Report Review
9 Reviews


Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
Chongfei Manual
November 21, 2017
Status: c22
The premise does not at all justify the MC’s “intelligence” (in quotes because this is another case of “she’s so smart because everyone’s dumb). She was a 15 year old farmer/beggar when she died not an Empress or even just a young girl who actually grew up in a royal or noble household and knows Ancient Chinese Family machinations.

the timeline is so messy it’ll hurt your head. You’ve got ML who at like 12 was such a threat to the throne with his ambition he was sent away as a... more>> general or something *eyeroll* and returns in glory at like 15. The MC gets a stepbrother (who isn’t even born yet but she’s already antagonistic towards) who in the main timeline murdered someone and died in jail at the age of 8??? Also let’s not forget that he was a hedonistic lazy rich kid.

It also flip flops between making the MC our to be the smartest most beautiful and talented person to EVER exist while also trying to make her pitiful and sympathetic. That’s why you’ll have contradicted information on how she’s both the most beautiful girl of her village but also so horrifically scarred by her Step mom’s murder attempt that her family wouldn’t recognize her...

MC is so needlessly antagonistic and basically sh*tty that you feel more sympathetic and root people she DOESNT like over her. Her Step sister is a sh*tty spoiled brat but she’s a 5-YEAR OLD. Her mom JUST got isolated from the family and of course she’s going to lash out. They try to justify MC’s sh*ttiness to her sister by say “she knew about her mom’s scheme” but if I were 5 and I had a sister who my dad and brother treated 100000000x better than me and everyone favored who also ignored and was rude to me then if I’m mom told me she was never coming back then I’d be over the moon! BECUASE IM 5! MC also has really negative feelings for her fiancé not ML who during his short intro seems like a pretty upstanding dude. You know why she doesn’t like him? Because in the first timeline after she goes missing at 6 years old he’s engaged to her sister 10 years later... yeah. An arranged marriage didn’t fall through so he’s married to another daughter of the household. Oh the shame. Oh the betrayal. And I’m sorry but he only knew you when you were 6, was he supposed to carry a torch for a child?

This story is just annoying and the high score Legit boggles my mind. <<less
74 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
The Rich And Honorable ChangAn
August 13, 2018
Status: c35
I liked the translate chapters so much I MTLed :)

This is a maturer BL novel that avoids the usual sappy stereotypical cliches. The characters aren't "love at first sight" and the characters are fleshed out and interesting. The plot doesn't twist itself to make things go the MC and ML's way and the side characters are very interesting and their motives and actions fit their character and social status.

MC is naive (he's 15 and was sent away and under house arrest during his formative years) but very intelligent. Sometimes... more>> his intelligence wins out and sometimes it doesn't (he's book smart but lacks experience). ML is a prince and therefor smart and used to manipulation and scheming and that's pretty apparent in how he acts and what he does. What I love most though is that the novel doesn't forget that there are other intelligent and scheming characters. For example, we haven't found out what goes through the Emperor's mind and the purpose of his actions (at least up to chapter 35) but you know he's scheming something that no one else can comprehend. Third Prince originally comes off as a cruel hot-tempered prince (in a worse written story he'd try to pursue and rape/steal the MC and continue to be one dimensional and cruel) but in the same scene you think he's horrible, you get another side of him that makes you go "oh, I can understand why you're doing this. I don't condone it but I understand" and you aren't LMAO when you learn that he's a main contender for the throne.

The romance is slow but it's also very realistic as to why. So far you can feel fondness between the MC and ML developing and I look forward to the direction it develops.

Spoiler

Not really a spoiler but just rambling with spoilers so you can understand what kind of story this is and how "realistic" it is. The story explains that in this setting, servant/slave girls belonging to the wife can "sleep" with the husband and enter his harem. Though there's the stigma of "climbing into the masters bed" it is also presented as advantageous to the wife because it gives them a "partner-in-crime" in the harem and the servant retains loyalty to their original master no matter how high they climb.
This becomes a very real issue when MC needs to find a way to solidify his status and comfort as the wife because he needs ML to like him, doesn't know how long his current "comfortable" situation will last and he can "adopt" the child born from their union. He offers his two servants a chance to enter ML's harem but respects their decision when they say no.

I love how mature the author is about this. There's no weird rant about betrayal or whatever. She doesn't condemn the women or ML. It's a cultural practice and everyone understands the pragmatism of it and it's presented so maturely that it feels natural and you can understand that it's even presented as an option. This respect to the culture and customs is refreshing. In many other stories the author chooses to present Ancient Chinese culture and customs and proceeds to bash them in childish and rude ways.

[collapse]
<<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
July 22, 2018
Status: Completed
This is the best story I’ve ever read in this site. All the characters are interesting and fleshed out. Their actions reflect their personalities; when they win or lose it’s not a plot contrivance but something that follows the character’s logic/goal/established mindset.

Be warned though, this is a wild ride that will rip out your heart and stomp it. This story takes the second chance/reincarnation trope and implements the butterfly effect and how small actions create impossible changes to the timeline.

... more>>
Spoiler

this story is so f**king depressing wow. There’s no happy ending and everyone loses. I’m so sad I just want to dig a hole and bury myself.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
Chu Wang Fei
November 18, 2017
Status: c101
This had a strong start but gradually goes downhill dramatically when you realize everyone who opposes the MC is a moron. She's only a "genius" because the stars align in the most Deus Ex Machina way for everything to work out or her villains and enemies (regardless of if they were shown or described to be intelligent and cunning prior) suddenly hold the biggest idiot ball imaginable and walk right into her traps and wordplay.

Also the MC comes off as a huge hypocrite and just and all around antagonistic individual.... more>> She treats people like sh*t and her justification is that they have ulterior motives or aren't 100% behind her. It's like she doesn't know what looking into a mirror is. There people need to look out for themselves, why wouldn't someone put themselves first? People can actually work together with mutual benefit and not just simpering to the MC who also doesn't give a sh*t about other people (regardless of her inner monologues).

It was particularly annoying to read her interaction with her cousin (WHO IS 11) when she first arrived to the city. Oh! A little girl raised in the country side really likes jewelry and has ambition!? What a bitch I'm gonna ruin her. Instead of being a good example and leading her through the minefield of family and society machinations, her immediate thought is to destroy her because her family (mom, dad and grandma) told her to watch herself and curry favor *rolls eyes*.

RAPE RAPE RAPE. Seriously, everyone gets raped, s*xually assaulted or harassed and the "good guys" facilitate it of exacerbate it while patting themselves on the back from within their glass house. A lot of people justifying this poor story telling need to take a step back and realize these characters are not even 20 when this sh*t happens (one character is 13 and forced to MARRY her rapist by the wonderful ML). Is it accurate to that time? Well not really becuase this is a highly exaggerated story. But even if it was, MC is from the modern era (and this is only brought up to justify some Mary Sue power or to laud her modern moral sensibilities) and should not be A. OK! Especially since she was a POLICE OFFICER *eye roll*.

Timelines and age make no sense. Don't think about it.

Story is slow paced, romance poorly developed and the plot is not coherent or believable. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat
Reincarnation of a Superstar
November 3, 2017
Status: c35
MC is a very sweet individual who makes this story worth reading. It's very story driven and the romance is very subtle and hard to pick up (which I like because sometimes stories get lost in focusing only on romance). The showbiz world and idol factor is explored and character decisions and motivations are easy to follow. When characters make unpopular choices it is easy to follow their logic and, even disliking it, understand what motivates them to that outcome.

my only issue is that, while I appreciate the translator's hard... more>> work, I wish they would keep their notes and comments at the end of the chapter instead of interjecting between sentences and paragraphs. Not only do they keep dropping spoilers (which is very upsetting because it ruins the immersion and suspense) they also keep trying to manipulate the readers opinions regarding characters. For example, a character is being shady and the translator goes into a large paragraph defending their actions and "giving insight into why they'd do that" and telling us not to hate them. I don't want a third party to influence my opinion I want the story to. Or a character is introduced and they make a comment that "they really hate this guy" or "this person is very important later."

I appreciate the hard work but please keep notes at the end. I posted a criticism on the chapters but they have been deleted and myself blocked from commenting. I just want readers to know that if you see () or notes then please skip if you don't want to be spoiled. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
Refusing to Serve Me? Then Off With Your Head!
January 19, 2018
Status: Completed
The premise is good but the way the story is presented detracts from it. Events are told out of order and multiple points of view are presented that add new information and elements to the timeline/story. The story is intriguing but very very disjointed. This is exacerbated by the unreliable protagonist who’s perspective cannot at all be trusted.

Actually, besides the timeline, the characters and their motivations seem “all over the place”. This statement might be unfair because there’s a legitimate explanation for their actions, but their personalities are so set... more>> in the beginning of the story that it’s difficult to rectify it with information revealed later.

I actually feel extremely guilty for finding some earlier scenes funny because of how they’re later explained.

I actually found the MC to be annoying but exceptionally tragic. I would rank her on the lower scale of my preferred characters but she is actually very well written (think like that annoying friend who you only talk to in small doses but don’t cut off because she’s nice or occasionally fun). I really wish things turned out differently for her because throughout the entire story it felt like she never had agency or choice. It was always different men abusing their authority or the circumstances to dictate her life. The the things that happen to her, mentally and physically, prohibit her from properly consenting. I feel like, if she were physically and mentally well, her entire life would be different. It’s not like other stories where “cute girl gets manipulated by black bellies or kinda bullied” because this is a case of a legitimate mental illness. That’s NOT okay.

Because of these circumstances surrounding the MC, I cannot condone her relationship with the ML or any love interest presented. It just feels scummy on a whole new level.

If you don’t think that’d be an issue then yeah, give it a read because the story is legitimately interesting and, though I dislike the way it was presented, you might find the disjointed timeline Fresh and interesting. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
February 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Bland Bland Bland. The FL never did anything of note nor did she face any hardship that justified the praise lauded on her. She sat around eating and looking pretty. She said some bitchy one-liners here and there and that managed to seduce ML into being completely monogamous and obsessively in love... ok. For a transmigration story, there was no actually elements of the genre incorporated besides some holier-than-thou modern woman sensibilities occasionally talking down to the other women.

ML was generically handsome and bland. Nothing really went on with him... more>> besides a plot to take the throne from his sh*tty spoiled half-brother. That storyline was all-in-all won by a bit of coincidence and plot contrivance than any actual hard work.

Flabbergasted by the high rating. I guess if you wanted a straightforward female power fantasy where the main girl sits around looking pretty, eating, wins easy fights, and picks low hanging fruit then... yeah? I mean she gets the title of empress and is in a magical monogamous relationship. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
True Star
November 3, 2017
Status: v2c18
this series is a bit overrated. It has a decent amount of smut but the interesting parts of the stories occur mainly into the beginning. After that the story takes a cringey turn and introduces very awkward and weird story lines and situations (yes, even more than the opening when the MC is literally forced to prostitute for one of the harem members).

Only the MC's boss has any real chemistry or appreciation for him as a person. He tried to better understand the MC and knows how important acting is... more>> for the MC. The other MLs are shallow and only appreciate his body or that he's "different" from other peoole. There's this underlying skeeziness about the characters when the authors adds the underworld into it and it dealienates from the showbiz quite a lot.

Two of the MLs come across as highly misogynistic and obnoxious. They're very annoying and pretty much ruin the story. It feels like they were shoehorned in for no reason or they've passed their expiration date.

I also find it strange that no one seems to care that the MOST FAMOUS AND SUCCESSFUL Chinese actor, even if he was Chinese-American, died. It's a passing mention but doesn't have much influence on the story line besides the fact that he is now the MC. I find that strange since everyone keeps saying Hollywood and Western media is the IT place to be for a Chinese Actor. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Matpatpat
Matpatpat rated it
Your Highness, I Know My Wrongs
January 19, 2018
Status: Completed
The story is funny with an interesting plot and good characters. Though it gets serious it never really goes off the rails like other novels. Not a favorite story but not a hated one either. Comfortably in the middle.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report