Report Review
16 Reviews


OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
The World after the Fall
August 21, 2017
Status: --
Ah f**k yes, finally found another diamond. When you guys read novels in this site, most of the time you find it interesting and read the next chapter. You go on, and on until you're probably 20% in, then you notice and turn your brain on and find that the novel seems kinda dull, lost even or just plain dumb at the first chapter. I'd call this the momentum of interest. Due to the fact that the novel has piqued your interest, you are driven to find out where the... more>> novel will go. When I just started reading webnovels, this is basically what I would do. Turn brain off and end up going into a rabbit hole that seemed deep, but in reality is not really that deep. Due to the consequences of experiences like that, I can usually notice how deep the rabbit hole is (or accidentally reading spoilers in reviews, srsly stahp guys). So nowadays, I look at reviews or translator taste and quality and ratings (hit or miss). Also, I keep my brain on unless im really bored. Anyways, away with my contextual rambling and on with the review.

It may be a bit early to call it but, with what has been written and shown so far, I can see that this author is considerably skilled and I would say that this story may turn out to be a really good one. It has tons of potential. At first, it may look like one of those litrpg/game novel clones running rampant right now, and you're definitely right. It is but there's a difference. That is, the way it is written. Im no professional critic but I would say that the way the story is written and how it is executed is so good that it blows everything (that we have in the genre rn) right out of the water. When reading other stories I can feel slightly disengaged because of the way they are written. It can be dull, apathetic, out of place, convenient and all the other mistakes most web authors make. Its like they turned their brains off. Yet, when I read this, I can see how deep, deliberate and well thought the first few chapters are. You can get a grasp of the various character's personality/traits WITHOUT having it being spelt out and written in your face. Even if it was written down, I feel that the author wouldnt make it feel out of place. As a bonus, the characters feel alive, established (although its still the start and may change, its great to see side chars thinking). The world being built is making me get the hansel and gretel feel of picking up crumbs (minus the witch ofc). It isnt overwhelmingly detailed so that it suffocates you but its there, as the background, the setting the readers/MC are trying to find out. It enhances the story. I feel that I am saying too much and its too early to see where it will go, so I'll end it here. It just goes to show how great I felt seeing something like this just blow my mind.

TL;DR

Tons of potential and high quality (as of right now). Better than everything else imo. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
May 2, 2017
Status: c26
The start really needs to be rewritten or something because its quite confusing and lots of different characters pop up while MC hasn't established what he's going to do. The pov jumping works in the middle of a story and when we know the character background. A few sentences at the beginning explaining who and what the character is and what they're trying to do can help a lot if we have absolutely no idea on who or what the character is trying to do. Without proper establishment were left... more>> to assume things, which in my opinion should be only when some mysterious element becomes introduced in the story.

Otherwise, standard fare fantasy which is enjoyable due to the fact that characters are dynamic (though its just the first arc) while somewhat a bit mediocre at the rest of the aspects. When the story actually made sense and picked up, I enjoyed it very much. Give it a go <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos
The Novel’s Extra
August 6, 2018
Status: c64
Best korean novel I have read as of this review (and ive been gone from reading NU stuff for a while now). While he is an op MC, along with the cliches of korean novels in general, the difference that this one makes is that characters actually have depth and act not because they were written that way but according to how a person would act like based on their personality traits. Though, the things that actually makes this good is the character depth and good writing. All the other... more>> stuff you can find in a general korean style novel. Reading this would actually ruin your experience of the generally recommended korean stuff because this one is written more carefully rather than the simplistic writing most kr novels have. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
The King’s Avatar
June 7, 2018
Status: c1784
Spoiler

Just finished reading the MTL, this story (while a bit too long imho) is a read well worth your while. (This review is gonna be biased towards the pro-arc b/c its my most recent read, so if you're reading this I mainly talk about the latter chapters, the chapters before challenge tournament is a simple, pro player has to start over, but he does it in a hilarious and entertaining way and eventually returns to the scene). Don't go into it like you would in any MMO based novel. Read like it you're going through a person's actual life. If you guys have ever watched the Rocky movies or any kind of sports story (building up from almost nothing, getting to the peak) those things are what this is the closest to. In addition to that, you also get the backstories of many other characters that make you feel for them, but at the same time you get the understanding that in the end, there can be only one winner. The story is also fairly well-written, but I have played the game it is based on, so imagining how fights go isn't too difficult (think vindictus + dungeon fighter online). Anyways, some aspects are certainly outlandish but it is a just story and it doesn't affect the story too much. My only gripe is that it is a tad bit long, but thats just the chinese style for you. The fact that they have an ordinary peanut gallery for us to have a grounded perspective of the story is also common in chinese novels, but this one is actually written properly for once, it gives the subtle feeling of "Pros are REALLY good" in a sports novels. Anyways, it deserves being one of the most popular webnovels in china.

P.S. To that guy who is talking about OT, you do realize that it is a chinese novel, not an english one, OT is likely a shortening of Off-the-tank and as with any other country who borrow words from other languages, their uses may be different than the ones we are commonly used to because the language they use is not the same as ours.

[collapse]
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
June 18, 2017
Status: --
While I liked it, its badly executed. Idk if I missed something but I didn't know why he was stuck on F60 until I read reviews. Starting in medias res is really retarded if you're trying to make a story about how someone SURVIVES through the hardest difficulty when non MCs get wiped. Also, the fact that there's some kind of message boards is great but since were in the future apparently theres conferences and guilds and sh*t. Like wth? There was no established background content about it and author... more>> just writes it in as if it was established. Seriously, if he just wrote the main mc's progression and how people eventually figured things out up to the 'present' F60 he would've doubled the chapters and then tripled them as main MC read about other mc's own adventures until she got to where main MC is at. I have experience in mmos where I explained how to get through stuff to newbies and I feel as if this is what the author wanted to convey, yet hes written it quite weirdly. Theres so much great concepts and material that hes working with and it is well written to boot. Though with the stupid idea of writing in medias res, hes literally made a house with a crooked foundation and with all the good ideas he has wont save it from being f**ked up at the start. Id predict that everything gets better once author gets to F60 but he has the consequences of spoiling everyone with content that we have no idea of how they work and fleshing them out after spoiling what they are. See how confusing the latter sentence was? Basically how I feel about the only mistake the author has done. Otherwise on top of it there is a fairly decent novel. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
The Sword and The Shadow
April 10, 2018
Status: --
Dialogue's a bit weird but thats probably due to chinese syntax and translators style. The story is a great one even with all the cliches and predictability (mostly, there are surprises though). It's been a while since i've actually read a story that actually has adventuring (which most stories leave very very quickly) and has a better build up than suddenly thrusting the "hero" and "save the world" to MC. Rather than that, the MC trying to survive is a very common plot point yet the main difference is that... more>> he isn't op, just lucky and talented, due to this we can actually see character development that most novels in this site sorely lack. Characters actually have some sense (most importantly feel alive and realistic, imagine yourself living in their world and putting yourself in their shoes, the way they live fits the world they are in) and the reasons for conflict aren't so stupid. The politics serve to keep the plot slightly more interesting (though I do hope "people who can blow up the world" wont show up as that will probably f**k up a story like this). The main drawback of this one is just the general cliches of medieval fantasy but otherwise if you're looking for an adventure novel not to dissimilar to western medieval fantasy, you should try this.

Edit: Well looking at it again, basically, after the big fight, MC's development has stalled and kinda made him stale. The writing's also gotten weirder in later chapters so thats a thing too. The story quality dips to 2-3* but still enjoyable. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos
The Inverted Dragon’s Scale
April 2, 2018
Status: c849
Ignore the modern part, the setting seems to be some kind of fusion of modern and ancient china but as the story progresses it leans more towards the ancient side. Simply put, the story is basically a lesser Ze Tian Ji. The reason for that being is that the two stories are very similar but certain qualities bring the novel down. The general public basically despises the MC and it is a culturally ingrained hate due to the setting. The main problem is that considering the MC to be a... more>> good person is technically impossible for anyone aside those who have relations with him. This is what brings the novel down and raises it up at the same time. It is the catalyst for conflict (aside from general chinese style power-mongering and selfishness generating schism). If there wasn't any conflict the story would basically fall apart and seem pointless. Also, the author never explains why MC cannot use his inheritance (like one sentence explaining his "capacity" is never mentioned when it clearly is the reason why he cant be super OP). The author does this in various situations in which we are left to assume (or predict) x about y. All in all, its a slightly better than average novel as the politics, MC actually struggling (and okay character development), and surprisingly not too much overflamboyant descriptions of techniques and finally with characters that at least have slightly more depth than the general 1-D characters we are all used to in xianxia. So the most apt description for the novel is basically to say that it is like Ze Tian Ji with slightly lower quality.

P.S. I read the LNMTL which was surprisingly easy to follow due to the simple grammar that the author uses because I was becoming impatient with the slowness just like ZTJ, the main difference is that ZTJ is much more stylized and really fcking hard to read in LNMTL. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Max Level Newbie
June 16, 2017
Status: --
Okay soo the best thing about the novel is that its well written but everything else is basically meh. I feel as if im reading a journal aside from the character interactions/monologues. The author doesn't talk too much about his system which is great for people who dont want to get info dumped but at the same time I think hes just bad at explaining background settings and/or avoiding it too much. He only states the minimum possible parts of the setting and doesn't say much else. In turn, the... more>> reader feels like the MC is just running around from place to place (oddly enough the before entering a hidden dungeon there seems to be much more details which leads me to believe that the author can get detailed but oddly doesn't seem to want to, another example is the act 1 boss and other character details). At first I thought it was smartly written but its just well written to the point where its as if you got on a leisurely train ride. Basically the only thing thats making me want to read this is just to know what happens next. Its not a horrible novel but its not a masterpiece either. The great thing is that its executed decently. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
Spoiler

Wow, really amazing (in terms of light novels) it can stand up there with other bestselling novels (imho) outside the light novel demographic, heck I'd even recommend it to people whove never reas LNs before. As long as they get the general idea of heroes and stuff.

From the illustration I thought it was gonna be another battle harem with op MC but after I read the synopsis I was happy being wrong. To anyone reading this novel, it is ridiculously heavy (figuratively and literally), even if you are used to reincarnation stories from chinese webnovels. It dosen't ignore the emotions from the past and it carries them over (mainly due to the fact that it isnt a 'restart'). There is so much packed between the lines and I applaud the author for being coherent with what he has written down (something I find lacking in jp authors) and I greatly enjoy unpacking the little things the author wanted to convey. I havent even started about the drama, by which came down like the fury of a thousand suns (again imho) but I wont say much besides the fact that the drama (a little forced but seriously what drama isnt) is written well enough with good reason along with chracters that feel alive and not some 2D sh*te.

All in all, if you're out of stuff to read and want to wrench your heart a bit with some drama or looking for a fantasy based novel (the world building is subtle but great) with a focus more on character development and interactions (sadly not too much action but I have a feeling author knows how to write em well) cuz of boredom, please give this one a go.

If anyone wants to discuss things about anything send me a holler.

[collapse]
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
Well what can I say, this is extremely rough but you can definitely see what the author is going for. Cliches' for days and the handling of multiple POVs just serve to magnify the author's lack of skill. As usual it is for isekais, the ideas are good but the execution is lacking. However, I do enjoy it because the world building is amazingly decent and interesting. The writing looks like a summary rather than actual story writing. Its as if the author had a bunch of summarized notes and... more>> expanded on them a little. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Gekkou
June 9, 2017
Status: --
Found this a while ago on baka-tsuki (the good old times when I spammed the site for sao) when I couldn't find anything to read so I visited the old sidebar with all the translated novels A-Z. I went through it and found Gekkou.

I really don't need to say much about it other than the fact that I read this about 5 times due the fact that it was so well written (at my age at the time) and the fact that when I finished and looked for more things... more>> to read, not many came close when compared to Gekkou and I ended up rereading it, until I eventually discovered things aside from the JP ln scene. All in all, a diamond in the rough. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Taming Master
June 1, 2017
Status: c88
Kind of bland really, we don't even know MC that well as a matter of fact. Mmo system is all right but does suffer from inconsistencies. From what I can understand, the best players are basically either the high-levels or those with hidden classes. Realistically though in an mmo hidden classes are stupid hard to implement. The only reason I see for them is basically another plot device to seperate important characters from mooks. Though, as I am a sucker for world building I enjoyed what the author has made... more>> even if the progression is predictable. My advice is, if you've run out of stuff read this, as its basically turned into a light hearted story cuz author lacks ability to provide tension and/or dosen't know how to work with his own MCs traits. The reason I say that is because as of ch. 88 the better plots he has written involves other players (the pvp final was great tbh). Writing his character to be a loner was fine but he shot himself in the foot because it seems like hes good at writing character interactions. Which in turn makes the story boring as he is forced to write about his boring grind, alone. Though with all the foreshadowing and some pov splitting I have hope he has something for the later chapters.

All in all decent read if you've run out. As a novel slightly better than mediocre (based on current chaps) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Shura’s Wrath
May 29, 2017
Status: c417
Well, I enjoyed reading this.

Aside from basically stupid luck and opness with blatant convenient self-serving writing, the setting as a whole is great with the subplot being fine as is (if youre already fine with the opness otherwise its kinda left field). Its an obvious power wank but im surprised mars gravity wrote something like this as its clearly much better compared to the heavenly mess of ATG but still has things that are off. Although if you're looking for something well written, theres many more things better. The main... more>> appeal is basically the world and system for me. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
Well, I did hear that this was one of the first otome novels to be translated so I decided to check it out. First of all, our MC lacks common sense for some reason (shes a high schooler from our world, and has played the game before, so why does she seem to be a bit hare-brained about everything except magic and that isnt even the main draw of the novel). Our childhood friend is kind of overbearing and off putting once he notices his own feelings and instantly turns... more>> into obsessed boyfriend mode, romances like these make no sense to me (in addition to the fact that due to the short nature of webnovel chapters, it feels like it instantly happened). Like, our MC feels pressured to freaking like the guy instead of appreciating and seeing the good things in him first. MC has also mentioned that she has some experience with having boyfriends and such, inconsistency much?.

Regardless, the world has tons of potential (this is usual for any webnovel) but as this novel seems more focused on relationships, looking at that and the rest of the things in the novel is redundant.

The writing is average and my interest in the novel only stayed because the novel seemed fun. Until the badly written childhood friend’s possesiveness came to light.

P.S. This also suffers from POV switching done badly so yeah, if those bother you stay away from this. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Hero? I’ve Long Stopped Being One
August 29, 2018
Status: --
Not a lot of depth but its an okay comedy thats only being brought down by the mosaic dude's antics. The quality could be much better but w/e. If he focused more on our MC and tried to combine seriousness and comedy this would be a much better story. As for the jokes, theyre funny and make me chuckle but they lean too close to 12yr old humor.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
OrderedChaos
OrderedChaos rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
June 13, 2017
Status: --
Geez, I don't need to say much do i? Just read the thing, much better than the popular/highly-rated stuff on here.

Ill talk about cons instead.

If youre not used to or have no experience with cultivation novels this may be hard to get into, double that if youre not used to scifi settings. Id find it hard for people like above to imagine the glorious scenes in their head though the author's deliberate style may help a bit.

The only other con I find is that its a bit slow but its... more>> the consequence of the world building that the author is trying to set up.

In conclusion, most of the good things have been said already so look at that or just read my first sentence and give it a go. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report