Report Review
14 Reviews


Liv
Liv rated it
Demon Noble Girl ~Story of a Careless Demon~
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Very good.

Can get a bit slow paced, sometimes, but the story gets more and more interesting later on (reading the raws). Don’t get fooled by the fluffiness. Some chapters are quite bloody.

EDIT: apparently it's been rewritten, so do note that my opinion is based on the old version
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Reincarnator
March 15, 2016
Status: --
Very good read.

The world building is not a basic template and the scenario is interesting, but the author doesn’t really let us appreciate it before outright skipping forward to the next part of the story, sometimes over events that I would really have liked to read about (like, MC enters dungeon X that has been built up as his ultimate goal during the last few arcs, but then the story skips ahead to the point when he leaves the dungeon after clearing it). It’s a bit disappointing.

But, apart from that... more>> little problem, the MC is one of the my very favorite, yet. He really carries the story along. He’s mature, experienced, savvy, smart, driven, ruthless, but not vengeful. He’s a lot older, mentally, than pretty much everyone else around him, and it shows. So long as they don’t cross the line, he’s more amused than anything else by all the unreasonable people he meets.

(I laughed when he said it was just too embarrassing to go, ‘You offended me, so I WILL DESTROY YOU!’ like a guy he knew used to do. It really made me think of every xianxia hero out there...) <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Dungeon Hunter
October 6, 2016
Status: --
The title and synopsis made me imagine a mix between Reincarnator and Dungeon Defense.
This is not it.

The story starts from an interesting premise, but it quickly starts getting boring. In fact, I'd almost call it obnoxious, like some sort of puerile power fantasy.

The MC is a loner, who's successful at whatever he does and is such a rebel that he explicitly can't show respect to anybody. He shows up everybody under the sky with his brilliant awesomeness, drives a bugatti veyron (which, let me tell you, is one of... more>> the fastest and most expensive cars in the world and much better than the iron man car some other character is driving), attracts women with his wonderful pomade haircut, lives in a 10-bazillion-dollar villa paid for by one of his admirers...

The MC himself doesn't give one single sh*t about any of this, of course (because cool guys don't care about how cool they are), but the author sure doesn't miss any opportunity to remind us of it.

That pissed me off, so I dropped it. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Starts off decent enough, up until the male love interest starts trying to ‘seduce’ the female MC. Then it starts pissing me off big time.

I stopped reading when the MC, who’s presented to us as a callous, independent woman, feels guilty for injuring the love interest when he basically tried to rape her (that’s not a spoiler; using force is his default seduction technique in every chapter I went through), and every character in the book holds her to be at fault for it.

Apart from that, there is just way... more>> too much flowery description of clothes and eyes and complexions and “devilish handsomeness”.
Props to the translator for slogging through all that crap. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Yomigaeri no Maou
May 23, 2016
Status: c67
The story, world building, and characters are interesting.

BUT!
It's too verbose!
The verbosity levels are most definitely over 9000!
The novel's actual title is "Verbosity 2: Verbose Strikes Back"!

Every single action, every single line of dialogue, every single plot point, there is a whole paragraph (or two, or three, or fifty) of explanation/MC's thoughts/whatever to come and break the flow of the story. It's almost unbearable...
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
She Was Both Called God, as Well as Satan
August 16, 2017
Status: c93
Very good story.

The rise and fall of an entire species seen from the perspective of a god-like bystander. People rising from the dirt and slowly crawling up, always repeating the same mistakes, only in slightly different contexts, iterating forward but eventually still making things hard for themselves.

It was quite a moving read. I'm impressed.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
March 21, 2016
Status: --
Starts pretty interesting, but quickly gets very slice-of-life and, quite frankly, rather boring. That's a shame. There was potential for great stuff, there.

Also, it annoys me that the MC often complains about his lack of ability at talking to people, when this is not at all reflected in his actual behavior. His politeness and humbleness are also annoying.
Assert yourself, MC!
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
God and Devil World
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Very good start, but it quickly degenerates when the MC starts setting up his own faction.

The racism-s*xism combo is indeed a bit of a bother, since it’s often presented through authorial voice, rather than through the characters themselves, but I can still bear with it (it’s annoying at first, then disturbing, but then it gets so blatant it becomes almost funny).

What really kills it for me is that the story is just too damn repetitive.
Apart from two or three arcs, which bring a few breaths of fresh air to... more>> the series, it’s often just the MC being transported to a new country and rebuilding his faction from scratch in that country, and then being transported somewhere else and rebuilding his faction there, and again and again and again.
It gets boring pretty quickly. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
January 24, 2018
Status: c63
It was fun and interesting the first time I read it, long ago, when chinese webnovels were still new and fresh to me, but now, whenever I read it again, I can't help but be frustrated with my past lack of taste.

The narration constantly reminds us that the MC is the single greatest thing to have ever graced the universe, and that he's free of all weakness (even though this isn't particularly reflected within the story itself). Every single side character either loves and worships him as their greatest benefactor... more>> who gave them everything good in life, or hates and wants to kill him for ridiculous reasons.
What's more frustrating than this, however, is the inconsistency of his behavior. The MC doesn't at all behave like how a 1000-year old man with so much experience should. He acts more like a capricious, foolish teenager.

Oh, and the romance is f**king mental (like in pretty much every chinese novel, I guess).
The MC is a creepy stalker, possessive and obsessive about his designated love interest. Yet mysteriously, he's ridiculously popular, with every attractive woman he meets falling in love with him pretty much instantly.

Beyond the weakness of the story, the translation itself isn't very good. There are many grammar or spelling errors, missing or confused words... An editor would be very much welcome, I think. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Strong start, but the pace slows down after a while (several hundred chapters in, so that still gives you some time to appreciate the story), and things get a bit long-winded on military strategy.
Still a pretty solid series.

The MC’s sword techniques being named after the lines of a poem is a very nice touch.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Pretty good.

The really, really ruthless MC is quite a refreshing change of pace from all the other self-righteous xianxia heroes out there. But, after a while, this same ruthlessness gets a bit tiresome, since it means the MC doesn’t really establish any meaningful relationships with the other characters in the story.

The 'MC is a scientist' part is a complete load of bullsh*t, of course, but it's really nothing more than a throwaway backstory to explain why he's got the chip in his head. It doesn't really bear any influence (negative... more>> or otherwise) on the story itself. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear
March 15, 2016
Status: --
This story is ridiculously cute.

Very slice-of-life, but pretty good among the genre. Some chapters can get a bit boring, though (like when it’s just Yuna spending three chapters getting people to taste a cake she made). Most are more interesting than that, fortunately.

Also, I like the title a lot. Hurray for bears!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
December 15, 2016
Status: c491
It's good. Funny and smart, and the story is really interesting.

But there really is a f**king sh*tload of exposition and infodumping. The first half of every chapter is just painful and frustrating to go through. You're reading action and suspense and glorious heroism, and then you click "next page", and it's all brought to a screeching halt just so that the author can go on for 4000 words (on average) just for some boring, ultra detailed worldbuilding crap. There should be better places to put all of that, I think,... more>> so that it doesn't completely break the flow of the story. It's like the author is just trying to fill up his word quota, at this point. Really annoying. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liv
Liv rated it
Ostentatious Zhao Yao
August 22, 2017
Status: c77
Pretty good.

One of the very rare chinese romance novels I actually like. Perhaps because most of the novel isn't a romance as such, but instead a series of attempts by the MC (who is quite likable and amusing, by the way) to kill her love interest.

Recommended.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report