Report Review
37 Reviews


KichiX
KichiX
The General’s Genius Daughter
March 20, 2019
Status: --
No reviews yet? Seems to be a pretty typical reincarnation/transmigration story with the obligatory concubines and half-sisters, inability to cultivate and main-lead-secret-power. One thing that is different is that the main lead goes back to get her son from her previous life, and by the looks of things, is dead set on exacting revenge on the people who ruined life before. Because this is a reincarnation where the main character is reincarnated into a different body without travelling in time or through worlds, this is a slightly different spin on... more>> the usual reincarnation-into-the-past trope. The chapters are also longer than would be expected for this genre.

Having said that, the translations seem to be a bit dodgy - jumping around in time in the chapters, and from what I can deduce there seem to have been parts that have been left out entirely, whether by accident or choice I don't know. For example, after returning home from a doctor, the MCs maids are worried about her slapping the third young miss, but this entire scene - slapping the third young miss - is missing from the translations. Not sure what's going on there. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Pampered Fei Brimming with Cuteness
September 15, 2018
Status: c77
If you can suspend totally suspend your disbelief then sure, this book with its not-at-all subtle, not-at-all well-thought out, not-at-all thinking of the consequences before diving right in, face-slapping might be your cup of tea.

But honestly? The whole thing was so unrealistic that even the so-called "face slapping" wasn't satisfying. What's more, the author makes a point of saying how "fluently" the female lead speaks, how "indirect" she is with her words, and how "irrefutable" what she says it.

She's not. On any of those counts.

Everything the female lead says could... more>> be argued against, but the other characters seem to be so mesmerised that talking back is impossible. The female lead isn't clever, she acts like the world she is in is the same as the one she left (i.e. The 21st century), imposing her own beliefs and values onto the world with no thought for the consequences because no consequences appear. The other characters think she is "cute" because of these actions.

It feels like the author wanted to write a face-slapping no-holds barred female protagonist but lacked the writing skill, subtly, and ability to make it believeable in any way. Just take a look at the Princess Wei Yang, Seven Treasures Trousseau, The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress from Military Lineage or Dreamer in the Spring Boudoir for characters speaking cleverly leaving no way to retreat. Or look at Xian Wang Dotes on Wife, Mesmirising Ghost Doctor, and An Unyielding Wind for smart-mouthed characters in novels with a similar tone to this one (somewhat less serious and heavy than the previously mentioned stories). In short, not at all impressed and dropping this story now. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
June 3, 2018
Status: c218
Fun in the beginning, but after chapter 50 or so the novel became the very thing it was trying to satire. I just can't be bothered to read any more. If the novel was shorter, perhaps the self-awareness of the FMC could have been kept on the funny side.

Also, the love between the male lead and the female lead felt lukewarm. It felt like the male lead fell in love with the character the female lead was acting out, rather than her true self. Even when the female lead eventually... more>> warms up to him, it felt like she was settling for him rather than actively being in love. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
The General’s Little Peasant Wife
February 4, 2019
Status: c94
With a little more skill, much better pacing, and characters that acted like they weren't 5 year-old children, this could have been an interesting story.

The main characters all seem to have interesting backstories, and the author keeps you on your toes and guessing. Unfortunately, these brief glimpses are overshadowed by the moronic cast of "villains, " the ham-fisted way they are presented, and the lack of main characters making good on any of their threats. I kid you not, this actually happened:

A villainous girl has the unfortunate habit of climbing... more>> over the male MC's walls and going into his house. The second time, he explicitly warns her that should she do it again, she wouldn't want to know the consequences. But when it happens again, he just warns her again.

This failure to follow up on any of their threats makes the main characters the least intimidating people in the novel. We're told how the supporting and villain characters believe from the look in their eyes that they will do unspeakable horrors, but we never see any of it. And, as should be painfully obvious from the situation described above, the instigating reasons for any of the drama are ridiculous.

The pacing is another issue. It jumps from trotting to galloping and back again in seconds. A conversation about building a workroom and then boom! It's done. No romance for 90 chapters, and then boom! Our main leads are engaged. The MC thinking about hiring people? Boom! Five people from her past turn up with no explanation and she doesn't need to hire anymore. An embroidery test at the MC's embroidery house in the captial? Boom! One sentence and we've suddenly arrived at the embroidery house and the test is already happening.

These are just some of the few examples. The lack of pacing and the poor judgement on where to spend time and effort in the prose, coupled with the almost total lack of description (which doesn't matter so much if it's a mountain, but the capital city? Come on.) leaves this feeling bland and rushed.

Oh, and I forgot to add: While I appreciate the effort of the translators and rely on them to read the story as I know zero Chinese, I feel like they really require a proof reader because there are some very obvious spelling mistakes and also sentences that don't make any sense.

And another thing: It's impossible to tell how old the characters are. It seems like the main female character is around 16 years old (in terms of physical appearance - she transmigrated so she is actually older than that) but I would say one of the principle villains in the village is only twelve. How amazing that a ~20 year old could "beat" a twelve year old girl in a battle of morals/wits. At least it gives credibility to how laughable childish the villains plans are. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
The Anarchic Consort
November 30, 2018
Status: c198
The FL got dumber, and the ML got more rape-y, as the plot progressed.

(I'm sorry, when is it ever acceptable for the ML to want to and then almost have s*x with the FL when she in unconscious? That has a name. Rape.)

And the frustrating thing is that the ML's alter-ego student-self could have been used as a way to expand and delve into his character, or at least the FL could have told him her true thoughts about the Prince. In stead he gets hardly any screen... more>> time and basically just watches the FL instead of interacting with her.

Also, the cultivation system isn't explained, which takes away from the novel hugely. And the FL, who starts off with some brains, slowly gets them whittled away in order for the ML to have his moments of glory.

In short, do not recommend. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Really, Really Miss You
May 20, 2018
Status: c40
Eh... for some reason, I enjoyed reading this while the two leads were interacting online, but once it transferred to the real world, I lost interest... the female lead has no witty comebacks at all to the teasing, preferring to respond with silence and blushing, she is completely passive in the relationship. I got the feeling that if the male lead hadn't been so insistent on having her, nothing would have happened. That being said, their online relationship was really cute.

I skipped to the epilogue from chapter 40, and I... more>> don't think I'll read the in between chapters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Give Me Your Hands and Marry Me
April 9, 2019
Status: c78
A true summary of everything that has happened to our female lead so far:

Spoiler

    • being reclaimed by her rich family after they disowned her mother and left them with nothing after the mother was pregnant before marriage
    • being forced to into an engagement
    • being drugged with an aphrodisiac and almost locked in a room with fiance
    • being sold by said fiance to a lecherous old man because she was ugly
    • having her head shaved bald and paraded around a casino to embarrass her, by the ML
    • being locked in a cupboard by the ML and damaging her hands so severely she needs to stay in hospital for a month because she is claustrophobic and afraid of the dark
    • being drugged, stripped, and placed in a bed with her cousin to incriminate them both
    • being drugged and placed in a room with another cousin who was drugged with aphrodisiac
    • being drugged, stripped and placed in a room with her former fiance by the current partner of the fiance to get out of the engagement
    • being framed for murder by the ML's step mother
    • being locked in a secret room in the library that no one knows about my the ML's half-sister
    • becoming the ML's fiance because it was the only way she could gain any protection from her family
    • being almost raped by gang members hired by the ML's half-brother
    • witnessing the murder of said gang members by the ML's friend who was passing
    • being almost killed by the ML's best friend who went on a rampage, saved by the ML taking a bullet in the heart
    • magically *falling in love* with the ML because of his
      noble self-sacrifice

      [collapse]
The FL deals well with the stuff the ML throws at her in the beginning because she's tough. When it comes to the repeated attempted rapes/kidnappings she deals with it just like any normal person - with panic and distress. Because it's the ML who saves her from these situations, she feels grateful. But he only saves her because she's useful. And this is the man we're supposed to be rooting for. His changes in feelings and "merciful" behaviour towards her are nothing in comparison to what he's put her through.

Don't get me started on her family and "'ex-'fiance".

And the friend...

Spoiler

her friend of who knows how many years gets corrupted when she sees how much "wealth" the FL "has" and becomes an entitled brat with the stereotypical "why isn't all this mine?" thinking, disregards her friend's happiness and well-being, and only cares for mingling with the rich and wealthy. She almost gets raped and instead of thanking the FL for saving her asks whether she knows the guy and can introduce them. Thank goodness for the friend's mum who knows what's going on and tries to stop her foolish daughter.

[collapse]

On the other hand, there are some "positives":

    • The FL expects nothing from her family when she returns, and is clever enough to realise that nobody means her well. It's rare that the FL realises this from the beginning and not until after reincarnation (re: Rebirth of the Rich and Wealthy) or after the mask has been pulled off (re: Hidden Marriage).
    • The mystery with the jade pendents and the ML's quest to get them all is interesting and constantly there in the background.
Besides that the "secret" of the FL's eyes (she covers them with make-up) and the blank 2 year gap in her memory which corresponds perfectly with the ML's time in an "assassination organisation brutal hunger-game-style training camp", her knowlegde of jade and antiques and her stealing skill which she "mysteriously" gained during the 2 year kidnapping period... it's like the author wanted to go for low-key and subtle but ended up slapping a wet-fish across our faces and asking "are you getting the hints?".

Sigh.

That's all. Make of it what you will.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Hello, Wife!
April 9, 2019
Status: c62
Hm, I feel like I should rate this highly and praise it for having a truly strong female lead and a caring male lead. But honestly? The female lead calculated love like it was an emotion that could be dispensed after praiseworthy actions from the ML, and the male lead was... too good to be true?

It wasn't melodramatic and there was no scheming, but after a while it became stale. Their interactions never exceeded the FL being cool and calm and the ML showering her with his love. There's a... more>> fine line between being cool-headed in love and protecting your heart, and treating love like an equation that can be solved after X number of good things have been done for you. A little more emotion and perhaps a few less chapters would have improved this in my mind. Having said that, it's a nice change from the usual Chinese webnovels, if a bit heavy handed in its message. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
I don't know why this has got such a high number of one star ratings (one can only assume that it progresses in an overly stereotypical way or something else objectionable happens) because it seems like it's developing into a good story. Watch this space, I suppose.

To be honest, the set-up - the FL marrying the ML so that her father can't kidnap her to manipulate her brother - seems highly improbable, but I don't mind rolling with it. There are hints that there may be something else afoot that... more>> compelled the brother and the ML's mother into arranging the marriage. I hope there is another reason, even if it is as simple as the brother wanting the FL to be with her longtime crush (a.k.a the ML).

The FL and the ML both love each other, and are both trying not to let the other know - in the FL's case because she thinks he doesn't love her, and in the ML's case because he has some as-yet-unknown-to-the-reader revenge plan that could endanger her. I'm not one for angst or misunderstandings, and I enjoy reading their interactions. Nothing is over the top, the FL is down to earth and unflappable - she dissects corpses for the police for a living so her standard refrain is "is this as scary as a dead body? No? Then whatever." As she "knows" that the ML is going to divorce her in two years, she approaches the marriage as a contract and minimises the amount of hurt she could potentially receive. In a genre where female leads often say they are going to do so but don't actually do so, this FL is refreshing as she is aware of her own feelings and tries her best to protect her heart.

In summary: currently an entertaining lead with a refreshing female lead, some overused tropes that nevertheless don't detract from the story, and supportive family relations (apart from the step-family, obviously). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
It's the kind of story that you keep reading despite knowing what's going to happen. And that's fine. But there comes a point with stories like this where they get tiring. I have all my usual qualms about this:

  • The antagonists are shameless to the point of stupidity. They never learn. They get knocked down, suffer and then manage to twist the world with their words and make another ridiculous plan that leads to even worse consequences. Rinse and repeat.
  • The main character is powerful but we never see her doing anything. It's always her son or the male lead who get to carry out the revenge. The MC is strong enough to deal with this stuff, so why isn't the author letting her? There are reasons given as to why the MC let some of the villains linger on instead of dispatching them early.
  • Falling in love at first sight. The male lead treats the MC different from the get go and falls in love at first sight. He repeatedly says he will wait for the MC and them proceeds to do the exact opposite. Even when the MC's feelings start to change, he never gets verbal confirmation of this before proceeding.
  • Rape. The female lead rapes the male lead due to being drugged. The male lead explicitly calls her out on this but she never apologises and the whole thing is glossed over. I would have much preferred it if it was consensual and treated by both parties as a one-night-stand. I'm sure the author could have pulled off this type of story line instead of the "rape-but-not-really-because-I-have-fallen-in-love-with-you" "trope".
Objectively this story is not great, probably not even good. Did it keep me hooked while reading it? Yes. Did I enjoy it (aside from aforementioned issues) ? Yes, but the last couple of chapters were a slog.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Cruel Romance
May 3, 2018
Status: c6 part6
I really hope someone picks up the translation for this!

I really like this story so far. The main female lead falls in love with Xiang Ying Dong, mistakenly thinking that he saved her, when it was, in fact, Zuo Zhen. Jin Xiu isn't foolish and limits her expectations, and at the same time, she isn't blind to Zuo Zhen's kindness which leads the way to a more satisfying love. The leads have a good chemistry and their love is based on kindness and interaction as opposed to solely good looks.

The... more>> writing itself lacked some clarity - locations and time skips were not described clearly and the story would often jump around from one place to another without warning. For this reason, I rated Cruel Romance 4, instead of 5. That being said, I'm a sucker for romances, especially when they develop early on and you get to see the leads together for much of the story, so I really hope this is picked up by a translating group! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Sweet Chief Secretary
April 6, 2019
Status: c81
The translations aren't great. The conversations are stilted and often make no sense. Things that should be witty are meaningless, and the nuance is lost. There are a lot of mistakes with pronouns. The current description also short-changes this series a little as it's heavier on company intrigue and politics than it's made out to be. Sort of like "Our Glamorous Time"?

Update as of Chapter 95:

... more>>
Spoiler

The translation quality/the author (at this point it's hard to tell) is really dragging this down. Characters are playing word-games but none of the "traps" come across. The characters' relationships are becoming very messy. The author is pulling loop-holes out of the air to make things difficult. Example:

A lecherous director agreed to a deal, then went back on his words; a secretary from Shen Yun's company dealt with it, but then the director insisted that Xia Yu had to come to his personal villa or he wouldn't sign. Shen Yun sends her into the tiger's den, she almost gets raped until the director's wife comes and catches him. Afterwards Shen Yun feels bad about the whole thing and gets angry and beats up the director... despite tacitly agreeing to the whole thing?

I'm going to continue reading this, but I hope that the translation/story-telling picks back up again.

[collapse]

All of the core characters - Shen Mo, Shen Yun, Shen Qiang, Xia Yu - are fleshed out and seem to have a nuanced way of looking at the world.

Spoiler
    • Shen Mo is the eldest grandson who sees his competitor, Shen Yun, as an unexpected road-bump on the way to something that is rightfully his. It's interesting to see how this mindset leads him to underestimate and belittle Shen Yun as he spirals down into entitlement.
    • Shen Yun, on the other hand, is the grandson that has constantly had to cede to Shen Mo for most of his life, and is a "philanderer" (... or not? It's kind of unclear). He wants to prove himself and is constantly seeking to improve.
    • Shen Qiang is the kid whose father left his family for another woman and who is not involved in the fight for power at all really. He supports Shen Yun because he's a better alternative than Shen Mo.
    • Into this mix we have Xia Yu, who's feisty and emotion driven but rarely without a plan. Her loyalties derive mostly from wanting revenge for her cousin who was dumped by Shen Mo.
      [collapse]
On the other hand, all "non-core" characters are...a bit lame. We have:
Spoiler
  • the highly irritating fiancee of Shen Mo who used family influence to grab onto him and who is just as sterotypically entitled and illogical as you'd expect her to be.
  • the cheating ex-boyfriend of Xia Yu and the third-party-turned-girlfriend who constantly seek out trouble.
  • Shen Yun's mother who gets someone to spy on her son in his own house, who is paranoid that he and Xia Yu are, not dating but... having a fling?, and who plants a spy in her own son's company.
  • the grandmother who just... doesn't seem to care about justice or impartiality at all? She doesn't care about her grandsons' methods as long as the results are good and they have "brotherly love".
    [collapse]
etc. etc.

Beyond all that, where does this story stand? It's mostly character driven, and the relationships between the "core" characters are riveting. The business side is glossed over but the author does take a stab at giving us a flavour of it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
Don't know why this has such a low rating at present. I can only assume that others have read ahead. At present there are really too few chapters to judge. It seems like a fairly standard transmigration story, although the personality of the FL seems to have changed entirely after transmigration - before she was skilled at make-up, but too cowardly to flee from the "assassination organisation", afterwards she seems to have no fear. She mentions that her post-transmigration body is weak, but then manages to beat people up and... more>> forcibly restrain them? Choose one or the other! Having said that, I will continue to read this.

Will update when more chapters are out. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
When I Met You
January 18, 2019
Status: c3
This author's other works also deal with issues of disability and how they affect life and the character's outlook and personality. It's refreshing to see as I previously haven't read any Chinese web novels that deal with similar issues. While it is true that the problem the female lead is trying to resolve (i.e. Her best friend's suicide due to s*xual harassment from a co-worker/boss) are not the main plot here, I thought the angle the story used was nevertheless effective. Rather than showing the female lead's struggles step by... more>> step as she strives to seek justice and is met with apathy and crippling disbelief, it shows us how this permeates into other aspects and strands of her life incidentally. So while we see her falling in love and working at an art gallery, we also feel the impact that everything else is having on her worldview.

I enjoyed the story anyway. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
Sweet Heart in Honeyed Desire
January 18, 2019
Status: c63
It's fine and everything, but the one (very small) thing that annoys me is that while Tang Mi's ex-boyfriend got to explain his reasons for leaving her in the past, she never explains either to him or to Yu Yi about what happened. After reading so many of these romance stories, it's so disheartening to see the male leads being able to expunge themselves of past events while the female leads are never given the opportunity to explain their side of the story. I guess the author thinks that because... more>> we, the reader, can see what's going on inside Tang Mi's head, the character doesn't need to say it out loud. It would solve so many misunderstandings if she did thought.

... The unfairness ruffles me the wrong way, but as it's so minor as to be insignificant. haha.

I also felt like the romance between the two leads came about because of the plot and genre rather than because of chemistry (which did develop later). As most of Tang Mi's experiences are with Yu Xin rather than Yu Yi, it was jarring when she started dating Yu Yi, especially as I actually preferred Yu Xin as a character... <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Tea of Summer
July 10, 2018
Status: Completed
While I was reading this I couldn't put it down, but upon reflection, I find it is not without flaws.

The beginning, while the main characters were in the gray area before dating is the real winner of the series. The male lead's pursuit of the female lead, his care, attention and self-doubt are heart warming and compelling to read. After they get together, I found the pacing of the series was thrown off kilter, with only one event (the two leads plus their best friends going on a trip to... more>> Florida) described.

This kind of external-to-the-relationship "drama" driven plot (drama in quotations because there isn't even any of that in this story) isn't difficult to find in this genre, and I feel this story doesn't do the best job. Having said that, the ending is super cute and it's a quick read that is enjoyable. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
July 7, 2018
Status: shan side story 5
I liked this. My one complaint, (and that's after watching the drama adaptation, which is very good and I would highly recommend) is that the female lead is very silent. We get her personality because we're inside her head for the story, but when you look at what she actually says, she's either silent or speaks blandly. This didn't impact upon my enjoyment of it, it's just something I noticed after watching the drama and reflecting upon the story.

The main couples online relationship was cute, their relationship in real... more>> life felt a little forced in the beginning but I did feel the chemistry. I honestly enjoyed this very much and have reread it a couple of times since completing it. I also recommend the drama which follows the source material very closely, but expands upon the business side of Xiao Nai's company and shows more of the interactions between his friends. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX rated it
Same Place Not Same Bed
April 23, 2019
Status: epilogue
This reminded me, inexplicably, of Our Second Master (which is an absolutely fantastic read). I don't know whether it's the tone, or the way the simultaneously characters care for one another but doubt the other's intentions. The insidiousness of the boss as he played with the female lead's emotions and the way she broke down when the image of her dream man crumbled away were handled with subtlety. The insecurities between the two leads were present and part of the story without overshadowing it. Even with a chapter titled "angst"... more>> I (the angst-hated) never felt like I didn't want to read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
KichiX
The Heartbeat at the Tip of the Tongue
April 23, 2019
Status: Completed
Not sure how I feel about this. The romantic pairing is up there in the description so it came as anything but a shock... but the second male lead... it's so melancholic. The female lead deserved better, and the second male lead deserved better. They both kept their feelings hidden out of a desire to protect the other and both of their feelings were so pure. "Pure" as in truly wishing the best for the other, and understanding and trusting that how the other treated them was nothing more than... more>> a desire to keep them safe and away from harm. It was so heart-wrenching to read... <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KichiX
The tone when in-game is kind of like a cross between Why Not Soar Your Majesty and Time. Unlike A Slight Smile Is Very Charming, the female lead's real-world life isn't built up. We don't get to see the FL at work, although we do follow along when she goes on some truly terrible blind dates ("My family is poor so your parents can pay for the mortgage but my name has to be on the deeds" kind of terrible). Additionally we spend a lot of time with the characters'... more>> inner monologues (a.k.a. infodumps in thought form).

Because the two leads don't know each other in real life at all, the romance proceeds similarly to Really, Really Miss You. Unusually for these kind of in-game/real-life cross-over stories, the two do actually talk on the phone before they meet. Although it gives the relationship more depth, it also brings it into the realm of "reality" which highlights how weird the situation is.

The general dearth of these kinds of stories means that I'll take what I can get, and Please Sign is definitely not a bad story. There is the generic "white lotus" who's in love with the male lead, but the other side characters are decent enough. The FL deals with most situations logically and doesn't fall into the verbal traps of other characters. The ML's attempts to ingratiate himself lose a lot of their romance when you consider that
Spoiler

he's the CEO or whatever of the company that owns the game so the real money he's spending in-game to buy her the fancy clothes/weapons he's going to be getting back...

[collapse]
He is always on her side though, and is generally likeable. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report