Report Review
25 Reviews


Molenir
Molenir rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
May 7, 2016
Status: --
Not a very good story. Lots of issues. Some of them may be due to translation issues, but more likely are caused by the author. As other reviewers have pointed out, the MC is not a “Scientist” No scientific method, no real experiments. Rather it’s a guy who got a magical artifact. The MC is simply a sociopath with no redeeming features or qualities. Apart from the occasional Skill Up, there is no character progression, nothing to make us invested in him, other then the fact that he is the... more>> MC. Additionally the world is so poorly constructed and thought out, and some events so poorly considered that immersion constantly breaks down as you scratch your head saying huh, what, why?!? Rather then delve and into greater detail I will simply say, there are way too many plotholes in the story. I read up to around chapter 100, and then couldn’t be bothered to read further. I simply can’t stand the MC, or this poorly written story any further. <<less
113 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
A Naive Short-tempered Girl
May 16, 2016
Status: --
After reading the first couple chapters, I couldn't read any more. Nothing really wrong with the MC, although given what she puts up with, not much going on upstairs. But the primary love-interest is a total scumbag. After the first 15 chapters, I was done. Way too rapey. If the MC castrates him, in the next chapter, then I might think it was worth reading. Otherwise, just not interested in seeing this girl being molested and toyed around with by this woman abusing rapist.
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Carefree Path of Dreams
March 29, 2018
Status: c36
Started out pretty good. Smart MC, farming rather like World of Cultivation, then quickly veers off course and turns into a crappy clone of Warlock of the Magus world. I quit at chapter 36. If you like brainless, murderous MCs, then this might be the story for you. If you prefer a more 'Carefree' story, then probably better to look elsewhere.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Shadow Hack
February 18, 2018
Status: c79
As others mentioned, this story was ok at the beginning. Not a particularly well done story, but not horrible either. However it very quickly becomes a story of wish fulfillment, where the MC is constantly supremely leveling up. That didn't really bother me though either. More boring then anything. What finally got me to drop it, was when the author decided to have the MC simply murder one of his teammates in chapter 68. Beginning of chapter 69, a girl is complaining that he murdered him, and he can't be... more>> bothered to listen to the insane girl anymore. I suddenly am thinking, wait, she is insane? For pointing out your psychotic murderous impulses right? I simply couldn't stomach any more after that point.

One other thing that in particular that annoyed me, is when on multiple occasions the author changed what he wrote mere paragraphs before. Such as when his shadow didn't die even once, yet 2 paragraphs later, says it died twice. What?!? Also, plot points being changed later in the story, as the author decides he want the story to go a different direction. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Virtual World: Unparalleled Under the Sky
April 11, 2017
Status: --
Spoiler

As other reviewers pointed out, the MC leaves his boss thinking that he was killed in an assassination attempt against her. Naturally he does this to protect her feelings, fearing she will be hurt finding out his injuries were caused in the event... No, not making this up. This officially broke my immersion in the story. The stupidity in this is just off the charts. Had to drop the story be chapter 20 because of this.

If I find out later that the MC actually develops, and comes up with a reason for faking his death, making the people who care about him feel responsible for it, maybe I'll revisit it.

[collapse]
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Castle of Black Iron
May 3, 2017
Status: c67
I've read up to the latest translated chapter, and all I have to say, is that this is an amazing story. One of the other reviewers referred to it as being a slow-burn. I like that description, as its very true. Its not like a lot of the other stories where you are introduced to the MC, and a chapter or 2 in, the MC is already OP. Instead its a very slow build up, with his accidental acquisition of a cheat. Figuring what it is, and how to use... more>> it. And his incremental increase in power. Everything is very well done, told mostly from the MC pov.

The biggest negative of this story, is that because it is very slow building up, you're really better off not reading it for awhile, and accumulating chapters, then reading 1 chapter at a time. Additionally, because of how the story is told, there is not a huge amount of action, especially at the start. Which makes it all the more impactful when there is some action. All in all, I definitely recommend this story. But let it percolate for awhile longer. Pick it up at chapter 100, come back to it 50 chapters later. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Starting from Zero
April 12, 2017
Status: --
As others said. The story is just bad. Very op MC, playing a game, given unbelievable luck. If that's the only problem, then I wouldn't mind, but it's like the author never considered the ramifications of his choices for the MC. For example, in the game, if you are over lvl 20 and get killed, you turn into a ghost, and have to make your way back to town, find a special priest, pay him to be brought back. Given that this is a game, this mechanic makes... more>> absolutely no sense. And there are many other bits of stupidity as well. I gave it 2 stars, because despite the stupidity, it's easy to read.. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Treasure Hunt Tycoon
March 5, 2018
Status: c31
I'm guessing that most of the negatives about this story are more opposed to qidian, then the story. While it certainly has it's problems, (racism, mostly) overall it's pretty good. I also like that it's set in the us.

Thus far it's a rather entertaining mindless read. Definitely not worth 5 stars but fun enough to get 4.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
March 18, 2017
Status: c5
I read 5 chapters, and was completely bored. Additionally the translation was extremely poor, with many words deliberately left untranslated, leaving us trying to remember or guess what ce fei, fu, wangfei, and so many more words mean. When you need to constantly refer to footnotes to read a chapter, it becomes less entertaining, and more of a chore. I normally like stories in this genre, but the combination of slow start, and bad translation did me in.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Lightning Empress Maid
March 5, 2017
Status: c66
I struggled to like this story. Especially at the beginning. It's told in such a unique way, that it's hard to break into, and hard to understand. Told from a first person pov, mostly stream of consciousness. What saves the story, is that the main character is so cute and funny. It is hard not to laugh at her greeting the world and her nanakismile. Additionally, she is not a one dimensional character. With a dreadful back story, and a deep, frightening philosophy. As the story... more>> goes on, she grows and changes. Finally, can't say enough good things about the translator. There is a lot of very tough things to translate, and it is done, extremely well. I recommend reading the first 10 chapters or so. If after that you aren't hooked, this story isn't for you. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
The Adonis Next Door: 100 Days of Forced Love
March 3, 2017
Status: c34
Painful story to put it mildly. The main character is repeatedly raped, and tortured by her, "husband". Yet she loves him... Truly the only interest and hope I have of reading any further, would be for the guy to experience something mildly hurtful, like castration. That would make this a bit more enjoyable.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Devouring The Heavens
May 3, 2016
Status: --
Really Dumb. The MC levels up super fast. It feels like everything good is being thrown at him. The various sects are moronic. I read it up to about chapter 35, couldn't continue past that. Just too dumb.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Yuusha-sama no Oshishou-sama
May 21, 2017
Status: c42
Its not a bad story. In fact, its fairly interesting. Certainly the idea behind it is a good one. However there are a ton of problems with the story. Almost all of them relate to POV. As in the constant shifts of POV so much that after awhile you don't know what is happening and when and where. Perhaps if you read this chapter by chapter, 1 per day, allowing time between to settle the events in your mind, it would make more sense. But powering through the... more>> translated chapters, it just becomes more and more confusing.

Additionally the characters after awhile just become bland and uninteresting. You get tired of the cliched, 'nobles are evil'. The hardest working MC. And the others who somehow despite everything seem to have no clue.

Overall, having read all the translated chapters, I'm dropping this. I'm just not interested enough to try to puzzle it out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Shift! The Side-Character Heroine
April 7, 2018
Status: c76
I really don't understand the reviews for this story. I am loving this novel. I grant that there are some hard to understand parts, particularly early on. But the critical point, the hook to this story is very similar to many other comparable novels.

The first hard to understand part, is that the MC is a transmigrator. She is in a family, in a body, that is not her own. She likes her family, but she is separate from it. Additionally, the core of the story, is that in addition to... more>> being a transmigrator, she also has an ability to enter a story. Presently, she can't control which story. In her own life, initially, she is a side-character. And in the story she enters, using her ability, if her character becomes a memorable, iconic figure then she will gain a card, granting that characters abilities to her.

There is a simple reason for the double layered stories. The author wants to create a world similar to I'm really a superstar, where the stories that are "created" are plagiarized from the original world.

Spoiler

The first story she is successful in creating is based off school days, successfully creating the 'Nice Boat' ending. Allowing her character to become iconic. The next story thus far seems to be based off of Kings Avatar.

[collapse]

With this gimmick allowing rewriting of stories, similar to Ultimate Evolution, or Terror Infinity. With the transmigrating like I'm really a superstar, thus far without the racism. The one qualifier I have, is that if you are looking for action, thus far, there really isn't any. The story is more slice-of-life instead. Minimal face smacking, no killing, (other then in the stories), and more character development. Given almost every other novel out here is fight, fight, fight, kill, kill kill, this is a very nice change of pace. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
I Shall Survive Using Potions!
October 23, 2017
Status: c23
Slightly fun story, rather poorly written. This story has many problems. Many of them can be set aside with handwavium. Others regarding human nature not so much. For example...

... more>>
Spoiler

During the war chapter, the author says, no one would kill the citizens of occupied countries because of future tax revenues. So for the citizens its not a big difference if the rulers change. The naivety in this statement is so far beyond idiotic its staggering. Apparently rape and looting does not happen in this fantasy world.

During the same chapter, it says The army is under command of the general. There is no such thing like the king comes to the battle front. The king has to stay safe in the royal castle. I thought, seriously? Feudal era, the king absolutely has to be on the battlefield. They may not charge into battle, but they damn well have to be there.

[collapse]

So many other issues as well. The actual story itself is ok. The characters fairly cute, though a bit bland. Comes nowhere near others such as Average in storytelling. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Dominion’s End
March 8, 2017
Status: --
I really hate looking at all these reviews and seeing that almost all are 5 stars. Were we reading the same story? 5 stars? Not a chance. If you were honest and absolutely loved the story, I could see maybe 4. A 1 if you hated it. I myself enjoyed the first volume, and the start of the second, but after a bit, it became really hard to read. I finally just got annoyed with the story, and skipped to the last translated chapter v2 c10, to see how things... more>> were going. It was a confusing mess that not only made me not want to go back and reread the parts I'd skipped, but made me not want to put it on a reading list to pick it up later. Truly sad after a very promising start. What really annoyed me, were the jumps, and how jarring they were. Fighting the bird on the roof, then out of nowhere another bird attacks him. Blackness and then suddenly hes somewhere else. The same thing happened earlier in the police station. For me, its a major turn off. It creates a break in the story, and for me, made me lose interest. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
April 7, 2018
Status: c138
I gave this story 2 stars, for the beginning. It was initially entertaining. Slow to develop, slice-of-life, with a lot of world building. Then, it all came crashing down. Apparently the author realized his audience wanted fighting, death, and destruction. Certainly none of what was in the first part of the story. So, the author refocused, and it became simply a war novel. If thats what you're interested in, then you'll love it. If however you are looking for a more light, entertaining read, this is absolutely not... more>> for you. To be honest, after about chapter 180, if you skip to chapter 600, you won't really have missed much. That should tell you all you need to know about the story. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Talisman Emperor
April 7, 2018
Status: c163
To sum up this novel in one word. Boring. Seriously. It starts out fairly well. Enjoyed the start with the talismans, the powerup was done fairly well. Then off we go on a weird adventure, with lots of killings, revenge, etc. All that though was ok. Read it all before, but wasn't bad. Then we get to crazy powerups, and wiping out entire families. And now I just am tired of it. Its gone from an interesting MC, to a murderous psychopathic MC who I no longer recognize. Continuing to... more>> read, I find I'm just bored with the whole story. I know whats coming next and am tired of it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
Painting of the Nine Immortals
May 1, 2017
Status: c14
It's not a horrible story, but it's not good either. One of the other reviewers likened it to fast food. Very apt comparison, it's readable, but not very good. The MC immediately gets anything he needs, meets lots of girls who amazingly are all beautiful. All the enemies are quickly and easily dealt with. Simply, no challenge, little growth.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Molenir
Molenir rated it
My Father in Law is Lu Bu
April 27, 2016
Status: --
When I first started reading this, I really enjoyed it. It seemed to be a fresh take on this kind of story. Normal people, fighting back in the warring states period, a time traveler, who armed with knowledge of future events forced into a marriage. Interesting and fun. And for the first 100 or so chapters it was. Most of the recent chapters however have been bogged down with extremely detailed fighting. Hack, slash etc. Sorry, but I've grown bored with it. I basically skimmed the last 30 chapters, and... more>> hardly felt I'd missed anything.

I'll wait til another 50 chapters are translated, before I give it another shot. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report