Report Review
17 Reviews


KuroInfinity
I’m the current translator so what else would you expect?

I believe that this is a good series even though its a little fast paced, and I’ll see it through to the end.

I don’t think the initial translations did the series enough justice for its worth though, so I might re-do them later.
225 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
August 22, 2016
Status: v2c36
I'm the current translator so what else would you expect?

Death Flag is by far one of my favourite series here on NU. The protagonist's character is unique and well thought out. He is a dark protagonist born for tragedy, but the author writes it in a way for us as readers to sympathise with him instead of over dramatising tragedy like many other authors do, which turns the series edgy and awkward.

*cough* Arifureta *cough*

One of the main features in Death Flag is the author's use of monologues, to which he... more>> express's the character's inner thoughts beautifully, to further express the biggest feature of the protagonist on how 'not everything is what it seems'.

I love this series and I honestly believe that you will too. I hope that we can enjoy this experience together to the end. Please take care of me. <<less
199 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
I’m the Evil Lord of an Intergalactic Empire!
June 14, 2019
Status: v4 epilogue
Translator Biased Review Here~! lol

In short, this is a 'misunderstandings'-based story.

Just like 'Overlord' or 'To be in Power From the Shadows', or any other novel of this genre, this novel focuses on a main protagonist whose only legitimate skill is in their battle prowess. Other actions and decisions made are generally not thought out through or made with simple intentions, only to be misconceived by their surroundings as something far greater for our amusement.

I recommend reading at least until chapter 10 to see if you'll enjoy it or not. Slice-of-life... more>> chapters that showcase the interactions of the MC with the world around him fill up the beginning of most volumes with most of the major battles being held in the later chapters.

I enjoyed reading/translating this, but if what I described so far doesn't seem like your cup of tea, then I recommend you go somewhere else. (^^|||

Its also the same author as 'Sevens' and 'The World of Otome Games is Tough for Mobs', so if you like those series you should check this one out too!

... and yes, I'm the reason why this novel has so many tags. I read the RAW, so I just added everything that fit. If you're caught up with the latest translated chapter, but feel like a certain tag doesn't work, then it's probably because I haven't translated that far yet. I hope you enjoy it! (^^) / <<less
50 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
July 17, 2019
Status: c276
Its... okay. Err... how do I explain this? After a while it just gets... boring? Its not like anything is wrong with it, it just feels like things start to drag on longer than necessary. The most interesting parts being the ones that involve the 'elemental powers' the MC received/is receiving while everything else just feels kinda dull and makes me wanna skip.

Maybe it needs an actual love interest? Or maybe not making all the emotional parts that don't include the dragon feel so... forced and unnatural?

Idk, I have complicated... more>> feelings about only giving a 3 when I used to enjoy this novel so much. :/ <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
Its a great fluffy story and all, I'm just a little disappointed with how... shallow many of the characters are. Particularly the male lead. I just don't understand how the MC could be rejected for her looks, and have their engagement canceled, slim down and become beautiful, only to fall for the extremely shallow guy who rejected her in the first place.

Of course her personality changed when she remembers her previous life's memories, but the male lead's treatment of her before and after her physical change is almost disgusting. He... more>> still treated her like dirt while she was fat, even when she was good because of her new memories, its not tsundere, just plain pretentious. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
I just want to say I absolutely ADORE this novel. ... more>>
Spoiler

Except for the fake-amnesia, death and revival arc in volume 3, but even that was pretty good.

[collapse]

World building and story are great, its a really refreshing kind of different that pushes, typical shonen tropes from the perspective of a third-party that's orchestrating all of this to give some youths the 'school-battle-ESP-fantasy' that they themselves could never have.

I'd totally recommend this novel to anyone who wants something different from the norm of most JP novels.

I only have a couple gripes, the first being how the 'World's Darkness' seems to be slightly overhyped as a threat in the world to suspend disbelief since it doesn't actually hurt anyone (since its all fake), which puts a little damper on things in later volumes for me.

My only other gripe being... that I wasn't the person who got to grab this project to translate first LOL

Rosie does a great job though, and I'm sure you'll enjoy this series if you're looking for something better than the typical 14-year-old's stupid power harem fantasy. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
The World of Otome Games is Tough For Mobs
July 6, 2019
Status: --
Another novel by Yume Mishima that I enjoy.

The story focuses on an MC that isn't particularly strong, but is able to constantly win due to the cheat-robots and items that he was able to obtain due to the knowledge he had of the game in his past-life.

I've seen a lot of people complain about this, but I can't help but wonder if they're misunderstanding the premise? Wasn't the whole point of the story being that the MC was considered a weak-background character (a mob) ?

The translation itself is great, you... more>> can really tell that the translator and/or editor is fluent in English, despite being a MTL, so I'd definitely recommend. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Sevens (LN)
June 9, 2019
Status: --
As an individual who's finished reading the Web Novel version, I'd definitely give this story 5 stars. Sevens is a story that excels at pacing and character development. While it may follow the standard harem trope as many other fantasy novels, the characters that you'll grow attached to aren't the various young maidens the main character will charm throughout his travels, but the seven middle-aged men who help guide and shape the protagonist into an amazingly deep character, while forging a strong bond of 'family'. You will cry for these... more>> old men.

The Light Novel version here changes events slightly so that various developments make more sense and the world and side characters are more fleshed out than in the vanilla version, so content wise this is definitely the one to read.

The only reason why I've given the Light Novel translation 4 stars though is due to the translation itself. I won't mince my words, Yorai-kun is the superior translator in comparison to bakapervert. Awkward grammar, punctuation mistakes, and inconsistency in translation (with names and such) litter this version. Don't get me wrong, its still a good book, but I recommend reading Yorai's WN translation first for the cleaner and easier session to first-time readers.

This series would be a perfect 5 stars if they got a proofreader or editor that was proficient in English to double check the grammar and such. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
I love a tragic heroine~ I'm crying here...

This story is SO good, would definitely recommend. 5/5

My only gripe is that that the 'next chapter' and 'previous chapter' buttons aren't really made well, so it might be better to keep the NU page open.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Dungeon Defense (WN)
September 8, 2019
Status: --
The author's writing and the translation quality is just as exceptional as it was two years ago, despite this being an earlier prototype version.

Vastly different from the LN, yet still enjoyable in its own way.

I am scared though. I have heard infamous rumours about how the web novel ends.

... more>>
Spoiler

About how Dantallion goes insane (even more so than what we're used to), killing love interests and the like, despite being mentally stronger than his LN counterpart. Eventually leading up to a very depressing ending.

[collapse]

I'm still reading it though. I need closure. It's been almost two years since the last LN was released, and I'll be damned if I let this become another one of my thoughts that keeps me awake at three in the morning. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Reborn Little Girl Won’t Give Up
August 29, 2019
Status: c30
Fun, cute, fluffy, and fun. Nothing special, but it's a good read all the same. It would've been perfect if not for the age-dissonance that occurs after ... more>>
Spoiler

she gets kidnapped.

[collapse]

I know that with reincarnation, the psyche of the characters are far older than what their appearances suggest, but... I don't know, it just bugs me. I'm okay with children (maybe 4 or 5 at the youngest) being acclaimed as geniuses and prodigies, but I always feel really peeved whenever I see fully grown adults relying on babies not even a few years old in stories. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
Great series. I'm generally not a fan of anything with status plates, where things essentially become a story of 'my numbers are higher than yours', but the superb writing and twists of the story itself completely overshadow that peeve of mine.

5/5, would definitely recommend reading to others.

Great job to both the translator/author.

EDIT: Interest tends to taper off in the later chapters, starting to flow into a 'routine' that started to wane my interest, eventually succumbing to the peeve I mentioned above. Still a good read though, but I'm dropping it... more>> a star. Sorry. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Escape Galge
September 13, 2019
Status: extra
Luckily I found this now, when it was completed and not when it was slowly being updated, because I would've hated it if it I were stuck waiting at chapter 6 or so like many of the other reviewers.

This story is short, sweet, and deep. It explores and fleshes out true character development, all while exploring what it really means 'see' someone.

... more>>
Spoiler

The ML is trash. He quintiple-timed girls to make his own harem because he was reincarnated as the protagonist as in an gal-game, after the MC realizes this after regaining her memories, she changes herself and forces the ML to realize that there was more to them than whatever statistics were written for them in the game. She breaks the harem, forces the girls to realize they don't need the ML so they can move on with their lives, while at the same time forcing the ML to become a better person. He's the one who breaks it off with the other girls for her, and I absolutely loved it.

[collapse]

Would 100% recommend this novel to anyone who wants something short and sweet. I don't think this novel deserves the low score it has. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Reborn as My Love Rival’s Wife
June 23, 2019
Status: Completed
Absolutely the best genderbender story I've ever read. 10/10

I would've liked it if the antagonists were fleshed out a bit more, but other than that, it truly showcases the struggles of a person's psyche as they are forced to deal with the change of their body. The character growth and development of the main character is phenomenally done. Great story, would definitely recommend for anyone into this niche genre.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Invisible Dragon
June 18, 2019
Status: --
I just... I don't even... what? I think I have brain cancer now.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
Interesting premise, but the ending ruined it. It made the MC shallow. It made the side characters shallow. It was just bad writing.

If this is ever turned into an actual series, I hope the author re-writes the MC out of her "I'm better than you, but I just decided not to show it. So you better be grateful"-kind of feeling she gives off. As well as making it so the other characters aren't so hung up on appearances.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KuroInfinity
KuroInfinity rated it
Swamp Girl!
September 6, 2019
Status: epilogue
Really enjoyable story with good writing. Its only really the last few chapters
Spoiler

with the whole identity crisis of being an unknown being created from the memories of multiple people

[collapse]
where things get kind of confusing and well... not as good as the rest of the story. I wish they did a bit more for the ending, but still a good read nonetheless.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report