Report Review
24 Reviews


Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
War Sovereign Soaring The Heavens
July 3, 2017
Status: c902
I've been reading the raws and came up with this review.

... more>>
Spoiler

I feel really stupid for expecting something from this novel, I gave it a chance and it completely let me down.

Although I can give it 2 stars just because there are lots of chapters, meaning it can at least pass as a "filler" while waiting for latest chapters of my favorite novels.

[collapse]

The novel's potential in early chapters was completely ruined in later chapters, making this novel join the group of hilariously subpar chinese novels. What is that group, you ask?
Spoiler

Novels that could shorten your lifespan because of the "subpar" part or maybe extend it because of the "hilarious" part.

[collapse]

There are too much characters to remember. You don't even have to remember them at all as they will either die sooner or later, or be forgotten.

Four out of five people the MC meets end up being his enemy, either he offended them, they offended him, or he offended their family.

The author has a special power of pulling a stereotypical chinese novel villains out of his ass one after another.
Spoiler

Heck, he even offended tens and hundreds of people (multiple families) at the same time and comes out alive. Worse part is, they are too one-dimensional, they exist just to annoy the MC and die later on.

"Oh, you MC f**ker, I'll kill you! I-Impossibruuuu! Nuuuuuu!" *dies*

Oh and it's been confirmed that at least one new villain will appear every 5 chapters, the MC, his friends, family, and lovers have the super power of attracting trouble wherever they go.

[collapse]

The number of "named" characters that died in his hands are numerous that you don't have to bother remembering their names for too long since they are short-lived.

MC has 2 memories of experienced men but always let "threat" grow enough to kill people who sided with him.
Spoiler

Oh he met a new friend while meeting a new villain! *poof* they die after 2 to 3 chapters because MC is stupid enough to always let a threat stay alive just to butcher them later on for "revenge".

After all, they are livestocks that should be butchered only once they're all fat and grown, am I right?

"Blabla-er, I've taken revenge for you, you can now rest in pepperonis and be forgotten forever since you only appeared for 3 chapters."

[collapse]

In summary:

- MC is stupid despite his 2 lifetime experience (memories) and never learn, always letting threats grow bigger and bigger because he can deus ex machina (plot armor and device) them out of existence after they've done enough trouble or killed minor characters that sided with the MC.

- Villains only exist to be villains, they're one-dimensional idiots with no redeeming qualities nor depth in personality. Oh and don't worry, 9/10 only lasts for a few chapters.

- MC's lovers only exist to be "damsels" attracting troubles, they're so beautiful everyone wants to have a taste.. Heh... *winks* red rose blooming on the sheets eh?

Spoiler

You don't believe me? Look at the reviews on the author's other novels, they all end up the same.. a crappy novel.

The things I pointed out are the same thing people didn't like about in his other novel.

Seems like the author goes "since I'm a typical chinese author, let's pull some nasty villains out of my nasty ass one after another because that's all my novels are about."

The thousands of chapters are all about MC meeting villains and kicking their asses, there isn't any good plot nor narrative.

Think of it like someone playing a fighting simulation game over and over with the same scenarios but different locations, and not getting bored of it.

[collapse]
<<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
October 10, 2016
Status: v16c17
A slice of life and comedy novel that does it job and does it extremely well. A perfect blend of light-heartedness, a bit of thrill, fluffiness and cutesies, and absurd commonsense-breaking events.

The jokes never get old. There are times that you just take some paragraphs or sentences in face value, until you realize what it means and end up with your face in your palm.
Spoiler

"I gaze at the fountain of blue light gushing out from a black disk." these words were thrown out casually, but then you realized he's in outerspace and watching a quasar.

[collapse]

The adventure is done well like a detailed RPG game where each country, cities, or any other places have its own uniqueness, story, and events. The mix of adventure and slice of life is done extremely well that it made the novel entertaining all throughout the hundreds of chapters.

The characters have their own uniqueness, although they follow some stereotype japanese tropes, at least it's mostly the good ones.

Some people might complain about the MC being too strong in later chapters, but please understand that it is a slice of life. But his strength is not without story and struggle, even when he became overpowered, the world-building and storytelling didn't suffer as far as a slice of life novel could go.

Overall it is a great light-hearted and relaxing novel to read. I recommend this to people who are tired of too much drama or unending cycle of senseless brutality from other fantasy novels and want to relax and have a good laugh.
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
I'd say that this story is your usual OP main character that "breaks common sense" though I just wish the author has a bit more creativity.

You can see these types of story everywhere yet it's like the author doesn't even try to be creative.

It's like the "discrimination" is there just to give the MC a challenge that isn't even a challenge for him at all. Here's some examples of lack of creativity:

... more>>
Spoiler

Everyone that discriminates against him gets facerolled by his OP-ness in a mere chapter or two, or even in a few paragraphs.

The MC does something and everyone gets awfully surprised just to accept it like it's normal after a few words.

"Calamity Class" monsters appearing in front of him just so that he can show to others that he's OP.

[collapse]

There's even a massive plot hole just as early as 33 chapters that makes me wonder if the author had put some thought into the story or is this novel really just something to read for fun

Spoiler

The MC met a demon and after a chapter he magically and omnipotently arrived at a conclusion that the way the weakest crest was called the strongest crest now and his crest was discriminated against (coincedentally and magically) as a disqualified crest and how the magic and everything the humans do became incredibly weak and subpar than his time was because of the Demons.

The Demons did that because it'll be better for them if the humans are weaker but let's be honest here. The discrimination shown in the story is not something that just appeared out of nowhere, it's something that is deep-rooted as said in the story, and he's even stronger than the knight's commander at his age, that means their country is too weak.

If they're that weak then it would've been so easy.. Too easy for demons to conquer them seeing as how that demon he fought has a higher magic output than him who could kill a "Calamity Class" monster.

[collapse]

Overall, even if I'm harsh with my review, I still read it because I like "reincarnation" and "transmigration" type of novels.

Spoiler

I just don't understand the high ratings/review

[collapse]
<<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Overgeared
November 17, 2017
Status: c139
Had I made this review a week ago, I'm sure I would have rated it low, but I'm glad I stopped and waited until it reached hundreds of chapters before binging it, and I have to say I'm very impressed. It is rare to find novels that focus on character growth nowadays.

The MC was really cancerous at the early chapters, but after reaching hundreds of chapters, he has shown growth in many aspects and the author always put emphasis in his growth.

The number of chapters needed for him to show... more>> his growth might discourage others from reading but those chapters are necessary to build the character and the story. Those hundreds of chapters doesn't even feel that long and entertaining things happen around the main character in almost every chapters. I could even consider the pacing of this novel to be fast despite taking so much chapters for the main character to grow.

Even though you might feel like pulling your hair at the early chapters, I'm sure that you'll also get a decent amount of laughs and giggles from the characters' antics.

The side characters aren't always just thrown away either, while some might get forgotten for a bit, they usually make a comeback after a few arcs.

Spoiler

So folks, stop giving a review without reading until you see how the story developed. I don't think the early chapters were written badly to warrant early bad reviews or any reviews at all.

[collapse]
<<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Reincarnation Of The Strongest Sword God
November 9, 2017
Status: v9c811
The start was decent but it went all over the place after a few hundred chapters.

The story became a cycle of clichés, after he founded a guild, everything his guild gain threatens the interests of the bigger guilds or rich entities, then they will have a war or contest, the people would comment that his guild will lose, his guild will win the fight with him facerolling his opponents, then everyone would praise him and there will be sudden influx of people trying to join his guild.

Then a new big... more>> guild or rich financial group would appear and the cycle continues. The funny thing is every time his guild competes with other guilds, people would always comment about not having confidence in his guild winning the fight.

Spoiler

This cycle happened numerous times already and I don't think I can continue reading this, knowing that it will still happen a thousand times more. After all I'm already chapter 811 and he's still level 39, only having finished his first class advancement. Imagine how many times this cycle would continue until he reaches 4rd class/order advancement like in his past life or the last 6th class/order advancement which is godhood.

His assets are also mostly only inside the game (and his in-game currency making power is high compared to top guilds), the only investment he made in reality was a studio that they already vacated and several game capsules, though he used quite a lot of expensive real life strengthening medicines already.

[collapse]

If you like an endless cycle of slow-paced cliché that it's almost impossible to see the end, then this novel is for you. 811 chapters and the game is still at its early stages. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
January 21, 2018
Status: c104
Started out great but became very simplistic wish fulfillment cliché midway.

The story was also very generic, getting stronger, rich, and famous while fighting against some "evil forces" while hiding with a hidden identity.

Some developments feels forced, the story about his family and the involvement of those evil forces, and the coming of a revenge story came out of nowhere and became the sudden focus of the story, it could have been executed better.

The romance with multiple girls while acting like a beta japanese MC then picking a single girl was... more>> good.... but then the author just couldn't leave it at that and decided to continue the harem after the MC's f*ckfest with the first girl. What actually made this worse is the author is being indecisive about it that it somehow feels like the MC is leading on the girls. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Seiju no Kuni no Kinju Tsukai
October 10, 2016
Status: --
3/5 (or maybe even 2.5)

It's that sort of "indecisive protagonist hiding his powers because it's unusual" cliché. He gets into a pinch, not using his power then gets saved by someone else (or maybe he use it in the end and saves the day) that sort of cliché.

"Lucky-pervert" and "Misunderstanding" clichés are everywhere too.

So far there are too much cliché that I can't find its appeal at all as I don't see anything unique or particularly interesting in it.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
The Returner
May 27, 2018
Status: c7
I know I should not put a review when I there's only 7 translated chapters when this review was written. But those 7 chapters were enough to get me hooked to this novel and see its potential from its strong points that surfaced quite early.

- Proper execution that is enough to get you hooked with just a few chapters.

- Conversations between characters that doesn't seem stiff, flows well, and will also make you laugh.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
July 15, 2017
Status: c85
This novel has every cliché templates you'll see in other similar novels while changing some bits to be a bit unique.

It can be considered a good read but it also doesn't have anything special.

I've seen a lot of novels like this that has a lot of potential but chose the path of mediocrity, it's not necessarily bad but it's kind of a shame.

There times when I facepalm because of the direction the author is going for (in terms of common sense the MC lacks, someone said he's not stupid but... more>> I seem to doubt that at times), though it also have its highs where it is very entertaining.

Spoiler

In the later chapters the author spent more than 5 chapters just about taking a bath in the MC's house. He even used a one month time skip in between and still continued his obsession about the bath.

No fighting, no story progression, and no skill acquisitions in a lot of chapters because he focused on useless things.

It is alright because it's a slice of life but like I said, taking the path of mediocrity when the novel has a lot of potential.

[collapse]

Overall it's a pretty decent amateurish novel to pass time with. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
October 20, 2017
Status: c28
The whole concept of this novel is great, being the same as Overlord but having a righteous main character instead of a dark one.

But this novel suffers from the amateurish storytelling and writing. The author has a good idea of how the story should progress but the way it is executed feel rushed and forced, and ultimately lacking in immersion.

Worse part is, the author seems to be fan of the bad japanese clichés, with a dense MC being clueless or acting clueless most of the time. Then some annoying characters... more>> will appear and the MC just take the sh*ts they throw at him while scolding his companions for getting ticked off by the annoying characters for throwing those sh*ts at him, like seriously?

The author make the MC appear smart and mature at times but stupid, clueless, and naive most of the time. It's like the author can't decide what personality he'll give the MC. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
August 14, 2017
Status: c236
I would have given this novel a higher rating but it suffers from a lot of things.

Info dumps are everywhere. At first I thought I can just bear with it and that it'll get better. After a while though, I couldn't bear it anymore and just skimmed through most of the info dumps.

It doesn't feel like I'm reading a novel anymore, it feels like I'm reading a school textbook.

... more>> Author over-explain things that doesn't really have impact on the story, heck he even explain things that aren't needed to be explained.

The world building and character would have been great if not for the author always "telling" but not "showing", which a lot of amateur writers suffer from.

A novel is supposed to be entertaining, putting some "facts and trivias" in the novel would have been fine but overdoing it makes it no different from reading a school textbook which most people will find boring. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Expecting to Fall into Ruin, I Aim to Become a Blacksmith
February 13, 2017
Status: v3c41
The main character's potential was ruined though I'm willing to give it a chance.

Though it's really amusing how spineless he is most of the time and when he finally decided to fight, he was beaten by a smallfry and he even accepted their beating thinking that it would get his friend off the hook, it's not a simple naivety anymore, it's just downright retarded, and what's more? He was punished for it because the way he decided to solve the situation was downright retarded.

In a way it's like reading... more>> a novel with a perspective of a side character that was labeled as a "main character".

He has a good potential and high magic ability called to be a "prodigy" yet almost everyone outshines him. I guess the author doesn't think much of the title "magic prodigy". <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Dungeon Hunter
February 4, 2018
Status: c242
The start was good, the concept was great even for a second chance, game element genre that are usually hit or big miss.

However, just what the hell happened at the end? Series of ass-pulls and stuffs just happen because "why not?" and became an absolute trainwreck.

If not for the considerations I have for the early parts, I woulda gave this a 1/5. Totally waste of potential that I don't even know if the end was even written by the same person who wrote the early parts.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Mysterious Job Called Oda Nobunaga
January 14, 2018
Status: c32
The MC received "Oda Nobunaga" as a job, it gave him skills fitting for conquest and ruling, and Oda Nobunaga's persona in his mind to give him some advice.

Some of the events that happened so far are similar to how Oda Nobunaga lived his life, albeit correcting some of the mistakes Oda Nobunaga made:

Being a vassal and being "sentenced to death" by his master's actions and ended up usurping his master's position. In this case, it's his incompetent brother sending him to his death and after failing to do so,... more>> tried to assassinate him.

Fighting an army who holed up inside a religious temple. This earned Oda Nobunaga his "evil" image when he burnt a temple and commiting a genocide, but in this case, the MC made a move that won't end with a mass genocide, killing only those who have to be killed.

The story is also set in a medieval fantasy and it surprisingly has what I rarely find from other novels with the same setting: Being forced to a political marriage with the daughter of someone whom you might fight or have to kill later, and painfully sending your own beloved sister to a political marriage.

Although it still has a light hearted vibe in which it feels like a fairytale sometimes as everything seems to work out well, it also makes you anticipate about what might happen if all those things are actually a prologue to a storm? Because it also feels like everything could go wrong at any moment.

My verdict is that this novel deserves a good rating being able to dig some aspects of war and politics that some other novels of the same genre neglects, although it is very far from perfect and still has a lot more room for improvements as it also have some aspects of war and politics that it neglected. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Apocalypse Meltdown
December 30, 2017
Status: --
Here's my cliché checklist, it should be enough to justify this low score.

- Arrogant young masters.

- Braindead villains.

... more>> - Women with powerful backgrounds around the MC.

- Fat sidekick who's also a yes-man.

- Women bitches that aren't part of the MC's harem.

- Tryhard "cold-hearted" MC but inconsistent and even the emotional fluctuations feels forced most of the time.

- Greatly exaggerated words to describe everything the MC does no matter how anticlimatic it is just so he can appear like some badass character.

--

Decent novel to read as long as you can swallow all the bad things about it, but it also doesn't have much of a pulling factor to make you want to keep on reading for more than a thousand chapters. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Reverend Insanity
August 16, 2017
Status: c207
The execution might be a breath of fresh air to others and yes, it ends up better than most cliché CN novels, but he's no different from other "evil" main characters.

The author wants to show that the MC is smart, deceitful, and always calm but because of that he acts distant and cold to others.

He'll do anything as long as it could get him advantage, even if he "offend" others, but no one could punish him because he "acts within consideration".

He'll still kill those who offend him or those who... more>> are threat to him without second thoughts. (If they have no significant background, kill 'em. If there is, do it sneakily.)

In the end, it's just the author giving the MC excuses to justify his actions.

At least most of the antagonists at least have brains. Though still not all of them, there are still some characters that only exists for a brief moment to antagonize the MC and die after the next few chapters. But meh, you can't expect for there not to be a stereotypical chinese novel villain when the very word "chinese" is attached to it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
July 10, 2017
Status: c254
This novel is a big middle finger to the stereotype fantasy (and overpowered MC) novels out there.

There are no heroines that fell in love with the MC after just one chapter.

... more>>
Spoiler

If the MC received affection so easily, he'll become uncomfortable and feel that such a thing is strange.

Yeah, "love" is a strong word so F those forced romance.

Many heroines might have fallen in love with the MC but he's not like those other MCs who quickly jump into s*xual carnage with the heroines.

He might be dense but that doesn't mean he's stupidly dense, this novel made me realize that denseness and stupidity doesn't always go hand in hand.

An MC who's brain isn't controlled by libido and not stupidly dense?

Dear lord, I'm glad they still exist.

[collapse]

Villains have personalities and not simply annoying.

Spoiler

It has been shown in this novel that villains have many forms.

An ally who will forsake or betray you for their own sake?

Sure, maybe that decision is the correct one, but don't expect to that your actions forgiven and/or forgotten, this fantasy novel isn't a fairytale after all, face the consequences of your actions.

Filler villains that are short-lived? Sure, but they are what they are. Unlike some novels out there where all villains feel like filler villains.

They do what they do so no need to keep makimg them pop out every single time or the MC will shout at you.

[collapse]

The story could be unpredictable (but not annoyingly so), allies are not necessarily forever allies and villains are not necessarily forever villains.

Spoiler

Ah sure, a selfish and ambitious guy appeared.. Did he hurt anyone? No. Did he offend anyone? No. Oh he harbored some selfish desires against the MC, but is it necessary to kill him for that? No no, let's just ignore him and hide away from trouble.

A strong ally was by MC's side at all times but then they joined those people who had forsaken him and held firm of their decision until the end. Did he keep pestering them to return? No. After hearing their answer, he respected their decision and became honorable opponents.

MC offended someone or someone offended him then they met again after a while in order to cooperate. Did they keep biting each other's ass and schemed against each other? No way. They are open-minded and doesn't have to keep making enemies unlike some novels out there, priorities please.

[collapse]

The comedy also doesn't feel too forced and enough to make me laugh and smile from time to time. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
At first it was your typical transmigration slice of life with cheat power. For a slice of life novel it's a relaxing read, but at the latest chapters it seems to be different from other novels of the same genre as it seems that the plot is starting to progress.

Some may get annoyed with his decisions at first, but he just hate the way his grandfather decides things for him without his consent, thus he acted against it by doing whatever he wants instead of saving the other world, but... more>> in the end he had no choice but do it.

He also dislikes troublesome things, his personality is depicted as that of a regular human, he's soft-hearted, but he can also get angry.

The thing that's a bit lacking so far is the depth of "romance" or maybe the main heroine hasn't appeared yet. It may be that the female characters liked him because of his personality and the things he did, but there's not much depth to it.

In terms of character growth, I am satisfied with how his slave was able to decide for herself in the latest chapter, the adventurer friends of his also ranked up and sone orphans are working on their dreams. Though it's not very detailed, it made it so that it's easy to read without the block of explanations. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
Way of the Devil
February 7, 2018
Status: c160
This novel is just a stereotype chinese novel with some twist about martial artists and other class of people.

It is indeed going to make you quite interested because of the said twist with the constant anticipations and thrill from the semi-horror-like events at the early chapters.

Unfortunately, despite having what it takes to hold reader's interest, this novel wasn't spared from the cancer of chinese novels, the thrill and anticipation also got old so quick after the revelations and became not too interesting afterwards.

The MC was a man from the modern... more>> world who was transported to a different world, it was surprising that he suddenly fit in to the world perfectly by being a hypocrite arrogant young master.

First he doesn't get affected much if a family member dies or turn half brain dead. However he suddenly became so emotional when a family member got impregnated and abandoned, he even went to drastic measures just to save his family's "face".

There's also the fact that he is very blood thirsty, arrogant, and unreasonable. But then he was hypocrite enough to "not be similar" to those people who doesn't value other people's life when he's in fact, already similar to them.

Other than that are the usual chinese stereotypes such as arrogant young masters and too much focus on "face" among other clichés.

There's also the issue about a lot of characters that you thought were important are suddenly forgotten, or some of them just die without much importance, mostly just lazy collateral damages.

3/5 for being able to give that thrill and anticipation to the readers, sadly there are also too many bad and inconsistent parts that lost it some stars. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Mahiro9
Mahiro9 rated it
God of Cooking
November 17, 2017
Status: c175
While others might complain about the "lack of research" from the author, this novel still got my 5 stars.

The author put just the right amount of technical stuffs and details, which will make you learn new things without being too hard and boring to read as a documentary book.

The lack of appearance of some countries' cooking might be a problem for some people, but I didn't read this novel to read about foods being mentioned on a passing, it's better for the scope to be small but well-written enough than... more>> to have too wide a scope but not given enough focus and just written for the heck of it.

The best part about this novel are the characters and the story. The story flows well and the pacing is just right. It doesn't feel rushed nor dragged on. It also doesn't have any story loops that seem common these days, meaning the chapters aren't written just to have more chapters but for a real story to progress. The character are also well-written, having their own quirks and personalities.

It also bring about a lot of emotions as you read it, you'll feel bad or sad for some characters, touched by the touching moments, laugh at the characters' antics, and feel bubbly by the cute moments.

This might be a novel about cooking, but while the cooking part about this novel is very good, what makes this novel really great is the story and characters. Really worth the time I spent reading and waiting for new translated chapters. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report