Report Review
15 Reviews


Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Hakai no Miko
March 26, 2019
Status: c59
Its a 'good' story that is kind of fresh. Unlike most, there are no harems here and the 'romance' as of chapter 59 feels 'realistic' both ways. (Fictional race's culture reasons) The humans have also been portrayed quite 'realistically' (We are a racist, arrogant and religiously influenced species, don't even try to deny it) Main character DOES get an 'ability' but it is not something that would help him in any way unlike every other OP hero stories.

Now, let us talk about the so called low rating because 'spoilers'. I... more>> don't see any spoilers tbh. Calling him the history's worst destroyer is literally part of the title "God's Son of Destruction" Who else do you think it's referring to? Saying he is extremely 'cruel', is made in the point of view of humans, which were his enemies. Saying that he 'won' as spoilers is also stupid. If he 'lost' then he wouldn't be a main character and there would be no story. Of course this story also has its faults. Like every other strategy stories there would be 'chess matches' where you play both sides and then you make one 'lose on purpose'. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Time-travelled to Japan’s Sengoku Era
January 11, 2019
Status: c9
Would have rated 1.5 if I could.

'Biased' review since I gave up at chapter 9 and also because I read Kusuriya.

The 'Japanese' characters act more like Chinese than anything. This is especially true for the ones portrayed as idiots/a***oles on purpose (every story needs one). The MC Sakura seems to be getting involved with the Takeda.

Honestly though, they could just replace Shingen with Cao Cao and Shingen's son with Cao Pi and the story wouldn't make much difference (Historical relationship is different). Reading this doesn't make this story 'feel Japanese'... more>> at all in any way (which results in a low rating).

At least Kusuriya still have that King's harem with their usual conspiracy incidents to 'feel Chinese'. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
So far, the story itself is averagely good. Basically the entire premise is a little girl (demon race) found out that human food is tasty and demon food is disgusting. She wants to peacefully eat food but humans being humanely evil as usual gets in the way. So the MC is summoned to 'peacefully' deal with the villains via schemes instead of violence (while getting a harem). (Also, heroes are the semi zombie immortal types that won't die/keeps reviving unless you 'thoroughly' exterminate them)

The translation on the other hand... more>> isn't good. One part even had someone ask the difference between "a human and a human" when it should be "a human and a demon". Sadly, the description at the top is enough to turn most people away. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
May I Ask For One Final Thing?
May 9, 2019
Status: c3
I have read up to chapter 3, (or 4 because Mistakes and Sangria have different chapter 1 with Sangria's being more like chapter 2.) the latest translated chapter at the time I posted this review.

Its worth it just for the beatdown. No comments on what happens after, including the possible crappy romance (The MC and the possible romance partner REALLY don't suit each other imo)

4.5 stars.

4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Apotheosis of a Demon – A Monster Evolution Story
February 14, 2019
Status: c15
Oh damn this is good. 5 stars. But I sneezed and clicked 4 stars xD.

The secret experiment is pretty brutal but the MC is still able to 'keep her humanity'. Yet she doesn't find excuses...

Rather, she doesn't need one. The worst that could happen to someone else is getting their accounts deleted and every human NPC she has met so far are definitely villains
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Demon Sword Maiden
June 26, 2019
Status: c57
Tried reading it because of the high ratings but as of somewhere in volume 2, I got sick of it.

First, the backstory is weird. Girl confessing to a creepy stalker, the stalker's sudden noble desire to preserve the dignity of the girl's body, acting ashamed, etc (feels like the sudden opposite of a stalker's state of mind.) But let's ignore the backstory for a moment, its simply there to set up the background, motivation, etc. Let's talk about the general route this story is taking. Motivation for level up... more>> montages : Check
Cheats: Check (umbrella)
Idiotic and unreasonable villains/troublemakers: Check (A girl wanting to destroy two mountains because it reminds her of her flat chest, villain 'fell in love' with the MC and decided the best thing to do is harass her.) And now, we got another woman immediately trying to do yuri things upon first appearance.

Its like the author decided to take whatever excites people (female protag, ero stuff, training montages) and mix them into a cauldron without caring about characters in general. The best character he had in this story so far is the dead father turned into a monster trying to protect his daughter. Even then, that entire part felt set up and then thrown away in a flash. (MC received daughter's clothes as a gift, gets saved by the daughter's zombie father, followed by getting said clothes torn few chapters later because why not?)

Translations good though. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
A good "horror" fic with RPG elements and stuff.

My only problem with it is that there are seemingly way too many petty a***ole villains. Walk in to an adventurers guild and you find 90% of the people there including the receptionist literally go out of their way to get you? For a job involving 'clearing quest' they sure spend a lot of time and effort trying to hinder and harass others instead of doing their jobs.

(P.S. Ignoring the entire yuri subplot including their many w/e lovey dovey moments in... more>> my rating to prevent bias) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Knights & Magic
February 26, 2019
Status: v6
Great but not perfect. The reason why I put 4* is because currently there is a 'predictable progression' with the chill part skipped. After every part, I could immediately guess what is going to happen next
By that I mean Incident->Invention->Exhibition->Incident->Repeat

There are a few low ratings saying that it is boring because Eru is OP and loved by all. A lot of stories involve OP main characters 'loved by all' so that shouldn't really be an issue. Unlike other heroes, Eru is not a hypocrite, afraid of killing, mopey, edgy... more>> and all that. Some stories have edgy vengeful heroes spare the women and kill the guys cause why not/make questionable life decisions that goes against his main objective. For Eru, all he cares about is robots and his close friends. His character remains the same throughout the story up to volume 6, the last few parts I read. As for translators, skythewood is great. Noblesse is quite good. The rest, is a little painful to read after skythewood quality. (I don't blame them.)

Fifteen Seconds is doing WN so there may be some differences. Besides that, his translation is certainly not great but its understandable/salvageable which is honestly good enough for those with 'some tolerance for lower quality work'. I probably just made it sound worse than it is. It would be great if someone could help him with editing. I can't. I'm terrible.

Then there is BakaDogeza which is the worst among the translators of this series. I have appreciation for the effort but blunt truth comes first. Sorry. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Reborn Little Girl Won’t Give Up
July 15, 2019
Status: c49
As of ch 49, five stars (for its target audience). The story is about a baby trying to find happiness. If you are looking for any kind of action you would be disappointed. This story is good because the characters act considerably realistic, meaning they don't act smarter or dumber than they should normally be according to their age/station/experiences/individual in general. There are no stupid hate sinks/cannon fodder characters for example, those that usually pick a fight with MC, lose, pick another fight.
At the same time, it 'succeeds' in... more>> its selling point, the cute and heartwarming department.

As for the 'cons', well, the cons are debatable. For one, it is 'slow'. MC is still a baby at ch 49. It would also probably 'lose some of the cuteness' when the MC grows up. Last but not least, readers would likely require another dose of insulin. WOO DIABETES! WOO INSULIN OVERDOSE! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Tensei Shoujo no Rirekisho
June 21, 2019
Status: --
I am not going to say much on why its "good". The other 4-5* already said it.
The ones giving it a 3* have different opinions on why its 3* and some of it is justifiable so I will just ignore this. This review is merely to make people sort of not turn away from this story because of the 2* and 1* reviews about bad world building.

First of all, there is crime. Not immediately since its a slow story and definitely not nearby a noble's house because that would... more>> be suicide. Second, about the idiots that can't even make a well and stuff. Some would say "ridiculously stupid" I would say "somewhat realistic." You would be surprised at how stupid and lazy the human race could become when they are spoonfed. I would know, I live in a country where a selected spoonfed majority say stupid stuff capable of (slowly) destroying the country (or their entire race) on a daily basis in the name of equality and that everyone that doesn't agree with them is racist, an evil to be purged.

Point being, when the 'mages' have been expected to do everything since its more convenient and efficient, smart people don't get the motivation to do stuff. They give birth to less smart people, repeat, and now your great great grandchildren are all lazy spoonfed people that can mostly look up and say FEED ME. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
My Father in Law is Lu Bu
February 20, 2019
Status: --
Dear Lord. This is so bad I could cry.

The first problem is the pacing. You could literally tell when the author is just writing pointless fillers. Each conversation is filled with people trying to be cryptic and then repeating themselves over and over. If the 'conversation' happens to be an argument of some sort where they try and change each other's minds, the end result is that the conversation doesn't happen because something gets in the way.

The second problem is the logic. Let us PRETEND that Lu Bu is a... more>> space alien that could break feeble city walls made out of suspiciously flammable stone and that the armor is tied together with a string, loose enough to cut and drop them mid-combat. Two logical flaws in particular pissed me off.

Zhou Tai has his heart on the right side of his body instead of his left. Its a real thing called dextrocardia and it doesn't make you superhuman. On the contrary, it makes you 'superweak' because of weaker immune systems + other important things.

The other logic failure is about that one guy whose name I couldn't be bothered to remember. As he was dying, he ripped out his intestines and ate it together with his digested sh*t and then gets much stronger.

Fkin space aliens. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
I Favor the Villainess
July 22, 2019
Status: epilogue
Before we begin with the reviews, let me first say that I don't like yuri/yaoi stories (somewhere around -4 on a hate/like scale of -10 to 10 if you need some kind of reference.). This is simply a matter of story preferences and not about actual LGBT people. Now that I have said this, here is a 4* rating so if you don't like yuri you could still enjoy this. Imo, the 'flaws' of this story are

1. The lack of anybody caring about the reincarnation issue. "I am reincarnated from... more>> a world where this is a game and I know the plot." *insert kingdom hearts 'okay I believe you' meme

2. Too many 'conveniently placed homo characters'. Them being yuri is fine but the ones that are yuri also conveniently hold key positions. Hell, half the important cast is yuri in a society where this is 'supposedly heresy' 'minority group'. Remember that this is an otome game where most plot characters are supposed to be straight for game progression.

3. There is this approximately 4 chapters worth of MC past life yuri backstory that is almost worthless. Anything that could be remotely considered important could be summarized into one chapter and even that could be considered 'backstory for random reason to be angsty'. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Manowa
June 17, 2019
Status: --
3-4 stars*. Just a lighthearted isekai adventuring while looking for a way home along with a little 'dark mystery' as far as world background goes.

Feels boring at the start but becomes enjoyable (to me) after 5th party member (which I kind of hate) for some reason (Yes. Story feels better to me after introducing a character I don't like. I don't understand it either). Feels very cliched and easygoing but look at first TL date. 2015. This is probably one of the oldest isekai stuff around and should be considered... more>> more 'original' than the other isekai you are reading today and should be judged more "leniently" when coming across overused boring stuff like character sheets or w/e. Of course I am also not putting OP MC/MC cannot lose problems as a defect MC dying = story ends.

Another thing I want to point out (may or may not be a good thing) is that this story tends to slowly build up on their jokes/character development and could be missed if one does not pay attention. One of them being the MC's taste in people/her loneliness which feels consistent with her actions in later chapters. One joke in particular took hundreds of chapters to "slowly build up" before exploding in someone's face at around chapter 147

Note that I will only give 1* to the trashiest blasphemies and 5* to flawless masterpieces. As a result, I kind of have to give this a 4* for a general rating or 3* if you think "unoriginal cliched storyline is unoriginal even if it came out first." <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
I Decided to Cook Because the Losing Potion Was Soy Sauce
February 13, 2019
Status: c43
Based on my little understanding of whats going on, I would grade the story with 3*

On the neutral ground (as this is heavily influenced by preference), its slow and lighthearted.

The 'good' part is that this story is 'different' in that it combines potions and food seasoning which is unique in its own way. Need more actual potion stories too.

As for the 'bad' part. Everything seems to work too conveniently. Every potion seems to be a convenient ingredient that is needed. Its like having the food and the random sauce just... more>> happens to complement each other. It doesn't feel like there is any necessary experiment/practice going on such as in Cooking with Wild Game. As though everything is handed down on a silver platter.

This is the rating before including translations. With the current translation, its 1 star. While I am grateful for the effort of the translator there is no point in lies. The translation is dreadful. Hopefully he improves. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nyamu
Nyamu rated it
Kuishinbo Elf
January 18, 2019
Status: --
It was great... until the peaches started talking and doing things. It was fine as an otherwise OP healing item and trademark food but giving sagely magical advice and other similar things is taking things too far.

I can deal with everything else except the accursed talking peaches.

Rated it 2* because the start-ish was great-ish even if plot is substandard. I mean, what else are you expecting from a gag series?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report