Report Review
18 Reviews


Phiex
Phiex
Heavy Sweetness Ash-Like Frost
September 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I watched drama first before reading this novel. I was crying when I watched the drama, now I cried again. What a masochist I am. I know how it will end, but I just can't help but curious and read it all night. Actually, the drama helped me a lot when I read this book cause my imagination more vivid, and the book helped me understanding some characters more. Even though, I was surprised that ML has such fiery personality than in the drama (he seemed more soft and patient... more>> enough with MC).

Spoiler

oot, I'm really glad that Deng Lun got the role as XF cause he's the reason why I hookep up all night watch the drama. He looks sooooooooooo cool!!!! I love watching his wide smile, looking at his eyes. It's been so long I like an actor/idol like this. I'm fangirling him now.

[collapse]

The novel really has a charm with its comedy and angsty plots. It revolves around love triangle and with some plot twist, I don't know who is more pitiful or who has more justice between the three important characters. I feel like they have their own flaws and reasons why they did it which I can't pinpoint who has the greater fault in this. Which makes it perfect to make an angsty scenes. I'm trully glad that there's some epilogues, because the ending left unsatisfied (the same with the drama, cause I had some questions that was answered in epilogues). The development is exist, either character development or relationship development. Remember that the MC was fed with Unfeeling Pill.

This novel is like water and fire. The first half of this novel you will laugh, towards the end you will cry. The polar opposite. Though yhe writting style seems abrupt at some points. It's jumping around to other scene without notices. Nevertheless it still a great story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex rated it
Demon Wang’s Golden Favorite Fei
September 13, 2018
Status: c118 part1
The interaction between FL and ML is so tacky and cheesy. It develops too fast, which makes me think it's a shallow and abrupt relationship. Like when a singer sing and the jury said there's no "feel", I think that their interaction has no "feel" either. I mostly skip their conversation, those are greasy and stiff eww.. Actually, not only the main couple is tacky. The description for some duel is gaudy. I can't help but laugh, it should be serious situation but the author seems like to add unnecessary... more>> background which ruins the atmosphere. I'm kind of suspicious.. Does the author want this book adapted to drama??
Spoiler
  • paint battle : the heck w/ butterflies flock on the canvas
  • zither battle : Sangguan Wu Ji "la la la" LOL
  • Guli battle : fight with dancing jutsu + flute music as background
    I rolled my eyes everytime I read these gaudy battles

    [collapse]
The arcs are repetitive, clich

and typical. I somewhat tired reading this kind of story and I feel sad because

Spoiler

I don't know why most romance author seems very fond with this unreasonable jealous females as antagonist. I feel like, there'll always be a stereotypical that female is a stupid unreasonable jealous b**ch and that it is the most "interesting" thing in most stories. Somehow, it just tells us that friendship between female is flimsy and fake, stupid unreasonable jealous female is everywhere, everytime.
You see,

  • The first arc is MC's sister are jealous with MC cause she got males attention, and then somehow the princesses jealous at her too.
  • 2nd arcs, MC is in another country : Guess what.. Another jealous female antagonistS. Yes, there'll be SOME jealous female antagonistS in every arcs. I don't know how many times I faceplamed myself. The stereotype is severe.
    "Women, no matter if they're wise, astute or intelligent and sly; no matter if they're good and simple-minded or vicious and ruthless, as long as they fell into the strange circle of love, they would lose themselves." - [C82].
    Say that to ANY women!!! I cried!!!
  • 3rd arc in 4 countries competition : Another bunch of jealous women. This Guli girl is a bit better, at least she still has conciousness.
    .
    .
    .

    [collapse]
The FL/MC is mary sue character. Apparently, she can do everything and anything. It makes me wonder what's the use of having ML in the book. I mean she's practically independent and perfect in any ways. Even, I think that the ML is fall short to the perfect MC. She's better alone and be independent imo. The trouble will go away since most problems caused by this ML.
Spoiler

With this kind of story, I was confused why does this novel has high rating? Now, I know.. Turns out, this is fujoshi nest. I think most BL lovers like this because of some gay plots here and it will lit some fujoshi imagination.
Err.. And other "fetishes" is also there

[collapse]

Will edit this post after I finish reading this novel. I give up <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
There's one thing that I don't agree even though I know that this is fiction but still

... more>>
Spoiler

There's a hunting battle which infuriated me so much. I, in my life, never agree such things happened. And you know what, the book stated that they hunt the beast to the point of extinction!!! The hell is that!??? The hunt them everyday, they hunt them for fun, they hunt them for price, they hunt them for food, they hunt them for exams, they hunt them for strength.. yes, no wonder that they go extinct!!! And if all of the beast go extinct, do they breed their pet beast and kill them just for those reason? Ridiculous!!!!

[collapse]

Honestly, it's kind of tiring.. reading the same scheme over and over again. There's no color at all. See, this MC wanted something but then an antagonist came, provoking her, insulting her, hindering to get that things etc.
Spoiler

"Do you know the consequences of offending me???? You need beating!!! / you seek death!!! / I'll kill you!!!!" Kill... KILL!!!! Murder... MURDER!!!!

[collapse]
Bammm the battle happened, and she won. Thus creating another antagonist for the sake of revenge It's so predictable and boring. At this point it become a joke.. the saddest thing is they have to bicker for a whole 3-6 chapters to get to the point!!!!!!
Spoiler

MC walking
AC : hey look!! There's that sl*t MC. Let's bother her blah... blahhh (1 chap full)
MC : go away!! (1 chap full)
AC : I don't like you (1 chap full)
MC : who CARES!! *Proceeding do what she wants (1 chap full)
AC : B**CH YOU DARE IGNORE ME!! YOU SEEK DEATH or LOL.. LOL DO YOU HAVE THE SKILLS???LOL LOL LOL (1 chap full)
MC : let's bet (1 chap full)
The battle begun and she won
AC (1/2/3...n) : either die or WAIT FOR MY REVENGE!!!!!!!!!

[collapse]
That's basically what I've concluded after 300+ chaps.

Then it seems that the author kind of detest "wordy" character. But the author is the most "wordy" person. It has too much words or explanation that could cut them off. Unnecesarry explanation that hurts my eyes, brain and internet quota. Such a joke!!! I think I only read a pharagraph for each chapter after 150 or so, and it doesn't hinder me to understand what's going on in the storyline.

The relationship between her and the prince is quite sweet but not enough for me to see a new light from this novel. That's said, I'm halting this novel for a moment. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Empress with no Virtue
August 15, 2018
Status: Completed
Bless you, if you can read this till the end.

Honestly, for someone who likes romance this is maybe the one. The beginning chapters are cute and funny. Interaction between emperor and empress is quite entertaining. Bickering, love-hate type, tsundere. I must say this part is the appeal of this novel. You will find it funny or/and heartwrenching.

Then toward the end, it becomes draggy, weird, and nonsense. That's where I dropped it and I need to make believe that c55 or around ... more>>
Spoiler

(+a pregnancy chapter)

[collapse]
is the perfect ending. Man, I'm still pissed by the way it ended, what was author thinking by adding weird plot in it? It ruins the whole thing.

For the characters, the MC is not that great actually, she's smart borderline annoying imo. The ML (emperor) is a pervert, boring and flat character. The memorable thing for this emperor is his pervert nature
Spoiler

at some point, I almost believe he has somnophilia tendency, which is creepy

[collapse]
. I'm not even remember if he ever help the MC to solve her problems. I almost wish Lu Li guy is the ML.

Then, the antagonists are quite repetitive which I kept forgeting who is who, who was doing this, fortunately they weren't that important because they're bland. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Regardles of how over-powered and mary sue the MC is, I like this novel very much, because :

    • MC has female friends which is rare in this female protagonist based c-webnovel. Even, there is some female beast/spirit. The excessive stupid jealous female antagonist is less than any other novel. Idk why some novel (even though it's FP based novel), they seems against female a lot which is kind of ironic. But this novel is different cause I can see the effort to put some female side character on good light. (I'm quite happy with this)
    • The MC has likeable personality. I like it when she doesn't go rampant killing anyone and still has the moral and logic to forgive. Not a petty character, indeed.
    • The romance budding may be slow. But this is a good thing cause the MC focus more on cultivation, to be more stronger, expanding and deepen her network and relationships, developing her own character etc.
    • It's well-written with various schemes and ideas. Even though those are quite clich among xianxia/wuxia/xuanhuan novels. And I have to admit the converstation flow is a bit stiff but still enjoyable to read
This is what I conclude after reading till chapter 306. Too bad, the translation will be slower or stopped due to an issue.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Husband, Be A Gentleman
September 24, 2018
Status: c54.2
It's certainly not well written. The conversation flows are stiff and robot-like. There's a lot of plot-hole, the schemes are crude, characters are shallow and 1D, no development, etc. The selling point is only smutty scenes

I can't help but compare this to other works with similar plot, and thinking this is a downgrade version. I don't see any point to continue reading this novel cause it's quite predictable with mediocre writing style.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Tbh, I fell asleep whenever I tried reading this. At first I thought I was just tired, but three times, it become obvious that this book is boring. I'm not even sure what I've read so far.

There's some points that, I think, is the problem:

  • I don't like how every female antagonist potrayed as shallow jealous characters. Until this very chapter, I counted 4 females had fallen victim to this trope, roll eyes (read Lotus200's review)
  • The plot is repetitive and it always involve jealous woman that tried to 'steal' ML. Boring
  • The conversation flow is stiff and forced. Sometimes borderline cheesy especially between ML and MC. Yawn~~
  • MC is unrealitically too OP and her tasks are easily achieved. There's no room to feel excited, they're just coincidentally at the right time, at the right hand etc... snore
  • Romance is just alright
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Mr. CEO, Spoil me 100 Percent!
November 16, 2018
Status: --
The moment when I reached the part where her soul swaped to another body or something, that's when I drew my line. I mean this premonition thingy just because she has brain tumour is already over-the-top which I commonly saw in cheap soap-opera drama. Yeah right, this novel is extremely dramatic. So I decided to drop before I wasted my time more and read the spoiler which is a blessing. Cause what I really hate in most novels are nonsense plotline, strayed from original plot, filler chapters, excessive characters.

Talk about... more>> excessive characters, throughout reading this, I kept wondering (always) if.. is there any antagonist in real life that was over-exagerrated like those in this novel? Those antagonists have same characteristic which I can't differentiate between each antagonists, I almost convinced they are all clones! They only thing they do is hate too much that makes them mad and they're 1D. *shakes-head. What are they? A robot without any other emotions than wrath? I know, this is a common trope, should not asked.. I just tired of it.

Romance?? Nah, although I really like MC's indifference toward ML and I really want to read their progress more, but what can I do, she has swapped to another body... Hurray, I was at lost, another arc has begun.

I don't know what happen next, and I don't plan to continue. For me, it's ended before she swapped to another body. The rest, I depend on spoiler which save my time. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Rebirth of the Strongest Female Emperor
August 27, 2018
Status: c55
I can't give solid review cause it lacks material (only 55 chapters so far), it will be unfair. Until adequate chapters are available, I'll hold back my opinion. But I can give tiny bitty opinion. This books has good premise and interesting, I get some fluctuations of emotions (yeah I steal this from TGFNSYL) when I read this. I would like to read it till the end in English. Moreover, the author is North Night!!!

Until then, I'll keep updating this comment if there's a progress or some other variables (fall... more>> back) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
August 27, 2018
Status: c985
Now, I'm convinced that North Night is my favorite Chinese author. Her/him stories always make me hook up till days, I don't even care with my sleep time. Forget about sleep, reading North Night's stories are a must!!

The comedy, romance, adventure etc are quite good. Some schemes or idea differ from each chapter (except, among author's book). The building of emotion, character development, any kind of romance or relationship, funny expression, solid characters are found in any book of North Night. NN's writing is smooth too, it's really well-written.

The downside... more>> is sometimes, it has too much monologue, exposition. I know it helps a lot to build reader's imagination. It's just that.. Imagine it has 2000+ chapters and you need to read it to know the core of the story. My eyes hurts!!! I cant help but skip them.

I don't mind with the fillers as long as it's linear with the core and will helps us to understand things in the next chapter which I rarely find in NN's, this book included.

Spoiler

oh well, I forgot those filler chapters about the 4 animals and their grandpa urging them to catch SYX as their future wife. Yes, these chapters are unnecesary. The comedy is kind of okayish, and I somehow skipped them halfway.

[collapse]

Another thing is sometimes I think NN is a bit s*xist despite all NN's protagonist are female.
Spoiler

There's a chapter that blatantly stereotyped that woman is wicked or vile, a character that hates women, a lot of male important side character than female (you can count with fingers how many female important side character in every NN's books), weak female demon (why can't female demon has the same power with male demon? It's demon!! Not human!!), gender bender character as if a female countenance is unacceptable for some sort of situation. I'll not surprised if NN decided to make gay book someday (honest!!! I'll be sad if that happened cause it's rare for me to search good author writing female protagonist).

[collapse]

Don't put some degree seriousness on my comment regarding this issue, I just feel icky, unpleasant. If I'm quite serious, I'd have dropped any NN's books long ago. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Chaos Of Beauty
August 18, 2018
Status: Completed
I'm in despair

I should have not read this novel

F**k LC... I never like him from the beginning. This is the first book I find the ML is so infuriating and despicable.

The female lead, don't get me wrong. I don't hate her, she's amazing character but I just wonder

... more>>
Spoiler

what if this FL died tragically in the middle of story. I have this thoughts in the midway of reading this novel and thinks that's a good solution for all those problem that's brewing off from her (caused by her alone). How fitting it would be, when suddenly every male characters here losing their goal. I would like to see their despair, halted their political plans, and then mourning together in front of her burial ground, holding candles and singing praises to her lol

LC wants GW, Emperor wants GW, LRE wants GW, YL wants GW, GXW wants GW

See, the centre of their problem.

[collapse]

I would not recommend this book to anyone tbh <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Chongfei Manual
September 20, 2018
Status: c171.3
Chongfei Manual is a fun light-read novel. I think this is the first time I read a novel where the FL have multiple female friends, bestfriend I say. Which adds more fun in it. I appreciate the author for not diregard female nature on this. Each character is different from other characters. Sadly, some interesting side characters don't have their limelight in this book. Well, that makes sense actually cause they're side character which happened have this "interesting" side on them. A pity imo.

Re-edit after reread
... more>>
Spoiler

I was commented my disagreement with MC's personality. But now I realize, this book is interesting as it is. No matter how the MC is.

And I was compare this book with "Rebirth of the Tyrant's Pet". Nevertheless these two books have similar plot but different scheme. These two books are interesting to compare actually, cause the way the MC handling their future is vastly different

[collapse]

On other side, the ML is err.. Quite forceful I guess. The same formula. That's all. This book is quite smutty, I don't know why there isn't smut tag in this. Does what I think is smut is different with the definition of smut in this website?? I just think that smut is on milder side than mature which is more blatant, glaring, gore (for fighting scene) etc. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
September 2, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is quite fast-paced imo, but not to the point of rushed. There's a steady timeline (no past-future thing.. but steady to the future). The author succesfully bring me (or most reader) to each important moment of MC. The main couple is sweet, almost like a faitytale (well, it is). I must say, the book emphasize the main couple relationship, the building of trust etc. Both MC (FL and ML) tried to make their relationship work smoothly to find their happiness. That's why it's quite sweet. But, despite that,... more>> this novel is quite dramatic even though it is still in normal threshold, not over the top. Except for some stupid characters.

Spoiler

I'm not saying HY is my favorite character (no, he never). But I think he's the most interesting character here. He was shown with major character development which hurt my heart that I cried. Among all of antagonists, only him that had major change toward the MC. He's a romantic. Still, author is cruel for making me crying. It would be better if he's the same with other antagonists by pursuing his ambition till the end, but he gave up!!!! And still holding his precious memory till the end!!! My kokoroooo. I can't!!

Spoiler
[collapse]

Qu Qing Ju continued to walk. Occasionally, palace maids and taijian would be encountered and they would all move aside and kneel, "If a person doesn't dream, then they wouldn't have done anything. San shu, have you regretted what you once did?"

He Yuan looked deeply at her: "Maybe regretted once, but now, everything is settled and it isn't important."

SEE!!!!! WHAT DID THE AUTHOR DO TO MY KOKORO!!!!!?

This is kind of subtle, but once you know the meaning behind it... *lyingonmybed *cry

And there's more more deadly, but you better read this book

[collapse]

Why can't I make spoiler inside spoiler???? It's always fail like this... someone!!!

Emotional aspect, if one understand and have vivid imagination, I guess they would have no problem to find which moment is funny, which moment is sad, which moment is 'moe', etc. I myself sometimes didn't understand the underlying meaning of some sentences and I have to google or read the comment to know what it means. Too much China's idiom, poem, figure of speech, metaphore. Another problem is the translator seems want to educate us with lots of pinyin which annoying in the beginning. It hinder me to fully understand what is what, though in the beginning there's some footnote and additional chapter for pictures, but none is found on the half to end chapters. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Empress Running Away with the Ball!
August 22, 2018
Status: c369
I read this novel a long time ago. Tbh, the topic/the notion of this book is quite boring. There's some repetition of same problem cause apparently the male antagonist can't be killed.

The characters are :

... more>>
Spoiler

Useless ML cosplaying as OP male. Damsel in distress MC cosplaying as strong-willed woman. Psycho male antagonist. Stalker side male character. Evil mother in law and step-sibling.

Oh, the psycho male antagonist is really psycho for not wanting to let go his abused wife. And the MC is stupid for letting go her chance to get out from her marriage, just because she's swayed by what his situation. Her stockholm syndrom is so severe cause she really seeks her death. And she's actually an idiot for showing her real face before she divorce her husband. She realized the reason why her husband never took a liking to her, and yet she showed her face before divorcing her husband. So much for a strategy. I'm done

[collapse]

Another reason I dropped this book was because I realize I waste my time reading the same scheme over and over again. And it seems the author doesn't want to let go this boring novel. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Your Highness, I Know My Wrongs
August 21, 2018
Status: c95
Imo, this books is quite boring, lots of clichè which made me cringe and skipped those chapters. It's a light-read romcom book, though it has some drama.

If you're a serious type, I recommend you to not think twice. Just read it leisurely, let it flow and create err.. Crude imagination.

My greatest impression of this book is FL/MC. The FL is really money oriented but still has moral. I warn you that this inclination/behavior may annoy you cause literally in every chapter she has always described as such. The author... more>> wanted shameless MC with lots of admirer without crossing the line to make it different that any other romance books so the author may thought that there's a need to explain her weird behavior in every chapter.

Any other characters seems insignificant, even for ML. The explanation seems rushed, less conversation that makes it shallow. I think the problem lies in this book's writing style. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Singing Spring Melody
August 21, 2018
Status: free talk
If you're tired of dramatic story, then read this. It's a light-read romantic book, simple with comedic flavor. The first chapter may aggravate you to the point of dropping this book. That was what I intended to do, but I decided to be more patient. And I'm glad that that sliver of patient was paid off.

Read it leisurely. It's like a breeze of fresh air.

... more>>
Spoiler

The story is quite simple. It has adorable feels in it. The storyline goes to a ML was bullying MC just because he's taken interest of MC. Yes, the behavior is like kindergarten boy bullied the person he liked but in this story they're grown up people. Still, it's quite cute.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
Mulberry Song
August 17, 2018
Status: Completed
There's some conflicting thoughts in my mind as I read this. Firstly, it was because I've read this type of stories with different views. Mulberry Songs is a story that emphasize loyalty in life and death. Suffering for their so-called true love, which is romatic but cruel and selfish.

I, for being sensible, rarely put love for a mate as a priority. Maybe my believe hindering me to able to understand the story and main characters. It looks silly and naive to me. Beautifying something that is almost nonexistence. I may... more>> sounds bitter but I haven't found a reality as close as this, not yet. Nevertheless, it still able to deliver some emotion, that is sadness. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Phiex
Phiex
The Demoness Is Not Evil
August 17, 2018
Status: Completed
I have to admit Chinese literature is somewhat confusing. There's a lot of idiom, culture, or words that don't have direct translation to another language. When I read this, there's a lot of underlying meaning rather that literal which confuse me greatly. I have to read and think twice or thrice for each sentence that I didn't get cause how subtle it is. It's like a poem (and I don't like poem tbh).

Fortunately, the translation group is very thoughtful for giving readers some footnotes about what it means. That's a... more>> point I'm grateful with. I really wish the longevity of this group, albeit I wish too much, it seems.

For the storyline, it's simple. Less drama, nothing gore, with some smutty and fluffy scene. Well, it's a romance novel, nothing is deep here. Romance novel is meant for feeding human feeling, which in a way, this novel able to deliver some emotions.

I can't say much for the characters. The characters are interesting in each own. I will recommend this for anyone who is above 17 years old for smutty scene (I've read the worst, but there's nothing wrong for a caution). Oh well, this is josei which means my caution is sensible. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report