Report Review
12 Reviews


Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Grasping Evil
April 4, 2019
Status: c160 part2
I'm going to start out by saying that whenever I see someone give a 1* review to a very long novel before getting to even chapter 50 I realize it is a sign of an unadulterated idiot and unfortunately there is no changing that fact. Now on to the regular part of the review.

Let's start off with the MC, he is evil no doubt and is ruthless to his enemies but this is because he has no choice. He has powerful enemies and there is no way to overcome... more>> them by being kind or patient. He is nice and gentle with his allies so that is not hypocritical as no one is going to treat their allies the same as their enemies unless they have a mental issue. It is a dog eat dog world and w/o being this way he will die, sure he has allies but his allies are much weaker than him while his enemies are much stronger than him at the start. He isn't some sort of cheat character either, the MC has been gravely injured numerous times biting off more than he can chew and he is saved by something or someone else. Also while he may have powers beyond his cultivation base he can't use them carelessly because his magic reserve is still two bases below those skills so using those skills drains his magic pretty fast so his battles can't be drawn out ones which makes the battles proper battles instead of him being an unjustified OP character. I personally like how he keeps his promises.

The battles are absolutely amazing and described vividly, for example, I was so hyped reading the battle with Tian Yizi (I'm pretty sure that is how his name is spelled). I could feel the tension in that battle and realize that a single mistake could be his end as he had to sacrifice some of his lifespan to finish the enemy (I'm pretty sure he has done that more than once).

The plot has progressed nicely but at this point, it is impossible to see the bigger picture. Sure he has some set goals but his current goals are 100 years in the future (as of the current translated chapter) even though the story will definitely span much further than that.

There are also nice things like a non-major character showing up 100 chapters later. These things show that there is no event that is unimportant. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo
The New Gate
November 6, 2018
Status: v12c1 part2
*Disclaimer* Don't let any reviews scare you (mine included obviously), I almost missed out on some of my now favorite series due to bad reviews.

Story: 4.5/5

The battles are done well as it is explained in a way where you can see the battles in your head regardless of your imagination levels, and battles like this are part of some of my favorite stories. It is well written from what I can tell but there are some parts where I'm not sure if it is the fault of the translation or... more>> not, but there are cases where characters will make one point and not explain it before moving on to the next. One example being

Spoiler

One of the former NPCs starts by saying "Everything that you heard about High Humans is true" to the other people in Hinomoto but never explains that Shin is one and only that Shin is stronger than Shnee, like it is cool that you are not revealing his identity as he wishes but why did you bring up High Humans in the first place then?

[collapse]

Characters 4/5:
I'm going to go over two of the biggest characters for an example

The MC is actually able to think things through properly, for example, he is the equivalent of a God and while it sounds cool you have to take into account all the annoyances he would have to face if people started worshipping him. Like he is trying to find a way back to his own world but the second the world learns he is there he loses the freedom to do so. The longer he stays under the radar the faster and better he can achieve his goal and how would the world react if he appeared out of nowhere 500 years later and then disappeared again. There is also the fact that to an extent his actions would speak for the other High Humans and the worshipers of the High Humans, anything he does as the Dark Blacksmith affects at least 1000s of people. He also has to be careful with his powers as he could easily wipe a country off the face of the world by mistake and completely alter the environment as a result of battle. A big issue with his development is that 12 volumes in he still can't kick the "This didn't exist in the game" amazement, even Tiera adapted to the abnormalities of Shin quite fast. He is also kind of in denial honestly as he knows full well Marino is dead and she is his main motivation for returning. While at times he may seem edgy it is purely if you don't take the context into account for those actions.

Then there is the girl known as Tiera, she is just odd. She is super strong but purely because she is surrounded by people so much stronger than her she is in denial about her power. She has Analyze so she can see how strong she is compared to everyone else but compares herself to abnormal people only. I also feel she plays a bigger role than she should, her role isn't huge but it feels like more important characters are constantly taking the back seat for her.

To an extent, all major characters have some state of denial.

I think that is about it honestly and in conclusion, a lot of complaints in the other reviews makes me question if they read the novel at all and instead just read the manga because plenty of complaints I'm seeing shouldn't exist in the first place if it was read properly and if you did read it properly, then you are just stupid, I'm not going to expand much more because of the guidelines but it seems to me some of you guys are just really freaking stupid. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
July 29, 2019
Status: 719
I'll come back and do a proper review when I'm done, but as a place holder I have to say, some reviewers/commenters have at best heard the term Dating Sim before and know nothing about what one is, or at worst are complete morons. I honestly never thought I'd see a day where people complain about what is essentially a dating sim protag having an easy time with girls.

Okay I'm back with a more serious review and the biggest issue that I previously mentioned is no longer an issue.

So let's... more>> start off with characters.

The MC is an amazing, he isn't a villain nor is he a hero, he is an ordinary person who is powerful. He doesn't get all the girls even though all of them agree that he is basically the best possible partner. For example one girl gives up on him after she finds out that he formed a harem with multiple girlfriends, she was okay dating him if she was his one and only, but she wasn't willing to be one of his multiple partners. Meaning the romance is pretty realistic in a sense that some people are okay with with a man having multiple women and some aren't, one girl wasn't okay with it so she gave up, three girls were so they all decided to share him. You also have to realize that in his part of society a powerful man having multiple partners is actually pretty normal, so normal isn't the same for everyone and his normal is not necessarily one of monogamy. He feels guilt towards the women, but that is because his mind is majorly that of an ordinary 30 year old man from earth and not that of a young master of a rich family, so his normal is slowly changing as he adapts to his new environment.

His harem are all unique individuals with their own problems, feelings and views on his actions.

Story: The story is well thought out and organized and one event always effects the other, there surprisingly aren't any plot holes as everything is addressed and wrapped up nicely even if it isn't immediately after the event. It may seem like there are plot holes though as it can take quite a bit after the events to close them up and people would forget certain events so they don't even realize it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
June 10, 2019
Status: c698
I can't properly express how much I love this series but I'll give it a shot.

The characters are so great and I got heavily invested with them. For example, I get so worried whenever Qing Wu is in trouble I constantly go back to the NU page to make sure that there is no Tragedy tag even though I already know there isn't. Heck one time it seemed like she was in trouble (A person jealous of her talent) but it turned out someone wanted her as an apprentice, yet... more>> I kept going back to check until I found out she wasn't in danger. Every character has their struggles and it is heartwarming when they deal with it. Gu Xing wants to get powerful enough to free his lover, Wu Shang doesn't want to be clan lord and his brother is threatened by his potential but there is an internal power struggle and it isn't Wu Shang's choice as the current Clan Lord and elders will put him in that position if they want, Kei Di may seem like a playboy but it is a facade since he has ED and he doesn't want to marry a woman if she has to go her life w/o s*x or being a mother, Ji Mo's family is inherently lazy and he ruins his public image so he doesn't have to be clan lord even though he is the child of a concubine and his elder half-brother is a child of the clan lord's wife (both him and his half-brother fight over who is stuck as being the clan lord).

The world building is amazing and new facts are constantly learned about it. For example, people in the lower three heavens believe the world is less than 20k years old. Then we realize that it is at least 90k years old, and then we get a first-hand account of general details about 140k+ years ago to the 90k years ago, then we get some facts about some intervals of 10k years all the way to the present. Also, there was a case of mass extinction because one idiot thought of folding the continent like a paper fan.

The comedy is amazing, one example being where Chu Yang trains his new brother's bodies by having the second brother chase them around with his sweaty socks and whoever gets caught ends up with the sock in his mouth.

My complaint would be the minor antagonists. One example is one clan gets greedy and sends people to rob and kill the Chu Yang but when Chu Yang and his brothers end up killing the would-be killers, the clan then wants revenge on Chu Yang. It is like damn you want revenge because he didn't let himself be killed by your clan? <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
March 8, 2019
Status: c99
Personally, I like this one but I feel that it is either something you will really like or hate.

Let's start with the MC. There are times when this guy is dumb af but when it comes to revenge he is pretty intelligent. For example, he didn't understand the saint woman's actions ... more>>
Spoiler

even though he is literally carrying around the heart of the demon lord, and before it stated her reasons as being told by God that his death would allow a redo I assumed it would be because she would be the one feeling betrayed

[collapse]
. The arc with Grond is overly complex, the MC is putting to much work into making Grond feel despair, a guy who values money only second to himself isn't that hard to mess with. Seeing how Grond was handled worries me about future arcs where it will be harder to mess with someone who isn't driven by something so simple. The demon lord will also be tricky because someone still has to do something about her, she is a threat that won't go away for the sake of his revenge and he'd be the target of another hero after what he did. Also, he could have still recruited the current accomplices, got revenge on the traitors in his former party and dealt with the princess at a later time, I get being furious but take a second to make a plan instead of going on a rampage, the first thing you did was read that this is your only redo so make a proper plan.

To an extent, the story is all over the place in terms of his revenge. He is constantly changing between not messing with innocent 3rd party bystanders and actively involving them. In his current target at the time of my review, one group of innocents would be simple to fix even though he didn't iirc. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Overview:
So far I really like it, not the best but if you are looking for a way to pass the time with a lewd SoL that has occasional battles then you would really enjoy this (Though the story could easily change), though it does have some slightly dark stuff for a SoL. The battles aren't as intense because if it is needed the MC, who is the strongest person in the world, will take care of the rest, so there is no tension in the translated battles so far... more>> and instead he is a mentor that will take over when there are no other options. So it is cool how instead of being an OP MC that does everything himself, he lets people grow so that they can stand beside him not beneath him. I will give slight spoilers w/o spoiler boxes, but they will play no significance either at all or you will only know what I'm talking about as you read it yourself, if there is anything where it would be a serious and blatant spoiler then I will use the box. I'm giving it a 4 but it might increase or decrease as the story progresses as it is good but with some flaws.

Characters:
There are some interesting characters like one comrade who will have no issue selling out the MC if someone stronger than the MC appears, but as long as the MC is the strongest there is no need to fear betrayal as the comrade adheres to "The weak shall obey the strong". Though to an extent he has the MCs protection because he is such a skilled informant that answers to the strongest people if they mess with him they are messing with the informant of the strongest person in the world and if it is found out you killed his informant/comrade you die.

He has a cool somewhat personal guild receptionist that has been with him essentially since the beginning and is a pretty boy that attracts males and females while at the same time he is a complete idiot. The interesting thing is the MCs relationship with these two is so strong that they gave millions of gold for the MC and while knowing his personality (one that wouldn't accept handouts) wrote it off as an investment into the MC.

The MC is cool and while it might seem weird that he agreed too easily to kill her childhood friends, his own past plays a part in that easy decision which is revealed in one of the more recently translated chapters at the time of the review. The themes of his past include Betrayal, Women, and Slaves, so this might help you understand why he agreed immediately w/o spoiling his past. His past is also what brought him to the slave market where the story begins in the first and the reason behind that is
Spoiler

His informant friend wanted to confirm whether or not the stories about the MCs past were real so he brought him to a slave market which is an establishment he would hate due to his past.

[collapse]
.

Eleanor his first girl is a hardcore M and while she takes the lead during sex, it is because the guy is innocent in things like s*x and she has knowledge from books. By taking the lead temporarily since she knows what she likes and is turning him into an S so he can take the lead on his own
Spoiler

He is a quick learner but she is going to be disappointed soon because only got so far recently after another woman gave him advice (actual advice with words) and it will stagnate if he doesn't start learning for himself

[collapse]

Story:

It is pretty fast paced but you are never lost, and it is also fast-paced because the author doesn't waste time with excess explanations, plot-wise you know what you need to and you don't know what you don't need to. I like it so far but with every work of fiction YMMV. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Saimin Regulation
August 18, 2019
Status: c35
A decent Ero Novel but calling it mind control is pushing it, he isn't forcing them to do anything, rather he is changing them on a fundamental level. One example is that he has the females of the school walk around naked in a chapter, he hasn't forced them to nor has he told them to, instead he made them believe it is the natural thing to do. Another is example is that he is raped after messing with a girl's libido, he wasn't expecting to be raped but she... more>> pushed him down with brute force and had her way with him. Things don't always go how he wants it as he never has complete control of anything, but it works out in the end. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
August 17, 2019
Status: afterword
I loved every second of it but I have to say don't believe the pregnancy tag, sure he is a father of multiple children but it completely skips the pregnancy period and we only find out he is a father after their birth.... more>>
Spoiler

Mir being an obvious exception but no one was pregnant with him in the first place as he was hatched from a mix of incubation and mana injection so literally anyone had the potential to be his father it just so happened than Yu Illhan was the one to inject his mana into the egg.

[collapse]

I also really hate that I even read this series as I don't want it to be over, I know series go wrong after an author milking it to death, but it is depressing when finishing something so good. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo
Shoujo Grand Summoning
August 4, 2019
Status: c77
I usually get bored of things easily, but this had me way too bored too fast. I'll come back to it but I can't struggle on at this point.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Against the Gods
July 23, 2019
Status: --
First let me state I am going to give a proper review but truthfully I'm being a little petty in this review at the same time, the MC has one flaw I can never forgive I'm not going to hide my disdain for that flaw either.

Characters: Besides the one flaw I can't forgive the MC is pretty decently fleshed out, he is understandable, somewhat relatable, but is highly impulsive which usually leads to good things.... more>>
Spoiler

Basically for me he can be the most evil MC ever created, but he must treat his women well, and while I get the MC of a novel like this separates from his love interests for a long time, putting your woman's peace of mind at harm and letting her think you are dead for no good reason is completely different than a training journey

[collapse]

When it comes to his harem it is actually a pretty different from most harem novels I read, normally the girls fall for the MC for no reason, but in this case he actually puts in the bare minimum effort to seduce them which is refreshing. Normally these MCs give out a 'you have no choice but to screw me if I want you' pheromone, but he gives off the 'It is highly unlikely you will reject me' pheromone. Nuanced sure, but "It is the difference between Heaven and Earth". All jokes aside it is pretty nice.

Plot: If you've read one cultivation Novel there is a 99.99% chance of it being almost no different from this one or any other cultivation novel. The general formula is, MC and Young Master have issues, Young Master goes on the attack, everyone laughs at MC, MC produces one of two results, kicks Young Master's butt and young master goes crying to elder brother/daddy/uncle (possibly uncle-daddy) etc... or MC kills Young Master, [Insert Clan] and MC can not coexist under the same sky, [Insert Clan] sends out assassins and ends up offending MC, MC destroys [Insert Clan], MC has now offended bigger [Insert Clan], rinse and repeat as necessary. Don't get me wrong, while it is annoying I don't mind as they are smaller events in the bigger picture.

Theme: Basically a power trip where you shouldn't offend the MC.

Setting: It is Xuanhuan, take a guess of the setting, if you've read another Xuanhuan you should know that the only real difference are the names and terms.

Style: Recycled

Bonus Time: If you've managed to read all of this then I'll at least give out a recommendation, if you want something similar but of the Xianxia style and much better, I suggest Grasping Evil. What I really like about that one is that Ning Fan isn't a hypocrite, instead he is just an evil overlord who does as he pleases. When I say he does as he pleases, there are times where he won't kill someone and instead enslave them on a whim. Don't misunderstand enslavement in this case, he basically leaves them to their own devices, but they can never oppose him again unless they want to die and you can't have someone take revenge for you while you are alive unless you want to die, he might give them a few orders and then forget their existence, and they probably just die at the hands of someone else they managed to offend. To some extent this could be much more cruel as they have to live the rest of their lives in shame and knowing they can never change their situation, even if they manage to get to a level of strength where they surpass can kill Ning Fan later on.

Spoiler

I also really like him because just recently in the translation he offended so many people for money and spends more than a entire small country's fortune worth (which was part of the money he looted) just to ease the hearts of one of his concubines

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo
The Empress’s Gigolo
June 11, 2019
Status: c26
So I'm not far in and this review doesn't count for much but the MC is already making stupid mistakes. The guy decided to sell the other world's medicine and got 2 Million yuan advanced payment, spent 1.3 million almost immediately yet he doesn't have a guarantee that he can get the medicinal formula. You are promising to sell what you don't have and might not get, I'm not sure if he will get smarter but this is a huge oversight not even 30 chapters in. I'm enjoying it but... more>> hopefully, the MC won't keep doing such things. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Oshibo
Oshibo rated it
Mai Kitsune Waifu
May 4, 2019
Status: c268
After reading 268 chapters I feel that I have read enough to give a fair review. So I feel that this novel is average based on pros and cons, it can be really good but really maddening. I also feel I should mention that any link to chapter 45 from the translator is essentially gone due to the way it is set up (I used DuckDuckGo found it mirrored on Wuxiaworld) and I'm pretty sure that it was chapter 30 where it links to a different novel by the same... more>> translator. I personally recommend reading it on a different site until you reach Ch.200 (or wherever Fuji Translations started) as the next page/chapter button doesn't work from the first two translator's sites.

So there are times where villains just disappear into thin air and are not mentioned again.
Spoiler

seriously after making one Young Master rape another Young Master neither is mentioned again though one young master's father still has a grudge against him brought up that is it.

[collapse]
In one particular case, an antagonist is jealous because he likes one girl with the MC even though at the time it is obvious that it is not a romantic relationship between her and the MC (at least yet)

Then there are some really upsetting characters including the MC. The MC is the king of hypocrites and has plot armor strong enough to save him after sacrificing himself for girls (including his enemies). Some of the girls are complete b***hes and while I get that there is a very good reason to keep the Murong girl around despite her being a tsundere on steroids.
Spoiler

Based on what some others have said and what I know he should just kill Ma Yixuan, she hates him for no reason and instead of saying something to him to get him to give up she has purposefully gotten his hopes up before knowing he liked her and at other times tried to have her boyfriend and his goons beat him badly because she is disgusted by him. At the point I'm at I have to say why hasn't she knowingly attacked the MC yet, she thinks he is strong but doesn't know he is a cultivator so she should try to attack him seeing as she is already on the same realm as him (technically until just recently she was higher). Though I have to say part of their relationships reminds me of the first part of Pure Love x Insult Complex where the older sister is Yukino (to an extreme), the younger sister is mana and the main character is Yoshinobu. By that I mean he is disillusioned by his first love and while he holds a fondness for her has gotten over her and the younger sister is actually salvageable and they were actually both mistreated by the older sister.

[collapse]

That all being said, the MCs growth is admirable. He goes from a naive and cowardly re**** to recognizing the harsh truths of the world and doing what it takes to take them head-on. His growth alone makes it worth reading honestly. The plot is solid, there are some valid underlying themes (one of my favorites being that sometimes the law just isn't enough as there are some who are above it regardless of what we are led to believe). If you can get past the negatives than this story is a good enough way to pass time.
Spoiler

He also essentially creates his own private army which is pretty boss

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report