Report Review
21 Reviews


Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Against the Gods
February 8, 2017
Status: --
Top commentators don't give this WN justice. If you find this repetitive, then you can as well don't start to read 95% of xuanhua novels, because they are basically have same concept and pattern. Or you even can just watch Dragonball one time and then forget about "become stronger" genre in any form. Why strong and independent women like MC? Maybe because he is super-cool-badass-best-in-multiverse guy? And please don't use your monogamy ideals on society where polygamy is fully accepted, if you want pure-love-story, then you can read Clannad or... more>> some another drama-romance VN. But where else if not in ATG and similar series can you find harem of godlike girls with super-power who love MC because he badass fighter and ruthless to enemies? Slaughtered clan? He gave them chance to surrender, but they forced him again and again, it is not? Well, compared to millions killed by him in previous life this is not worth mentioning. People bear consequences of wrong decision from their superiors, this is not very good, but on the other hand they live in dangerous and ruthless world and survivors can make troubles to his family later on. Too OP MC? Plot armour? Arrogant villains? Is not this is most delicious parts of this genre? And that about Demon Hall speech? This is one of the best part in ATG! Overall this is one of the most entertaining translated works in genre, world building is great, strength system is interesting, battles is good written. But if you are feminist who hate harems and want to read about saint, or super-fun of pseudo-intellectual ITTH (full of plot-holes in world building and strength levels) and most of the other similar novels like MGA / Martial World is too barbaric for you, then you can just choose something else for your pastime. <<less
55 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Martial World
August 10, 2018
Status: Completed
Completed it about two years ago. One of the best "weak to strong" type of novels out there. It has very deep and touching romance in later half (even though romance with girls from lower world is underdeveloped, but two harem members from higher world have best romance development I ever read in this type of novel) as well as some very interesting plot twists (again in later half). It have very consistent power levels and world building (compared for example to such popular novels like ISSTH and AWE or... more>> TTNH in which levels of power often inconsistent) except some minor details main of which is the fact what author sometimes introduce some new system and then her either forget about it, or it becomes irrelevant very soon, or it re-emerges only much later, this is usual thing for this type of novels though. There wasn't any "turn-off" moments like MC raping someone or slaughtering clan including innocent people in it. Some people dislike how there is often people to be amazed by how cool MC is, but I think this is important part of "get stronger" novel - I'm much more annoyed when no one could see what MC is super genius and treat him like they treat anyone else. For example in A Will Eternal (a little spoiler for AWE, DON'T READ if you afraid of even minor spoilers) we could see what Bai Xiaochun is absolute genius, he is youngest Deva ever who could fight above his level and still he is treated like any other person of similar cultivation and no one could see his potential which is above Celestial, lol. In this novel there wouldn't be such a thing - when MC shows his talents everyone acknowledge it and shocked as they should be.

Overall this is one of the best "become strong in one place and then go to other place and become stronger there until you are strongest" type of novel which introduce some interesting plots closer to end and that is rare for this type of novel (usually ending is either too rushed or anticlimactic). <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
March 2, 2019
Status: c117
This one reminded me One Punch Man more than anything else. Fun comedy based on misunderstandings with OP MC who have a peculiar personality. IDK why people compare it to Overlord, there are hardly any similarities between novels other than the names of certain subordinates.

But don't get it wrong - MC isn't a happy-go-lucky guy, the story isn't fluffy, rather - both characters and world are somehow dark and cruel. MC is borderline crazy, he is psychopath who kills people as "game" (even though they are bad people, but still),... more>> basically he lives with only one purpose - To Be a Power in the Shadows, and there is nothing more important to him, he is abnormal on level of MC from Dungeon Defense. The difference is MC here is clueless in intrigues and whatnot, he just solves any problems with his power even when he doesn't even understand wtf is happening. Like "IDK what is going on, but I will just kick enemy's ass and be cool power in the shadows".

If you like fast-paced OP MC comedy with some dark elements in it then it is definitely for you.

As for "bad writing" comments. This novel just doesn't have any unnecessary description of each little thing, like original OPM manga has bad art without anything unnecessary. It just tells you the story the author wants to tell with all little details removed. In the first 10 chapters of this novel happened more things than in 100 chapters of some "good written slow-paced" ones. It isn't "good or bad", it is just completely different genres of writing. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Martial God Asura
May 11, 2016
Status: --
This is one of my first readed chinese novels and one of the most interesting. There is always something happen, action is never ended, MC always have some objectivities and enemies whom he need to destroy. But this novel is underrated because some people has very strange moral codex, for example...

... more>>
Spoiler

And second, he rapes women and thinks it’s only reasonable because they tried to kill him and the people close to him. *sigh* maybe the author has a fetish for rape or something. Isn’t it enough that he kill them instead?

[collapse]
This way of thinking is totally retarded, how can rape be worse then killing? And, moreover, fully justified rape committed by very attractive person? In west society really so many people who believe in radical feminist theory with this twisted and unscientific logic? And yes, large percent of people have rape fetish, women included, because rape is form of dominance and humans like to dominate or be dominated, even killing is just another form of dominance, this is a one of the reason why people kill each other in the first place.

All actions of MC in MGA is totally normal for ancient China and you can even say that he is too lenient in some moments. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
King of Gods
September 30, 2017
Status: Completed
Great wishfulfilment novel from beginning to end. If you don't want to see how MC raise from weak boy in a backcountry to the literally God of the World, then why would you even be here? This is the best part of the Chinese novels, if you want just the story, then there are a lot of west and Japanese books with deep and complex storytelling, but there are almost no such strength ride like here. This is just weak to strong story without all these things which can distract... more>> you from it. There is no such cruelty like in Martial God Asura, there is no super harem like in Against the God, there is no inconsistent power levels like in Emperor Domination, this is straightforward like RPG, but with its unique moments. If you liked these mentioned novels, then you'll probably like it as well. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
May 6, 2019
Status: c1770
Stereotypical "domination instinct" type of Chinese web-novels. Same like with RPG games it makes you addicted to lvl-ups and killing enemies, difference is - in those type of novels NPCs try to offend you with words or actions, lol. The reason why this typical web-novel has a somehow higher rating is probably humor - there are some comedy elements, even though it is extremely stupid, but if your standards are low it would make you laugh more than once. The world-building is weak, power levels are all the same and... more>> not original at all, relationships with girls are non-existent and underdeveloped, etc, etc. The only two things you could get from this novel are a bunch of stupid (but fun) jokes about dog's fart and unlimited killing of one dimensional NPCs who offended MC. Still it could be fun if you have way too much free time and got tired from MOBA games, in fact feeling you get from those types of entertainment is very similar. Also - you could just drop this novel after MC conquer his Saint Origin world, because his adventure in the Immortal world is incomplete and most events are just repeated, lol. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
August 3, 2018
Status: c80
I don't understand why this novel rated so high, really. More than half of it is somehow boring and repetitive group fights against mobs - it is like playing low level World of Warcraft except quests in WOW are much more original than in this novel. Other part of the novel is repetitive jokes which are somehow fun in first 30 chapters or so. The only good part about the novel is serious moments in "real world" and flashbacks, but they are less than 5% of the story. Someone said... more>> in his review what MC is very op in the game, but this is just not true - compared to, for example, Sura's Wrath he is weakling and not OP at all. Here we see what while protagonist extremely strong in real world, but in game world he is just a little above average than ordinary people and his superpowers don't give him significant bonus, instead his power in game mostly from "borrowed luck". Game system is boring and so far there is no real challenge at all, even if you die in the game it doesn't have any serious consequences. From other reviews you could see what this wouldn't become better or more serious and there is no overarching plot, this is why I dropped this novel. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
Heavenly Star
May 17, 2016
Status: --
Read up to 300+ chapters, well, this novel has many similar to ATG and Shura Wrath aspects, but strength system pretty much too simple and, in more then half of the story behind, MC has only 4 lvlups, moreover battles mostly not very excited. In beginning novel is interesting even on the story alone, but, because Ye Chen has MANY girls, plot progression is not very fast and you soon can find it a little boring. And another point - in this novel almost all enemies not doing anything objectively... more>> wrong and some of them even good people, but in any case they would be destroyed by MC. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
I'll rate is as 5 to compensate all those 1 stars, lol. That people expect from a novel which have a title what directly saying what this is pure netorare porn? This is strange, you know, for example on exhentai most netorare works have high rating at least 4, 5/5 because most people know what they want to see. Also I could say what netorare isn't exactly masochistic fetish, rather it allow you to associate yourself with both sides - guy who steal girl and guy from whom girl is... more>> stolen, which is rather unique and addictive experience and have much harder emotional impact than majority of other genres of porn, this is why ntr works are rather popular among Japanese porn.

This novel does its work well, though as one of review said it feels more like netorase, but in later chapters it slowly transforms into true netorare. Also I laughed on the top comment somehow, why would author try to solve a curse which is most important point of the novel, to the point of being mentioned in the title itself? Also MC tried to find a way and this is why they decided to travel to a place where Dark Goddess lives and this is main objective of their travel. Unlike most ntr protagonists MC here have some balls and powers, he lending his girls, but still have some extent of control and can kill guys if they annoy him. At least at beginning you could see what MC and his gf just use other guys to satisfy their fetishes which were forced on them by a curse.

I found this novel because there is visual novel based on it which was released recently, anyone who liked the novel should check it out.

upd. It seems what vn just have same title, but completely different story, lol. It is shame because the novel is well written and visual novel is much more generic. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Release that Witch
September 23, 2018
Status: c234
Someone said what "this is just another form of wishfulfillment type of web-novels" and I'm glad what this is it, because otherwise it would be super boring. So called wishfulfillment novels exist because they are interesting for us humans, they use our basic instincts to become addictive. If Release that Witch was just "realistic kingdom building" then it would be super boring novel, actually "realistic" parts weren't really interesting and it is good what most of the works was done by witches - this is how it should be. First... more>> hundred chapters or so was very interesting, there was a lot of conflicts and some intrigues with industrialisation and some science in between. But later this novel started to deviate from its initial path, fights and conflicts become more rare and most problems were solved way too fast, while we get a lot POV's of other characters, often those POVs were irrelevant to the main plot or just plain boring. There is not enough wishfulfillment in this novel and I prefer eastern type of novels precisely because it have it, instead of telling me plain boring story which is the case for vast majority of western literature. It would be more fun to see how MC conquer one country after another (like in Sengoku Rance, lol) while making progress in science and technology, instead here so far we have only three main "enemy sides" and nothing what couldn't be beaten (or rather one sidedly slaughtered) by already developed technology in case it would be expanded to army of 10 000 of soldiers or more. Also people mentioned what "how MC could know so much", you people think what everyone stop to learn something new after completing the school, or something? I know some people who have very broad knowledge in all basic science disciplines and if they were in place of MC then could do much more than he is, just because intelligent people don't talk with you about science doesn't mean what they have same level of knowledge as you are, MC here is just a little above average in basic knowledge and have a little above average memory, that is all.


Other than that there is no solid romance or some incredible plot twists in the novel, there is no amazing and unique characters so far either, so it is hard to say how good it is, maybe my opinion would be changed if I'll read to later chapters. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Reverend Insanity
June 1, 2018
Status: v4c200
First two volumes of this novel are awesome, but later it goes downhill. As one of comments already mentioned volume 4 is boring. All good points already were mentioned in other reviews. And here are main downsides which made me to temporarily drop the novel (maybe I'll read it again when it would be completed, because it is definitely unique read) :

  1. There is no romance (he could at least f**k some girls..), no friendship and even no enmity. MC basically treats all people in same way (using them in one way or other). At the start it could be interesting, but later it becomes boring. Also MC don't have any desires other than to become immortal, for example he is as*xual (and there is no s*x-scenes even when they could actually make sense).
  2. Author sucks at mathematics to the point of creating glaring plot holes, specially when talking about immortals. You'll understand what I'm talking about at second half of 3 volume and it is even more obvious in 4 volume.
  3. More than half of the novel (starting from 4 volume) is about highest stages of cultivation, i.e. MC already have power not very far away from top tier masters half-way through the novel and then he will gain his power very slowly.
  4. There are no flashbacks about past life of MC until (what I know from spoilers) volume 5. I think what we should have at least few chapters about how MC lived in his past life, specially in first volume it could be very interesting. I wanted to see contrast between how MC was "nice guy" in his past life and was shooed away by his clan to how he become cruel but successful in his new one. Up until now his past life was almost completely irrelevant to the story emotion-wise, it was just information about the future and some of his cultivation experiences.
Overall I could rate it at 6.8/10, but from what other people said best part is 5 volume so I plan to continue reading it later.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
May 18, 2017
Status: c175
I have read a little ahead of translation and ended up almost drop this novel, but I still continue to read because of reviews of people who completed this.

I like harems and in my opinion successful man can't be completely monogamous as this goes against our nature. But I hate the fact that most heroines so far are "innocent virgins" that have never had a man before they meet MC, even if they are almost 30 and have outstanding looks, lol. More than that they have very strange understanding of... more>> relationships.

That makes me almost drop this novel:

Spoiler

One girl from Yang's work didn't become closer to him even after he saved her from rape, all because she has boyfriend that currently in the army. She waited him to come back for 3-5 years. But now we find out that he has returned a year ago and find himself a new girlfriend. But I don't blame him, after all THEY EVEN DIDN'T KISSED WITH HIS EX LOVER. Yes, they even didn't kissed, let alone have s*x, but this 28 years old (?) adult woman still thought about him as her boyfriend for years and she even has guts to not go out with our cool MC. Only after she find out that her so called lover already find himself new girlfriend (no reason to blame him, he is absolutely right in this) she decide to accept our MC, lol. Funny thing - if this bastardly boyfriend returned to her and not find other girl, then heroine still would be with him, because she is absolutely stupid and naive, like 14 years old girl. And other than her there is 23 year old teacher of whom MC think as of another elementary school girl. More than half of the harem like this. I would understand it in the fantasy novel, but not in the modern world one. I would understand it if they were lolis in their puberty, but not an adult businesswomen.

[collapse]

That I liked this novel for is fightings, and interactions with main heroines (Rose and wife). I wish there would be more action and xianxia like things later, so I still try to ignore above mentioned flaws and still continue to read. But this moment pissed me off enough to make review.

I've completed the novel and can definitely recommend it, even though it has some drawbacks, at least there is some interesting plot twists and the ending is satisfying enough, that is rare for chinese web-novels. After first few hundreds chapters there is less new heroines with pointless drama and more character development and fights. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Great Demon King
January 15, 2018
Status: c200
I've dropped this one at 200 something chapter, can't remember accurately because it was about a year ago.

Main reason for that was - this is power trip type novel, but power rankings are sh*tty. MC killed 5 rank enemies when he was 2-3 rank himself. And then he get lvlup and lvlup and another lvlup... And still his enemies are 5 rank. And even after multiple lvlups with OP abilities and his rank 4 he still fights against 5 ranked enemies, even struggling sometimes. At last when he becomes 5... more>> rank he can fight 6 rankers! Only if they are countered by his abilities (like dark mages)... He supposed to be OP, get OP abilities, but he don't become really stronger, lol. It could be tolerated if it was plot based novel, but it is definitely not. There is no serious plot, MC just fight enemies, get abilities and items, romance girls and joke around. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
Adolescent Adam
June 23, 2017
Status: --
NTR-haters would drop this novel because they'll think there is a lot of NTR. But NTR-lovers would be disappointed because there is no proper netorare, just half-assed one. Instead there is vanilla porn of all possible types. Vanilla rape, vanilla tentacle, vanilla harems and at last vanilla pseudo-NTR, lol. So if you are NTR-fun like me, then you can just ignore this. And if you are vanilla-man, then you can read for example "Sisters Violated Many Times in Dream and Reality... " to know that is really can be considered... more>> as netorare, so you no longer mislead people. And then you can just enjoy this sweet story about demons, angels and a s*x. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
April 14, 2017
Status: c115
Dropped. Just can't read it any more because of one very-very stupid moment that pissed me off.

... more>>
Spoiler

There are Fiend Tide and some cultivators sacrifice themselves to save some strangers. Even though they can easily run away. And only one guy who said rational things was ostracised and looked down as trash. Yes, just some random cultivators (among them young girl) decided to sacrifice themselves without second thought, just to save some strangers and this is described as heroism. No, this is idiotism. And I'm afraid that later such pseudo-patriotic BS would be repeated over and over again, thanks no.

[collapse]

upd 1. I give this novel another chance and I can say what after 300-400 chapters it becomes much better (I'm now 1200+ chapters in) and all shortcomings (over idealistic MC, boring fights, slow cultivation etc) compensated by very interesting villains, plot twists and world building. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
Coiling Dragon
September 29, 2016
Status: v9
Plot is pretty good in first 8 volumes or so. But power system is too boring, as well as fights. Plotwise this novel is better then most in this genre, but not if compared to plot oriented books or games. Although I can understand why people who read it as one of the first xianxia like it.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin
Log Horizon
March 2, 2019
Status: v2
Dropped this novel after completing first volume when I read it long-long time ago. Why, you ask? There is big flaw this story have - "gameplay", it is flawed to the point of becoming a plot-hole. This is supposed to be based on popular MMORPG. Did someone played one like WOW or Lineage 2? High level characters have tens of skills (at least 20-30), all of which should be used in right way. And what about "Elder Tale"?

MC treated as OP just because he could use 2 common support skills.... more>> Based on what I read in first volume it is an MMORPG with character development on level of first DOTA where each class have very limited amount of skills, to the point of it being absurd. It would be fine if it was supposed to be an VMMO game from the start, because you don't need much skills in a game where player control his own body. But in keyboard+mouse type of game? It just doesn't make sense. It feels as if author never played MMO game. "Oh, wow, MC could cast support skills!". Well, in almost any MMORPG support classes are very important, why would it be so super rare in this one? Also IDK why people compare it to SAO, other than some similarities in setting they are completely different novels with not much common points. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
February 26, 2019
Status: c2200
From reviews and rating you could see what it is definitely worth reading. But eventually this novel have some serious flaws later in the story, though most people read only translated chapters so for them it is hard to tell.

Main problem of this novel is, surprisingly, its cultivation system and power levels. They are inconsistent and rather random - author unreliable and he changes his mind after 100 chapters or so. If he tells you what "X" realm is rare and powerful in "Y" world, you could be sure what... more>> it is a BS because few hundred chapters later you will found out what in this same world there are countless masters of same power. It is fine when power levels changes after MC ascending higher realms, but here author change power levels without changing place, he just contradicts to his earlier words, the problem is he doing it each time.
Spoiler

MC arrived in higher world? Author tells you masters of "X" level are so powerful and rare. Then MC instead of training to become such master just get some random fast level up and now author tells you "actually you know, masters of this level means nothing in this realm, they aren't as rare as I said before". It happens each time. And you know what else? Author creates some special abilities for certain realms and then forget about them, for example King level masters supposed to have some cool "self-destruction" skill, but it was used (by enemy) only ONCE in this whole novel and then never mentioned again, lol.

For those who wants to read raws - the worst part of the novel starts after MC leaves Nine Heavens Continent. It adds bunch of power levels which are randomly skipped, it adds bunch of new characters which are underdeveloped and discarded soon. What else? The novel is actually incomplete and never would be. :)

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Legend of the Great Saint
September 28, 2018
Status: c300
This novel is one of the best in the genre among those I read. It manage to have above average story and characters, but at the same time don't deviate from standard formula too much to make reader bored - there are always challenges, level ups and enemies, there is no boring arcs where nothing happens like in most "plot based" novels. So far world building is consistent and there is no major plot holes either. Even though novel use standard xianxia power system (qi refining, foundation building, golden dan... more>> and nascent soul realms), but it actually have much more original cultivation system than most novels, specially in case of MC.

Author could make us feel that even weaker enemies not just random small fries, but actually people with power and status, at least in current environment of MC. For example (and comparison) in Will is Eternal MC was from the start put in the sect with Nascent Soul level elders so it was unavoidable what almost all enemies he met felt like just insignificant characters, at least until he become more powerful. This novel on contrary allow you to have a feeling of "frog in a well" by gradually making a level of environment higher, starting from small insignificant village where just being brave is enough to intimidate most people and become respected strongman. But unlike novels like MGA there is no such exaggerated feeling as if author tries to cheat us and making ants look strong, power progression feels realistic and making perfect sense.

This novel feels somehow similar to Reverend Insanity (Gu daoist) in terms of how it could integrate "weak to strong" theme with decent story and characters, also MC here not easy going "hero of justice", he could do cruel things, but unlike MC from RI he is human-like and relatable. And you actually could see how his character changes step by step, even in later parts of the novel there are some character development. Also there is one certain character who reminds me about MC from RI, she is very nice girl actually, lol.

Overall, so far, this is a novel which is worth it to read RAWs. Too bad it was put on hiatus and based on relatively slow cultivation progression it is unlikely what within 1600 chapters story reached its apex. But it is not so bad, considering what most such novels have sh*tty and / or rushed endings anyway.

upd. After reading to 1300+ chapters I eventually dropped it when last completed book started. Like it is common for those type of novels it become worse after transcending to new world. Some cultivation stages get skipped, story become rushed and old characters play lesser role in the plot even if they were important before. You could read and enjoy this story to fullest though if you just stop after they defeat main enemy in starting world. It is on hiatus anyway, so no big deal. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Konstantin
Konstantin rated it
Sword Art Online
July 11, 2018
Status: v12
I have read it long time ago few years before release of anime adaptation and back then I still didn't read a lot of novels so my standards was low and eventually I reread this for about 2-3 times. Now after reading A LOT of different fictions I still can say what SAO is awesome in Phantom Bullet and Alicization arcs if you could bring yourself to either read or skip less interesting arcs.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report