Report Review
16 Reviews


Meloman
Meloman
The Earth is Online
November 4, 2018
Status: c10
Well so far I have only read like ten chapters, but I must admit I'm very grateful to the translator for picking this novel up.

and no, not because it's a bl tag. In the first ten chapters there is no bl in it whatsoever.

no, this novel reminds me of One Outs and that card game manga that same author wrote. Although I didn't like that card one as much as I enjoyed One Outs.

... more>> (Edit) I read a bit further and it reminds me of god of crime as well.

so, based on the 10 chapters of earth online I would recommend it if you liked One Outs or those types of stories <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
July 8, 2018
Status: c33
Heheh, I found this novel on Wattpad, fell in love with it decided to share the joy on NU for the fans of QWTFOTD and the youngest son of Sengun (sorry spelling). But hey it’s already here with plenty of good reviews. So I’m adding my thumbs up here. Rebirth, bl, revenge, smart MC, cold and calculating while innocent looking MC- very hard to get better. I’m a big fan of FOD, but honestly this novel just might one up it (though it’s not a system/ world hopping novel)
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
Superstars of Tomorrow
March 7, 2018
Status: c148
Really reminds me of I'm really a superstar, but SOT is better in my opinion. SOT (so far) does not have the overly excited crowd bashing and cheering (wasted words to take up space and word count by ImRaS I feel). Also so far SOT has no stupid overly s*xual harem encounters.

Though perhaps SOT lacks some romance. Also if you are a composer - shouldn't you be writing some music? Though I like the whole dog story.

edit: PS I realized that the "second chance" type stories I enjoy the most... more>> is when the MC was Somebody in their past life. Regardless of a job and way of dying - the past life as a whole for me has to have some meaning. SOT has that, so despite its own little quirks I find it enjoyable and I am waiting for every chapter. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
I am the Monarch
May 16, 2018
Status: c213
If I ignore the "I'm a peasant but I'm smarter than a count of 60 yo" idea in this novel- it's quite an enjoyable kingdom building story with plenty of "mystery" type stuff.

However one point that really makes me annoyed (and I'm not sure whether it's the original author or the translator, honestly it would be really bad if it's the author's side) is the use of @@ "Ah..." XYZ person released a low exclamation. @@ This phrase really annoyed me. Not to the point where I would drop... more>> the novel but close to.

I mean there are synonyms for that. Errr/Mmmm/ he grunted/ he rolled his eyes/ he got surprised/ etc. so many ways to write instead of that "Ah...". Really something to improve upon.

ok, an edit, after reading ch 213

it does get better, after about ch 160. Translation is much better. Author still has inconsistencies, but it's ok.

this novel is like something smelly, like rotten fruits, autumn leaves, wet dog or smelly socks. We all know that smelly socks are not fun to smell, especially when they are not your own, but don't you just crave some smelly thing at times? That rotten, disgusting smell, but so intoxicating... well that's how I now see I am the Monarch novel. In some ways it's like smelly socks, you can hate it or love the smell, but it's there. Hard to resist. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
March 7, 2018
Status: 14 extra
Must confess: read and re-read at least volumes 1-8 at least 3 times. For those of you who look down on the “yaoi” tag- please don’t. It’s not that explicit, really. Most of the “harem” stories are probably more explicit (ok some).

its cute, it’s sweet it’s funny. The translator did a great job of posting each volume all in one go. Each volume has sort of like a separate story, a rather unusual but very enjoyable writing style.

Possibly because each volume has only 10-15 characters it is rather fast paced... more>> and barely any repititions are done.

If you liked Side Chapter Transmigrations (which is over 1000 chapters btw) - then you’ll most likely enjoy QWTFOAD as well. I think there is only one more volume left to translate, I’m really looking forward to it :-)

honestly QWTFOAD was probably the best thing I’ve read in 2017. (FYI: My previous “OMG I cant wait for the next chapter” book was in 2016 and it was A manga by Yoshiki Nakamura called Skip Beat! So no I’m not a total fujoshi, so you can give it a read) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
February 19, 2018
Status: v48
Tight now I’m actually re-reading LMS from the beginning (as I have put it on pause a while back when translation was up to v48 or something). Well the fact that I’m actually re-reading this really long work says something about it too (and no I’m not into reading boring stuff).

The thing that really puts LMS on a high rank for me is that I could still remember many of the characters names even half a year later. And not just the name of MC, but the names of “pets”... more>> as well as various secondary characters. Honestly I am bad at remembering names, so to me it makes this novel special.

If you are looking for something LONG, pretty high quality translation, with quite a few laughs and not too much sleazy romance- I’d give this novel a go. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
Chongfei Manual
August 4, 2018
Status: --
I really have mixed feelings about this novel. It's a bit like when you have a sore place on your body that you should not touch for it to heal, but instead you continue to meddle with it. Sort of how you should not read this novel but it's hard to put it down once you do read it.

Actually if the female MC did not exist I would have really liked this story and would have given it 5*. Good plot, good character development, the author kept the story straight,... more>> it's not too slow paced either.

but that girl... if you got low EQ just stay that way, why pretend that you got some brains?

Never mind. Read at your own risk. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
The World Online
May 1, 2018
Status: c402
A really nice kingdom building novel, frequent updates, good translation

Wanted to give it a 5 Star, but I can never click on it correctly (why cant we change our vote? or how to change it?)

The only nevative, are all the names. Ahhhg I’m often lost there, names of provinces, towns, players and historical figures... but if you just ignore it - the plot is great.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
March 18, 2018
Status: c800
Honestly if this book had no excessive touchy-feely harem stuff I would have given this novel a 4.9.

That is if you ignore the “I don’t believe he can- he did- what a god- I don’t believe he can do next thing” bashing circles to fill up the word count.

If there was no lusty harem- I would have ignored the word-fillers. So if you don’t mind harem- this is a great story.

Oh some people mention racism... hmmm I don’t think it’s racism, more like the author just wants to make a... more>> point about how “godly” the MC is kind of thing. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
Ghost Emperor Wild Wife: Dandy Eldest Miss
March 11, 2018
Status: c130
Has a lot of similarities with gdbbm novel, however if you are the type to dislike regular plot holes/- perhaps this novel is not for you. On the other hand all those holes in the story sort of make it more fast paced- hence for those who are familiar with this genre and enjoy it - this novel could be a right one for you.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
The Daily Life of the Immortal King
April 3, 2019
Status: --
Why is it every time I want to click on 5 stars I get 4? Anyway this novel deserves way more than 5 stars, absolutely fabulous.

technically it’s a parody in some ways, but done so well, I can’t stop laughing

loved it, recommended a loooot
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
Level Up
January 21, 2019
Status: Completed
It’s a lot like Seoul’s Station Necromancer and Reincarnator mix, but “lighter” somehow.

Of course you get OP MC, but it doesn’t feel too overwhelming.

You get several girls who wish to hang onto the thigh, but MC coolly “ignores” it all, for 99.999% of the novel.

The ending ties up the loose ends that I saw (I read an mtl version- so might have not understood everything), but it feels like 20 chapters were crammed into three. But there is an ending that “ends” the story. And, unlike many other novels of... more>> the “dungeon Korean” genre, the ending is actually a bit special. In a way.

Also reminded me a bit of Praise the Orc. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
My Hero
October 6, 2018
Status: --
Loved it!

cute, simple, fluffy.

friends forever.

no drama or angst, just warmth.

a short story for when you want a “chicken soup for the soul” type read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman rated it
Strange Life of a Cat
May 3, 2018
Status: c419
i love this story. A bit slow at the beginning, but so worth the read. So "cat-like", you don't pull my whiskers- I won't scratch you. The characters are great, the cat is great.

also I just found out two days ago that the author is same for another novel I'm following- superstars of tmw, and there are two other novels in translation of the same author, also not bad at all. But I love strange life of a cat novel the most out of those four.

if you like "non human... more>> protagonist" stories- this is a must read.

slice of life, but does have edgy chapters with cruelty... but, thankfully a smart MC

Edit

I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this story. Just finished reading in mtl. So worth it (btw the mts is rather good one, pm me for a link if you want)

absolutely fabulous idea and story telling

the pace picks up after the first 100 ch or so, really a great read.

<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
Evil Emperor’s Wild Consort
March 14, 2018
Status: c700
Really liked the first couple of hundred chapters, but then at some point it was like the MC is the smartest of them all and no, the old guy who is strong and smart and elderly definitely cannot think of the "smart thing to do"... and then there was more of similar type situation and it just annoyed me... when I'm very bored I might get back to reading it, but I doubt it...

though tbh the writing style and translation and characters are not bad

... more>> Edit:

so I did get bored. It's summer. It's hot. Long novel is just the thing one needs. Re-read this one from the beginning. So she is still smarter than thou, but the character development is good. The story is fast paced and there is not too much filler. The arcs change quickly and without much "nagging" feeling. There are long term enemies and goals and short term events that make the story exciting. I think I'll read till ch 1000 and we ait for the next time I'm bored. This novel is not a "must read", but the fast pace makes it rather enjoyable.

beware: if you are the type to get sucked into the fast pacing- don't read unless you have time to binge read

<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Meloman
Meloman
No Hero
March 14, 2018
Status: c5.10
like this one. As well as the eclipse hunter (you don’t really need to read it, or actually I read no hero first, still makes sense) No hero is very much like Alfred and Batman, I’m a huge fan of Alfred so Charles character is very pleasing to my eyes. Lots of humor, really enjoyable, not too “cliff hangy “ BUT personally I read it only when the whole volume is completely translated- otherwise one is left with a very “hungry for more” feeling.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report