Report Review
27 Reviews


Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
In a Different World with a Smartphone
June 15, 2017
Status: c82
Well, it's a slice of life in another world... That's it. The humor is nonexistent (there's satire, but no humor, there's a difference), the action is nonexistent, all the side characters have the personality of an NPC: only existing to assist the MC. And worse yet, the MC was gifted extraordinary god-like power but only uses it to build bicycles, hot springs and electric fans, even though there's a race of demons who are capable of wiping out the human race, the unmotivated, indecisive MC just spends his time leisurely... more>> resting on his laurels. He decides to spend his time on slice of life magic even though he should be capable enough to learn more powerful magic, all so that he can hide behind 12 year-old girls when it comes time to battle. At least in Man Picked Up By the Gods (a similar slice of life Isekai WN) the MC is motivated, decisive and capable of protecting himself.

With such an overused concept, there needs to be some aspect that stands out in order for the story to be entertaining, but this series has none. The satire is actually very good (I'm assuming it's satire and not just horrible writing), but the reader can't be entertained by satire alone, there has to be some other element such as comedy, action, adventure, or a unique MC. This series falls woefully short on all counts. If this is your first Isekai novel then it might be worth two stars, but if you're an Isekai veteran just skip this. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Ore no Isekai Shimai ga Jichou Shinai!
June 1, 2017
Status: --
The story itself isn't bad, but the MC is the most annoying character ever!

In the first place, the MC should have a relatively hardened personality due to his previous life's unfortunate events (at least compared to most first-world teenagers), but somehow in his next life he's the most naive pushover character of any series I've ever read. He always puts others before himself. What's that you say? That's what all Hero Protagonists should do? But he's not in any sort of position to do that. Essentially the plot is that... more>> he's reincarnated as the illegitimate son of a noble, and as a result he's being literally imprisoned by his father until his arranged marriage so that no succession disputes arise. Moreover, he's been deliberately deprived of any form of education, magic or martial arts training. He can't even learn to read. But rather than trying to help himself and escape before he becomes completely hopeless, he obediently falls for the Stockholm Syndrome trap without even putting up a fight, to the point that

Spoiler

He even sacrifices his own mother in order to help the daughter of a woman who wants him dead and a man who treats him like cattle, simply because she's the only person his own age who he can converse with.

[collapse]

Honestly I'd prefer the typical bullheaded, brainless shounen MC over this sort of guy who understands how stupid his actions are but still follows through with them.

But if your SP can survive reading from the perspective of this spineless, idiotic, too-kind-for-his-own-good MC, then you might be able to enjoy the story. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Lazy Dungeon Master
May 13, 2017
Status: c20
I'm fine with lazy characters, but this MC is more of a scum character than a lazy character. ... more>>
Spoiler

Like he purposefully waits until after the little loli is raped before saving her, what, because he feels saving her is inconvenient? Then, when he finally does save her and turns her into his slave, instead of learning the other world's language himself, he goes out of his way to have the dungeon core teach the slave loli the language, all so he doesn't have to go through the effort to write for himself.

[collapse]

Then there're the "misunderstandings" that drive the "humor." I'm personally not a fan of cringe humor, even more so when the MC purposefully walks into the cringe-worthy situation. For example,

Spoiler

when he learns the loli slave was previously named "Meat" (a slang for s*x slave) by the former master, he makes no attempt to change it, even though he realizes the meaning. Of course, as expected, he's treated as a pedophile by every human character he meets, all for the sake of a "comedic" situation. Then when he receives his first adventurer request (cleaning toilets, wtf), the MC comes up with some convoluted lies in order to hide the fact he is good at magical toilet cleaning (who cares?) all so that he can have more "hilarious" misunderstandings? Moreover, not only does he go through so much effort to hide his "amazing (?) " abilities, but he makes it look like he left his loli slave to clean the toilets by herself while he played around on the town.

[collapse]
If you're looking for a semi-serious story, stay away from this one. It's 90% comedy, only every single comedic situation is a complete miss. Unfortunately, a great concept is wasted by poor humor. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Nidoume no Jinsei wo Isekai de
June 2, 2017
Status: --
There are concerns regarding the inconsistency of the MC's memories and personality.

It's been mentioned that his memories were supposedly erased, yet he somehow remembers various knowledge about Earth. Ok, I guess that can be explained by the difference between memories and knowledge. Like the difference between input files and output files, he can remember his attained knowledge, just not how he learned that knowledge in the first place. Though this is just my conjecture, and it was never explained by the author, but I can rationalize to this extent.

But then... more>> there are inconsistencies with his personality. The MC makes a lot of Isekai WN comparisons, but he's supposed to have been a Ninja/Assassin/Warlord type existence (I'm not exaggerating) in his previous life, in which he lived until a full age of 94 years... I guess maybe he was just a really cool old WW2 veteran dude who loved Fantasy/Harem Web Novels... ugh, OK, I'm being optimistic here but I guess I can live with that self-explanation.

But then there's the inconsistency in his decision-making. It's mentioned and shown early on in the novel that the MC has an unyielding personality and is not easily influenced. Yet he willingly walks into a dangerous political situation that no rational person would involve themselves in, simply because a girl threatened to falsely accuse him of raping her if he doesn't agree to help. He doesn't get angry or try to gain any upper-hand in negotiating with her; he just simply gives up as soon as she makes a basic threat. Basically she gives him an ultimatum of: you can either have s*x with me and repay me by risking your life in a high-stakes political struggle for no gains, or you can not have s*x with me and I'll level a completely obvious false accusation against you... Rather, isn't he totally just thinking with the wrong body part!?... And that might be fine if the readers actually got any details, but we don't even get a clear definitive answer as to whether or not he actually slept with her, let alone any sort of entertaining R-15 descriptions. Author, if you're going to make the MC into a complete pushover at the mention of s*x, at least give us a few details please! (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Er, I guess if you can just turn your brain off for a while, then this novel is enjoyable... But on the other hand, the plot seems to be heading in a semi-complicated political direction, so you can't exactly turn your brain off if you want to read the story. The novel might have worked out as a simple R-15 comedy if the author had kept the plot to a simple ecchi harem adventurer story, or alternatively it might have worked out as a serious fantasy adventure with political undertones if the author had managed to make the MC's personality consistent... But as it is, with the author's lack of writing talent, this novel just reads like a children's story with more gore (the gore is where the R-15 tag comes from btw). <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
The only positive thing I can say about this is that the MC is somewhat original. I've read novels that portray an MC on his journey to godhood (like Death March... or just about any Chinese novel), but I've never before read a series where the MC starts out as a God.

Now for the negatives; even though I said that the MC's situation is somewhat original, it's only the premise that's original. As for the MC's personality, well it's still the same spineless, boot-licking, pushover, beta male personality that's common... more>> in Japanese novels. Now objectively speaking, that sort of personality is not technically something that can be considered a negative, as it should be judged by personal opinion. But when the premise is that the MC is literally a God who created all things and has been alive since the beginning of the world, is it really appropriate to portray him as the typical pushover, herbivore, surprised and scared at every turn, spineless, subservient, etc etc etc? I mean it's inconsistent and annoying that the person who literally created all women somehow gets all flustered because he accidentally saw a girl in her underwear. Not just that, there's common knowledge in the story that should be universal no matter how long ago the MC was "sealed, " but the MC, who created all things, is still somehow ignorant of it.

There's also the author's annoying habit of beginning every chapter with a lengthy summary. Seriously, what is this, Dragon Ball Z? It takes all of a single day to read this entire series, did the author think I'd forget the things I just read 2 minutes ago? Even if you're looking at it from the perspective of real-time releases, the duration between releases shouldn't be more than a week, right? Nobody's going to forget the premise of the story in that amount of time, so it's simply not worth it for 1/4 of every chapter to just consist of repeating the same information over and over again.

Then there's the asinine good vs evil shounen schtick. Even if you put aside that the MC has no personal goals or objectives and does everything blindly for the sake of humans (who are just one of many species he created), the MC keeps on mentioning (the story is written in first person btw) that he's glad that the person he just killed was a demon instead of a human, because otherwise it'd be murder... they're both sentient species, right? The MC was originally not a human, right? In fact, both species should have been at least in part created by him, right? Yet somehow if humans die at his hands it's murder, but if a demon dies at his hands it's just par for the course? That goes beyond shounen-standard shallow imo.

On the same note, even though the MC was sealed for 1600 years with nothing to do, he still never stopped to think about the perspectives of others? Just how much time would he actually need to properly reflect? I mean there's probably a reason that the goddess who "loves" him still took the other gods' side. Does the MC ever wonder or inquire as to what that reason is? NO, even after 1600 years. Just way too shallow.

tl;dr, the premise and the characterization are just way too far apart for any intelligent person to find this novel enjoyable. The plot itself wouldn't be so bad if not for the grade-school-level morals and ethics it entails. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
The story:

20% MC making stupid decisions

80% MC pointlessly lamenting over the consequences of his stupid decisions

... more>> Repeat ad infinitum

There's the tag: 'Naive male lead.' But naivety implies a lack of knowledge due to a lack of experiences; whereas this MC is just a straight up fool who never learns. Maybe if his idiocy was for the purpose of advancing the plot I could forgive it, even though it'd be poor writing, but there's no such thing. The author just straight up purposefully made the MC an idiot just for the hell of it. I guess it's supposed to be humorous, but it just turned out to be annoying and unfunny. If the story were written from a third person perspective I might be able to laugh at the MC's idiocy, but since it's written from the first person perspective I just feel mentally exhausted after having read 20 chapters from the viewpoint of an incurable fool. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
The characters and plot are completely one-dimensional. The MC has no back-story, rather than being a reincarnated person with amnesia, it's more appropriate to say he's just a newborn with random knowledge of earth technology.

And every chapter, there are at a minimum 5 paragraphs detailing the specs of the guns, and another 5 paragraphs of the characters praising the guns... Are the guns are the main characters? You'd seriously have to be a gun-otaku in order to enjoy this story.

It's supposed to be a dungeon-building, reincarnated into a fantasy world... more>> story, but it certainly doesn't have that vibe, I mean, there's no magic or anything that I've seen that isn't pertaining to guns. I feel like the author's thought process was something along the lines of: 'well, nobody will read my story about guns if it's set in a modern setting, and those Isekai novels sure do have a lot of readers, so I guess I'll just try to trick people into reading about my gun-novel by making the setting a fantasy world where the MC just conveniently has the knowledge to build guns but nothing more.' <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
June 16, 2017
Status: c30
Titled 'The Lazy Swordmaster, ' but rather than lazy, the MC is just a childish and negligent leech. Hear this: laziness requires intelligence and efficient decision-making. But this MC just procrastinates until problems pile up and he has to go out of his way to solve problems, rather than preventing problems from occurring in the first place. He acts so lazy apparently because he wants to avoid trouble, but his false lazy persona is what draws trouble to him in the first place, in addition to pissing off the... more>> people who care about him.

The MC is just a leech with an Oedipus complex, and because he acts that way intentionally, his character will never grow throughout the entire story. So don't waste your time with this one. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
May 22, 2017
Status: v2c1
If I were the author of Arifureta, I'd sue for copyright infringement (I exaggerate, but really there are too many similarities). I mean the events of the first volumes are almost identical, only Dungeon Seeker has a darker style (that doesn't mean its more intelligent, it just means its more gloomy, for those of you who think dark plot = intelligent plot). For those of you thinking, 'well this will be better than Arifureta because the MC will definitely take his revenge, '

... more>>
Spoiler

at least for the girl who betrayed him that seems to be false. Its just my conjecture from the author's foreshadowing, but it seems that the MC forgives the girl who betrayed him; moreover, it seems she somehow time travels into the past and saves his pathetic life (Vol 1, Ch 6 & side story Noriko's revenge). So not only does he not get to take his revenge, but he ends up indebted to her after she tries to kill him in the first place. In order to make this plot development feasible, the author tries to garner sympathy for the girl by showing that her life was crap after she betrayed the MC... that doesn't really help the story when the only thing the readers have to look forward to is the MC's revenge (that's the result of making the story so depressing, author-san).

[collapse]

Overall, the story isn't horrible, but in my opinion the author put too many eggs in the 'revenge' basket. But if you're a masochist who likes
Spoiler

to see the MC publicly humiliated, NTR'd, cut up limb from limb, spiral into depression, then get his revenge and sole reason for living taken away...

[collapse]
then go for it, this novel is just for you. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
When I read this I imagined the author to be some middle-schooler who liked Overlord so much that he decided to make a fanfic. Why fanfic? That's because it's just way too similar to Overlord. Everything from the introductory plots to the occupation of the MC in the original world, or the relationship between the MC and his subordinates. Everything is just like an inferior copy. The only different aspect is that the MC is human instead of undead. As for why I imagine the author to be a middle... more>> schooler: the writing quality is just that bad. The mediocre translation quality doesn't help much, but it's also easy to see that the original quality was below average at best. Whether it's the lack of descriptors or the almost nonexistent transitions, I can't imagine this to be the work of someone 16 or older.

All in all it's not the worst series on this site, but that's only because 99% of it's good points are plagiarized from Overlord. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
September 26, 2017
Status: c153
The story is great, the skill/level system is well defined, the characters are somewhat well developed, and the plot doesn't jump around randomly like a child with ADHD like a lot of web novels do. However, the MC has one personality trait that I can't stand: he's a herbivore, y'know, like he runs away when girls confess to him and loses his cool when they make eye contact. This is bad enough in a non-fictional environment, but in the world that this author has created, where 1/100 people have some... more>> sort of charm or mental ability, if the MC doesn't take responsibility for these girls he's eventually going to get NTR'd (although it hasn't happened yet). It kind of ruins the story for me because in my mind even if you're the all-powerful master of the universe, if you run away when a girl confesses to you, you're still worthless. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
This series is enjoyable, not great, but enjoyable enough--that is, if you can read past the first volume, which is complete nonsense.

But, putting aside the first volume which is way too rushed and incoherent, there are 3 major problems with this series:

  1. The MC, even though he's literally the most powerful person on the planet, he still has that Beta-Jap personality; I don't want to stand out too much. As a result, his slaves who he personally trained take credit for all his greatness (through the MC's own design), while the rest of the world just considers him a frivolous slave owner who mooches off of his slaves accomplishments. Moreover, the MC's sense of morality is lacking in logic. The MC is in the body of a 15-year-old, and he's followed by a slave girl who's 14 years old and is absolutely in love with the MC (for good reason), but he says: No, I'll at least wait until she turns 18, it's immoral to have a relationship with her at this age, but then in the same chapter he'll go visiting brothels like it's no big deal. Somehow that's how his sense of morality works, to forsake an innocent girl who loves him and has nobody else in the world to rely on for the sake of a prostitute. ugh
  2. The cooking, so annoying. The author describes, in excruciating detail, every single damn meal the guy eats. The story is supposed to be a Fantasy Action/Adventure but there's more information about the food than about the actual plot. Somehow it's like I'm reading Shokugeki no Soma.
  3. The skill system is bugged. Some things like Magic and Magic Resistance I can understand, but somehow you can't become proficient at everyday things like cooking, arithmetic, or even talking to people, unless you allocate skill points to it? And you can't obtain skill points unless you beat monsters and level up? How did society function in this world before the MC came along, I wonder?
The Pros:

Tami and Pochi are cute af... That's about it. I'll give it one star for that, and another just because I particularly enjoy Isekai novels.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Firstly, the writing style... is horrendous. The author doesn't give any physical descriptors. All we learn about the MC is that he's 16 years old. What color hair does he have? What color eyes? How tall, how thin, how muscular, what type of clothes does he wear? I'm afraid I might have to read 40 chapters from this annoying first person perspective before I find out. For the side characters, we don't even get to learn their ages. All we know is that one of them is a former princess,... more>> and the others are Lolis, which could mean anywhere between 4 - 12 years of age. First of all, the MC is not a reincarnated or summoned individual; he was born and raised in the fantasy world setting, so how do the terms 'Loli' and 'Loli-con' even come into play? Ugh, Author-san, if you're going to write in first person, the narration has to match the setting.

As for the story concept, it might actually be really good if the author put some more thought into his writing style and character development. But the story is too rushed. Somehow the MC is able to perform better in his first-ever fight than a 10-member party of experienced adventurers, even though his only cheat ability is 'Heal.' And we're introduced to 5 harem members in the first 9 chapters alone if you include the inn keeper's daughter. Moreover, it's a s*xless harem. Also, even though there's no Japanese character, the story still retains the typical Japanese LN cliché: spineless, boot-licking, inferiority-complex-infested MC, who always goes out of his way to hide his skills so that he earns as little respect as possible. Even among his own companions, the MC is treated like trash by his own slaves who do nothing but mooch off of him.

But with due credit to the translators, despite how crappy the story is, the translation team is among the best. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Beauty and the Bodyguard
May 7, 2018
Status: --
The MC crosses the line between humility and self deprecation. The heroine (s) cross the line between annoyingly naive and bitchy. And the plot development crosses the line between slow-paced and aimless.

All in all, the description's tone is very misleading. The MC isn't nearly as bad ass as described.

A pu**y protagonist, a bitchy heroine, and an aimless plot. The concept was good, but too bad it didn't pan out.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
The first 50 chapters or so started off really great, but then the author veers off of the cultivation/modern-society contrast and the story just becomes a standard xuanhuan/xianxia. What do I mean by standard? Well, in the beginning there are no cultivators, and nobody knows about them, but suddenly once he visits a popular tourist destination cultivators become a dime a dozen. So the author loses the whole cultivator vs. Reality motif. Then there's the typical cycle of internal family struggle to the point that the MC's family members want... more>> to kill him for no reason at all. Then there's the cliche that the MC could easily solve a problem, but because he can't be contacted for days or weeks on end, troubles inevitably pop up. Remember, this is modern society, with cell phones, email and facetime, but somehow our MC is incapable of keeping in contact with people for several days. Then there's the old-values system, such as polygamy and the feeling that if someone is physically stronger than you they must be treated with deference. This is not how modern society works. Even more so that to the MC, if someone doesn't respect him as if he's their ancestor, the MC will automatically treat that person as an enemy. Keep in mind that the MC is a teenager, he's poor, and he's not even all that strong compared to even the weak Earth cultivators, but he never gives anybody any face, even people who more than deserve it. He only helps someone if they get on their knees and beg him, and then he'll still take their money. Speaking of face-slapping, there's also that perpetual crowd who have nothing better to do than follow the MC around, underestimate and scorn him, and then act surprised when he turns the tables. Every damn aspect of the series is portrayed in this way. Also, like a lot of people have already said, the 10, 000 year old MC is more immature than your average high school student, and the author's sense of money is just not realistic.

TL;DR, This novel was extremely disappointing for me. It's not awful, but you probably won't enjoy it unless you have an inextinguishable, violent hatred for rich people like this author apparently does. Seriously, every rich person in this novel can only take one of two routes: either become the MC's dog, or become the MC's enemy, even if they're perfectly upstanding, reasonable people. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Isekai Shoukan Makikomu Ijousha
May 7, 2017
Status: --
Edit (1/5/2018) :

I originally gave this 1 star, but in consideration of the author's age when writing this I've decided to add on an extra star just because. Original Review:

The overall concept is fine, but the author's writing style is horrendous. The story is written in a first-person narrative, which immensely backfires, because the author tries to cram in various jokes (that the MC is telling himself in his thoughts) during life-and-death situations, or in the middle of conversations (the jokes never even come close to being funny). The MC... more>> will play the roles of both boke and tsukkomi simultaneously in his thoughts and his mind will wander off on various tangents while the other characters are seriously trying to converse with him. Moreover, the MC tsukkomis everything, including mundane everyday occurrences like getting a haircut when his hair is so long that it covers his eyes, or when a girl lets her hair down. What is he retorting to exactly?? And somehow just seeing a beautiful girl or getting slapped lightly by a girl will knock him unconscious.

In the end, I think the author was trying to be humorous, but it was an epic fail. I think comic relief is important, but this series tried too hard to the point that nothing in it can be taken seriously. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Isekai Mahou wa Okureteru! (LN)
January 5, 2018
Status: v5c1
It's not bad. Or rather, it could have been good if the atmosphere of the story matched what I was expecting based on the genre descriptions. For example genres/tags such as Harem, Seinen, Calm Protagonist and Cunning Protagonist are either misleading or downright false.

Starting with the Harem tag; it's true that the party the MC travels with is mostly made up of girls, but the MC's impression of the heroines never exceeds the shounen-standard 'I saw her crying and therefore I will help her, ' and the Heroines' impression of... more>> the MC never exceeds 'he risked his life to save me and therefore I trust him.' There's almost zero romantic foreshadowing. On the contrary there's more BL foreshadowing than traditional romance.

Technically Seinen is a demographic, not a genre. But if it were a genre, my personal definition would center around the concept that all of the characters operate in a gray area; that is, there are no good guys or bad guys, but simply different characters with conflicting interests and differing levels of means and conviction. You know, like reality. But this series still sticks to the cliché Good vs Evil. That's not to say there isn't some drama, but even those characters who operate in what would otherwise be considered the gray area are still portrayed by the author in an ominous light from the get-go.

As for the calm and cunning protagonist... That personality only barely existed for the duration of the first volume. Even then to say he's calm and cunning is still an embellishment; more accurately he could just be labeled as pragmatic. Then in the second volume the MC performs a complete 180 and 100% contradicts his principles from the first volume. Eventually it becomes clear that the MC has no personality other than what is best suited to introduce the newest heroine.

Somehow the atmosphere that this series exudes gives me the impression that the author originally wanted to write a shoujo/josei novel, but was afraid that it wouldn't sell well, or couldn't decide on just one heroine cliché, or some other disadvantage. Whatever the deterring factor was, in the end the author just decided to haphazardly write in a male lead whose abilities and personality could be changed on a whim to fit the development of whichever heroine the author liked best at the time. Literally the MC's only purpose is to serve as a hub that connects all of the heroines and as a medium through which the author can introduce their system of modern magic.

tl;dr if you're expecting a mature plot with a pragmatic protagonist and a harem, then you've definitely come to the wrong place. But if you just enjoy isekai novels in general, then this is probably worth a read. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Level Up Just By Eating
June 12, 2017
Status: c10
As of Chapter 10, this is one of the top 10 Isekai web novels that I've read. Of course, there's only 10 chapters translated so there's plenty of room for deterioration, but this story has a great start. I think it should mainly be classified as a comedy, but unlike a lot of other "comedic" Isekai WNs, the comedy doesn't revolve around an idiot MC, or an overdose of boke/tsukkomi or misunderstandings/cringe humor. Most of the humor is creative and original (though the plot itself is as unoriginal as it... more>> gets). The writing style, while not ideal, is top tier as far as WNs go. The story is written in first person perspective, but the storytelling and dialogue flows really well, and isn't broken by the MC/narrator's runaway tangent thoughts like a lot of other WNs written in first person. The translation is quality work as well. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
The Human Emperor
November 11, 2017
Status: c227
The concept is great but the author lacks the ability to follow through. There's no romance, barely any drama, a little warfare, some martial arts, but 90% of this story is politics and scheming. The problem is that politics and scheming are only entertaining if the characters are intelligent, and the most intelligent character can only be as intelligent as the author... In this case, the MC, who is supposed to be a genius, really only has average intelligence at best. His "genius" is derived from a combination hindsight and... more>> plot armor. I really, really like the concept, but the author simply placed too much focus on an aspect of the story in which he is lacking.

Additionally, this series, like so many other Chinese series which are evaluated by word count, drags on way too much. The author repeats the same information several times, and over-describes things for the sake of filling the word count. I remember there was an entire chapter that was wasted simply describing the MC walking a few dozen steps.

As such, I wouldn't recommend this series to anyone who isn't particularly partial to reincarnation and time travel genres. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oukis Lips
Oukis Lips rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou!
May 20, 2017
Status: c47
Politics

That tag is sandwiched in between OP Protagonist and Polygamy, but it might as well be the only tag.

The author discusses politics at every chance. Lesson on magic, btw here's how that pertains to politics. Oh, need to buy a wedding gift, actually, that's very politically important for some reason. Pre-teens at an adventurer school, you'd think they would talk about swords and magic, but they'd rather talk about political theory that should be way above their head. The characters will be in the middle of a conversation on... more>> a completely unrelated subject, but the author will randomly throw in a whole page-worth of political commentary between the lines of dialogue, to the point that all dialogue is pretty much unreadable.

The story itself isn't really all that bad, but you would have to be a complete political nut in order to enjoy it. Even then, the politics aren't really all that complicated or interesting. But I guess if that's your cup of tea, then it might be appropriate to give this 3 stars. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report