Report Review
65 Reviews


Mavsynchroid
This is a VERY generic "great doctor girl has a second chance at life in the body of a trash young miss". Her whole family hates her. There's one prince (who's "crippled") who likes her, yet has a secret identity. Her marriage was broken with the jerk of a crown prince who regrets it. She finds out she's not really her family's daughter. Etc. etc. All of the cliches you can think of. The thing that kept me reading for close to 400 chapters was the really well done translating.... more>> It breathed life into this generic novel.

Unfortunately, around chapter 400, it changed translators. The new (and current) translator does a sub par job. Everything reads EXTREMELY stiffly. Instead of saying "Yes!", the translator has the characters shout "Well!". How does well mean yes? It's weird things like these in every chapter that make reading it very uncomfortable. We've grown used to the male lead teasing her by constantly calling her "wifey". The new translator uses "lady" instead. Doesn't lady sound like something ANYBODY would call a woman? It sounds like it's creating a distance rather than closing the distance, affection wise. The main character's name IS Baili Hongzhaung. The male lead's name is Dibei Chen. With the new translator, they separate the names. Baili Hong Zhaun. Di Bei Chen. Now, where I'm currently reading, the new translator writes below a chapter that they don't like the names "Little White" and "Little Black" for the MC's summoned pets. They want to change to to Xiao Hei and whatever the other Chinese version would be. Things like this aren't necessarily a problem, and usually wouldn't matter if it was only a few chapters in. However, after close to 400 chapters, stuff like this is really selfish of the translator to change, simply because they personally don't like the way it sounds.

However, little things like this, while annoying, aren't enough for me to say the translation isn't good. It's stuff like the main character shouting "I will fulfill you!!" in response to a guy trying to kill her. I will fulfill you?... What does that even mean?.. Here's another example sentence. To find it, I literally just looked down at my iPad on the current chapter I'm on, and it was the next paragraph. Wasn't hard to find an example, is what I'm saying.. "After all, with the Beast King in her hand, how could she worried about other Wicked?"....... Seriously?

Sorry, but this is a bad translation. It's such a shame coming after a great translation too. The sad part is I've looked ahead in chapters, and it unfortunately looks like the translator ignores any comments that attempt to point out recurring mistakes they make. They seem to have no intention of trying to improve themselves, making me assume the future chapters are never going to be any better. I may be snobbish about this, but I don't want to have to read low quality translating when I'm using my free time to try and relax and enjoy myself with a good story. I hope the current translator drops this and lets someone more experienced pick it up, as while it's generic, with the right translator, it has potential still. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Demon Noble Girl ~Story of a Careless Demon~
January 6, 2018
Status: v4c1
This is another one of those Japanese novels where everything (story details, conversations, action, narration) is vague. Sometimes it's even difficult to figure out who's speaking what sentence, as there's usually no "So and so said". Anyway, for the story itself, it has an interesting premise. However, it doesn't really use it to it's fullest extent. I understand that the title itself says the MC is lax/careless/lazy, but that usually makes the story extremely dull. You realize you're just waiting for the end of each volume where something interesting actually... more>> happens. Saw that some other reviewer said that this is the best novel on this site... Would like to try a bit of whatever he's smoking..

The MC is pretty dull herself, even while you get to listen to her inner thoughts. We get it.. You're a demon who's being hailed as a holy saint/princess. Can you not repeat it every chapter like it's a surprise to you?.. Can Rick not grab your arm, drag you somewhere, and do a tsundere act every chapter? Can Noel not say something gentle/extremely embarrassing while blushing every chapter? It's just the same of the same in every chapter/volume. At the end of every volume, the MC let's loose her demon self and kills a bunch of bad people. While the first time it was pretty interesting, by the end of the third volume I just kind of shrugged.

Spoiler

Especially seeing as how that's when the dark beast reappeared. Felt like such a waste in how it was done. "Come back with me". "No". Battle battle battle. "I'll bring you back next time!" eh... ok?

[collapse]

I've actually noticed this in quite a few Japanese novels, but they don't seem to really care about detail a lot of the times. Each character will have more or less ONE personality trait that's always up front. For example, Tina, one of the MC's attendants is obsessed with the princess. Anything she does or say just HAS to be related for that. It's ridiculously flat, detail wise. The MC herself is one of those MC's that does whatever anyone else tells her to. If she doesn't want to do it, she'll say something like "no... but..." then end up doing it anyway. It's like she has no say in the story itself, and just follows along whatever the author thinks of, without thought to how a person would actually react.

I dunno, I think giving this novel a 3 is pretty generous. Besides the beginning premise of the story, it really doesn't offer anything substantial. Very plain and boring.

EDIT: Unfortunately, most of the chapters are now on moonbunnycafe, which has to be the absolutely worst site to read on an iPad in reading mode. The page CONSTANTLY crashes and reloads before getting to the end of the chapter, making it almost non readable in that sense. Every other website with a novel on it that I've ever visited and read on didn't have this problem as long as java script is turned off. This site is the only site that crashes this way regardless of whether or not Java Script is on or off. I've messaged them about it multiple times, yet they've ignored the problem. Due to that, all novels on their site automatically drop one star in reviews, making this novel a 2 star now instead of a 3 star. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Just Blame Me For Being Blind in the Beginning
January 2, 2018
Status: Completed
This wasn't exactly a bad novel by any means, but there were some things that just didn't feel right. The following spoiler stuff includes big spoilers for the story so don't read it unless you don't have plans on actually reading the novel. If you don't want to read it, just know that in my personal opinion, the male lead is not a prince charming, nor a "s*xy cold stone CEO". He's one of those arrogant young masters who are usually the villains in every other novel.

... more>>
Spoiler

Why did the male lead suddenly fall for the main character? Her legs?... Really? Well, alright.. but why did he almost instantly become obsessed with her? It felt like there was going to be reveal where in the past without knowing him, she treated him really nicely or something and he's always remembered it. I know not all stories need something like that, but the way he acted almost implied that. It just made things kind of never connect, leaving an odd taste in my mouth towards the relationship.

The more important reason I didn't really like this story was because the male lead is kind of a horny a**hole. Every other thing out of his mouth was how he wanted to sleep with her, and then proceeded to. However it wasn't done well. He just came off as a s*x starved pervert who only wanted her for her body.

Also, he shuts down a movie role she worked her to get because there were "intimate scenes" in it. She gets mad because he doesn't respect her and her career and he rightly apologizes. You think he'd learn, right? No.. Later on when she's gone for five days due to a movie shoot, he suddenly flies/drives over there and sees the director yelling at her (and rightly so due to her nervous/poor acting at the time) and in turn yells at the director, telling him not to yell at the main character in front of all of her coworkers. How is that in any way respectful to her career? Yet does she even get upset this time? Not even remotely. Ermm.. ok? He then goes on to tell her to act like a completely different person when she meets his parents, more elegant and restrained. So.. you're basically telling her not to act like herself in order to please your stuffy pretentious parents. She of course screws up and he's actually upset with her until some stupid thing happens and it's not brought up again.

All in all, he never changes his ways of completely controlling every aspect of her life, whether it comes to secretly setting up the movie deal she becomes famous for or trying to convince her to just stop working and let him pay for everything. I mean, I'm sure a lot of people in reality would love to be in a relationship like that, but this is a story about a girl who was more or less abandoned by her family and worked hard on her own. In the end it just left a bad taste in my mouth

[collapse]
<<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
April 25, 2018
Status: Completed
An extremely well written and translated novel. This is NOT one of those female MC novels where the MC is some super assassin or genius doctor who goes around amazing everyone at every point by accomplishing the impossible. It is what I'd have to call a "realistic" time travel reincarnation novel.

It's about a normal modern day woman who ends up in the body of a weak willed girl who's just been married to what is pretty much a prince. I know, sounds generic, but it isn't. There' no... more>> cultivation in this novel. Nothing supernatural at all besides the fact that she time traveled into this body.

This is more about a fight for the throne between princes, and even more so how the MC decides to live her life in this ancient era. There is definitely no instant love connection between the MC and ML. They both play their parts in the marriage while keeping their true thoughts to themselves.

It's hard to describe anymore without spoiling things, so I'll just reiterate that this is NOT one of those female MC novels where every "chapter" is really a page and a half long and the MC cultivates to grow stronger and pills, refiing, pets or men living in her body's secret space, yaddah yadaah yaddah. None of that silliness. It's a mature novel for mature readers. It's as realistic as a time traveling novel could be.

The only gripes I have with this novel are two things. First, the translator decided to leave WAY too many words untranslated, like fei, wei ye, ce fei, etc etc. When I say way too many... let's put it this way.. the first chapter had 36 foot notes, each when for translating a word, like Ce Fei means secondary wife. 36 of them!! Even things like courtyard, concubine, first wife, and eunuch were all left untranslated. In my opinion, this is extremely overboard. It got to the point where sometimes I didn't know what status a person had, and had to rely on remembering their names alone. That would have been easy enough except the characters also had multiple names!! The main lead was known both as He Heng, his real name, and Duan Huan, I think? Not to mention other names like er sao, or er sadi.. or something like that.. whatever brothers call each other... the translator should have just written Second Brother, or Third Brother. It was needless confusion in a fruitless attempt to make the story seem more authentic.... 36 terms to remember in the first chapter alone!!

My second gripe is a small one. I'm just always annoyed in these time traveler/ reincarnation stories where the MC NEVER ends up telling their loved ones the truth. That they come from a different time. They NEVER use information from the modern era to do anything. It always makes me wonder.. why do they bother making the MC a soul from modern times. Why can't it just be someone who doesn't take crap from anyone, without soul swapping? I get the whole going from a weak timid useless person to a strong one transformation, but why make it supernatural when it'll never again have any bearing on the story? Just feels like a useless trope they always add.

Anyway, loved the story. If you like strong female MCs and mature romance, give this a shot. It's completely translated too! <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Thousand Face Demonic Concubine
January 26, 2018
Status: c106
This novel disappointing me in a different way than other novels do. That's because it started out with a BANG! The beginning of the story, not what happened at the very end of her first life (this isn't a spoiler as it happens in EVERY rebirth second chance novel), but the first revenge action she took was amazing. It was cruel, almost in a sickening way, but still amazing. It was something DIFFERENT from the normal schemes between women in these types of novels. It actually gave me really... more>> high hopes thinking... This is a woman who's definitely going to take revenge to the extreme, rather than trading petty tricks with the people who ruined her entire life the first time.

However, this excitement was immediately followed by disappointment. After that one extreme revenge point, it became another generic novel. Every plot she's accomplished in these last 100 chapters is a scheme I've read multiple times in other novels.

The evil step-mother and concubine step-sister want to drug her and have her caught in the act of adultery?... She'll turn things around so it happens to the evil step-sister instead!

It's only these kinds of situations that happen over and over again, each more generic than the last. Normally, I wouldn't have minded it so much, as these kind of plain generic tropes are what we've come to expect from novels like this. However, again it's the beginning of this novel that got my hopes so high. I mean...

Spoiler

Peeling the skin from the man's body, having her master of disguise servant wear it to provoke the guy's brother into "killing" the guy, making the brother think he killed his own brother? Awesome! Then, taking bones from the guy to carve a flower, using his blood to color it? Crazy, extreme, but ridiculously interesting too!

[collapse]

This gave me high hopes. She did all of this with a smile, even excitement. It showed that she in a way was actually and realistically broken in a sense from what happened in her previous life. Except.. all of that went away. It became a boring "I've lived a full life already so I'm calm, always prepared, and can't be caught in all these schemes" kind of novel. A novel where thousands of times when reading you want to slap the MC for saying things like "they haven't suffered enough yet, so I'll keep them alive longer". Damnit, just take them into a dungeon and do those awful things you did in the beginning. Make it a REAL novel about revenge. After that, I dunno, have new characters appear, maybe ones with relations to the people who died become her enemies. It always annoys me when these MCs constantly keep her enemies alive and just poke at them with a dull stick.

I'm sure she'll eventually get her revenge in the end, but 90% of the middle of the novel shouldn't be generic filler just to get there.

The only thing that leaves me hopeful in changing this review score is that this novel is only close to 500 chapters long, instead of the 2K long novels. That hopefully means it won't be dragged out. I guess we'll have to see.

As for the translating and editing, I rate it a 3.5/5. This is strange since the translating/editing job is close to perfect. There are randomly some words missing here and there in the chapters, (actually kind of odd, never wrong words, just missing words) but that's not why I've marked it down.

The reason I marked it so low is because the author made it so every time you click "Next Chapter", it opens up a new tab. This happens to me whether I'm reading it on my PC or my iPad. As I'm reading on my iPad 99% of the time, this is EXTREMELY annoying. That plus him cutting each chapter in half (chpt 10.1, chpt 10.2, chpt 11.1, chpt 11.2), makes trying to read this a suffering experience. I don't know if he did this because some how it'd count as more clicks to his site (I don't know how it works), but it's obviously something he did intentionally. On top of this, between each SENTENCE he'll create a bunch of empty lines to make it seem like the chapter is longer than it is. Example....

Sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence.

Sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence.

Sentence sentence sentence sentence

Sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence sentence.

(The spaces are actually double as wide as what this is showing, but this site seems to automatically delete those spaces to save space. Makes me wish the translator's site did the same thing.)

That's my example of the format. This plus tiny chapters means on an iPad at, even at normal sized font, you're CONSTANTLY scrolling just to read each sentence. Even when you're constantly scrolling, you still only get about 5-7 paragraphs or so content before you have to click next chapter, then go back and close the previous tab or else they'll you'll have hundreds of tabs after a half an hour of reading. This is an extremely uncomfortable way of reading. I honestly would have given a 5 out of 5 if he or she didn't try pulling these, to be honest, easily seen through tricks. I'm the type of person that reviews translating and editing just as much as the story, as it has just as much potential to make or break the novel since it's a translation. If he or she fixes this, I'll gladly change my score. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Ghost Emperor Wild Wife: Dandy Eldest Miss
February 25, 2018
Status: c103
This novel is just like most other female novels, only it lacks a certain something. While the MC is just as "badass" as any other in a female MC novel, you have to wonder... Why? She wasn't some assassin or killer back on earth. Wasn't she a university student? Granted she was a genius in medicine.. so what? Now she stands up to emperors and people wanting to kill her? It doesn't make any sense. Keeping this in mind, it's hard to believe half of the things she does and... more>> says. It's also confusing that she can cure any illness, especially when she's in a different world and looking at cultivator patients, not normal people.

This plus the fact that the translator cuts the chapters into four pieces, if not FIVE pieces, greatly annoyed me. Especially when reading on Qidan, it's really a pain to have to go into their pointlessly complicated (relatively anyway) menu on the side bar just to go to a new chapter every 30 seconds, since the "chapters" are tiny. While they say they release two chapters a day, in reality they're really releasing half a chapter a day. Instead of there currently being 103 chapters translated, there's really only 30 or so. I can at least say the translating itself (after chapter 30 or so at least) isn't bad. It's just that the "chapters" are way too short, like most female MC novels. Makes me wonder what clown started this awful money grubbing trend. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
In the first couple of pages, the main character actually acts like an assassin and kills, but after that one time, the next 50 pages go back to word play, face slapping, and schemes to humiliate each other. No different from every other female lead novel, except the writing is much more generic. After page 45, the novel is now being translated by someone else, and to be honest it's terrible. Broken English mixed with past and present tense screw ups. I could only... more>> last 8 pages of this before having to stop. And yes, I've been saying pages instead of chapters this entire time on purpose because that's what they are. The second chapter alone was cut into 10 "parts", other wise known as pages. Sometimes feels like translators do this so they can say they've released more "chapters" than they really have. Either way, it's a poor practice. I'd rather wait a few days for a full chapter than read a page of it every day. It's more honest that way too to the readers.

EDIT: Dropped the rating even further after coming back after a few months to re-read and catch up. All chapter links after 84 are dead. Even clicking next chapter on the site itself gives dead links. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
World of Cultivation
March 19, 2018
Status: Completed
I'll go in to this review saying that this novel felt like two completely different novels.
... more>>
Spoiler

I absolutely loved the first half, with the MC being a lazy yet greedy ling plant farmer. His personality and interactions with pu and wei were a constant joy to read. Then came the battalions and the battles. After this idea was introduced, it became a completely different novel. Characters that were somewhat relevant completely disappeared. For example, after saving xiao gui and the other girl, they were never even spoken of again! Every other chapter was describing a, in my opinion, dull battle between battalions led by people who's names began to blur together. I don't know what the author was thinking, but I think he should have written a separate novel about war, rather than letting it take over this interesting novel.

Also, the MC's personality which I loved so much pretty much disappeared. I'm all for a character evolving and growing as a person, but I'm disappointed to see that he grew into another generic wuxia MC who could do absolutely anything with a flick of his fingers, walking around with a gentle smile.
The second half of this novel, plus the absolutely horrible and rushed ending really disappointed me. Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised to find out some crazy fan broke into the author's house and demanded that he finish the novel within two chapters by gun point. That's how horribly rushed it feels. The epilogue was pretty much two sentences of dialogue!!

To cut it short, I almost wished I stopped reading half way through.

P.S. Did anyone else find the explanations and descriptions of cultivation and skills extremely boring? Sometimes I'd even skim over them, and it wouldn't impact the story in any way.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Womanizing Mage
January 4, 2018
Status: c20
This is disgusting. That's coming from a guy by the way. The synopsis doesn't mention the guy enters the new body right BEFORE he rapes the girl, and decides to rape her anyway. So far every good looking girl he's come across turns him into a raving s*x maniac. Peeps on a girl bathing in like chapter 5 and jerks off into her underwear. Same girl later is meditation and her robe slips a bit and shows cleavage. Apparently his only options are.. A.) Push her down and rape... more>> her or B.) Fix her robe. Of course just leaving her alone is impossible right?... so he picks option B (barely) and still touches her breasts.

Honestly think the author is just a pervert with no real writing skills. It's not even funny. The girl gets peeped on and he's the only person anywhere close by, yet she believes him instantly when he makes up some retarded excuse of how it couldn't be him. Anoter few words and she's traveling with him. It's like the author was thinking.. "I want this scenario to happen so I'm going to say it happens. Who cares how badly it's written, as long as my never-to-be fantasies happen in the story.

Don't bother with this novel if you have respect for women or writing.

EDIT: Almost forgot.. translation/ editing gets a 2 out of 5. Horribly done. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
You can tell after reading the first couple of chapters that this author is not very good. Rather than feeling like you're reading a novel, it feels more like you're reading someone's day dream. "This happens, and then this happens! So she punches him. He gets really angry so he yells and threatens her." There's no flavor to the descriptions. Another way of describing it could be that it seems like a written script for a movie, explaining what will happen in each scene in a plodding manner. I think... more>> it was in the second chapter where her mother finds out she's not mentally disabled anymore.

(Paraphrasing)

"Mother I'm not retarded anymore." Mother tears up in relief. "Mother I want to practice martial arts." "Ok"

Then the next chapter starts with her mother training her in martial arts.

... Really? So boring! Were we supposed to feel something from that?.. Anyway, this plus the awful editing (another translator who can't seem to grasp the difference between past and present tense so decided to use them both randomly) makes this a novel you should skip. I'd only recommend if you're fairly new to novels and have next to nothing to compare it to. Once you read any novel that has substance to it, you won't be able to get through many chapters of this one. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
November 2, 2017
Status: c257
(some extremely MINOR spoilers)

Haven't been this disappointed in a novel in a long time. The reason being is it started out pretty darn interesting and extremely funny!

The first time the MC went nuts trying to loot a boss/chest was pretty funny with everyone blocking him due to his bad luck.

... more>> The third time was pretty funny since we already knew the reason behind it.

.... The tenth time?... Are we still supposed to be laughing at this every time it happens?

The same goes for him cooking something gross and people fainting or being sick after eating it. Must have seen this joke at least 8 times already, each one pretty much having a chapter dedicated to it. I don't get it... Did the author see that readers found it funny the first and second time, and just think he could KEEP doing it OVER and OVER again? It's to the point where it actually instantly annoyed me when I realized it was one of those two jokes again.

Next.. The background of the MC is pretty interesting. Granted, it may only seem as interesting as it does because the author gives us not even half a chapter of information every 50 chapters or so. The rest are a mix between what I mentioned above, and incredibly boring MMO boss fights.

The author seems to suffer from the same condition that plague a lot of authors who write MMO novels. They get obsessed with creating their own MMO world, leaving behind the character's stories themselves. I have to think that 75% of people who read these end up skipping over the stats of items and character sheets, especially seeing as how stuff like that almost never actually matters in the story, with the MC and his companions winning no matter the odds.

All in all, this story started out as something pretty interesting, but dove into something terrible and generic once the author must have realized he didn't have very many original ideas of his own. What a shame, as the three brothers are decent characters themselves with a great dynamic between one another. If they were put into a different story with a different author, I think they could have been given their just due. 200 chapters before they even left the beginner village.... though that may be due to the translator purposefully cutting the chapters into pieces to make it look like he translated more.

P.S. I can't stand the Thorny Rose character. A typical good looking but angry to the point where she seems like a mental case woman. Every time the MC does something that would cause a normal person to maybe glare at him, flip him off, or at worst shout at him, she physically attacks him to the point of biting him. This is another thing that has happened close to ten times. Forgot to add this "joke" with the other two above. Then she suddenly wants him out of all the people she knows to pretend to be his boyfriend?.. Why? She seems him as a lowlife. Why pick him? Why not any other guy she knows?

Ahh sorry that was supposed to be a short PS, but this story just really miffs me. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Really enjoyable for a slice of life novel. I mean, sometimes you can't help but think the female lead is a little TOO dense, but besides that, it's definitely a fun read. I am, however, really disappointed no one has picked this up. It still has volumes to be translated, right?
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Phoenix Destiny
February 28, 2018
Status: c84
Pretty good novel! However, competely ignore the synopsis above. At least up until chapter 84, which is what has been currently translated today, the MC is absolutely nothing like the description, and there is not one handsome male lead or whatever chasing after her. It's nothing like the other generic female lead novels. Heck, she was only 11 years old up until like chapter 80. Finally just had a time jump to 15.

The one problem I have with this novel is the sudden inclusion of levels and... more>> game points. Think it must have been trending when the author had already started the story, and he just jammed it in. In my opinion, this was a sloppy move and a mistake. Can't write in too much detail as I'm on my phone, but if you want a decent female lead novel that's actually different from the rest, this will do...

Unfortunately, while the translation is almost perfect, minus some errors here and there, the release schedule isn't anything special. Seems like it'll be slow going waiting for more. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Ze Tian Ji
January 14, 2018
Status: c700
Favorite novel by far hands down. There are two main reasons why.

The first reason is that the characters in this novel, including his opponents are actually believable for once. By that, I mean most of them aren't these arrogant young masters who are trying to constantly kill the MC either due to jealousy or because the MC spoke a sentence that hurt their pride. They are his opponents, sure, but not his enemies who can't live under the same sky as him. Even the real baddies... more>> later on in the story are more reserved than the most basic enemies in most other novels.

The second reason is the mc's personality. You may think other MCs are calm and collected, but after reading this novel they'll seem like maniacal serial killers. This MC always thinks before speaking, almost never lets his emotions control him, and is so polite and respectful that it actually causes some funny situations.

This is NOT a novel that lacks description. The great thing is that I actually want to read all these details and learn more about the world, including the cultivation (which honestly a lot of the times in novels I find it so boring that I skim over the cultivation details.)

Can't recommend this novel enough and I'm extremely excited for the day it's finished being translated.

Oh and an absolute 5 out of 5 for translating and editing. The new (relatively anyway) translators are actually going back and re-translating all the earlier chapters so the terms and overall flow of the story sync up. Extremely high quality work all around. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Finally stopped reading after around chapter 620. This is not a cultivation novel. The cultivation leveling mechanic itself is probably the most generic and poor mechanic I've ever come across in any cultivation novel. It's a generic/cheap romance novel with a thin disguise. Yet another female MC who gets violated (kissed/hugged/grabbed/groped/ other initmate things) by a guy, except the guy is so good looking it doesn't really matter to her. Oh, he also has some sort of tragic past, so it's ok for him to have his way with her.... more>> It's that same old weird fantasy some girls have, wanting to be treated like garbage. I'd say about half of these chapters are about the guy being disgustingly possessive and treating her like an object while the MC kind of "resists", but really doesn't.

Honestly, novels like this cheapen women everywhere. Just another woman taken advantage of. Oh and before I hear complaints, I'm a guy, not a girl.

Anyway, if you're looking for a good cultivation novel, no scratch that. If you're looking for a cultivation novel at all, this is not a good choice. Only reason I picked it up was due to how many chapters are currently out. Not worth it. Not worth it one bit.

UPDATE: Read more chapters, now pretty much caught up with it. The main character is such a disappointment. She acts like she's this amazing cold hearted assassin, but for some reason, her enemies almost NEVER die. They try to kill her? She cons them out of some money. They try to kill her? She embarrasses them in front of people.

... This is the cold hearted assassin? Someone and that someone's family tried to kill her close to 10 times, and she never says "Hey, let's just kill this person and be done with it". I'd understand if her character was one who didn't like to kill, but she brags about how she can kill without worrying about anything way too much. Also, no matter what damage she inflicts on her enemies, they came back completely fine a bunch of chapters later. Oh, their face got scarred and now they're ugly? Give it 20 chapters and they're good as new. Lost a hand and now they're crippled? Give it 15 chapters. Corrosive acid poured on them? 30 chapters! Not a blemish!

It's like the author got stuck on a couple villains they're in love with, so they keep bringing them back like it's some weekly cartoon super hero show. Won't even get into how it seems like EVERY person they meet wants to kill the MC within 10 minutes. The author really doesn't know what he/she's doing. They're floundering. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Mr. CEO, Spoil me 100 Percent!
July 10, 2018
Status: Completed
What an absolute cluster**** of a novel. This is honestly the only way I can describe it. Sure, the first quarter of the novel or so is exactly what you'd expect; a once useless / now amazing female MC who goes around face slapping her petty enemies while the Male lead quickly falls for her and backs her up in any thing she does. Quite a generic novel at that, too. That is, until the author went nuts, turning it into some weird science fiction novel. I'm... more>> going to write the rest in as spoiler so those who want no spoilers won't complain, but I'll still be somewhat vague in them because I feel like people should know what they're getting into.

Spoiler

so, it goes from the female MC face slapping other women, to her waking up in the body of another woman..... just.. what?.. then, later towards the end of the novel, we see our heroine taking a spaceship to the moon! What the **** is going on?? Wasn't she doing everything in her powerto get custody of her son? Well, of course since she's the main character, we all know she ends up getting custody. Sad thing is, the kid has next to nothing to do with the novel. I think maybe he makes 5 appearances in 5 chapters, total. Lastly, the female MC goes out with a bang by using technology to time travel...... Really?.... Mr. CEO, spoil me 100% That's the name of this novel?.. Now you can see why. While I don't want to spoil things for people, iv want them to be aware that this novel is completely different than what they think. I'm guessing the author just couldn't control themselves, coming up with ideas for novels in general, and instead of staying on task and finishing the novel they were currently writing, they got over excited, jamming all these mismatched ideas into one novel. It's an absolute mess of a novel, with multiple characters disappearing from the story all together.

[collapse]

So, I can't really recommend this novel as all these mismatched genres being forced together does not mesh well and makes the novel feel very amateurish. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
As most other reviews have said, at least up to chapter 110, completely ignore the name of this novel and the genre it implies. This is a novel about a young girl who becomes the lord of her domain at an extremely young age and how she handles it. The fact that she's in a world from an otome game as of this point has absolutely 0 impact on this story aside from the fact that she's a character from the game. Not once has there been a situation that... more>> happened in the game, where she can use her memories from the game to help her. Not once has she met any other characters FROM said game. The fact that she's reincarnated is yet another trope the author threw in most likely due to a fad, since besides her being wise for her years, it has absolutely no impact on the story. She has no special items or abilities due to her reincarnation. In all honesty, I'm 99% sure you could throw away the whole otome and reincarnation thing, and it would have no impact on the story.

This is mistake WAY too many authors make. They make the character a reincarnated character, but it ends up meaning absolutely nothing to the story itself. This can still make some sort of sense if the person reincarnates into a body that's somewhat grown, as it lets the reader learn about the world along with the main character. However, too many times, like in this novel, the person is reincarnated as a new born. It's just needless. Neither this character nor so many others ever use any ideas, science, or what not to give them an edge in this new world they're in. Just a silly fad authors have been jumping on.

It's more like a military novel. It's about her growing up, (as of right now I'm at chapter 110 and she's only progressed to age 9 I think), training in her barracks with the other soldiers, fighting one battle, and taking care of matters concerning her lands.

To be honest, it's pretty boring. It's one of those novels that feels like you're reading a script. MC does this. Then MC does that. It lacks the flavor of telling a story as a story, and more of telling a story as facts, if that makes sense. I've been waiting for something interesting to happen, and besides that one battle, nothing has popped out. That's not to say I only find battles interesting. Witty supporting characters, interesting schemes and conversations. Even some sort of romantic interest would be interesting. There's none of that. Maybe some of this will happen later on in the novel, but for her to still be at age 9, doing the SAME things she's been doing since about chapter 10 at chapter 110, it's way too slow. I can see this is still an ongoing light novel series, and I have a feeling that unless the author gets bored of it and cuts it short in an awful fashion, this is going to be a pretty long series.

Anyway, if you're into the idea of an MC who at a young age trains in the military and learns how to become a Lord of her lands, this novel is for you. If you're looking for a novel like Destruction Flag Otome, where the MC is pretty much playing out HER version of the character in the game, and interacting with other game characters (usually a bunch of guys and the female lead from the game), don't bother with this novel. It's absolutely NOTHING like that. At least not in the first 100 chapters. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Really surprised this novel gets such high reviews. The scenario is something out of a horror movie. The ML is pretty much psychotic, locking the MC in his house, telling her whether or not she can go to school, who she can be friends with, etc. Etc. Dunno if this is some sort of fantasy women have, but it's severely damaged.

Anyway, for the novel itself, it seems the author is just winging it. All of a sudden, plenty of chapters into the story,... more>> it's revealed the MC has a perfect memory since it would be convenient for face slapping during tests at school. Now she's having nightmares about killing people and can direct people where to strike during a fight, which im sure will lead to her being some sort of ridiculous super soldier or something.

At leat I can say the translation is done well, minus a star for the tiny chapters. Pretty sure the translator cuts them up and names them himself, as one time he named a chapter after a quote in the novel that didn't happen until the following chapter. Seems like a slip up.

Willing to change my review years from now when the novel is done translating as maybe it'll get better. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
February 23, 2018
Status: c60
A very boring novel. The author uses the fact that the MC is an assassin to make his character very plain and dull. Actually if I'm being honest, I haven't discovered one interesting character in all these chapters. The magic and sword play in this novel is also very boring and not very well explained, at least not at this point. I'm actually incredibly shocked there are 5 star ratings for this novel. I don't know if it does a complete 180 later on and gets incredible or something, but... more>> even if that's the case, we shouldn't have slog through boring chapters just to get there.

The last and biggest reason why I dropped the novel at around chapter 60 is because around there, the translator gets rid of his editor and tries doing it himself. It's bad. Very bad. I checked ahead and he's "edited" all the chapters from the 60's up until the 300's. Not going to suffer through that for a boring story. Stupid mistakes like writing... "Joking fun at so-and-so's expense"... Joking fun?.. huh?.. "For them to bath".. You mean bathe?.. Writing "I" instead of "You".... How do you make this mistake!?!? Mistakes like these litter the chapters. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mavsynchroid
Mavsynchroid rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
January 10, 2018
Status: v1c30
This novel reminds of that other Japanese novel... Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou. This is especially true in that the beginning of the story seems really interesting, but then begins to fall flat. Already, the MC is already beginning to be a push over when it comes to his female companion. It's not extremely blatant, but it's easy to see where it's heading. The whole revenge idea is extremely interesting, but sometimes feels a bit forced when they're happily discussing torture methods together. I'm all... more>> for a touch of insanity and madness in a revenge story, but only when it feels natural. I also dislike that the translators switched to a present tense when the novel was picked up by them due to their personal preference. Makes it awkward to read. Typing on my phone so I won't go into details, but unless this story picks up in the future, it'll end up being anoter mediocre Japanese harem story where the MC is OP but weak to his women. Same old same old, just with a revenge twist.

Also, the levelling and stats in this novel are so boring that towards the end of the first volume, I'd skip over that block of text when I saw it. The fact that it didn't inconvenience me in any way not having that knowledge shows how pointless it is.

EDIT: To the reviewer, GordonLi.. you should have read more carefully because..

Spoiler

They absolutely DID kill his family, classmates, teachers and even other relatives when they summoned him. You're basing your review on incorrect information.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4