Report Review
13 Reviews


Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Girl, I’ll Teach You Cultivation
July 5, 2018
Status: c120
Can't stomach it any farther, it was rough the last 60+ chapters and it's only getting worse. I was seeing red flags early into the translation but it only gets worse and not better...

If you can somehow kill your sense of morals and ethics enough to enjoy the MC in spite of his actions and deal with the unrealistic plot armor and somewhat lacking plot|intelligence of the world then it's not a bad novel. There's plenty of action and some interesting twists, especially if you enjoy an overpowered MC. The... more>> author's writing skill or maybe instead, the translators' writing skill really isn't bad. However, the before mentioned issues are both pungent, repetitive and only worsen over time... For that reason, I can not and will not ever recommend reading this novel.

It's like taking the 5-year-old neighborhood bully, giving him 3000 years of experience (in which he learns nothing except how to bully better) as well as overwhelming power while removing his ability to ever move from or alternate his original 5-year-old tendencies. Then allowing him to start his life over from the beginning so he can bully as many people as possible for whatever reason|scheme. All the while, trying to excuse it by dropping random weak "mini bullies" to get on the MC's blacklist... All while trampling over potentially innocent lives in the process (on both sides by both parties). <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
The Gate Of Good Fortune
August 18, 2017
Status: c280
So far it's been exceptional, I have no idea why it's rated so low. Also, why the Harem tag?

There's never a lot of focus on any of the side characters, whether they be guys or girls. The MC is pretty much a party of one that runs into/makes occasional friends. There are a lot of close calls and slow leveling up periods. Don't read for humor, romance, or for OP moments. It's just a decent story with a good plot, character development and an exceptional author/translator team. Probably closer to... more>> reality than any other wuxia novel that is here on novelupdates, although it still holds strong to it's fictional roots.

Most of the poor reviews seem to relate to the side characters, which are mostly there for a period in order to provide more depth to the story and then vanish. This is a very long story with no end in sight and things progress slowly but the story is well written and there is good character development (although a lot of them come and go).

I don't see why there is all the comments about romance and harem, there is only one girl with the MC. The others are just side characters who either fought against or with him for a period of time, there are no relationships established beyond that... There are girls who are rescued by him and others who seem to be seriously interested in the MC, however that just seems to be plot development and the MC treats them like normal friends/enemies or just ignores them. Most of those girls tend to be around for about 30 chapters or so until the MC moves to another area and then they are never heard of again. This also seems to apply to other side characters with the exception of a few close friends/enemies and the fiance as the MC keeps on the move to escape enemies and to continue his cultivation.

<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Dungeon Maker
October 4, 2017
Status: c4
It's just a transported MC and a dungeon defense world. Concept seems interesting and the author is adding enough plot and world building to keep things interesting. The story is different from the norm which helps a lot however it does have a lot of random distractions that I personally dislike. Overall, this story should be popular with most people and will probably be enjoyed for quite some chapters in the future. Summary: ... more>>
Spoiler

Kid knows he is different, devils/demons come to ask him for help when their boss commits suicide due to depression. Kid agrees and ends up being the boss of a ruined maze/dungeon that he has to protect with no resources. The main character also gets some kind of skill to go along with the dungeon but we don't know anything about what it does yet. Most basic trap/monster dungeon theories apply.

[collapse]

Tried it, going to drop it personally. Nothing against the story or the overall skill there-in, it just bugs me a little when I read it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
October 4, 2017
Status: c300
Edit: Dropped this one a while back, due to the developing Harem and the slowing unraveling story. Not sure if the author has a long term plan for the plot, feels like he's winging it.

It's a decent read but a fast paced plot, however, I am unsure if the author can continue to proceed without the story either changing some or becoming less interesting. Well written and translated, it's just a zombie world and a MC that has a game like vehicle-aimed cheat. It's all in the summary. I am... more>> giving it 4 stars for now.

Cautious warning, the story is very focused on the main character. Almost to point of ignoring all other characters, I hope this doesn't continue since it will make the plot less interesting in my opinion. There's not much comedy or change of pace to keep us on our toes, it just goes forward one event at a time. The author has the skill, it's evident in what he has written so far, I just don't know if he realizes where the plot is going. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Five Minutes Won’t Cut It
January 5, 2018
Status: Completed
Just keep in mind that it is anything but the norm as compared to stories translated here, it's closer to a classic short story that you would read in English class or during literature/library club time. My guess is that most readers from novel-updates won't like it; however that doesn't mean that the work itself isn't good, on the contrary it is quite good almost perfect in its category (an admittedly small category).

It is another quirky and anything but run-of-the-mill story (at least compared to most popular works and specifically... more>> those we see translated here). The quality of both the translation and the original work seem good and the story is spun in such a way that it draws you in, even though I'm still a bit clueless on where the plot is going (the description pretty much sums it up so far).

The story is a classic short story format with a rather random and rambling progression. I wouldn't expect a lot of excitement or much progress throughout the story but it has a certain appealing mystery concealed in the quirky writing style that might make reading it worthwhile. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Magician City
October 4, 2017
Status: c11
It's a story full of potential with a decent author, however I still don't know what kind of novel it will end up being as of chapter eleven. So far it's a sad somewhat emotional story with a hint of future martial skill in the MC. For now I'm giving it 5 stars, will return to add more information as the story proceeds.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Kapitan Sino
October 5, 2017
Status: c12
First of all Torina left a really good review if you don't mind reading the spoiler. On to my thoughts!

Okay, the story is wacky, quirky and a bit odd. It reads more like a slightly confusing english novel instead of the light read that we've come to expect from web novels. The translator is superb and I couldn't find any errors at all, the story-telling is all over the place with hints of comedy, real life, super powers, and insane plot twists. It reads like a story that could and... more>> did, just because. I had to skim a lot because everything felt like information overload with the tangents and character/world building. I enjoyed it but I don't know if I'm up to the challenge of continuing.

Overall, I recommend it. Just be prepared for a different experience from the going trend. Enjoy! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Reader
October 4, 2017
Status: c12
It's a game novel, which I happen to love! Also, it splits off from the normal run of the mill variety and focuses on reading which circles back into the normal gaming madness but it's different and enjoyable. If you like gaming novels then read it, if you like novels with a twist from the normal then give it a try as well.

I don't know how long the quality or speed of the releases will continue but it should be a good read for at least the next 100 chapters... more>> in my opinion. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan
Cultivation Chat Group
October 4, 2017
Status: c153
I don't know why I'm bothering to add a review, just read it if the summary sounds interesting. It is a nice light-hearted wuxia novel with comedy and action. Enjoy!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan
Eternal Martial Sovereign
October 4, 2017
Status: c20
It's just another Wuxia story with a plot-armored over-powered main character. That said, the stories flow isn't half bad and the main character seems to be interesting. Decent writer but lacking in imagination, if you like the rest then you should like this one as well... I'm unsure about continuing personally since it lacks any umph that similar successful stories have.

Both overall quality and translation is top notch, I'm just tired of this story plot. AKA: weak former genius suddenly powers up to amazing levels without anyone noticing, stronger people... more>> keep on coming to kill him but he always powers up or gets rescued. Love interest with a girl that others consider to be too good for him, other girls interested as well... chaos ensues. OP and lucky events abound, enemies come from no-where. No plot building to speak of, just rinse and repeat with some character building. Enough said, if you aren't tired of this style then enjoy. Otherwise, consider yourself warned. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Helping with Adventurer Party Management
September 28, 2017
Status: v2c25
Summary: (I did a final update at c25) I was previously concerned if the story would remain readable but there hasn't been any serious issues in that regard. I would recommend reading to chapter 6 if you like merchant/reincarnation novels (short chapters and off-world-er logic) and then making your choice of whether to continue or not (this remains true as of c25). I will now quit updating this review and have dropped this novel. Hope it's helpful!

Edit: Read chapters 9-12, chapters are still short and story isn't super realistic... more>> but there is a basic premise and it's not a bad read if you like that kind of thing. The author will probably frustrate the reader with his questionable choices (they normally aren't realistic, still an issue up to c25... I can't take it personally) but it's more an issue of style and not of content. The merchant trend continues on the MC side so I will stick with my original review on that point but the author keeps inserting the word "consultation". The consultation feels like heavy handed selling to me and weird practices abound (it doesn't feel natural, it feels like a child scheming. The concepts are normal enough but they stick out like a sore thumb).

Edit: read chapter 8, some minor complaints with wording and too much focus on business but it was a decent read. Translator is decent, I think it's the author's style that is the issue. I do recommend the addition of an editor.

Edit: read chapter 6 and 7, story progressed some. Style feels more manageable although still a bit stunted. The switch to 1st person seems to have helped.

Edit: read chapter 4 and 5, didn't suffer much but original opinion is still valid

Edit: read chapter 3, suffered

Not much to go on right now, I will try to keep up with it and update my review when more comes out later. The story seems to have a merchant theme based on the first 2 chapters, not a traditional consultation feel. Overall quality isn't the best but is definitely acceptable (debatable on some early chapters), chapters are short, MC seems a little stunted character wise. Give it a try if random stories like this are your thing.

I predict that the story will decline into sluggishness after the first 50 chapters, just my guess. Edit: It already feels that way, just keep in mind that it's a merchant themed story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
I Dedicated the Dimension to the Country
November 21, 2018
Status: c1
Update (Dec 2018) : Releases have been very slow, story doesn' seem to be as rich as hoped (based on 2nd release)... I still have hopes for this novel but everything is on hold until there are some decent releases.

First of all, this is way too early for a review... But I wanted to throw this out so other people could give it a try.

The flow and translation seem fine so far (1ch). The flow seems to indicate longer chapters with a richer more cultivated choice of words but the... more>> first chapter is incredibly short so who knows... It should be another basic fighting|defense reincarnation story but with more focus on the surrounding story and world building. I'm keeping my fingers crossed but recommend giving it a try if you prefer richer stories or just fighting|world building.

I'm making predictions based on ~500 words.... we will see what happens. Hopefully, releases will be fairly frequent. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Nightrojan
Nightrojan rated it
Chemistry
October 4, 2017
Status: c19
I don't think I need to add anything to the other reviews, this is a story that's a little off the beaten path. It has weird magic/tech attributes packed into a normal current styled world. Well written with decent character and plot progression.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report