Report Review
25 Reviews


JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
X-ray Is More Than I Thought
June 21, 2016
Status: c4
Abuse of supernatural ability that he was born with to manipulate women into being his s*x s*aves... With a gross but amusing twist as a result.
... more>>
Spoiler

After being born with x-ray vision, constantly abusing it to see through clothes, it becomes even stronger. Now, he see's through skin, with no way to control it (As of c4)... Gross. lol

[collapse]

I would say, "Beware, there's rape/blackmail." However, NovelUpdates has that in the Tags and the Translator also gave a warning that the MC is scum. So before I started reading, I knew it wasn't going to have fluffy bunnies and talking puppies. <<less
76 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
The Girl Who Ate a Death God
March 28, 2016
Status: --
I absolutely hate detailed rape. It's a fact it happens, and hearing about it happening is more than bad enough, but I refuse to read about it when they describe in minute detail. So, during the first chapter, when a certain situation seemed inevitable, it was with great relief that it didn't happen. Instead, something quite interesting happened.

What follows is a girl (bottomless pit), on her journey for revenge (even though she doesn't quite remember exactly why). Slowly climbing through the ranks in the army as she carves her own... more>> path (literally), we get to see the different local food specialties that she consumes (three adult sized portions worth) as she is deployed to various locations.

The main character is a somewhat small, malnourished girl wielding a large, black scythe. The war, how it is carried out, the characters, progression and tactics/strategy seem to be fairly believable. I haven't come across anything that breaks the story... Assuming you keep the girl with the scythe in your blind spot.

Backing up this interesting story is a translator/translation team who seem to know what they're doing. A good quality translation is always a pleasure to read. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Zither Emperor
May 18, 2016
Status: v1c5 part1
Dropped at 5.1
Authors seem to love setting up a strong character, then doing something retarded to weaken them. Such a shame. I have a hankering for music and acting stories and this started out pretty promising.

In fact. The more I think about it, the more this annoys me. Usually, it's stories where things just seem to go right and everything just falls into the MC's lap. This time, it's a series of coincidences that just so happen to take everything away from the MC. I dare not read 5.2... more>> for fear that on top of all of this, he will become a s*ave. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
February 15, 2016
Status: --
Can't bring myself to read past the Prologue. It was just ridiculous.

While the following is a spoiler, it only brings up the contents of Prologue 1.
... more>>
Spoiler

The Goddess of the world the 70+ of them are being summoned to, gives them knowledge of the world, a body that can adapt to the world, and a sword. In each sword, part of their soul is imbued within. The Janitor's sword gets stolen from him. So. Some random kid now has part of his soul. What's more, the sword could only be stolen while in the place between worlds where the Goddess talks to them. F*cking derp.

[collapse]
<<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Occupation: Adventurer; Race: Various
March 30, 2016
Status: --
This was a really interesting idea and it certainly started off well enough. Pity it was thoroughly wrecked by a substandard author. By not thinking things through well enough and properly planning ahead, this author used a lazy author's typical shortcut to thrust the story along.

Minor Spoiler
... more>>
Spoiler

The 'lazy author shortcut' I'm referring to in this case, is when an author, unnecessarily and arbitrarily, kills off one of the cast. There was no thinking involved in this. There was a hint that 'something' was going to happen, but nothing like this.

[collapse]

Major Spoiler
Spoiler

We meet Lelia. Introduced in such a way that it leads us to think she's a possible love interest. Using his skill, our MC is able to see her abilities. We see, Calamity (Only on the days of Crescent Moon), Maniac and Mad Dog of Sorrow. She becomes his tutor in taijutsu. Five years or so pass. (Insert random time skip) Then BAM. It's day of the Crescent Moon. MC isn't home, Leila turns up completely nuts, and somehow manages to eat the father in an instant. Then rips the mother's arms off before our MC just happens to arrive. So, he once again uses his ability to examine her. Then again, specifically on Calamity (or was it Maniac...). Which then describes how on the day of the Crescent Moon, she attacks/kills the people closest to her.

So. Awesome. Because titles/skills like Calamity, Mad Dog of Sorrow and Maniac aren't ominous at all, he never bothers to examine the titles/skills in detail. Even though he had FIVE YEARS to do so. This could make sense if he truly was a four/five year old child, but he was reincarnated with memories, and at the time he starts training, he even comments about how, 'inside he is twenty years old'.

If this wasn't ridiculous enough. Apparently he is possessed by some dragon who takes over his body and saves the day. Then heals his mother, restoring her arms. Then, before the dragon can explain anything, has to sleep for two years because he's used too much of his awesome dragon power.
I just don't see the reason behind any of this. The whole situation is unreasonable and poorly thought through. The father was a great character for amusing hijinks.

[collapse]

For better or worse (depending on how you feel about the story), as of chapter 29, the translator has mentioned that the author is barely updating the story anymore. That unless the author starts regularly updating again, he will finish off the volume (about three chapters), before dropping it.

My personal opinion is that he's run the story into the ground, because he never plotted out the main points of the story, and no longer has anywhere to go.

All in all, a very disappointing story. The only positive thing is the translator, who has done a great job. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Venerated Venomous Consort
October 13, 2017
Status: c56
*Look at Description* Follow Gu Xijiu on her journey to discover her one true love!

*Look at Tags* Rape

You can recognize your one true love when they r*pe you.

... more>> (Fully intend to read and then re-review. Not a good first impression but I enjoy cultivation stories.)

Edit: As of chapter 56, the only r*pe has been in the first few chapters of a random nobody. If this story needs the r*pe tag, most of the cultivation stories need a r*pe tag.

Very not into of the main characters being raped. So with that sorted out, so far it just seems like a typical Transmigrated Female Assassin MC. Not enough has happened to see if there are any unique points. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Immortal Mortal
September 6, 2017
Status: c9
Extremely boring and cliche start. At this point, I feel like I would beg the heavens just to read a story where the MC isn't forced to part with a girl who is close to him because he's 'tr*sh'.

How pathetic.

Even ignoring this, there's still nothing promising.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
I originally loved this story. Well written, well translated.

At c1197 I can no longer bring myself to read this story. It's constantly either the male lead or the female lead getting wounded (with or without lowered cultivation) and then the other having to go save them.

This can only happen so many times before a story should just end.

I think I'll see if I can get this renamed to, "Flogging a Dead Horse".
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
I’m OP, but I Began an Inn
May 12, 2016
Status: --
After reading the currently translated chapters (ch1&2), this seems like it should be a rather amusing story. The first time I have seen this particular reason for the/a God to offer some choices about what happens next, them being dead now. I hope someone translates a few more chapters.

Saying that, I dislike/hate these kinds of, ' "OhshitIF*ckedUp tehepero" Gods'.

On a side note, this was the first time I've seen this and was amused by it and it's use in the story. (^^) V
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Mimizuku to Yoru no Ou
March 24, 2016
Status: --
The story is masterfully delivered. Every single word draws you in further.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
September 15, 2017
Status: c15
Well. Only 15 chapters. Not too much to talk about.

I have to say, the main reason I was drawn to this novel was because of, "MCV". As a huge Command and Conquer fan... Though at the moment that's not what's happened. So far he's only turned an old minivan into...

Spoiler

an armed and armored, luxurious camper van. Complete with bed, bath, kitchen and air cannon.

[collapse]

Eagerly awaiting further translations.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Best to Have Met You
November 16, 2016
Status: epilogue 2
I am not fond of stories with lots of drama. When I read, I tend to connect to the characters/story too much and really feel it, so the constant up and down's really wear me out.

So, when I say, 'I wish this story had just a bit more drama', this is definitely the first time.

... more>>
Spoiler

The points that could/should have caused drama were solved far too easily, even abruptly. The uncle's situation was fine. It seemed to fit his personality. I just don't understand why the father suddenly changed his attitude. It also seemed like the story was setting the Xu family elder's to be a potentially strong obstacle, but that came to nothing.

[collapse]

Going through drama with the character's is what helps us connect to them. Whether it was the lack of drama or something else, I found myself not really connecting with Xu Mo Ting and An Ning. Though I say that, don't misunderstand, I really enjoyed the story and absolutely loved An Ning's character and enjoyed Xu Mo Ting not being as overbearing as some male lead's tend to be.

Big thank you to Hui3r. The translations I've read are very high quality. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Adolescent Adam
May 25, 2016
Status: v4c6
I enjoyed how there were three factions, each with their own special abilities. Reminds me of Aliens vs Predator. Admittedly, even though there's action and some plot, s*x scenes still make up a good portion of it. As another reviewer commented, this story seems to want to cover a variety of fetishes. Vanilla, robot tentacle, anal, with a somewhat sadistic personality as well as masochistic personality, a little bit of foot, ass play. I worry where it's going to end up, though.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
A beautifully tragic tale that pulls at your heart. How no matter what you do, the person you live your life for never once takes notice and how the heart is crushed by it.

A shame that it's hard to follow and figure out exactly what is going on due to the weird way the different translators are handling this.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Stranger’s Handbook
May 12, 2016
Status: --
To begin: You have to read up to at least Chapter 11, where it has another character's point of view. Between that chapter and Chapter 10, whatever you thought of the story up till then will either be confirmed or completely blown away.

As for me, I'm not quite sure what to think but I'm more than willing to give a story with such an interesting, yet somewhat confusing, beginning a chance.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Transmigrated Canon Fodder, Please Calm Down!
March 28, 2020
Status: c42
Just another transmigration story. You've read one, you've read them all. A tidy translation. Easy to read.

The story is really only worth three stars but I gave it a bonus since having a MC that's not obvious about her revenge is refreshing.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
September 22, 2017
Status: c517
I went off this a few times and but would eventually come back and read more. I can't really say what exactly is missing from this. Maybe the story itself is the problem as I have really liked the main characters we've come across.

Especially the main character.

At around chapters 500+ you come across the, "The Relentless Little Tail in the Shadows" chapters which are hilarious, if you love cute things and the way the MC interacts with them.

Regardless of how you feel about the story, you should forge ahead just... more>> for this. Rated 5 stars just because mofumofu.

(Real rating: 3 stars) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
Story should be renamed to: Villainous Quick Transmigration System Crushes Flags and Incinerates Fluff.

'Nuff said.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Isekai Tensei no Boukensha
September 17, 2019
Status: v2c1
Poorly written, sad excuse for a story. As soon as the author no longer needs a character they are killed off.

The author had already set it up that there were no younger people in the village because they all left to become an adventurer and yet, instead of the MC following the same, the village is attacked and the people he cared about all killed. After all, what's the point in staying in a half destroyed village where the people you care about are dead?

It's not like there was a... more>> good reason for it. To provide some kind of motivation for the MC. Nope. It was solely to remove the place he was happy to live in. In the current chapter, the motivation for becoming an adventurer is because you can't sell monster mats unless you're registered and he's running low on money.

I think, individually, the ideas the author has used were good. Whether he came up with the plot himself or used ideas he liked from other stories doesn't matter. What -does- matter is that after he put them all together what he ended up with is something that reminds me of anime where there's a censored image of failed cooking or that one where it's like sludge, seems to have a face and moans? Yeah, that. This story is like that. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
September 19, 2018
Status: --
The top rated reviewers have the details covered, so my personal addition to this is:

The story should be renamed to: Plot Armor - An Author's Directive.

Just like J. K. Rowling who made a comment about how she had decided on Ron x Hermione and Harry x Ginny at the beginning of the story and refused to change it despite how obviously it should have gone, this author has decided that 'insert event' is going to happen and so it damn well is going to happen despite how the situation should... more>> have happened if anyone bothered rubbing two brain cells together. Due to this, the story isn't convincing at all.

To finish: Despite the (many) ways the story might be lacking, if you prefer stories without drama then it's still a good read. Stories like this are always going to have some problems so it's going to be up to your personal taste whether you will enjoy it or not.

Definitely give it a try. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report