Report Review
57 Reviews


LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
The Book Eating Magician
July 6, 2017
Status: c44
Surprisingly good. I expected the usual power trip fantasy of some kid with a cheat beating all of his competitors into the dust, but this is actually a very well thought out story so far. The main character is diligent and smart, the plot is refreshing, and the magic system has a good structure.

As for gottafly's review, it should be disregarded. The guy has no idea what he's talking about. He is terribly impatient and has no appreciation for proper storytelling. His complaints are worthless, and if he had bothered... more>> to read more than just five chapters, would have seen that they have been perfectly addressed. <<less
95 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
This story isn't to my taste either so I'm dropping it, but I'm baffled by all the people who rate this story 1 Star just because it has NTR in it (many of them without even reading). It's a genre, you're not the target audience, why are you all getting so worked up? I'd understand if it came without warning, but it's totally out in the open. I personally avoid anything with the Yaoi or Gender Bender tags, but you don't see me blindly rating them 1 Star just because... more>> it has those tags. Man, some people take fiction too seriously... <<less
53 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Dungeon Defense
July 27, 2016
Status: v3c2 part1
Absolutely brilliant and a true pleasure to read. Delicious scheming, verbal combat, and beautiful savagery. Humor is plentiful, but often dark and dry - as befitting the tone of the novel. Conflicts so far have been challenging and believable with satisfying resolutions. The MC is almost powerless (no relying on cheats here), but can be perfectly described as a ruthless, charming, and somewhat twisted spider.

Edit: I totally forgot to praise the translator. This is one of the BEST translations I have ever read, which is so important in this story... more>> where words are king. It almost feels like the story was originally written in English!

Edit 2: One 1 star review talks about how the MC's personality "changes" in the second volume. Without spoiling anything, this is an intentional move by the Author and is acknowledged by characters in-universe. Yes, it's jarring, but it's not a result of poor/inconsistent writing. So just stick with it if you're interested. All will be clear.

As for him being crazy and cruel, well... that's the kind of story this is. Every. Single. Character. Is. Insane - to a certain extent, and in different, wonderful ways. It's like a fun rainbow of madness

The sooner you accept that this is NOT a lovely story with about a hero and his friends, who just happen to be on the side of demons, the better. People on both sides WILL get their hands dirty with murder, torture, and war crimes. They'll play with people's lives like toys to accomplish their goals. And they'll enjoy every second. Hopefully, so will you. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
I Said Make My Abilities Average!
February 6, 2018
Status: c55
Fantastic and fun story, but drop it when you reach Estelion's Secret Imouto translations. Absolutely terrible English, "editors" (Hah! Grammarly would do better) make the same mistakes over and over again, plus there are irritating comments from the translator/editors all over the chapters to break your reading immersion. Enjoyment dropped severely the moment it was picked up by this group.

I'm shocked that Estelion isn't offended by these people using his name when he's one of the best JP translators in the community.

Anyway, overall translator ratings IMO are as follows:

... more>> Aria: 3/5

Whatever: 1/5 (skip all of his work)

Raising the Dead: 4/5

Estelion's Secret Imouto: 1.5/5 <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Red Packet Server
May 12, 2017
Status: c51
Very exciting at first but quickly nose dived in quality. A story with a TON of wasted potential - the author has no concept of pacing, he just keeps throwing out plot points without developing them. Everything feels flat, especially since he just keeps adding harem members when we know next to nothing about the existing ones. When you compare this to cultivation chat group... it just fails in every way. I thought that the red packet mechanic was fun and interesting at first, but the author ends up doing... more>> very little with it. Boring. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Atypical Reincarnation
January 5, 2018
Status: c65
I don't know how Gravity Tales always manages to pick the worst "Trash MC" Xianxias every time, but kudos. This story does not stray from the template, and has embraced all of the genre's usual flaws without adding any redeeming factors. In fact, rather than a novel, this feels like a checklist that the author fleshed out into several dozen chapters. It has the typical reincarnated MC with the emotional maturity of a chihuahua, cookie cutter "lucky events", and abhorrent morals that the author tries to present as righteous and... more>> normal.

Also, stay mad rosyprimrose. "What can YOU write!?" isn't a proper rebuttal to the very valid criticisms that the other reviewers gave. The only way you can enjoy something like this is if you're braindead and have terrible taste in wish fulfillment novels. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Mythical Tyrant
May 25, 2016
Status: --
Had to drop it early. I'm sorry, but there's a limit to my suspension of disbelief; the MC is three years old, and you want me to imagine him lifting and restraining adults, buying slaves, and teaching his mother how to fight? He's a toddler, for crying out loud. The writing leaves much to be desired. Intro is like ATG, TTNH, and Doluo where the MC gets surrounded by a large number of experts and dies, but is fairly unimpressive in comparison. His only motivation to get back to his... more>> original world is to reunite with a girl, and this is written in an extremely forced way, almost like an afterthought.

Characterization is very, very weak. Every person in the novel, including the MC, has only the most basic, predictable and generic personality for their role. Many moments made me cringe, such as one of his slaves actually crying before a duel just because he was called a friend. There's no real pacing to be seen. As generic as the inter-clan conflict arc might be, it's also ridiculous how conveniently it was resolved, so a poor buildup somehow led to an even more unsatisfying conclusion. Also, how is being an ordinary sect disciple somehow far more illustrious than being the "mere" head of their clan, if that position is apparently important enough to put them in charge of millions of troops? All in all, the only thing I didn't find boring was him making talismans. But that's not enough to salvage such a bad start. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Oh no! After I Reincarnated, My Moms Became Son-cons!
September 12, 2017
Status: v3c29
This is a strong contender for the "Title that made me spit out my drink" award, facing off against classics like "I reincarnated into a vending machine" and "How to Skilfully Make a Beautiful Girl into a Meat Toilet".

What can I say, it's an incredibly niche category for people who want yandere mother figures, yet it also tries to craft a serious story with intrigue and action despite the ridiculous premise. So far it's been pretty decent. If nothing else, it's worth a read for curiosity's sake.

UPDATE: This story is... more>> fun but goes full retard very often. Characters will act like idiots because the author can't write half-realistic plots. Be prepared to just say "alright" and accept the stupidity if you continue to read it. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Path to Heaven
June 17, 2016
Status: --
An interesting premise ruined by an insufferable, disgusting brat of an MC. Extremely crude and childish attempts at humor; we're supposed to think that pissing on a treasure spirit for no reason is somehow funny? Shame, I usually like stories that start out with MCs building their wealth.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Urban Banished Immortal
January 22, 2018
Status: --
Let's not talk about the shallow characters, lightning fast developments, and sprinkled bits of racism. Those are all par for the course in this genre, so I won't let them affect my rating. You should be expecting that stuff anyway.

But the biggest issue of this novel is the extremely sparse, lazy writing. Chapters are pretty much 80+% dialogue, scenes jump without any indication (not even a line break or an extra space), and even the reactions are weak. Case in point, when the MC managed to trick one guy into... more>> bidding 5 million during an auction, we never even get to read said guy's reaction. The author always uses as few words as possible - if it can be skipped, he will skip it.

As a result this novel reads like the author's fever dream, a fantasy that was aborted before being completely fleshed out. Still, the banter can be pretty funny at times, especially when he brings out the drug wine. If you just want a light wish-fulfillment story to read then there are worse ones than this. 2.5/5 <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Oukoku e Tsuzuku Michi
August 10, 2016
Status: c21
Probably the best-written "adult" adventure novel on this website. It's unapologetically smutty and violent, but the world building, humor, characters, and intensity of the battles make this a great read. If Larvyde had more help translating this (the current pace is unbearable), it would be 10/10.

EDIT: Chapters 23 to 28 were completely butchered by someone who doesn't speak English. This is a huge shame, since it's a pivotal part of the story. 29 is also bad, but from Chapter 30 onwards the translation quality becomes very good again. So do... more>> your best to get through those chapters and you're golden. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
April 22, 2016
Status: c296
(UPDATE 2: Unfortunately, Walk the Jianghu has stopped translating this story, and it has been picked up by a significantly less skilled group. The story is still brilliant but the lower quality definitely hurts.)

(UPDATE: Caught up with the story, and it has only gotten better since my original review.)

Read up to 168, review might contain some very mild spoilers. A truly unique Chinese novel. The MC is OP, but for the story so far his strength is actually below that of most of the experts around... more>> him. He's formidable, but can be easily killed if he doesn't pick his battles. Thus, he relies on politics, strategy, and trickery, along with his old memories, to accomplish his goals.

A theme of the novel is that a single person's brute strength is almost meaningless in matters of war, and the MC has to approach things from a national perspective. There are very few cookie cutter villains, and his current nemesis is one of the scariest in all fiction despite being a non-cultivator. This novel also has some of the best humor I've ever read. Many chapters had me almost falling out of my chair. Yet when things are serious, it can get really dark. 5/5. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
King of Gods
September 25, 2016
Status: c60
Quite possibly the most cliche-filled, predictable, and boring xianxia on this entire website. Absolutely nothing unexpected has happened for the entire story so far. Every "rival" is an arrogant fool whose only purpose in life is to have their face slapped. Translation quality is top notch, however. Just wish they didn't waste their effort on such a mediocre novel.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
June 16, 2017
Status: --
First off: As with 90% of Chinese novels, the MC becomes a rapist the moment he rises up to a higher position. This would be fine if he was written as a morally gray character from the start, but he's been continuosly portrayed as a paragon of virtue who just has a decisive side. The author is the typical gross nerd who can't write realistic male-female interactions to save his life once he gets high on his own power trip.

As for the story itself, it had great promise and has... more>> a few characters who I liked, but suffers from a ton of drawn out, unnecessary, poorly placed exposition. Many chapters have huge infodumps that you can skip with literally no consequence whatsoever. The story moves at a snail's pace, and most of it can be summarized by "Fighting then looting the enemy's base to steal supplies and gold. Recruit whoever is willing to join." That's basically it.

I don't agree, however, with the reviewers who said that the early part of the story is "pointless" because the MC leaves the city anyway. It served as a great way to build up the world, explain power levels, allowed the MC to build up his wealth, and gave us the companions who come with him on the journey. In fact, I consider it the best part of the novel. A pity it eventually loses its way. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
My Ranch
September 10, 2016
Status: c26
Modern day, semi slice of life xianxia. MC inherits the legacy of a dragon, along with a huge amount of wealth, and moves to America to run a ranch. It's interesting so far, but like the other review says, the author is fond of stereotypes and half truths. He seems to have a persecution complex regarding his Chinese nationality, and this leaks into his narrative a bit. Oh, he's also very strongly opinionated; in the latest chapter, he talks about how all lives are equal, and there's no problem with... more>> eating endangered sharks or dogs, and that anyone who says otherwise is a "rich idiot with nothing better to do". If you can ignore those parts, it's a promising novel.

I also reaaaally wish that the translator would stop inserting memes/comments on every little thing. I'm not reading a fantasy novel to hear someone joke about U.S. Politics ("Trump xDDDD"). Every time I click a footnote hoping it's some additional information about what the author intended, it turns out to be another annoying comment. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
Santairiku Eiyuuki
July 24, 2018
Status: prologue
The poor man's Kingdom Reform Chronicles. Same idea, paper thin execution. Most of the chapters so far are about worshipping the child prodigy MC, while the actual reformations are implemented in a scant few paragraphs. It's almost laughable how half-assed this is.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
The Overlord of Blood and Iron
September 5, 2017
Status: v1c1
Forewarning: This is a very Korean novel. In other words, it has the usual traits of 1. Seething hatred of all rich people (gotta appeal to the angry overworked worker demographic), 2. "Moral" characters who are really scheming and despicable deep down (to lazily justify the MC's own jerkass actions), and 3. Random racism against the Japanese (not a throwaway line, it goes on for multiple chapters).

Anyway, let's move on to the story itself.

It reminds me a lot of Sovereign of Judgement, except there are no sadistic death games and... more>> it places a higher emphasis on "territory" and kingdom building. I love the idea of each sovereign having their own unique lands and troops. Great setting and has the potential for really epic battles later on. World building is a bit weaker than SoJ, though, but it's still early so that gets a pass.

But good god, the author loves fawning over his MC. The simplest of actions gets overwhelming praise from his cheerleaders/subordinates. It's hilarious how he's portrayed as a "military genius" in the first battle for... knowing how to set up a formation with his troops. Literally just putting shields in front and having riflemen fire from behind them. That's it. Second battle is a bit smarter at least, and has some semblance of strategy.

But you get the idea. For an action novel, the action is pretty damn terrible. It doesn't help that every single character is a one-dimensional stereotype.

On an unrelated note: I'm laughing at how Salexe is frothing at the mouth, angry at the MC for showing mercy, and rated this story 2 stars solely because of it. To clarify, the "enemy" was a dumb high school student. Who inflicted literally zero damage on him. That guy lost everything, but Salexe thinks that's not enough, KILL HIM! Really, man? Get off the power trip for a second and re-learn how to think like a normal person. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel
Summoned Slaughterer
July 4, 2017
Status: --
Edgy chuunibyou: The Novel.

I'll keep this short. The MC is a mad dog who lashes out at everything for the tiniest reasons. He is an evil scumbag, and that would be perfectly fine if the author didn't try to give him have the moral high ground too. Commit to having a villain protagonist, FFS, don't try to say "everything he does is actually okay because blah blah blah". That is the biggest flaw of this story and limits so much of what it could be.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
LeeEzekiel rated it
M E M O R I Z E
June 22, 2017
Status: --
1. Terrible group dynamics - Wishy washy high school-tier drama plagues this story. For whatever reason, the author decides that the MC should do f*ck-all after giving him insane cheats. It's one thing to let your party grow stronger by letting them fight, but this level of passiveness is ridiculous.

2. Bad protagonist - We have an MC whose personality is very inconsistent and acts nothing like a hardened veteran gone back in time. It's like a bad mix of several archetypes, and he changes to fit the author's whims. He's... more>> seriously "aww"ing over a weak crybaby he just met? When his entire purpose for going back is to atone for the death of a girl?

3. Drawn out - Do we really need to spend this many chapters in the tutorial area? It would be fine if this arc were exciting, but it isn't.

All in all, the story nosedives the moment the angel disappears. Which is extremely early. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
LeeEzekiel
Story: Pretty generic fare, gives me the feeling of a more serious Destruction Flag Otome. We start with the MC as a child, trying to ensure that her upbringing is as different as possible to make sure that she doesn't grow up into a spoiled brat. Just in case the dreaded "auto mode" ever comes back.

Translation quality: It is very literally translated, there are some basic grammatical errors, and it is sometimes hard to tell who is speaking during conversations if the sentence itself doesn't give context. Overall you can... more>> still understand the story, but the quality definitely hurts the impact of some scenes. A good editor would do wonders. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3