Report Review
11 Reviews


Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Martial World
December 11, 2017
Status: c1328
Wow, 1328 chapters but I only gave 3 stars?! Yep. It's a decent read, but if you find yourself bored by what is essentially standard fare Xanxia, then you can probably figure the next 1000 chapters after reading the first 50. I do enjoy it to some extent, but by no means would I rate this higher than 3 stars. It really is just "OK."

The critical problem with this book is pacing. I've been able to slog through the slow parts so far, but it seems as the story gets... more>> closer to the end, the more garbage the writer adds via pointless details.

With that in mind, here's my parody of the author's pointless tangents:

Spoiler

Lin Ming silently glanced around. It was dark. It wasn't smelly out here, but there were nights you could taste the rancor. He slowly dragged the overly-full trash bag out to the curb. *Riiip!!* The sound seemed to echo around the alley as rotten trash spewed grotesquely onto the sidewalk.

"****!" Lin Ming swore loudly. His killing intent locked onto the trash bag.

After several minutes of seething anger, Lin Ming's rage subsided, allowing him to properly assess the situation. He carefully bent down while avoiding the broken shards of used Blood Demon Bones. As he began to clean up the mess, suddenly, the bag tore again! Even more garbage was discharged onto the pavement.

"Who makes such awful trash bags? Ugh! It's not the first time either. I bet this is from one of those 3rd rate tribes. Made in Chinuh or something. Godd**n commie cultivators!" Lin Ming complained.

Certainly, this was not the first time. Last week, Lin Ming had a Garbage Bag of Holding explode while he was exiting the building. It had gotten caught on the fire escape, which punctured the array seal. The results were not pretty. Several days thereafter, the entire enforcement team was on their hands and knees picking up the "aftermath." It was simply too dangerous to pick up a cultivator's trash with skills or techniques.

Lin Ming mused about his previous experience, considering whether he should go back to Garbage Bags of Holding. Perhaps he could add additional reinforcement on each one. That would be far cheaper than reinforcing the cheap plastic of this bag.

When he was just nearly finished, his perception caught a slight True Essence fluctuation nearby.

What – – ? The next instant, a damaged array symbol inside the remaining trash activated!

BOOOOOM!

Burning trash splattered the walls, the windows, and most unfortunately, Lin Ming himself. More flaming garbage rained down from the sky, covering everything in sight.

Tonight was going to be a long night.

[collapse]
<<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
God and Devil World
May 31, 2016
Status: c308
It can seem bland, but the moment you think that, there's a plot twist. One of the few novels I've read where there's never a dull moment.

People complain about the racism and s*xism. Hello, do you live in modern society? All of that happens now, we just pretend it doesn't exist. If you think the novel is too racist or s*xist, congratulations, you're a hypocrite. :)
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
December 11, 2017
Status: c197
Heavenly Jewel Change is a fun novel. But I want to start by addressing a point of contention in these reviews; there are some ethically confusing parts. Other people have complained that these constitute rape, but I personally believe if both parties are consenting, then it's not rape.

... more>>
Spoiler

The first time with Bing'er was the most questionable. She decided it was not rape, because neither of them were given a choice in the matter, and she was the one who put herself in a questionable situation. He did not seek her out and in fact tried to separate himself from her and everyone else.

The protagonist's teacher, on the other hand, is a total a**hole for setting up the protagonist with a woman, initially against her will. The teacher truly had no good reason to do that. However, she loved the protagonist before she was taken, and was excited when she found out the teacher brought her to the protagonist. She wanted to have s*x with him several times prior but he refused. She was HAPPY to finally get the chance to bang him. The protagonist halfheartedly considered whether she had in fact raped him... But in the end decided the two of them got off on the wrong foot. So because of this I see the teacher as being a douche.

If you consider either of those "rape" then this story is not for you because these questionable situations happen several more times. Fair warning.

[collapse]

Anyway, the protagonist is brash and rude but heartrendingly caring any time his female compatriots are harmed. He doesn't go all "rage-mode" like some protagonists, but rather actually pays attention to what the woman needs. If the woman needs to beat him to a pulp, then he lets them beat him to a pulp. After that he goes off to reclaim his woman's dignity by roflstomping whoever hurt her.

And roflstomp he does. I think protagonists of these stories are typically overpowered, but Heavenly Jewel Change does manage to keep things refreshing and unique. With the exception of his first Jewel, his ridiculous powers are not bestowed by the heavens or given by some godly tool. Nearly everything he does is his own accomplishment, and the powers he's given are almost always excruciatingly difficult to unlock and use.

Most importantly for this kind of novel, the overarching storyline imposes some ridiculous challenges. Challenges that don't even seem possible to solve when first presented. That keeps things in perspective when you try to understand the actions he takes. He's not doing things because "haha I'm the OP protagonist" or because "that guy didn't give me face, " everything he does has a serious motive whether it's his family, friends, or country.

Again unlike many other novels, the "level jumping" is sometimes far beyond what our protagonist can actually handle. Other characters sometimes play a pivotal role in these moments, but even then it never feels like a deus ex machina. The protagonist himself has solved some of these "impossible" situations on his own, with bravery and trickery in equal parts.

Finally, the writing is clear and concise and the world itself is very well designed. I'm not sure what people are saying about "useless information" because I've read other stories with lots of pointless exposition. This isn't one of them. Heavenly Jewel Change provides just the information you need and then a little detail to get your imagination going. It doesn't deviate from this formula, either, and that consistency helps the story as a whole. All in all, it's well worth the read. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Martial God Asura
December 28, 2017
Status: c2035
As you can see, I've read 2035 chapters of this novel. It starts off with a bang. I was impressed by the grisly scenes and questionable undertones. No other novel I've read has delivered the kind of bloody massacre we got early on. Most novels just tell you what happened, but this author manages to get the reader emotionally involved. The author even risked dabbling with rape scenes, which while offensive, is probably more representative of human nature than the average person is willing to admit. The reader is continually... more>> dazzled with new situations, interesting dilemmas, and the kind of epic storytelling that makes a novel into a classic. The author managed to do all of this without turning our hero into a scumbag, which is a difficult thing to do, speaking mildly.

So what went wrong? About 1500 chapters into the story, our vaunted, vengeful hero turned into a stereotypical hero. Which is not necessarily bad, but is certainly less interesting. He saves the girl, he looks cool, people praise his epicness. He doesn't do anything clever or interesting, but everyone thinks he's the best thing since sliced bread. Where have I seen this before? Oh yes, nearly every superhero story ever written in the history of mankind. Okay, okay, but that's not so bad.

Unfortunately, it gets much, much worse. I'll describe in a spoiler below, but believe me, I was appalled by the author's poor storytelling from chapter 1800 onward. It was like the author suddenly became an untrained novel writer; writing plot holes, stupid character choices, leaving out details, and just generally making a mess of things. Here's what made me put this novel down, perhaps permanently:

Spoiler

Our hero meets the current "bad guy, " who beats the living sh*t out of him. Bad guy "spares his pathetic life" like a 1950s comic villain but kills the hero's newest girlfriend. But oh, the girlfriend is fine, because she has an overpowered hack trinket that can save her life nine times. Was this trinket ever mentioned or even hinted at before? Nope! Have yourself a nice deus ex machina.

Later on, our hero gets a super-rank-up, and then conveniently gets attacked by the bad guy's underling, who is now only slightly stronger than our hero. They meet inside an ultra-death zone which only our hero is vulnerable to, but it's fine because he has a month before it gets dangerous. But oh yes, our great hero still loses, and he loses hard. Never mind that he has super-powerful world spirit techniques, no, forget that! Let's use the cursed sword that nearly killed him last time! Yeah, so then he dies because he's a moron. Buuut the girlfriend gets a super-uber-rank-up that's even crazier than the hero's rank-up. Bad guy loses and girlfriend revives the hero with that hack trinket. Cmon, seriously?

So yeah, they stay behind in the ultra-death zone for reasons god only knows, which leads to the classic "10 seconds left on the bomb timer." But they waited a month for the timer to run out. So now they're fleeing, drama ensues and whatnot, at which point the bomb vanishes. Poof! All gone. But now the bomb has turned into monsters! Thankfully, girlfriend has another hack trinket that she didn't bother to use last time she died. Did I mention this one is reusable? Anyway, she uses said trinket to save the lives of THOUSANDS of people. All at the same time. "No big deal boss, I got this." The enemy inexplicably retreats even though they're winning - probably because they're afraid the girlfriend will pull out even more hack trinkets.

Oh, and by the way, the girlfriend's first hack trinket also conveniently locates a power-up for our hero, right after he just got, what was it, three rank-ups? Yes, the nine-life-saving uber-OP hack trinket doubles as a loot radar.

Fast forward a little, now it's time for the epic battle between the hero and the bad guy's minions. Of course, our hero beats the crap out of them, so everyone praises him for a while. No, really, they praise him for like 5 whole chapters. Then our hero conveniently gets the other three super-skills that you probably thought we'd be reading about for the next 500 chapters. Nope, the enemies just hand it over. BUT THEN we find out it was all part of the bad guy's plan - he wanted to secretly give our hero a power-up by sacrificing half his forces. Wait, what? Yes, really.

"Unexpectedly, " the hero does indeed get that powerup... Just like the bad guy wanted, right? BUT THEN the bad guy suddenly wants to kill him! (wut) Thankfully, our hero's allies are winning the war, so we don't need to fear that bad guy anymore. BUT THEN our hero decides to fork over his spoils of war, including super-powerful weapons that only ~200 people in the series own, to random people who did not bother to participate in the war. I cannot stress this enough: several of the people he chose to give weapons had already back-stabbed him. One of those people back-stabbed him MULTIPLE TIMES.

And everyone praises our hero again! They even praise him for being intelligent!

[collapse]

It was at this point I decided enough was enough. The story had simply become insulting. Not insulting to my intellect, but insulting to my face. It was a big "f**k you" to all the time I spent reading, dissecting, and discussing the novel. It was a joke played at my expense, for no reason other than the author felt he could. This review is my small way of saying "f**k you" in return. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Omni-Magician
July 25, 2018
Status: c70
Unlike some other reviews, I think the MC is quite faithful to the hacker persona. He likes coding but that is not his best talent. Given the fact our hacker MC died while trying to fend off enemy black hats it should be obvious his ability to code is somewhat subpar. The MC even admits he was forced to learn coding so he's not very good at self-study. To the people complaining about the MC's level of coding skill... Well DUH.

What the MC likes is analyzing and disassembling. He wants... more>> to use code to make junk into a masterpiece of ingenuity. If you look up the definition of "hacker" that is the true origin of the modern term. He's not just a guy who makes viruses for a living. That's what's called a cracker or security hacker.

Unfortunately, there is still a problem with this novel. The author tends to forget details and randomly adds them later. As things progress the additions and retcons have become increasingly blatant and annoying. By this point in the novel it is disrupting the flow of the story. It's already a major issue so I have a feeling it won't get any better as the novel progresses. I'm going to drop it @ chapter 70. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
LV999 Villager
December 11, 2017
Status: v2c7 part7
Reading the first few chapters, I was confused by the bad reviews. The setup was pretty good! There's an epic battle in chapter 3!

Make no mistake, this is a SLICE OF LIFE novel. I have no idea why it's not in the genre list, but after chapter 3 they spend the next (god knows how long) building and running a casino. There's even a part where they attend magic classes, you know, like a slice of life novel? Yep...

I skimmed the most recent chapter and they're still screwing around in... more>> a bar instead of doing anything important. It's not even described in an interesting way, just, a problem pops up and inevitably gets solved. Awful fights, contrived drama ("I didn't like your smile so I betrayed you and everyone you love!" f'king really?!?!), the story just plain stalls at chapter 3, and the humor gets repetitive.

They also did some thing with a black dragon by this point, but I had to ask myself if I wanted to keep reading after several dozen pages of filler. I also wondered why they bothered to make a casino when the main character could easily earn the necessary 15 gold/day. Why he didn't retrieve the gold that was stolen from him by the other adventurers. Why he didn't do anything that fit his character unless it was to drag out the plot. Why was I still reading this goddamn awful novel.

This is a bait and switch and I am not happy! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Eternal Reverence
March 8, 2019
Status: c12
LOL here's chapter 12 in a nutshell:

... more>>
Spoiler

Baddy: IMMA KILL YOU IN BROAD DAYLIGHT

MC: What? Why?

Baddy: I don't care about logic!

MC: Huh?

Baddy: [email protected]
Baddy: *miss*

Baddy: Okay, cheap shot~
Baddy: *miss*

MC: KNEEL KNAVE *kick*

Baddy: Noes!

Baddy2: *clap clap* Okay, apologize to baddy.

MC: Dafuq? No.

Baddy2: IMMA HATE YOU FOREVER AND EVER AND EVER AND EV-

MC: 'Kay

THE END

[collapse]

Obviously, the above is paraphrased, but wow that is incredibly juvenile. The logic portion was baffling.

Just last chapter the author randomly invented a cultivation method. He claimed the new method was the "real reason" some important plot point happened. I've never seen such a blatant retcon after only 11 chapters. I imagine the thought process went something like this: "blah, this cultivation method is boring. Let's invent a new one and make it important to the plot!" He could've introduced it like any other skill or ability but he chose to change history.

I can't imagine this novel getting any better. This author clearly has some issues he needs to work out before he writes another novel. Assuming he doesn't sink his career with this one. For some reason people are still reading this trash after 1000 chapters but I truly can't understand why. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Super God Gene
December 27, 2018
Status: c1095
This novel has a more natural take on the "super item/super pet" formula which is so common in translated novels. As in, these items are literally called "super" and can actually be obtained by people other than the MC. Someone who succeeds via luck and wit?! Travesty!

In all seriousness though, the main character (MC) has absurd luck compared to everyone else. This happens to the extent that it appears to be some kind of predetermined fate. It can't be called "plot armor" per se because there's plenty of times he... more>> f*cks up and nearly gets himself killed. But it still makes his successes a little harder to accept.

On the other hand, his attitude and disposition toward challenges has proved invaluable in resolving the challenges his "luck" presents to him. Sure, he gets himself awesome loot, but not before risking his life a half dozen times. A few of the "lucky" events were actually traps which he barely escaped. In some cases he was forced to work together with enemies to resolve more immediate problems. These aspects add a bit of realism.

Spoiler

That he ends up crediting his mother for much of his success is also a nice touch.

[collapse]

So far I'm enjoying the story. If this review is any indication; I definitely recommend reading Super God Gene! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Coiling Dragon
December 11, 2017
Status: Completed
This was my first novel and it's what got me into the genre. The story starts off slow but descriptive, as it pulls you in with minor tribulations and the sheer awe of the world the character lives in. As the plot progresses things become hectic but remain easy to follow for the reader. Finally, in terms of character development, this novel is second to none. Coiling Dragon is the only novel I've read that actually made me laugh and cry. There's so much action, intrigue, and to some extent,... more>> even realism.

What really brings it all together, though, is the ending. Coiling Dragon shows that the main character never had any plot armor; he was fighting against the universe itself from the very beginning. He, at many junctures, could have given up, but persevered through his own power.

And that is what makes Coiling Dragon worth reading. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
Path to Heaven
December 11, 2017
Status: c192
It's really only a "humor" story at the beginning, later it becomes more of what I call an "incremental power-up" storyline. He has his companions, he has his level-cheat item/spirit, and he has an uncanny intuition. Check, check, and check. The world remains well fleshed-out and the discoveries the protagonist makes are both well portioned and believable. Hopefully we get back some of the character that made him so fun to read (minus, you know, the bald-faced perversion in chapter 62), because right now he's going the typical "stoic harem... more>> immortal" route and it's just not all that interesting. I mean, even the world and supporting cast could be a lot more interesting.

Spoiler

They literally have a giant dome protecting the cities from monster attacks, and this combined with the protagonist's uncanny intuition pretty much erases all suspense. It was flat out stated by another character that they "felt no risk because [protagonist] will make us win." Only when he fights with other cultivators do things get interesting, but even then, those fights have seemed less and less exciting each time, with him hiding from the opponent and simply assassinating everyone. I'm not saying he should face them head on but the opponents should have SOME sort of defense against assassins, right? Well, they don't. And because of this, none of the hotshots know who they need to kill for revenge. It's smart on the protagonist's side, but honestly, it's not good for a story, because only one thing can ever happen: the enemy dies, confused about who killed them. Also, apparently nobody uses guild talismans to protect their items, which seemingly everyone did just a few chapters earlier.

[collapse]

As you may notice, I haven't described any of the supporting characters, because while they DO have their own personalities, they don't add much to the story. They just act like cogs in a machine for the main character or, once in a while, they'll go start a quest the protagonist needs to solve. They don't seem to have their own lives aside from the times they're absent from the group, which makes them seem fairly one-dimensional. The enemies feel more fleshed out than the supporting cast, which says something, though I'm not sure what.

Anyway, it's by no means a bad story, and if you don't mind reading a typical "power-up" novel, then this is probably a decent choice. Just don't get too excited about the unique beginning because it simply doesn't last. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mekronid
Mekronid rated it
The Ultimate Evolution
December 11, 2017
Status: --
It has a really great storyline, but I'm personally not a fan of all the pop culture references. Also, the starcraft world was poorly explained, so I wasn't able to visualize what was happening in some parts. This caused me to get kind of bored. Once I got to the LotR arc I was totally confused because I've not seen or read any of those. Which is weird because I've not seen Terminator either, but I had no problem following that arc. Perhaps I'll head back and finish up the... more>> novel at some point. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report