Report Review
17 Reviews


Liu
Liu rated it
Cold Sands
January 21, 2016
Status: --
I cried so much. Truly a bittersweet romance. If you like happy endings then don't read this, for it it's a gut renching romance that shows the pain and bitterness of love. It has happy times and is light and refreshing at points, well written and draws the reader in. The ending is magnificent and couldn't have ended better, even if it was truly sad. The story gives the reader a feeling of hope throughout the narrative, like it could work and they can be happy, I truly recommend this... more>> novel, for though sad, it is fulfilling. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
He is His Excellency Zhi Li
February 15, 2018
Status: c21
THE BANTER IS REAL. The quick quips and witty exchange is leaving me gagging. This novel is thoroughly enjoyable. The main MC has a dark outlook on life (in words) but has a genuinely positive mentality, with his actions contrasting his thoughts. He would say he doesn't care for something (like ghost hunting) then still fall/go for it. Both protagonist are genuinely two-faced but are so honest to the point with each other (Banter lv100).

Every character in this novel has a personality as well, weird but beautiful personalities. Their friendship... more>> group is basically the collection of every weirdo in school, with a vibe similar to 'The daily lives of high school boys/Danshi kokosei no nichijo'. The weirdest things are taken so seriously within this novel, 'Too hot of a day = the second coming of Satan'. So the plot is easy going and hilarious, I may die of laughter or worry.

So, I would definitely recommend this novel as an easy read. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
I Can Turn into a Fish
August 12, 2018
Status: c64
Cheap growth. As someone who enjoys system novels, the concept at the beginning was interesting. A goldfish store owner who gains the ability to turn into fish and change/control fish bellow his level, levelling up by consuming large numbers of fish. The growth at the beginning was gratifying with fast development, as he changes his fate and remodels goldfish to sell to the rich.

However, the storyline soon became repetitive and cheap. As the protagonist primary goal in life seems to be to gain wealth and flaunt wealth. He sells countless... more>> fish as 'high quality products' and is proud of his 'hard work' and achievements. Although it may be more accurate to call him a con-man, who puts in little effort to gain mountains. The fanfare reactions are killing me inside and his character is overall simple in thought process. Everything works out for the MC and the only problems he faces are problems he causes himself when the side characters are 'arrogant', so he must pay back one wrong done to him by a thousand fold.

I feel my IQ dropping as the chapters progress. Dropped. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
June 5, 2017
Status: v7c17
Generic, bland, Lolita army forming merchant who had potential at the beginning but just lack any cohesive direction in plot, with overly rushed arc and half-assed settings. It just became too repetitive to continue reading.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
From what I have read so far, this novel feels more like an overview of events at very fast pace. That's not to say that the storyline is poor, it's well narrated and there is no glaring flaw. However, character development feels lacking. Time skips are thrown in and regular intervals with no POV to describe why a few words from the MC did the Gong fall in love. The interaction between the two is quit stale, with no depth of the characters personality.

The descriptions just mention things in passing,... more>> like 'we helped relieve eachovers frustation' 'I had a sword fight' heated gazes thrown in every once in a while. Not really going into details but a frustarating narration of events.

The MC + system interaction also disappeared after the first 5 chapters, which I expected to be more predominate from the description. The MC just seems like a dense protag-kun who thinks 'hickeys = mosquito bites' and the gong is watching from the distance with a 'heated gaze' (。-∀-) with light side molestation.

The novel clearly has more chapters and room for development, however this is my opinion from what has been translated so far. So when more chapters come out and the story is more developed, I will update my review. Overall, I feel this novel is quite bland, if doesn't stand out particularly however it's not horrendously written, it's a good read for boredom. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Wife is Outrageous: His Evil Highness Comes Knocking
June 17, 2017
Status: c83
Light, interesting read but not really something amazing from what I have read so far. I can't really fully engage with the story, although it is my personal bias, I think the wife is quite mundane. The story focuses on a female solider who travels to another world by accident, by all accounts following the typical tropes, she should be an amazing super solider who has wit and charm. However, she's a bit of an airhead and is the 'FIGHTTT~~~ OOOOONNNnnnnnnn~~' kind of character, which makes the representation of females... more>> a bit more realistic. However, I'm personally more into the calculating type of female protagonist, so I can't say I appriate that level of naive (ish) energy and her everyday-kind-of-woman feel.

Im sure that 300 chapters in, there will be power ups and at least some plot and character development. However, life is short and the charcters to me aren't that unique and interesting~ so I'm dropping it at this point ^^ <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Over descriptive and slow, unlike most slow paced novels I read. I don't get the feeling of anticipation with world teacher. It is the most unsatifying read ever, where one would expect to find a goal or work to achieve something or hell throw in some forboding, you get nothing with world teacher. The beginning was interesting and something to looks forward to reading about his growth. But now, although he is OP, most chapters he does nothing but aid in his disciples growth in tediously long chapters with content... more>> that could be said to be negligible in the wider scope of plot. The disciples (although I get that the are young) have the vibe of 5 year olds that always need attentive care or someone to wipe their asses and to be praised like the good little children they are.

I am quite frankly board and unsatisfied with the current arc, with its long and overdrawn description of what could be briefly called menial tasks. I'm sure that the story could pick up and that I haven't read that far into the story yet. But I simply just can't live though it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Congratulation Empress
July 27, 2017
Status: c14
The pacing is horrible and the infomation dumps are abrupt. The story's setting is a classical female assassin soul in another persons body, however it doesn't even remotely compare to many of the already existing novels. The chapters are shorter than the usual wuxia standard (way shorter) and the plot is not fully explored (if at all). The primary focus seems to be on just the sequence of events rather than the thought behind it.

... more>>
Spoiler

The author keeps on throwing out random characters with no descriptions or impression at all, like on the first chapter she describes how she 'batted with imps' when reincarnating and how her sister 'betrayed her' -that's it. She literally just said "my sister betrayed me and I battled imps in the underworld" thats her WHOLE backstory. The author doesn't describe her profession, life style, event's leading to betray -abruptly dumping infomation every chapter then moving on to the next sequence of events

[collapse]

Litterally not even worth reading, with the short chapters and current pacing it would only take less than an hour to catch up to the recent chapter (ch.53 at this point) but it's not even worth it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Magi’s Grandson
June 5, 2017
Status: v2c42
The beginning with slightly typical but nonetheless interesting world building, focusing on Shin who has reincarnated and his use of abstract thinking to develop his own magic against the current world conventions. With the whole 'this kid is a genius and has just messed up my world view' type of reactions.

However, there is no character development and the repetitive dialog is slowly killing me. Once the setting was established, the anticipation for this novel died for me. The school setting treats Shin as a celebrity and most reactions are fanfare... more>> to boost the amazing feats. The quality variation of the translators is also torturous to say the least. Dialog is thrown about with little to no indication as to who is talking on some of the later chapters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Black-Bellied Dad
June 18, 2017
Status: epilogue
Well written drama, although a little trope-y it has a satisfying ending and even pace throughout~ which made it quite enjoyable to read. The main female lead is a hard worker, smart, independent and likeable in an office setting and home life. The huddy is good all around, although is a bit cheat (playing all good for nothing at the beginning).

genuinely quite a nice short story to read, and the events don't seemed crammed or rushed despite the lack of chapters and arguably it was quite a slow romance~
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Master of the Stars
September 12, 2017
Status: c83.1
A totally unique and intrinsic read. Of the many sci-if genre related novels I have read none are quite like this one, the vibe and very essence of this novel is very unique. While the expepected advancements and growth of strength are present, it is done in a totally unique way through the understanding of the world.

At first you are introduced to a character already breaking norms and using illegal drugs to effectively change his constitution, very much like Galactic dark net, however there isn't much gap in strength and... more>> could be seen as a bit above average. Although he is very much unaverage in his conscience. Analysing every aspect of the world, viewing the world with little filters. Rather than world building, the gaining of strength of the MC is through internal decomposition of the world and through greater understanding of the 'laws' that's govern it. It's intellectually derived when opposed to break throughs in cultivation or magical treasures. It's a very much realist (to an extent) depiction of life through an apocalyptic era within the safe confines of a city, with society built on the ruins of the old and a hidden supernatural undercurrent which lurks within.

(Although that's not to say that the society is not very much different from our own, and although the novel is tagged 'apocalypse' the actual events happened almost a generation ago.) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Third Prince Elmer
May 27, 2017
Status: v3c11
Spoiler

The story starts on a tragic note, death at a young age due to illness and abandoned as a prince when he is reincarnated. The whole first half of the story is a him living in a state of isolation in the castle while he is training his magic. Which is done in a quite interesting and receptive way, as the 'doll prince' who has no emotions. The character of the prince himself is quite interesting and deceptive of his outward appearance with this kind of naive curiously and energy.

However, the second half of the story goes down hill. Full of plot wholes in a span of a few chapters the character and setting are thrown away completely for the generic Japanese protag -kun, who is super dense and naive with lackluster situational comedy thrown in. It's like the author instead of going from A->B decided to go from A->Z with no clear direction of the story, which is understandable why this story was discontinued.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
February 23, 2016
Status: --
Start is a bit shaky but the writing and story improve along the way, you get a sense of the character and the bigger picture as you continue reading. I would recommend this to any RPG fans as it has a lot of game elements but you would have to be patient with the plot because at the begining it is very similar to any other novel reincarnation novel and doesn’t differentiate until around 80+ (but the chapters are quite short so it isn’t a problem).

So, yeah, give it ago.... more>> It’s not one of my absolute favourites but it is entertaining. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Tempest of the Battlefield
August 20, 2018
Status: c434
I didn't know why this series is rated so low.

Compared to the authors other series, it's not hugely inferior and even follows similar plot progression. Yet, still earns a vastly lower score compared to its related works.

I believe this is due to the sh*tty plot description. The whole setting suggest a post-apocalyptic world overrun by monsters and a man's struggle to survive at the brink of extinction. When really the storyline follows the school life of an underdog character's struggle to reach the top in a world filled... more>> with elite clans and strong young masters. Which follows the authors usual MO of the low-key MC who builds his strength with a hidden identity as he gradually fights to achieve his goals.

The role of the monsters doesn't even play much of a pivotal part within the story until much later and is more centred around character progression. The sh*tty qidan art doesn't help this misconception either. Shown by the striking contrast between cover arts of the authors series and this.... TT0TT

The Norton arc only last a brief period of the story and introduces the MC (his naive, inexperienced, gonna get himself killed character) and lays down the setting for the old man and the mc's growth as he finds his aim in life. The plot then leads to a school life scenario with strength building in a battle/academic school.

I find this series overall very enjoyable, wouldn't expect less from this author. Don't be scared of the low score, people come expecting gritty apocalypse world yet find light hearted school life with a bunch of naive kids (although they do grow in the future). <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Xia Niangniang
June 18, 2017
Status: epilogue
OMG!! My tears are not enough to fill the sea!! If u wish for heart break then go ahead and read!! Know the true meaning of tragedy! Although not on the level of Cold Sands, my heart still bleeds oceans!! The happiness was so fleeting and the end was so bitter!! The story ended well roundedly and tied up a lot of ends, the pace was even and the story was enjoyable to find out what happens next BUT AT WHAT COST!?

*cough*..... yeah, well solid 5/5 a bit confusing around... more>> the middle with the sudden plot turn but all in all pretty enjoyable ^^ <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu rated it
Beautiful Wife And Genius Son
June 17, 2017
Status: side story 3
The dialog is so funny!! Although most situation in this novel could be described as stereotypical, I find that the events are uniquely funny and have on multiple occasion looked like a mad person randomly laughing (ToT the worried looks....). I love the concept of a genius scientist (who would rather die doing research) and the concerned (wife whipped husband at the end) chemistry, along with the little monster they created. Although there are better romance novels, I find this one of my favouites as it was never boring to... more>> read! Just the combination of the Mafia and science make me happy~ <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Liu
Liu
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
June 17, 2017
Status: shan side story 5
A good mix between virtual reality and real life, as we follow the character development and romance budding. Although I am not that interested in romance novels, this novel was quite light hearted and fun to read. 100% enjoyment (BL side chapters were a treat^^) the pacing was well done, nothing seemed forced and events flowed soo smoothly (><). Plus there was a lack of stereotypical k-drama like romance (comas, love rivals, sudden family death etc) no forced drama! Gaming action scenes are always great, so even if romance isn't... more>> your thing the character banter is always an up! Overall, good novel, not life changing, but fun to pass the time with. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report