Report Review
10 Reviews


Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Limitless
September 8, 2017
Status: c15
For now there's nothing special that separates it from the other cliche xianxia novels out there.

The story has a modern setting but most of the things are left unexplained. The story takes place 3 decades after the 'new era' and this is currently the year 2056. Our MC is a genius who had his powers sealed and now is called a 'trash'. With a fortuitous encounter, he gets his powers back. But then he decides to hide this from everyone for now. Now lets discuss some pros and cons

Pros

  • His cultivation method is a mystery so it can be expected to be unique.
  • Op MC with plot armour.
  • Good translation quality and great translation speed.
  • Reasonable characters (somewhat).
Cons

  • Nothing that separates it from the others.
  • MC hiding his strength for some stupid reason.
  • Mc's way of dealing with enemies. For ex -
  • Spoiler

    there's this smartass who loved mc's childhood sweetheart. MC's known to be trash so he hires a local gang to assassinate him. MC dealt with all of them carefully and cautiously. Then our butthurt young master sent his personal servants to kill him. But again MC kills them carefully. So, here I expected our MC to deal with him carefully as well but NO. MC just went up to him where he was sulking with his somewhat influential friends and asks a fugly OP sparrow he just found out in the last chapter to bash him up in the broad daylight in front of everyone. And this ended up causing a war b/w the two factions behind MC and the useless stepping stone.

    [collapse]
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
When A Mage Revolts
August 26, 2017
Status: c20
Artificial intelligence here seems more like the friend of MC here than an emotionless tool. Currently MC is weak and does not possess a godlike intelligence. The premise of the novel is interesting and the story is realistic. The story has a great potential for development if MC shows steady character growth. The worldbuilding is lacking as it is still early in the story. Although currently MC is being pushed around, I think it will all change as he grows stronger.

Anyways, a good novel to read and enjoy.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
August 27, 2017
Status: c118
The novel is amazing and the plot is slowly being revealed. Rather than a godly MC, our MC is relatable and the story is slow-paced. The world building is good and you can smell different cultures here.

Although the story does have plotholes, the novel is still enjoyable if you ignore them. Afterall everything has its own faults and this novel does too. It is exciting to read as the MC is not that intelligence but he's diligent and works his way through the problems. There are no arrogant young masters,... more>> idiot enemies, one dimensional harem and finally useless tournaments which makes the novel more exciting.

The main reason I rated this novel 5 stars is because it gives me the feeling of 'adventure' and 'mystery'. You grow with the MC. You'll feel anticipation for the upcoming situations. The unpredictability and MC's way of dealing with the situations always amazes me. Currently the pros of the novel outweigh the cons for me and I would love to recommend it. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Plundering the Heavens
August 6, 2017
Status: c89
This is my first time I'm giving a review and it's only because how low this novel is rated despite being one of my favorites. The plot of the novel is like a traditional xianxia story but the MC is amazing. He doesn't give a damn about ANYTHING and is absolutely humourous at times but at the same time clever and cautious when facing enemies. Well, this is too early to give a review anyway as there more than 1700 ch. But this novel absolutely deserve much more rating than... more>> it currently has. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Ze Tian Ji
August 6, 2017
Status: c485
The novel is great. MC is reasonable. The interesting and realistic characters and the author's way of writing just draws you in the story. The world building is good. The story is slow-paced but that juch makes it seem more realistic. Some characters are really likeable and as the story progresses, you start feeling more and more attached to it. There's not much action. The interactions between characters are humourous and the romance in this novel is one of the best (imo). MC is calm and cool-headed and all the... more>> side characters leave a mark in the story. The plot is beautifully written and comedy is really good. Anyways, this is definitely a novel I would recommend. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Chaotic Sword God
August 6, 2017
Status: c650
The novel gets good later on as the story progresses. MC is arrogant but most of the times he has the power to back it up. Although MC sometimes acts stupid and there are some useless arcs in the story but it's still a good novel to enjoy if you can ignore some inconsistencies.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Against the Gods
August 6, 2017
Status: c790
The worldbuilding is great. The story has a nice pace, a thick plot armor and sometimes really funny too but,

There's just TOO much luck involved here that it feels annoying at times.

The novel is full of one-dimensional, extremely beautiful, big-boobed, virgins.

... more>> MC preaches too much sometimes.

Jasmine is FAR TOO OP and at some times you can't even remember that she's even 2 years younger than Yun Che.

Anyways, there are a lot of things that are annoying but the story progresses nicely and the plot is somewhat good as well. For me it was a good read and it's​ quite good if you like traditional xianxia novels. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Omnipotent Sage
April 20, 2018
Status: c124
I don't understand how this novel has such low ratings. Sure the start is kind of slow and lame but still it gets quite interesting later on. Let me just mention a few pros and cons-

Pros -

1- Characters which follow human logic and are reasonable enough.

... more>> 2- no cliche CN tropes

3 - As MC is still just 13 yo there is no love interest so there should be no harem here

4- MC knows how to deal with the situations as he is neither insufferably arrogant nor excessively humble

Cons -

1- TOO MUCH info dump. Although author writes info in a somewhat interesting way, they still leave me with sufficient headache.

2- fortuitous encounters occur almost every 8-10 chapters.

Conclusion -

In the beginning, everything seems slow and random but as you read later on, you find that every side character describes affects the plot and MC a little bit. The behavior of MC also provides a new outlook as a modern worker. For me, until c124 it's been at least a 4 star novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Fanatic Martial God
September 11, 2017
Status: v1c49
If you want a CN novel with one-dimensional characters, then this novel is for you. Seriously​, even the MC is one-dimensional. Broken engagement, sect destruction, legacy from an op old man. Going around beating the strongest man in other towns, stumbling upon an op beast companian, accidentally finding immortal cave, a mystical beauty and then a tournament - that's the plot till 50 ch that I've read. Damn even NPCs have more reactions than these characters. The only reason I'm​ giving it three stars is because it is amazing in... more>> itself that so many cliches can be found in a single story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nihilist_smoker
Nihilist_smoker rated it
Awakening
August 6, 2017
Status: c125
Read this as a timepass. I've searching for a story like this for awhile now and it fits perfectly for me. MC is OP but it's reasonable as well. It's a fun story with good romance and fun as well.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report