Report Review
26 Reviews


Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Hua Hua You Long
January 20, 2018
Status: Completed
I dont know why this has so much good review. I dont think I have ever been more apalled by a manga or light novel.

... more>>
Spoiler

The way jing treated lu cang is absolutely unforgivable. And I find it vile that lu cang actually forgave jing just like that. The only reason I persisted reading this is because I was hoping in my heart lu cang will seek vengeance even though I know that's not going to happen. I honestly would have rather killed myself in front of jing just to show how disgusted I am. And it's even beyond my comprehension how lu cang could have even felt a tiny bit of emotion towards jing aside from hate, much less actually love him.

[collapse]

Overall, the reason why I dont like this is because I refuse to chip what little bit of humanity left I have in me. For me, liking this novel means accepting rape and torture, which will never be even at least borderline "okay". Most people think it has a good plot, I dont really think so, the plot is mediocre at best for me. There isn't any twist or shocking revelation. IMO, the tragedy of the novel overpowers the actual content and plot. There are plenty of other novel that exceeds this and without the mental and pyschological trauma it brings to the readers. <<less
14 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
January 20, 2019
Status: Completed
This has a special place in my heart since this is one of the first chinese novels i've read. TDG manhua made me want to read the novel and now we're here a few years later... a novel junkie trying to struggle with society. Lol. Besides the point, this is honestly a good read, i've read this a few years ago but I remembered it has great world building. Sure the MC has no morals at all, but it's not the plot nor the story's fault, it's just the way... more>> the story and world building was built upon. A lot of bad reviews focus on that, well, newsflash, you have the tags clearly written, please dont expect a good samaritan MC after seeing all the tags. Another negative reviews i've seen is that they say he's not really a scientist. These people probably don't even know what scientists do. They do a lot of research. And that's what he does. Sure, he allows the AI to do most of his tasks, but the AI doesn't think for him. He thinks of ways and ideas to get things done and he just uses a cheat code to do it in the fastest and most convenient way. I would say he's dumb if he doesn't use it, expecially given his morals... or lack thereof. Lol.

Ps: im actually running of novels to read and i've even entered the black hole of MTLing, lol never thought i'd be one of those frustrated enough. 馃槀馃槀 so i've been going back on the earlier novels I read and am planning to read it again, hence the lengthy review. <<less
6 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
My Darling
May 9, 2018
Status: Completed
It's honestly such a sweet and heart melting novel. The story has it's own conflict which is pretty much the progress for their feelings for one another (or atleast the FL's feelings for the ML). While it doesn't have an intense plot, and the conflict can be considered mild, unlike other novel's intense plot for revenge or sth, it still manages to capture the reader's interest and you can't help but wonder how the characters progress.

... more>>
Spoiler

My heart honestly broke a little everytime the FL rejects the ML. And it was heaven sent when she finally agreed to start a relationship. I like that she didn't do a half assed job about it and she did really try to be a good gf to him which finally made her realize and intensify her feelings for him.

I like that she wasn't wishy washy with her attitude at all. When she rejected the ML, she really did reject him with no hope for relationship whatsoever. She didn't let him on, and the only interaction they had was only out of guilt, which the ML knows. And when she finally did try to have a relationship with him, she really did try her best.

[collapse]

It's honestly a 4.5 for me because the ending felt a bit rushed and I feel like there were a few loose ends.

Spoiler

Like what happened to his health? I know he had a surgery but it didn't say what happened to the tumor, if it was malignant or benign.

I also felt unsatisfied that there weren't more chapters of sweet moments AFTER she realized her feelings for him. The build up felt so long but the consolidation of their relationship was so short.

[collapse]

Other than that, it was honestly so good. Maybe i'll read it again after a few months when I forget some of the plot so it's like a whole new read again. Lol.

PS: huge props to the ML for his patience and dedication to the ML, that it made the hurdle higher for normal guys for me. Lol. His love was so intense for the FL, and made me yearn for a true love like that.

I feel like people who have rated this 3 star or less were not really judging this for what it's worth. While rating and tastes are subjective, you can't just have one criteria for all novel. A plot with more action and revenge will be obviously more interesting than a novel that has a simple and stable plot. I feel like that's the only thing that dragged the ratings down. For a novel category with a simple plot like this, it'sa very good read. If you expect for something else other than the aforementioned, then you really might not like it. This novel has a josei/shoujo feel to it, for a lack of a better comparison. So if you enjoy novels like that, then look no more. <<less
6 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Screen Partner
July 22, 2018
Status: Completed
Warning! Be prepared for a toothache.

This novel is short and sweet. While there isn't much drama nor twist, it's still a very satisfying read.

... more>>
Spoiler

I like the ML's naivete towards his feeling in the start but he quickly became proactive in pursuing the MC. While the MC may seem wishy washy and extremely indecisive towards his feelings, I felt like it seemed raw and realistic. After all, if you really were a straight man, you would have doubts and reservations too.

[collapse]

And the fujoshi in me can't help but drool for all the smut scenes. I honestly wished there was more chapters... But oh well. Lol <<less
5 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
January 18, 2018
Status: Completed
I love this novel! It surely is a diamond in the rough. The MC is witty, cunning and can perfectly assimilate to the role he gets. The plot is interesting and quick, so it doesn't leave you wondering for a long time which is really refreshing and a nice change of pace for a novel. I also love how the MC ensares the ML and I always wonder who the next ML will be. I find it cute how possessive they each can get (especially the ML towards the latter... more>> arcs). I always find it intriguing how the MC will twist the plot. However, if you are extremely homophobic, you probably wont like it. But if you have high tolerance even though you are not into BL, you could still read it. The BL scenes aren't really vivid. I actually find it cute. Lol.

EDIT: Now at the latest arc. This is seriously so good to the point that I just want to forget about it and read and re-live the experience all over again. I mean, it's still pretty good even if you read all over again but nothing beats the first time. I cannot wait to see what the ending will be and I'm honestly itching to read the raws or MTL it but I don't wanna ruin the fun. I just hope it gets updated soon because honestly, i've been ona reading spree for about half a year and I'm running out of good reads. Lol

Update: finally completed the novel. Man it was such a roller coster ride. I honestly don't have anyting negative to say about it. I wish there were a few more epilogues about their adventures together, but you can't always have what you want. This seriously is my top fave romance novel, BL or not. <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
It's honestly a bit redundant. The storyline frankly follows textbook female xuanhuan story. MC trash -> genius female from another life/world takes over -> becomes amazing. I honestly don't mind, but after reading the same genre and storyline for a while, it gets a bit bland. This is actually the 4th xuanhuan that i've been binging the past few days so you can imagine my plight. The enemies so far are shallow and just seems to want to throw themselves at the MC just for their unfortunate demise. I actually... more>> skimmed through the introduction just because I know the gist of it.

Having said all that, you may still wonder why i've given a 4/5 rating when clearly, the aforementoned statement should've deserved a lesser rating... the reason is simple. After a while and a lot of binge reading, i've really found that basically every wuxia/xianxia/xuanhuan's plot are basically the same. They just get creative with how the enemies are created and how long they last. So you can't expect mind numbing plot every time.

This xuanhuan is a breath of fresh air because it exactly doesn't have a mind numbing plot for now. While that may seem bland and boring to some, I would like to point out that the translated chapters still has a loooooonnngggg way to go. It's not even 10% of the released chapters and it's still ongoing for f**k's sake. I was actually flabbergasted at how long the raws are. Having said that, the plot may seem simple now but the author gives smart hints about the depth of the plot and how everything ties together. I simply enjoy the comedic relief of the beasts/pets and how the ML acts in order to get the MC's attention. The MC is sufficiently cunning and despite being OP, she's not trigger prone while still not letting her reputation be trampled on by anyone else. And it doesn't frustrate me as much that the translations are still ongoing because like I said, it still doesn't have too much depth for now. And I like how the enemies are so easy to deal with. Honestly, it's the reason why I stopped reading Ghost King's wife, the enemy was so f**king irritating, my blood boils at how much trouble she can stir and she's just like a cockroch that just wouldn't die even if she was killed already. My heart isn't prepared for that much hate especially that the translations are still ongoing and I don't have the patience to read mtl.

It's a fun light hearty read and if you're expecting for more, this is probably not gonna be the one for you. <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
It鈥檚 a great read. I like the OPness of the MC and ML. Lots of face slapping too. The ML is always the cheat of the MC since the ML is always someone powerful and and on top of the food chain.

However, it can feel quite repetitive since the pattern is always the same. I cant even imagine reading 70+ arcs. I鈥檒l give it props to the author though for progressingly making it difficult for the MC. In the start, she would pop up before the real action begins, but... more>> now, she鈥檚 been popping up in the midst of the plot so it鈥檚 interesting how she fixes up everything. And I've noticed that the 鈥渧illain鈥 becomes increasingly hard to handle.

Spoiler

Personally, I loved the vampire arc. She didnt know the entire plot beforehand and the original FL is also nice as compred to previous arcs where the original FL becomes the villain. I also like the cultivation arc for the same reason.

[collapse]

However, no matter how interesting it is, 70+ arcs? Really? Lol. Im surprised how the author never ran out of ideas for every arc.

It鈥檚 good though that the translation releases almost every day, if not everyday. So I usually just wait until the whole arc finisjes before I read it again. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Rebirth of the Thief Who Roamed The World
November 28, 2017
Status: c295
Honestly, this is one of the most amusing and interesting LN I have ever read, and mind you, I have read quite a few.

MC is immensely dedicated and loyal to family and friends. Cunning, yet at the same time still has a lot of morals. He is one of the least trigger prone MC I have yet to read. Sure he gets pissed off and fights back, but only when things get bad. Some MCs are so trigger prone they will beat the sh*t out of you just by giving... more>> a few smart remarks. He is also very loyal to his comrades and takes good care of them really well. Frankly, it gives the same vibe as TDG which used to be my favorite save for the fact that the plot got to the point where it had nowhere to go which is probably the reason why it's almost dropped at this point.

Sure, MC has thick plot armor, but what do you expect? He has memories of the past and is preparing for a war so of course he's going to get as many godly arsenal and friends as he can. Plot armor isn't nearly as thick as other xianxia novels IMO.

Romance wise, I think it's okay. The romance isn't as pronounced at this point in time. Sure, it was explained well at the first 150chapters, but the recent chapters is focused mainly on the development of the game. Another reason is...

Spoiler

also, the fact that he doesn't know what his love interest's ign. The storyline now is based mostly on the virtual world rather than the real world, hence, not much romance action going on

[collapse]

Having said that, I like the fact that MC is extremely loyal to his love interest.

I also like that the first few chapters instantly hooks you and leaves you wanting for more, unlike some slow paced novels, which I don't mind honestly, but sometimes, you want to be hooked instantly, which what this novel did for me. I feel like it's getting even more interesting because the history is slowly changing which is pretty much understandable, if you change something from the past, of course something is bound to change in the present and future. The future is getting unpredictable now which I think is a great way to spice up the story.

The only reason why I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is because the storyline is still only at a third of the whole story. Idk if things will go good or bad from there. And also, it doesn't release as fast as I would want it to, although it does release pretty often. Idk if I should just stop for now and come back after a few hundred chapters.

If you still have doubts, just try reading it and you'll know. Frankly, this was so good to me it made me lose interest to every other novel. Every thing just pales in comparison and it irritates me now how redundant and petty other novels and MC are. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21
Tales of Demons and Gods
August 14, 2017
Status: --
I feel like it's because of all the terrible reviews that's why the updates are so slow now. I'm really interested in how the plot turns out to be. I hope this gets updated more often like before. The MC can get arrogant but i've read novels that are much worse. He is arrogant because he's confident in his strength but still knows his self well enough to back down on opponents he knows he can't beat. He treats his friends extremely well and while it takes a lot of... more>> effort for him, he can still forgive enough for enemies that are still yet to do something bad. I read the manhwa first which lead me to read the web novel which really got me hooked. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
This is pretty good. Ever since I've read FOD, I've always been on the hunt for something similar. I still like FOD way better though. The plot is smoother and there's not much gaping holes in the story.

The only thing I dont like about this is the MC is very heartless, and I can't help but feel frustrated with the ML-MC interaction, the only arc I was satisfied with was arc3. Feng ci really did a good job lowering her defences. Lol. It's a great contrast to FOD's character, he... more>> really tries his best and lives every life to the fullest. And he loves every ML with all of his heart.

But other than that, it's great, MC is OP and she doesnt even bother conning people, she just goes straight forward with he face slapping. Lol. The thing I anticipate the most is the ML and how his attitude is towards the MC. Lol.

Idk how the MC here will progress though since the translation still has waaaayyyy to go. With how the chapters are being translated, it'll probably take 4-5 yrs before it finishes. And I dont have the patience for mtl so I dont know if i'll continue to follow this story. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
July 8, 2018
Status: c137
Probably one of my top 5 BL novels. I like how the MC is still OP but there are still some areas that he still lacks and so there is still room for improvement. He is smart, witty, confident and everything I want in an MC. LOL

The ML is quite nice too. He's sufficiently overbearing and doting without suffocating the MC. He trusts his opinions and lets him fly freely but is always there to catch him if he ever stumbles.

The cannon fodders are what they say they are. Nothing... more>> but cannon fodders. So far I havent seen nor foreseen a character that has yet to shake the MC's momentum.

So all in all, it has a rather light plot and it can be a bit predictable, but it's not really a con for me. What I enjoy the most is the MC and ML's interactions and how the MC wipes the floor for every project he has. Lol.

The translation is also good enough. The only thing is that I wish the translation releases every day. Lol. I dont have patience for MTL and it ruins the novelty for me. There is probably nothing more unappealing to me than a badly translated novel. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
July 6, 2018
Status: --
Im addicted! There's so much fluff in the story I cant even!!!

To be honest im only here for the development of the the elder brother and the MC. The family politics is a bit muddled to me. But the fluff in the story overpowers it so I dont care. Lol.

It can be disturbing for some since it's pretty much loli and while reading the novel you vant help but feel that the mc's age is younger because of his childish actions. But if you're not bothered by that, it's a... more>> great reead!

Definitely one of my top5 yaoi novels.

Update:

After finishing this, it's more of a 4star for me. It's still pretty good if you like fluff and no heavy plot. The last quarter of the story went downhill for me. There's nothing interesting plot wise after they dealt with the mother. And all they did was s*x after they started doing it. It got repetitive but I still finished it just for the sake of it.

# <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21
The Legend of Sun Knight
May 23, 2018
Status: --
Hahahahaha. Just reading a few chapters and my face can't help but cramp from smiling too much. The MC is witty and funny and overall an enjoyable read. As of now, I don't know where the plot may lead but I just had to review how an enjoyable and fun read this is. Will update and rate this review once I finish reading this. Also, huge props for the great translation especially one that is written on a 1st person POV. We all know how terrible 1st person translations can... more>> get. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Waiting For You Online
January 22, 2018
Status: --
Aaaahhhh!!! This is such a cute novel!! Why does it only have 20+ chapters translated for now?

The MC and ML are so cute and fluffy and I look like ab idiot with a huge smile plastered on my face because of it. No definite plot that I can see as of now. It's a cute abd fluffy read which is a nice break from the blood boiling novels i've read so far.
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Upgrade Specialist in Another World
January 3, 2018
Status: c423
I actually quite like this novel. It can be a little boring the first few chapters (as you would expect to establish word building) but not too slow IMO that you would end up wanting to drop it.

It's refreshing to see an MC that has still remained as kind as he can without being taken advantage of too much. He still helps other people as best as he could and refrains from pointless slaughter. Sure he did some dumb emotional things at the first book but he has learned... more>> to pacify his feelings and calmed down later on. He's really OP now but has still not shown too much arrogance, at least IMO.

It's also refreshing to see how he has built his way to the top without previous world knowledge as his arsenal. Not saying I don't like those, but it's refreshing to see another way.

The romance is okay. It's there but it's not the main focus of the story ib any way. I think it's the author's way to spice things up in the story.

I honestly think this is an understated novel and you guys should check it out. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Tea of Summer
December 29, 2018
Status: Completed
I honestly feel bad for the low stars it has. I'm one of those readers where I like to heavily rely on stars before I read something because I don't want to waste my time reading a book I wouldn't like. I decided to read it though because I read a review that said the vibe was similar to "really really missed you" and I ended up quite liking that one.

I feel like those who gave this a low star was expecting too much out of it. So before you... more>> read this and end up not liking it and dragging the stars down further, I'm going to give a forewarning...

Yes, this novel doesn't have much plot. It doesn't have the conflict that a story should have. There's no angst, revenge, jealousy. None of those blood boiling factors. While I like a good story with a good plot, this novel is completely devoid of that.

This is purely a feel good and heart warming story about a seemingly detached boy pursuing his love interest. And the rest is history. Yes, there are many plot holes and open ended questions, but like I said, the novel isn't about a mind numbing plot, it's a story of a boy and a girl falling in love with each other.

And yes, as a referrence if u liked "really really miss you" it has a similar feel to it.

You either like this novel or you don't, but please don't drag it down because u didn't. You're detracting readers who like this sort of writing style because of the bad comments.

I feel like this genre captures a specific type of readers because of its mellowness. No twisted plots, no intrigues, just pure love story of how 2people met and fell in love. <<less
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
The Rice Pot Next Door
May 4, 2018
Status: Completed
This is such a good read. It's nothing exciting and heart pumping so don't expect for those. It's more like a chill, slice of life read. The plot is pretty consistent although there are no ground breaking plot twist or conflict. It's very much a novel with a touch of realism.

... more>>
Spoiler

i like how the MC and ML interacts and it's so cute how the gender bias is reversed. Lol. The ML is the wifey. I also like how the MC is not wishy washy and doesn't get upstreamed or sidetracked by the supporting lead.[

It's pretty interesting how the MC is also affected by "midlife crisis" (although she's only 28) because I feel like almost everyone suffers thru that. You do your work your entire life and somehow, something happens and snaps you out of your bubble and you think what you're doing is what you really want.

[collapse]

As much as I live for CN with interesting plot twists and turns and heart pumping action, I dont mind reading this type of genre at all. It manages to be mellow without being boring at all. <<less
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
April 28, 2018
Status: Completed
This one is really good. I just finished reading another CN similar to the MC's characteristics. A lazy and a glutton. Lol. Personally, I find it refreshing and the unraveling of the political feud between the different parties is just a nice pace.

The hidden meaning between their interactions and death is also particulary intriguing and even I had a hard time guessing the mastermind of some of the things that happened.

The MC is independent and doesn't need to be doted upon but the ML never fails to dote on her... more>> anyway. Lol.

I heard this is pretty similar to TBAVW and while I did read it, I didnt finish it and have probably almost forgot the plot because of how similar these CN can get. I personlly find it bland the first time I read it, but that might have been due to my preferences that time. Preferences change all the time so I might try reading that again.

Anyway, if you're here for a relaxing read and just have enough conflict to maks things interesting, look no more! <<less
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Rebirth of Chen An
January 31, 2018
Status: c38
So far the story has been really good and I look forward for more chapters. I like how bad ass and put togethet the MC is.

Spoiler

the story now is about to pick up. He's starting to pick up his gun trading business and groom Cheng Yang for the job. Interesting though how everyone is still after his ass even though he's in a mediocre body at bes. His appearance will probably get better at the stort goes.

[collapse]
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
Nostalgia21
Nostalgia21 rated it
Love You 59 Seconds
January 30, 2018
Status: c59
This is definitely a slow burn romance and plot. About 2/3 of the story doesn't really have a concrete plot going on. Most of the story is based on the game and I appreciate how the translator gives details and even pictures for added visual input. Having said that, I like how the story is turning it's picking up the pace now and I just love the MC and ML interaction at this point.

... more>>
Spoiler

makes me feel like wanting to have my own xia chen. Huhu. Im interestrd to see how the rest unravels with regards to each other's families and XC's company

[collapse]

The only downside for me is how the characters are introduced especially when in-game, IGNs confuse me so much on top of remembering their real name. And some have absurd nicknames as well.

All in all it's a cute story. Waiting for you online made me read this and I cant day I regret the decision. It's cute and fluffy, but dont expect mind numbing plot because most of the plot revolves around the characters leveling up. <<less
1 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report