Report Review
47 Reviews


KichiX
KichiX
Give Me Your Hands and Marry Me
April 9, 2019
Status: c78
A true summary of everything that has happened to our female lead so far:

Spoiler

    • being reclaimed by her rich family after they disowned her mother and left them with nothing after the mother was pregnant before marriage
    • being forced to into an engagement
    • being drugged with an aphrodisiac and almost locked in a room with fiance
    • being sold by said fiance to a lecherous old man because she was ugly
    • having her head shaved bald and paraded around a casino to embarrass her, by the ML
    • being locked in a cupboard by the ML and damaging her hands so severely she needs to stay in hospital for a month because she is claustrophobic and afraid of the dark
    • being drugged, stripped, and placed in a bed with her cousin to incriminate them both
    • being drugged and placed in a room with another cousin who was drugged with aphrodisiac
    • being drugged, stripped and placed in a room with her former fiance by the current partner of the fiance to get out of the engagement
    • being framed for murder by the ML's step mother
    • being locked in a secret room in the library that no one knows about my the ML's half-sister
    • becoming the ML's fiance because it was the only way she could gain any protection from her family
    • being almost raped by gang members hired by the ML's half-brother
    • witnessing the murder of said gang members by the ML's friend who was passing
    • being almost killed by the ML's best friend who went on a rampage, saved by the ML taking a bullet in the heart
    • magically *falling in love* with the ML because of his
      noble self-sacrifice

      [collapse]
The FL deals well with the stuff the ML throws at her in the beginning because she's tough. When it comes to the repeated attempted rapes/kidnappings she deals with it just like any normal person - with panic and distress. Because it's the ML who saves her from these situations, she feels grateful. But he only saves her because she's useful. And this is the man we're supposed to be rooting for. His changes in feelings and "merciful" behaviour towards her are nothing in comparison to what he's put her through.

Don't get me started on her family and "'ex-'fiance".

And the friend...

Spoiler

her friend of who knows how many years gets corrupted when she sees how much "wealth" the FL "has" and becomes an entitled brat with the stereotypical "why isn't all this mine?" thinking, disregards her friend's happiness and well-being, and only cares for mingling with the rich and wealthy. She almost gets raped and instead of thanking the FL for saving her asks whether she knows the guy and can introduce them. Thank goodness for the friend's mum who knows what's going on and tries to stop her foolish daughter.

[collapse]

On the other hand, there are some "positives":

    • The FL expects nothing from her family when she returns, and is clever enough to realise that nobody means her well. It's rare that the FL realises this from the beginning and not until after reincarnation (re: Rebirth of the Rich and Wealthy) or after the mask has been pulled off (re: Hidden Marriage).
    • The mystery with the jade pendents and the ML's quest to get them all is interesting and constantly there in the background.
Besides that the "secret" of the FL's eyes (she covers them with make-up) and the blank 2 year gap in her memory which corresponds perfectly with the ML's time in an "assassination organisation brutal hunger-game-style training camp", her knowlegde of jade and antiques and her stealing skill which she "mysteriously" gained during the 2 year kidnapping period... it's like the author wanted to go for low-key and subtle but ended up slapping a wet-fish across our faces and asking "are you getting the hints?".

Sigh.

That's all. Make of it what you will.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
The General’s Genius Daughter
March 20, 2019
Status: --
No reviews yet? Seems to be a pretty typical reincarnation/transmigration story with the obligatory concubines and half-sisters, inability to cultivate and main-lead-secret-power. One thing that is different is that the main lead goes back to get her son from her previous life, and by the looks of things, is dead set on exacting revenge on the people who ruined life before. Because this is a reincarnation where the main character is reincarnated into a different body without travelling in time or through worlds, this is a slightly different spin on... more>> the usual reincarnation-into-the-past trope. The chapters are also longer than would be expected for this genre.

Having said that, the translations seem to be a bit dodgy - jumping around in time in the chapters, and from what I can deduce there seem to have been parts that have been left out entirely, whether by accident or choice I don't know. For example, after returning home from a doctor, the MCs maids are worried about her slapping the third young miss, but this entire scene - slapping the third young miss - is missing from the translations. Not sure what's going on there. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Hello, Wife!
April 9, 2019
Status: c62
Hm, I feel like I should rate this highly and praise it for having a truly strong female lead and a caring male lead. But honestly? The female lead calculated love like it was an emotion that could be dispensed after praiseworthy actions from the ML, and the male lead was... too good to be true?

It wasn't melodramatic and there was no scheming, but after a while it became stale. Their interactions never exceeded the FL being cool and calm and the ML showering her with his love. There's a... more>> fine line between being cool-headed in love and protecting your heart, and treating love like an equation that can be solved after X number of good things have been done for you. A little more emotion and perhaps a few less chapters would have improved this in my mind. Having said that, it's a nice change from the usual Chinese webnovels, if a bit heavy handed in its message. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Pampered Fei Brimming with Cuteness
September 15, 2018
Status: c77
If you can suspend totally suspend your disbelief then sure, this book with its not-at-all subtle, not-at-all well-thought out, not-at-all thinking of the consequences before diving right in, face-slapping might be your cup of tea.

But honestly? The whole thing was so unrealistic that even the so-called "face slapping" wasn't satisfying. What's more, the author makes a point of saying how "fluently" the female lead speaks, how "indirect" she is with her words, and how "irrefutable" what she says it.

She's not. On any of those counts.

Everything the female lead says could... more>> be argued against, but the other characters seem to be so mesmerised that talking back is impossible. The female lead isn't clever, she acts like the world she is in is the same as the one she left (i.e. The 21st century), imposing her own beliefs and values onto the world with no thought for the consequences because no consequences appear. The other characters think she is "cute" because of these actions.

It feels like the author wanted to write a face-slapping no-holds barred female protagonist but lacked the writing skill, subtly, and ability to make it believeable in any way. Just take a look at the Princess Wei Yang, Seven Treasures Trousseau, The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress from Military Lineage or Dreamer in the Spring Boudoir for characters speaking cleverly leaving no way to retreat. Or look at Xian Wang Dotes on Wife, Mesmirising Ghost Doctor, and An Unyielding Wind for smart-mouthed characters in novels with a similar tone to this one (somewhat less serious and heavy than the previously mentioned stories). In short, not at all impressed and dropping this story now. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
The General’s Little Peasant Wife
February 4, 2019
Status: c94
With a little more skill, much better pacing, and characters that acted like they weren't 5 year-old children, this could have been an interesting story.

The main characters all seem to have interesting backstories, and the author keeps you on your toes and guessing. Unfortunately, these brief glimpses are overshadowed by the moronic cast of "villains, " the ham-fisted way they are presented, and the lack of main characters making good on any of their threats. I kid you not, this actually happened:

A villainous girl has the unfortunate habit of climbing... more>> over the male MC's walls and going into his house. The second time, he explicitly warns her that should she do it again, she wouldn't want to know the consequences. But when it happens again, he just warns her again.

This failure to follow up on any of their threats makes the main characters the least intimidating people in the novel. We're told how the supporting and villain characters believe from the look in their eyes that they will do unspeakable horrors, but we never see any of it. And, as should be painfully obvious from the situation described above, the instigating reasons for any of the drama are ridiculous.

The pacing is another issue. It jumps from trotting to galloping and back again in seconds. A conversation about building a workroom and then boom! It's done. No romance for 90 chapters, and then boom! Our main leads are engaged. The MC thinking about hiring people? Boom! Five people from her past turn up with no explanation and she doesn't need to hire anymore. An embroidery test at the MC's embroidery house in the captial? Boom! One sentence and we've suddenly arrived at the embroidery house and the test is already happening.

These are just some of the few examples. The lack of pacing and the poor judgement on where to spend time and effort in the prose, coupled with the almost total lack of description (which doesn't matter so much if it's a mountain, but the capital city? Come on.) leaves this feeling bland and rushed.

Oh, and I forgot to add: While I appreciate the effort of the translators and rely on them to read the story as I know zero Chinese, I feel like they really require a proof reader because there are some very obvious spelling mistakes and also sentences that don't make any sense.

And another thing: It's impossible to tell how old the characters are. It seems like the main female character is around 16 years old (in terms of physical appearance - she transmigrated so she is actually older than that) but I would say one of the principle villains in the village is only twelve. How amazing that a ~20 year old could "beat" a twelve year old girl in a battle of morals/wits. At least it gives credibility to how laughable childish the villains plans are. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Return of the Swallow
March 19, 2019
Status: c150
All the other reviews hit the nail on the head, so I won't repeat all the well deserved praise this novel has received.

I want to mention the one thing that's really stuck out to me: well-developed, lovable characters, whom the audience has spent many chapters getting to know, dying. The tiny strand of hope you have that these characters won't die is crushed as you hear about their deaths and witnesses the heart-breaking effect it has on the other characters. They don't come back. They don't escape. They die. And... more>> that's so rare in these novels.

In other novels death is threatened, ordered, haunts and scares characters, but very rarely do central side-characters actually die. If they do die, their deaths often have little to no impact on the main characters. This, to me, is one of the stand out, heart-wrenching moments of this story - the sadness as three-dimensional characters you support are killed, and the long-lasting consequences as the other characters deal with their grief and hatred towards the killers.

Furthermore, because death is a real tangible consequence that we have witnessed befalling other characters, the fears of Qin Yining for her life and her family's take on very real weigh. Instead of being an abstract concept, "death" becomes a very real thing that could snuff out the main lead, or any of the other characters we care about, in an instant. So while the lives of Qin Yining, and the male lead are pretty much assured, there's still an edge of doubt while reading this - perhaps, just perhaps, they could, actually, die. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
June 3, 2018
Status: c218
Fun in the beginning, but after chapter 50 or so the novel became the very thing it was trying to satire. I just can't be bothered to read any more. If the novel was shorter, perhaps the self-awareness of the FMC could have been kept on the funny side.

Also, the love between the male lead and the female lead felt lukewarm. It felt like the male lead fell in love with the character the female lead was acting out, rather than her true self. Even when the female lead eventually... more>> warms up to him, it felt like she was settling for him rather than actively being in love. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Prestigious Family Marriage: Uncle vs Young Wife
May 6, 2019
Status: c107
Spoiler

Before our main leads got together I was going to sing the praises of this novel and talk about how it's a less melodramatic take on all those other Rich CEO x struggling-but-worthy-woman.

After they got together... the female lead became possessive, jealous, and irrational. She suspects he's cheating on her when he leaves the room to take a call, when a woman calls his phone, when he's out on a business dinner with his female secretary... Her self-esteem is cripplingly low. Given her past it's no surprising that she is suspicious. The world the ML moves in (is presented as) one where extramarital affairs and mistresses are as common as mud, but trust is the foundation of any relationship. Given that she can't bring herself to trust him I feel no investment as a reader in their relationship.

On the one side we have the FL who pretends she trusts him but is secretly suspicious at the ML's every move, and on the other we have the ML who destroys any other potential romantic rival despite the FL being completely uninterested. Should I say they're a pair made in heaven?

One positive though, is that

after they have s*x for the first time the ML gives her the morning after pill, which makes the FL very ill. It's rarely mentioned in novels/real life that the pill can have severe side affects and can often cause pain to women. I was surprised, but happy, to see this mentioned in the novel (even if it is for the sake of creating more situations). Of course he should have just used contraception...

[collapse]
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
I don't know why this has got such a high number of one star ratings (one can only assume that it progresses in an overly stereotypical way or something else objectionable happens) because it seems like it's developing into a good story. Watch this space, I suppose.

To be honest, the set-up - the FL marrying the ML so that her father can't kidnap her to manipulate her brother - seems highly improbable, but I don't mind rolling with it. There are hints that there may be something else afoot that... more>> compelled the brother and the ML's mother into arranging the marriage. I hope there is another reason, even if it is as simple as the brother wanting the FL to be with her longtime crush (a.k.a the ML).

The FL and the ML both love each other, and are both trying not to let the other know - in the FL's case because she thinks he doesn't love her, and in the ML's case because he has some as-yet-unknown-to-the-reader revenge plan that could endanger her. I'm not one for angst or misunderstandings, and I enjoy reading their interactions. Nothing is over the top, the FL is down to earth and unflappable - she dissects corpses for the police for a living so her standard refrain is "is this as scary as a dead body? No? Then whatever." As she "knows" that the ML is going to divorce her in two years, she approaches the marriage as a contract and minimises the amount of hurt she could potentially receive. In a genre where female leads often say they are going to do so but don't actually do so, this FL is refreshing as she is aware of her own feelings and tries her best to protect her heart.

In summary: currently an entertaining lead with a refreshing female lead, some overused tropes that nevertheless don't detract from the story, and supportive family relations (apart from the step-family, obviously). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
The Anarchic Consort
November 30, 2018
Status: c198
The FL got dumber, and the ML got more rape-y, as the plot progressed.

(I'm sorry, when is it ever acceptable for the ML to want to and then almost have s*x with the FL when she in unconscious? That has a name. Rape.)

And the frustrating thing is that the ML's alter-ego student-self could have been used as a way to expand and delve into his character, or at least the FL could have told him her true thoughts about the Prince. In stead he gets hardly any screen... more>> time and basically just watches the FL instead of interacting with her.

Also, the cultivation system isn't explained, which takes away from the novel hugely. And the FL, who starts off with some brains, slowly gets them whittled away in order for the ML to have his moments of glory.

In short, do not recommend. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Dragon Prince Yuan
July 18, 2019
Status: c91
I enjoy the political aspect. Yes, the MC is driven by his revenge to get his destiny back, but he is also driven to protect the kingdom (empire?) for his father, and the citizens, as a prince. SO FAR this is positive - because the MC cares, and the care affects his decisions and actions, you get a sense of the gravity and stakes. In a genre where stakes bow down in front of the MC's halo, it's a small, but nice, change. (It doesn't hurt that at this point... more>> the MC is still fairly weak, even with cheats).

HOWEVER:

Spoiler

The harem, boy, oh boy, the harem. Or potential harem as I should say. The female characters, even though they are strong (at this point, stronger than the MC) are written as moving eye candy. Never mind that the MC has a platonic friendship with them, the audience demands (?) so voluminous descriptions of their bodies, their curves, their (and this is a direct quote) "devastating feet" MUST be given.

a) they're 13. 13!

b) they are literally friends when he's not ogling them. I could somewhat forgive it if the characters had any genuine romantic feelings, but everyone (apart from the girl who's grandfather he helped save?) sees him as a friend (if that?).

Ugh.

[collapse]

As others have said, it's generic (what isn't?) and there's plot armour and cheats (who doesn't?) but it's still okay. It's decently written, the cultivation system makes sense (?) and there's the interesting dynamic of his destiny being "stolen". <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
As others have mentioned, there's nothing new to this transmigration story. What there is, though, is a level of shamelessness rarely seen, even in the most shameless webnovel villains, to the extent that the characters are unbelievable. Characters can be selfish, self-centred and narcissistic; they can even feel like the world owes them everything, but there has to be a reason. In this novel, every time a villain is required, previously okay people become illogical, self-centred and extravagant, while the protagonists' side can't say no.

It's frustrating that these are the... more>> villains in the novel - if they were even slightly less shameless, slightly cleverer, then it would be a much more satisfying read. The villains as it is exist only to be knocked down by the MCs.

If you can stand being angered by the non-existent morality of the villains then this is quite an entertaining read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
The Heartbeat at the Tip of the Tongue
April 23, 2019
Status: Completed
Not sure how I feel about this. The romantic pairing is up there in the description so it came as anything but a shock... but the second male lead... it's so melancholic. The female lead deserved better, and the second male lead deserved better. They both kept their feelings hidden out of a desire to protect the other and both of their feelings were so pure. "Pure" as in truly wishing the best for the other, and understanding and trusting that how the other treated them was nothing more than... more>> a desire to keep them safe and away from harm. It was so heart-wrenching to read... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
It's the kind of story that you keep reading despite knowing what's going to happen. And that's fine. But there comes a point with stories like this where they get tiring. I have all my usual qualms about this:

  • The antagonists are shameless to the point of stupidity. They never learn. They get knocked down, suffer and then manage to twist the world with their words and make another ridiculous plan that leads to even worse consequences. Rinse and repeat.
  • The main character is powerful but we never see her doing anything. It's always her son or the male lead who get to carry out the revenge. The MC is strong enough to deal with this stuff, so why isn't the author letting her? There are reasons given as to why the MC let some of the villains linger on instead of dispatching them early.
  • Falling in love at first sight. The male lead treats the MC different from the get go and falls in love at first sight. He repeatedly says he will wait for the MC and them proceeds to do the exact opposite. Even when the MC's feelings start to change, he never gets verbal confirmation of this before proceeding.
  • Rape. The female lead rapes the male lead due to being drugged. The male lead explicitly calls her out on this but she never apologises and the whole thing is glossed over. I would have much preferred it if it was consensual and treated by both parties as a one-night-stand. I'm sure the author could have pulled off this type of story line instead of the "rape-but-not-really-because-I-have-fallen-in-love-with-you" "trope".
Objectively this story is not great, probably not even good. Did it keep me hooked while reading it? Yes. Did I enjoy it (aside from aforementioned issues) ? Yes, but the last couple of chapters were a slog.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Really, Really Miss You
May 20, 2018
Status: c40
Eh... for some reason, I enjoyed reading this while the two leads were interacting online, but once it transferred to the real world, I lost interest... the female lead has no witty comebacks at all to the teasing, preferring to respond with silence and blushing, she is completely passive in the relationship. I got the feeling that if the male lead hadn't been so insistent on having her, nothing would have happened. That being said, their online relationship was really cute.

I skipped to the epilogue from chapter 40, and I... more>> don't think I'll read the in between chapters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Loving You Is Too Difficult
May 6, 2019
Status: epilogue
Cute and everything but the characters weren't managed with subtlety but with a sledge hammer. Character arcs weren't completed satisfactorily and the ending felt like the author was saying "that's all folks, and they lived happily ever after."

The female lead suffered first from abandonment/loneliness issues - her parents never cared about her, her tantrums were to attract attention and love - and then

... more>>
Spoiler

when her parents truly did abandon her at the same time as her first love, a.k.a our bodyguard, broke her heart, all of these issues were amplified. She responds by creating a shell and not caring.

[collapse]

And then along comes our ML again and he's despondent to see she's not the same girl he left behind all those years ago. Big surprise. He tries half-heartedly to get her back, gives up, accepts her cold and detached self, loves her and then promises never to leave her again. We never get to see the FL heal. She accepts the ML in the end and we're supposed to believe that voila she is "fixed".

I recommend Same Place Not Same Bed for a story of healing through love. The characters face the same issues of fear of abandonment and self-confidence but the subtlety is much greater than this story.

Honestly, the happy ending in this one felt completely empty. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Please Sign: Your Runaway Wife Has Been Captured
April 19, 2019
Status: c53
The tone when in-game is kind of like a cross between Why Not Soar Your Majesty and Time. Unlike A Slight Smile Is Very Charming, the female lead's real-world life isn't built up, although we do follow along on some truly terrible blind dates. Additionally we spend a lot of time with the characters' inner monologues.

***EDIT: The inner monologues are getting on my nerves. There's also some writing that's just...

... more>>
Spoiler

From Chapter 93:

"Han Meimei... was only 20... she really did not want to get married...

Han Meimei: Uhm~ I'm still young. Let me enjoy myself for two more years~

She would turn 22 after two years."

*gasp* she's 20! and in 2 years, she'll be, *gasp* 22! Who would have thought!

And here's an example of inner monologue-ing, also from chapter 93:

"[Character A]: What about [Character B]? It looks like that you don't refuse to get married in the game. If so, why did you refuse him in the past?

Zheng Xiaoguang thought in surprise, "Is he talking about [Character B]'s proposal to me? Why does he bring this up now? What an incongruous question. Does he think that I betrayed [Character B] or something?

"This is really strange..." Zheng Xiaoguang was not sure about his attitude, so she decided to answer his question truthfully."

Writing down a character's stream of consciousness, if you're not writing in first person, is lazy writing. Even something along the lines of "Zheng Xiaoguang was surprised. [Character B]'s proposals had never been serious, and these questions were weirdly pointed. After some hesitated, she answered with "he was just joking with me..." " would be better.

Obviously these are webnovels, so I'm not expecting great feats of writing, but this is the only novel I've read so far that has such lazy writing...

[collapse]

The two leads don't know each other in real life, so the romance is similar to Really, Really Miss You. Unusually, the two talk on the phone before they meet. Although it gives the relationship more depth, it also highlights how weird the situation is.

The general dearth of these kinds of stories means that I'll take what I can get, and Please Sign is definitely not a bad story. There is the generic "white lotus", but the other side characters are decent enough. The FL deals with most situations logically, but the ML's gifts to ingratiate himself lose a lot of their "romance" when you consider that
Spoiler

he's the CEO or whatever of the company that owns the game so the real money he's spending in-game to buy her the fancy clothes/weapons he's going to be getting back...

[collapse]

He is always on her side though, and is generally likeable. ***EDIT: I do have to give props to the ML for always having her back and using the shortest route to settle trouble. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Sweet Chief Secretary
April 6, 2019
Status: c81
The translations aren't great. The conversations are stilted and often make no sense. Things that should be witty are meaningless, and the nuance is lost. There are a lot of mistakes with pronouns. The current description also short-changes this series a little as it's heavier on company intrigue and politics than it's made out to be. Sort of like "Our Glamorous Time"?

Update as of Chapter 95:

... more>>
Spoiler

The translation quality/the author (at this point it's hard to tell) is really dragging this down. Characters are playing word-games but none of the "traps" come across. The characters' relationships are becoming very messy. The author is pulling loop-holes out of the air to make things difficult. Example:

A lecherous director agreed to a deal, then went back on his words; a secretary from Shen Yun's company dealt with it, but then the director insisted that Xia Yu had to come to his personal villa or he wouldn't sign. Shen Yun sends her into the tiger's den, she almost gets raped until the director's wife comes and catches him. Afterwards Shen Yun feels bad about the whole thing and gets angry and beats up the director... despite tacitly agreeing to the whole thing?

I'm going to continue reading this, but I hope that the translation/story-telling picks back up again.

[collapse]

All of the core characters - Shen Mo, Shen Yun, Shen Qiang, Xia Yu - are fleshed out and seem to have a nuanced way of looking at the world.

Spoiler
    • Shen Mo is the eldest grandson who sees his competitor, Shen Yun, as an unexpected road-bump on the way to something that is rightfully his. It's interesting to see how this mindset leads him to underestimate and belittle Shen Yun as he spirals down into entitlement.
    • Shen Yun, on the other hand, is the grandson that has constantly had to cede to Shen Mo for most of his life, and is a "philanderer" (... or not? It's kind of unclear). He wants to prove himself and is constantly seeking to improve.
    • Shen Qiang is the kid whose father left his family for another woman and who is not involved in the fight for power at all really. He supports Shen Yun because he's a better alternative than Shen Mo.
    • Into this mix we have Xia Yu, who's feisty and emotion driven but rarely without a plan. Her loyalties derive mostly from wanting revenge for her cousin who was dumped by Shen Mo.
      [collapse]
On the other hand, all "non-core" characters are...a bit lame. We have:
Spoiler
  • the highly irritating fiancee of Shen Mo who used family influence to grab onto him and who is just as sterotypically entitled and illogical as you'd expect her to be.
  • the cheating ex-boyfriend of Xia Yu and the third-party-turned-girlfriend who constantly seek out trouble.
  • Shen Yun's mother who gets someone to spy on her son in his own house, who is paranoid that he and Xia Yu are, not dating but... having a fling?, and who plants a spy in her own son's company.
  • the grandmother who just... doesn't seem to care about justice or impartiality at all? She doesn't care about her grandsons' methods as long as the results are good and they have "brotherly love".
    [collapse]
etc. etc.

Beyond all that, where does this story stand? It's mostly character driven, and the relationships between the "core" characters are riveting. The business side is glossed over but the author does take a stab at giving us a flavour of it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Cruel Romance
May 3, 2018
Status: c6 part6
I really hope someone picks up the translation for this!

I really like this story so far. The main female lead falls in love with Xiang Ying Dong, mistakenly thinking that he saved her, when it was, in fact, Zuo Zhen. Jin Xiu isn't foolish and limits her expectations, and at the same time, she isn't blind to Zuo Zhen's kindness which leads the way to a more satisfying love. The leads have a good chemistry and their love is based on kindness and interaction as opposed to solely good looks.

The... more>> writing itself lacked some clarity - locations and time skips were not described clearly and the story would often jump around from one place to another without warning. For this reason, I rated Cruel Romance 4, instead of 5. That being said, I'm a sucker for romances, especially when they develop early on and you get to see the leads together for much of the story, so I really hope this is picked up by a translating group! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Gu Fang Bu Zi Shang
May 1, 2018
Status: --
I... really liked this. The "will-they-won't-they" part of the romance filled the first volume, and after that, however many ups and downs they experienced, they are a "couple", which is refreshing to read. Far too often romances stop after the leading characters get together, which doesn't allow you to see the true fulfilment of the relationship you've been watching grow.

Personally, I thought that there was a lot of chemistry between the leads, and they balanced each other perfectly - soulmates if you will. I don't know if everyone would like... more>> it, but I certainly did! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3