Report Review
14 Reviews


LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Renegade Immortal
August 6, 2016
Status: Completed
Spoiler

One of the better Xianxia you'll find. The story is not as formulaic as other xianxia and it always keep things interesting by mixing it up. The MC's adventure is interesting to read and not just go here -> insult this generic villain -> find treasure -> kill villain's entire family. Villains in this novel has personality and not just some jumped up rich boy who gets offended by everything that the MC does.
The pacing is also excellent. You don't feel like the MC is rushing from one thing to another with no stop like some other xianxia (cough cough Martial World). Took off one star for the horrendous romance. Er Gen knows how to do many things but romance is not one of them. The main love interest is a non-character that is somehow the "driving force" for MC even though their time together is shallow to say the least. There's a quasi harem that gets going but you will end up feeling sorry for the harem member more than anything else.

Overall, if you discount the romance this is a must read. Especially if you are tired of formulaic and repetitive xianxia.

[collapse]
51 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
July 6, 2016
Status: c901
I liked the story. It started off slow but have good potential. The story is not as generic as some other xianxia. The MC feels very average though there are a few badass moments but overall he feels like an average cultivator which I guess is the intention of the author. Nevertheless it doesn't take away much from the story. Some people have likened this to ISSTH. It is not ISSTH. The feel of the MC is completely different as Meng Hao is all about that perfection while Han Li... more>> is the guy that takes what he can get to advance. My biggest gripe with this story currently is the at the point of this review c368 something happens that makes me feel like not continuing with the story.
Spoiler

He suddenly lost his cultivation and have to start again. I don't mind when this happens but only when done well. Here it's just out of the blue in the most rage inducing way possible. He meets and save the twin of the girl he banged earlier and to repay him she drained his cultivation to restore her own. She's more powerful than him btw and after draining him she actually punch him for sleeping with her sister and act all high and mighty. It feels so cheap as I know this is just setup for the next arc. There's really no build up to him losing his cultivation and is just something that randomly happens.

[collapse]

edit: Alright, after finishing up all other novels to their latest chapter I decided to give this another shot. The story is good but still slow as ever, I skimmed through some arc that was really boring but otherwise it was fine. Manage to push to chapter 901 and then the author pulled the same crap that made me want to shelf this in the first place. This would have been a terrific novel had the author not use gimmick like this.

Spoiler

Once again, out of the blue cultivation lost. Not permanent this time but more of a I must seal my cultivation since someone put a cursed on me. It was so random - He traveled to a new place when he reached mid stage Nascent Soul and some random ass cultivator picked a fight with him spiraling into a group gang up on him and someone put a curse on him. It's literally setup for the next arc which feels cheap as hell.

[collapse]
<<less
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
January 29, 2017
Status: c448
This novel had such potential. It was definitely one of my favorite xianxia, the characters and the world was very interesting. The story was being developed nicely. That is until the author got bored and decided to toss the novel in the corner. The pacing of the story got crank up to 10 and you can feel that the author just wanted to end the story so he can be done with it but in the end he couldn't even do that. So save yourself the trouble and don't read... more>> this or anything else written by Mad Snail. Most of the time he won't even finish it and even if he does, the story is rush and become sh*t. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Womanizing True Immortal
August 10, 2018
Status: c935
I don't usually do a novel review unless I'm done with it but since I'm the current translator, I might as well do one. First off, ignore the title of the novel, it sounds better in Vietnamese and womanizing doesn't mean sleep with every women like in English. There are definitely a lot of women and the MC does sleep with some of them but don't expect any R18 scene. The novel is good and becomes so much more than just about picking up women (though that's still very prevalent).... more>> Be warned, I am the translator so I am a bit biased.

Story (4.5/5) : There's an actual story to tell here. The first part is just the MC roaming around being awesome and picking up women but the later part has a actual story and an actual main antagonist. Several in fact and some of them are pretty interesting and not just some pissed off self entitled young master. It opens up much of the universe and the lore and very interesting so far. The world building is decent enough and it doesn't feel barren as in everything just revolves around the MC. The later part of the story feels more like ED without all the repetitiveness and with an actual story. And while the story is nothing too groundbreaking it's still a very solid foundation for the story.

Writing (4.5/5) : Could use a bit more work, I find that the author can be a bit wordy. This is especially true since I'm translating it and have to go over the novel line by line. I didn't have any problem the first time I read it since my brain just automatically skip over the wordy parts. It definitely improves later on in the novel. The flow of the story makes sense, there's consistency and I never had trouble following the story. Everything is explained very well and plot holes are few and far between. The cultivation system is explained and very clear. The novel is not too repetitive and it actually kept me surprised.

Character (4.5/5) : As far as xianxia goes, this one is pretty decent. The MC is extremely likable, he behaves like how you would expect expect a normal person to behave and doesn't go around wantonly kill people for the slightest offense. He's someone I would actually like to sit down and have a beer with. The side characters are miss and hit. Some of them are pretty memorable and others are kind of just 2 dimensional. The harem reflects this as some women are super memorable and developed while others are just kinda there. The non-harem characters are decent and interesting enough. They don't feel too 2d and all of them have drives and aspirations. One thing that this novel shines in though are the villains. They are actually decent as in they are not solely written to be hated. You'll hate some of them but others are sympathetic and logical. They don't just act stupid and throw everything at the MC. Later on I actually rooted for a rival of the MC.

I enjoy this novel immensely even after 900 chapters. It's one of those novel that you feel good reading and you just have fun.

Total score: 5/5 (It's 4.5/5 but I told you I was biased). <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Pursuit of the Truth
June 23, 2017
Status: Completed
This novel is excellent. While not perfect, it is leagues ahead of other xianxia novel in terms of quality. I would highly recommend this novel to anyone.

Story (1 star/1 star) : There's actually a story here and not just the typical "I need to get stronger" that most xianxia novel has. Cultivation is important but it takes a backseat to Su Ming's story. There are plenty ups and down in the story and tragedy galore. It keeps you guessing every step of the way as you question the reality of... more>> the world. Definitely not a feel good story but it doesn't need to be.

Character (1 star/1 star) : A big step up from Renegade Immortal. I actually cared about the cast of side characters in this story. While not outstanding, the characters are not 1D like many xianxia character. The MC actually has character development throughout the story and it's a refreshing change from the other 1D MC out there who are just Mary Sues.

Writing (1 star/1 star) : While there a parts that dragged on a bit longer than it should have, the overall writing of the story is excellent. Each arc played out meaningfully and you feel that they contribute as whole to the story. Er Gen is definitely not one of those author who writes filler to pad out the story. The world that is being built is mysterious and breathtaking to explore and read about. The MC faces sufficient challenge and while he is not too OP in most of these, he feels sufficiently powerful.

Enjoyment (2 star/2 star) : I enjoyed this novel immensely but then again I have always enjoyed Er Gen's novel. The story kept me hooked all they way and the only time I stopped reading is to take in the awesomeness of this novel.

Overall, this novel is a must read especially if you have read RI or ISSTH. It's too bad that the translation as of time of this review has been stalled. However it's good enough that you should go buy some eyedrop and read the MTL (may God help you stave of blindness if you do). I do recommend reading RI before this though as there is a bit spoiler for RI at the end of this novel. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
March 9, 2017
Status: c343
I gave it a 4 star in an earlier review but as I continue reading I would have to give it 1.25/5. This was on hold for me for a long time as I want to store up some chapter but after revisiting I was massively disappointed and ultimately dropped it.

Story 0/1 star: No story whatsoever. The MC gets plopped into this world with the most OP power I have ever seen and there's no semblance of a plot. Normally not deal breaker if the mini-arcs of the story was... more>> enjoyable but they are not. It's so repetitive that it is amazing. Basically every story-arc is: Everyone underestimate the MC then he goes on to blow everyone mind.

Writing 0.5/1 star: Normally when a novel has very minimal story, the writing will have to carry it and in this case it did for the first 300 something chapter. However even then I felt it was a bit repetitive and after reading another 43 chapters, it is definitely way to repetitive. The author is way to focus on stroking the MC's OP power. There's no tension as he is the god at everything with his powers. Too many goddamn trials and tests to show off the MC's power. Sure there are some fun moments but it doesn't make up for the repetitiveness.

Character 0.25/1 star: The main character is ok but he is uninteresting. He has little motivation beside "get stronger". A little bit comedic at time but that's about it. Side characters are 1 dimensional and nonexistent. They are the standard "geniuses and beauties" and the author keep introducing new ones but they are so copy and paste. I mean one can only tolerate a certain number of "genius beauties with rich families" before it become stale.

Enjoyment 0.5/2 star: I enjoyed the first 100 something chapters of this novel immensely but as I continue reading it became apparent that this is one of those ultra repetitive novel. There's no coherent storyline, the writing is ok at best and the characters are mediocre. I kept reading and wishing there was something new but it never gave me that. Honestly I don't recommend this novel, it starts strong but fails to deliver as the story progresses. If you want a good, nontraditional xianxia, I'd recommend History strongest senior brother instead. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Womanizing Mage
April 20, 2018
Status: c60
I tried giving this novel a shot because it has decent enough review and I like op characters. I don't usually leave reviews unless I got into a good chunk of it but this novel so boring. My gripe is not with all the women that pops up like candy every chapter - it's called "womanizing mage" so no sh*t. However the writing is just pure lazy. In only 60 chapters a bunch of women has popped up and they all have amazing background... The MC just casually runs into... more>> saintess and princess in the middle of freaking nowhere.

Not only that, the dudes turn the corner and there're some inheritance and OP magical beast willing to be his pet. I don't mind that the MC is op but for god's sake at least put some effort into how he gets treasure. Making it just plops on his lap is just lazy.

The worst thing about this novel is that it's just so boring. 60 chapters in and I'm already skipping paragraphs - that usually only happens when I'm hundreds of chapter in and the author decided to include filler. There's nothing exciting in this novel whatsoever because there is no plot and everything the MC needs is just given to him so you don't even get the satisfaction of seeing the MC grow. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
A Will Eternal
February 19, 2018
Status: c1314
This novel has so much potential to be better than any of Er Gen's previous work but it only ended up being above average. There were so many missed opportunities for character development and world building but somehow Er Gen never followed through and left the world a bit hollow.

Story (0.5/1 stars) : The story is ok, it's a bit weaker than some of the other Er Gen novels but still better than most of the stuff out there. It is however the most generic out of all Er Gen's... more>> novels. It feels like a cookie cutter xianxia at time with MC just styling over everyone. There is a central storyline but it felt very generic and weak.

Character (0.5/1 stars) : BXC is a very fun character at first. He's unlike any of Er Gen's previous character. He's like the shameless side of Meng Hao on crack. However his character development is a bit lacking. He never really matured and while his antics are funny, they get stale later on in the story. I'm not saying he should lose all of his playfulness and shamelessness but I expected him to round out as a character later in the story (which he never does). There are many side character that stick around but Er Gen never developed them further than NPC that just hangs around the MC and get a couple of paragraphs once in a while. This is really a shame since some of them have so much potential to be interesting like Song Que, Bruiser,...

Writing (0.5/1 stars) : Er Gen's writing is top notch but there are still many flaws in this novel. Some part were overly long and some part feels overly short. Once BXC reached higher level cultivation it feels like an action movie with set piece after set piece wizzing by. Like I said above, some of the characters need more attention and development. The world overall feels a bit small compare to the other novel (except for the very end). This is because Er Gen is rushing the story to the next set piece later in the story so there are very few world building chapter. Overall, could use more polishing.

Enjoyment (1.5/2 stars) : With all that being said, I still enjoyed the story immensely. I didn't skip and of the chapters and while some part left me a bit bored I was still hooked until the very end. I enjoy that fact that this novel does connect to Er Gen's massive novel universe (You won't see much until the very end though). While it's not as good as some of Er Gen's previous work it is still very enjoyable. The type of story is very different from all of his previous work with lighter tone and characters. There are still sad moments but those are few and far in between. If you like a good romp then you'll probably like this novel.

Overall: 3.5/5 -> 4/5 (0.5 for the translation speed of Deathblade). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Max Level Newbie
May 2, 2019
Status: c115
Story is very shallow. The formula is going to dungeon to train, get into some trouble with some powerful people, duck into another dungeon to train, revenge,.... There's no tension, nothing. Worst, there were some conflicts that went completely unresolved. Characters are introduced and then quickly forgotten. Some might pop up now and then but it's more of a cameo. The main character is all over the place. At one point is intelligent, calm, collected. Other places he acts as complete dumb-ass. Everything just goes his way, we don't see... more>> any struggles. I'm fine with an OP character but it has to be backed up with interesting character/story/world building. There's nothing of sort here. The world feels small and empty. In each "dimension" he goes through, it's the main town + some training ground and dungeons, that's it. It was ok at first since I thought it would develop but it never did. Overall a very lackluster and mediocre story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
July 9, 2017
Status: Completed
Another great novel by Er Gen. This is actually the first xianxia I have ever read and it got me hooked into the genre. While not perfect, this novel is a cut above the rest of the xianxia novels out there.

Story (1/1 star) : A very good story. There's actually a plot here and the author knew what he wanted to write and how he wanted to write it. It is even more of an amazing story if you have read Er Gen's previous works as they are set in... more>> the same universe. It's an interesting and thought provoking story with a satisfying ending. Best of all, all the little storyline and arcs in the novels goes full circle and you will never feel that the author added something then forgot about it.

Writing (1/1 star) : Er Gen is an excellent writer. There are moments of happiness as well as sadness. There are parts where you would laugh your ass off and there are parts that would make you cry. The world the Er Gen has built is so vast and mysterious that it is breathtaking. His writing feels very tight, there are little plot holes or repetition (even if there are some part that's a bit repetitive, you wouldn't notice). There are few references to Er Gen's earlier works, especially by the end of the novel (to joy of those who have read them) but it you don't have to read the earlier novels to get the whole story. Plus Deathblade - the translator, did a very good job in pointing out the references.

Character (0.75/1 star) : Honestly the weakest part of this novel. There are so many interesting characters that could be developed. The casts of characters are memorable but I feel they don't get enough attention. They pop in every now and then but that's about it. It's disappointing because everyone of them feels like they have an interesting story to tell. The romance is lackluster to say the least but it doesn't detract much from the story. Meng Hao is an amazing character that carried the novel on his back. He feels sufficiently different from Wang Lin (RI) and Su Ming (BTD) that helps him standout amongst Er Gen's MC. We see him change and developed because of his environments. Seeing his trials and tribulations is honestly one of the most enjoyable experience I ever had.

Enjoyment (2/2 star) : Absolutely fantastic. This novel introduced and got me hooked into the genre. This felt like a proper adventure with the author knowing exactly what he wanted to write. There are many novels out there that are overly long and repetitive to milk a successful novel but this is not one of them. Loved every second of it and I cannot recommend it fast enough.

Though it seemed unnecessary, got to give 0.5 star for being a complete novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Zhanxian
March 6, 2017
Status: --
The story started out decently enough, the MC is an average immortal gets resurrected, proceed to be awesome. It's quite well written until the point I dropped it (It's a very minor spoiler about the harem but I'll put a spoiler tag in it just in case). It's a bit generic but readable and a good time kill. The most interesting part of this novel is the revenge storyline and to be honest, everything else is kinda boring after a while. As I read more and more the only thing... more>> that kept me going was to see the revenge story plays out and I kinda skimmed over everything else because it's kinda just about the MC hoarding treasure and powering up which was not a good sign for it. I was willing to weather it out to see if it gets better then this sh*t happened.
Spoiler

So the harem started out ok. The MC seemed reluctant to take in harem member but the story of him building the harem is decent enough. And then the author decided the MC needs more trophy so he doubled the harem in one stroke and for the lamest excuse. It has been repeatedly said that the MC is this badass cultivator and highest level alchemist in the world so very few sects are willing to get on his bad side even the big ones as he can call on many allies. Not only that the MC said it himself that he wasn't going to expand the harem. Yet when the big sects sends women to his harem to be "concubines" to try to "strengthen" their relationship, the f**king sect leader told him to take them it and he does it. Even if one of the women sent were from the sect he wanted to destroy, WTF?

[collapse]
So yeah, if you dislike that kind of harem, I would recommend a pass. For me, it ruined an otherwise passable story. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
June 9, 2019
Status: v2c9
Honestly the novel was fine until the inclusion of the bunny girl. It's like the author thought to himself: "I want a borderline psychotic MC who's out for revenge. Something new and badass but oh wait this is a Japanese novel so the MC still have to be beta somehow. I know, let's include a female slave character so he can be meek and subservient to". The logic behind this is also the most laughable thing I've read in a while. Here's an MC that have literally been betrayed by... more>> the entire world. Let's have him put his trust in this one random slave because "revenge is more fun when shared" and get instantly whipped by her. Such a waste of a good premise. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
December 7, 2017
Status: c1200
It's and interesting novel. It's very good compare to some of the cookie cutter xianxia out there. There are lots of problem here and there but it's not enough to drag down the novel.

Story - 0.5/1: There's no central plotline - it's just a story about the MC getting stronger and stronger. Many xianxia have this sort of story but the difference here is that they all sucked at it. Most of the time it gets repetitive very fast but not this one. The world is interesting and each arcs... more>> of the story feels very fresh and fun (not all of them but most of them). This negates the lack of story and makes the novel enjoyable. However I feel that there were missed opportunities to expand the world and sometimes the author cut off an arc prematurely.

Character - 0.25/1: One of the weakest part of this story. While the MC is a breath of fresh air as he is unapologetically pragmatic and evil, the rest the of the cast is just meh. Each arcs of the story introduced new characters that could've been kept around and expand upon that could have added so much to the story. But the author never did that and the side characters are forgotten as fast as they are introduced.

Writing - 0.75/1: Good writing, I never had the urge to skip any part of the novel and I never felt that the novel repeats itself. Everything is well presented and the author doesn't repeat himself too much. The world is very interesting and the power level is fun to follow. However it level system is a bit hazy to the end of the novel but it's not terrible.

Enjoyment - 2/2: I enjoyed this novel very much. The translation speed was fantastic and each arc is very enjoyable to read. The length is not too long and can definitely be binged. While the story could've been much more epic, and the ending leaves much to desire, I nevertheless felt satisfied.

Overall: 3.5/5. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LoneDK
LoneDK
Coiling Dragon
March 19, 2017
Status: Completed
The good: The story and writing is good. The story flows nicely, the MC is likeable enough and there are few stupid moments. There are some arcs that were genuinely interesting that had me glued to my seat. The bad: It gets a bit repetitive at times but not enough that you can't power through. The side characters are mostly underdeveloped, the romance is bland and uninspiring, the cultivation is average. I feel the novel has a lot of wasted potential and the author set up storylines that could have... more>> turned out much more epic but didn't. I find that the 1st half of the novel (before going to higher realms) more interesting than the second half. The ending is kinda crap though. Overall a solid entry level novel. If you are a newcomer to the genre than you are probably gonna enjoy it and even if you are not, it's still not that bad but it's nothing to write home about. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report