Report Review
20 Reviews


Kleep
Kleep rated it
Picked up by the Protagonist of a Tormented! MC Novel
September 11, 2018
Status: Completed
Is it conceited of me to leave a great review for my own translation?

When I first chose this novel, it was for a few reasons. The first was that it's a slow burn. Second was because I really liked the MC. Thirdly, the ending seemed quite lovely.

I appreciate that, due to the slower pace, there is good plot and character development. There are some very likeable and strong female characters, which is not always as common in BL.

There are some very sweet moments, as well as some very bittersweet moments.... more>> There are cute and funny moments, and some rough ones. Watching it metamorphose from the start, when they are two children against the world, to their end destination is a very worthwhile journey.

As for the quality of the translation, well, you'll have to decide that for yourself. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Runaway Guide
December 29, 2017
Status: c28
So, as you can see, I have only read one chapter. I really enjoyed it! I'm mostly here to offset the random troll who gave a two star rating for no apparent reason (BL hater?).

Editing to add: I love it. No changes here.

The intro was well done, the story set up is intriguing, and the description sounds great. Once we get further along with the translation I will be back to amend this.

Looking forward to where it goes!
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Screen Partner
April 22, 2018
Status: Completed
Don't let the description (that I should really have done a better job on) fool you!

This story is a great mix of realism (for a BL), comedy, sweetness, and hot hot hot smut! The characters are pretty fun, their thoughts will make you laugh, and their deeds will make you blush.

It seems that this type of plot would just be a smutfest, but while there is certainly spicy scenes, there's some pretty good plot to go with it.

Definitely give it a try. And I'm not just saying that because I... more>> TL it. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Reborn As a System
January 25, 2018
Status: c103
This is one of my favourite BL novels that I've read. The characters are really well done, their relationship is well paced and nicely portrayed. The worlds they visit are very interesting, and the plot does not revolve just around physical intimacy (although there will be some of that at some point). Although the ML comes on strong ... more>>
Spoiler

yandere to the bone, also for the interested party up there he is the gong

[collapse]
he's respectful and has some good development.

MC isn't a white lotus, and he is quite funny.

It's a unique look at a common theme, so there are some familiar elements, but you certainly won't regret picking it up. Says the one translating it. The spoiler thread is very in depth so if you want to let the story remain a bit of a surprise I would recommend not going there, but if you can't wait, well--you wouldn't be the first!!

The only slight downside is that maybe it feels just a little bit rushed at the end, but I think that the story is still wrapped up well so it's not a disappointment--rather the author just didn't use room they had. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
June 13, 2018
Status: c61
Is your pancreas working? Okay, great. Then you're safe to read this novel. It is so sweet!

We have a 30 year old 'reborn' into his 13 year old self. He's gonna make up for some mistakes, and get some vengeance.

A few of the things I really appreciate in this novel are:

    • Character development: how the various characters are changed and grow based on their little family
    • Brocon: who doesn't love a good brocon?
    • Very sweet, and quite funny
Not to mention, the updates are very fast and well done. There is also great music with the chapters.

Spoiler

In FICTION, it has one of my fave couplings. AKA - brothers. I love brother x brother to death. And the older bro is hilarious. It is borderline with MC being only 13, but other than eating tofu a bit nothing actually happens until he's older. So, I accept.
Once again, in fiction.

[collapse]

Read it, for sure.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
November 28, 2017
Status: c12
Very enjoyable. Well written and translated. I like that there is a bit more of the cultivation/fighting aspect than some Danmei novels. Although it could do well without. There is still a ways to go, but the story has been set up very well.

I guess if things go sideways I'll come edit my review, but I'm feeling pretty positive. We just need our ML to grow up at this point!
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
November 28, 2017
Status: c24
One of the best Danmei on NU in my opinion.

The story is well thought out and well paced. The characters are well fleshed out and interesting, there's a lot of great humour.

The action is exciting, and the drama is just right.

I'm a huge BL fan but I think that anyone could enjoy this. The translations are also excellent, which really improves readability.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Picked up a Strange Knight
May 13, 2018
Status: c18
Even though this is a short novel, it certainly doesn't suffer for that reason. The characters are well fleshed out, the setting is fun, the pacing is nicely done, and it's great to read.

It is still able to grab hold of your emotions, and to top it all off... the smut is soooo good.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
The story is engaging and unique. The characters are fun and well fleshed out. The pacing so far is well done. The translation quality is great.

I definitely recommend this.

Spoiler

It's also kind of fun how there are so many reborn characters, that even though they are all trying to make all these moves to change their fate, they get in each other's way in a sense.

[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Fox Demon Usurping The Throne Daily
January 9, 2019
Status: Completed
It's very short, and very cute. If you're looking for a deep saga that thoroughly explores every character's thoughts and develops them... well good luck.

Despite it being short, it hits a lot of high notes. It's very fun and cute, a great read for a few minutes. I don't regret the short time I dedicated to it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
The Prince’s Loyal Lover
June 28, 2018
Status: c6
Is this a deep, meaningful, plot driven story? No. It's 6 chapters.

Rather than that, it is a funny light hearted little tale. Our saucy MC just wants a good top. Is that too much to ask? It's quick, funny, cute, and a little bit s*xy.

You might as well read it, you'll definitely enjoy it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
December 2, 2017
Status: c282
I have been a big fan of xianxia for a while, as well as BL. This was the first danmei novel that I jumped into, and I love it. I would say that while I enjoy most danmei that I read, this one has it's own category. I love the cultivation/levelling aspect of xianxia, and that sometimes gets left a bit by the wayside in BL (No real complaints here) so it's awesome to get more of that. It's also nice that there isn't a harem of any sort, but... more>> rather a devoted couple. Their interactions are quite fun and often sweet. I see a few reviews talking about the power difference being a negative, but I don't necessarily see it that way.

On one side you have
Spoiler

a super powerful emperor beast that has been alive for millenia

[collapse]
and on the other side you have a cute little bun who is 18 years old. I think it would be strange if there wasn't a steep power differential, especially when it comes to xianxia where might makes right. Despite being overbearing,
Spoiler

he totally dotes on Momo and would do anything to keep him safe and in his arms

[collapse]
. I understand that type of relationship is not everyone's cup of tea, but I would say that YXM definitely proves his worth on his own, and a certain LX reminds him that he's not all that great. A little humility isn't the worst thing
Spoiler

not that LX has any, but he's the perfect power top, which happens to appeal to me and, I think, many others

[collapse]
.

The translations are superb, the update speed is quick, and the story is delightful. I have no complaints, and if you're a huge fan of xianxia, this is definitely for you. If you like BL this is for you. If you aren't sure about BL, this is a good gateway. It mostly focuses on their relationship, and the *** is pretty easy to skip over if you want. But don't. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
A Guide to Raising Your Natural Enemy
December 24, 2018
Status: c49
This novel is one of my favourites to read. It is very sweet and fluffy so far, and I’m always excited to see an update.

Our MC is a hamster that cultivated a human form, while our ML is a snake beastman. Some major predator/prey struggles to overcome there!

Their interactions are quite nice, and the development has followed a great pace so far.

The world setting is very interesting as well. I like the concept of the beastman/sub-beast setting and the dynamic it has brought to the novel thus far.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Spring Trees and Sunset Clouds
September 21, 2018
Status: Completed
Thank you, Rikko, for your wonderful work on this novel. It truly is unique amongst a lot of the translated BL out there right now. It has a slow pace and a gentle feeling, but I never once felt bored reading it. The characters are so well fleshed out and the romance is so sweet. The language is also truly beautiful.

Despite that, it really explores some serious and deep subject matter. Fortunately, rather than aiming to shock with graphic and morbid details, it's really a journey of truly coming back... more>> to life despite the hardships.

I'm so thankful I got the opportunity to read this one. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Really enjoying this so far. The world has been well established, the MC is very cute. If you don't like OP MCs then this is the one for you. The translation is done well. I will possibly add more once we get further, but so far I'm loving the set up.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Let Me Tease You
December 20, 2017
Status: extra 4
I really loved this one. I was curious going in since the reviews varied a bit but I was very happy. I enjoyed the characters and their interactions. I felt like the pacing was good. The focus on cultivation etc was fairly small and the story was more focused on the characters and the mystery they are solving.

I would have loved more to the story because it was so well done, but I don't mind that it wasn't there. What needed to be said was said. The story was well... more>> wrapped up, and I feel that the characters developed well throughout.

Also, for those of you who love some good consent, there's lots of that here! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Who Dares Slander My Senior Brother
November 28, 2017
Status: c27
This is a great story! It is still rather early, but I've really enjoyed how they are directing the plot. The MC doesn't seem particularly OP which is nice for a change. He's pretty cute, and his interactions with everyone are great.

The story flows nicely, the pace is good--slower than some similar novels but I don't think that's bad in any way. I am looking forward to more. Read it!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
Kleep rated it
Looking Over at the Guy Across the Way
March 27, 2019
Status: c26
This type of story is right up my alley. It is sweet, smutty, and fun. There is low drama, and that’s just right.

It it feels like a relatively realistic situation. And the smut is great. I love it.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
I love all danmei, even if it follows the formula to a T. However, this one is definitely one of my favourites. The characters are very unique, their interactions interesting, and the pacing is great.

They don't instantly fall in love.

... more>>
Spoiler

They actually spend a few years "practicing magic" on MC.

[collapse]

ML's development throughout the story, and MC's growth despite his own troubles really make for a great read. Weaving through all of this is their cute romance, and to be honest I love a yandere ML more than I can express.

I personally would love a bit more of the xianxia (or whatever it is in this case) aspect, but this story really doesn't need it--what's included is quite excellent.

It's also worth noting that the translations are done very well, the translator includes cute art from the manga, and the updates are frequent. Don't skip this one if you like BL, and consider it if you are curious. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kleep
kleepart rated it
Atypical Reincarnation
March 20, 2018
Status: c172
So I see that this novel is not getting a lot of love. In a way, I totally get it. There were a lot of moments that made me shake my head. Typical Xianxia tropes, but funny enough they sometimes just spring up randomly.

... more>>
Spoiler

The usual aphrodisiac came outta nowhere, went nowhere.... made zero sense, did nothing for the plot

[collapse]

However, I actually do quite enjoy this. I will often give these stories a chance, and then decide after a while if I want to stick with them. And, so far, I want to stay with this one.

And I don't even like harems. And usually I don't stray from BL.

Unique--maybe not. However, I find it fun, I like the characters, I like the world and the martial powers they have in it. The translations are very well done, and very quick as well. So I will continue to read, and occasionally groan at the ridiculous nature of this novel, but also secretly love it. What can I say, I'm just a sucker for this genre, tropes and all. I also love the shameless MC. He's kinda terrible, and kinda great. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report