Report Review
15 Reviews


Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
The Charm of Soul Pets
March 31, 2017
Status: c111
This novel is everything pokemon should have been and more realistic (in a fictional way) in how the world would work. If you never really liked Pikachu or Charizard but wanted a (Shiney) Evee and Vulpix mix then this is the novel for you.

Also think about everything you find wrong about pokemon:

-Trainer is sent out as a (perpetual) 10 yr old into the world given a starter pokemon out o 3 standard choices dependent on region or family / personal situation
-Free to roam the world as they please
-Enslaving and forcing pokemon to battle one another either to be captured or for a shiny bit off metal from... more>> different areas around the world
-No real reason for how pokemon evolve
-No deaths whatsoever

In this series the kids are at minimum 14 to 15 and even then they'd still be taken care of by their clan and or family until they are well past 30 if they have potential. Roam around? Pfft that'd get you killed QUICK! A person from a good clan would have atleast 2 people protecting them at any given time.

Capturing and Storage (Poke-ball equivalent) :
Spoiler

There are no pokeballs, trainers (as they are also called) sign Soul pacts with the beast they are trying to catch and it has to be mutual so is cancelling the contract. No red laser to store the beast inside of a storage device where they can only shake the ball repeatedly if they want to break out. No this novel does it right and adds an CN influence. The pets are stored inside a soul space which is essentially inside the Trainers sea of consciousness.

[collapse]

Rated 16+

Spoiler

This is not and I repeat NOT a kid friendly series, there is pretty much death and violence from chapter 1 through 111 where I left off reading... if you can go 10 chapters without something or other dying I'd call you a f*ing liar! Rape? s*x? Consciousness? Morality? 1st two aren't without reason but the latter you'd be hard to find in anyone besides the MC... sometimes.

[collapse]

World Building - Action - Logic - Story Progression:

Spoiler

This story is abundant in a steady world building experience, you are constantly learning new things about the makeup of the world that doesn't seem forced and made up on the spot. More importantly its not 'convenient' in the way that its souly like this for plot armor and appears out of nowhere 'just cause / deus ex'.

The action is constant if not rampant throughout the series and maybe its because its Pokémon style the author can plan out battles without loosing the reader or being boring as hell. I mean its much easier to build battle scenes or imagine them (author and reader) if you've experienced it before and there shouldn't be many under 30 who've NEVER seen Pokémon at least once. All evolutions/maturations/levelups are well within reason and are explanatory by thinking about growth patterns and training regiments. Story overall is well paced, not fast not slow its not even medium. It has its own pace with a few time skips be it long or short it is not afraid of taking a risk. Though I do wish some of it where to be expounded on I can understand knowing EVERYTHING would be a little boring and give the author no room to pull things out of a hat (give the reader a small surprise).

[collapse]

MC personality - Pet Relations:

Spoiler

MC is kinda everything Ash 'Get'em all' isn't. First of all he will eventually age past 15 which is his starting age. His IQ isn't so mentally stunted that he'll eventually have to relearn the lessons he learned not to far in the past. No this MC constantly grows and improves, he starts off sullen and solemn, grows cold, gains confident, matures into a man and so on. The pets all have different and enjoyable personalities that's all I'll say as giving examples will take away the fun.

[collapse]

Capture rate - Training speed:

Spoiler

MC is picky and he has a right to be considering how his first choice was how his third one was and what his 4th turned out (this is something that will be confusing until reader is towards chapter 90 - 100). Training speed? Who for? MC? Pet? Nightmare? all about the same, the growth rate is linier with steady progression overall considering the MC's and pets circumstances I consider it not actually all that OP. The Time skips make it hard to track sometimes though.

[collapse]

I say this story is the best mix of Chinese fantasy mixed with a cultural icon of a generation. Its not like some one dimensional knockoff that just takes everything away from Pokémon and puts a sheet over it and calls it new no it even goes out of its way to make powers different from Pokémon be it name or ability, it must be a real pain to name something Evil stare instead of Glare or Ravaging Claw instead of fury / ferocious swipes. <<less
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
May 15, 2016
Status: c40
So far I'll give it a 4.5 leaning towards a 5 star rating (I'll just keep the rating at 5 stars for now).

The story description is a little misleading, it makes it seem like the MC will be totally oppressed by 'Those that have' but you barely see any of that in the story whatsoever and he rarely interacts with these snobs and trust fund babies except in the early chapters and a few after.

The story is a good mix between LMS and GDW taking into account the main character... more>> of GDW's survival ability (as Weed dies a lot and takes huge risk) and Weeds ability to understand the value of items and significance of money. The world is 50 yrs after the apocalypse (sorta) and it plays out like GDW were the world has been somehow changed into a game world and such, monsters drop items and skill books. The MC is the run of the mill guy who excels at his job so that he can fulfill his dream. He's not overly generic but the plot armor isn't light.

The story didn't give off that Korean feel and was off putting to me in the beginning chapters, so much so that I actually dropped it 3 times and put off reading it for a number of days when I did pick it up again. That being said I did get around to reading it to completion (that is up to the current TL) and after getting past the initial few chapters the story is actually quite enjoyable. I do recommend you getting your mental editor tools and spell checkers at the ready because the TL doesn't seem to be a native English speaker and there are quite a few errors on every page (almost). The story pacing isn't fast but its not slow in getting right into the action but overall development of the MC happens a little to fast. Only 40 chapters in and his stats are way above the norm for someone getting into the biz.

(LMS) Legendary Moonlight Sculpture
(GDW) God and Devil world <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Plundering the Heavens
April 27, 2017
Status: c15
MC is a little bandit, poor cultivation talent

but quick witted. The story is well paced and MC doesn't have any thick plot armor just a thick face as he's shameless and two faced not to mention

a little cruel. IMHO this isn't a bad thing at all! The MC is young but not hella wise beyond his years, he's just clever... maybe a tad bit to clever. I only read 15 chapters but the MC has quite a bit of character. This character is good in a bad way.

MC is vengeful,... more>> not one to be trifled with, 10 yrs old but cruel. He's funny and has comedic moments and I didn't stop laughing especially when he takes advantage of the rich.

He's a true underdog MC except he has two advantages. But one was gained from the 1st so its right to say he only has 1 large advantage.

Spoiler

MC gets 9 items from his 9 uncles all of which are useless or barely helpful

but 1. That 1 is a book that gives the MC the ability to identify spiritual items akin to game element but only gives short/curt descriptions.

[collapse]

MC starts from the bottom and literally stills every advantage he can. I've enjoyed it but I will stack chapters as I don't think this could be a daily read. The jokes and events happen to seamlessly and will probably flow better when read as one. That being said... I could be wrong and you'd enjoy it regardless so to each his own right? <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
The Skill Maker
May 24, 2016
Status: c5
So far the story is quite attractive. A down on there luck family is pushed to the extremes and is no longer to pay for the formal training of the oldest child in becoming a hunter. He is something similar to Weed from LMS which at this point I think is a standard of what Korea thinks is an ideal MC. He's hardworking, determined, dedicates everything towards making money to support his sister and wants the best for her even to the extent of giving up his dreams.

At this... more>> point I'm only incensed by how long it takes for the MC to figure out his ability. I know its only been 5 chapters at the time of this reviewing but he gets it in chapter 1 and it was fairly obvious as to what he was doing when he got it. Not only that he focuses on everything else but the potential of both his skills and just worries about fighting potential. I hope this isn't a constant in the MC's personality, don't like one track minded individuals for my story leads.

This is just an early review meant to garner some attraction towards the series as I really think its unique. While the release frequency isn't high right now I bet once people start to read it they'll be clamoring for more and the TL might cave in and give us 2 whole chapters a week!

This might seem spoiler-ish but I'll list the real spoilers down below.

Starter skills

Spoiler

his skill is actually very surprising, he originally has 2 skills. 1 allows him to view everything like you would in a JRPG (yeah that very basic themed skill isn't standard in that world no wonder its a SS class in an S class world) while the other allows him to make skills (rated a F class right now) but has a growth potential

[collapse]

I'll give this series a 5/5 right now because it seems to be setting up the world while still building up the character at a stead pace. In this regard it reminds me of ETH. The stories are very similar in many regards and I would suggest reading that novel if you like the 1st 5 of this one.

Family situation

Spoiler

Not much of the family has been shown at this point. The parents are shown as hardworking and busy on all occasions and hasn't made 1 appearance other than the prologue. The sister at this point is really eye catching. She is very similar to Weeds little sister. But the two siblings are slightly different in that the MC in this story is the one that rebelled at a young age (but now is responsible and upright) and that his younger sister is the one who never had the chance to go through that all to familiar teenage phase.

<<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami
Dark Civilization
February 20, 2017
Status: v1c20
I don't know what the other reviewer is talking about as the only thing I can agree with them on is that the Translator does a good job. The Novel (at current) is hosted on Wuxia Forums and it makes it easy to navigate as you can read up to 3 or 4 chapters per page as long as you skip the comments that show up as well. The stats the other reviewer mentioned isn't game related but evolution related, it's not to much of a spoiler but the author... more>> equates growth in strength as "times this many men" so each time the MC and his group evolve their strength, reflexes, immunity, focus, stamina, defenses, senses are all times x of this many men.

This novel is a pleasant read as you don't get a passive relationship between the MC and his sister she isn't just background or their for comic relief she and the companions he may gather in the future have their roles to play. The MC also isn't an invincible genius that gets along every situation perfectly of miraculously. You can see that although there is luck in a portion of the MC's encounters the majority is skill and experience. The story itself is a little iffy as to how it juggles around the topic of how the MC is a lone student with x amount of money and how the sister casually accepts the brother explanation without question and he can seemingly do no wrong in her eyes along with her noticing the HUGE personality shift in her brother but barely a question mark is raised. Other than that the story is actually pretty tight in how the evolution system works. It doesn't take much to understand and the only thing I do not like is how troublesome taking the 'next step' (replacement for a certain term in the novel) requires such a troublesome process. I've only read up to 20/27 because this seems to be a turning point and as releases are a bit slow I will stockpile some chapters before picking it up again. Its actually way too early to be reviewing this novel as I actually don't know if I like it but the comment by the user TWINGLETWILIGHT was a bit vague and I wanted to clarify some things and explain for those actually interested in the novel. I most likely will not be updating this review in the future. I might be back to give it a star review once it passes the 50-100 mark though. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Galactic Dark Net
April 27, 2016
Status: --
Really interesting novel. I can honestly say that this story is very united and very much a ‘Hero’s tale’ its a bunch of goody two shoes that don’t mind getting their hands dirty. Its a good step back from the usual Xianxia and Xuanhaun that is all hack and slash with no substance.

I’ve currently read up to 49 chapters and eagerly waiting for chapter 50!

The story building is nice, not fast not slow. The action comes fairly early but not to often. The romance? Yes it actually shows glimpses of... more>> romance in the first dozen chapters and is quite nicely done! It doesn’t just start with a woman falling for the MC for no damn reason swooning over him in an instance, it gives a plausible reason for her coming affections and why she’s possibly attracted to the MC; it really makes you want to see if the relationship develops. I’m hoping they at least become friends I know they’ll be close in some way.

The MC power? Very unique not forced and not just a random power up that’s SO OP its disastrous. Though you can see how he’ll get it a mile coming the journey is worth it. The determination and the perseverance is admirable. Though a negative for me was that the MC suddenly developed something contradictory to his original position forming a Spiderman mentality from an Uncle Ben saying. Its not overly forced and IMO something you can overlook.

I like it when the MC goes through hard times and pisses off a lot of other espers! Though that last one might be inherent

Spoiler

not just cause he’s an MC in a CN novel but the nature of his ability as well

[collapse]

There are a few loose ends early on that don't have any answers and where (seemingly) totally worthless and or just an excuse to allow for the story to develop on a certain path. Though I don't mind, I certainly hope this doesn't become a trend. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Haroon
August 23, 2017
Status: v2c2
Great novel so far. The novel is hard to read at this point but you can tell the TL is doing their best. With a good editor what is passable now could be stellar! Not to mention each release is equivalent to 3+ chapters of a normal novel.

About the story.

The MC is a failure. Simple fact not my opinion, this is a key point in the series. The MC wasn't born with incredible gifts and do to events he's been on his own for a good bit. In this post... more>> apoc world an unskilled and underage worker really has no prospects so you can guess he's down and out on his last leg...

Events happen and his life is changed. There are no reincarnation or know everything events here. No what he gets is equivalent to a double birthday present. A chance to reinvent himself, change his figure, and move up the social tiers.

This is your typical KR MC he's hard working not noticeably underestimated and diligent. The chapters might be a bit short of LMS' length but NPC interaction is top and greatly similar to LMS if not better. The UI isn't as in your face either.

Its a great series and only requires a bit of mental editing. This is your Grammar Nazi's beware! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Trafford’s Trading Club
April 9, 2017
Status: c10
Good novel so far a loner seeks isolation and finds his solitude in a place that offers him (potential) immortality while peeking his interest / hobby of observing the world around him. This is far removed from the usual novels we get on this site and has already made its way on to my favorites list. I'm interested to find out if there is any possible romancing in the future but as far as the first 10 chapters a lot has already happened. I can say that it doesn't start... more>> slow it jumps right into the story and what its about.

The first case will be a little moving and has raised my expectations for the upcoming cases as well. The novel hasn't shown school life but has already setup a possible outcome for the next 10 yrs; all of this in just 10 chapters. Pacing wise I think its a little fast but that's probably because there isn't a need for world building yet. The story is literally happening in the modern era so not much is different.

Spoiler

The world building is more likely to involve the monster and oddities side of the business along with the growth of his powers that allow him to do a multitude of things.

[collapse]

So far the story is a 10

5 - Presented story quality
5 - Story potential <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Tempest of the Battlefield
July 12, 2017
Status: c5
Just read the 1St 5 chapters and I have to admit it's taken a new turn on Xuanhuan. A new direction I have not seen in a bit and only then in American novels some Japanese as well.

If you want a story that mixes cultivation with bio-suits and not Mech's then this is the story for you! The premis of this story is that humans have entered a new era and have begone to expand outward to other inhabitable planets. During a war against a super adaptive somewhat hive minded... more>> sentient race, humans developed 'METAL' Bio-Suits that use genes (bloodlines) to adapt a form that allows tailored combat forms. No idea how this works yet...

The suits are also connected to the Sea of consciousness (given a somewhat different name but ultimately the same) which is an individuals ability that doesn't have to rely on the suit itself. One can have poor genes and have a METAL suit but cannot have a METAL suit without opening the sea of consciousness.

Like S.W's other novels the MC encounters great fortunes and gains the potential to become great. In just 5 chapters I can tell you right now that it has so far been more action packed then T.S.W and B.F as far as my reading is. I'm caught up on the first and 20 chapters behind the later.

I've only read 3 out of the 4 books (available on NU) by this author and he/she is quickly ranking up there with I.E.T and Er Gen IMO. This isn't because of the novels themselves per se but the uniqueness and change of setting & foundation from novel to novel.

It's a great read so far, the 1St chapter is roughly 2 chapters long and the story kicks off on the 2nd chapter and by kick off I mean a story of survival! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Martial Peak
June 9, 2016
Status: v1c110
This story...I'd give a 4.6 and will leave it at a 5 for now. I have a few issues for one. I originally picked up this story months ago and even though I hated the TL style I spent 3 days trying to pry my eyes from it by distracting myself but even then the uniqueness of the story kept drawing me back. After successfully dropping it I recently picked it back up and started back from chapter 37 to present release.

The TL style seems to have vastly improved since... more>> I last read it as the quality is many folds better. The story is still as good as before but I must have picked the worst place to stop reading. After picking it back up I couldn't put it down. I won't be posting any spoilers so you'll just have to wait and see.

The story has ok plotting but a major problem for me is although the main quality that separates the MC from the mold is brought out in full display, the author doesn't do a good job of stating why he is like this or his reasons for searching for power in the first place. I can only hope at this point that it will be expounded upon in future releases.

The MC's growth although fast doesn't actually seem overpowerd even though it really really is. There are constantly people above him and they are introduced at such a steady pace that you just feel that the MC (slight spoiler: who is a social outcast) is being brought out into the world and his horizons are being lifted.

The romance in this is very satisfying there are multiple love interest that have actual valid reasons for their infatuation with the MC but be warned the MC is slightly oblivious, although it really doesn't interfere with the quality.

Other than the lack of information on the MC's background I'd have to say that the only other problem I have with this Story is that 90% of the MC's problems originate from dealings with women... seriously it's either jealousy or dangerous situations with women being the center of each cause. It's not a bad thing as only after you realize that's the reason, then that's when one would feel a slight annoyance.

I really do like this story its unique and separates itself from other Xianxia in a good number of ways. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Douluo Dalu
January 3, 2016
Status: --
Great story definitely give it a try, I was thrown off by the no martial arts and no magic but this Novel is really worth reading, its not a big spoiler but for those who don't think to give this a try because of the none magic and martial arts you should read it

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC does have MA skills and the action is nothing less than what you'd get from regular Xianxia, on some levels its way above the normal glossed over stuff, this novel gives very detailed action sense that don't bore you to tears and will always leave you guessing!

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Master of the Stars
August 31, 2017
Status: c86.1
So just about caught up but wanna take a break. I'll give a short summary.

Story quality:

Well thought out. The theories are well thought out or at least thought upon. It's clear the author has an occupation related to medicine or is just well learned and familiar with plotting and planning.

Pace:

Not well done if anything it being so rushed and the fact that it diverges off the planned course was solely why I was tempted to give this a 3!

... more>>
Spoiler

The author has everything from Chapters 1 - well 80+ within the span of 5 days! The first 2 days were enough to kill a human but the author realizes this making him sleep for a day or two. But then has him do just as much if not more of a stressful situation the next to same day...

[collapse]

Powering up:

Honestly, while the MC isn't OPhe is steadily getting there. You can see Deux Ex Machina around the corner at every turn. Seriously the author diverges from the story multiple times just to get him OP sooner. It just doesn't seem fast or strong as he uses his abilities differently and it seems that he's week cause there are people way stronger than him constantly showing up.

Character development:

Everyone but the MC seems to have a personality and the Author seems to make him miss a lot of intelligent conversational queues just cause he's an introvert and doesn't know how to communicate such...

I've tested in the extreme upper levels of being an introvert and can tell you one thing, just cause your an introvert doesn't mean you can't express yourself! The things he's supposed to say he avoids cause of the authors need to superimpose the image of a recluse with no social skills onto an intelligent young man who is mostly lost in thought...

The times the MC wants to express himself you can tell the author uses brute Force methods to tone it down or avoid it cause they (the author) doesn't know how to express it.

Overall:

The novel is great and I'm glad I read it. The theory of the power system alone is inspiring for the imagination. But I really think the author should loosen the reins a little. The MC is reaching enlightenment every 5 chapters... And his ability just grows in utility not exactly power. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
The Alchemist God
August 21, 2016
Status: c65
This is an alright story but the abilities and growth of the MC is unorganized and overpowered. It has a little more thought put into it than normal and is overall a very decent story that I would rate a 3.5 or 4 (for this review I'll be going with a 4) it's combat is fairly detailed and a nice balance of fantasy meets expectations.

There are enough details to keep you satisfied and vague enough to leave it to your imagination without giving away the fact the author knows nothing... more>> of fighting. Regardless it's an enjoyable read with lots of funny, dramatic, and romantic moments. The MC actually shows feelings of guilt and remorse... you know actual human emotions. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami rated it
Mythical Tyrant
March 8, 2016
Status: --
So far I've made it to 21, its a great story; but the concept of the beginning plot is woefully unrealistic. Just add 10yrs to the age of the children and it'll be an really enjoyable read. More thoughts later if I make it to current chapter releases... or actually care to update this.

*I'm a little further into the story and some of the problems noticeable towards the beginning of the story are becoming more prominent with each succeeding chapter. Its not really expanding on the combat. The fighting forms... more>> aren't even really thought out. Not to mention the TL or Author seems to not even be able to keep track of which form name goes with which form order.

The concept of this story is great and it has a promising start, but I really wish the author would have put the age the child starts to become the man of his family at a more reasonable age; say 10yrs later. A child as young as what the author wrote wouldn't be able to command any respect nor would adults have a semi 'Oh' reaction to him being so capable.

The cultivation is way to fast I can't imagine what the MC would be 100 chapters in I mean I'm only 25 chapters in right now and he's basically unbeatable...

The only reason I keep reading is because I like the things that happen outside of combat like the world / clan building, treasure, politics, the scheming, etc...

If you just change the default age of the MC and every other child in this story to +10yrs then this story is alright. If you don't mind the poor combat that's rushed and barely commented on but like world building then this is an alright story.

Giving it a 3 right now cause its alright but nothing spectacular at the moment; will change if its better later... or worse.

**This story is a strange mix of slow and fast

WARNING: MC apparently has no control over his love life and is incapable of dealing with women.

SIDE NOTE: Its fun watching him suffer to women.

***At this point I'm just reading it till he meets his father again that's bout it.

2017 update: Got to the point he met his father soon after initial review and dropped it right after just never bothered to edit my review.... its been a very long time since I've read or thought about this story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okuri Ookami
Okuri Ookami
Legend of the Cultivation God
August 26, 2016
Status: c26
Read up to chapter 26 before stopping as I saw that it would be until the 1-- or so until he actually started on his path. The story has multiple (POV) but its done in skillful way that's hard to get annoyed at. This is because its such a slow start novel the MC doesn't cultivate early on and these alternative POVs give you the opportunity to look at the make up of this worlds Jiang Hu without having to speedily throw a small child into a dangerous life and... more>> or time skip ahead so many years. It was actually nice seeing an MC live an ordinary life for a period of time.

As I said this is a slow novel in the sense that the author is setting up the world and not rushing and giving plot armor to the MC. I know that tragic heart breaking things can happen, I know that things will impact the small child emotionally, I wont be surprised if the MC is bullied and only 20 chapters later he'll be strong enough to over throw his bully and all the schemes or just in the 1st 100 chapters or even 100 to 200 chapters after he's strong enough to beat down and massacre everything within his or the neighboring sects.

I haven't read this novel and awhile, mainly because I want it build up for another 146 chapters but that's a personal decision.
Spoiler

The other reasons I don't read this novel right away is firstly because from looking at the TOC and knowing what happened with a certain group of young masters, I know or can guess that the MC will be framed for murder and that's how he starts on his path to martial arts and lastly because cultivation doesn't start until chapter 1-- or so

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report