Report Review
53 Reviews


Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Little Love Song
March 5, 2018
Status: c3
It promises to be a cute love story between two high school friends who reunite after a long absence. One is still sore at heart while the other is trying to make up for it. You know the drill.

Easy flow, good imagery, likeable characters. Looking forward to reading more before rating.

EDIT:

grrrr. I didn't want to rate it yet. I just gently touched the stars as I was scrolling down. wasn't even a distinctive tap...😥
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Even... lol

I only read two chapters so far so can't say too much about the story. But I did want to say that it has been a smooth story, as in a good translation. There is a bit of a mystery regarding MC's death. I hope it keeps being translated so I can read more.

Not sure if it has been dropped. Translator hasn't given it much love recently. MTLed it a bit... -sigh- too hard to bother with. I get the feeling the story will dramatically change once she crosses... more>> over into the other life. Kind of makes me wonder if my investment of attachments to Master will be wasted. I want to see more or Master!!!! He's too cool to be a no show. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst
The 99th Divorce
September 24, 2018
Status: --
Only doing a review because of the review before me. There is NO RAPE. I think the reader didn't read the story right or something.

... more>>
Spoiler

the scene in question involved a compromising picture that looked like she was kissing a guy. He went to pick her up and proceeded to seriously fondle her but definitely did NOT rape her. He purposely stops because he's not into that.

[collapse]

So for the story itself. It's much better than some other qidian ones like for example anything by ye fei ye where rape is specifically used as a plot device.

The MC in this story is actually an ok guy. He knows she wants a divorce and works to change her mind because he knows enough that forcing someone who doesn't want to stay to stay won't end happily. He defends her, surprises her with gifts and promises, and genuinely tries his best to make her happy. As a plus he looks at plots to make them break up with a weary eye and doesn't just fall for them like a dumb chump. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
First the negative:

The story is a little jarring because of the reverse gender roles, which is only done in a superficial way. That is to say the masculine is still masculine and the feminine is still feminine. There's nothing revolutionary, the gender tags are just swapped. Literally that's it. It could have been more meaningful if there were genuine gender role reversals. As it is, it just leaves me a little annoyed at having to correct the gender norms in my head as I read and translate.

The positives:

That's... more>> the only down side to the story though, everything else is very nicely done. It's got:

    • Great pacing
    • Fun characters that are fleshed out (so far).
    • Fantastic imagery and mood setting. (My favorite aspect of the story in fact, super easy to reread.)
    • The MC is pretty cool, the kind that isn't crazy and bombastic.
    • And very importantly: the author isn't ham fisted.
For anyone at odds with the translation, such as the names of the characters, I definitely recommend reading the notes. It will go a long way in clarifying things and putting everything in context. I'm reading as I translate so I won't rate this yet as I'm not that far along, but so far it's an enjoyable read. Am looking forward to reading more. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
If you have a favored pair of underwear that you wear all the time then you'll understand why it can be dangerous to run in a skirt.

Learn from Cinderella and don't lose yours!!

Funny and amusing, short and fast. Very easy to read.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Father, Mother Escaped Again
December 3, 2017
Status: c19
Absolutely fantastic! There are some great zingers in here. I really enjoyed reading it aloud. The MC's dialogue and thoughts are golden nuggets of hilarity. I'm so glad the story translation got picked up again. 😂
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst
Rock Sugar And Pear Stew
June 9, 2018
Status: c1
Male lead: hot, smart and forbearing

Female lead: cute, shameless and brazen

Put the two together and I'm sure there will be humorous shenanigans. Started a little dry but it'll probably pick up.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Utsukushii Koto
January 30, 2018
Status: Completed
I am so glad I only found this now years after it fully got translated. It meant I could binge read the whole night away without feeling shocked and unsettled by the lack of a 'next' button to click. And indeed I stayed up till 9 in the am to read this. Thank goodness for days off. 😅

It is a fantastic story. 5 out of 5. The kind of 5 out of 5 that makes me want to go back and reevaluate other 5 star ratings, know what I mean?
The story is about two straight guys who end up falling in love. There are several role reversals pertaining to... more>> who chases who.

Spoiler

In the end it's the old absence makes the heart fonder and make em jealous approach that worked.

Although Hirosue was indecisive once he came to a decision he acted wholeheartedly.

[collapse]

But it fits and doesn't feel contrived. In large part it's because the MCs behave like adults. There's no excess angst often used to create drama. Through the mutitple POV you get to see what the MCs thought processes are and why their feelings develop the way they do. Which brings me to another point... I love the natural progression of their relationship. And I love the honest expressions throughout. The MCs made sense and were well flushed out characters. They weren't cookie cutter but where people with their own insecurities, desires, and of course frustrating and adorable flaws. Ultimately it's a story about falling in love with the character of the person and not so much their gender.

A very huggable and super easy story to reread. Would totally purchase just to keep a copy around. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Second translator here.

It's an easygoing story about a pretty simple and straightforward girl. There're bits of humor sprinkled throughout and the face slapping isn't too ridiculous. I feel like a fish where sometime the line slackens and I lose interest then out of nowhere I'm reeled back in and I can't help but be hooked again. It's a fun read with entertaining side characters. I especially enjoy little Tian Ke, he's such a mini grown-up! I'm really curious about the "Villainess" as she doesn't seem like a your stereotypical villain.... more>> The only downer is the large amount of names. Ugh.. So many names. It just kills me. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Main MC is a 20 something transmigrated into a girl's body. To keep on the d/l she tries her best to behave the way she thinks a preteen should. For the most part she succeeds, sometimes she forgets.

Despite this she still manages to keep her and her mom and dad safe from the mechanization of her extended family as well as solidify her position in her finance's Manor.

It's not too dramatic and doesn't have bombastic villains, which I like. The interactions b/w MC and ML are very endearing. You... more>> can see how the characters, especially ML evolve.

It's an easy going story to read. For now it's 4 stars. Am interested in the mystery alluded to by the monk. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
August 28, 2018
Status: --
I've tried to get into the story several times but I inevitably lose interest. It just feels very dry and lackluster, making me feel like I'm reading a dictionary. It's a combination of the way the story is told and the characterizations itself; the story just feels really distant. It's like a subject matter with great potential being taught in very bland way by an incredibly boring professor. What could have been wonderful was completely ruined.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Bringing the Nation’s Husband Home
December 18, 2017
Status: c214
Not a great story but if your favored genre is romance you'll suck it up and read it anyway.
In essence it's the tsundere white knight that always saves the damsel in distress. Unfortunately the knight and the damsel are rather annoying in their timidity.

If you enjoy long chapters that let you submerge into the story, you are in for a world of disappointment. The chapters are probably the equivalent to one page double spaced text. On top of that the first paragraph is usually a repeat of the previous... more>> chapter's last paragraph or a synopsis of it. I usually feel cheated when I read them.

The premise of the story is about two people who won't declare their love for each other - even though half the story is internal dialogue about how intense their everlasting love is. The concept is good for maybe the first 100 chapters but now it's just the author killing time.

Character development is practically non-existent. The author describes the main male lead as a very stubborn person for an excuse to keep his character static. He is a whiny somewhat annoying character who uses his family history to justify being blind and ungrateful to the good things in life. Well except for anything that involves the female lead. The female lead is marginally better. At least her actions evolve over time.

Physical contact is used to move the plot along. Some people may not be into that.
Spoiler

There are some not both party initiated but not really rape scenes. I'd classify it as unenthused. As of chapter 212 there is some movement between the characters towards a more amiable relationship.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
If Only Time Stopped at the Moment We First Met
December 18, 2017
Status: Completed
There were parts where I had butterflies filled with expectations. Unfortunately the MC was too cool for his own good so my expectations were never met. This is mostly a narrative piece with very few lines of dialogue. Usually I don't like stories presented in this fashion but for this story it worked out. I expected the ending but because the execution was well done it still hit in the gut and made me feel for the MC. I wouldn't say it's a tearjerker despite the "tragedy" tag but it... more>> did leave a lingering feeling.

The piece had some good points for consideration like autism, rape, victim mentality, coping, and regret. Those points make it sound like a depressing story doesn't it? Haha. No it's OK. But there is defo rape though so if you are sensitive you may want to skip chapter 4.

If there was a parallel story with the love interest POV it would have a similar vibe as this other story about a man who every morning would calculate the odds of him killing his wife and successfully getting away with it. Forgot the title. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Heart of Glass
October 21, 2018
Status: c3
Why are there no words of praise for this slice of life beauty? It's a short enough read at 11+2 chapters. It's a decisive BL with two easy to relate to characters. One has a hearing impairment so his view of the world is just a little more mellow than most people's, while the other is a very straightforward good guy, albeit super impatient. It's an interesting combination. I'm at c3 right now so hoping for more updates soon.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
March 17, 2018
Status: c71
Well grounded characters and good pacing combined with good dialogue makes this a fun and enjoyable read.

It's not frustrating at all because the characters are sincere. Smooth transitions. Definitely recommended.

The only thing annoying is the strong nationalism woven in. It's the same kind of annoyance I get when authors go on and on about a character's appearance. It's just too ham fisted; a little more subtleness would have been better.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Xia Niangniang
March 14, 2018
Status: Completed
What the hell was with that stupid ass epilogue. Seriously! It was just rambling. Had my hopes up for nothing.

Anyways the story itself was good, despite the plot holes. It starts of cute then gets serious at the half way point. Keep in mind, it's unrequited love, not romance, so don't expect anything along those lines.
Spoiler

1. I expected the blind concubine to have a different background because of how well versed he was with the court. Like maybe he was jiggy with the previous emperor and got abandoned.

2. Why blind him? Wouldn't cutting his tongue so he can't speak be a better way to keep him quiet?

3. Why didn't he go back home?

4. How does a blind concubine isolated in thr cold palace keep to date about the war outside and know anything about general Qi what's his name?

5. And finally. Come on emperor. You can't see him everyday, but you can certainly visit him once a season. Emperors go out for the summer and stuff you know.

[collapse]

it's a somewhat bitter ending but I wouldn't call it a tragedy. Would recommend as something to read that's short and easy. I really enjoyed how the author teased the mystery aspect of the story out. That was very well done. On the down side I thought the author was a bit ham fisted with the feelings. Author was trying too hard to make the story emotional. It would have been better to show than to say I think.

i feel like it's the perfect story for fanfic as there are a lot of loose threads to play with.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst
Deep in the Act
November 26, 2018
Status: c22.2
Alt summary:

Two actors become so committed to their roles that the lines between reality and acting blur. Feelings of arousal, possession, jealousy, and protectiveness grow between them. Are these feelings their own or are they just the characters they portray? Are they... in too deep?

Eventually the shoot finishes and the fantasy world they share ends. Without a shared film keeping them together, will their passion fade? Can they return to their lives? Or will they find their way back to each other?

... more>> Review:

It's delicious. Take a few bites, but save the rest so you can binge.

I don't know why anyone would rate this one star. At the least it deserves two. Here's why:

Enjoyable characters with beautiful language and imagery (or maybe that's just the translation?) that kept me enveloped in the story. The focus so far has been solid without needless fillers. As for the translation quality, the writing was smooth, with excellent proofreading, a 90 out of 100.

Now for the story. I wouldn't call it a riveting one, more like one adjective below that: engrossing maybe? The author stays on point and the info flow is constant. You know how when you reread a story you've already read, there are parts you just skip? Not in this; it's all good.

It has so many characteristics that I don't like: the required investment for two separate storylines, abrupt personality changes, and constant time jumps. Ironically, these were the reasons I like the story the most. The time jumps for the subplot was a teasing reveal and I liked taking a break and switching between the main plot and the subplot. I think it was because the subplot was as good as the main plot. I'm MTLing so am probably missing vital parts, but even then, it's still great. I'd recommend for those interested in a meatier version of Screen Partner. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Seriously I so fucking love this. Definitely 5 stars in the fluffy category.

A very well crafted story with down to earth characters. And therein lies the appeal.
    • appearance descriptions aren't annoying and aren't effusive
    • characters are realistic. Realistic. I will say it again. REALISTIC. That makes this story very enjoyable to read
    • no drama
    • supporting characters are used very well, serving to reveal Ling Ke's and Qi Feng's thoughts helping to move the story along in a believable fashion. They are also wonderfully supportive and charming
I too read this on the site Winter Translation. The "summaries" are a looser form of translation but still keeps the authenticity of the characters dialog and inner thoughts. I honestly liked it quite a bit as it made the flow very smooth and gave me a good time.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Friends with Benefits
February 15, 2018
Status: c52
Ignore the stupid cover design. The description though was on point. It's an appropriately angst filled story with realistic characters that weren't over the top. Definitely the kind of story to binge read. Character development, pacing, and atmosphere reminds me a little bit of Kill the Lights. ... more>>
Spoiler

It's not a happily ever after and works better that way. The relationships between the characters, not just the MCs, were believably portrayed.
I really enjoy these kinds of stories. Although they are a tragedy, they are not all just about the ending. It's more so about the characters and the ending just happens to be a byproduct. I really dislike stories with the tragedy tag line that focus on death to pull at the heart strings. Those stories always seem a little shallow to me.

This story on the other hand was very satisfying. The drama and the social interaction we're all well done. If there is one thing I was disappointed in it was that the author chose to complete the final chapter with exposition and a time skip.

[collapse]

Would put in the reread pile. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Otwentyfirst
Otwentyfirst rated it
Ti Shen
February 11, 2018
Status: --
It's so good. I love stories with dialogue, and this has plenty. The author did a great job creating the atmosphere. The story was really smooth and easy to read. It was like watching a tv show. It's not an emotionally stirring story or even a dramatic angsty one. It's just a really good one to read. Strongly recommend. I only wish the updates weren't so sporadic.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3