Report Review
14 Reviews


Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Into the World of Medicine
July 6, 2018
Status: c96
Those who are unfamiliar with this genre would probably think of this as a xianxia for female audiences, as it takes up all the bad points of xianxia, with the only changes being the protagonist being female and the added "romance" (the girl's kind), because that's what this is.

There's nothing new here, so if this is your first one or if you just want to read more of the same thing, read this.

However, do note that everyone including the MC seems to be stupid, with the surrounding people being more... more>> stupid than the MC (That's the only reason I can think of, of why the MC triumps.), or wrong in the head: their way of thinking is so strange. It's like you're reading QTF without the more normal MC bringing some sense into the story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Banished to Another World
May 28, 2018
Status: c14
This one is also a hidden gem. Aside from what other reviewers have already said, what I'd like you to come to attention is the fact that this story (at least at this point) seems to be a yaoi/danmei/BL story that doesn't really focus on the yaoi (imma use this term coz I'm used to this), instead focusing more on other things like (1) a considerably realistic/scientific/not-too-fictitious-'im-modern-and-everything-I-know-is-revolutionary-and-you-uncouth-savages-are-dumb-sh*ts' kind of story, and (2) (from the look of it) a more realistic, romantic (?) romance that, I won't say much (coz... more>> I can't think of how to describe it right now) but is severely lacking in most BL stories I see nowadays on this site (like there's brainless MC dom ML, ruthless-with-everyone-and-also-smarter-than-anyone except with ML, etc., which normally you'd associate with most normal B/G, M/FM kind of romance. Heck all romances might come to be like this. Who am I to judge...). A BL not focusing on BL romance is what BL lacks if you ask me, as we don't normally see things like normal stories that aren't romance (like action, adventure, etc.), that lends itself to BL. (Like you can ship them all you want, but the brothers ain't gonna get together no matter what) meaning that BL is still considered/treated as not normal. But in this novel (from what I currently am seeing) is the author not treating BL as something special, but just another thing, as normal.... I don't know if I'm getting my point across but... anyway, I'm really glad that a story like this exists and is getting translated.

tl;dr Good story. Good romance. Probably. (I'm sensing no ridiculous sh*ts like... you'd prob know what I'm talking about if you hate it.) (It might change. I hope not. TvT) (I'm only on what.. c14? might just try to read ahead by myself some time) A ~psychopathic MC. A yaoi tag. What's more to hope for. (More chapters I guess lol)

//the translator leaves notes about the trans like idioms and such, so if you like it... :D There's also no weird stuffs you have to do coz he/she wants to ward against bots (and as a results does not ward bots but instead readers.)

Update (c111) : The translator is not the same anymore but my rating is still the same. I'll edit my review at some point. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
October 8, 2017
Status: c9.12
Truly a gem in the yaoi romace novels.

This is one of the best novels I've ever read that is also BL (meaning full score + 1 for me... wait.. there's only five stars?.... \°口°/#$#@!).

The concept is hardly new but is very refreshing (it's very classic but haven't really read one like this) and each chapter (is it? rlly? isn't it very long?) is more like a mini volume/arc and it is not not-connected like some of the reviewers said, as the MC discovers/learns more about himself in each arc (So... more>> you can say the overal plot develops over each arcs).

The author's viewpoints on romance/love/relationship is realy really really good (Yes it needs three of them) !

It's kind of realistic but also with a little touch of romantic ideal (as you can see from the concept of
Spoiler

immortal lovers

[collapse]
.

The story is awesome and the translator is also great (notes on idioms and such on probably every chapter)

There isn't really anything else to say but to give it a go! even if you're not interested in BL, since most other things have been said in other reciews already. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Seizing Dreams
June 7, 2019
Status: c59
I will just say that I've never felt anything when I sometimes read/watch the Slice of Life genre except for this once. I have to say that this is my favourite BL novel so far (like, if you could only read one BL novel ever I would choose this one). I only found out what "heartwarming" meant when I read this.

The interactions are great. Characters are thought out. The romance is "slow", but if you binge read like me I'd say it's appropriate. More importantly it's great. Not every character... more>> is suddenly gay and not everyone magically develops a liking towards the protagonist.
Spoiler

Except maybe the main love interest. But maybe the spark should be kind of sudden? IDK. It's kind of sudden (i.e. Can also be considered not sudden), and I just don't oppose it.

[collapse]
The setting is set in the modern world and many [pop culture?] references (?) are very relatable. Societal pressure against homos*xuality is neither downplayed nor overplayed. Etc. Overall, I would just say that things are very true to the current world. And that along with the interactions are what makes it so enjoyable. And so relatable if you're gay.

Usually I would rate things according to the ratings I think it should receive in the site, but for this one, I think it deserves an ~4.8 out of my perfect 5.0 for me. (For comparison, right now I would rate Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil an ~4.5 out of 5.0.) (Quick transmigration still wasn't a thing back then and that one was done pretty well.) (Of course, these are different genres and can't be compared that easily. But it's just to give you an idea.)

The synopsis was pretty confusing but just give this a try. It's really good. You won't regret it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
TS Reincarnated as the Sub Heroine
December 28, 2018
Status: c12
I dislike the message. One thing for those who aren't sure about what to feel about what happened—consent can be given, and can also be taken away at any time. Also, having s*x, not limited to "s*x", without consent is called rape.

Another thing for those who says you were warned by the tag—I dislike the message. You are as entitled to like rape and give this novel a 5-star as I am to dislike its message and give this a 1-star.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Monarch of Evernight
January 9, 2018
Status: v3c50
While this novel is certainly underrated, it isn't by that much.

My verdict of this is a 4.4 or maybe 4.5 if you give extra points for the refreshing, new? and unique? world. (It's not xianxia). Had the author maintained the same quality of volume one though, I would have given this a 4.6 or more.

The first volume was very good. It had a lot of potential, but the quality only went downhill and not improve. Then, there were character (MC) development and great world building. (There still is the latter... more>> though just not as good.) (Not sure about the former.) Now, there are noticeable discrepancies in the MC decisions/actions. How he's developed his military (think of GDN) mindset is also abit unclear/uncalled for. (No I know he went to a military school/camp and further his study at a special corps but still... like.. you need more of a real text of the MC's development) The unexplicable interest in the MC count is still, arguably, one, so that's good news. But the bad news is that if this becomes a harem, there probably would be more.

There's more to be said in the "discrepancies in thr MC's action/decisions, " but I'm too lazy to add spoiler tags so... Anyway, this novel is still one of the better ones, and I think you should at least give the first volume a go. (Though don't be disappointed when the quality drops.)

Side note: the unexplicable interest count would really go up if you count the males, but this isn't that kind of novel so... (thou it can very well go that way, easily, for a fanfic or sth I mean..)

EDIT: OmgOmgOmgOmg before I forget: after volume 3 got going there doesn't seem to be anything bad I notice. Certainly the tone of the novel had changed but it's kind of good?/ok? (like more noticeably CN novel ish? But still not into tropes) This raises my rating to a solid minimum of 4.5 regardless of anything.

Anyway forget that! This really needs a yaoi fanfic. If you like yaoi and have dropped this you really need to read this again till at least now (v3c50) and be tormented like me. (You know it's impossible but you can't help wishing.) Omg I know some CN writers like to use these things to tease us but... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
18 Kin Otome Gēmu de, Teisō o Mamorinukimasu!
December 10, 2017
Status: c35
At first it was going fine, until the MC started to develop feelings very fast for whatever the reason, then somehow other love interests (aside from the final one) started to become forgotten or turned into a very side-character like thing. Worse of it all was the wtf ending... like wtf?... so many loose ends; you can also tell that it was rushed.

Read on if you've got time to waste
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Dare ga Otome Geemu Dato Itta!
October 8, 2017
Status: c14
It's a smutty BL reverse harem in an Otome game.

The theme?/plot?/concept? is quite interesting - kinda classic but not cliche (I've never really seen one like this).

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC became the Otome game's protagonist !!! (not literaly but like stealing the protag's plot events?) I know there's some stuffs like this but this one's truly stealing, like if you view everythkng through Otome plotlines it fits perfectly.

[collapse]

Overall it's novel worth reading (narrative is ok, not unbearable like Mob... Sore mo waki mob sthsthsth; translation's not the best but still good; also have multiple POVs. But screw all that it's got SMUT! A lot of SMUT so read it!)

However, a side note: the romance is kinda meh since

Spoiler

1. The male lead is very obvious (though you can still have some expectations on how to settle the harem.

2. The love process/reasons is... (SPOILER ALERT!!)

[collapse]

Spoiler

1. Looks beautiful 2. Fighting illness 3. Behaving like a good normal person (like in contrast to most nobles?)

[collapse]

I was going to give it 4 stars (which translates to 5 since BL......) if not for one decision that the MC made, and if you're like me - meaning if you dislike a thought process of the MC, it destroys a huge amount of the enthusiasm + enjoyment - you're not going to enjoy it as much later on. Though if you can get past this.. (SPOILER ALERT!!)

Spoiler

Well not rlly but - Thr MC has the power to save a friend/love interest (not the male lead thou //probably that's why?) 's little brother who is suffering from the same illness as the MC but chose not to because "it must not be known, for sbdy might have bad intentions on you (MC) " and "you can't cure everyone" kinda flowery world B**S**t...... well for me that just means you don't care about him enough, don't trust him enough, and that your relationship with him does not deserve to be more than a schoolmate (I would not even be friends with a person who chooses to sacrifice a small amount including your brother (so maybe even you) to save a larger amount (w/himself included). Being pressured by people who cares about you still doesn't justify this action (at least for me)

[collapse]

.. you're probably fine. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Rebirth of the Supreme Celestial Being
June 4, 2019
Status: c122
A typical [redacted] xianxia novel but with two genders of annoying people instead of one. Brainless cannon fodders, face slapping, etc., you know what to expect—both the good and the bad.

Some bad things:

Sometimes the author's the book's views* (Yes, the book's. I am not confusing the book's views with the characters'.) are a bit eh..? (The same beheading-happy trigger prone protagonist, double standard—looks almost hypocritical—actions, etc.)

... more>> Some saving graces:

It's BL (so romance). Has comedy. Has plot (that should already be obligatory imo).

Conclusion: it's the same [redacted] xianxia with *similar* setting/plot elements but with BL.

Recommended for people who (1) has time, (2) are not tired of [redacted] xianxias, (3) has never read xianxia with BL (this is the first one I saw) (not those transmigration novels), or (4) just like to read anything BL. Not a must-read. Could be a time passer.

*as of what I've read

/* My initial impression of it was a 3-star novel but I rated it as a 4 considering how xianxias with similar flaws get rated.... And maybe because it's BL */

EDIT: I just read something really good and cannot give this a 4 star anymore. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Quick Transmigration: I’m Almost Dead
June 15, 2019
Status: v1c20
The only novel (BL or romance or otherwise) with a "silly" MC that somehow doesn't annoy me to death. (Or to dropping.)
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
The Decade of Deep Love
June 13, 2019
Status: c15
I was putting it off because it doesn't have many chapters but... Why did I read this 😂😂? I need more! I'll give a better review once I've read some more. (I don't feel good not reading enough of the novel before giving a review.) Really needed these kinds of stories with so much happy-happy-lucky stories lately. One of the few novels I feel like mtl-ing to read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Game Loading
June 12, 2019
Status: c196
One of (if not) the best in this genre/trope/setting/premise.

Certainly not perfect, but many themes/concepts are very interesting. The flavour can change a bit depending on the arc, but if you can get past the parts you are stuck with, you will find it worth the trouble.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
There's no romance in this revenge transmigration system novel. That's probably the best thing about this novel as there'll be no godly husband who, once you get together, you rely on for everything (or almost) from then on (cuz the biggest thigh you can hug won't be the same husband who follows you to everyworld you go anymore) . There'll just be nonsensical pricks the MC​ has to bash.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mai Mee
Mai Mee rated it
Ultimate Scheming System
November 26, 2017
Status: c198
It's not supposed to be a serious novel - if you can't tell from the synopsis (I couldn't). Just take everything the MC does as what he - not the author - does and you might like it.

Just give it a try and see if you like it or not, but I would reccomend this over other ones that isn't very highly rated (i.e. Ones below ~4.5 stars).
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report