Report Review
23 Reviews


JetonS
I haven't even read this, but I know it will be gold. Why? Simply because it's from the same author as The Girl who Ate a Death God. I know he won't dissapoint me, he's a freaking genius when writing Light Fantasy Books. I'm not going to rate this for now, because I don't want to rate something I haven't read yet, but I'll keep a close watch on it, waiting eagerly for more chapters before I can read and rate. Watch out boys, this Novel is going to be... more>> popular. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
I am the Monarch
December 18, 2016
Status: c97
Could have been interesting if the writing style wasn't so poor.

What the hell is even wrong with these "Bastards" and "Ah...". It's like they know no other way to express themself, it's so annoying, let alone those "Dududududu" onomatopeias which are immersion breaking. And it's not just once or twice, they are very common and are present at every chapter. A sentence like "we heard horses footsteps" is enough. No need to mimick the onomatopeias, we're reading, not watching an anime.

About the story, it's a reincarnation cliché style story,... more>> where the MC is OP as fk, knows the future and blablabla. Everything that happens to the MC has an immediate use. The story has no depth with a really shallow world building.

It's supposed to be a war/kingdom building novel, but seriously, every single character is here only to emphasize Roan, the protagonist. They either belong to the amazed audience ("Ah...") or either to the side of antagonists whose only purpose is to get destroyed by Roan. No side character has any use nor character development. They just stand still and wait for Roan to do the job. AYE ! What's the use of introducing them then ???

In the end, this story could have been great if the author didn't have such a poor vocabulary and if the story didn't have such a straight story line where everything is in the range of our expectation. It's only but slightly better than the average novel, so I can't understand why it has such high rating. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Light Beyond (LN)
March 11, 2017
Status: v2c3
I'd have probably given this a 5 stars if the MC wasn't so annoying. She's your typical gentle, caring and lovable main character. In fact she's so stereotypical that it feels like she has no personality. Every time something occurs, she gets away with it and force her way through by simply stating "Because I want to." Even when her surrounding tells her that it will cause huge trouble if she keeps insisting on the matter, giving her reasonable and fair arguments, she just doesn't seem to understand. She doesn't... more>> want anyone to die, she tried to take the blame on herself for the "old" Saint's mistakes, she is dense and doesn't notice others' feelings. She is so "pure" that it becomes really annoying, I like to read a MC that uses her head, that uses reasoning and that is smart. I don't want to read about a typical Shojo Manga character. The side characters are way too indulging, almost as if they were waiting for her to make the move.

If we have to talk about the world building, it's still a common "Transported to another world and interacting with nobles" setting. It has nothing new so to speak of. The story is not bad but the setting kind of throws it off. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Chronicles of Primordial Wars
November 6, 2016
Status: --
The story is interesting, the author doesn't rush things and instead set the atmosphere in a way to allow us to build the general scenery steadily. In short, it's a good story with many strong points such as an original MC who isn't arrogant neither overpowered. But then why do I only give this 3 stars? There are 2 main reasons :
1. It's lacking romance, it's lonely : (
2. Rather than being an action type Novel, it's rather a Slice of Life with a bit of movement. Althrough... more>> it shouldn't be displeasing to some people, I was sometimes bored. Until now (c55), I've not felt the "chill" I've always liked to feel in action/adventure type novels. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
March 6, 2017
Status: c9
It definitely isn't bad, the MC is smart and uses logic to solve his problems, he is a bit OP but he doesn't solely rely on his "cheat-like" ability.
But despite all that, I can't help but feel creeped out. I've read many reincarnation novels, so I've started to take into consideration the "ethics" of the story. I mean, doesn't that feel creepy when your child is a reincarnator with memories of more than 20 years of living ?? It's seriously gross when you think about it. And not only... more>> that; in some stories like this one, they are just born out of someone's womb, which is equal to stealing someone's life, the original owner of the body. I can't focus on the story when the mother tries to show her affection on a totally weird baby, no matter how you view it. And besides the story has nothing new, just generic story about reincarnation and levelling up to become OP, the only merit it has is that the writing style and the story are slightly better than the others. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Reborn as My Love Rival’s Wife
March 3, 2017
Status: c5
I was honestly afraid after seeing the gender bender tag but the romance was so sweet and the story was so well driven that it didn't bother me for the least. If you're looking for a sweet romance novel where you can laugh and distract yourself, you should read this one. There is no much of a plot, it's just pure romance, the whole world building just brings the romance.

One last thing that was a positive point, the gender bender tag wasn't only there to satisfy some weird fetishes like... more>> other novels, the author actually developed all the consequences and struggles that came from a being a transgender. 5/5 for this point <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
My Fiance is in Love with My Little Sister
March 13, 2017
Status: v4c2
The Novel started pretty well, unlike the other engagment Novel, I've been caught by the sadness of this story. The female lead is deeply is love with her fiancé, the Prince, but this Prince is actually in love with her little sister, we can follow through this Novel the emotions the MC feel, the feeling of betrayal, the feeling of rejection, denial and unrequired love. What's more, every time she dies, she goes back to the past and suffers the same trial every time, like an infinite time-loop. Whenever the... more>> MC feels pain, I also feel pain, whenever she suffers an injustice, it makes me want to beat this Prince of hers, and it makes me so sad. Although this Novel is original and distinguishes itself from its kind, it actually has one bad point. The bad point is : The story is bogging itself. What do I mean ? Simply that every chapter is about how the MC suffers, it basically doesn't move forwards. The pace is wayyyyyy too slow, I feel like the author tries to emphasize the sufferings of the MC, but it's dragging for nothing. The premise is pretty well built, the story is great and the unrequired love really hits the soft spot of the reader, but it needs to move forwards, it needs to gain more rhythm. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Ring Ring
November 20, 2016
Status: v2
It's kind of early to rate but let's try to point out the reasons why I'm giving this 3 stars.
The story in itself is intriguing and well written. But it also has huge flaws. I feel like the story is too linear, the characters do not think deep enough about their situation. For example, She taught "him" Japanese which is totally comprehensible. But why the hell would she learn "his" language considering she probably won't have any use of it in her entire lifetime. She eventually needs it due... more>> to foreshadowing because she ends up transported in his world but isn't this too "set up ?" Could she have predicted it ? Kinda weird right ? And also, remembering a language you've not used for 3 years and picking up the meaning of a conversation spoken by native people ? Mmh not really realistic <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Boku wa Chiisana Maou-sama
November 14, 2016
Status: c16
The story is kinda slow and nothing really happens. The character's interactions are cute and heartwarming, as expected of an EverydayLife novel. But the pace is pretty slow and some people could easily get bored. If you're expecting some great fights at each chapter, maybe this is not for you
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
The Silly Alchemist
November 9, 2016
Status: c29
Okay guys I'm gonna warn you first. This story is not the way you think it's leading to.

At first, I thought the story was weird and pretty inconsistent. I was like "Oh, great, another reincarnation story without originality..." BUT I WAS WRONG. I kept on reading because it was funny enough to read regardless of the many flaws I thought the story had.

But as the chapters kept on being released, I found myself enjoying it more and more until I actually looked forward for another chapter. And here comes... more>> the plot twist. I'm not gonna spoil anything, but at chapter 29, a revelation just crumbles the whole story and the whole vision you had about the story until now, which is in itself pretty understandable as the author intentionally led us to the wrong path (no, sorry, allow me to correct myself, the author is just taking advantage of our pre-defined commonsense of fantasy type novel to mislead us. The author literally deceived us from the beginning).

The story is funny and the characters are lovely, avoiding the Xianxia cliché of thugs picking up fights randomly at the street's corner. In an overall funny atmosphere, the story can really catch you unexpected at some times, when you just can't help but leak out a small grin. This novel has huge potential, if the author keeps up the good job, comes up with more funny situations without turning this into a Xianxia bullsh*t cliché novel, I believe this will be a really great novel in the near future. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
February 23, 2017
Status: --
It honestly isn't a bad novel, I've been having fun reading this. To those who are criticizing this novel for being a rape fetish novel, should I remember you that this is an erotic novel with a rape tag ? You should have been warned when you first read the synopsis or the title, I don't get why you're complaining like this in the review section.

But althrough I don't agree with your bad mouthing, there is still something that's bothering me, which prevents me from giving this novel a... more>> 5 stars. The story feels way too surreal. The characters interactions are... too "clean", whenever the author wants to start a new arc, he always finds a plot where the characters explain thoroughly their reasons and misgivings. It almost feel like I'm watching a theater scene, yeah, you got it, not a movie, but a theater scene where the emotions are blown up, over exagerrated. It more or less follows this route : s*x -> Trauma -> s*x -> Past Explanation -> s*x -> Fluffy Scene -> s*x -> Next Arc. The characters are literally wailing in front of others, they are explaining why they feel miserable etc.... And the surrounding people will confort them with extremely well-chosen words etc... It was kind of immersion breaking for me, as I couldn't focus on the story, I always felt like I was watching a scene at a third person POV, where the characters are intentionnally showing me the scene.

And futhermore, the MC gathers so many waifus that it starts getting boring, every arc is following the same overall plot. Even if it's an erotic novel with more than 1300+ chapters, as of chapter 110, the author hasn't tried to renew his arcs. The s*x scenes are getting more and more boring.

But even if I couldn't completely immerse myself in the story, I still spent a lot of time reading this, it was overall enjoyable, there wasn't anything that was unbearable to read. So I'm giving this 3/5 stars, but it really had the potential to be 5/5, what a shame.

PS: The traduction also has many wrong sentences and the translator switches from past tense to present without warning, which consolidated my decision to give 3/5 stars <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
Sorry to disappoint, I won't write a long review about how much I liked or disliked this novel. I'm only here to bring justice to the translation. Yup. I read a lot of reviews before starting this novel, and here I thought this novel would be perfectly translated without a translator switching randomly between past and present tense, with a translator who knows how English grammar works. Who knew people's translation standards were so low. It's not even close to being perfectly translated. The story in itself isn't bad, but... more>> sadly, the translation doesn't match up to the story <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Joy of Life
December 15, 2016
Status: --
As someone who have read at lot of western fantasy books, this story setting is quite similar to "Royal Assassin" from Robbin Hobb. This is the story of an illegitimate son who will temper himself through training and will learn poison from a certain master. Of course, since it's a Light Novel, it adds all this "reincarnation" stuff along with a lighter writing style. Some will say it's too slow, but I don't feel this way. In fact, the descriptive scenes are more or less overlooked, and the world building... more>> is told through the MC's POV. Just give it a try, it's neither boring nor too cliché. Personnally, I spent quite a good time reading this stuff <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
The Beast’s Blood Boils
November 3, 2016
Status: c10
The story setting in itself is good, but so far, every encounters and relationships do not seem "natural". They seem kinda forced: the little squirrel suddenly takes a liking to the MC for no reason, and the Fox female starts saying she loves the MC so abruptly without ascertaining his identity. I had high expectations at the beginning but if it keeps going like that, I'll probably even lower the rating...
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
This novel is an absolute masterpiece. The story is smooth and very bright colored, a gentle slice of life story that, however, keeps your attention from loosening by adding spices at the right moments and right times. The Girl who is shy and the Boy who is a social butterfly, two incompatible personalities that reunite to fuse in a harmonical couple. Even if it may sound cliche, the story building is really well thought. For example, the author makes the Girl write a Slice of Life story for the competition... more>> submit, while she worries it would be boring and plain, the MC instead supports her saying even Slice of Life stories can be exciting. And that's exactly what happens to the "true" LN, despite being a Slide of Life, it's exciting and make us want to read more and more. The whole story is breathtaking and mindfking, the lector can relate to the MC, nothing is left out of place, every event has a meaning (ex: the MC talks about foreshadowing, not only does it fit his character to like those stuffs but actually 2 chapters later, we can feel the foreshadow the author built at the very beginning.)

In the end this is a bittersweet story with its ups and down, a story that's really worth mentioning and reading. I really advice all of you to at least give it a try. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
The story is progressing way too fast. The lector has no time to settle himself in the universe, things are not explained and the reactions from the characters are just not suited for their situation. It's cliché, bad and the anticlimax between two sentences is too huge. I see no reason to give any credit to this kind of novel
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Immortal
March 11, 2017
Status: c26
Actually it's maybe one of the few Xianxia that I'm following closely. It's not your generic Xianxia Novel, here the MC uses his brain and his wits to solve the situations.

There are no clichés development such as dying full of hate and being reborn to cultivate to the peak etc... It's just plainly and simply a good Action/Adventure Novel, where the characters are likeable and lovely. I really like Tianling and her childlike behavior, Zhong Shan is hardworking and the chapters are quite funny to read. There is no... more>> overbearing world building, the author doesn't especially try to explain everything, he just gives enough information as to draw the general scenery without getting boring, he focuses mainly on the characters. It's a light and fun read, as of chapter 26, I can, confidently say this Novel deserves more attention (I just hope the story doesn't go into a generic Harem Xianxia after a hundred chapters or so, I'd hate to see this. If possible I'd like to read a 1v1 Monogamy story or at least not dozens of girls falling for the MC for stupid reasons such as him saving beauties when they are in trouble.) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Soshite Shoujo wa Akujo no Karada o Te ni Ireru
October 17, 2016
Status: c13
From the description, I expected a darker atmosphere and universe than what it actually is. It feels a bit like "Reincarnated into an Otome Game Villainess", the MC is dense and full of joy. Even if the character development in itself is not bad, it's not really realistic. After spending 17 years in hospital, I don't believe someone would be able to adapt so quickly in a new home, new background. The MC doesn't question her existence, her background is really shady, we don't know a lot, such as the... more>> thoughts she had while she was sick, or how she used to get along with her surrounding. Only the tip of the iceberg is scratched, so it feels like something is off. Same thing goes for the characters reaction. They just accept the fact as it is. Althrough it is a good slice of life novel, since the characters are bland, -1 star. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
The Sacred Ruins
April 23, 2017
Status: c41
The beginning was slow and unteresting, I almost dropped at the chapter 5, but now I'm glad I didn't. This Novel is a pure gem, it just gets better and better as the story drags on, you should at least read up to chapter 20 before you decide to drop or not. The author really knows how to write original stories, instead of a plain Xianxia where the MC is overpowered from the start and has uncountable females running behind him, in The Sacred Ruin, the MC is logical and... more>> uses his head, he is neither arrogant nor conceited. There are some scenes where you just can't help but leak a small grin. In short, this Novel is funny, exciting and the world building is intriguing, I totally recommend this one. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JetonS
JetonS rated it
Bishoujo wo Jouzu ni Nikubenki ni Suru Houhou
December 31, 2016
Status: c49
This novel greatly surprised me. Despite being an erotic novel, it doesn't forsake the character development part. Wa follow the story of Aoi Kijima, the MC, and Makoto the so called meat toilet. The characters interactions are just adorable and at the same time very funny as we can read the inner thoughts of Kijima, a well known Tsundere male character.

I would have given a 5 stars in the beginning but as I progressed further in the story, I could notice some flaws that hinder the reader's immersion.
Firstly, it's... more>> lacking of descriptive scenes. Only the erogenous parts and the sensations are described in depth. I would have really liked if the author focused a little bit more on the surrounding and not only on the main characters.

Secondly, the story is too linear. It's only and only about the main character Kijima. I feel like the school life is just about how Kijima torments Makoto, well at this part as well I would have also liked a little bit more explanation, a little depth if I may say so. For example, at a certain point of the story, Makoto gets some "real" friends. Yep but there are only 4 lines describing it. And that's it. Isn't it too shallow ?? I mean her friends literally have no purpose in the story. Please develop a bit more your side characters : (

And ultimately, I'd like the criticise the ending. All long the novel, the author builds a Tsundere character, and in the end guess what. Yup it ends in a Kya Kya ufufu atmosphere where everything ends well without real development. He saves Makoto, gets a Harem of meat toilets, reconciles with his brother, solves all problems and all that's well that ends well. Ahum, that's clearly abusing of Deus Ex Machina...

To summarise, the novel is really worth a shot, with decently long chapters and a good overall story, but at the same time, I feel like the story is too shallow, too superficial. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report