Report Review
167 Reviews


MondoX
MondoX rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
April 27, 2016
Status: --
Not sure how this novel is rated high, the story is slowly paced. The worst part of the story is the hypocritical MC. One example is:
... more>>
Spoiler

After annihilating a bunch of enemies, he has a problem killing one demon because he is against using violence. Since he did not kill said demon, the demon ended killing several more magicians and soldiers. The MC was at over 300 while the demon was LV 60ish, and the knights and magicians under LV 30. The demon could not hurt the MC, and the MC was self-regenerating HP the whole time, yet he was afraid.

[collapse]
The MC is your typical Japanese beta OP character. <<less
92 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Monarch of Evernight
September 28, 2016
Status: c6
Could not get into, especially because of the wussy MC. Read the spoiler for a better idea.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC is a kid living in the streets scrounging for food. He somehow sneaks out with a piece of bread from the big kids. He sees a young girl eyeing the bread. He gives her half, but for no reason she snitches on him to the other kids after she leaves. The other kids beat the MC up and are asking him where is the other half of the bread. No matter how much pain he is enduring, he does not snitch on the girl. Then again for no reason, the little girl uses a stone to smash the MC's head. Somehow the MC survives, and she tries to smash his head again, but stopped after some adults appeared. The adults noticed the bloodlust of the girl, and gave him a gun to shoot her. They told him if it was not form them, she woulld have killed him. The MC does not shoot her, so she leaves a psycho roaming the streets.

[collapse]
<<less
87 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Genius Sword Immortal
April 30, 2016
Status: --
I would rated it higher, but the female characters are terrible, especially Su Menghan. She asked the MC for help when she needs him, criticizes when she does not need him, and asks him for money when the MC is technically poor. Also, a lost some respect for the MC:

... more>>
Spoiler

He did not want to get involve with a guy that was harassing a couple. Later the girl fell to her death, probably raped, and now the MC wants to get involved. Either do not try to involve yourself at all, or he should have interfered early.

[collapse]

I do not understand how more stupid can the MC become. Why would you try and save someone that tried killing you. Not only that, he is helping someone from the same clan as the guy that killed the girl from earlier. The MC says he does not want to get involved with unrelated quarrels, but he gets involved with the enemy of his enemy. He does not help innocent bystanders, but has no problem helping an enemy, he is definitely a hypocrite. The MC is too frustrating, dropping this series. <<less
80 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
A goddess summons two people to help restore her world. The personalities of the two that were summoned are opposite of each other (obviously good and bad). The Goddess gave them the same cheat, and summoned a slave for each of them. I repeat, the Goddess herself summoned a slave for them. The name of the race is Eternal Slave, the Godesss mentioned they live and die as slaves. WTF? Why would anyone want to restore this crappy world? With a crappy Godesss? The evil God was the one to... more>> destroy most of the world, maybe he was the good guy and the Godesss the evil one. <<less
73 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Nidoume no Jinsei wo Isekai de
May 5, 2016
Status: --
I would rated it slightly higher, but the author is inconsistent as fark! It has been noted several times that the MC can not remember his past life because the God has wiped his memories, yet he remembers his old world did not have two suns, he remembers medieval times on Earth, Japanese currency and different belief of Gods in his previous life. I am positive that as I keep reading, the MC will mentions other knowledge of his past life. The God has lived for over a 11 BILLION... more>> of years, created a world, yet she is stupid, and incompetent. The MC with his supposedly memory wipe, is smarter and more competent than the God, how is that possible? The MC was given a godly weapon that could destroy anything with one, but when he used on some humans, some were only knocked out unconscious. I could go on about more inconsistencies, but I will stop at that. If the author did not have so many inconsistencies, the story would have flowed a lot better. <<less
73 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
November 6, 2016
Status: c64
Spoiler

The story started with tension and a decent pace, but now it has slowed down. The MC's mom is dead, and he does not know who is his father. His family/clan treats him life crap, especially his grandmother. The grandmother decides to make him a slave for his more talented cousin. Yet, the MC wants to be strong to be part of the clan that treats him like crap.
The MC did not run into a fortuitous encounter, the fortuitous encounter ran into him (unless it turns out to be his dad, the encounter does not make sense). The MC gives up 72 years of his life for a skill, but compared to 72 years of his life, the skill is not great. I am sure in the future the MC will probably extend his life, but at the moment he has about five years to live. With the speed the MC is going, he will probably die before he accomplishes his revenge. The MC is training and attending a martial arts school.

When the MC gave up 72 years of his life, he also give up his positive emotions, like kinship and friendship. However, he still feels like he is part of his clan, which makes no sense if he lost kinship. He wants revenge:

He was caught by a girl and her clan, he was tortured and left for dead. One of the guys asked the girl if she wanted him to cut the MC's head to ensure he dies, guess what she says? The MC wants to pay her back, but it seems that he forgot who was the one that had him in that situation. His so-called friend sold him out, and up to chapter 64, he has not mentioned her once. He was captured because his friend took money from the girls' clan to give them information regarding the MC.

[collapse]

It is not a horrible novel, but it is too boring for me to continue reading.
49 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
April 23, 2016
Status: --
It started off great, even with a 34 year-old low-life pervert getting lucky to reincarnate for no reason. The story seemed to have regressed, and the constant perversion of the MC, especially at the wrong times ruined it for me. In my humble opinion, both "Bu ni Mi wo Sasagete Hyaku to Yonen" and "World Teacher" are better stories, with better MC's.
45 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Spirit Vessel
July 17, 2016
Status: c54
The story has a similar start to OEM, except the MC in this story is older by thousands of years, but becomes stupid as the story progesses. The MC's thousand-plus year-old soul fuses with a young soul after getting killed by his lover, which he never saw coming. He swears revenge, and it seems like he has a hard time trusting women. For example, ... more>>
Spoiler

The MC attacks a female that helped him earlier, because she resembled his previous lover.[/spoler] It was an idiotic reaction by the MC, but understandable. However, when the MC's cousin/fiancée is introduced, the story, and MC's intelligence snow-dives. His cousin/fiancée had a hidden identity, and threaten to kill the MC for a treasure, and then chased after him in disguised, luckily he escaped her grasp. Later, he almost had his neck snapped by her in his room. Then the MC finds out that his cousin is a chess piece from another family, and was placed in the MC's clan since she was young. What does the MC do? He continues to flirt with her, and keeps on calling her wife, and does not care that she has a questionable background, complete trust is an understatement.

[collapse]
The MC was the Patriarch of a top sect, and was one of the most, if not, the most powerful being in his past life. His cousin is younger than the original's body by a few days, but she seems smarter than a thousands year-old Patriarch. At the start, the MC was focused on cultivation, and getting stronger in order to go back and exact his revenge, but somewhere in the story he forgot his main objective. Then one after another, people kept pursing the MC, and it turned into "An Idiot Running Scared." <<less
41 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Miracle Throne
May 8, 2016
Status: c85
I like the MC's straightforward personality. Smart, cocky, funny and ruthless. Not wasting time beating up arrogant punks, spanking girls that try to hurt him, and out-schooling so called masters. Looking forward for this series to continue being translated.

Update: The MC is not as ruthless as I believed.
Spoiler

A female tries to kill him several times, not only does he let her off, but saves her several times from the brink of death.

[collapse]
I can not understand the cliche I mentioned above. I have dropped several stories because of mentioned cliche.
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Swallowed Star
May 17, 2016
Status: v2c6
I was looking forward to reading this novel, because of the high rating. However, I was disappointed with the pacing of the story. It has a good premise, but it reads more like a slice-of-life mood. The MC takes this test, then he has to take that exam, etc. I tried to power through the first 26 chapters, but the story is boring. Surprisingly several people rated this novel high, I guess different strokes for different folks.
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Nejimaki Seirei Senki – Tenkyou no Alderamin
May 10, 2016
Status: --
The story is interesting and well written, with a smart, funny MC, but I dropped it because of the female characters. First, the female lead, she plays the straight-man (woman), it is funny at first but it becomes annoying later on. She uses physical violence on the MC whenever the MC express his ideas to someone, even though he brings up great points. Just because she is blindly loyal to her ideas, it does not give her a right to enforce them to the MC and censor the MC from... more>> expressing his. Their relationship is complex, but they do not seem like friends, or else she would not let others talk bad about him to her face, and she should understand that the MC does not want to join the military. Next is the Princess, the MC is obviously belligerent to authority, speaks out against the rulers of her country, and he does not want to join the military, but what does she do?
Spoiler

She makes him into a hero, and an officer candidate, where he tells her and his so-called friend that it might be the worst day of his life compare to the death of his mother

[collapse]
Are both of these girls stupid? Then there is the Sgt. Major that is under the MC,
Spoiler

she tells all his mean that the MC slept with her married mother, so they would turn against the MC. She is using her personal interest to undermine his command. Later on, the MC makes his men drop some equipment, and she reprimands the MC that it clearly a violation of military command. Is this girl for real?

[collapse]
If those three female characters are killed, it will make the story a lot better. <<less
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Strongest Abandoned Son
March 19, 2017
Status: c33
It was good until the appearance of a certain character, which the last few chapters have been spent on her. The main character has halted his cultivation and almost everything else, because of this "beauty." There have been a few "beauties" the MC has interacting with better personalities (which both have helped the MC one way or another), but somehow the author has focused on this "beauty" with a bad attitude that is using the MC.
Spoiler

This characters was engaged to the mc's former's body, but after MC was kicked-out of the family, she broke-off the engagement. Then, some young master with a bad reputation is pursuing the female character that was engaged to the MC. In order to prevent him from pursuing her (which we know it will not happen), she is using the MC in order to fake a marriage. The reason the MC decided to help was because she reminded him of his former master, and that is all. He is a re-incarnated soul with prior knowledge and experience, but he did not stop and think about the consequences with the young master and his family. So, this character used to look down on the MC, and she still does and she pays him and when the MC accepts, she looks down on him more. However, the MC is broke so he took the money, and it is obvious the MC is broke because of where he lives. Yet, this witch keeps asking the MC for money, or asks the MC to buy expensive food because she does not have much at the moment.

[collapse]

If the story keeps focusing on this "beauty" any longer, or the MC falls for her, I will drop the series. If this annoying "beauty" disappears, this story can easily be about four stars.
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
September 3, 2016
Status: c213
The beginning was boring for me, but as the story progressed, it became better. I was liking the story, and how the MC was becoming stronger. For the most part, the harem was good, with not too much emphasis on it. However, approaching 200 chapters, the story has been overtaken by the harem. It would not surprise me if each new chapter, a new girl is introduced. To make matters worse, the author is one of the most inconsistent authors in wuxia/xianxia. Examples:

... more>>
Spoiler

When the MC reincarnated to the new world, one of his plans was to explore his new world, and meet all kinds of beauties. However, after having the chance to have more than one beauty, he states he does not believe in polygamy. A part of him still has some beliefs of his old planet, but he has killed with no remorse or hesitation. The MC also date raped a girl in his new planet, then when another girl does something similar to him, he feels disgusted. Later on he meets another beauty, and does not hesitate to become a polygamist.

[collapse]

The MC flip-flops too much, it becomes annoying, but I continued reading because his goal to punish the clan that made his mom suffer. Now, he still has that goal, but about 90% of the story is focused on the harem. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
June 17, 2016
Status: c25
Full of logic and reasoning, not really. Ex.
Spoiler

MC's and his sister are oppressed in his family, the sister was almost molested and almost taken by another clan. MC decides to leave his sister by herself for six months while he leaves to train

[collapse]
. 3, 4, 6, and 7, it is your typical Xuanhuan plot, trash MC, etc. It seems to take some beast elements from Shen Yin Wang Zuo, and Long Live Summons! I do not see anything unique about this story.
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
April 30, 2016
Status: --
The story is generic, but they were things the author could have worked with. Instead, I am not sure what the author wanted to do with the story. I felt bad for the MC at first, but then his actions later made me dislike the MC. The switching between viewpoints does not make sense, the author is doing it just for the sake of doing it. It does not blend well with the story, the author should read Kamigoroshi no Eiyuu... to have an idea to of how to do... more>> it well. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Regarding the Story of My Wife, Medusa
September 11, 2016
Status: v1c18
The story was fairly decent, and the romance was building up. The MC unofficially made Medusa his wife, and it was sort of sweet. However, after the MC, and Medusa visited a village, I changed my opinion.
Spoiler

Whenever Medusa went into heat, she would use the villagers to satisfy her s*xual urges. Medusa satisfied her s*xual urges many times, and it seemed that she had s*x with about half the men from the village. To the MC, you can not turn a promiscuous woman into a housewife.

[collapse]

I would not be surprised of NTR as the story progresses.
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Otherworld Nation Founding Chronicles
April 23, 2016
Status: --
As of chapter 8, the story shows a lot of potential. Imagine you are reincarnated as a 10-12 year-old in another world in the middle of a forest, but you do not have any cheat abilities at the moment. You meet a talking Griffon, and he asks you to help 30 abandoned children all under the age of 12. You are not a genius, but wise because of your life experience in your previous life. What do you do? The MC had no qualms about taking care of the children... more>> and little by little is helping them build a village. The interactions with the other kids are hilarious, and he is willing to risk his life for them, because he should have been technically dead. I really like this MC, he is not OP, know-it all MC, but he is wise and acts like a reincarnated MC should act. He does not know how to hunt, fish, or raise cattle, but knows enough to survive and what he does not know, he asks. Only four stars, but with more chapters and if the story keeps improving, it is a five star read. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Beauty and the Bodyguard
May 18, 2016
Status: c15
I will give it ten more chapters before deciding to drop this series. As some have mentioned before, the MC has spent most of the time whining, and has not done much other than that. The story starts off a little bit like _Zhan Long_, except that the main girl in this story is a total witch! At least in ZL, the female lead had a reason to dislike the MC at the beginning. However, this one is just a horrible human being and I do not have to read... more>> further to guess that she will be the MC's main girl, hopefully I am wrong. If the MC quits whining and the main female's friend replaces the main female, this story might have potential. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
May 15, 2016
Status: c112
The beginning was interesting and had some suspense, but after the MC "joins" a sect. The story slows down dramatically, to the point that I am losing interest in LN.
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MondoX
MondoX rated it
Zhan Long
April 16, 2016
Status: c555
I liked it at the beginning, but then it became repetitive and then I realize nobody is going to die in this novel, good or bad. Therefore, there is no real tension. Later in the story, some random side story comes into play, and it becomes a little bit more prevalent for no reason. The author describes the female leads' appearance almost every time they appear. The MC spends over 12-18 hours playing the game, but somehow has time to hang out with some of the ladies in the real... more>> world and he has a side job as a cop with his full-time bodyguard duties, oh and he still has time to attends class. Maybe the MC's world has more than 24 hours in a day. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 9