Report Review
10 Reviews


Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Ze Tian Ji
September 17, 2016
Status: c199
My heart aches and my eyes bleed when I see 3 stars or lowers ratings. I get why they don't like it, but I still can't share the feeling. I guess I like simple things.

This novel is slow paced has a calm and inexperienced guy as a protagonist, this story is about following this calm yet awkward guy through his journey of life and death, it's about fate, about choices.

The things that make it better than other novels imho are :
*It doesn't downgrade the intelligence of side characters to... more>> make the MC look smart.
*The side characters have personalities of their own.
*The romance is solid, yes you have to wait more than 200 chapters (ahead of the current translated chapters), but it's worth it.
*Mao Ni's writes way better than his contemporaries.
*It strays from the most common cliches of the genre.
*Not everyone who antagonizes the MC is an asshole.

The things that are not so good may be the fights which are not so thrilling and a bit long, but I'm here because of the story not for the fights and the author can get better.

The pace is a defect as a web novel I guess, which strong points are a straightforward plot and fast paced action, but for a normal novel it's not so bad. But yeah if you don't have patience or are looking for something more entertaining, then don't read it. <<less
69 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Everlasting Immortal Firmament
May 23, 2016
Status: --
Although it's a bit early to say something definitive, I've got to say this novel has the potential to be my favorite Xianxia, this novel incorporates 2 concepts, which I love:

1) A genius merchant, someone who can make gold from dirt.
2) Starting to cultivate after his 30's, a experienced and wise old man.

This 2 concepts are nothing exceptional but I swear I thought to make an story with this both scenarios.

About the MC, he's the smartest guy I've seen in a Xianxia, he really feels like an intellectual, he... more>> can turn the tide in any kind of battlefield, has good judgement, knows how to predict people reactions and acts accordingly. The author knows his stuff when he says the MC is renowned tactician, I believe him.

Spoiler

And his cheat is a piece of Go (the game), it's kind of cool, like he has this space with 1, 000, 000 endgames.

[collapse]
<<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Archfiend
March 24, 2018
Status: c105
This is a good novel.

The only modern day cultivation novel that I think is above average.

This novel differs from its peers that it is not a power up slapping young mansters and collecting girls as pokemons fantasy!

It has a solid story that actually incorporates cultivation and civilization in a logical manner, cultivators can't do whatever they want and it's explained why, civilization, cultivators, great sects (budhism, confucianism and daoism) and demon cultivators, all live in delicate equilibrium, for cultivator is the age of the end of days- spiritual energy and... more>> resources are scarce- and for humans is the digital age! Both humans and cultivators are dependant of each other. The world building is really solid.

The MC is quite ordinary actually, fueled by revange ;he works harder than anyone and is also an outstanding genius, not a herbivore but he doesn't have the time to chase girls or decay into debauchery. Hot blooded, a patriot and firm. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Zhu Xian
September 17, 2016
Status: c146
Zhu Xian is a long xianxia novel written by a Chinese author, Xiao Ding, the entire book consisted of 8 volumes. Acclaimed as the 'Later Jin Yong Wuxia Holy Bible' by the Chinese netizens. The story consistently questioned the meaning of 'What is the true/correct way'.

Do I need to say more? For me this novel is quality. I have not enough praise for this novel, the author and the translator. The only downgrade to this that I can find is that the early translation was of low quality, but it... more>> later changes to the current translator who's doing a great job.

As for the story it's not for everyone, it has a bit of tragedy and it has a lot of world building, the descriptions are long, the MC is not some gary stu that never errs, but a human with virtues and flaws.

Some people joke that it isn't a XianXia novel with romance, but a romance novel with XianXia. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Rakuin no Monshou
September 17, 2016
Status: v6c4
Anything less than 5 stars wouldn't do it justice.

Easily one of the best things I've read on this site (under my standards of course.)

What can I say? Memorable characters, intelligent plot, likable MC and a strong female lead, an incredible world-building and the story just gets better and better as you read.

The story is about Orba this kid who has suffered because of the selfish motives of the ruler class, as expected doesn't have a shred of patriotism and yet he's forced to disguise himself as the crown prince... more>> and then as if his problems weren't troubling enough, this little princess comes like a hurricane, this extremely idealistic and patriotic with a bit of naivety yet brave princess clashes with his ideas of nobles and his own ideals, this relationship is very very interesting.

As for a more general outlook, the world is a bit chaotic with several nations crashing with each other for supremacy and a lot of skirmish in a smaller scale. In this world the MC is a capable warrior and commander, able to gather information, to read his opponent plans and come with some orthodox or unorthodox plan to counter his enemies, he's just brilliant. With the sword he's solid but a bit plaint, he fights to kill and survive. The world uses small dragons, guns, swords, air planes (something like that and they work with ether) and magic (some people), but there's no weapon of massive destruction yet.

The magic (ether manipulation) is more obscure than in other novels imo, no balls of fire, absolute zero or sh*t like that, is more like manipulation of the human psyche, invocations, exchange of information, also the ether is a resource and as such it can be wasted.

If I have to criticize something, maybe is that sometimes the characters act too chivalrously lol, people is more unfathomable, maybe is my fault that I don't believe in noble people sacrificing for honor, ideals or their nation (people), anyway is more beautiful this way.

All in all read it if you're not afraid of world building and a not so light story. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
September 10, 2016
Status: c100
This is Gold. A funny interesting story.

The MC, Ling Feng is this shameless guy who has this crazy quest and to succeed in this quest he will have to con even his disciples haha.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
August 11, 2016
Status: --
This is your typical Xianxia in terms of world building, powerful people struggling to get to the top, a world ruled by the powerful, a similar world to ISSTH. Now though the world is similar to other works the characters and MC are not imho.

In so many Xianxia you can see certain archtypes of character like the young master, the teacher, the powerful old man, the though to be cripple MC but is in reality a super genius. This novel has more variety and doesn't down grade the intelligence of... more>> the side characters to make the MC look smart, it doesn't need it, the MC has low talent and is of an ordinary background, no trick about it. But he's smart and has a cheat (that doesn't improve his talent). No real backing, he's more of a lone wolf a rogue cultivator, kinda like Wang Ling of Xian Ni.

Now what I like the more about him is how rational he is, he's not bad nor good, he does help people within his capabilities, he won't risk his life unless there's profit or there's a friendship, he won't risk his like for a random woman even if she's a beauty. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
July 16, 2016
Status: v1c146
4.5/5

Pretty solid story, easily a tier above your average "Xianxia" imho (that's not really that hard).

Now if you want to read it, you should know what to expect, this is not your typical "Xianxia" or Chinese web novel to be more precise, it's more closer to an actual Wuxia book. The part of "Xianxia" has not been very clear so far, is more like stuff of legends, that being said there are mortal martial schools and there exist the famous Jianghu.

The story is ok pretty simple for now, slow paced... more>> and the pov (between the MC and his family and some important occurrences in the jianghu) changes from time to time, but it all will be connected eventually.

The strong point for me are its characters, very fleshed out and realistic, the MC is a child, that actually acts like a child with some touches of maturity from time to time, he's drives by his pure desire to protect his family from bullies and has a truly righteous heart, he might not be specially clever, but he's definitely not an idiot, just a somehow naive child that worries to much about his loved ones. Which is understandable considering that he comes from a family of farmers, humble people with low education, but big hearts.

Most of the characters that interact with him are pretty ok, as in every novel and (of course) even in the real world there's some young master or gangster that believe that they can do whatever they want, but there's actually also good and chivalrous people (in some novels it seems everyone apart from the mc's clique is a big asshole), the social situation of the mc's world is pretty close to some wuxia novels theres is big, medium and low martial sects, that constantly struggle with each other for power in the cruel jianghu. But it is a vast world, I'm pretty sure the MC is in a very backwater place.

Now what can cause some to be extremely annoyed is
Spoiler

That the MC just starts training after like 70 chapters and his training is "apparently futile" and he just have his first fight in like 120 chapters, besides he haven't learned a proper inner energy method, tho his about to enter the sect (of mortals btw), nonetheless he has made a lot of progress just that it isn't apparent.

There's also a lot of chapters dedicated to his grandma and eldest brother marriage, which I personally like it, it helps to care more about the MC and his family.

[collapse]

If you're gonna read this, you should come with the mindset to read an actual book, not a webnovel, which strong points are fast paced action packed chapters, where the adventure starts from chapter 1, which is ok. Be patient the first book (till chap 146) have a lot of slice of life, the second book (>146) I believe (heven't read) is gonna be his rise to prominence in the jianghu. And the MC of course has his weird item cheat xD <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Demon’s Diary
September 10, 2016
Status: c183
In my opinion this is not a generic XianXia/XuanHuan, hence why some people find it boring.

Not just in XuanHuan or XianXia, but usually in most web novels, the story, the setting, background and the very world in itself is for the sake of making the MC shine and dazzle everyone, if it's done well it's so satisfying (imo very few does it correctly i.e ergen's novels), now in the case of Demon's Diary i'd say it is not the case, this is more about a journey of a cultivator who... more>> pushes forward with what he has, not the story about a "hero" saving the world or a cultivator deifying the very heavens.

Although it is fantasy it brought a more realistic depiction of characters and rules than your average novel, that is what I like about this novel, the MC has prudence and the antagonists (antagonist and not villain course there not really black and white in this novel, just interests) are not so 1 dimensional or predictable. The MC doesn't have bullsh*t luck nor any backing, he has to rely in his wits.

What makes me not rated 5 stars is that the interactions between characters is so poor, the MC doesn't trust in anyone, the closest to a partner he has is his pets or spirits. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Lazybum0
Lazybum0 rated it
Awakening
May 23, 2016
Status: c79
This is actually good IMO. It all boils down to if you like the MC or not, because the setting and story is somehow generic and there ain't really a connection between the events that happen through the novel, they use "convenient" plot devices to move on the story (kidnapping, offending young masters, horny psychos and some more kidnapping).

But overall I quite enjoy the story, the MC has the wisdom of an old man (he has had a long life), so no horny hot headed brat (this a big plus... more>> for me) and you know he will resolve every problem easily, yep Sakamoto Desu Ga style (just his appearance is average), he's slowly building an harem (just girls falling in love with him) but he really just see them as brats for now (it's quite logic, considering his age), there's some touching family moments, the guy knows how to take care of his love ones.

There's this scene that made ROFL so hard.

Spoiler

He gives some aphrodisiac to these rapist guys and he locks them in a classroom, hehehe you can imagine what happened, and then the Principal of the school walks in, they tried to rape him and some teachers had to intervene to separate them, the poor principal needed counselling to overcome this trauma.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report