Report Review
11 Reviews


MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Zhanxian
July 30, 2018
Status: c225
Picked this up after seeing that it was one of the top recommendations for something similar to ED & what with there only being around 250 chapters released, I figured it'd be a good novel to pass the time with. Now during the initial stages it was rather enjoyable considering the summary of the story with MC actually being an executioner... ... more>>
Spoiler

as a mortal, yet executing a bunch of immortals in the heavenly court execution grounds, which made for an interesting & unique plot device, but as soon as the MC ends up joining the sect from his previous life, that's when this story goes downhill & pretty much completely moves away from the execution aspect of the story, what with the MC getting bogged down in all of the sect politics & what not.

[collapse]

1 major problem I have with this novel is people easily accepting his unheard of reasoning without any relative proof, other than claiming he's a mere bookworm, which stops any further questioning from literally every other character, which in turn doesn't make for any interesting interactions, so it becomes very stale when this is a very regular occurrence in the novel.

Romance/harem is very lazily done with all female characters feeling umcomfortable about MC's interaction with other female characters other than themselves & not being able to explain it... & in all of this MC is like he's only got the utmost love for 1 person, yet very wishy washy (indecisive) with the other female characters, which I simply can't stand from supposed confident MC archetypes.

Also action wise this isn't very engaging when most engagements end within 1-2 moves (seems author doesn't have much knowledge how to write these as evidenced by the long ass chapters spent on cultivation/pill concocting/verbal "warfare").

Only good thing about this is when MC is travelling on his own & his interactions with the outside world, which is very few & far between what with all the Sect Politics which this novel is plagued by.

(I've dropped this btw) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
June 29, 2018
Status: c240
I don't understand how this is rated so highly (baffling imo). These are some of the glaring issues with the novel:
... more>>
Spoiler

- Story is bad, Melodramatic IRL plot, MC gains a younger sister from out of nowhere in the space of a single chapter, as she's easily accepted even after the roller coaster of events that happened in that chapter (felt so forced).
- The same "jokes/funny moments" get used over & over again to the point they are completely & utterly unfunny (From MC trying to get the loot, feeding of his cooking, him getting used & attacked by a Tsundere, & A girl with "no presence" to name a few off the top of my head).
- No over arching plot.

[collapse]
Dropped. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
August 6, 2018
Status: c335
Another face slapping novel that also becomes much too repetitive, with each arc plot line being the same, but with a slightly different skin.

With the general gist going from... ... more>>
Spoiler

1) MC starting a job - 2) everyone ignores him - 3) he comes up with a wild idea that everyone is flabbergasted by - 4) everyone looks down & ridicules him - 5) he proves everyone wrong - 6) now everyone simply reverses their opinion by praising him to the high heavens - 7) he then has a short stint of success & praises - 8) his boss/higher authorities shut him down - 9) he then goes on a face smacking tirade on his superiors - 10) finally he loses his job/quits.

Then for the next arc simply go back to step 1.

[collapse]

Considering dropping this, as even for a time passer, it has become very tedious. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Rakuin no Monshou
March 13, 2018
Status: completed.
Wished the romance was more pronounced... Very unsatisfying ending I must say in regards to that.

As for the kingdom building/war story, I did very much enjoy it... Though did not enjoy the supernatural elements of the story.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Shura’s Wrath
August 2, 2018
Status: c145
MC is the "too perfect" type. Every female character introduced are all heavenly beauties that are & will be apart of MC's unnecessarily humongous harem (spoiled myself), it is fkn ridiculous, especially since I'm already at the point of rolling my eyes when he's with his current harem members. Not a fan of his baby coddling relationship with his supposed sister either or any of the other harem members for that matter.

If all the current characters are like this, then I don't see much point in continuing as that's the... more>> only real reason why i'd even want to read this (character interaction/development), because lets face it there's never a sense of urgency with these MMO stories (or any other type of battle novel) where the MC gets into a pinch, but cause of plot armour MC will somehow find a way through, so I figure why should I bother wasting my time.

Surprised this is from the same author as ATG which I really enjoyed. (Granted it was one of 1st Chinese novels I've read, so my opinion maybe different now having read many others in this genre).

Dropped. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
February 24, 2019
Status: c138
This story is simply a male power trip fantasy full stop, where the MC is a super genius, super strong, super skillful & generally unbeatable in all aspects of life & has women falling head over heels in love with him, even if some of them act cold at first, it's only a matter of time till he beds them. This MC can do no wrong, from being in multiple relationships, s*xual harassment, killing without receiving any consequences whatsoever etc...

So if you're into all of the above this'll be a... more>> 5star read no doubt, even if the writing is piss poor.

Dropped. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Douluo Dalu
September 29, 2018
Status: c279
Good to start with, but got annoyed with the corny stuff, which isn't really an issue in & of itself, but the fact it has to be constantly repeated to fkn death has become really grating. MC relationship with his Teacher, Lover, Friends, Families etc is so OTT, I mean we get it ffs you love em n all that...
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Renegade Immortal
August 23, 2018
Status: c1010
MC is forever the type of guy to have cold eyes, a gloomy expression & nothing able to affect his mind cos of his sheer will power... A really grating type of MC, solely focusing on Cultivation & having no fun whatsoever outside of that = boring af MC.

On the romance side of things which are usually good for adding a light hearted sort of tone to the story, this is pretty much non-existent here with MC ... more>>
Spoiler

only giving 2 sh*ts about his bird when she's literally on her death bed, talk about frustrating to say the least.

[collapse]
Poor characterisation as well (at least none that stand out for me anyway).

The only good points is the Action/Face smacking & even then that gets tiresome after a while.

*Now I wish I rated it 2 stars, but can't seem to change it... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
June 27, 2018
Status: Completed
What a nonsensical ending to what was a complete train wreck of a novel throughout, start was decent (as is with most of this type of game novel), but descended into chaos when his harem started forming. Don't even get me started on the game systems... (skimmed through pretty much the last half of the novel, glad to be rid of this).
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
February 18, 2019
Status: Completed
  • Overall decent reincarnation story of a bad ass MC (in this case a assassin) if that's your cup of tea, so on that basis I would recommend it.
  • Action is very good & fun to read, especially when MC makes use of his Assassination skills.
  • Romance is there but not very exciting, the 2nd love interest would make for a much better dynamic.
  • Enjoyed the 1st half of the novel way more over the 2nd half...
    Spoiler

    MC is more scheming & cunning earlier on where he relied on his former worlds talents, but later on he just becomes the famous hero that receives everyone's respect & adoration, because he becomes what is essentially a general of his own army & leads them to war (which obviously introduces a lot more new characters, but little time to flesh them out).

    [collapse]
  • Rushed ending as the last 30 chapters or so felt way to forced when it tied up loose end very quickly & in a underwhelming way when some of them were revealed as being big mysteries, which is unfortunate to say the least.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
MaceTheDon
MaceTheDon rated it
Skyfire Avenue
July 6, 2018
Status: c512
Angsty romance just getting long drawn out, also MC gets used & abused without paying anything of it back by always by always looking at their good points & being the "good guy"... just very frustrating to say the least.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report