Report Review
17 Reviews


Kikiji
There are a lot of contradictions made in the setting in order to put the main character in a better light and even most of the misunderstandings are forced. In addition, nearly all of the characters are reduced to shallow foils for the protagonist- an 100% Mary Sue. I ended up skimming the last few chapters, hoping that at least the general plot would be good but even that disappointed me. The only good point I found- the original idea of a fluffy, amusing story about a revenge character spending... more>> time with the Demon Lord. Unfortunately everything else spoiled it. So if you're into Mary Sues right now (everyone has a phase like that once in a while) then by all means give it a chance- I'll recommend it. But if you're not, I think you have better things to spend your time on. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Do You Remember My Name?
April 13, 2018
Status: c8
This story is well translated so a big thank you to the translator and editor for their good work.

I love the main character and his current teacher, both of whom are types of characters that are either poorly portrayed or rarely seen in these kinds of stories so it was somewhat refreshing and gladdening. I haven't found anything noticably bad about the story itself so under normal circumstances, I would continue reading.

However I don't think I can stand the ML's behavior for much longer. He just toes the line of... more>> discomfort for me and I think he might start jumping over it soon so I'm pulling out while I'm ahead.

It's great that he cares for the MC, but his actions have already made me uncomfortable on several instances. Though being overbearing and slightly unreasonable are traits commonly found in Chinese romance MLs, the ML tops it off by lying even when he doesn't have to (a compulsive liar perhaps?) and he decieves the MC frequently (albeit with no maliciousness). I stopped reading once this happened:

Spoiler

The ML swapped the MC's medication with calcium pills and another similar type of pill I think? It was done with good intentions because the ML believes the medicine the MC currently takes for his social anxiety can be harmful to the body (though I wonder if he found that out through Google/Baidu or something). However as someone who isn't knowledgeable about that area of study, he shouldn't have done that, especially without the knowledge of the patient (or even trying to discuss it with him to get it done through the appropriate channels). It's just wrong and (potentially) dangeous on so many levels. (Has he ever heard of withdrawal symptons? Does he understand how frightening it would be to experience that and have no idea why? His doctors would also be under the misconception that he's been on that medication ans plan accordingly. And that's only a small part of it.) If I read further, maybe I'll find out something that would soften the blow. But as of now this is how I see it.

[collapse]

He's way too incredibly willful. His first reaction was to do something himself without anyone knowing rather than oh I don't know telling him hey I'm worried about how this medicine is dangerous for you to take.
I just really don't want to stick around to find out what else he'll get up to. (He's already driving without a license on top of everything else.) I guess, if anything, the ML's actions are very in-character and it's nice to see how flawed he is. It gives him an extra dimension. However if the author never shows the consequences for his actions and flaws, then I'll have to lower my evaluation on that part.

This story is pretty good and has potential. But personally, this type of ML really doesn't appeal to me. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
So What If You’ve Been Reborn?
June 21, 2018
Status: c12
This story went beyond my expectations. Unlike the typical novels found here, the characters are unique (not copy-and-pastes of other BL genre MCs and MLs), the world building was sensible and well thought out, and the plot shows a realistic depiction of how the story and timeline can change with multiple characters who have experienced rebirth. On top of that, the translator does excellent, thorough work. I never expected to come across a novel like this here but I definitely hope to find more like this one in the future.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
The main characters in this story are a refreshing break from the usual in this type of reincarnated/transmigrated to Ancient China type of story. Jing Yue is very bold and daring, never afraid of retaliating when someone goes against her. It's always satisfying when she fights back, but I sometimes feel like a mother, a bit anxious for her and hoping that she won't get into so much trouble that she won't be able to dig herself out of it. That's usually when the male lead comes in. At first... more>> glance, he seems like the typical ML who's possessive and overprotective and though Xiao Chen definitely shows hints of that, 99% of the time Jing Yue already took care of the situation so he has little to no opportunity to show off (lol). The two also have some amusing bickering going on whenever they interact and it really draws me into their romance.

Jing Yue lived in the forest and mountains for all of her second life with nearly no human contact. That, along with the fact that she has experience being a person from modern society is what gives her her bold personality yet it also means that she is unused to ancient time etiquete and way of interacting with others. This part of her (the fact that she doesn't care too much about it doesn't help either) angers some people but she also has a charming side of her that strongly attracts others (like me- the person who generally doesn't like this kind of character).

Xiao Chen is powerful, ruthless, and cold- characteristics commonly found in other MLs in this genre. However his attitude towards the Jing Yue doesn't quite adhere to the pampering type that appears in say... Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss. (On that note, Jing Yue is indeed the retaliating type like Jun Xie from that story but their ways of going about it and personalities are completely different.) On one memorable occasion, (small spoiler)
Spoiler

he threw her out of the carriage when she's was chattering too much while he's trying to rest. Or maybe he was just annoyed about her insulting his favorite carriage. (You can judge their actions once you get to that part.)

[collapse]
But despite all of that, you can tell he's slowly falling in love with her.

This story isn't flawless. The ML's attraction to her started slightly too suddenly in my opinion. And there are some details considering why she was abandoned that I hope will be cleared up later (I think it was heterochromia eyes maybe? But it's strange that no one commented on her eyes yet so I could be wrong). So yeah it's not perfect but I liked the characters and the story so my rating would be a 4.5 out of 5.

(Also, I may have used the main characters of Genius Doctor as a comparison but these two stories are totally different so there's no specific meaning behind my choice in story.) <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Sovereign of Judgment
March 28, 2017
Status: c82
This is the novel that completely dragged me out of my usual type of stories which belong on the entire other end of the spectrum. The setting, storyline, and especially the characters were enough to get me to pull an all nighter to finish reading it and it quickly became a top favorite of mine. There are a lot of things I can elaborate on but I don't think I could do it justice even if I did. My biggest impression, though, after reading the latest chapters is that it's... more>> so refreshing to finally have a character that pushes through on solely power. We've been seeing a lot of intelligent and sly protagonists and yes I love them too but it's been so long since we had someone who has the capability to win through overwhelming power. Of course that's not all there is to our protagonist in this story- there's a lot of growing to do and he's not the strongest outside of the, uh, earthlings. Also he has some wonderful subordinates (awesome characters themselves) who helps him with the itty-bitty details and politics and scheming, all of which he often ignored anyway. But that's what excited me in the latest chapter. He doesn't necessarily need to rely on that to reach his goals. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
The Pregnant Woman Next Door, How Are You Doing?
September 30, 2018
Status: Completed
This is overflowing with tooth-rotting fluff. It's so freaking cute and sweet that I don't even know how to describe it in words. Like holy- just read this when you want your chest to squeeze with all things stupidly adorable and overwhelmingly fluffy. Let me say it again. Too freaking cute.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Qizi
April 24, 2018
Status: c1
I only read the first chapter before stopping because of the premonition I had from the teacher's explanation of their world and social structure as well as from the characters introduced. I can't foresee a good relationship coming out of this novel- in fact I would be very surprised and if the main pairing do develop a healthy, loving relationship with great chemistry. I would love for someone to pm me and let me know it actually turned out alright despite all odds. (But beware that if you do pm... more>> me about them I'm free to message you back with everything I find poorly done about them should the reading experience indeed prove as torturous as I predict it to be. Yes, as you can see I'm very skeptical about this one.)

Other than the fact that the relationship won't be able to keep me reading (and how I've already started disliking the characters introduced) the world building isn't anything great either. Despite how desperate it is to point out how different their society is from others (aka ours) the author is unable to pull away from our world. It feels like this society, which has an interesting initial concept, is stuck halfway between establishing it's own unique itself and clinging to the concepts, ideas, and standards from our world. Perhaps I was expecting too much.

Not much can be said about the writing either but then again it's already been established that most novels here shouldn't be held up to too high of a standard. (1. Because there're a lot of trashy novels translated. Some are incredibly lovable but you can't deny they are trashy at the same time. Of course there are a few exceptions. 2. Translations and culture barriers can sometimes really hinder us from appreciating them at their best even if they are considered "great" writing.) But this writing is low even by these standards.

To sum it up, I couldn't stay for the characters, the interactions, the relationships, the world building, or the writing. Of course I only got as far as the first chapter before I made these assumptions so you can take it with a grain of salt. (But honestly I've spent my entire life reading- I can see the signs. PM me if I'm proven wrong and this turned out to be a wonderful novel. I'd be delighted.) <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage
July 12, 2018
Status: c158 part2
If you're going to read this story for anything, don't read it for the romance.

When I first took a look at this story, I thought I struck jackpot. It was a very intriguing and entertaining read so I ended up I binging every chapter that had been translated at the time.

Part of what I was anticipating was the romance actually. The FL and ML were both interesting and, refreshingly, slightly antagonistic towards each other for the first part of the story. But once the romance really started, it was as... more>> if the author suddenly didn't know how to write. You don't see any (or at the very most, little) growth in their feelings for each other. It suddenly jumped from "kinda don't like you" to "I don't mind doing a lot of things that probably isn't smart of me for your sake" with no in-between or transition at all. If there was, it took place entirely behind the scenes and we don't get to witness the change. I don't know why the FL suddenly likes her love interest after years of wariness that had maybe died down into a business relationship. The only thing that would attract her would be his oh so beautiful looks (that the author uses every chance she gets to emphasize- as in every other scene he appears in and maybe even more frequently than that). However it was already established that she didn't fall in love with him just because his looks are otherworldly. But anyway, the author tells us to wave that away and just enjoy their courtship phase. So the FL is in love even though she denies it in a way that doesn't follow her character and even her actions are now affected by this situational case of OOCness. I think the author's approach to how the FL acts when her love life is involved is amazingly stupid considering what she's told and showed us about the FL in the story.

I can see why the ML would be interested- but not infatuated- with the FL. I haven't seen how she, in turn, starts to feel the attraction for the ML- it just seems like the author changed her setting from "lowkey hostile" to "very attracted but too emotionally incompetant to know why" (which doesn't make sense since she actually is emotionally competent) for the sake of moving the romance forward. At this point, their interactions after "love" falls into the mix is simply a bunch of cheesy clichés that the couple act out like puppets. Their love isn't unique to their characters and that disappoints me. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
4:48
April 7, 2018
Status: Completed
The grammar and word choice of this translation can't really be considered good so grammar nazis would suffer a lot if they chose to read this. However if you can overlook that, 4:48 is worth recommending. It's a bit predictable, but not overly so, and definitely deserves its Tragedy tag so don't go in with expectations of a happily ever after. It's definitely bittersweet at some points- with emphasis on the bitter- but what I like most is how strong the MC's and ML's feelings for each other are. As... more>> for who the ML is... Well that's up to the reader to figure out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
The Wolf Lord’s Lady
July 11, 2017
Status: Completed
True to its reputation, it really does contain enough painfulness to be classified as angst. However the sweetness really balances it out, especially the fluff at the end. I love this story because the further you get into the story, the more things are uncovered. Sure, some of the information revealed doesn't drastically flip your world upside down like some of the more exciting plot twists I've encountered, but the ones that do appear simply changes your perspective gently (and occaisionally bittersweetly). Additionally this gives all of the characters- even... more>> some of whom the readers could not have the chance to personally familiarize themselves with at the beginning, like her family- more depth than before. The things that I ended up finding out makes the story a worthwhile reread, in my opinion, to catch the parts that were missed or misinterpreted the first time. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Onee-chan Will Become a Hero, and Save the World!
April 17, 2018
Status: Completed
Despite the optimistic sounding title, pay attention to the tragedy tag. I cried a few tears for her....

Rather than solely "returning to her original world, " it's more like she wants to protect her siblings and return them all to their original world.

In case you want to know, there will be no bittersweetness to wrap the story up. Perhaps that's why I'm reluctant to rate it a four. It's just too sad. But still, the story wasn't bad enough to be a 3 star.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
September 3, 2018
Status: c30
Honestly I can't read this anymore. There's just so much wrong with the story- small things that build up and leave me disgusted. I can't even get into all of the intricacies of it, such as the unhealthy relationship tendencies shown or how incompetant and flawed the humans in this world have become.

What bothers me the most involved Xiao Yan, the MC. First of all, he has stupidly low IQ when it comes to relationships, observing other humans, and discerning their motives. Stupidly low. Like shoujo manga protagonists with air-headed... more>> personalities low. It's actually pretty common to find these kinds of MCs who end up misunderstanding so much that the situation is pulled out for far longer than necessary. Xiao Yan is one of them and his horrible lack of judgement is killing me. The first translator once mentioned that he brought trouble onto himself and that is true in 80% of the situations. Which is even more frustrating considering how intelligent he is supposed to actually be. (That part of him was, admittedly, shown off very well by the author. It's easy to accept that he's a very capable and talented individual. It's not easy to accept how dumb he can be once faced with actual people.)

So I mentioned that he brings trouble onto himself in 80% of the situations. What's the other 20%? Well from my perspective, the author's being a jerk to him, to put it lightly. Everyone seems to be the hardest on him. No matter who's fault it is, people blame him and he suffers for it. And surprisingly? He suffers willingly. The MC doesn't see anything wrong with it. Albeit, he might grumble a bit, but that's the extent of it. This is especially so to the ML, Heine. And wow do I have much to say about him. I honestly can't see the appeal to him but for some reason, cold, abusive, and forceful MLs are the trend. It's like everything's waived as long as he has a pretty face, power, and "love" for the MC. I cannot for the life of me understand why the MC feels attracted to this guy when he treats the MC with disdain (at the very least, it would appear that way to him since Xiao Lan wouldn't know if Heine had feeling for him unless it was shoved in his face by the man himself) and physically harms him. For crying out loud Heine dislocates the MC's shoulder because OTHER people have flirted with him. Ok, so one instance of it was indeed the MC doing the flirting but that's 1 out of 4. And the fact that Heine would punish the MC for having an interest in someone else shows that Heine has no respect for him. Like. Listen. Assaulting your crush because they like someone else, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARENT IN A RELATIONSHIP AND HE DOESNT EVEN KNOW YOU LIKE HIM, isn't how it's done.

(I'll finish writing this when I get the chance. Basically, when I skimmed the reviews I didn't see any low stars and assumed that no one talked about the blatant flaws in the story. Idk maybe I'm alone in my disatisfaction?) <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
June 17, 2018
Status: c117
The writing is amateurish but the content is just a level above that. It would have been a good, fun quick read but because it's a long series this story started to become draggy and I quickly lost patience with the poor writing. And the more I read, the more the beginner mistakes became apparent. At some point I only continued reading to find out what happened between Iris and her love interest, and future developments with the heroine and her reverse harem. However even all of that fell below... more>> my expectations due to the long drag and, again, really bad writing.

The characters are all poorly crafted and even the few I somewhat liked didn't last- they quickly became annoying. There were even a few moments of OOCness from the main character, Iris recently. Or perhaps you can call it a jump in character development (or should I say, "change" because that doesn't qualify for the word "development") that really came out of nowhere. Her method of dealing with outsiders/people she doesn't have good relations with at the time went from using logic and reasoning to argue with a confident smile or serious face depending on who she's dealing with, to purposely going to what she sees as typical villainous qualities and laughing at them behind a fan. From what I remember, she's never shown any desire or attraction to a villainous image and even if her recent crisis had jaded her, there was still no sign of her heading in that direction. Out of nowhere, when dealing with a person who has wronged her in the past but no seeks her help, she pulls out a fan and giggles between words behind it. I'm not saying she shouldn't treat him harshly or laugh at the absurdity of his request, but the way she went about it contradicts what we've seen of her character thus far in the story.

Anyway. By the end, I couldn't form any attachments to the story, the characters, their interactions, or the world building. I would have given three stars for how much I enjoyed the beginning, but honestly, remembering the last few dozens of chapters I read convinced me that it really deserved a lower rating. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
A. R. G.
October 8, 2017
Status: c5
Aswang is correct in that you shouldn't dismiss a novel just for its bad ratings. The star ratings are simply a reflection of what the majority of the people thought of the story, and you may happen to be a part of the minority- a situation I often find myself in and therefore the reason why I don't trust it all that much. However remember that there's a reason why so many people gave it such low ratings and it's especially significant on a website like this where many novels... more>> of varying quality usually have a ton of 5 star votes.

I gave this a chance and couldn't continue reading to the end just for the sake of writing a thorough review. It was just that bad for me personally. The writing is flat and shallow, I feel no attraction or attatchment to any of the characters, and the plot is acceptable at best. To me, it seemed as if this story was a whole clump of American teenage novel cliches written by a kid.
Spoiler

They've got the "I think this guy is such a bastard but I feel weirdly attracted to him, " "he also has a beautiful ex-girlfriend who still has feelings for him and I feel inferior and hi now she's coming over to sneer at my unsuitability to be his partner, " and a "no one believes me when I say I can see dead people but this guy says he does because it's me saying it even though we haven't even known each other at all outside of this fake fiancé arrangement besides (oh I just remembered!) that one encounter when we were kids and you gave me ice cream. Of course you remember it like it was yesterday."

[collapse]
Let me just say that I love cliches when they are done right. But this author's lackluster writing isn't capable of it at this point.

I have no idea how Aswang was reminded of the Earl and the Fairy while reading this. There is absolutely no connection beyond a "supernatural" label. Unless the ghosts or main character herself turns out to be a type of fairy, yeah no. They have nothing in common. Not in plot, characters, setting, etc etc etc.

I concede that some of the above can end up proven false by some sort of plot twist or new information reveal at the end but the writing quality is unchangeble in such a sort period of time. So unless the last half of this story was written three years after the first, chances are you'll be dealing with the same bad writing till the end.

I also love cute fantasy and romance novels. However I can't see this as one of those. No fluff so far, maybe something that was supposed to be angst in there.

Keep in mind, I only read up to Chapter 5. Maybe you'll enjoy it like Aswang. But I need to give the other side of the story.

[I sincerely hope that this didn't sound like a personal attack on Aswang's review. That review made comments on this story that I disagreed with so I was just stating the differences I found in our POVs.] <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
As a frequent reader of both fanfiction and Chinese novels, I seriously can't recommend this. I often find people who have misconceptions of both types of stories (and admittedly I was one of those people before) but while it's true they both have their good and bad points, I think in particular case, it's as if the story is an abomination born from every ill opinion formed of fanfiction and Chinese reincarnation novels that had ever existed. And even if you disregard the content, the writing quality is also very... more>> lacking. For me, the problem isn't the mix of western and eastern culture or an overpowered MC because I've read some amazing stories with both of these elements so I know there are cases in which that can work. However this is definitely not one of those stories. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
Beloved Marriage in High Society
October 15, 2018
Status: c23
The translations are slightly disappointing- I saw quite a few misleading mistakes in every chapter. Not superficial ones such as a few grammar mistakes and a wrong word or two, but phrases that were completely translated wrong (to the point that it made no sense in English) and mix ups with the characters that readers who don't take a look at the raws could have a hard time catching (it makes a huge difference if it's actually Yan Sui and not Ming Qi who carried out the action). However, I... more>> thank them for their work nevertheless.

The main characters and plot on the other hand are A++. Alright, I have to admit this isn't the epitome of perfection, but the cuteness and uniqueness of our MC completely stole my heart and the ML complements him perfectly- he's just the kind of partner MC needs after what he's been through. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kikiji
Kikiji rated it
[Online Gaming] Love You 59 Seconds
August 19, 2017
Status: c69
It was hard for me to find the words to describe how I felt about this story but I think I finally figured it out. The story is just really really awkward to read. It feels like a joke that fell flat. Not that the story is a joke, but its the feeling you get when you know something is supposed to be funny yet the delivery ruins it. This is supposed to be heartwarming, humorous, etc etc but I just can't feel it. There were a few moments of... more>> second-handed embarrassment, (again) lots and lots of awkwardness, some "heh... that was kind of funny" or "eh, that was sweet of him...", irritation towards the two dimensional villains, and- what makes me really upset with this story- "why the hell did he do that?!" I can go on about the last point but it basically boils down to dissatisifcation with the two leads. I can't really feel them falling in love or having affection for then other and I hate how unbearably (again for the third time) awkward their interactions are. I can tell it's supposed to come across as sweet and cute but I can't see it. From his words and actions, I think the shou, Wu Han Ying, is subpar character- he just doesn't have any substance. The gong, Xia Chen, is marginally better but sometimes acts way over the top or unnaturally/illogically. An example:
Spoiler

handing over his entire company to a lover who has shown no capability in managing one (has he even graduated?), has a known and established tendency to act foolishly and thoughtlessly (an "endearing point"), is someone he has only known the existence of for less than a year, and has only been in a relationship with for a couple of months. Look, dude, no matter how much you love him and no matter how much you want to show that, you don't make someone like that the boss of the company you made.

[collapse]

You know 'show don't tell'? Well I don't like that advice much since there are appropriate moments for show and appropriate moments for tell. Good writing involves balancing them appropriately for your specific writing style, but this author seems to have a horrible handle on it. There are so many moments that could have been fleshed out and shown while there are others that could have just been told. That's a major flaw that keeps popping up when I read these chapters.

(I have to admit, I only stayed till the end in hopes of finally seeing that little cousin of his get what's coming for her but for those of you who want to know- that never happens.)

From the other reviews and the star ratings, I can tell that there are a lot of people who like this story. I can't pretend to understand why, but from that, I guess it's just a matter of personal taste. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report