Report Review
18 Reviews


JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes
The Legendary Master’s Wife
April 2, 2019
Status: Completed
I am extremely sad. This book was one of the first ever BL books that I started reading. The updates from this book is what I look forward to every morning. After 700 something chapters, it has finally finished.

I loved it. It was enjoyable, funny, dramatic, intriguing, and a master piece! I highly recommend reading this book, and if you don’t you’re missing out. I personally love cultivation novels, cough maybe because I have a thing for guys with long hair cough, but yes. They’re so cute. You start to... more>> get attached to them after seeing their journey throughout the whole thing, and it made some scenes so heart breaking that I started crying on the bus.

Well yea. I love this book, and you should check it out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Gaze at the Scenes of Debauchery
March 22, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel really touched me in the feels. If you enjoy tragedy, sadness despair and painful heart palpitations (me) this book is for you! It was enjoyable to read whilst being painfully heart-wrenching. I am extremely thankful for the extras.

It left me with an empty feeling I usually get when finishing a novel, but a different kind of empty feeling.

This seems like the type of novel I’ll just randomly think about while trying to go to sleep at night.

I actually really enjoyed the ending. It was good. Sad, but good... more>> never the less.

I hate the ML :’D. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Three Lives Three Worlds, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms
February 26, 2019
Status: Completed
I read it. I did. The story is good but, guess what? It’s plagarized and it’s all someone else’s work. Horrible. I feel really bad for the original owner, please go check out their work! It’s a BL series called peach blossom debt.

Plagarism is atrocious.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
You Boys Play Games Very Well
May 24, 2019
Status: Completed
More like 4.5 stars, but rounded up to 5!! So fluffy and cute! There wasn’t much drama and it was a heart warming nice book to read :D The characters were good, but nothing too rememberable. The story was cute, but it just didn’t have enough, BANG to make it a really good book that would stand out from the rest. But I enjoyed it. That’s the most important part.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Brother
March 24, 2019
Status: Completed
This book hurts. It’s so beautiful and I cried so much in this damn. It’s a emotional roller coaster of a forbidden love between brothers. It felt like my heart was getting pulled out of my chest half the time.

The story is exciting and tragic, the characters are well developed and it was easy to understand (at least for me). I wish the author wrote slightly more in the years he was in prison, the life after the ending and more of Huang Fan. To be honest, I actually really... more>> liked him, I knew that he really loves Xu Ping and that he regretted his decisions...

Okay yes. I wanted extras for Huang Fan to see him suffering. I just like seeing sub-main characters suffering over the main characters... is it weird? <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Ban Lu Qin Jun
May 24, 2019
Status: Completed
So sad. I actually cried the whole time reading chapters 5-10. The characters themselves aren't very memorable. I love the story though, even if it is full of cliches. Sometimes cliches make a story better if used in the correct way. I'm still crying while writing this. I still think it's a good book. I recommend.

OH WAIT. Also, it's a rare book, where the main character is not the Shou, but the Gong.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
So amazing! The book was interesting to read, the characters were nicely thought out and I didn’t get bored. Also the smut scenes weren’t painstakingly horrible to read and I actually enjoyed them. Sometimes transmigration novels can get repetitive and boring, so this one was a refreshing one to read. I loved reading it, and it was worth my time.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
January 29, 2019
Status: c96
Beautiful, amazing, wonderful, spectacular, what ever positive adjective you wish add onto this list.

This is one of the best novels I’ve ever read, in my entire life. The characters feel so real, relatable and well developed. It really stabbed my heart in certain parts, which made the experience all the more memorable. I proudly admit, that I have cried 9 times while reading this so far, and has had a hard time sleeping at night.

The plot is very interesting, at first, if you’re new to this cultivation aspect, it can... more>> get pretty confusing, and it being a book, you don’t know the characters’ appearance and you might find yourself thinking ‘who was this person again??’ But once you’ve got the hang of things, it is very enjoyable to read. The world building is really good, and allows you to see the world the characters live in rather vividly.

The characters are so easy to get attached to, and I’ve always loved their personalities. I just love them, so much :’)

I really enjoy the slow romance and how the characters develop their relationship overtime, going through struggles, fighting, being friends, depending on each other. It really makes my heart wrench every time something happens.

This story makes my family members’ eardrums cry every time the translation updates.

I have already re-read this book 4 times, to soothe the desperate need for Mo Dao Zu Shi. I have cried every single time.

I can’t help but search up spoilers, and slap myself for doing so.

I absolutely recommend this book. (Unless you’re looking for just straight up, hardcore smut). <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes
Spirit Hotel
May 30, 2019
Status: Completed
This book is so funny, exciting and really nice to read. The other characters are written well. I love this book so much. I remember starting this a long time ago, around when chapter 20 was out. Now it’s finished. I feel kinda sad.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
I Want To Enjoy A Country Life!
April 27, 2019
Status: Completed
Surprisingly, I really enjoyed this story! The story was enjoyable to read, and it kept me reading constantly. To be really honest, compared to some other books I’ve seen, there’s not much smut. I found that it had enough smut, but not so much that it became uncomfortable to read.

I think the only problem was how forgettable and underdeveloped these characters are. They’re pretty much the same people I’ve seen before, but just with different names.

but overall, I mostly enjoyed this read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Brother-in-Law, I’m Pregnant!
April 23, 2019
Status: Completed
Oh my goodness.

I only read this because the title intrigued me.

The story is very smutty, and it makes no sense. I guess this is kind of my fault for reading a book purely for smut. I don't even understand what the point of the main character getting pregnant was. If you're looking for lots of smut, go ahead.

I read up to the last chapter and didn't even realise that it had ended. Like what happened to the baby? The sister? The main character's parents? I wish the author elaborated more... more>> on that. I feel like it would've been a slightly better story, even if it did contain a few common tropes/cliches.

I am sorry but, I really hate the main lover. He's just, really creepy and kinda weird. He's a straight guy lusting after a dude, who is basically a female, but is still considered a male because he has a... yea. Also, personally, I dislike leopard print items, and imagining leopard print underwear on the main lover just made me kind of cringe. Just a personal opinion.

The really funny way of kind of censoring the smut scenes was entertaining and cringy at the same time.

I just don't understand.

Also the reason I'm not absolutely crapping on this book and giving it a 1 Star was, I found this strangely entertaining, didn't get bored, and read it in a day. Weird. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Love Stops Rumours
April 13, 2019
Status: Completed
Dang it’s so cute! I kept on smiling while reading this. It also helped my smut-starved life after reading The Earth is Online. The characters are cute, although they’re nothing unique, they’re so cute. I recommend reading this for a laugh!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
President isn’t ‘Mary Sue’
April 5, 2019
Status: Completed
Cute! Really cute! And funny. It really warms my heart reading these type of novels. A nice break from the dark and despairing ones I’ve been reading lately. My only complaint is that the story never really “goes” anywhere. The romance only starts blossoming and, if it wasn’t labelled a BL, it would be able to pass as a friend ship relationship. Only like if you were really oblivious though...
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
If Only Time Stopped at the Moment We First Met
April 5, 2019
Status: Completed
It’s a really beautiful novel that you should check out. I wish it turned out a bit differently, but the ending is more realistic. Usually the main character is the one that’s being targeted, but this time we get to see the story from the perpetrator’s point of view. It was enjoying to read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Sickly Tyrannical
April 4, 2019
Status: Completed
Wow. I’m fine with all that violence and triggering stuff. I just hate how it goes. I would give it a much lower score, but it was enjoying to read and I’m glad it was made.

... more>>
Spoiler

I really dislike the ending. Although it is labelled a “happy ending” I think it is more of a bad ending. CanSheng doesn’t learn and YunSheng keeps suffering. I think it would’ve been better if YunSheng actually died, and CanSheng realised his mistakes. Oh well.

[collapse]

despite all that, it was an interesting read, a bit different from the usual rebirth novels. It’s so frustrating and painful seeing all the things YunSheng goes through.

It kind of reminds me of “Gaze at the Scenes of Debauchery” which I highly recommend you read!

but yes. I still dislike this book. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
The Earth is Online
February 11, 2019
Status: Completed
A beautiful, interesting novel. :') I will miss reading this. The novel is interesting and hooks you in, and putting it down becomes difficult. It has moments where it was so funny, my family members were looking at me like I was crazy.
I miss reading it already... The characters are so likeable, the story line is so interesting, and is pretty well balanced.
Spoiler

kinda disappointed bout the BL aspect... Interesting descriptions. "Guns shooting and dark forests"

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
January 29, 2019
Status: Completed
Okay, I will give this book a bit of mercy, as I enjoyed the start... and some of the later parts.

This book is indeed for people looking for cute, fluffy novels, but at the same time, not really. I enjoyed the family drama, business-y things, etc. and thought that this story could’ve gone a little bit better.

The main characters’ actions were really cute and enjoyable at the start, until they were ****ing every 2 chapters. I eventually just got bored and skipped these sessions. The main character was a bit... more>> whiny and personally an unenjoyable character in my opinion.

This really ain’t for the faint-hearted as they have quite a lot of violent moments... which I will not spoil.

I liked it, but I’m really not going to come back and read this.

(also I’m a bit salty about the extra 2). <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JohnnyCakes
JohnnyCakes rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
January 29, 2019
Status: Completed
A really interesting, fresh rebirth-troupe novel. The main character isn’t childish, petty and stuck up (like some rebirth novels).

Personally, I found this book very enjoyable and never got bored of it through all 237 chapters. It was satisfying watching the character grow as the story progressed, and I liked how the reader wasn’t bombarded with...”making love” scenes.

Also, I found the novel humorous at times, and rather cute.

I will most read this again, if I can find the time.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report