Report Review
12 Reviews


Mideris
Mideris rated it
Sword Art Online
March 19, 2017
Status: v18c1
Project Alicization is the best arc of Sword Art Online's main sequence. Aincrad lacked substance, Fairy Dance lacked genuine character development and much of a story, Caliburn and Mother's Rosario were moderately decent, but as short as they were, they could not be much more than filler.

Phantom Bullet was actually where things got good, simply because it had character development, a complex story line, and had the right amount of substance for the events. When I got to Project Alicization, I was floored. The whole story is complex, well built,... more>> and shines above the previous volumes. It's interesting, and is the entire reason I give the story this rating. If I were to consider on Phantom Bullet and Alicization, it would be close to a 5. If I consider everything else? The story is a 2 at most. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Only Sense Online
March 19, 2017
Status: v10
Unlike a few of the people who were dissatisfied with this light novel, I can happily say I am currently caught up. The hilarious point is the insistence some of the people who rated it poorly that the MC should keep doing certain things, but as seen in the Light Novel, a lot of strong tactics isn't the way Yun plays. Perhaps the most hilarious argument is that the gender bender aspect has no point, because there isn't romance. That's exactly what makes this Light Novel so good. Out of... more>> the many many many many many gender bender manga and light novels I've read, I can tell you the lack of romance is rare and actually beneficial to the story. My only complaint is the quality of the writing, which could be improved with an editor.

Only Sense Online is a good, light hearted story. The people hoping for tons of action and violence shouldn't be reading it, and that's the primary reason I can guess towards the poor ratings. I myself love stories like this. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Kekkyoku, Ninja to Dragon wa Docchi ga Tsuyoi no?
March 20, 2017
Status: v1 prologue
Considering the lack of content, or lack of translated content I should say, this story holds potential and could blossom into something in the future. If anyone knows where I can read a full English translation of later chapters, I would appreciate that, but as it is this is a story to add to your read later list, when it contains more.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Haroon
February 1, 2018
Status: v3
Honestly, I'm floored by this novel every time I read it. It's well written, albeit minorly lacking in a few places, incredibly interesting, and fairly comedic. The basis behind it is one I can honestly I've not seen often if at all, and that alone dragged me into this. I thought, when I found it as a "Top Novel" that I'd be reading absolute trash, say an MTL translation of SAO for example, instead what I got was a story that was absolutely ten times what I expected. Unique, Interesting,... more>> and Funny, this novel has a charm of its own. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
This story is incredibly amusing and comedic. Sure, it's slow-paced, but that is what I believe to be one of it's saving graces, as it gives us time to bond with the characters and even presents the problems at a relative pace that they would be solved in.

The chapters that occur in the other world are also a saving grace, seeing as few fics ever explore such things. All in all, I believe this to be an excellent story, though the chapters are quite short.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Leisure VRMMO Record (WN)
March 20, 2017
Status: c1
I can only give this story a simple three for a variety of reasons. The primary issue is the incredible lack of content beyond what can be considered the prologue. For all it's claims and ideas, this story is merely a waste of potential as it stands, and I hope it gets continued so I can return and discern later the truth of the quality of this novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
So What If It’s an RPG World?
February 1, 2018
Status: v9
I honestly have given this a four for pretty much everything but the storyline. It lacks a fully linear timeline and jumps around a lot. Is it followable? To a degree. Is it good? It's not the worst I've seen. Is it amusing? Yes. Aside from there being so many lolis you can tell from Skybreak City when the author is in Mitchell Kingdom that they're a hardcore lolicon. Lucifer has come for my soul because I read this, and sorry bub, I lost that thing awhile ago. If you're... more>> looking for a fairly amusing story centered around a Jack-Of-All-Trades and enough lolis to populate 17 elementary schools, then you're in luck. Lolicons, be happy, most of the lolis are legal. Maybe not for you, but for the MC.

Aside from that, the writing is actually a bit more bulky than most light novels I've seen, the grammar in the tl is decent, the chapters and volumes are AMAZINGLY long. (For the love of Haruhi. volume 9 is 80 CHAPTERS! And the rest range around 40-50, it's just... so... beautiful...) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
"There's six chapters out Mideris, why are you on Chapter 5?"

To start off with, this novel is great and I love it. It's funny, comedic, cute and the manga adaption is absolutely amazing. The whole scenario is relatively unique out of the gender benders I've read and I really enjoyed it. However, there's only one problem with this novel.

The Translator is absolutely awful. No, they don't suck at translation but they do suck at providing a decent format to the site, the ability to move to the next page once... more>> you read the bottom instead of scrolling all the way back up, an entire two chapters in the second volume have been turned into pink colored links that send you back to that very page but the top, and they even have Volume 2 C6 and possibly the side stories as far as I could tell, locked behind a subscription wall. Is that a problem? No, I can understand providing it earlier to some people. No, the problem is that it has been months since these chapters were allegedly completed and the V2 C6 link is invalid completely because it links to the update page and the chapter hasn't actually been uploaded.

That's right folks, you can't read v2 c6 at ALL through this translator!

And, prepare your asses and buckle up, because that's not even the last problem~! This translation replaced several sections of v2 c1 or c2 with jokes about bots invading their site, people ripping off their site, and a variety of other things and didn't even put the original content below it or post it ANYWHERE. This heavily ruins the chapter and breaks the flow. It's not funny, it's not amusing, it's a full on d*ck move and I almost punched my cat because of it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
A light hearted, cute, fluffy story about a witch and her companions. Honestly, I started this because it interested me, I finished it because I enjoyed it. It struck a special cord in my heart and the comedy and fun being had by the girls made this feel like it's one to ease tension and be a purely enjoyable moe. This seems to be the time I find myself leaning towards half the time and this is one I plan to follow and recommend.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (LN)
October 14, 2018
Status: v8
This Light Novel is being animated! Expected release, Currently, is 2019.

This story is for all intents and purposes, is one of the better ones I have read in all my time here. The overall structure is sound, the plot develops at a reasonable pace, and it is well written enough to look decent in English. All in all this warrants 3, of the four stars, simply because it stands at a quality level unlike most novels. However, giving this story a solid 5 is completely unjustified for a number of... more>> reasons. Chief amongst these is that the author enjoys playing entirely too heavily on Hajime's otaku personality and his now "reforged" soul or morality. It is not enough of a problem to warrant not reading.

Let me put this bluntly, you will get completely SICK of his morality being reestablished so much, at least into the second volume. The story is interesting and actually original to some degree. I am picky, so very few novels will make me ignore their issues. This one did not, however, I still enjoyed it. If you're looking for a character-centric light novel, primarily focused on the character and less so on skills, this is a good one. If you dislike OP, then you'll be amused seeing as this one plays it as a complete joke.

If you wish to read this light novel, it can be read through Meido <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
The Reincarnated Vampire Wants an Afternoon Nap
July 18, 2018
Status: c145
Frankly I rather enjoy this, as compared to most Isekai it is laid back and less focused on the over powered aspects of the main character, balanced rather well by her laziness. If it weren't for the, pardon my French, absolutely piss poor translation and utter lack of comprehensive grammar in the current translations, I would say it would make for a fantastic read since it generally breaks some of the mold.

Even considering the strength of the MC, she gets beaten several times because she lacks skill and this shows... more>> another way to balance the strength she has. Frankly, most Isekai read more akin to self-insert fanfiction than they do novels. Were the translator better, or were their editors to actually do the job they signed up for, it could definitely be leagues better. The chapter length is something of a nuisance.

The artwork, on the other hand, is lovely when the TL and ED don't insert screencaps of scenes from the manga or completely unrelated artwork. I elected to ignore the atrocious actions of those in charge of the translated edition simply because what they are doing is demeaning to the work itself, and it infuriates me. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mideris
Mideris rated it
Alice Tale in Phantasmagoria
February 1, 2018
Status: c49
This story gets a fairly uninspired and actually rather mellow reaction from me. Yes, it's Yuri and I do like that here and there, but is it interesting? Not really, the story itself has afew spikes and I have no idea what possessed me to read ALL of it that's been released in English but aside from the cute and fluffy stuff... It's not particularly a standout. As a firm believer in the 'God (dess) of Gender Benders' {KissMana Profile Reference} this story doesn't really utilize the tag in any... more>> other way than a draw-in.

If you read it and enjoy, you read it and enjoy it.

If you read it and hate it, you read it and hate it.

I read it, I felt no particular reaction. Honestly, it's nothing truly special. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report