Report Review
16 Reviews


Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Galactic Dark Net
November 27, 2017
Status: Completed
Someone saw fit to flag my review for spoilers, and then the spoiler tags within broke upon editing, so now it actually does have heavy spoilers, but I have a very obvious warning.

But most importantly, just know that the author didn't finish this; he ends with "Please come up with your own ending." And that's not even an exaggeration. He literally ends it with an author's note.

... more>>
Spoiler

For all the people too lazy to read my review, here's the tl;dr:

Did you ever watch the show "Lost"? Yeah, it's like that but worse. Jump ship as soon as the "virtual reality universe" is revealed.

Here's everything you need to know to feel like you've read the rest (full spoilers) :

  • SPOILERS START HERE

The dark net is actually a virtual reality... wait no a reverse universe... wait no a giant insects innards. Ye Weiwei's parentage is never revealed. The three eyed race (all of it) is wiped out by planet earth, which is a star god... wait no a space ship guarding the seed of all life. The dark egg is a super dragon. The Evil King was some miscellaneous guy, and we still don't know much about him. The path's of void have a seventh path which makes you punch harder. The strongest person in the alliance that the mentors were fleeing from never fights the MC and just joins him as a sidekick. There is a random all destroying insect race everyone forgot to mention that is destroying the world. The MC never finishes the fight with them. The author never finishes the novel, just ends it abruptly.

  • SPOILERS END HERE

Now, for the longer version.

Galactic Dark Net was (note the tense) a great novel all the way up until the last 30-50 chapters. By categories:

Characters - 3/5: The characters are fun. But in depth..? Not really. Most of them take a single aspect of personality and a set of skills and run with it. As the MC gets stronger, the side characters are still present, but lose focus. They kinda just form an amorphous blob which they call the "Wolf Pack". But at least it doesn't abandon them. Early on, characters shine, and the interactions are fun. But, as you will soon see is the general trend... they slowly lose their gleam. The MC is pretty much a standard Mary Sue. He's charismatic and funny pretty much all the way through, and he's not one of those MC's who is a hair away from being an evil tyrant. He holds the story together rather well, as it crumbles around him. 4/5 early, 2.5/5 later on. 3 overall.

Plot - 2/5: Not a great plot. Here's where the Lost comparisons come in. The author keeps changing the canon, as well, which really hurts. I loved it early on, when the MC was one of the many powerhouses of earth, gearing up against a potential enemy threat. Then the MC got too strong and the whole thing went to sh*t.

The author introduces a whole new universe that forgets about the current one, then proceeds to immediately eliminate the massive threat facing earth in one chapter, then bring up a new threat that never existed prior, then proceeds to kick the MC out of that section of the other world and bring up that that was run by one of 5 companies and then never introduce 3 of those companies and then throw a bunch of miscellaneous threats and get the MC in a fight with 2 of the companies and then forgets that and sends him to another other world and then leaves that and kicks him out of the other world back to the normal universe where Earth has somehow become almost all powerful and is facing the alien super threat and slowly losing ground, whereupon Han decides to fight it.

And then it ends. Literally. Han doesn't fight it. He just says he will, and the author goes "We're done. Thanks for supporting me, it doesn't matter what happens, just come up with an ending yourself." No loose ends tied up. Hundreds of little mysteries left completely unexplored. A huge world cast aside. No canon pairings. No MC victory. No final boss. It is a worse version of the ending of Lost. Instead of being poetic and leaving loose ends... it just ends with a massive cliffhanger. No, I'm not gonna spoiler tag this, you deserve to know the crap you're getting dragged into.

Overall... 0/5. 4/5 very early. 3/5 early. 2/5 mid-late. -10/5 ending.

Setting - 1/0: Yeah, didn't know what to rate it. It's immersive, intriguing, fascinating, vast, expansive, and mostly unexplored. And I mean unexplored by the author, as he never answers most of the mysteries and forgets whole parts of the universe immediately after revealing them. But it was fun while it lasted.

Writing - 3/5: Solid, but unremarkable. Wasn't distracting, at least. Action was fun, and provoked the imagination, and it could draw you in to the world.

Translation - 4.5/5: Other than the occasional weird naming convention which I'm not sure worked well, it was flawless, as far as my eyes are concerned. Translators say they will change the ending... and I'd love that; it'd raise them to 4.9/5.

Enjoyment - 5/5 until the end: It was still a fun read despite the flaws. Fluffy, light, immersive, and mysterious. The ending was a 0/5, though, which sucks some of the enjoyment out. Overall 4.5/5.

Overall... good universe, bad author.

[collapse]
<<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
The Grandmaster Strategist
February 21, 2017
Status: v1c10
This novel might be great. It might not. I'll never know. I couldn't make it through the first 10 chapters.

It wasn't vapid, light fluff, which is good. But it was just boring to me. Info dump after info dump. For 10 chapters. It was lots of content, interesting poetry, and deep political complexity. But it wasn't interesting. It introduced too many concepts too early in too much of an infodump style fashion to make me feel any immersion, and completely took me out of the story. I couldn't absorb the... more>> info because I lacked any interest in it, and because of that I couldn't grasp the whole situation, and because of that, I lost even more interest.

It probably gets better, looking at other people's reviews. But as I said, I couldn't continue, because it failed to draw me in at all. I was just sitting here thinking that it felt like a first person version of a college history course. And any novel that doesn't make me want to continue reading (or in this case, actively make me want to stop) can't get more than 3 stars. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
May 14, 2018
Status: c57
tl;dr: So absorbing that I only slept 4 hours and was intentionally late to class the week before finals.

Don't read this for anything but humor. The MC is a mary sue, the plot is generic, the other characters are one dimensional, and the world building is relatively tame. If absurd humor alone isn't your thing, this book isn't for you.

However, if it is... this is funny as hell. Everything is blown out of proportion. The MC is so oblivious he doesn't even realize that all the people he is fighting... more>> are from the same organization, despite all his followers knowing it. The MC is trying so hard to look like a unimportant character he has secret techniques to look weaker than he is, that do things like make him spiral through the air spraying out blood. His followers are leaving him secret messages in codes he can't even read, and he acts like he understands while thinking they are just playing around, despite him controlling a massive shadow organization he doesn't understand the scope of at all.

It's ludicrous, and funny. I give a hard recommendation. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
September 6, 2019
Status: c160
I went "Hey, I used to read this; I wonder why I dropped it?"

Well. Now I remember.

I dropped it because the author's control over the tone of the novel is akin to a novice playing Street Fighter while blindfolded, and the main character is a floppy pool noodle with a confused face drawn on the end. On top of that the author is afraid to go into any romance whatsoever, yet constantly teases it.

It starts off good... well, not good, but not terrible, which is the standard for the isekai... more>> genre. The MC shows dedication and resolve and self discipline. Aaand 100 chapters later the MC has devolved into a sort of befuddled half-deflated balloon that gets blown along randomly with the plot. What is his goal? I don't know! He doesn't either. It has something to do with the goddess, but he doesn't really seem to have a plan at all. He no longer has any self discipline either, which is ridiculous given the entire premise of his absurd magical power is that he is so mentally self disciplined the world thinks he is dead and born again and doubles his power.

Meanwhile the tone mainly starts off happy-go-lucky and never leaves there for long, at least up until the point I got to. But that doesn't mean it is consistent. No, it means that every time it drastically shifts out of nowhere it goes back instantly and equally drastically. Characters that literally went out of their way to protect innocent strangers a few chapters ago suddenly murder repenting sinners in cold blood. It's f***ing bizarrely out of place, given 90% of the novel is like a light comedy.

Don't get me wrong, I like dark novels. But I like dark novels that can keep their tone and characters consistent. This doesn't do that at all. It's a bright and happy novel which suffers from short blackouts out of nowhere.

And I personally like the harem genre, but also like non-harem novels. This is the worst kind of harem novel. The "I don't want to commit to a harem but I'll surround my MC with a bunch of girls who he'll admit an interest in but never do anything with or to" harem novels. It's pathetic and lame and just makes an MC who already looked like a wimpy loser into a bigger wimpier loser.

Yeah. I can't really recommend anything I dropped twice. I'm mainly leaving this here as a reminder to my future self to drop it before it even starts. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Martial God Asura
July 19, 2018
Status: c2382
Another novel that petered out and withered towards death slowly, but never died.

I read the beginning of this novel. The world building was great. The MC was ruthless enough to keep interest and lawful enough to stand behind, though decidedly not a good person despite being called one. The girls were good, the romance was alright, though the r*pe was bad. The MC grew and progressed, and you could see the difference as he grew stronger. The antagonists were fairly generic, but they all had their motives and were discernible... more>> from each other. It would have been a solid 8 out of 10 at the beginning due to freshness.

Then everything went downhill. The world building went to absolute shit, wherein you have no sense of the world or anything in it, and even the places the MC visits get the most bare description possible, to the point where it is hard to even grasp it with my overactive imagination. Anything the MC doesn't visit is at most a name on the otherwise blank map, with no details given.

The MC got more and more hypocritical, sparing girls for straight up conspiracy to murder his friends, and crippling and torturing guys for harassing girls he's just met. He does things like sparing a sect out of "mercy", and then later destroying every member of another sect down to the last child. He starts making "friends" with random people, and by that I mean they literally come up to each other, fight each other once, and decide they are friends instantly despite having nothing in common and having no reason to even talk to each other.

The MC ditched his harem, which is not necessarily bad... except for the fact that he ditched every single side character alongside that. Then he got new side characters. And promptly ditched them. And then new ones. And ditched them. So on. They introduced a bunch of girls, playing like it was still a harem, but suddenly the MC, who previously would marry anyone who struck his fancy, suddenly is a celibate man with no interest in sex, and becomes like a wishy washy japanese anime rom-com protagonist who can't commit to anything, and leaves them behind upon leaving the world.

The cultivation went from being graspable leaps in power, to silly numbers. Sure, he can be incredibly power and able to destroy vast swathes of land with a single blow... but from there you're just upping the damage, and it's not really noticeable. When two people fight, they are almost always on a similar level, so it feels the same as it did 10 cultivation tiers ago. Moreover, they start throwing around silly terms, and at one point even claim that the average cultivator has a battle power able to surpass two whole levels of cultivation. At which point you wonder why they don't just up everyone by two levels. With so much cultivation surpassing, you start to wonder why you even bother with a numbering system. And the attacks are just generic, so it feels like watching a Pokemon Go battle.

The antagonists went from just being fairly cookie cutter to being factory produced and stale. Every single one is either an arrogant Young Master of some major clan they just introduced, or they are the elder of that major clan taking vengeance for their Young Master after he picked a fight for no reason. And then once that elder is beat, some other Young Master shows up out of nowhere and picks a fight for no reason. Even after he's known as extremely powerful, people keep randomly picking fights.

By the point at which I dropped it, it was a 4/10. Generic, boring, and uninteresting. I recommend you drop it as soon as he leaves his home plane. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Overlord (LN)
December 16, 2016
Status: v9
This is a novel I loved.

But this is also a novel I dropped.

You might think these would normally be contradictory... but I couldn't bear to follow the main character anymore. The main character starts out seeming like a fairly ordinary guy trying to act like an Overlord, while his character infringes on his personality. He keeps doing things based on his morality and reining in his dark half, all the while attempting to make it seem plausible as an evil overlord. Those were the good old days.

Then, for almost no... more>> explicable reason, he starts to really become an evil overlord. If done right, this would be fine, especially if you show inner struggle. It was not done right. Instead, he inexplicably starts massacring people to "test his defenses", starts huge wars, and kills innocent people, as well as those that were once friendly acquaintances. Worst of all, it doesn't feel like the character grew; he isn't more decisive or confident. He goes from being an indecisive, low self esteem good ruler to an indecisive, low self esteem evil ruler.

Overall, great world building, slow plot, interesting and fun characters, all eventually ruined by an MC that goes from good to bad in more ways than one.

5/5 beginning, 4/5 middle, 2/5 end. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Saimin Regulation
July 7, 2019
Status: c81
I found this series. Instantly loved it. Hit my strike zone directly. Smart protagonist, hypnotism (and not that boring s*x doll s***), and smut? 5/5.

And then it got repetitive. The ideas were fairly stale, and you started getting a lot of repeats like "s*x in a classroom of mind controlled people". But that was still in the minority, and most of the stuff was new. There wasn't much plot, but it's a smut novel, so that was to be expected. At that point, it'd be a 4/5.

But since that's past... more>> tense, you can tell something changed. And here's what it is: I can stomach a protagonist who r*pes girls using hypnotism in my smut novels. But I cannot stomach it if that same protagonist r*pes girls, gets them pregnant, and then tosses them aside with a dismissive "their families will handle it" remark. I cannot stomach a protagonist who suddenly turns as dense as a pile of lead bricks when confessed to, tossing the confession aside as a joke before raping the girl. I signed up for a intelligent jerk, not an incredibly evil sociopath. 1/5.

Overall I give 3/5, as it is really good until it gets terrible. I haven't dropped it yet, and that should show how good it was early on when I can rate the current parts 1/5 and still have hope. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Rokujouma no Shinryakusha!?
May 13, 2018
Status: v1 afterword
This is yet another of my "didn't grab me" novel reviews. I tried to give this novel benefit of the doubt. Lots of people gave it good reviews. But as of the end of the first book I was sitting there going "sure, it's occasionally funny... but would I be reading this if not for the reviews?" And my answer was "No, not really." So I dropped it.

Normally, this wouldn't warrant a review, but I saw that the only reviews were 5 star, so I figured it would be good... more>> to throw in my opinion so that people don't have unrealistically high expectations, like I did.

It could have a great plot later on, and maybe the characters get better. But the first book was cookie cutter harem romantic comedy with nothing new and cardboard cutout single aspect characters, and it had no plot whatsoever.

I like harem, but the first book would be an example of "harem done wrong". It introduces all the girls in about 1 chapter each, and throws them at eachother. 5 girls in 8 chapters. It doesn't allow enough time to learn to like or care about them, and it doesn't give the author enough time to even have a plot in the first book.

All in all, it just came off as generic and stale. Maybe it gets better. But I can't recommend anything that I didn't find interesting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
God of Music
May 4, 2018
Status: --
I didn't read much of this, but it was a disappointing start. I read this after Top Management, and this just pales in comparison to that. The main character breezed through all the obstacles so far, is never stressed, and everyone magically agrees with him. There just isn't a feeling of resistance.

Everything goes too perfectly for him. Moreover, it just doesn't feel like an industry.

Overall, I recommend Top Management and not this.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Yes, it's a blatant ripoff of Overlord. Yes, it's not as good as Overlord in terms of setting. But honestly, I enjoyed it more than Overlord in some ways. WARNING: Overlord spoilers follow.

So here's my comparisons:

Overlord is better but the plot honestly never made sense to me; Ainz's decisions were never very rational and it felt like it was being dark and edgy for the sake of being dark and edgy, with stuff like the MC killing people he had treated as allies out of nowhere for completely irrational reasons... more>> like "I want to test the defenses of my impregnable death fortress by using the people I've already confirmed to be incomparably weaker than me" or "I want to start a war for no reason." I eventually dropped Overlord due to that (immediately following the big war).

Meanwhile this is not dark. It's a two dimensional power trip wherein the MC fully realizes his power and basically uses it to do whatever he wants, while leaving the details to his subordinates. Honestly, he feels like what I felt Ainz should be: A guy who was used to running an unrivaled guild. But what the end result is is that the MC feels more relatable than Ainz on many levels, but the plot is boring. The MC has no threats, and doesn't need to do anything because his comrades can handle it all, so he basically runs around with no worries whatsoever.

Which is better? Well... Overlord is better. Overwhelmingly. But this is honestly more enjoyable to me, and I can relate to the MC a bit more than Ainz, especially later arc Ainz.

At the end of the day, I remember Overlord as something I really liked but eventually left a bad taste in my mouth, and I enjoyed this novel, but I probably won't remember it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Sevens (LN)
October 9, 2019
Status: v3c32
I'm nowhere near the end yet; I'll probably get there without dropping it, as I've read worse things all the way through... but for all the positive reviews, this novel so far is just... mediocre?

I mean it's not bad, but the characters are two-dimensional archetypes, the comedy falls flat, and it suffers from almost every possible cliche you could shove into a Japanese fantasy novel.

The MC is immature, and the novel acknowledging that doesn't make it any less grating. The harem is forced on the MC by the plot, and... more>> so far he has done nothing to deserve it. The MC has next to no motivation, just drifting from place to place. Even the ancestors are all pretty much stereotypes.

I went in expecting a top notch novel with likable characters and so on, but all the people claiming that the harem is "realistic" and that the characters feel like real people aren't reading the same novel as me.

For those who haven't read it, here is a spoiler of the plot for the first two volumes in low detail; I suggest you read it because you've probably read it before anyways, in the form of one of a hundred Japanese Fantasy novels:

Spoiler

A young man gets kicked out of his house by his family for being too weak. He gets a magical macguffin from a family servant, and teams up with his devoted childhood friend (who loves him unconditionally because he "worked so hard") to go off and become and adventurer. Turns out, the magical macguffin contains the soul of a mentor figure (or in this case 7), who train him. He encounters a random girl in an ally and befriends her. She gets kidnapped. He rescues her, and she falls in love instantly. Another girl participating in the rescue also falls for him for no apparent reason. Volume 1 over.

Volume 2. He goes to a village that is in a border conflict, due to a body being found in their territory. The leader of the village is a pushover who is encouraged to conflict with the MC by his totally-not-evil brother who is the one that found the body with only one other witness and is now trying to push for a war. The other territory says that that was their retainer and that they think the first village was responsible. Then they find out from the other witness to finding the body that... WHAT? THE TOTALLY NOT EVIL BROTHER WAS EVIL ALL ALONG. Also the girls were probably there, but all I can remember is that one of them did a big magic attack.

In fact, it was such a poorly done twist that I almost suspected that wouldn't be the twist, because anyone with a brain would know that picking a fight with a territory 5 times your size was a bad idea, but apparently they wanted the story to both be predictable and run by idiots.

[collapse]

Maybe this story gets better; I may change my review if it does. But so far this novel is... bog standard. A bog standard japanese fantasy harem lead by a bog standard japanese fantasy MC who doesn't ever do anything to the girls despite leading them on constantly, in a bog standard japanese fantasy world filled with orcs and elves and nobles and adventurer guilds. The only thing that surprised me is that he wasn't a reincarnated guy from Japan who got hit by a truck, it's so standard. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Silent Crown
July 27, 2019
Status: --
Stuck with it forever and really enjoyed it for its action and character interactions and the unique setting (like really really unique).

Buuut... I have to only give it 3 stars, as it is becoming increasingly clear that the author doesn't know what he's doing with the plot or the setting. It gets more and more disfocused and plot threads are discarded and lost. In some ways it really feels like it's an actual world; more like a D&D campaign than a story. But I don't really feel like that is... more>> a good thing; it just ends up being out of place and disfocused in a novel like this.

It also quickly gets out of hand; the best parts of the novel were when the MC had to use limited powers to overcome the threats he faced through witty uses. By the end we are in some dragonball Z sh*t whereupon a literal god is calling down lightning from the heavens to oppose the MC's power of gathering the magic of all the musicians.

Overall however, the setting is enough to keep it interesting. I'd recommend you read it, but with low expectations; you'll probably eventually drop it, but you'll drop it with a feeling of "that was pretty decent but went a bit too weird; I wish the author had explored the plot more and paced things better". Anyone thinking "only a musician can read this" is also mistaken. These are musicians in the sense that they use music to cast magic, but really none of the music is relevant if you know what the songs do in universe. Also he kinda threw away the whole music part near the end, which is one of the reasons it fell out of my favor.

But of all the novels wherein famous musicians from real life fight eachother using the powers of mechsuits, Norse deities, Satan, King Arthur, the Leviathan from the bible, and the Great Wall of China, this has got to be my favorite. Give it a try, just so that you can see a novel that truly tried for a completely unique premise. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Sometimes you read something with positive reviews and you go "man what an amazing novel".

Sometimes you read it and go "my god this is a really boring cliche japanese novel about a guy using his knowledge of the modern world to use guns in a fantasy universe who has a harem of loli girls who love him because the author said so".

This happens to be the latter. I can stomach cliches, but the characters are so flat and boring. You have the MC, who has the personality of a piece... more>> of paper with a smiley face drawn on it that is taped to a gun, and you have the girls, who respectively can be summed up as "The fiesty one, the quiet one, and the flirty one"; if you've seen literally any harem anime ever you can get the rest from there; it's literally just the cliche archetypes. The only interesting person is Wight, the MC's strategist and troop commander. I'd much rather read a novel about him.

To make it worse, the MC is practically an unashamed pedofiliac in terms of his attitude, though no lines are crossed. I can get writing a loli harem; they are popular with some groups. But to do that you either need to have the MC disinterested in them, or you need to have them grow up over the course of the story so the MC can grow to love them. Instead the MC is constantly going over how cute they are and how he likes the feel of their skin while he sleeps in the same bed with him and it's phrased like it's supposed to be cute, but they literally give the girls descriptions of "looks like early teens", "looks like a small child" and "looks like 14", none of which are legal anywhere, including Japan, so this just gets creepy.

If you don't like OP protagonists, don't read this. If you do, there are better OP characters in other books to read. If you don't like harem, don't read this. If you do, still don't; there are better harem books to read. If you dislike lolis, don't read this. If you like lolis, you are weird, but still don't read this; there are still better books for that. As a person who likes cheat protagonists and harem novels, this was a massive failure. It is so cliche you'll simply feel like you are rereading older novels, except they've dropped in quality.

2 Stars, and only that because I like Wight's character and the action wasn't terrible. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
February 18, 2017
Status: c1131
I've changed my opinion on this one. At first I thought it was stale, and was having trouble keeping with it. The first 200 chapters weren't satisfying, and had a lot of jarring shifts in the action. It felt like watching a guy lose control of a horse and be pulled behind it by his shoelaces for 2 miles.

However it got better. It's still a chinese novel (it takes 40 chapters to do things that could've been done in 1), but it's satisfying and the characters... are alright. Most of... more>> them are pretty shallow.

It'd have a 3.5 out of 10 if it weren't a qidian premium book. It's not worth the $100 you'd need to fork out to read it. If you can find other places to read it, it'd be worth a read. Otherwise, don't even start reading it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
Krazyguy75 rated it
King of Gods
February 6, 2017
Status: c143
It's a solid novel, but I felt like I was watching a speedrun of a xianxia. That's not a bad thing, and it didn't really feel rushed (to be fair most xianxias are slow as heck). But still.

Mostly generic xianxia spoiler:
... more>>
Spoiler

It took barely more than 100 chapters for him to beat the top person of his sect's outer disciples, join the inner disciples, beat the best inner disciple, get adopted by another great teacher, beat the top person of that, join a sect in a new realm, and beat the top person of the outer disciples there, and become an inner disciple.

[collapse]

It's nothing special. It's good, but not special. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Krazyguy75
I'm not really giving a full review here; I just wanted to drop in and say that this is well written and well paced, but terribly illustrated. The illustrations of the girls are so depressingly boring and non-erotic. It feels like an R15 artist trying R18 stuff. There isn't any sense of arousal or attraction to them. Even the art style is hopelessly generic and boring; I went in looking for a sense of what the character looked like, and came out feeling like I'd had a better defined vision... more>> of the character before I saw it.

I recommend giving this a read, but avoid the pictures; even looking at them detracted from my interest in the characters. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report