Report Review
44 Reviews


Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
October 10, 2016
Status: v16c17
A slice of life and comedy novel that does its job extremely well. A perfect blend of light-heartedness, a bit of thrill, fluffiness, cutesies, and absurd commonsense-breaking events.

The jokes never get old. There are times that you just take some paragraphs or sentences in face value, until you realize what it means and end up with your face in your palm.
Spoiler

"I gaze at the fountain of blue light gushing out from a black disk." these words were thrown out casually, but then you realized he's in outerspace and watching a quasar.

[collapse]

The adventure is done well like a detailed RPG game where each country, cities, or any other places have its own uniqueness, story, and events. The mix of adventure and slice of life is done extremely well that it made the novel entertaining all throughout the hundreds of chapters.

The characters have their own uniqueness, although they follow some stereotype japanese tropes, at least it's mostly the good ones.

Some people might complain about the MC being too strong in later chapters, but please understand that it is a slice of life. But his strength is not without story and struggle, even when he became overpowered, the world-building and storytelling didn't suffer as far as a slice of life novel could go.

I've seen the low rating reviews from other people and from what I can clearly see, they made a review without understanding the story. This novel has an ironically fairly slow start despite him having absurdly high level in few chapters. There's this very important thing in this novel called build-up which is missing from other isekai novels that goes straight to action.

Overall it is a great light-hearted and relaxing novel to read. I recommend this to people who are tired of too much drama or unending cycle of senseless brutality from other fantasy novels, those who just want to relax and have a good laugh.
52 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
War Sovereign Soaring The Heavens
July 3, 2017
Status: c902
I've been reading the raws and came up with this review.

... more>>
Spoiler

I feel really s*upid for expecting something from this novel, I gave it a chance and it completely let me down.

Although I can give it 2 stars just because there are lots of chapters, meaning it can at least pass as a "filler" while waiting for latest chapters of my favorite novels.

[collapse]

The novel's potential in early chapters was completely ruined in later chapters, making this novel join the group of hilariously subpar chinese novels. What is that group, you ask?
Spoiler

Novels that could shorten your lifespan because of the "subpar" part or maybe extend it because of the "hilarious" part.

[collapse]

There are too much characters to remember. You don't even have to remember them at all as they will either die sooner or later, or be forgotten.

Four out of five people the MC meets end up being his enemy, either he offended them, they offended him, or he offended their family.

The author has a special power of pulling a stereotypical chinese novel villains out of his ass one after another.
Spoiler

Heck, he even offended tens and hundreds of people (multiple families) at the same time and comes out alive. Worse part is, they are too one-dimensional, they exist just to annoy the MC and die later on.

"Oh, you MC f**ker, I'll kill you! I-Impossibruuuu! Nuuuuuu!" *dies*

Oh and it's been confirmed that at least one new villain will appear every 5 chapters, the MC, his friends, family, and lovers have the super power of attracting trouble wherever they go.

[collapse]

The number of "named" characters that died in his hands are numerous that you don't have to bother remembering their names for too long since they are short-lived.

MC has 2 memories of experienced men but always let "threat" grow enough to kill people who sided with him.
Spoiler

Oh he met a new friend while meeting a new villain! *poof* they die after 2 to 3 chapters because MC is s*upid enough to always let a threat stay alive just to butcher them later on for "revenge".

After all, they are livestocks that should be butchered only once they're all fat and grown, am I right?

"Blabla-er, I've taken revenge for you, you can now rest in pepperonis and be forgotten forever since you only appeared for 3 chapters."

[collapse]

In summary:

- MC is s*upid despite his 2 lifetime experience (memories) and never learn, always letting threats grow bigger and bigger because he can deus ex machina (plot armor and device) them out of existence after they've done enough trouble or killed minor characters that sided with the MC.

- Villains only exist to be villains, they're one-dimensional idiots with no redeeming qualities nor depth in personality. Oh and don't worry, 9/10 only lasts for a few chapters.

- MC's lovers only exist to be "damsels" attracting troubles, they're so beautiful everyone wants to have a taste.. Heh... *winks* red rose blooming on the sheets eh?

Spoiler

You don't believe me? Look at the reviews on the author's other novels, they all end up the same.. a crappy novel.

The things I pointed out are the same thing people didn't like about in his other novel.

Seems like the author goes "since I'm a typical chinese author, let's pull some nasty villains out of my nasty ass one after another because that's all my novels are about."

The thousands of chapters are all about MC meeting villains and kicking their asses, there isn't any good plot nor narrative.

Think of it like someone playing a fighting simulation game over and over with the same scenarios but different locations, and not getting bored of it.

[collapse]
<<less
49 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Overgeared
November 17, 2017
Status: c139
Had I made this review a week ago, I'm sure I would have rated it low, but I'm glad I stopped and waited until it reached hundreds of chapters before binging it, and I have to say I'm very impressed. It is rare to find novels that focus on character growth nowadays.

The MC was really cancerous at the early chapters, but after reaching hundreds of chapters, he has shown growth in many aspects and the author always put emphasis in his growth.

The number of chapters needed for him to show... more>> his growth might discourage others from reading but those chapters are necessary to build the character and the story. Those hundreds of chapters doesn't even feel that long and entertaining things happen around the main character in almost every chapters. I could even consider the pacing of this novel to be fast despite taking so much chapters for the main character to grow.

Even though you might feel like pulling your hair at the early chapters, I'm sure that you'll also get a decent amount of laughs and giggles from the characters' antics.

The side characters aren't always just thrown away either, while some might get forgotten for a bit, they usually make a comeback after a few arcs.

Spoiler

So folks, stop giving a review without reading until you see how the story developed. I don't think the early chapters were written badly to warrant early bad reviews or any reviews at all.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
I'd say that this story is your usual OP main character that "breaks common sense" though I just wish the author has a bit more creativity.

You can see these types of story everywhere yet it's like the author doesn't even try to be creative.

It's like the "discrimination" is there just to give the MC a challenge that isn't even a challenge for him at all. Here's some examples of lack of creativity:

... more>>
Spoiler

Everyone that discriminates against him gets facerolled by his OP-ness in a mere chapter or two, or even in a few paragraphs.

The MC does something and everyone gets awfully surprised just to accept it like it's normal after a few words.

"Calamity Class" monsters appearing in front of him just so that he can show to others that he's OP.

[collapse]

There's even a massive plot hole just as early as 33 chapters that makes me wonder if the author had put some thought into the story or is this novel really just something to read for fun

Spoiler

The MC met a demon and after a chapter he magically and omnipotently arrived at a conclusion that the way the weakest crest was called the strongest crest now and his crest was discriminated against (coincedentally and magically) as a disqualified crest and how the magic and everything the humans do became incredibly weak and subpar than his time was because of the Demons.

The Demons did that because it'll be better for them if the humans are weaker but let's be honest here. The discrimination shown in the story is not something that just appeared out of nowhere, it's something that is deep-rooted as said in the story, and he's even stronger than the knight's commander at his age, that means their country is too weak.

If they're that weak then it would've been so easy.. Too easy for demons to conquer them seeing as how that demon he fought has a higher magic output than him who could kill a "Calamity Class" monster.

[collapse]

Overall, even if I'm harsh with my review, I still read it because I like "reincarnation" and "transmigration" type of novels.

Spoiler

I just don't understand the high ratings/review

[collapse]
<<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Stand User in Marvel Universe
December 15, 2019
Status: c648
Pretty decent for a CN marvel fanfiction. Less frustrating than most of its kind, until later 500 chapters, that is.

One big problem about this fanfiction, is that the author is too afraid to make the MC make big changes to the original story.

Although the MC exists, nothing much changes for the best, he doesn't go out of his way to make the world better, sometimes even making things worse.

... more>> The MC only looks out for his own interest despite being around the superheroes.

One way or another, the things that happened in original story will still happen. The MC acts like he wants to change things, but the most important things remain unchanged. If that's the case, then what's even the point?

Spoiler

One big example is that Thor didn't suffer as much as in the original story against the destroyer during his first descent. The MC changed that minor thing..

Well.. At least he trained Thor to "aim for the head." lmao.

Coulson was healed. Pietro survived.

BUT..

Asgard was still destroyed during the ragnarok. "Hela too OP!"

Hydra wasn't wiped out despite him having the power to do so if only he wanted to.

The civil war still happened, and the end results are even worse than the original.

Ancient One still died "because she needed to."

Even added a cockroach-like dark-phoenix second personality who split off with the original and has a deep grudge against the MC.

Oh, the author really likes cockroach enemies.

Hela survived for some bs reason.

Hydra survived just because the MC can't be bothered.

Mephisto hides in his dimension.

You get the idea.. It has become a pattern for "something to come back to later on."

[collapse]
<<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Worlds’ Apocalypse Online
October 9, 2019
Status: c590
Very disappointing. It started great and had a great premise but completely threw it out the window after a few hundred chapters.

For a first time story writer, the author had been too ambitious to make a huge universe. If you've read a chinese novel before, you would know how it gets repetitive and boring when the main character gets to the "higher planes", well, this novel takes it to another level by having different planes every single arc.

You would think that the story is about the MC having to save... more>> his own world and the "other" world, but then it became a rinse and repeat of saving other "other worlds" which was fine at first but becomes a big mess later on, and as he goes through more and more worlds, the 2 main worlds he had to save barely gets any attention in later chapters.

The story is ridden with bunch of bad chinese novel clichés too, it was executed in a more entertaining way than other novels at first, but became just your usual cliché in later chapters. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
November 9, 2017
Status: v9c811
The start was decent but it went all over the place after a few hundred chapters.

The story became a cycle of clichés, after he founded a guild, everything his guild gain threatens the interests of the bigger guilds or rich entities, then they will have a war or contest, the people would comment that his guild will lose, his guild will win the fight with him facerolling his opponents, then everyone would praise him and there will be sudden influx of people trying to join his guild.

Then a new big... more>> guild or rich financial group would appear and the cycle continues. The funny thing is every time his guild competes with other guilds, people would always comment about not having confidence in his guild winning the fight.

Spoiler

This cycle happened numerous times already and I don't think I can continue reading this, knowing that it will still happen a thousand times more. After all I'm already chapter 811 and he's still level 39, only having finished his first class advancement. Imagine how many times this cycle would continue until he reaches 4rd class/order advancement like in his past life or the last 6th class/order advancement which is godhood.

His assets are also mostly only inside the game (and his in-game currency making power is high compared to top guilds), the only investment he made in reality was a studio that they already vacated and several game capsules, though he used quite a lot of expensive real life strengthening medicines already.

[collapse]

If you like an endless cycle of slow-paced cliché that it's almost impossible to see the end, then this novel is for you. 811 chapters and the game is still at its early stages. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Artifact Planting Space
September 28, 2018
Status: --
It's not just the translation that is bad, the novel itself is bad. Many would agree as even the author himself lashed out in his postscript about people giving his novel bad reviews and he said "it's my book and I write it. If you don't like it, don't read it." words that no competent writer would ever have to say.

As for the novel, it has all the bad clichés I can think of that could be seen in chinese martial arts novels added with bad execution, narrative, and lackluster... more>> world building. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
January 21, 2018
Status: c104
Started out great but became very simplistic wish fulfillment cliché midway.

The story was also very generic, getting stronger, rich, and famous while fighting against some "evil forces" while hiding with a hidden identity.

Some developments feels forced, the story about his family and the involvement of those evil forces, and the coming of a revenge story came out of nowhere and became the sudden focus of the story, it could have been executed better.

The romance with multiple girls while acting like a beta japanese MC then picking a single girl was... more>> good.... but then the author just couldn't leave it at that and decided to continue the harem after the MC's f*ckfest with the first girl. What actually made this worse is the author is being indecisive about it that it somehow feels like the MC is leading on the girls. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
July 15, 2017
Status: c85
This novel has every cliché templates you'll see in other similar novels while changing some bits to be a bit unique.

It can be considered a good read but it also doesn't have anything special.

I've seen a lot of novels like this that has a lot of potential but chose the path of mediocrity, it's not necessarily bad but it's kind of a shame.

There times when I facepalm because of the direction the author is going for (in terms of common sense the MC lacks, someone said he's not s*upid but... more>> I seem to doubt that at times), though it also have its highs where it is very entertaining.

Spoiler

In the later chapters the author spent more than 5 chapters just about taking a bath in the MC's house. He even used a one month time skip in between and still continued his obsession about the bath.

No fighting, no story progression, and no skill acquisitions in a lot of chapters because he focused on useless things.

It is alright because it's a slice of life but like I said, taking the path of mediocrity when the novel has a lot of potential.

[collapse]

Overall it's a pretty decent amateurish novel to pass time with. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Seiju no Kuni no Kinju Tsukai
October 10, 2016
Status: --
3/5 (or maybe even 2.5)

It's that sort of "indecisive protagonist hiding his powers because it's unusual" cliché. He gets into a pinch, not using his power then gets saved by someone else (or maybe he use it in the end and saves the day) that sort of cliché.

"Lucky-pervert" and "Misunderstanding" clichés are everywhere too.

So far there are too much cliché that I can't find its appeal at all as I don't see anything unique or particularly interesting in it.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Abe the Wizard
January 25, 2020
Status: Completed
It's a read that is well worth your time, but don't expect a masterpiece.

~※※~

It's not perfect, it has some plot holes, some inconsistencies, and some repetitive aspects, but it's quite the ride.

... more>> It's definitely far from being counted as one of the best out there in this specific genre, but it definitely holds enough qualities to be considered a good read.

There are some frustrating aspects in the stories, like how most villains are always "petty" people.. Mostly wizards, and the trouble they cause always originates from him showing his wealth or his quick ascend in power.

That said, though, it's still a step-up from the "arrogant young masters" in the novels of same genre, so it wasn't too frustrating.

The first thousand chapters were very entertaining despite all its weaknesses, I've never thought of having to stop reading through the thousandth.

Though the quality definitely dropped past the thousandth chapter mark, and continued dropping in quality by the 1200 mark. Some of the novel's strengths at the earlier chapter suddenly stopped.

Maybe it's lost of passion, or lack of ideas on the author's part, though the word count for each chapters remained consistent, kudos to him for his efforts.

I still feel really bad about how his contract beasts/spirits suddenly got side-lined, never making an appearance in the later chapters, and even if they do, they are just mentioned in passing.

Though the "romance" exists, it definitely never became a focal point of the story, more like it just exists for the sake of existing. Its development wasn't that great, but not too bad either.

The ending was rushed, it's like the author just wanted to wrap everything up already, but it's not that bad, though it would have definitely been better if the ending was staged properly. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Martial Hero Rebirth
September 26, 2018
Status: c470
Started strong but slowly fell, and seeing the reviews of others who got far into the novels, they have the same thoughts.

The first few arcs is very interesting and unique, it would pull you in and want more, I would even rate it 5 star based on that, but sadly, it can't escape the curse of mediocrity.

After 250 chapters, it started to get stale, the tropes that exist in mediocre novels of the same genre started to appear, the chapters became more and more repetitive than it already is, and... more>> the story became something you'll see in almost every chinese novels.

It slowly lost its charm and uniqueness after 350 chapters, it completely fell into mediocrity. All the developments are something you'll see in other novels with nothing unique.

Spoiler

- An enemy that could've been killed at the start was able to escape even though they could've been killed, and in the end, became the final villain.

- The MC being torn between two girls, chose to marry one of them and etc. Etc. They got separated, then the MC got married to the other girl before he finally finding the first wife. Let's be real, this "separation" sh*t happens in almost every chinese novels.

- New continent, have better cultivation advancement, experts are everywhere, but they have weaker foundation. How many novels have this? Everyone of them, if not a realm, it's a continent.

- Characters that got reduced into minor characters destined to die like chickens afterwards (lile the elders), worse, it only increased the chapters by 5 at most, trying to make it dramatic but failing since it all happened "just because it could happen, " like the author never thought deeply about it and just used them as small plot device so MC could go all murderous and vengeful, which ends in just 1-2 chapters.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
The Returner
May 27, 2018
Status: c7
It definitely has the capability of getting you hooked up in just a few chapters. Conversations between characters also feels natural and flows well, while also being humorous.

Despite that, it's still not for everyone. The premise is about a returnee who became strong but suffered too much in another world. He's definitely not gonna do the things the readers would want him to do as he's different from other protagonists, even to those who share some similarities with him.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Reverend Insanity
August 16, 2017
Status: c207
The execution might be a breath of fresh air to others and yes, it ends up better than most cliché CN novels, but he's no different from other "evil" main characters.

The author wants to show that the MC is smart, deceitful, and always calm but because of that he acts distant and cold to others.

He'll do anything as long as it could get him advantage, even if he "offend" others, but no one could punish him because he "acts within consideration".

He'll still kill those who offend him or those who... more>> are threat to him without second thoughts. (If they have no significant background, kill 'em. If there is, do it sneakily.)

In the end, it's just the author giving the MC excuses to justify his actions.

At least most of the antagonists at least have brains. Though still not all of them, there are still some characters that only exists for a brief moment to antagonize the MC and die after the next few chapters. But meh, you can't expect for there not to be a stereotypical chinese novel villain when the very word "chinese" is attached to it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
August 14, 2017
Status: c236
I would have given this novel a higher rating but it suffers from a lot of things.

Info dumps are everywhere. At first I thought I can just bear with it and that it'll get better. After a while though, I couldn't bear it anymore and just skimmed through most of the info dumps.

It doesn't feel like I'm reading a novel anymore, it feels like I'm reading a school textbook.

... more>> Author over-explain things that doesn't really have impact on the story, heck he even explain things that aren't needed to be explained.

The world building and character would have been great if not for the author always "telling" but not "showing", which a lot of amateur writers suffer from.

A novel is supposed to be entertaining, putting some "facts and trivias" in the novel would have been fine but overdoing it makes it no different from reading a school textbook which most people will find boring. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Expecting to Fall into Ruin, I Aim to Become a Blacksmith
February 13, 2017
Status: v3c41
The main character's potential was ruined though I'm willing to give it a chance. Though it's really amusing how spineless he is most of the time and when he finally decided to fight, he was beaten by a smallfry and he even accepted their beating thinking that it would get his friend off the hook, it's not a simple naivety anymore, it's just downright retarded, and what's more? He was punished for it because the way he decided to solve the situation was downright retarded.

In a way it's like reading... more>> a novel with a perspective of a side character that was labeled as a "main character".

He has a good potential and high magic ability called to be a "prodigy" yet almost everyone outshines him. I guess the author doesn't think much of the title "magic prodigy". <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
The premise was good, it had a good potential but as usual, badly executed.

The mix of game elements in the actual world was actually done well at first, but it slowly deteriorated, the power levels will make you wonder if the author even thought of anything other than "huge numbers".

It's a two step forward, one step back. The MC gets strong with his skill, but it's also threatening to take over his sanity. His sword takes all the stats he gained in order to power up, or uses up a... more>> huge percentage of his stats to execute a powerful attack.

Then the author fancies huge numbers too much that lvl100+ has millions of stat points.
Spoiler

Later on, he got 999 million stat points just to get facerolled by "Area E" opponents who are beyond that limitation, just to give an example, Area E people are at the level of "Heavenly Dragon" or beyond, which is a living natural disaster.

[collapse]

You would think that opponents/people beyond the 999 million stats (Area E) would be rare, but they end up popping out left and right later on. What is this? A sword and magic fantasy novel or a broken Dragon Ball rip-off?

It's clear that the author didn't plan out the power levels and had no choice but to make more OP enemies while giving his MC a crippling handicap just so there'll be "suspense". <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
The Human Emperor
October 10, 2019
Status: c446
Could have been great. It was actually almost deserving a 5 star but a lot of author's decisions made it mediocre.

First of all, all the personalities of the female characters are so bland. They all have the same character of being "a beautiful woman with a gorilla inside". The interactions with them are just so cringe-worthy.

Then there's the cockroach villain where the world itself literally stops the main character from killing. What the hell, why would you introduce the nemesis so soon if you'll just give him invincibility plot-armor and... more>> make your character look foolish and get into bad side of some people. (C446)

Really, it could have been great, but seriously, sometimes you'd think that the author is writing while drunk and writes s*upid drop-worthy twists. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
The Second Coming of Gluttony
October 7, 2019
Status: c160
This novel is probably one of the best out there amongst other web novels when it comes to characters progression and growth.

The struggle of the main characters made each chapters meaningful and thrilling, that makes each of his achievements very fulfilling even for the readers.

Even side characters have more personalities than other novels' main characters. They are complex while staying true to their main personality, and that's how it should be with the setting.

My only gripes would be how some settings and locations couldn't be explained with anything other than... more>> "it's fantasy", however that's only a minor thing.

It was probably one of the greatest reads out there that would only come out rarely, but it seems the journey is halted by a translation-reboot. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3