Report Review
97 Reviews


Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Gomen ne, Onii-sama
November 6, 2016
Status: c2 part8
Honestly, this is one of the most consistent character portrayals I've ever read in a light novel! You can clearly see that the MC's previous life dictates the way she lives her reincarnated life. Usually reincarnation novels have a more tepid, back-and- forth characterization. Something like: "minna-san, slavery is bad, okay? Let's take common knowledge from my previous life and change this world to be more like Japan nee~~. What? Polygamy?! You mean I can have 6 wives?!!!! Huh? What previous life? Japan who?"

And it's just so irritating to... more>> see a promising story/MC downgraded so the author can force along the story/deliver pointless fan-service. But this novel doesn't do that at all. The characters drive the plot and not vice versa. So the emotions are much more palpable and the situation feels so much more realistic (though still insane).

Curse this tiny tablet of mine, giving it 1 star when I meant to give 5! <<less
65 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Honestly, this is one of the best web novels I've ever read. Not only is the plot a unique twist on something we've seen time and time again, the author is unbelievably talented at showing the emotional growth/emotional comprehension of the characters. The main character is probably the most human MC I've come across in a light novel, especially his unashamed favoritism of the ML as his favorite novel's protagonist that I can totally sympathize with (can't tell you how many times I've justified unreasonable actions/events just on the basis... more>> of 'the protagonist deserves' lol).

The romance is super well done. There's no immediate falling in love, no perfect love. The author just conveys the raw emotions so well you can't help but get sucked in; the awesome yet insecure ML and his desperate way of loving the MC gives me heartache (when I'm not mildly creeped out), while the MC's denseness and attempts to hook the ML up with his harem while hugging his thighs take me from laughter to tears and back. You slowly see them move from hostility, to comfort, to love, to a sort of bone deep, only-reason-I-exist type love while moving along the plot of the original novel within the novel. It's quite a lovely story, actually, and I strongly recommend it to those who like or are ambivalent about BL. Ugh I hope this author has more works because I'm such a fan of this one! <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Could have been okay but the author dropped the ball. Like a lot of people have already said, the first volume wasn't bad, even bordering on good. Of course, there were inconsistencies, plot holes, and the occasional impossibility thrown in, but it wasn't beyond the LN allowance. Second volume... honestly the plot had already started to go awry at this point. The MC got too fantastic too fast, and had pretty much avoided any possible bad end, leaving a weird slice-of-life with template and/or randomly odd characters a monotonous setting,... more>> and no semblance of drama or conflict whatsoever.

Then we get to the third volume. My god, was it awful. I was glad for the summer break scene, hoping it would be a nice breather from the same pointless characters doing the same pointless things over and over. That didn't really happen since we didn't see much of the territory anyway. And, after they went back to school and the whole Chrissy situation came out, I dropped it. I was literally unable to finish a chapter anymore, even on the rare occasion that I could follow the story.

Long story short, the conception wasn't bad- the idea honestly could have become a good story. The execution started mediocre and soon became horrific. By volume 3, I doubted the author was even reading his own chapters anymore, due to the random shifts in character personalities, mood, and general lack of plot direction. Read only if you have nothing -and I literally mean nothing- else to read, and you don't feel like napping. Napping still might be the better option, though. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
The Lady Dancer’s Ten Husbands
June 4, 2018
Status: c50
Honestly, this novel is one step above unbearable, and this is coming from a woman who quite enjoys the reverse harem genre (since why can't women enjoy it too, right?). But, even with my love of Polyandry, the more I read the raws, the more I realize that nearly everything about this story is bad, in particular the hypocritical MC. I'll never be one to "blame the victim" but the MC's words/actions honestly confuse me. Ignoring the thoughtlessness of her throwing out modern day sophistry in ancient times, she repeatedly... more>> does things she knows will seduce men, takes literally no steps to protect herself, and then gets upset and depressed when something happens. It's like stringing salmon from your neck and prancing in front of a group of bears without bringing along any traps or weapons. She only speaks like a forward thinking feminist while doing things the exact opposite. Example 1:
Spoiler

Spending a chapter lecturing a suitor on finding one person to love for life and about him not treasuring love if he can have multiple women, but I'm reading a harem novel so it all just sounds quite ironic to me. Or that she goes around leading on multiple guys even when she's in a relationship and reasons it with "I'm not a good woman". Then why are you with him? Where did the treasured feelings of love go?

[collapse]

Or how about the situation that made me stop reading the story altogether:

Spoiler

She's always talking about women being independent and learns martial arts so she can protect herself considering she's engaging in a high risk job of seducing men without engaging with them. But, when it comes time to actually do her job, all of her protection measures are relying on men. Where did her martial arts go? Where are the throwing knives? Where's the poison? I don't understand why she says she should be prepared for when men aren't around and yet literally makes no preparation just in case none of her men are around. Absolute stupidity.

It was that whole scene, in fact, that turned me off the story entirely. Because she goes into a whole "woe is me" tirade about not understanding why she was raped in both lives and all that. And I'm just sitting there thinking, really? You LITERALLY sold your life for a year to the first guy, no boundaries, no rules, and no limits. At no point did she try to draw up a contract with him or bring up conditions or any of that. As for the second time, not a single one of the weapons/skills she'd developed to prevent the situation were actually used when they were meant to be. Other than crying and bringing up other men to dissuade the rapist, she did nothing before feeling sorry for herself. It's one thing if she were some random girl who was unexpectedly raped but she'd spent the last 49 chapters laying out what to do to prevent such a situation and ultimately did nothing. Where were all those thin knives she trained with? Why didn't she have at least one tucked away just in case her harem members were too busy to rescue her from danger?! I couldn't help but feel extremely disappointed with the story. The MC isn't forward thinking at all; she hides behind men just like the bland heroines in male centric stories, except our MC this time has more men to hide behind.

[collapse]

Honestly, the author did a poor job executing this type of novel by trying to make the MC sound righteous and justified, but not changing her actual character to reflect that. I'm not asking for a generic assassin/genius doctor template where the MC can do everything perfectly without emotion (but suddenly has emotions when it's convenient for plot development). I just want a novel where the author writes the MC in a way that matches what people say about her. It's like a story where all the supporting characters describe the MC as super fashionable and she always buys the cutest clothes online, but every time she goes out, she's wearing jeans and a t-shirt. Where exactly is the fashion?! There are other female harem master novels where the MC just wants to have a good time with s*xy men; no high-handed speech necessary, and those are enjoyable (see Wife, You Can't Run After Eating) ! This novel is nothing like those. Instead, it's an eye roll inducing tale of an MC who chastises people about true love and women's independence then goes around ensnaring a bunch of different men and being unable to protect herself without her harem members. 1.5/5 - turned to 1/5 here since I'm disappointed with what could have been. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
*Sigh* All I wanted was a simple polyandry story about a woman who seduces and has her way with a harem of diversely enticing men. It would have been fine if it didn't have a strong plot (see Wife, You Can't Run After Eating), or great fight scenes, or comedy, or even genuine continuity in the writing/plot; I really wasn't asking for much. Yet, why? WHY? Why is the 1st novel that catches my fancy something that attempts and fails at all of these? The "funny" moments leave me so... more>> silent you can hear crickets chirp. The fight scenes are... what fight scenes, actually? The plot may or may not be there- in the first 2 dozen chapters, we pretty much know that the MC is forced to take over some spineless wimp's body in order to "learn emotions". Boy, that goal isn't vague at all!

But still! Somehow! The worst part of this freaking story is the inconsistency in the characters/scenes/everything! It's at the point where your belief is so suspended, you don't know if you're reading a story, or dreaming, because anything can (and will) happen regardless of it making sense or not. The one that had me nearly spitting blood was how easy it was for her to "fit in" and completely rewrite her old spineless, cruel, and lecherous character.

Every other reincarnation/transmigration novel has the MC do a bunch of stuff to prove herself before winning back the people who hated her, or throw in an unrelated party to suck up to her until she gets strong enough to go back and earn respect. Yet what happens here? Nothing. She says 3 words, kicks a couple of people, and calls some strangers "her people", and she's the nation's sweetheart. While we're on the topic, how does an emotionless monster gain such a strong sense of ownership over people she knew for a few hours who absolutely hate her guts? And why is said monster also blushing like a middle school girl the minute a vaguely attractive guy approaches her? Also curious why no one questions her new (OP) powers...I also very much hate these "genderswap" stories where men become effeminate and weak as long as they're not the dominant party. Like that, it doesn't seem like anything changed from regular except the ones in power don't have the d*ck. It would make a lot more sense if they built the division around male/female traits (women are in power because they carry the most important role of creating future generations, for example).

Long story... long, it's actually pretty bad. I can't, in good faith, recommend this because I feel like there are way better novels out there, even if you're just looking to waste time. I guess if you're dissatisfied with the meager polyandry pickings on here it's fine, or if you just want to see if the story is that unbearable. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
That Person. Later on…
October 7, 2016
Status: c20
Mediocre OP MC setting, though I found the bit about the childhood friend to be somewhat funny (and their reunion would probably be the only thing I'd be able to look forward to reading in this manga). Overall, though, the writing/plot direction is just bad and makes the story a bit painful to read. The author changes situations to suit what he/she desires, rather than to flow and fit in with the rest of the story. The story is also just inconsistent as the author doesn't take the time to... more>> develop new character traits/personality changes, and just thrusts them into the story. Case in point:
Spoiler

MC trains an entire afternoon to hold back and fails repeatedly, literally blowing goblin heads into oblivion, only to barely succeed (and then fail again against the goblin king). But he's all of a sudden able to hold back perfectly the next day, able to knock the adventurers out without any mention of the slightest difficulty.

[collapse]

Then there's also the lack of consistency based on the entire reason he got so strong in the first place.
Spoiler

immediately after leaving the forest he lived in due to a broken heart, he falls in love with someone else without sparing a thought to the childhood friend until he was heartbroken again. Seeing as it hit him hard enough to have run from home, shouldn't there have been some hesitation?

[collapse]
<<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
(Um, Sorry) I’ve Been Reincarnated!
November 24, 2016
Status: c58
Gave it 3 stars. Not a bad story, but not very good writing either. MC is actually too OP -like, death march level OP- but absolutely no one seems to react appropriately.
Spoiler

I mean, seriously. Defeating a legendary beast at age 8 and then summoning a dragon immediately after and no one acts or treats him differently??? Lazy writing to say the least.

[collapse]

And the author tries to justify the MC's complex/deepen his character by giving a pointless and inconsistent "tragic past". All it shows is that he was an idiot in his last life and is likely to be an idiot in this one. It was bearable in the beginning and I was looking forward to how things would progress but the story slows to a near stop when he goes to school. Sucks considering the only "interesting" interactions he had were with his tutor. Now I feel like we're just cycling through standard OP LN tropes. Defeat super difficult enemy as easily as turning your hand? Check. Walk around saving classmates left and right, especially when they're pretty girls? Check, Tame/summon a mythical beast just cuz you're a BAMF? Check. Dense to the point where readers suspect you have a learning disability? Check, check, and check. All we need now is for him to complain about how much he misses Japanese food and we've got every wish fulfillment wank novel rolled into one.
Long story short, author started writing without a clear goal in mind so a potentially interesting novel devolved into boring nonsense.
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr
Rebirth of a Supermodel
May 2, 2018
Status: c47
I don't know how I feel about this novel, to be honest. The plot seems good and I don't dislike the characters but, the way the author writes makes the story kind of... hammy? It's just...I feel like the author says one thing but the story and characters say another. Or the story will have tons of random unnecessary details purely for the sake of an ego boost. It's disconcerting enough to make reading a chore, even though I feel like this should genuinely be a good story.

First off, the... more>> interactions between characters seem really fake and contrived. The author specifically describes the MC as not being flattering or servile yet, for the next 2-3 paragraphs, every other sentence out of his mouth is a compliment to someone. I'm not asking him to be aloof or act like he's better than anyone, but come on. At the very least, the author should at least try to make her MC match her description of him. Or let's talk about the fact that the ML is
Spoiler

not only the #1 supermodel in the world, he's also concurrently the creator and chief designer for the #1 brand in the world. Seriously? He's so amazing he can design for 4 shows a year, never model or show his face, and yet still not be forgotten as the #1 model on a list that updates every 3 months? This author relies too much on suspension of disbelief.

[collapse]

Going back even further, even the most basic detail like the setting is an unnecessary ego wank. His country Huaxia (China) is the leader for fashion. Cool, right? Yet, somehow, the country is also the leader of politics, technology, sports, yada yada yada. And it's just like... seriously? Is all that really necessary? Outside of the fashion bit, none of those details serve any importance to the story and only make me pause and wonder why the country of super humans hasn't just taken over the world by now. But that was a super minor one, more funny than off putting.

Frankly, none of these details is anything major- they're all just ego boosts for her characters and country and whatever, but it's just so exaggerated, especially because she tells and doesn't show (or will show the exact opposite of what she tells). At best, I just roll my eyes a few times whenever the author says how awesome something/someone is or when MC acts like some old sage evaluating everyone left and right. What makes this novel so uncomfortable to read is the conversations. THEY'RE SO AWKWARD! Honestly, you'd think you were reading an interaction between robots trying to learn human society and not two humans! At times, the stiffness comes across in the narration as well so I'm sure it's not (solely) a translation issue. I should like this story- it has so many things that appeal to me and is similar to novels I also enjoy (True Star, etc) but the author is making it hard for me to genuinely enjoy reading it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
June 17, 2017
Status: c220
Like everyone else has said, this novel is wonderful. At it's core, it's a well executed wuxia/xianxia parody- inserting a harsh dose of reality into those everything-just-works-out scenarios with a suspension of disbelief through the roof. And that's all pretty hilarious. But, the best part is, this story isn't limited to just being a parody or it certainly couldn't have such glowing reviews 200+ chapters in.

During the first arc or two (or 3), the story seems a bit disjointed. The comedy is still there, but the plot doesn't seem fully... more>> connected, as if the author abandons one plot line in favor of the others in an effort to keep the story fresh and interesting. But, once you get further in, everything comes together, and you realize the story is so much more than just slapstick comedy. The characters, the story line, everything about it is so captivating, just knowing the novel has a limited number of chapters is enough to make you (or at least me) sad. Well, at least I'll enjoy the ride ^^

Side note: I noticed reviews criticizing the MC as a goody two-shoes and whatnot, which certainly is true, but is no reason to hate the story. Imo, though her actions scream naive sometimes, she's a lot more realistic than some of those MCs reborn in another world who immediately jump into killing without batting an eye despite being from a world/era where human life is considerably valued. Characters who find it so easy to abandon everything they were ever taught just because someone was mean to them were psychopaths from jump. And, while they certainly make for an interesting story and satisfying face slapping, it just screams unrealistic. Also to Overlord (or anyone else) about the sect thing: is there a novel that portrays sects differently? If so, I'd like to read it. Because, from all the novels I've read, anyone who enters a sect pretty much never sees their family again (at least until the MC goes on some epic journey or something). So it seems stupid to use this as a point of criticism when that's the MO of that type of fictional organization. It's like me saying the characters of Harry Potter were stupid to use wands/broomsticks made out of trees because it would end up causing a deforestation issue. Yeah, it may be true, but that's the standard setup of the world/those types of stories so why single out one story for it? Or, rather, who the hell still cares at this point? <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Stunning Edge
February 17, 2018
Status: c105 part1
I often write bitter reviews on light/web novels with male MCs who skate through life by virtue of plot armor, so it would be unfair to ignore the same case just because of a change in the MC's gender. This novel is essentially the female version of a spank story, which is what I call those stories where the author clearly gets off making his MC alter ego absolutely irresistible and amazing without any reason. Those self-insert masturbatory fantasies that you know the author probably has wet dreams to at... more>> night. But I digress. The reason why this particular novel falls into that category for me are as follows:

    • Will you forgive me if I say pretty please? The MC is forgiven for previous transgressions almost immediately. I've always rolled my eyes at stories where the original MC was trash but in comes reborn personality to change everyone's view and win all their love in 30 minutes or less or your money back. This story, however, is the absolute worst I've seen. The MC does almost nothing (literally, making a cup of cup noodles would take more time and effort) to win the love and pampering of her grandfather aka the absolute head of the household. The original was bratty, lazy, selfish and yada yada yada, yet reborn Mary Sue literally only says one sentence and she's in gramp's good graces. It wasn't even a good sentence, either. It would be like if you preached anti-American propaganda for years then one day came out singing the U.S anthem, only to be invited to be president the day after. Absolutely ridiculous.
    • Oh no, be careful! It's-... not a problem once the MC shows up. Thaaaaaat's right, folks. The MC is somehow able to resolve any issues regardless of how difficult it is, how many people have tried, or even how unbelievably under-qualified she is! Major crises are only as difficult as coaxing a crying child with one hand full of games and the other full of candy! Plague? Psh, you mean the sniffles! A flood? More like a light drizzle! And, somehow, they always accomplish it by the skin of their teeth. What's that damned deux ex machina doing here..
    • Roses are red, violets are blue, you must be the MC, cuz I think I love you. And, of course, the most common trope of all: *drum roll* the MC's ever-expanding harem brought on by her inexplicable charm! Any and everyone falls in love with her or, if they don't fit the mold of super s*xy strong potential interest, then they must idolize her and want to be bffs/unofficial fan club members! I'm not kidding- literally every guy described as more than moderately attractive falls in love with her irrespective of nationality, moral code, position, loyalty,.... Honestly, at a certain point, it's more believable that she's some villain bewitching the eligible men all over the world than the MC we should be rooting for.
Now with all that said, why did I still rate it 3 stars you ask? Because I'm a hypocri- Because it's actually not that terrible of a read if you've got time to waste. Once you look past the massive ego wank, you'll find the plot to be somewhat interesting. Plus, I'm curious if this will go the polyandry route since, even though one interest is definitely ahead of the others as of chapter 100 or so, the others aren't too far behind.

TL;DR It's got its bad points, but still manages to be an okay story. Just be sure to have eye drops handy while you read. My eyes started drying out from rolling them so often. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
December 12, 2017
Status: v12
Read to the end of volume 12. Or volume 13. Or volume 15- I'm not too sure since everything melted into one big load of crap where nothing happens. Some people love this novel, some hate it. I'm of the faction that hates it so read this review keeping that in mind. Honestly, I hesitate to call it a "bad" novel. Because most of its elements are palatable, or even decent on their own; but throw them all together, and you've got something like a peanut butter, pickled mayo, and... more>> fried chicken mint chip ice cream.

I can't say harems are my favorite, but I enjoy when they're done well (when the girls have their own personalities and aren't just portable p****ies), and can tolerate when they're done badly with a decent plot to distract me. I can bear with isekai novels with weird/insensible leveling rules when the MC uses his illogical powers to do something worthwhile. I quite enjoy slice of life novels where the MC just goes around being OP and relaxing everywhere so long as we get to see the characters' growth through everyday interactions/comedic situations. Somehow, death march manages to take the worst part of all of these concepts without following any of them through.

The author starts off as slice of life with the "merchant" story line, but veers off the track by taking this to a power-leveling/getting stronger manga (cue harem). Yet, for some reason, the MC isn't able to even fight despite the absolute difference in strength already explained by the shoddy system introduced chapters/volumes earlier. Then the MC vacillates between being able/unable to fight, prepares to take on a career that he forgets about 3 chapters later, claims not to want things yet is forced to accept them by people who have NO ability to control him, and eats Japanese food- the most consistent part of his character. Clearly, the author couldn't make up his mind on how the novel should proceed, so he just throws in random events/plot devices from other light novels for the sole purpose of making the MC's tension free life even easier. Stuck in a plot hole? Just throw in some random female character! Or write a chapter from one of the harem members' POV to make it seem like they're not just meat flaps when, in reality, the only distinctive parts of their personalities is their inexplicable love for the MC. And, in true virgin hiki style, he won't even touch them!

This novel is such a wish fulfillment story that I can practically see the author wanking himself to each new plot device/harem member. I always wish the author would throw in an issue with ED in these types of novels. It would it explain why the MC with constantly shifting morals refuses to touch the many women literally throwing themselves at him AND add some tension to the novels. A quest to recreate viagra sounds way more interesting than running around looking for miso... <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Evil-Natured Husband, Don’t Tease!
November 29, 2017
Status: c500
I tried really hard with this novel. Read past chapter 500, just hoping the plot would improve, or we would see some of the MC's so called "strength", but that certainly doesn't happen. For any readers like me, on the fence about the 1st couple hundred chapters and hoping things will get better, just do yourself a favor and find another novel. With the exception of 1 character, there's basically no character development. The story goes from 0 to 100 in terms of drama multiple times, and those instances don't... more>> seem to serve any purpose other than to draw the story out.

Spoiler

Case in point:

-evil step (half) sister #2 arranges for MC to be raped and killed for no reason other than the fact that her husband loves her. Is kidnapped, raped, given some STD, and killed. And, all of a sudden, the supporting male is some drug specialist who pretty much has medicine to do anything; a fact which never pops up again after this. Was there a point to any of this, then? Nope. sister #2 never had a chance in the first place.

-basically any scene involving the supporting male's sister. She's not a particularly likeable character, nor does she undergo any character development, or even impact the larger plot at hand. The secondary plots involving her are all so dramatic and don't seem to fit into the tone of the rest of the story. And, frankly, I just dislike her character.

[collapse]

Male lead is definitely in the top five of insufferable asses in a light/web novel. He's selfish, entitled, and hypocritical enough to be angry when his wife (who he tried to divorce when she was in the hospital after a car accident) doesn't want to make him dinner. He's supposed to be intelligent and ruthless but keeps jumping to idiot conclusions while missing the point entirely, and can't seem to make up his mind when it comes to his personal life. Other than his money, there's really nothing appealing about him. Still not sure why the MC would pick him over a stray dog, but she has her own slew of issues...

And now the MC... honestly, I feel like the author conned all of the readers. Because the person described in the summary is nothing like the one in the story. She reincarnates from her past life, yet still gets bogged down with ML who pretty much drove the original body to death, who also looks the exact same as the man who killed her in her past life. First off, why? As the fearless woman among women we're supposed to expect, why doesn't she go and start a new life on her own? But let's just say her emotions couldn't be so easily escaped and move on. Even if she must be with the male lead, why us she so incapable of taking care of herself?!!! She literally has to be rescued by every guy in the novel because she basically breaks a bone when the wind is too strong. That one's a bit harder to get over but, fine. But I can just pretend her current body is weak and the novel will focus on her outwitting people and/or getting stronger. Things follow in this vein for a while, with odd or just shoddy situations popping up and me trying to excuse them..

But then why?!!!! Why does the author turn our useless MC into superwoman without explaining anything? How is she suddenly a business prodigy despite being from ancient China and having no experience with selling anything? Why is it that her body that was so weak before, can do illogical stunts from cultivation novels without her ever working out? Why do the initial villains exit the scene only to be replaced by psychopaths who exist for no reason other than to be crazy (and fill chapters) and who are strangely not bound by the limits of modern day law/common sense/human rights? It's like the author woke up one morning and decided the laws of common sense/physics/continuity weren't necessary in the story and turned it into some weird lala land in an alternate universe where anything is possible if she writes it in.

I don't know what the author's intentions were, but she takes a not so good story and turns it into a hot mess. I only give it 2 stars because the premise seemed interesting, though the execution certainly left much to be desired. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
December 22, 2016
Status: c100
Hmm... It's awful? Rather, the first 30-40 chapters were absolutely painful to read. The writing was bad (story details would be set up in repetitive chunks through the several chapters), and the translation was bad. But it gets better as you continue. The writing becomes a bit more fluid and you come across fewer of the TL's made up words like 'prudentness' and 'criticizings'. And the story seems to be getting more interesting now that she's in school and all so I'm curious to see where things go.

So if the... more>> first several dozen chapters annoy you, feel free to push through. Just be warned that, even after improvement, it's a barely mediocre story. Probably a better use of your time to read Genius Doctor, poisoning the world, or some other xianxia novel with a female MC. If you're rather bored and just want something of the genre to occupy your time, then pick this. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Legend
November 14, 2016
Status: c71
Honestly, I just love the character design of the MC. The author hasn't made him ridiculously overpowered- we can see that there are humans on par with or better than him, so we can see him getting stronger and learning how to deal with battles, rather than just figuring out how to use the powers he already has.

More than anything, though, this MC is actually smart, or at least has some awareness of the world around him. No dumb MC that immediately jumps into a fight only to to have... more>> to deal with the aftermath; Rei properly thinks about the result of his actions before actually acting. And no harem! I'm not necessarily against them, but, as a girl, I like enjoying a strong male lead without cringing at two dimensional female characters thrown in just for T&A fanservice. So excited to see where this goes! <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
She Professed Herself The Pupil Of The Wiseman (WN)
February 11, 2017
Status: c12
Wanted to like it but...

It's kind of awful. The actual writing isn't very good-looking the story is excessively verbose yet says so little. The lack of anything happening is frustrating, even for a slice of life. 99% of the story is background and, even the parts that aren't, seem to only be set up for the author to launch into another multiple page back story explaining something minor, that adds little to the story at hand. Of course, backgroundis necessary, but this author needs to know that all context and... more>> no action makes an encyclopedia, not a story.

On the topic of "no action"- the characters' emotions are virtually non-existent and the author seems to be going through the motions of what a light novel does, without actually establishing a base for itself. It's just shallow, shallow, shallow. Overall, it's like suffering a slow death. I won't even get into the parts of the story that kinda creepy me out (like the loli obsession) as I've read plenty of other novels with similar themes that I still enjoyed. For this one, it's purely the execution that turned me off.

And then let's move on to the translation. Not too many major issues, but the number of small errors adds up to an annoyance like a lot of water drops add up to make a river. Ex: the fact that the translator's verb tenses continuously switch around, odd word order, and just weird, cryptic sentences make the less than mediocre story painful to read. And then the "witty" chapter titles the translator comes up with just come off as trying too hard and start to get annoying considering every one ends in "..." He's better off just leaving the author's original boring titles.

Now I know you're probably wondering why I bothered to review this story since I clearly hate everything about it, but I really don't hate it. I criticize it so harshly because it could have been a much better story considering the concept, but it seems like everyone involved insisted on making it as bad as possible. I'm simply disappointed in both the author's and translator's efforts, though I appreciate them nonetheless. Overall, I guess this is one of those stories where I recognize that it could be enjoyable or even good, but just happens to hit every single thing I dislike in light novel creation/translation. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Hello, Heir
April 30, 2018
Status: c150
Read to what I could consider the edge of a cliff- I just couldn't willingly continue to read knowing I'd be subjecting my brain cells to a pointless death. This novel is.... my god, it's just awful! It's like the worst soap opera you've ever read transcribed into novel form so you don't even have the s*xy actors to distract you from the terrible plot. It's the sort of story that makes me think I must be a robot because I just don't understand why these people are so wrapped... more>> up in what looked like a regular relationship from years ago.

It's written like a terrible drama; rather than just telling you what happened in the past, you get it piecemeal via flashbacks that interrupt the story every 3-5 chapters. Honestly, they're so frequent, it's getting hard to keep a hold on what's even going on! It all seems to build off of some big misunderstanding between husband and wife from years ago- a misunderstanding that could easily be resolved by either character mentioning one thing. Simply put, I can't possibly believe so many modern day adults (with high careers no less) are incapable of even the most basic communication and/or are so trapped in their feelings after the better part of a decade. Even worse, the "reasons" the MC has for not telling the ML the truth are basically non-existent- being blamed for ruining your own relationship while maintaining the image of the actual guilty party (who still continues to treat you like crap) is complete and utter BS.

I know where this is going and I'm just not going to do it. I'm not interested in stupid, pointless misunderstandings one after another. Rather than a roller coaster of feelings, I only have 1 feeling when reading this novel: frustration. Honestly, don't waste your time reading it- there are dramas about people pining for their love that are written and edited better and have more likable characters. I don't feel anything about any of these characters. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
I’m Scattering IQ to the Protagonist
April 3, 2018
Status: Completed
I was torn between 4 and 5 stars- ideally it's a 4.5 but I rounded up since I rather liked this novel. The story was good. Very similar to Quickly Wear the face of the devil, but I think we really got a good collection of characters and scenarios. The end was also rather interesting- ... more>>
Spoiler

I like the fact that the author didn't just send him back and say "game over". Instead, he's still got the mission of going around to worlds with his lover and collecting bits of him. It's also rather fun how they turn it into a game at the end.

[collapse]
Plus, the main character is smart and absolutely loves messing with the female leads in sadistic ways so it's pretty satisfying as a reader.

One minor complaint I have, however, the whole 'scattering IQ' plot point disappears almost instantly. Literally the ML is smart from the 2nd arc on, which is quite the disappointment as the entire premise of the summary seemed to be giving intelligence to the protagonists and then getting chased by them in return. We see that in the 1st story, but from the 2nd until the end, I don't see any attachment to the female lead. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
Against the Gods
January 5, 2017
Status: c715
Pretty much how everyone has described it: repetitive, over-lucky, hound dog MC who just miraculously gets through every life threatening event because... MC correction I guess? But his action of going after every pretty girl is ridiculously irritating, especially his hypocrisy in attempting to sacrifice himself for every single pretty girl he meets despite claiming he can't afford to die as each one of his million wives is waiting for him. Don't even mention him trying to woo the girl he was raised with as an aunt.

Also, I'm really... more>> getting annoyed by the author's description of beauties. If I see another "Jade like skin" I'm going to throw up. What does it even mean any way?!

I just want something interesting to happen. I'm tired of the MC being the lowest cultivation only to pull out a miraculous turn around and win only for everyone to realize they underestimated him, MC enters some realm/land he's not supposed to and is trapped by the people who want to kill him *Yuanba screams in the distance* only to escape, enter another realm/world/planet/jade store where he miraculously stumbles across another tournament so the cycle can begin anew. The one decent story line (grandfather arc) has already come to a conclusion in the same manner as all the others and I'm really starting to lose interest.

This is just a disappointment of a novel; not because of the harem, or the pettiness of the MC, but the fact that the author can't seem to stick to a personality trait longer than half an arc (excluding MC's horndog ways). Author describes MC as careful? 3 chapters later MC does something idiotic. Author praises MC for forethought? MC literally jumps into any dangerous situation for little to no reason without thinking about the consequences, scrapes by by the skin of his teeth, then does it again. Honestly, it's headache inducing.

And to those who say 'this is what WX/XX novels are!', I call BS. There are WX/XX novels that make an op MC with a harem but still manage to keep a consistent characterization for the MC. Martial World, for example, is one of them. At the very least, that MC is actually has to work hard to get stronger, rather than being wrapped in plot armor whose thickness is only second to his face like Yun Che. I mean come on-
Spoiler

he made up some bs name that just so happened to be the name of a famous Empyrean legend? Seriously??? Of the infinite possibilities of names?

[collapse]
That's so illogical and unnecessary; even with all my disbelief suspended, no one should be that lucky.

Overall, the Illusionary Demon Realm arc was awful- possibly the worst arc so far (though I enjoyed it the most-contradictory, I know :P). At the very least, it required the most suspension of disbelief; regardless of how little sense the story made, the author shoved that plot line down readers' throats in a borderline aggressive way. But, from the start, I just wanted to know what was going down with his parents, which is the only reason I read through 700 chapters of him f***ing every beauty and plundering every lucky break he saw.

Honestly, I don't even know how this universe still exists seeing as the MC comes across a "world-shattering beauty" in every town. You'd think all the planets would have turned into dust by now. My suggestion for a plot twist: the "gods" are actually a legion of jade-skinned beauties set out to kidnap men with talent from every planet before destroying it. And Jasmine is one of their main comrades, dispatched to get close to Yun Che, seeing as he only has to breathe to find another miraculous, only eight-in-the-world treasure. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
Narutolvr rated it
A Tale of Two Phoenixes
June 23, 2018
Status: c25
I think Kimchi759 did a great job of summarizing the biggest issues with this novel as a female reader, so I don't intend to start a rant- I just want to emphasize a couple of points I find the most off-putting. To be honest, I knew this novel was going to be on some bullsh*t when I read the synopsis. Why? Because when the new emperor responds favorably to his sister's desire for equality between them, the author describes him as "ridiculously [thinking] it made sense". Right there you can... more>> see that the author doesn't think the original body was within her right to not be constrained by one partner just like men are. So I honestly went into this novel with fairly low expectations. Yet, somehow, I was still disappointed when reading.

The characters of the novel (and, most disappointingly, the MC) paint the original body as one step above Satan for desiring her own s*xual freedom. I would understand the MC not being into it-
Spoiler

waking up in a bed of naked men is probably a jarring situation, after all,

[collapse]
but, with the way she basically describes the original body as a heathen beast deserving of death, you'd think the MC was the one from ancient times instead.

The harem members constantly bitch and moan about being in the harem and being forced to serve a woman, yet they're the ones who joined a harem where they would have to serve a woman. The male interest is... honestly, I don't understand the appeal. He doesn't seem to care at all about the MC which attracts her for some reason? (See Kimchi759's description of this relationship dynamic because it's spot on). I find myself disliking every character except that little boy in the harem (whose name escapes me). All in all, this is an anti-feminist message wrapped up in pro-feminist gift wrap. I sincerely hope this author isn't a woman because I can only say his or her views on women and s*x/s*xuality are dangerously misogynistic. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Narutolvr
It's a great story! Super cute, a funny novel that transitions into romance fairly smoothly without coming across as too forced. The one thing I'm hot and cold on is the transitions between arcs.

Spoiler

On the one hand, it's fairly unique and interesting that the author keeps being sent back to his world upon "death" only to have to go back when he realizes the villain is straying further from the path of rehabilitation. This plot device was also a really nice way to merge his identity back on earth with the new world, rather than leaving readers hanging wondering what happened with family/another body possibly stuck back on earth like a lot of other novels do. However, sometimes the way the MC falls in and out of the world can get a little too convenient, you know?

[collapse]

But, I'm probably just overthinking it since it really is a very good story. And the smut scenes are satisfying, even if I'm just using MTL.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5