Report Review
16 Reviews


Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Legend
April 15, 2017
Status: --
A novel which had a great potential which the author ruined by ack of imagination and uselessly dragging aristocrats into it. The MC is an utter waste compared to real OP characters like Satou mostly due to the stupid author who needlessly brings in an early romance. The growth potential of the MC is limited but his weapon and steed can grow... Also he has an inhuman amount of mana but lacks imagination compared to other op characters.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
The Amber Sword
July 6, 2017
Status: c774
I have read the first half of the novel. I think it's good. It would've been great but the author ruined it.

An otaku guy Su Fei got his soul transferred into the body of an NPC called Brendel at an earlier time frame than the game represents. He's incredibly weak compared to his original character. From then on he's Brendel who tries to save the country from it's terrible end.

Well that's how it was supposed to be. But we later understand that Su Fei or Sophie (lol) inside of Brendel... more>> is a man with a mob character mindset and the only thing in his mind is to help his idol the princess. This is made even more apparent when he forcefully kisses her. Of course it was after he was brutally attacked by the mentally unstable princess. When she said "I trusted you" he couldn't even respond you attacked me first.

This all happens when he already had the most adorable dedicated girlfriend who treats him like a treasure. So the guy inside Brendel is basically a scum. But Brendel himself is a true heroic soul.

Su Fei lacks any sort of ambition. Hid only wish is to save the princess. This slave mentality will annoy the hell out of you.

The endless praises showered on the MC by the other characters is generally undeserved. So you'll feel annoyed after sometime.

But the most annoying thing is his infatuation for the princess. Even after he realizes that the princess' younger brother - the Crown Prince is more talented and humble than the princess, he favors her. This slave mentality, and the actions provoking a feeling of betrayal towards his girlfriend makes you hate the MC and the author.

These parts resemble 3rd rate Japanese web novels. Especially the MC's mob character mentality.

Even though the plot is great and the concept is ingenious I can only rate it 3/5 because of the hateful Su Fei who is all set out on ruining Brendel's honour! <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
October 23, 2017
Status: c98
I have read all the chapters released yet. I like the story. But sometimes it feels too childish. When they talk about the height of someone or when a character gives some excuses regarding Harold. It's just too much. But since it's a shounen novel it's acceptable.

But I'd like the author to pick up speed. When you're used to Chinese authors who release 2 chapters per day you feel like the author is a sloth. XD
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Campione!
April 30, 2017
Status: c7
The potential was excessive. The presentation is appalling.

MC is a no good idiot most of the times. An embarrassment for all men on this planet. Suspects his parents (both of them) having an illegitimate child when some girl calls him oniisama!!

The main heroine. The worst of the women in the harem. Annoying (the author writes it as playful. Yup. The author is indeed a terrible pervert. A masochist with no decency.)

Anyway this woman suddenly "falls in love with the MC after a hating him till that minute". This woman... more>> is the ultimate bitch... She causes his reputation to fall steadily. If it were me I would've slapped her a million times...

The best female is probably the hime-Miko Yuri. Maybe preferential treatment for the Japanese heroine?

The most annoying thing? Probably the main heroine Erica. The next one? The mob character male classmates of the MC who get rnraged over another man's leftovers.... Serious lack of sekf respect. I think only Maria Yuri has that sekf respect among the whole bunch!!

So is there anything good in this? The mythological references are good. If you enjoy archaeology and mythology there's something to like. But It's really hard to enjoy because the author likes the bitch Erica a bit too much,..... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
April 20, 2017
Status: --
The funniest Korean novel I have ever read. Much much much better than Legendary Moonlight sculptor because.
1. You don't see mob characters who drool after a beautiful woman every single time she makes an appearance.
2. The damn thing is just too funny even without any misunderstandings!
3. The MC is a true genius apart from the things related to love. XD
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
April 19, 2017
Status: c40
I started reading because
1. I expected to see at least a bit of physics in explanation
2. There's no romance tag. Romance often ruins this kind of novels. I expected something similar to world of cultivation.

Well. There's no romance. But there's s*x. Well. The girls are all someone else's leftovers. There's not a single virgin yet. So why would the protagonist want romance with them. Like seriously. If he wanted techniques there are plenty of whores. So I don't see any reason for true romance.

About science. There's no science... more>> in it! The scientific explanations of this novel is worse than the dark ages! An AI chip attached to the soul. That explains everything!!! There's stupid human experimentation as well as demihumans created out of those experiments!

If the story doesn't improve. I'll just quit reading.

Oh btw. I don't see any real harem. It's like being the protagonist of a brothel. In a real harem there won't be any sluts or leftovers after all. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Arena
March 16, 2018
Status: c68
Spoiler

I'll tell you this before you read it... Don't expect anything from the romantic subplot.

The mc's gf used to be a partying whore and this relationship was strongly opposed by MC's little sister because she knows this.

The plot is flawed emotionally. The MC actually loved a good girl at first. But he barely remembers her these days even though it's his negligence that caused her death.

The story would've been great had it not been the leftover of a leech girlfriend and the d*ckheaded MC...

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
In a Different World with a Smartphone
September 13, 2017
Status: --
Honestly it's a great concept. If you are transported to a different world of magic... Then you must have a smartphone! The retro world will bore you to death unless you can browse our world's internet from over there. Add in a few more cheats. It's awesome.

But you don't need someone in the background to repeat "Yare yare! You'll get used to it soon" or "As expected " blah blah blah... It's so damn annoying.

The MC is a spineless wimp when it comes to his harem.

He gets kicked for no... more>> apparent reason and gets forced to dogeza even though he's much stronger than them in status and strength (in every way). He doesn't even evade. In such situations he totally lacks self respect.

When someone explains something. He's always in awe but never tries to understand it.

Him being dense is understandable. Because the girls around him are all minors! But it's weird how he can easily accept a child as a bride after talking so much about his morals?

Other than these minor details it's a really enjoyable story.

But it's hard to neglect the annoying things when the author is desperate to add annoying stuff to every paragraph! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
It started off great. I meant the story. But the authors presentation got worse with every chapter. (That's one star lost from the initial 5 stars.)

"What do you think of Sculpting?"

And the MC insults it like anything. That's how it all started...

... more>> Well. Maybe the author meant it to be funny.

But he ruined the whole thing trying to be funny by introducing cults that drool over another man's girl. I better not get started. It's worse than those old mangas and anime where the whole school isolate you because you got a cute gf. I mean seriously. Guys envy the MC. Girls envy the heroine because she's attracting so many male gazes.. Are people that stupid? Of course there are people going on saying "you don't look good together (and you're too handsome/beautiful for him/ her) I am saying this for your own good" and something similar which could potentially ruin a perfectly good relationship! (There goes another star).

The next annoying thing is that the author keeps using the term 'foreign car' go describe wealth! (Not enough to lose a star).

The next star was lost because of the dumb translation. Actually the translation wasn't all that bad when it began. But the translation from one particular person was so darn stupid that it ruined the whole thing. The dumb translation had enough 'power' to ruin any masterpiece! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
My Room Has Become a Dungeon’s Rest Area
April 26, 2017
Status: --
The translator tries his/her best to turn this mediocre novel into an acceptable form. But still the presentation of the author is terrible. The author is probably a dyslexic teenager who is a hikki-NEET. That's the impression you get from reading it.

Maybe he wanted to make it look funnier. But he failed to do so. Maybe the novel is made for 15 and younger.

But yes. It is way better than dumb novels like "To deprive the deprived", "Netooku Otoko", etc.

It's actually a great concept. A man's or rather a boy's... more>> romance maybe?

  1. He could've made it so much better. I find the interactions between characters rather artificial
  2. The MC takes it in as if it was natural to have a dungeon in the house. Maybe if it was a portal to another world it would've been more acceptable.
  3. After all this he wants to get back at the real estate agent.
  4. He decided to go for dungeon expedition right after he entered the house.... No wonder he is a high school drop out!
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
World of Cultivation
April 23, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is undoubtedly the best by the author.. The translator doesn't translate every single term to English which makes it funnier if you ask me (though it was a bit tough to follow at first).

Unlike most of the Xianxia/Xuanhuan novels out there, every single arc is NOT just an upgraded version of the first arc and each and every arc has an individuality.

There are a lot of named characters with characteristic features and it's not just a story with the MC and some mob characters. There's no real female... more>> lead but the MC's love interest is as loyal as one would get. Same goes for the brotherhood..

As usual the MC in this Xianxia is also a cold blooded psychopath who kills anyone who he finds to be utterly disgusting or who tries to kill him.

The good thing about the MC is that he doesn't just kill the men and keep the women alive. He kills them all. If you're a good looking but vicious woman, he won't find reasons to save you, he'll just crush your throat.

The MC is not a guy who runs on testosterone (same goes for most of the protagonists from the author's works), he's rather naive when it comes to women.

He's a greedy man, but doesn't hesitate to share his loot with his friends, of course after he has made proper use of whatever he could use properly.

If I have to complain about something, that would be the ending.

Actually, the author has a really annoying habit when it comes to the endings.. A lot of stuff goes unexplained.. He'd make it look like the story ends in another 100 chapters, then rush it and finish it in 10 chapters... It's the same for this novel as well as Undefeated God of War..

Anyway. If you love Xianxias, this story is a must read. You might enjoy it even more than I shall seal the heavens (even though the cultivation road is anything but complete in this story). <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Ten Gods
April 19, 2018
Status: --
The first 100 chapters are unbearable, 100-200 it would actually start to look like a new story, after that it gets better. The author definitely got better learning from his mistakes and later chapters are longer than the first few chapters.

So keep reading or skip the first 200 chapters if you can't because it only gets better and better.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Asura Cryin’
January 19, 2018
Status: --
The MC is a dumb idiot who can't think with his own brain. Someone who can't talk about his own conclusions and even dense.

You're going to read about the legend of the most infuriating idiot of an MC.

I get it that this is a story for kids.

... more>> But come on! I knew grade schoolers who are more intelligent than this MC..

Relationships are too shallow except for the relationship with Misao.

A world that revolves around the student council is not good for a super hero Gundam story. It's only good enough to be a Gag manga!

Watch the anime if you want the story. At least the BGM is good. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Realms In The Firmament
September 21, 2017
Status: c400
The MC is just proud but somewhat stupid compared to Chu Yang from transcending the nine heavens.

It's annoying how stupid he can be. I can understand a romantically dense protagonist. But a man shouldn't let his arrogance turn him stupid. Ye Xiao is actually so stupid that he can be compared to the subordinates of Diwu Qing Rou who were totally lead around by nose by Chu Yang.

Seriously annoying!

... more>> If the MC is like that there's a limit to our enjoyment right?

That's what happens here. But the story is great. It's indeed a must read novel if you love majestic protagonists. And if you have a God complex xD <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko
September 15, 2017
Status: --
A very heartwarming story.

You should watch the anime even if you can't appreciate the novel. The background music can be compared to Ghibli movies (at timesl.

Except for the eternally annoying Ryuushi (Ryuuko) all characters are nice. This girl has a 'you can't trust this bitch' vibe. Then it's revealed that she was turned down by two guys already. Which means she's not someone who knows the meaning of commitment. Well they're all kids. But still she's much worse than other girls in the story. If I were Makoto I'd keep... more>> some distance from someone who can easily go from one girl to another. She's the kind to cheat on you and then play the victim.

The Maekawa cosplay girl is actually much smarter not just academically. She's extremely sharp when it comes to understanding Makoto. She's tall and better looking than the annoying Ryuushi but tend to be very weak.

Now the main girl Erio. Exceptionally beautiful. Correctly guided curiosity about space and aliens. Very much attached and reliant on the MC. Cousin marriage is legal in Japan. So she can be considered one of the possibile girls.

Well. Only three volumes have been translated so I don't think how it will turn out. I hope that the MC won't get abducted by the aliens xD <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Okabe_rintarou
Okabe_rintarou rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
June 3, 2017
Status: --
Excellent novel. Probably the most perfect novel which tells us the story of a world where laws of physics don't apply. XD

Vut unless you read the whole novel you won't come to appreciate it. Because only towards the end would certain things be explained. This is a world where a 500 year old is considered a child.. Yoy need to consider that while judging this book.

There's a lot of snorting, spitting and vomiting blood as well as cold blooded murderers.. In addition you'll get to laugh a lot. But every... more>> arc feels kinda repetitive. That's the only fault I can find.

As for romance the MC likes the only girl that deserves him. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report