Report Review
88 Reviews


KKristen
I honestly don't understand all the 5 star reviews. Did I miss something? To me, this novel is just the usual "black-bellied female MC" story, but executed more poorly than usual.

Before I come off as unfairly critical, please let me explain...

(I will explain in detail from here. I'm going to write a lot, since I don't like to give low ratings or bad reviews without explaining why. If you don't want to read a lot, skip down to the last paragraph for TL;DR.)

... more>> PLOT:

A powerful jiangshi (a corpse monster/vampire) tries to sneak into heaven, is caught by the heavenly emperor, and is forced into the mortal world. The story begins when she wakes up in the body of a weak-willed princess. The country she lives in has reversed gender roles, in which women hold all the power and men are just s*xual objects.

This plot sounds interesting, but then you get to the plot holes...

PLOT HOLES:

  • She wakes up in the body of a princess. What happened to the princess? They never explained if she died or is just possessed or anything.
  • She immediately shows her supernatural powers and vampiric nature to everyone, and NO ONE asks any questions, whether they are servants, friends, or enemies.
  • Women are the ruling class, warriors, and "husbands" in this world. However, for some unexplained reason, all of the men aren't just subservient -- they have extremely weak and "feminine" personalities as well. They fall in love at first sight and cry easily, and are easily beaten up (even though they are strong enough to carry women in other scenes).
  • The old princess was extremely shallow, brown-nosing, weak-willed, and flat out abusive. She let her husband be stabbed and maimed, then threw him into a shed for his wounds to rot. Her servants loathed and disrespected her. All these months/years of hatred and resentment are IMMEDIATELY forgotten in a day. I'm not kidding - as soon as she shows any sort of "strength" or unintentional "kindness", her husband, servant, and other hot males instantly adore and respect her. They crave her attention within 1 chapter, and this is never explained.
  • Despite the author's attempts to limit her power (eg. she gets weak when she uses magic), she is still OP. She can dispatch people with only her killing intent, her wealth is limitless and she easily throws it around (despite being an "out of favor" 6th princess), she can physically maim the most powerful princess in the country in public with zero consequences, she is still inhumanly strong and has vampire teeth, etc etc etc...
  • The main character's personality is extremely inconsistent. She's supposed to be a cold-hearted monster with a killing aura, who lacks knowledge about human emotions or empathy for mortals. However, she immediately decides that a bunch of her servants (who she doesn't even know/remember) are "her people" and will show them warm-hearted concern, kindness, and rushes to exact revenge for them. She's supposed to be someone with incredible willpower who has cultivated for thousands of years, but she gets distracted, yearning, and horny as soon as she sees any hot guy. (Not just the main characters, mind you... she'll be standing up, heart-pounding, and drooling over anyone who is hot or can play music, even if they will be gone within 1 chapter.)
These are just a few of the many inconsistencies within the first 23 chapters.

WRITING:

The writing also isn't particularly good -- the author only knows how to describe how people look, not environments or world-building. The story jumps around without transitions (ex. she does something big, and it skips to the next scene with no explanation about what happened after). The pacing is weirdly too fast (things develop and are resolved too quickly), but also too slow (it feels like the plot has not advanced even after 23 chapters).

I don't think this is an error in translation -- the translation quality isn't that bad (the English isn't perfect, but it's not broken or too distracting). I think it's the novel itself.

TL;DR / RECOMMENDATION:

Overall, I still think that this was a mildly-enjoyable way to waste some time. If you just adopt the mantra "DON'T THINK ABOUT ANYTHING", you'll probably be ok.

If all you want is fluff and some almost-smut (eg. heavy kissing for no reason), you'll get it here. There's lots of descriptions about "faces flushing, " "heart pounding uncontrollably, " etc, even if the reasons behind the lust make no logical sense.

Also, if you're looking for a ruthless female MC who is very bloodthirsty, doesn't bother to pretend that she's weak (or normal, or human), is directly violent, and makes strangers pee themselves, this MC will do that. <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
September 17, 2017
Status: c370
It's the story that you didn't know you always wanted --

  • What happens when a girl who has transmigrated into a story as a loathsome character meets a man who has reincarnated and holds a grudge against her?
Summary:

  • Chu Lian read half of a book in which the female main character cheated on her good husband. When she suddenly wakes up in the body of that female MC on their wedding night, she's thrilled -- a chance to have a wonderful transmigrator life with her hot new hubby!
  • However, little does she know that her husband has been reborn, too... into his younger self. Looking at the woman he loved, who betrayed and cuckolded him for another man... In his first life, he was kind and trusting, but now that he's gone back in time, he's out for revenge!
Here are some points that I like:

... more>>
  • The main character is level-headed and not over-powered. She's just a practical, business-minded orphan from the modern world. She only read half of the novel she transmigrated into, so she can't predict future events and needs to figure out her own way to fit in.
  • Because her tastes are picky from eating good modern food, and her knowledge of internet recipes, she sets out to improve the food she eats in her new life. Great for food-loving readers!
  • The male lead is enraged at her original character, and he is very standoffish, rude, and threatening to her at first. But his funny/awkward attempts to slight her (that usually end up backfiring on himself instead) make him endearing.
  • The pacing of the story is nice and exciting without feeling rushed.
  • The translation quality is excellent.
Not many chapters are out at the time of this review, but I'm already hooked! I will update this review later, but for now -- highly recommended!

Update:

This story is still going strong! The only points I have to add so far are:

  • This novel is totally FOOD PORN. Reading it will make your stomach growl and your mouth drool.
  • The male lead is a meathead. Stubborn, hot-tempered, tactless, heavy-handed, idiot. Sometimes he is mildly endearing.
  • Many of the side characters aren't super developed or intelligent -- they're more like foils to complement the MC.
  • However, the MC is still super likeable.
<<less
52 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
July 21, 2017
Status: c5.10
TL;DR:

  • This is a yaoi / shounen-ai / boys love story. There are fantasy elements and a noticable plot (that's actually pretty good), but overall a huge plot element in the story is the male MC's romances with men. You have been warned.
  • This isn't the most realistic, heart-pounding, or complex novel, but it's still pretty well-written and an easy read. If you don't mind BL and just want a fantasy romance, give it a try.
Synopsis:

  • The main character was a genius hacker before "God" trapped him in a virtual hell. Always reborn as the "villian" or "cannon fodder" character, he's forced to play out the roles and dies an unseemly death in thousands of worlds, over thousands of years. When he finally breaks the cycle, he resolves to ruin God's plans... and finds love along the way.
Plot Notes:

... more>>
  • Even though he's finally developed a tool that enables him to stray from God's "script, " he is still trapped in an endless cycle of lives. He decides to slowly corrupt God's system by changing the path of his character, the protagonist, and antagonist in each world he enters.
  • This novel is essentially about following the main character as he lives many different lives, and watching him manipulate and change the pre-written stories in order to spite God. He also builds a strong romance in each life.
Main Character:

  • Basically, the MC is a genius who has lived thousands of lives as thousands of different characters. He has become immensely talented in all fields. He is extremely intelligent, calculating, and alluring... and somewhat OP... but he's still likeable.
  • The MC's original self was gay. However, "God" forced him to play the villain and do unspeakable things with/to women for thousands of years. When he finally regains self-control, he is relieved and ready to pursue men again.
  • Note: even though his relationships are homos*xual, they're not just "exaggeratedly gay" or smutty. (Everything is pretty clean. PG-13 at the very most.) The MC's relationships are actually pretty solid, developed, and healthy.
Translation/Writing:

  • The translation quality is really good, and the chapters are nice and long.
  • This is a very easy and smooth read. Perhaps it's not the most complex novel (it's mostly just nice fantasy-romance fluff), but the plot is solid and the romance takes center stage without detracting from the actual story.
All in all, I'd say that if you enjoy an easy fantasy romance, and don't have a problem with BL, give it a try. You might enjoy it. I know I did. <<less
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
December 7, 2016
Status: c180
I don't like to review a series until I'm finished with it, but what the heck, I'm at Chapter 180, and this can't wait.

This is one of THE BEST Chinese light novels I've ever read. Definitely in my Top 3 favorites, along with I Shall Seal The Heavens and Douluo Dalu. If you don't like those novels, and instead you love series like MGA or ATG, maybe don't even bother reading this review... you probably won't like this.

But if you LIKE...

• A rational, hard-working, good-humored, loyal main character, who isn't... more>> arrogant or blindly bloodthirsty...
• Side characters that are well-developed and don't disappear later on...
• A story that is equal parts funny+emotional+interesting...
• Great translation quality with one dedicated translator with a rich vocabulary...

... then, READ THIS!!!

More reasons you might want to read this series:

• You're tired of repetitive Chinese light novel tropes, and you want a LN that calls them out on their BS. (broken MCs, harems, cheats, spirit guides, etc)
• You don't mind a good parody -- one that's well-written, has its own unique characters and world, but still makes funny commentaries on the ridiculousness of other light novels.
• You're looking for a female main character that isn't a Mary Sue and has a mind of her own. (Name another series where the main character reincarnates as a middle-aged village woman.)
• You like romance stories that are entertaining, but also rational. (No love at first sight or endless descriptions about how hot people are.)
• You have a sense of humor and enjoy constant jokes.

Still haven't decided to read this? Don't worry:
• Even though it's sort of a parody, it doesn't feel like fanfiction. It has its own unique and compelling storyline.
• Even though it's primarily a comedy, it also has action, romance, mystery, tragedy, and SO MANY FEELS (you will laugh, you will cry, you will cast the Great Diarrhea Art)
• Even though it seems like the chapter releases slowed down, the translator (Scrya) just came back!

TL;DR:
If you liked anything I said above, just try it. You won't regret it.

(NOTE: I'll update this review later on.) <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Supernatural Girlfriend
October 17, 2017
Status: c50
So far, the plot of this story is interesting, but the characters leave a lot to be desired. I'm still reading it for now, but I keep wanting to beat my head against the wall because of the main character. I'm not trying to be overly harsh in my review, but... I want to be honest to save you (other readers) time. If you like these types of characters/stories, then feel free to ignore my review.

Plot:

Lin Yixin lost her parents in an accident and gained the ability to see ghosts.... more>> One day, her apartment starts flooding and she goes upstairs to stumble onto the scene of a crime. Unexpectedly, the "murder" is actually a writer and his friend acting out a scene to get into the mood. The genius-but-rude author hires her as his live-in assistant/cook/housemaid/slave until her apartment is rebuilt. Later, Lin Yixin is attacked by a real murderer and discovers that she can use her ghost-sight to solve crimes.

Characters:

Lin Yixin -- The best way to describe her would be a hot-tempered airhead with no job, no prospects, no attention-span, and no motivation, who can also see ghosts. She doesn't value her life and does nothing with her ghost-seeing ability (which she obtained early in her childhood) until the age of 25, when she suddenly becomes kind-hearted and decides to put herself at risk in order to solve crimes.

She is the type of person who tries to get murdered so that the police can use her body as evidence to convict the criminal. If someone gives her a binding contract, she will sign it without looking at it. If she is invited inside a scary room by a shady person/email, she will immediately enter with no preparation, no self-defense, and without telling anyone. If someone who may be dangerous offers her food, she will immediately eat it. Her method of crime-solving is to follow a ghost, directly confront the criminal, and possibly be saved by someone else after. (It may sound like I'm exaggerating here, but all of these things actually happen multiple times in the story.)

Suyang -- The mysterious, genius, rich, hot, spoiled, bipolar, neat-freak, male lead who is also an eccentric writer. His key points are "hot and rich" and "foul-mouthed and rude." Every so often, he will suddenly become super nice and touchy-feely for no reason. It's casually revealed that he is also a prodigy at basketball. He is possessive of the female lead even though they have only known each other for a few weeks (actually, it might be more like a few days?)

There are no other noteworthy characters. There are a few characters (like Suyang's friend and an old lady) who will rarely pop in and out of the story, but they don't really do much. The other characters are only important for one crime "arc" and will disappear after the crime is resolved.

Translation:

The translation quality is the one consistently good thing about this novel. The English is excellent, the editing is clean, the releases are frequent. (Dear translator, please don't think that I don't appreciate your work... I just have some problems with the novel itself.)

TL;DR:

For now, I'm giving this novel 3 stars. The plot concept is ok, but the plot execution is like being beat with a stick. I will update this review later, if I don't drop the series first. <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
February 18, 2017
Status: c118
HOW TO READ THE TRANSLATION:

There are 3 different translators. I was confused about this when I first started the series. Tip:

1) Start with Blastron - This is the highest quality translation and the most entertaining to read. Blastron is the best at capturing the personality and humor of the story. (Edit: Some people have mentioned that Blastron's translation is more westernized. If you don't mind poor grammar and want the purer form, you can try Turbo.)

2) Once you finish Blastron's chapters, if you can't wait, read Turbo Translations... more>> - the translation quality and grammar is low but it'll get you there.

3) After Turbo, read Raising the Dead's translations to get up to the most recent chapters. Their translations aren't bad but they weren't as fun as Blastron's. PERSONALLY:

I heard a lot about this series, but didn't start it until I accidentally started reading the manga adaptation. (It's good!) When I finished the chapters I couldn't wait to find out more, so I started reading the novel.

I really like the main character's personality and don't mind the side stories. I decided to wait for more chapters from Blastron, rather than reading on with a lower-quality/less-interesting translation.

PLOT:

An epic battle between a hero and demon lord creates an energy blast so powerful that it goes into another dimension and kills everyone in one Japanese high school classroom. One of those students is reborn as a tiny spider monster in an underground labyrynth. This is the story of how she levels up and evolves. (There is also a running side story about her classmates' who have been reincarnated into the same world.)

INTERESTING ATTRIBUTES:

- The basic plot of this story sounds similar to many other RPG stories (like Re:Monster).

- However, the execution is unique in that it features a funny female main character, and takes a more realistic approach to the leveling/evolution system.

- Even though some of her skills are "broken, " they're not "over-powered." It takes her a long time and serious effort to gain understanding and mastery over her skills and abilities, and nothing is ever easily explained or handed to her.

- For example, even though she unlocks magic early in the story, she has no idea what it does or how to use it until a LONG time later.

- Her advancement of skills (and skills available) are relevant to her species and makes sense.

- The world-building starts out small (since we're literally stuck in a cave) and eventually grows (thanks to the side characters' stories).

TIP:

I read a tip in another review here that really improved my reading experience -- read the story as if the spider is actually a side character, and the other characters are the real main characters. Then you will be less frustrated when she's just grinding for hundreds of chapters, while the other characters are advancing the plot out in the world.

P.S. I liked this even though I have arachnophobia. Also, you have to really like grinding/leveling in order to enjoy this story. <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
The premise behind this novel is interesting: On the night she was born, it was foretold that she was a cursed child. Her family was hunted down and the girl was hidden in the forest. Years later, through a series of coincidences, this girl raised by wolves is set to marry a prince and become his Wangfei.

However, the execution is lacking. The chapters are very short, and the translation is in broken English. That would be ok, but...

The main character is supposed to be a super assassin from the modern... more>> age, but the author completely forgets that and so she acts simple and naive. She has no idea how to act in society, doesn't have any of the skills from her past life (other than speech and being able to fight), and she has a barely-mentioned vague power to control all animals. She's supposed to have "demon" eyes, but those aren't noticable and barely mentioned again.

The explanations for plot events (such as why the second most powerful man in the country would choose to marry a wolf girl, and why she would accept) are rushed and shallow.

The moments that are supposed to be heart-pounding (like unexpected kisses and s*xy moments) fail to catch your attention since you don't understand what either of the main characters look like, why they would be interested in each other, or how their feelings could be so easily influenced after only 1 day together...

I'm going to drop this series for now.

If you want to read a really good novel about a girl raised by wolves, you should read "Ballad of the Dessert" by Tong Hua instead. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Poison Genius Consort
May 6, 2017
Status: c270
Not one of my all-time favorites, but still enjoyable and easy to read, and better than most.

I recommend you try it if you like:

  • Self-sufficient, level-headed, strong-willed female main characters.
  • A main character who is very skilled, but not OP.
  • Mystery, martial arts, and political intrigue.
You should also enjoy (or at least be ok with) :

... more>>
  • A romance that develops VERY slowly.
  • Drama between females. (the usual shade-throwing, name-calling, face-shaming, etc between noble women and petty family members)
  • A main character who has an almost magical special ability that no one else has.
  • A main character who is constantly struggling and being beaten down each time she rises up.
I DON'T recommend it if you want:

  • Romantic fluff
  • A domineering, OP, triumphant, or brutal main character
  • Cultivation/leveling up
  • A story that moves quickly (I'm at chapter 144 and we still haven't seen much romantic/character development)
  • A healthy romantic relationship
With that being said, here's a summary of the story:

  • Han Yunxi is a genius poison doctor in a modern era. After her unexpected death, she is reborn in the body of a "useless trash" daughter of a medical family, about to be married to the cold and aloof Duke of Qin, Long Feiye. However, her new husband refuses to even meet her at the door, her new in-laws hate her, her old relatives despise her, and she's been drawn into an ongoing feud within the palace... with only her unique poison skills help her.
Characters:

  • Han Yunxi is level-headed, stubborn, and a realist. She does arrive in the past with a "cheat ability" (her futuristic poison detox/detection system), but she is not OP. Despite her poison abilities, she is faced with constant trials and struggles in the form of social schemes and physical danger. She has zero martial arts ability, her schemes don't always work as planned, she refuses to kill ruthlessly because of her previous occupation as a doctor, and she has little to no help from others. Overall, she is acceptable to read and her struggles are easy to understand.
  • Long Feiye is often called a "ice block, " and it's no joke -- he's one of the most aloof, uncaring, and cold main characters ever. Seriously. It's not like "oh look how tsundere he is, cute, " it's more like "he legitimately doesn't care if she dies." Don't expect him to be a warm main character, at least not for at least 250 chapters. (Tbh, he irritates me often. He is always leaving Yunxi in dangerous situations, and every time he doesn't get his way, he physically grabs her or assaults her. I keep having to ignore my modern feminist sensibilities in order to like him. Just a warning...)
Overall, this is one of the better and more realistic novels in the "genius female reborn as trash daughter in ancient era" genre. I enjoyed it and read all 144 translated chapters in two days. (Edit: Now at Ch. 270) I would give it 4.5 stars if I could.

UPDATE:

Lowered my rating to 3.5 stars (I'll give it 4 stars just for the good translators).

Like many readers, there have been many times when the male lead, Long Feiye, has driven me up the wall in frustration. Frankly, it irritates me how both Yunxi and many readers immediately forgive/forget the many times that he neglects, assaults, or abuses the MC. The things he does to "redeem" himself never feel like enough. The feelings that he and the MC finally develop just feel too forced and quick to be believable (their relationship does drastically and suddenly turn for the better later on). Maybe he's acceptable for younger readers, and readers just looking for hot guys and fluff, but for me, watching their relationship is uncomfortable.

Furthermore, as the chapters progress, the story gets further and further away from reality. I mean, there has always been a fantasy element to the story (reincarnation, godly poison skills, secret powers), but the story becomes filled with cliche elements, like super cute hyper-intelligent animal sidekicks, the MC's ability to instantly master weaponry, miracle herbs/substances, unnecessary fluff, etc. There used to be sort of a grounded logic and reason to the novel that I liked, but after the first hundred chapters it just becomes more and more like a wild teen fantasy. Debating whether I should drop it or not.

Basically, I think this novel had a very strong start, with a realistic and well-grounded MC despite the fantasy setting. However, later on I couldn't help but notice major flaws with the characters, plot, and cliche elements. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
May 9, 2017
Status: c25
As soon as I opened the first chapter on a whim, I was sucked into the story. This is an intense apocalyptic-survival story with a resourceful female main character.

Only 25 chapters were released at the time of this review, but so far it looks very promising.

Summary:

    • For days, Lin Sanjiu has had the foreboding feeling that her too-perfect boyfriend is planning to kill her. On the eave of what will soon be revealed as the start of a disastrous heat wave, her suspicions become a deadly reality. Lin Sanjiu is suddenly and brutally forced into a world in which the apocalypse is nigh, all normal humans will perish, and the few survivors gain abilities or become hideous, man-eating monsters. Even worse, she learns that in a few months she'll be transported into a parallel world that's also going through an apocalypse, and this process will continue again, and again... assuming she lives that long.
First thoughts:

    • This is an exciting read full of suspense, danger, and mystery. The pacing is quick and action-packed, and the writing is excellent. The author doesn't bother to make the apocalypse look "pretty" -- it is filled with terror and rotting corpses. For those who are worried, I didn't find this story too scary -- it's intense, suspenseful, and a bit creepy, but with a healthy dash of fantasy and special powers.
    • Overall, I highly recommend you try it. The story seems to be headed in a very promising direction, the heroine is likeable, and the plot is pretty unique here on NovelUpdates. I'll be following it closely!
Translation:

    • The English and grammar are great. The translators are good at capturing the right feeling and scenery, especially the creepy suspenseful moments.
    • The chapters are a good length, easy to read, and keep you eager for more.
    • New chapters are released frequently, almost every day.
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Wortenia Senki
October 10, 2017
Status: v2c11
The manga is better, because it condenses the plot and has good art.

The novel, as others have said, is unrealistic chuunibyou. The MC is both too Mary Sue to be believable, and yet not Mary Sue enough to be interesting. You're left with a guy who is too rational, too merciless, too kind-hearted, too smart, too normal, too motivated, and too unfocused all at once. The English translation quality is also very rough.

Usually I write long, detailed reviews, but I just don't have the motivation this time. Try it and... more>> you will quickly figure out whether you like it or not. That's all I have to say. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
Don't be fooled by the title, description, or yaoi genre -- this series is surprisingly genuine and takes its plot seriously.

It's not just slapstick humor or smut (there is none in the entire first book). If I didn't see this was marked "yaoi, " I would have thought it was a normal transmigrator/reincarnator xianxia story.

SUMMARY:

When the author of his favorite LN suddenly gives the story a bullsh*t ending, our main character angrily takes to the forums to write a scathing review. Most of the main characters die and the villain... more>> destroys the world?! Unacceptable!

Little did he expect to wake up the next morning in the beginning of the story -- and as one of the first mob characters to be killed, too! Determined to survive his new life as a cannonfodder character, the main character decides to reform the villain. But his valiant efforts seem to be having unexpected results...

CHARACTERS:

The few characters who have been introduced so far are pretty well-developed. The main character is earnest and hard-working, and the villain is adorably tsundere. (Later, s*xily yandere.)

SETTING:

The author actually created his/her (?) own world, cultivation system, monetary system, etc. I appreciate that it's not just a copy-paste of the usual xianxia world. The writing is nice and detailed without being too much of an information dump, and the pacing makes this an easy read to sink into.

TRANSLATION:

Winter's translation is one of the best I've ever read. Perfect grammar, engaging language choices, attention to detail. The great translation quality was a big part of what helped me to really start to enjoy this series. Unfortunately, people keep stealing and reposting Winter's translations on for-profit aggregator sites, so he/she is dropping this series at the end of Volume 1. Such a damn shame... Winter, if you're reading this, thank you for all your hard work!

Another group may be picking this up starting in Volume 2.

REVIEW:

For now, I'm going to give this 5 stars based on the quality of the chapters that are currently translated. I'll update this review later.

Edit: Winter was kind enough to post a super detailed summary of all of Book 2, and let me just say... this TOTALLY deserves 5 stars. A yaoi LN with actual feels, likable female characters, tragedy, and really well-written romance scenes? WHAT?!

P.S.

For those of you who are wondering (you know who you are... ;P), there are apparently a lot of R-18 scenes much later on in the story. (Especially starting in Book 3.) It will be a long while until then, though, so read this for the actual plot. You won't regret it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Chu Wang Fei
October 21, 2016
Status: c114
I really like this one. Probably the most realistic and believable reincarnation LN I've read so far.

Read this:
If you want a well-written story about a smart heroine and political intrigue in a traditional Chinese court, read Chu Wang Fei.

Don't read this:
If you want exciting action, bloody fights, heart-rending romance, and OP characters, you will be disappointed.

Translation:
The quality is pretty good (I'd say 4/5), but the series goes through 3 translators with slight inconsistencies. There is a LOT of Chinese vocabulary to remember. The translators do... more>> a good job of defining the words in the notes, but it definitely makes this a harder read. New chapters are released pretty slowly.

Main character:
One of my favorite main characters so far, but not in the usual way. She's not of my favorites because of her personality (cold, intelligent, well-spoken, ladylike).
I like her because she is one most believable characters I've seen. She only has her intelligence and wits to survive. She doesn't have any really over-powered fighting skills, medical skills, extensive knowledge from another life, or secret powers. She doesn't do unbelievable things to stand out like most female MCs (e.g. killing tons of people, taking over the army, yelling at people, etc) that would normally get them killed in reality. She just acts like a very well-behaved Chinese noblewoman who happens to be very good with words.

Story:
This is very much about political intrigue, family power struggles, and ancient Chinese manners. We see a police woman who in reincarnated in the body of a rejected young miss. All by herself, she has to find people she can trust, gain security, and outsmart the people who bully her. She slowly gets involved with the court and several male love interests.

The romance develops VERY slowly and the pace of the story is slow but steady. The events and twists are well-paced and not too predictable, though they are on the small scale (like family drama, not big battles). I wasn't bored and finished all 80+ chapters in a few days. But some more impatient readers might get bored quickly if they aren't in the mood for a more intellectual read.

Overall:
I give this story a 4.5/5 for now because of how well it's written and how realistic the setting and characters are. Even though I wouldn't say it's one of the most fast-paced/exciting stories out there, the realism makes it excellent.

UPDATE as of Ch.114:

New chapters are released very slowly, and the plot also moves relatively slowly, so after I wrote the review above at Chapter 83, I waited until a lot of new chapters had been released so I could binge them all at once. I'm happy to say that the story is still going strong, the character development is steady, and it's still a very satisfying read. I'm sad to wait again... I really have the urge to read more! <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Meow Meow Meow
June 5, 2017
Status: c142
As a certified Crazy Cat Lady, I can't believe it's taken me this long to find and read this series... I only regret that I didn't find it sooner! This is a lively and entertaining story about a cat-turned-demon.

If you like stories with...

  • Non-human, simple protagonists
  • Straightforward, optimistic female main character
  • Loyal male love interest
  • Funny misunderstandings
  • Immortal/demon fantasy
  • Well-paced, steady romance
... then you will probably enjoy this series!

... more>> But if you don't like...

  • Stupid/simple/naive main characters
  • People who try to trick/take advantage of naive characters
  • Stories without detailed or action-packed fight scenes
  • A main character who forgives and forgets quickly
  • Cats
... then this novel may not be for you.

However, for anyone thinking of giving this a try, I recommend it!

SUMMARY:

A normal housecat dies and is reborn in the body of a powerful demon cat... but she doesn't care about being a demon, she just wants to enjoy her life as a cat! Through a series of events, she's taken in as a disciple/pet of a powerful immortal. Shifu struggles to teach his disciple the rules of being human... but Miao Miao just wants to eat fish, play, sleep in the sun, sleep in Shifu's bed... What do you mean, that's not allowed?

REVIEW:

Despite the simple title, characters, description, this novel is surprisingly well-written. The pacing is great, the translation is excellent, the characters are endearing, and nothing feels too cheesy or like mindless fluff. The romance is real and the way the main character slowly learns what it means to be human (despite being very much a cat) is gradual and realistic. Despite the light-hearted and whimsical tone, there are a few moments that really hit your emotions, and I actually teared up a bit at the end of the first book. This novel really surprised me (I expected it to be just comedy/fluff) and it's quickly become one of my favorites (and no, it's not just my cat lady bias!)

Lastly, I want to remind you that the main character is, first and foremost, a cat. She will always be a cat. Her limited view of the world, impulsive reactions, and logic are like a cat. True, she does grow and change into something more than a cat over time, but deep down she is a cat. If you go into this expecting her to suddenly go and smarten up, and human-up, you will be sadly disappointed. But if you go into this with an open mind, expecting to get a view of humans, demons, and immortals from the POV of a cat, you will have an easier time accepting things as they come, and just enjoying the ride.

Other Recommendations:

If you really like this novel and are looking for another that has a similar optimistic tone and simple-minded, non-human female protagonists, I recommend trying "Heavy Sweetness Ash-Like Frost" (a fairy imprisoned for thousands of years) or "Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang" (a rock that becomes a demon). These have the most similar in tone and main character that I've found so far. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
February 23, 2017
Status: c107
As most people have said, this story has some similarities to To Be A Virtuous Wife:
- The premise is similar: a woman from the modern entertainment industry is reincarnated in the body of a new wife in a country similar to Ancient China.
- The tone and pacing are similar since it is the same author and translators.

However, there are some noticeable differences so far:
- The main character's personality is far more casual and laid-back than in TBAVW. She's lazy, less firey, and also is an extremely rare... more>> "calamitous beauty."
- This story is already beginning to be darker and bloodier than the previous one. Nothing too extreme yet, but I can predict it coming...

I'll post a more full review later, but for now here's what you really need to know:
- You can enjoy this series without reading TBAVW first. However, I would recommend starting with that, since it's already complete and this one has just started.
- The translation quality of Dreams of Jianghu is great as usual. However, as usual, there's a lot of Chinese vocabulary used in the beginning that can make it a challenging read for readers new to this sort of Chinese light novel.
- Overall, this series looks promising and isn't a clone of TBAVW (yet). Give it a try if you like stories focused on female main characters in the fu and imperial court.

Update:

Much like the characters themselves, this story slowly grows on you. The intelligent main couple are a breath of fresh air, and it's great watching their unspoken understanding and growing trust in each other. This novel's ending does not disappoint. Highly recommended for anyone who wants a realistic, subtly endearing, sometimes mellow, sometimes exciting, historical drama. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Really, Really Miss You
April 17, 2017
Status: Completed
This is a very "shoujo" story. Since I somewhat enjoyed reading it, I don't want to start by saying too many negative things about it. Basically, your enjoyment of this story will depend on your answer to these questions:

- Are you bored?
- Do you like stories like Twilight?
- Are you ok with completely passive female characters?
- Are you looking for a story with a hot, mysterious "prince" character that is suddenly and completely devoted to the female main character?
- Do you not care too much about... more>> the story/plot, as long as the romance/flirting makes your heart pound?

If you answered YES, you will enjoy this story, so go ahead and read it. You don't have to read the rest of my review.

However, if you answered NO to any of those questions, I want to caution you:

- This is one of those stories where the female character is a completely "blank slate."
AKA, the type of story where young female readers can easily imagine that they are the main girl (like Bella). You have no idea what she looks like or what her main qualities are, all you know is that she's shy, talented, and good looking, and for some inexplicable reason, the hot male MC is completely smitten with her.

- If you want to read this story because you're interested in the "voice acting" and "food" part of it, you may be disappointed.
The entire story takes place within the online voice acting/music circle, but they don't ever get into the technicalities or details of it. Every scene can be summarized like this: "Everyone is super talented, the female main character is shy, they make some music/voice stuff, the final product is awesome."
I was really interested in their discussions about food, but in reality it's just the main male character quickly explaining a recipe step-by-step for 1-2 paragraphs, and then the female main character stutters and says nothing back. I don't think she actually ended up spending any time making any of the recipes he gave her, either. She just eats his food later and enjoys it. (The author spends no time describing how the food actually was. It's just quickly described as "perfect" or "delicious" and that's it.)

- There is zero drama in this story and the pacing is very slow.
So unless you're bored, have time to spare, or have fallen in love with the main male character, this story won't excite you. Don't expect any strife, angst, arguments, or difficulties of any kind. It's more like a "enjoy reading a simple romance very slowly" sort of thing.

- If you aren't a fan of passive female characters, you won't like this main character at all.
She seriously doesn't do ANYTHING for the entire novel. Her reaction to everything and anything is to be "so shocked and surprised that her mind went blank for several minutes, and by the time she came back to reality, several things had happened already." (I'm not kidding. She just freezes up and lets other people take the lead.)
I also had an extremely hard time believing in her relationship with the main male character because she barely says anything to him, doesn't do anything to help him, etc... What type of hot, rich, talented, genius, super-star guy would actually like a girl who just stutters and does nothing? (This story requires extreme suspension of disbelief.)

Spoiler

I also dislike how she is so passive that she lets him make every single decision regarding their relationship. He doesn't ask if she wants to date him -- he just tells someone she's his girlfriend, and she goes along with it. He doesn't wait for her to take any initiative s*xually -- he just goes for it every time while she's frozen for the entire thing. He doesn't ask her if she wants to get married -- he just goes to her parents without her knowledge, then brings her to sign the certificate in a daze. Maybe this is normal in Chinese romance (?), but as a reader who likes when females have brains and opinions... it was very frustrating.

[collapse]

HOWEVER, I do want to say that the translation quality was very good. The translator really took the time to translate all of the songs mentioned, put links to videos/audio of the music, photos of each of the food dishes described, etc. Big kudos to the translator for doing such a thorough job. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Chongfei Manual
March 2, 2017
Status: c170.2
This is a very entertaining story along the lines of other stories like Chu Fei Wang and Mei Gonging. We have a strong female protagonist who is reborn in a noble woman's body, struggles with a vicious household, and becomes involved with the imperial court.

However, this story is much more lively because the main character is in the body of a young child rather than a young/adult woman. She's reborn as her 6-year old self after dying at the age of 15, so she doesn't bring many memories or any... more>> over-powered skills. She's limited to her own determination to change her life -- and this makes the story much more believable.

The writing style is engaging, the pacing is good, and the translation quality is great. However, new chapters are released very slowly... I will write a more full review once the series progresses farther. For now, I think this series is great!

UPDATE:

As of the end of the series, I am changing my rating to 4 stars. The reasons being:

  • The translation quality is still great. Fuyuneko did an amazing job. The writing was also still very well-paced and engaging.
  • Wei Luo's maturity actually seems to DECREASE as she ages. When she was a freshly reincarnated 6-year-old, she was sharp and mature. However, once she ends up with the male lead, she's just a blushing teenager.
  • Strong themes of non-consent and violence against women. The author seems to have a strong preference for rape fantasies.
  • As other reviewers have mentioned, the ML develops a s*xual interest in Wei Luo when she's extremely young. Even if it was acceptable in the historical context, reading about a 20-something-year-old man jacking off to a 13-year-old girl is pretty uncomfortable.
I think that most readers will still enjoy this story, but if any of the points mentioned above are unacceptable to you, now you've been warned. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Legend of Concubine’s Daughter Minglan
January 30, 2018
Status: c22
What you have here is probably the most realistic and life-like transmigration story you'll ever read. No, it may not be action-packed, and some may find the pace a bit slow, but the detailed and intricate characters make it worth it. 5 stars!

Summary:

  • In a messy household in ancient times, the husband has favored his concubine over his official wife, resulting in the death of his youngest concubine. Her neglected young daughter opens her eyes, delirious with fever... and terribly disappointed with her current situation.
  • Yao Yiyi was a workaholic and plain woman who, after years of struggle, graduated from a law university and got a secure job as an employee at the peoples courts. She didn't care for fame, fortune, or men, simply living her life to the best of her ability. She volunteers for a tough court job in the mountains, expecting to complete the difficult work and return with satisfaction, but dies in an unexpected landslide... only to be reborn in the body of poor concubine's daughter Minglan.
The character development is truly where this novel shines. This novel has some very unique features:

  • A realistic look into the mental health of a modern, average protagonist reborn as a "trash" character. Imagine losing everything, then being forced into an unhealthy body not your own, hated with no future prospects? Watching the MC gradually find her purpose and regain the will to live is incredibly refreshing after reading so many other cliche transmigration novels with OP, white lotus, or too-composed protagonists.
  • A flawed father character who is biased but not ignorant. This is a man who considers the advice of others, attempts to treat his wives and children fairly, and tries his best to restore order in his household despite his many mistakes.
  • Wives and concubines who all have their own individual personalities, who actually grow and react in different ways to their mistakes. These are adult women and mothers who know when to push and when to withdraw when it comes to maintaining the delicate balance of power between them.
  • Siblings who aren't totally good or totally evil. These are realistic children whose personalities and actions are shaped by the adults around them. Their characters are flexible and change over time depending on the lessons they take to heart.
  • An elderly matron character who does not fall into normal stereotypes. (The scheming grandmother, badass matriarch, blindly doting old woman, etc.) She's a seasoned but weary woman, who is reserved in showing her affection, who has her own opinions about the events and drama in the house but prefers to stick to her own place in the family.
  • Despite all the subtle family drama, I do want to add that there is one very badass character: Governess Kong, who is brought in to whip the misbehaving children into shape *ahem* educate the children about society. I don't want to write more and spoil anything, since reading her parts are the most fun.
Translation:

  • There aren't many chapters out at this time (and the translation updates VERY slowly, maybe once a month). However, the translation quality is excellent with very few mistakes. The translator does a great job of capturing the mood and intricate character interactions.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Let Me Tease You
October 20, 2017
Status: c52
This BL novel is pretty good. Don't be fooled by the cartoon image at the top of the page -- this has a serious story, and the characters and story progression are more believable/realistic than some others.

Summary:

JiYuan, a good-for-nothing young master in the modern world, dies of alcohol poisoning and is reborn in an ancient fantasy world. The body he has taken over is a beautiful woman who was captured by the demon lord, just before she was going to be forced to marry a villainous man. But no one... more>> knows that the cold-faced miss is actually a "mister"...

When he's reborn, JiYuan is informed by the disembodied voice, "System, " that he must complete tasks for his new body's character in order to survive. Additionally, any actions deemed too OOC ("out of character") will result in his soul being eradicated.

Characters:

Usually, I like to write a detailed character description for the main characters, but I feel like too many details will give the interesting twists in the plot away. So for now, you'll have to make due with this:

    • The main character, JiYuan, is believable and not annoying. He behaves realistically for someone who suddenly died and was reborn in a strange world, and appropriately for the limitations "System" placed upon him. His change in mindset/perspective over time is gradual and makes sense.
    • The male lead, Ye Junchi, is devilishly handsome, mysterious, and dedicated, but he's also well-grounded. His character is consistent, and I appreciate the fact that even though he's domineering and possessive, he's not as "rapey" as many other BL men.
    • "System" is a surprisingly good character -- instead of a robotic voice or appraisal/stats screen, it's actually an artificial intelligence that interacts with the MC. Their conversations are comedic and System's "advice" add a unique aspect to the story.
Writing:

    • The story has an overarching crime-solving/mystery plot -- where the main characters are framed for a crime and spend the novel finding answers to resolve it -- but don't worry, the tone isn't too "detective" or "crime show"-like.
    • This BL story is steamy but not smutty. In comparison to many other stories, this one is pretty tame. PG-13, maybe, but not R.
    • The translation quality is good. A couple of minor errors here and there, but barely noticeable. Overall, it's very good, and much better than MTL.
Update:

The ending felt a bit rushed and didn't have as much tension as in the beginning of the story. I sort of lost interest in the last 5-10 chapters. I think I'm going to change my rating of this story to 4.5 stars, only because the ending felt lackluster. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
March 6, 2018
Status: c198
I don't have the time to write a full review now, so I'll update this later.

For now, what you need to know is:

  • This is one of the most fun and endearing otome-game novels I've ever read. Ever.
  • Even though I usually prefer historical or fantasy (I don't really prefer novels set in high school or the modern world), this was still super entertaining.
  • This is written so well. The character development is gradual and subtle. It's like a slice-of-life but with lively and well-timed pacing. 200 chapters and I still can't guess who the final love interest will be, but instead of bothering me, it's more believable and realistic.
  • The translation quality is excellent.
To be continued...
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
KKristen
KKristen rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
August 4, 2017
Status: Completed
This is one of the better female reincarnation novels out there. The character development is realistic, the writing and pacing are great, and the setting/story have a lot of things that make them unique. If you are a fan of stories like Poison Genius Consort or Mei Gongqing, you will like this.

Summary:

A 26-year old horticulturist is suddenly transported into the world of an online novel. But she's not the lucky female lead... she's the despicable concubine who was quickly beaten to death! Extremely wary of the main characters, she tries... more>> her best not to stand out and to quickly grab onto a strong supporter. But despite her attempts at seduction, the supporting male lead doesn't seem interested... and the main male lead seems to be misunderstanding something and paying more attention.

Review:

Despite many of the comments, I don't think this novel is all "fluff." The relationships and feelings between the main character and the male leads develop very slowly. The male leads are hot (of course), but they're also rational and more "human" than she had expected from their descriptions in her novel. The side characters all have their own personalities that aren't the usual "good vs evil" extremes. The events in the story are easily believable, everything is explained well, and reading doesn't require suspension of disbelief. The story is also a lot less slapstick/too easy than a lot of other "reincarnated as the villain" stories.

Main Character:

The female protagonist is particularly likeable and unique. She's humble, self-deprecating, and unambitious. All she wants to do is survive until she can return to her own world. She also isn't the usual "young miss" or "new wife"; she's the lowest ranked concubine, already married to a man who is engaged to the female lead. She isn't really a pure, innocent, or kind-hearted angel, but she is a naturally good person who acts that way (without scheming) just because it may help her to survive.

Also, I really appreciate that her sensibilities as a modern-day, introverted, forever-single, plant-loving, working-woman are never forgotten. Her modern values, progressive approach to situations, and unique way of thinking are constantly referenced throughout the story. Being transported to another world has only changed her body, not who she is as a person. (Granted, she did become super beautiful.)

Despite this, she isn't OP at all -- she has only the bare minimum of future knowledge (limited to what she remembers from a novel she didn't finish), she isn't unusually well-spoken, she doesn't have an instant mastery over ancient manners and customs, and she has no special powers, skills, or knowledge. She isn't one of those characters who goes to the ancient world and somehow remembers how to make chocolate or invent the printing press. Her knowledge is limited to her former career (plants, a little carpentry, basic reading, writing, and math) and she never does anything that will make you say "WAIT. How does she know how to do that?!"

Wrap-up:

We still have a long way to go before the end of the story, but so far, this is definitely one of my new favorites. If you like any of the things I mentioned in my review, I absolutely recommend that you try it.

END UPDATE:

This is one of those stories that had a very strong start, but a somewhat weak ending. I would absolutely give the first half of the novel 5 stars, but I would give the second half 3.5 or 4 stars. For the sake of what this novel was, and the hard-working translation team, I'll keep my original rating at 5.

While this novel stayed entertaining, the story definitely departed from reality a long time ago. By that, I don't mean the fantasy elements, but rather the cliche plot devices, plot armor, and the characters becoming a lot more two-dimensional overall. For example:

Spoiler

When the main character is captured and put into a secret prison, all she has to do is look down at the ground. Lo and behold, a legendary, ultra-rare, one-of-a-kind, magical plant that she somehow had knowledge of in the modern world is growing at her feet... wtf...

[collapse]

Because of the novel becoming more ridiculous and cartoonish, it loses the feeling of tension, excitement, and high stakes that it had earlier.

This doesn't mean that I honestly didn't enjoy it (I still had fun reading it to the end), but just take this as a warning. Just let go of your expectations and you'll still find this novel an entertaining and endearing romp. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5