Report Review
19 Reviews


Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Omae Mitai na Hiroin ga Ite Tamaruka!
February 17, 2017
Status: Completed
Spoiler

Don't be intimidated by the great wall of text in the first chapters, once the family drama is out of the way (albeit temporarily, with a few loose ends to tidy up in the future), Tsubaki's life is quite enjoyable and entertaining. The romance is also slow going, the story having more focus on Tsubaki's school life and friends while she prepares to take countermeasures against the selfproclaimed Heroine.
Unlike the rest of her Villainess Noble Girl cohorts, she isn't necessarily acting against or wholeheartedly into her designated role. She just didn't try to resolve the misunderstanding of her character for her own convenience and use it as a shield to protect her family (particularly her mother and her maternal cousin who is one of the love interests) from the 'Heroine' and said heroine's mother.

For those curious about the male lead, their relationship can be summed up in this dialouge:

"I have a favor to ask"
"Sure"
"Don't just agree so easily, let her finish! Look at her face, she's obviously going to ask for something troublesome!"
"But I trust Tsubaki won't request something that will inconvenience/hurt me in any way"

[collapse]
42 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
October 9, 2018
Status: c36
Trash is my replacement for Death Flag. And unlike Kazuki/Harold, our trashy young Master Cale actually makes use of the people around him instead of being a stubborn moron who insists on walking alone. To others, Cale is a helpless weakling that needs their help when in truth he’s a manipulative simpleton.
Spoiler

I mean, his obsession with gathering Ancient Power to protect himself actually has him interact with key people from the Plot. He treats powerful people well because he doesn’t want them to have a reason to hold a grudge against him. He doesn’t avoid confrontation and begrudgingly devises plans to derail the villains simply because he doesn’t want to be responsible for the lives of the innocent.

[collapse]
He’s such a failure on his role as trash, I can’t help but laugh at him. What a tsundere. This cowardly trouble magnet can't do lowkey and that's what makes the series so funny.
Spoiler

I bet he'll encounter those crazy mermaids and the Whale Tribe on his "sightseeing trip" after the events in the capital.

[collapse]
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Can Someone Please Explain This Situation
February 1, 2017
Status: c134
I'd gladly recommend Dareka for those who wants to do some light reading or a temporary break from your usual fare. The characters from the servants to the heroine Viola are all entertaining and hilarious as they go from their day to day life at the mansion. Vi-chan's inner thoughts especially when accompanied with a star are comedy gold. Regarding her husband:

... more>>
Spoiler

Danna-sama doesn't have much of an active role in the early chapters apart from mentions and his regular visits to the main mansion to check up on Viola. But after his mistress leaves out of her own accord, he starts getting his life together and take interest on his duties as a Duke. All thanks to Viola turning on the once empty and cold mansion into a home worth coming back to.

[collapse]

To borrow our clever Vi-chan's words... he is Extremely High Spec, but also Extremely Disappointing. Take it as you will.

There's separate stories for the sidestories that delve deeper on each reoccurring character as well as their background so even if you finished the main story itself, you have the option of reading those. <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Divorce: This is a Trivial Matter
February 17, 2017
Status: Completed
One of the more enjoyable installments of Chestnut's Truly Precious verse, detailing a young couple's shaky beginnings and their subsequent rocky marriage turned divorce. Despite what the summary leads people to believe, their animosity for each other isn't that great or petty. 'He scanned the living room again. Several small photo frames were arranged throughout the room, all of them featuring him and Yang Wei. He took half and placed them in his suitcase. The ones he believed he was the most handsome in, he left behind in the living... more>> room.'

Well mostly. It's a lighthearted romcom fare so don't expect melodrama, just two people still madly in love with each other and leaving others scratching their head and thinking 'are you sure you guys are really over?'.

Spoiler

Qi Xiao Yan treated the divorce as more of a Cool Down Period for the both of them, because he knew if he left their personality clashes and problems attaining mutual understanding fester then they would really end up in separate ways with no chance of reconciliation.
Contrary to popular belief, his first love is his wife and not the young starlet that used to be his basketball team's manager ("Do you believe in love at first sight?" "No" "Before I met Yang Wei, neither did I.") .

He also tried to covertly understand his ex-wife's passion for art by signing up for her virtual class, which was a sweet gesture and showed his sincerity. He still worries about her well-being and checked his phone plus her social media for updates on her life as well as precautionary measures in case of emergency. He also took great efforts to make romantic gestures as her ex-husband turned boyfriend, which yielded hilarious results. All in all still a dedicated husband. Is it any wander she still choose him? Lousy second male lead aside.

[collapse]

My real beef towards this story is the lousy second make lead, even if I knew very well that the author only put him there as a plot device to move the Divorce Couple's relationship development along. Not to mention some chapters just felt unnecessary, especially the side stories regarding the second male lead. But that might be my biased view talking. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Fake Cinderella
September 23, 2018
Status: c21
Don't the generic title, setting and art fool you, this isn't pointless fluff. The food featured is usually served as a side dish for the political intrigue.

... more>>
Spoiler

The Princess' unique status made her a frequent target for assassination ever since she was born, her death capable of creating a civil war.

[collapse]

As for the romance, it's sweet.

Spoiler

The Princess' official first meeting with her husband has her cowering from his billion watt smile.

"Are you listening?"

"... Please don't be angry"

"I'm not angry"

"I can hear the anger from your voice"

"You're making me angry"

"But you just said you weren't!"

But once they clear out the air enough to have a decent conversation, they get along just fine. Enough to make the Prince's brothers ecstatic.

"The sweets are wasted on Elder Brother"

[collapse]

So far it balances everything out nicely. I hope a translator group picks this up since the author likes to put details in their world building. It'll be a headache for an amateur translator, much less an MTL one. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Finding Glowing Beauty in Books
February 27, 2017
Status: c18 part1
Pleasantly surprised by the story since I didn't have good impression of it due to the controversial relationship between the two as stated by one reviewer. But then I realized it didn't matter since it's merely a prop/plot convenience that Chestnut loves to set up in [Truly Precious Verse]: most if not all of female leads work under the male lead at one point. Besides, this trope has been a staple in office romances. If you can tolerate those, you most probably can tolerate this since it's just a variation... more>> of the same thing but in a different setting. *Shrugs*

It definitely accomplished what I expected to see on Chestnut's other story [Sonata: Fleeing to avoid an arranged marriage] but with similar characters from [Divorce: This is a trivial matter].

Personally tho, they're the kind of couple that will divorce in a year. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Sweet Heart in Honeyed Desire
February 9, 2017
Status: Completed
Sweet Heart sets out to do its purpose: provide teeth rotting sugar. A reader commented it's similarity towards My Lovely Kim Sam Soon and true, from what I vaugely remember, it has the same theme. Food. There's not much to say since the journey was quite smooth sailing. Not much conflict to go from and if there is, usually resolved immediately. All in all, a short but enjoyable read.

... more>>
Spoiler

Considering the handling of the split personality disorder, it's a mixed bag. I am not quite sure what the author wants to do half the time and since this is lighthearted, it wouldn't delve much deeper on Yu Yi's pysche. I think it's more a of gimmick than any real use. His Other was quite entertaining since he's compensating for Yu Yi's detachment and lack of interest towards interpersonal relations and emotions. Aka he's there to fulfill his innermost desires and as a result is more proactive.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Suddenly Became A Princess One Day
October 29, 2018
Status: v4c4
It has a similar premise to Daughter of the Emperor (webtoon) which I very much like so I'm looking forward to how this novel fares.

Can't wait to see how Atti meets her dad and charms her way to being a doted Princess!
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
I am the Newly Born Woman of Around Thirty
March 1, 2017
Status: c73
Contrary to what you would expect out from the summary, this isn't like Outaishi where there's ecchi scenes left and right. Nor is it the focus. It's just a newly born woman of around thirty that underestimated the serious consequences of her beloved series translating into reality. Overall, a very cute and comedic story on how her expectations of certain events gets crushed by the ripples she unwittingly made early in the series.

... more>>
Spoiler

By the latest chapter I've read, the main storyline Tiera knew by heart has ended on a full circle and bittersweet note. My heart hurts, hopefully the author would fully expand on her own happy end since it isn't constrained by the Plot anymore. As the saying goes, Zero is where everything starts...

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Rolling love
February 9, 2017
Status: c4
Too early to tell, but the premise gives me Innocent Man/Nice Guy vibes. The female protagonist seems to be pigeonholed into being portrayed as a villain due to her sister (?) 's manipulations. And now that man brimming with vengeful schemes comes and uproots her as a succesor.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
The Friendly Wedding
May 17, 2017
Status: --
Ever since my sister discovered that this wattpad story was being translated here, I've been curious. Especially with how the translator will tackle the gay lingo and slang she mentioned. So far, I can see the smatterings of Filipino slang ("As if!" "Mukha mo") and it's so fun catching those and knowing what it meant. Chinese novels tend to make me feel lost since even when it is adapted to English by the average amateur translator, there's still that lingering colloquialism and expressions that makes it hard for the non-native... more>> readers to make sense of the context and the witty jokes end up lost in translation.

Anyway, having this novel here makes me curious of the original story and how the translated work fares with it. Nowadays, we have PSICOM Publishing with its dubious quality and POP FICTION with its quality check and English translation for aspiring Filipino writers on wattpad wishing to be published. So yeah, I'm definitely keeping an eye on this one! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Miss Appraiser and the Gallery Demon
January 26, 2019
Status: --
Please do take the time to give this novel a chance, the translation quality is superb and the two protagonists are both witty. It's a breath of fresh air from all the Reincarnation stories (as much as I love the cliche trope) and I don't want it to be buried for being different.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi
The Struggle of Returning to The Other World
November 19, 2018
Status: epilouge
I wholeheartedly agree with Elizabrush's assessment of this novel. The way the author handled Haruka's struggle while adjusting to being thrown back in a foreign world as the former Saint "Harutia" gives it a bit of an edge over similar themed novels.

Her life as the Set Meal Shop's Bento Delivery Girl is relaxing even with the 'conspiracy' over her forceful return. This chronicles Haruka's journey of seeing this world outside the gilded cage of a Saint.

... more>>
Spoiler

The romantic development is admittedly frustrating and lacking. The couple tragically have few scenes thanks to spending time apart from each other over the duration of the novel.

On the bright side, Their late night talks can be heartwarming and funny since Noel either ends up exasperated by her stubbornness or Haruka flustered by his casual teasing.

Though Haruka's constant melancholic musings over Noel can be a bit annoying. But she tries hard to mature once she got over her insecurities. And boy, Haruka did a lot of stupid decisions avoiding her Knight ("In your eyes, you'd rather reach out to them than me?"). To the point that Noel finally snapped when the eccentric Summoner teleported her and got her in huge trouble.

Let's call it Character Development and a much needed life lesson.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Mahoutsukai no Konyakusha (LN)
January 27, 2019
Status: v1c8
I'm very fond of this simple novel so I was delighted to see how they improved the story in it's published form. The extra contents were a joy to discover:

... more>>
Spoiler

They expanded on Filimina's feelings in a much more clear cut manner by giving the two chidhood sweethearts' poignant interactions from the get go. Making her sound less like a neutral bystander and more of an exasperated fiancee.

Her own insecurities and complicated feelings on the matter of their engagement are shown in the original, her own actions betraying her true feelings despite the casual way she phrases things. Yet it wasn't until when she was told of his possible demise that Filimina dropped the pretense of being unmoved.

[collapse]

They show Filimina as girl in love.

The translator also included novel illustrations as feast for the eyes.

I'm very excited to know what the other volumes are about. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
The Witch, Who Once Was Called A Saint
January 27, 2019
Status: Completed
I remember fondly reading this story on syosetsu so I was happy to see someone translate this (even if it's a teaser).

It's about an immortal witch who, thanks to the person she saved on a whim, began to live again instead of merely going through the motions.

Besides the emergence of a plot that served to introduce the Witch's past, the romance is pretty straightforward and food is in abundance here.

... more>>
Spoiler

As the only living relic that knows about the monsters that plauge the fort, she eventually went to aid in the war effort. She's a big softie, this tsundere former Saint. Her reluctance to enter a relationship is understandable, given her immortality. Thankfully, they didn't have to go for a bittersweet parting and lifted the curse.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
It has a similar vibe to the Atelier video game franchise so fans of the game would no doubt enjoy it. From the ridiculous on the sly innuendos, a troublesome Master, dodgy useless adults; I like it so far!

... more>>
Spoiler

It makes me think having the characters visit a shop with the name "Meruru" is a deliberate reference from the author. Mariela reminds me most of Rorona (Atelier Rorona: Alchemist of Arland). Just with a bit more spunk. It doesn't help that she has a handsome man following after her lmao.

[collapse]

About the man depicted on the cover alongside our girl:

Spoiler

Our man (?) Sieg has done a lot of stupid things in his life thanks to his blessed circumstances as a person with a spirit eye. Once the thing that made him special was gone, his arrogance further doomed him in a life of servitude as a slave. He made a lot of stupid decisions and his gamble of saving his former Master's son caused a chain reaction that led him to meeting Mariela. While he was still over the moon at meeting his Goddess, Lynx decided to crash his delusions and make him truly question his life choices as a dedicated freeloader.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Drop!! ~A Tale of the Fragrance Princess~ (WN)
December 15, 2017
Status: c75
I was expecting some mindless teeth rotting fluff but ended up being pleasantly surprised. There's no obligatory school arc since Cordelia spends her time researching herbs and developing new products while striving to be the perfect Noble lady. Oh, I also removed the Harem and Reverse Harem tags that's been a misleading eyesore so rejoice my fellow harem haters.

The cast of characters doesn't exist to simply fawn over Cordelia. A prime example being her family. Her father is more along the lines of the Prime Minister from Duke's Daughter and... more>> the scheming cold-hearted King from Tensei Oujo; strict and wise. He is doting like most fathers but everything he does is laced with expectation for his whimsical daughter's creative mind. Her brothers who are both knights occasionally appear during their offdays while her older sister is consistently mentioned throughout the story.

It's pretty episodic with mini arcs and a possible emergence of a plot woven in between walls of text detailing her hobby. So if you don't mind those and enjoyed the current translated chapters, I suggest to read the RAWS. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Just Blame Me For Being Blind in the Beginning
February 3, 2017
Status: c61
This novel set out what it wanted to do: fluff but with enough drama inserted to not make it mindless. Just the right consistenty for light reading. The one that truly impressed me was Pei Ying. She knows what she wants and how to get it, she is not naive about the showbiz industry but she won't be dirtying her hands to exact revenge (simply waiting for those people to get their just desserts), that balance of kind but unyielding is really admirable. She's optimistic about life but not stupid,... more>> a strenght of character that allows her to be unfazed about other people's own petty views (Aka netizen and paparazzi). Her giddines over her crush was cute and relatable.

CEO Song might be one of those a dime a dozen Boss archetype but he is at least straightforward and upfront about it. He gets jealous, he makes mistakes and above all childish. But unlike most of his counterparts, he rarely if ever crosses the line when it comes to love and intimacy.

The references and nudges of the author for her Truly Precious verse was really touching and made me curious about her other works, I was especially happy when I recognized one or two characters. It was really well executed here, tying the story with the others. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Kalmaegi
Kalmaegi rated it
Sonata: Fleeing to Avoid an Arranged Marriage
February 3, 2017
Status: c3
The story only have teaser chapters at the moment so I hope it gets picked up. The female lead is a rich yoiung lady who has no lifeskills to speak of (she can't cook) and paired with her terrible luck, the random ad was a godsend. Unfortunately, she's afraid of dogs so even sneaking up to get a midnight snack is an uphill battle. The secondhand embarrassment makes you want to dig a hole and bury yourself. Entertaining. Hope to see more of it someday.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report