keeps on getting integrated. Random tourist attractions get added.

What I'm basically saying is that this webnovel has no sense of balance in story, characters, world building. Rather, it seems like the author is just making a wish fufillment novel of a bland japanese man that transmigrated and got spoon fed until he became the strongest in the world. Then, he pretends to be righteous in all his actions and integrates his own culture into his own country with decisions and actions that have the maturity of a ten year old. Rather than have an interesting plot, it's more of a formula of getting strong--->"formidable enemy, " can't win------->MC gets op ---------> wins effortlessly. Other than developing Rimuru's subordinates, every other character and place gets a few sentences of flavor text because they're obviously not important and will get taken over by Rimuru's army eventually. This novel is too boring because everything is so easy. I get that it's imaginary, but this novel is like a game I used to play with my friend when I was in second grade. "I have a super death laser that will kill anyone." "Well, I have a super shield that blocks everything!" "Well, my sword can cut down your super shield and also warp space and time... etcetc." Yeesh. My rants been going on long enough.

The only thing left for me to talk about is comparing this novel to Overlord. Overlord also has a transmigrated MC with OP subordinates, yet the difference is stark. Subordinates are extremely loyal to MC, yet they also have distinct personalities that you eventually get to learn of after having multiple character building arcs that barely involve the MC at all. Tons of world building is included, so you get to learn about other territories despite them seemingly being unable to have any chances of beating Ains Ooal Gown. Many weak side characters that are important to the plot are fleshed out, either supporting Ains or against him. The novel is slow paced, yet as a result, it feels extremely satisfying when big events happen. When a war happens, there are volumes and volumes of exposition behind it. Politics are actually a thing in Overlord, despite one side being absurdly more powerful than the other. There are mysterious characters and forces that actually might rival the OP MC and his gang so it;s not a complete steamroll. You care about characters dying (which tends to happen quite a bit). You aren't killing the random king of weak kingdom A, you're killing the king of Re-Estize, who dearly loves his kin, has reasons to not surrender, cares for the kingdom, is sorrowful for the loss of his Guardian Knight, and despite not being the smartest, still tries his best at managing the kingdom to his last breath. This is the difference. Not setting or character difference. But worldbuilding, plot, and good pacing. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Slow Prison Life
October 11, 2019
Status: Completed
I sat down and read this in a six hour sitting. I will have to say, if anything, it was quite impressive that the author could make up so many scenerios about a single setting and a limited amount of characters to fit two volumes. That being said this story dragged on wayyyy to long. Honestly, 10 chapters would have been ideal, but instead it gets dragged on and on... While an interesting idea, this novel does not fare too well in then long haul, it gets a bit stale,... more>> repetitive, and boring

Especially when you consider a lot of just convenient how the MC is a Mary Sue more and more. Beautiful, tall, smart, mature, calm, etc etc. I get that this is a comedy but it gets played off to me as a wish fufillment story more and more as the story progresses. And there are a lot of chapters where its not exactly funny, like the prince trying to kill Rachel, stuff like that. The novel tries to make a lot of things comedic but quite a few miss their mark.

It’s alright, I read it to pass time traveling, but honestly it was a chore to finish. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Overlord (LN)
June 17, 2019
Status: v13 afterword
When I first started reading/watching this series in the summer of 2015, I had already consumed a lot of media, in the form of anime, webmanga, and just a little bit of webnovel and visual novels. And I enjoyed (I still do) "genius protagonists" in the series I have watched that make smart decisions, think rationally, and do the best thing that fits the situation. Examples are things like KR webnovel Reincarnator, Emperor of Solo Play, warlock of the Magus World, Death Note, Kaiji, etc etc. Basically, a smart MC... more>> that is able to make the perfect action in response to a situation no matter what has occurred to them.

I aspired to be like those smart MCs. I figured that I would also act like those MCs if I was caught in a similar situation. If I was reincarnated into a different world, there is no way that I would fare poorly, and die as a mere common peasant. Rather, I would slowly level up my power just like those MCs would have.

However, reality would be different, and Overlord expresses that beautifully. Compared to those genius protagonists, I am unable to match. I am no genius, I wouldn't be able to keep calm during a dangerous situation like those MCs would, I do not have the prose, fineness, nor the intellect to scheme as well as any of those smart MCs would have. In reality, if I were transported to another world, I would panic. I would be under distress. I would not know what to do. Rather than thinking about what I should do next, I would wonder how I got there and express disbelief. I wouldn't be able to rein my emotions in, nor would I have any sort of plan going forward.

Muruyama Kugane expresses what a person would actually do in a situation like you see all the time in reincarnation novels in the form of Suzuki Satoru. Just like me, Suzuki Satoru is a normal man, and he does what a lot of other normal people would have done. He acted flustered. He acted foolishly, He couldn't rein in his emotions without the help of his species characteristic, and even then, he was unable to rein in his libido. Satoru didn't have a plan either. Satoru is just like one of us. He represents all of us, on what we would probably be doing if we were transported to another world like he was. No master plan, No massive intellect, and no calm and collected mindset. Rather, a panicked mess of a person that eventually fumbles his way around in the world through time, and even then, that fumbling around was only achieved due to the massive advantage given to him.

While I don't like writing reviews often, I have to give a mention to my #1 novel of all time since 2015. What a great series. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Plundering the Heavens
July 13, 2018
Status: c280
For a cultivating novel, this is pretty good.

I'll keep it short.

Author makes MC's personality actually act like a child sometimes, or have the mentality and the inexperience of one, which I think is something other authors tend to miss out on when a novel with a 12-15 year old child MC is included.

... more>> Of course, some plot armor is pretty evident, but not enough for it to take you out of the experience, and I would consider it to be at an acceptable standard

All in all, not something that revolutionizes something, but it's a more unique story than other cultivating novels, and the writing quality isn't bad. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Overgeared
June 20, 2018
Status: c180
A lot of people dropped this novel because of the beginning, and how the MC is unbearable and cowardly. I am the complete opposite. In the beginning, at least he had some personality and character. As the novel progresses, he becomes more and more bland and like a mary sue.

Alright, let’s say this “good natured MC” is more preferred. I can get behind that. However, the way he changes is so s*upid. ... more>>
Spoiler

He literally is described as more mature and has more judgment because of his insight skill being high.

[collapse]
He also is surrounded by beautiful women such as : Lady Irene, Jishuaka, Yura, The copier class girl, his sister, sister’s friend, etc. They all sort of like him for absolutely no reason other than plot progression and “romance.” He becomes more generous because he is uhhh... out of debt? I mean, this is the most logical one out of them all, as well. He also becomes handsome and all from gaining... weight? One of his biggest character traits was that he was pretty below average in terms of appearances, but now he’s a confident handsome man who can woo top beauties. He’s also described as more mature and less short tempered, but that is also circumstantial, as he apparently has bipolar disorder, where he is calm one scene, but absolutely mad the next. Also, the one that hit the nail on the head for me was when the author shows character progression with “He became more mature, ” “He became more good natured, ” and “he became more close sith the guild.” Show, don’t tell, man.

He becomes OP, handsome, gets girls, is rich, while 90% of the story is about him progressing levels, getting skills, and crafting items.

But don’t worry! He still takes advantage of people! No, now he’s the typical “evil and greedy” person but eventually pays back what he takes. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
August 2, 2017
Status: Completed
Short review:

ISSTH was quite a good read, with the characters, plot, and pacing all very well done for a webnovel. For a cultivation novel, it was great because although it was 1600 chapters long, there were a lot of interesting parts and it did not feel very repetitive. I also respect how the MC doesn't form a harem, because of his dedication to the his partner, even though he had many opportunities to make one. Compared to all the other cultivation novels, although it doesn't completely blow away all... more>> the competition, it is a cut above the rest. That being said, it also has some drawbacks. Although a lot of characters do appear, a lot of them are there to serve as foil to the MC. On the flip side, a lot of characters are also essential even though they have not appeared for hundreds of chapters. There are slow parts too, especially the first 100 chapters or so of the story, and some other parts as well that seemed to be very boring to me, but that was a small part of the story. All in all, if you like cultivation novels, ISSTH will definitely not disappoint, especially if you hate harem novels <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Misunderstanding novels. To be honest, comedies have always been my favorite, and my favorite sub-genre in anime, novels, and manga has always been misunderstanding novels.

That being said, not all misunderstanding novels are well made or funny, for that matter. This series, despite being a misunderstanding novel, is quite terrible. I mean, first of all, the beginning is extremely cliche'd, and it really didn't give me the vibes of it being a sort of "poking fun" premise of all the other isekai novels. It's just plain bad. The beginning is quite... more>> rushed, and plot just keeps on happening at an extremely fast pace. He goes from extremely weak to OP within tens of chapters. I honestly don't really care that comedy novels like these have an extremely OP MC. However, execution DOES matter a lot. His isekai chapter is as bad as it gets, and the way he powers up is extremely mundane. Well, whatever. Does it actually get any better after that, though? No, not really.

This novel has a terrible beginning because it's rushed, poorly executed, and no characters are developed. And that trend stays for the rest of the novel. You get introduced to the minimal amount of characters, and all of their personalities are extremely one dimensional. Not a single one of them get any actual character development, even the main character. They're very convenient for the MC personnel wise, so that his development of territory is perfect. Antagonists are conveniently just "evil" people with little to no remorse that the MC can kill. This greatly impedes the necessary tools to success as a comedy. If all characters are boring, how would I ever find them funny? Comic relief characters are blatantly made clear that their only role is to provide cheap laughs by executing the same comedy routines every time they get some time in the novel. Characters that might seem to be important to the novel get pushed aside for new, cheaper characters so that the author doesn't have to think about characterization. God knows what would happen if he created a character with any depth.

Despite the novel being a comedy, it focuses a lot on plot. That'd be at least kind of acceptable if the plot was good, but of course it isn't. If characters aren't well made, how could the plot be any better? It's just random people that get in the way of the MC with plot armor. It ends up with the MC winning, and the setting changing slightly with different, but extremely similar antagonists. Rinse and repeat, and we're already at the 5th volume.

However, there are two things that just make the novel terrible. The MC, and the world building. The universe is set at a aristocratic one with extreme scientific expansion. Galaxies are being conquered with advanced technology and warships. Seems pretty interesting, but the setting never gets expanded upon. You basically only know the country the MC is in, and the only nobles that are mentioned are ones that are on the MC's side, or his enemies. The only advanced technology is "learning capsules" (lazy plot device) and warships for battle. It'd be nice if there was more politics or at least some showcase of the technology there. How is it implemented in everyday use? How far has research progressed? Of course, none of that actually gets mentioned. The MC is terrible as a character because he's inconsistent. My biggest problem with him as a character is his relationship with Amagi. He gets really close with her, yet neglects her, and even picks up random women on the side. For a person who despises people like his ex-wife, he sure as hell doesn't care nearly that much about Amagi as he did before.

Anyways, I won't go any further in my criticisms of this novel, because that would be endless. However, I will just say this: the novel fails as a comedy because the misunderstandings are poorly set up with one dimensional characters. Take Overlord, one of the most popular JP misunderstanding novels, and my personal favorite novel. It's funny because the Kugane Muruyama takes the time and actually invests time into each character in the novel. Dialogue is plenty, and you actually get to know all the personalities of the main and side characters in each arc. This makes it so that when the actual interactions between the MC and other characters, the dialogue is great. Plus, when the MC in Overlord takes over a land, it's a lot more than just "I am OP so I take you over or you die, " like what Liam would do in this novel. There's actually a lot of exposition, and even a lot of time in the shoes of people who are getting taken over. All of these are great set ups for misunderstandings with the likable Suzuki Satoru. Overlord sets great foundations for the comedy, while this novel just throws it at you.

Alright. Despite all my complaints and my inability to point out anything actually good about the novel, I still basically caught up to translation in a mere two days. I can't help but pin this on my personal enjoyment and that I was pretty bored at the time. You truly have to shut your brain off before reading the novel, and it's not even funny. I didn't really laugh. At the same time though, I did finish it. Perhaps it has the least amount of merit as a novel you read as a "buffer" as I did. I just finished reading a good novel, so reading a s*upid "turn your brain off" novel like this might be fine before starting on something that's actually good. It truly was mildly interesting. But if we're being honest here, it's still not worth reading by any means. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
June 21, 2020
Status: c1247
I've been sticking with Record of a Mortal's Journey to Immortality back when it had only around less than a few hundred chapters translated. Once I figured out that Renegade Immortal, one of my favorite novels at the time, had taken its inspiration from Han Li from Record of a Mortal's Journey to Immortality, I knew this novel wasn't going to be bad. And it truly was pretty good. Every few months to half a year, I would catch up to translation without fail

However, just like how water flows down... more>> a river, time does too. A few years passed, and my standards rose. I stopped reading Record of a Mortal's Journey to Immorality back at the 1000 chapter mark because I had caught up to translation. I recently put Renegade Immortal on hold indefinitely probably a few months before due to it's poor developments into the later stages of novel.

Here I am now, with over 500 chapters to read, and I finally couldn't read it anymore after chapter 1246. The events in that chapter were pretty much the reason I dropped it. Chapter 1246 was just the final straw, though. It's a spoiler, so I won't talk about it, but it honestly was probably only half the reason why I dropped the novel. I had to admit: the plot armor that all cultivation novels struggle to keep a balance with had caught up to Han Li. Fortuitous encounters kept on happening to sustain Han Li's rate of cultivation, and it gets repetitive at some point. To be honest, The Kunwu Mountain arc was when it started getting repetitive and Han Li was just getting ridiculously OP and lucky. Shortly after, it got pretty good, but then fell back to it's repetitive style.

I think we all have read novels--especially cultivation novels that degrade worse and worse as the Main Character progresses through cultivation stages and breaks through to great powers like spatial manipulation and navigating through multiple universes and planets. It's hard to keep the novel interesting at that point, and I've seen many novels fall because of it. To this day, the only pure xianxia cultivation novel that I read in its entirety has been ISSTH. All the other cultivation novels like that I finished like Warlock of a Magus world aren't really xianxia and more of a different type of novel.

Record of a Mortal's Journey to Immortality has truly been a long ride for me. It was one of the first cultivation novels I laid my eyes upon, and it's only been recently in the past weeks that I have been catching up that the novel has been falling apart for me. Up until that point, it truly had been one of the best cultivation novels so far. For now though, it shall be put on hold indefinitely along with Renegade Immortal <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
The King’s Avatar
December 3, 2019
Status: Completed
I cried.

Not because this novel was sad, but because of how relatable this novel was to me. All the characters' drive for victory felt so genuine that I couldn't help but empathize. Step by step, you see Ye Xiu and his team's progression as you go through the novel: it's magical how the novel culminates towards the ending. It's the ONLY webnovel that I have read that actually depicts a realistic professional e-sports player rise to fame.

And it hits hard. It's amazing because Ye Xiu's persistence towards victory and glory... more>> are authentic, and it shows in the novel. Millions of other kids in the world would love to be a professional e-sports player. I know for sure I did, at least, and it's pretty sad once you know that you're just not talented enough to make it. I gave up any hopes in going pro in League of Legends just a year ago. I was getting old, and I was in college, yet I was still only making it to Challenger, rank 100 at best, and regularly demoting to Grandmasters/masters. When a 14 year old kid was rank 12 and already in a pro team's training camp and was better than me, I knew I wasn't good enough. He was better than me even though I've been playing League since he was 6! I gave up my dream of going pro in League after persistently playing since season 2. It's... demoralizing. Hopeless.

Yet, Ye Xiu's feelings of fulfilling his thirst for the championship title transferred to me, and as a result, also left me fulfilled, as if I was on Happy, fighting with them for the championship title. All other webnovels pale in comparison.

Overgeared, Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World, and even Moonlight Sculptor all are utterly childish when compared to the world The King's Avatar presents. You'd really think that any sane game developer would make a cheat class and not patch it a day later? That you would steamroll competition because of some random buff you got? No. You're s*upid. That's not how it works. If something is broken, it gets patched. It pisses me off when I read some random VR novel or something that has a person stomping through competition with random stat titles, unique classes, amazing weapons, and whatnot. Even if you have a good class, you have to have pro mechanics to even have a shot at beating any other pro player, even with an advantage.

And yes, I'll be the first to admit it. Ye Xiu's umbrella is this "unique" class advantage that I was just talking about. But going back to my previous point, as if he's a bad player. He's got talent and skill to back it up. He's one of the best, and having the umbrella wouldn't do you any good if you weren't one of the best. Ye Xiu makes the umbrella look broken because its HIM playing the character and using the weapon. Him winning three championships on a standard battle mage isn't for show. It doesn't really matter what class he plays, because he's bound to be one of the best regardless of which one he chooses.

Lastly, of course, let's not forget that this novel has flaws. Despite my high praises, it's obviously not perfect. Honestly, for an online game's fighting mechanics to be more complicated than a Xianxia novel or just real life combat, you know that this game would never actually exist in real life. Let alone trying to make this game a reality, just patching something would be a nightmare. It'd be impossible. But honestly, this is more of an upside rather than a con for me, since it just makes the novel that much more immersive. You get to know the mechanics of the game step by step. You know when a maneuver is considered "amazing." You know the combos, skills, and the strengths of weaknesses of each class. You get to know the actual real life cast very well. The slow paced of the entire novel makes this so much of a better read. It's much better to have details than not have them at all.

Plus, there are quite a few unrealistic things going on.

Bad players don't get replaced by better players in Ye Xiu's team, but that would obviously never happen in an actual professional team setting.

Pro players get "too tired" after playing a match. Ok, I get it if you're playing football. But man, its an online game. A few days rest is certainly going to replenish your physical fatigue, of course, maybe not your mental fatigue.

This novel is also obviously a "good guys win" sort of novel

<spoiler>

Ye Xiu is able to find amazing rookies that even other scouting camps can't do. They actually get good enough to make it to professional league after a year of practice. They win championships after winning Challenger league.

</spoiler>

Yet, just like how in Lord of the Rings where no one important dies and good guys win, this novel isn't bad because the ending is unrealistic. It's because the ending isn't really what you're there for. It's the journey there. Just like Lord of the Rings, the journey Ye Xiu makes towards the end is truly what you're there for.

The King's avatar is amazing novel, and no other VRMMORPG novel / e-sports novel comes close to what this novel will do. And if you disagree?

1v1 me in Arena. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
I Alone Level-Up
March 13, 2019
Status: c100
You know, I definitely wouldn't call this unreadable. It just pretty creative, cliche, and stale after awhile. It is like I am reading a cheap knockoff of Seoul Station's Necromancer. I won't explain why, because it would be spoiling it, but the MC and Seoul Station's Necromancer MC are very alike, make similar actions, and the setting is almost the same.

It's not the first time a dungeon in the real world setting in a novel has been used, and it sure won't be the last. That being said, the author... more>> makes a pretty unimaginable and boring world, with few creative actions of his own.

Not terrible, but surely something you would only read on an airplane, bus, or on a boring sunday. A mediocre read that you don't need to read at all. I suggest reading other dungeon novels like Seoul Station's Necromancer or Arena <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
February 25, 2018
Status: c200
I wouldn't call it bad, but compared to demon's diary and Record of a Mortal's Journey to Immortality, it really is a MEH novel.

I'm not going to go too in depth but the novel is very bland, and it is definitely a different style that what this author usually does. Not that different is bad, but the author isn't good at writing and fleshing out these new personalities of the MC and side characters.

The biggest difference is that the MC is a lot more kind hearted and that he's infatuated... more>> with a girl (and there are like 30 other girls that are 'beauties' that maintain a 'friendly' relationship with). Romance is basically a mess, kind of like his other novels, except this one has a lot more emphasis on it, which makes it that much worse. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Possessing Nothing
July 29, 2020
Status: c80
Honestly, it's a drag. MC has "mysterious powers" that allow him to get away unscathed from otherwise death threatening situations. Basically, plot armor. Author doesn't feel like putting the effort of actually making a story, and he just slaps random characters and fight scenes to keep the plot going. Random characters help out the MC and have "goodwill" towards him. They're all extremely powerful or have great influence in the world, and they all meet the MC because of his "mysterious powers." The author skips worldbuilding and even skips the... more>> character interaction part. It's just that the character becomes friends with MC immediately due to the MC's aura. Lol.

Plus, the fight scenes are haphazardly played out and not written very well, especially not a wuxia. The novel also loves to show and not tell, which is just amateur mistakes. "I don't like this food" "the house is big" "her hand turned into a tentacle and hit me" "he is very fearful" etc.

Anyways, there's not much to this novel at all. Characters, dialogue, and plot are all ruined because of the MC's thick plot armor, and the writing is also subpar quality. Can't really recommend. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Running Away From The Hero! (Remake)
July 20, 2020
Status: c120
Months after the latest chapter had been translated, I finally decided to write a review. It's very unfortunate that translation has stopped completely, since this novel is very good. That's enough of my comments though. Let' s jump into the review.

Well, first and foremost. This novel is a comedy and gag novel. If you're looking for something serious, this is definitely not the novel for you. However, it's also not just a cheap comedy novel with no sense of world building, characterization, and plot. Running away from the hero manages... more>> to make full use of its plot and characters to make an extremely funny novel in its entirety.

Most of the novel includes the monologue of our MC. Without it, it wouldn't be nearly as funny nor interesting. However, it's only one piece of the puzzle that makes the novel great. Different perspectives and points of view are sprinkled across the novel so that you get to know the thoughts of all of the parties involved. As a result, you get to know what they think of other characters, what they want to do, and you also get to know all of the characters as a reader. The clash of personalities in the novels and different perspectives make the novel not only extremely funny, but it also makes you wonder what the plot has in for store and builds up all the characters. You'd think that the plot pretty much serves as a backdrop for the comedy, and you'd be kind of right. The comedy certainly relies on the plot, but the plot itself is funny and makes you want to know what's going to happen, since all of the characters are involved in it. And with the plot progressing, the setting and circumstances in which the characters are in all change, and that ensures that the novel will never get boring.

I love all the characters, fantasy setting, the monologue of the MC, and the dialogue, and the switching perspectives throughout the novel. If you like comedic novels, this is one of the best I have read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Pixeldrum
Pixeldrum rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
May 5, 2020
Status: Completed
I started off reading Paradise of Demonic gods years ago, when the series was still just beginning to be translated. At that time, less than a hundred chapters was out. Finally, years later, the series has come to an end.

Overall, it was quite good, but as with most cultivation novels, Paradise of Demonic Gods keeps getting worse the more you progress through it. The ending was clearly the author trying to rush through the ending since he knew that his series was going down into a downwards spiral, so he... more>> axed it prematurely when there was at least a few hundred chapters of content he could have made, but he instead condensed it into 10 chapters.

I'd say he made the correct choice. The ending arcs of the novel are just atrocious. The first 1 to 700 chapters or so are pretty good. I'd say with confidence that it is a 8 or 9/10. The beginning is pretty good. I really liked the concept of a revenge novel on a time limit. Cultivation system, not super unique, but definitely pretty different with its power progression. A bunch of weird, new, and interesting cultivation concepts were used in those 700 chapters, and it's pretty good. In the end, the novel is good because you want to see Fang Xingjian become the strongest. The whole revenge idea is basically resolved in the first... 500 chapters or so? You read the novel because you want to see Fang Xingjian destroying some arrogant beings that want to suppress him.

However, the plot derails very quickly after the first 700 chapters. Characters basically become irrelevant other than Fang Xingjian. New, random characters start influencing the plot and at that point, the story is already ruined. The cultivation system doesn't really matter at some point, and Fang Xingjian becomes OP in like 1 chapter. The author really tries to explain a lot of the "super unique cultivation methods and powers" in the concluding story arcs have while also making the old cultivation system absolutely irrelevant. The problem is that the author does a really bad job of explaining it. It's a huge concept, and a bold move. I can't say that I didn't really understand the whole thing, because I did, but it was done in a bad, boring, and text dump way. It's just out of the author's pay grade to create a novel with that sort of conclusion. It's not executed well, explained poorly, and characters are invented and used to progress the plot that the author had in mind. I appreciate the effort, but it's just not that great. Character, story, and worldbuilding weren't exactly the author's strong suit to begin with. The story was pretty linear and easy to understand in the beginning, but it just keeps on losing steam. I am disappointed, but I understand how the story fell in to shambles.

In the end, Paradise of Demonic Gods should have been finished by the time Fang Xingjian's revenge plot is completed. So, I can't really say I'd recommend the series. It's pretty good in the beginning, but the ending parts are bad enough that it's not worth reading. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report