Report Review
11 Reviews


Kemori
Kemori rated it
Jujutsushi Wa Yuusha Ni Narenai
April 7, 2018
Status: --
Sigh. Another fantastic novel, definitely in a very sparse niche, dropped by the translator because it's not popular enough.

All you mass consumer f**ktards can stop rating this as 1 star. Just because it's not the same over used cliche sh*t happening over and over in every novel out there that even comes close to the isekai/realistic world travel type stuff out there- and believe me I've read A LOT - unfortunately this site (which you would expect to be the ONE site to have it) doesn't have a way to... more>> add read novels to lists like on MyAnimeList- and MyAnimeList doesn't support anything that isn't a manga or anime, ffs. If you add a novel it adds it to the f**king manga section, which just turns it into a cluster f**k, so I can't- otherwise I'd send you my list to prove I'm not joking. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
Boundary Labyrinth and the Foreign Magician
April 19, 2018
Status: c4
I wanted to really prove the 1 star reviews wrong with this one. I had just assumed that the people reviewing it saying "things didn't connect or came out of nowhere" where just not paying attention.

However that was not the case. Halfway through the fourth chapter- I had enough with the meandering, disjointed nonsense. I'm unsure if this is the author's fault / translators fault, or editor's fault, but it's very poorly presented- there's no flow and the reincarnation aspect might aswell be non-existent as it holds no bearing over... more>> the story whatsoever, except to serve as a catch-all for why a 10 year old knows magic.

It seems like the author would write something, then in the process of writing it, had already moved on to something else and so started writing that. In particular the part with the Guard Captain Oslo alleging that he didn't believe the adventurer's story that themselves and a child managed to kill a swarm of demon Ants on their way to town and that there was a disagreement between the guards and the guild- it took a few minutes of pondering to put the pieces together to where I understood what was going on because the text is sort of all over the place- I think the fault for this was actually the translation/editing so y'know.

Anyway, I've read far worse LNs/WNs for a lot longer, so take that info and do what you want with it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
The Crimson Dragon
March 17, 2018
Status: c62
Wow, honestly this didn't read as a Chinese novel. I was thoroughly enjoying it. Not sure why everyone is complaining, this is a unique story, much different from the typical OP MC trope. There are times when there are multiple consecutive chapters in which the MC is sleeping, but that doesn't hurt the story, it helps it by giving us a break from the MC. I especially love how he accidentally creates a humanoid race and they just do their own thing whilst he sleeps.

I'm not sure why this was... more>> dropped to be honest, I guess people don't like to read something different and instead want more of the same. Same thing that happened with the TV show; 'Stargate: Universe'- it got cancelled because people were complaining it didn't follow the played out, boring ass theme as the other two Stargate series. You know, they go into the gate to a new world, find bad guys or some problem, solve it, hurray, next episode, repeat. In SG:U they looked at the psychological and survival aspects of being stranded in deep space on an alien ship, complete with the political theatre that entailed. But you know, people aren't smart enough to enjoy that type of show- they just want more Goa'uld to get shot and some more explosions. Plebeians.

Someone in another review said that it sucked because the author said he didn't have the brutal nature of a dragon, but later said it did- That person is an Idiot who can't read, or at the very least retain what he read. Upon approaching an adolescent/teenage stage, the MC hits a point where his Human soul merges with the Dragon soul (when some of the sealed hereditary knowledge is released) so it ceases to be a "Human in a dragon's body" and becomes a "Irregular Dragon" story, about a dragon who keeps accidentally encouraging the wrath of the Gods whom then command creatures to attack him.

There was one plot hole- He flew away after being tricked by Sylvia, resulting in his sister not being freed and Sylvia getting away with tricking him (she only had her army destroyed.) <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori
Hail the King
June 30, 2018
Status: --
Set in the world of Diablo, featuring people and places named Hilton-Paris and Manchester, who was it that said the Chinese lack creativity? This novel pretty much proves that notion. Dropped at 118- the Paris Hilton character was the last straw for me. Imagine reading a fantasy, then every time this character talks, you can just see Paris Hilton's smugly pretentious mutilated face.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
She Was Both Called God, as Well as Satan
October 30, 2018
Status: c23
Despite what people here may be saying; you CANNOT read this and enjoy at the same time via google translate.

Since Japanese is a contextual language, you often have to work out what's being said by rearranging and rereading what was just written in order to gather what is being talked about, which means you have to suspend your reading to go back and make sense of what you've just read.

That being said, I enjoyed this up to the translated chapter (currently 22), it's a shame that we're still in the... more>> early days of translating, almost every novel I've read so far (easily between 200-300) has been in an unfinished translation state and it's quite infuriating to begin to get engrossed in a world, only to have the story suddenly become inaccessible.

4/5 - the story itself is 5 stars up to this point, I took a star away because the current translator has barely managed to translate a single chapter per month this year (2018) - if he/she hadn't uploaded two chapters this month, they would've fallen below monthly releases. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
I enjoyed this series as far as I read it- the only problem with the series IMHO is that the author completely forgot where the story was going and ended up going another way.

Basically when looking at school clubs, he starts a club with 48 people, then his club starts building a three storey castle (and he has a militant fanatic girl called Heart Valentine running it) - however the author seems to have forget this entire part and after they briefly appear for a few chapters, there are literal... more>> volumes- comprising 6 months of time in the world- in which he basically has nothing to do with his club or the members of his club, not even so much as an "I went to check on the construction of the castle and the club, it was going well."

Also, unfortunately as soon as the translation was taken over by Asian Hobbyist, the quality of the translation completely tanked. It seems the 'Asian Hobbyist' doesn't have very good English skills and doesn't utilise volunteer editors to fix their translation releases. The poor quality translation led me to dropping this series.

"You look on fire prince" - "others loves it" - "the latter enters my room right then" - this is the quality you can expect from when Asian Hobbyist takes over at the end of Volume 3/Beginning of Volume 4. Suffice it to say, Asian Hobbyist ruined this for me and I truly hope they put effort in and allow others to edit their work, Asian Hobbyist is very close to entering my personal black list. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
Albert Ke no Reijou wa Botsuraku wo go Shomou desu
April 21, 2018
Status: --
Basically this story is about a person in another world who gets hit with a memory that she is the villain and the world is a game. Two chapters in I have no idea why she decides to play her part, seems to be "Because I can"- of course, the strange translation (which initially seems competent with the translator translating difficult words well) and poor editing (strange archaic and unused word choices, combined with seemingly random letters and the incorrect words dotted here and tehre) make it difficult to be... more>> aware of what's going on all the time.

There is no description of the surrounding environment, uniforms, the descriptions of the characters is very vague.

Got tired of it real fast and dropped it after the second chapter. Complete waste of time. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori
Abyss Domination
April 30, 2018
Status: c51
This was really well translated. I legit teared up in the third chapter- if I weren't lying down I have no doubt they would've fell from my eyes.

This was fantastic to read. I stayed up until 6am reading (when I had planned to sleep at 12am) because I just didn't want to stop. It has great pacing that doesn't really make you feel like it's slowing down.

The main issue I have with this novel though is that there's a bit too much exposition in some chapters; instead of trickling exposition... more>> and information over time, it seems like the author is forcibly throwing a wall of text regarding the differences between wizards and sorcerers all at once, so he can move on from having to explain it ever again (which he does two more times later on anyway making the initially long-winded and over-exposed information wall-of-text pointless to begin with.)

Secondary issue I have with this is the opposite- not enough exposition- there's this vague idea the author has called "explosive power" and it somehow gives Soran better combat ability whilst draining his stamina, but it's never properly explained what this is (as it's not an obtained skill in his status panel) or how he came to have it.

Spoiler

Final problem with the story is that Soran KNOWS the tavern he's staying in at the second city is aiming for his sister- but he leaves her there and goes shopping anyway- this was immensely stupid of the author- Soran would NEVER do that, he's calm, calculated and avoids risk where he can.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
Evil God Average
April 27, 2018
Status: --
Very interesting read, the pace was really good, I didn't feel at any time that I was getting bored or had to skip what I was reading due to impatience/knowing what was coming- until the final chapter.... more>>
Spoiler

The ending was disappointing. Even though it ended up that way, it felt more like the author decided to just appease the readers by inadvertently choosing all of the possible endings as a single one.

I was wondering what would happen to the now non-immortal Tena and Lili when their mortal lives ended- but the ending itself belies the fact that the Gods can revive the dead, because the hero/demon party are alive after the imperial death fight, even though they were killed in that fight.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
Invisible Dragon
March 18, 2018
Status: --
If you go into this thinking of it as a serious read, you're going to have a bad time.

If however you go into this thinking it's going to be similar to a gag manga/anime- it's actually quite amusing. I only read a couple chapters, as I'm not searching for that type of thing intentionally, but still- variety is the spice of life, so they say.

Note to other reviewers:

If you're getting a headache because you're unable to read words with an extra letter or a letter missing then you shouldn't push... more>> your brain so hard- reading is beyond you, you should stick to television and movies, of course don't go for the ones with subtitles~. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kemori
Kemori rated it
I Am Doppelganger
March 17, 2018
Status: --
The translation for this series is terrible, wait until there's a better one out or don't bother. It's not on the level of "Oh I can just ignore and reformat in my head" this is to the point where you have to reread the same sentence 3+ times to understand what's being written. The explanation of why his level was higher when he transformed into a Goblin than when he wasn't transformed was poorly explained and seemed to contradict itself.

The series has potential to be enjoyable, but it's not really... more>> a unique idea- the MC is basically identical to Slime Datta Ken (without the cool personality), but instead of killing and absorbing the enemy, he just kills it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report