Report Review
9 Reviews


Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
Dungeon Defense
September 12, 2016
Status: v3c1
What can I say. It is a totally overrated story. Well, not the 1st chapters, aka volume 1. It is entertaining and fun to read.

But it really goes downhill later on with an MC going from lazy otaku-style to a total sociopath with bipolar disorder. Yeah, we see it from miles away coming with the father problems and whatnot. But why does it feel he changes extremely without need within such a short time. I won't wait for an explanation sometimes in the last volume or so.

And yes, the dialogues... more>> are mostly interesting to read and not the typical "web novel shallow". The fun thing is that many praise the author for the great deduction and planning of the MC. But when you really read it there are enough vague assumptions filled by convenient acting of all sidekicks or it is simply obvious. There is plenty guesswork made true by the authors writing...

At the end, the MC gets more annoying from chapter to chapter. I am really not into novels where crazy people built up the story.

Starting volume 3 it got boring for me and it is a drop. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
The Trembling World
March 14, 2016
Status: --
Another story which is probably not really thought through. Without plausible backround it feels confused.

The chapters are a bit short and some of those do not help to advance the story. Well, it is readable but neither engaging nor novel. There may be some character development in the future, but right now it is lacking. And while the MC is still bearable everyone else is kind of retarded and outright stupid.

What really annoyed me is the point that every second chapter the author mentioned again and again that the MC... more>> is some parcour superman, while he is waiting for 5 or so chapters on a pole for something to happen, instead of moving his ass. It feels like there might be some hope in and for future chapters, the beginning is quite crappy. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
Killing Grounds of Gods and Devils
June 6, 2016
Status: c46
The novel has an interesting setting, but is mediocre at best in all aspects. The mix between being teleported to another world, RPG and Xianxia has potential. The rest? Not so much.

Like a lot other web novels the characters are rather bland and one dimensional. The MC is just bearable for me. And what's with the Chinese writers and the lack of intelligence and common sense of the characters? These guys are supposed to be from a university, not some middle schoolers. Just annoying. And despite the fact that I... more>> don't expect empathy at all in Chinese novels, the lack of it is still baffling.

So, you also can somehow expect the usual tropes known from Xianxia. Every chapter someone is "shocked" or "awed" and some power up with a stupid name will be there eventually. I'm still waiting for "trash" to appear. Lol

Well, the writing is not great, the dialogues are too flat, but the setting still makes it entertaining enough to be a filler between good novels.

It is ok with low expectations. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
Shinka no Mi
November 10, 2015
Status: --
Has a great start and is fun to read even though the MC is totally lame and a stereotype Japanese high school looser. I especially like the evolution stuff.

It took awhile for someone else to pickup the translation again and now I am really disappointed. Chapter 20 and 21 were absolutly retarded. I don’t know what the author was thinking, or drinking/smoking.

Just read it for yourself, without spoiling I’ll drop this novel.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
True Martial World
August 17, 2016
Status: c563
It is quite sad the story became the typical volume filler novel. You can really see the downhill development every 150 or 200 chaps.

It starts out very interesting and pretty engaging. But I guess the authors only drive at some point was not to follow a well thought out story line but to reach the character limit for the next payout goal. I really wouldn't mind if the quality wouldn't suck so much right now (chapter 560...) and wouldn't be more or less generic Xianxia bullsh*t.

I guess at some point... more>> he does not even has to think about it anymore, because 30% is repetition you've read about 50 times already and 60% (more often than not 70%) is meaningless filler.

Like other reviews mentioned before, there is really no need to read a chapter, just a glance is more than enough. You could even skip chapters and wouldn't miss a thing.

Spoiler

And that Lin Xintong now follows him like some lobotomized kitten pisses me off big time! I know, it's destiny... Pffft!

[collapse]

It really is disappointing. Maybe the author should concentrate on one project. This will eventually be a drop for me and I hope MW, which is still decent, doesn't follow suit. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
Galactic Dark Net
July 20, 2016
Status: c135
The story is quite entertaining and if you are into the Chinese style of writing web novels you should easily feel at home.
And even though I enjoyed reading most chapters there is a reason it is only a 3-star review. The story is interesting but the rest is just the typical Chinese writing. What others think great is annoying for me. It is not even necessary to write in the information that the novel is from China due to the following things:

Plot holes and logic flawes: There are so... more>> many things not completly thought through or just explained with narrow minded ideas. But that is a typical trait of this novels...

Black and White: What the MC says and does is always right and can be justified. Just cliched Xianxia...
The authors worldview: It is so obvious that this is another author who did not leave the country once. May it be due to the Chinese regulation, but the view on things is just distorted and far from reality, even though he could claim it's Fantasy. He is just projecting China into the order of the world-galaxy-universe. Bland...

Technical aspects: The technical, social or economical aspects feel like the ideas of a child. I really shouldn't think about it anymore...

The characters: Typical Xianxia. The MC is supposed to be intelligent, which only works out due to plot armor and the writing style. The sidekicks have that common retarded feel. Has more or less the quality of middle schoolers deciding the world fate while being awed by themself. And I can already guess the mc's development, from meek nobody to self-righteous mass murderer/killer machine. So cliched...

Well, there are more things. But I tried to not to think about it during reading time. It worked most of the time and I just skipped the really annoying/stupid chapters. It is mostly enjoyable despite the flaws and bad writing style. Try it for yourself. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
The King’s Avatar
November 16, 2015
Status: --
The story starts very strong and feels not like the fantasy or VR storys.

It is totally realistic and the MC feels cool.

The downside for me is the extreme esport focus that leads to a lack in indepth story development. While that is kind of typical especially for Chinese web novels it sometimes feels like you would better be off by just watching some ESL stream.

Just like almost every volume driven novel there really is not much real content or story at some point anymore. You could sum up several chapters... more>> in one or two sentences.

My review is not meant to be a rant, just stating the obvious. There will be a lot guys simple enjoy reading. The writing style is good and if you are fan of the same “endless style” it's just much better than for example Zhan Long and TKA is the way to go. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
Shadow Rogue
November 5, 2015
Status: --
I like game settings very much. That the MC can relate his in game avatar to his former profession as an assassin helps a lot and is nice twist.

The other reviews spoke about the main points. But with the latest chapters, 49 and 50, the quality drops. This sentimental stuff which is bearable in earlier chapters get out of hand. It feels like he is starting shedding tears like a 10 year old girl anytime soon, because of a game and NPCs. That feels borderline stupid.

I don’t know why the... more>> author tries to drown the reader in repetitive inner monologues. It does not help to advance the story and is simply annoying. At least you know quite early when to quit and it’s not like e.g. Zhan Long that you realise at chap 200 or 300 the story itself isn’t worth it anymore.

I still hope the bad story (telling) development was not the main and real reason for Japtem to drop it, but the next chapters will tell and I can decide for myself.

--------

Oh, I read another 4 chapters and it gets even worse. It's a clear drop now. Does the author still remember he is writing about some ingame content? I had to be some kind of masochist to read any further.

What a waste of interesting story potential... <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Joe Bloag
Joe Bloag rated it
God and Devil World
November 4, 2015
Status: --
Like the other reviews I totally agree that this novel starts quite great and interesting. The MC is authentic with his own flaws and strengths.
The problem for me is that the moral and social standards detoriate insanely fast, too fast even considered the apocalyptic circumstances.
It's the same for the MC who gets crueler and more power hungry by the day. Women have to behave like prostitutes at best and often treated as cattle or worse in smaller surviver communities.
Everybody is egoistic, opportunistic, greedy and does not think... more>> in advance, with rare exceptions. With so many birdbrains humanity is doomed for sure. That's the main reason it is impossible to care about the characters in this novel at all. If the MC would die... Well, no big deal. He earned it some way or another.

I will still read more chapters in hope the RPG part and more zombie backround will be pushed. There is a lot of potential in it. Maybe the characters will feel less retarded in future developments... <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report