Report Review
21 Reviews


JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
X-ray Is More Than I Thought
June 21, 2016
Status: c4
Abuse of supernatural ability that he was born with to manipulate women into being his s*x slaves... With a gross but amusing twist as a result.
... more>>
Spoiler

After being born with x-ray vision, constantly abusing it to see through clothes, it becomes even stronger. Now, he see's through skin, with no way to control it (As of c4)... Gross. lol

[collapse]

I would say, "Beware, there's rape/blackmail." However, NovelUpdates has that in the Tags and the Translator also gave a warning that the MC is scum. So before I started reading, I knew it wasn't going to have fluffy bunnies and talking puppies. <<less
68 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Zither Emperor
May 18, 2016
Status: v1c5 part1
Dropped at 5.1
Authors seem to love setting up a strong character, then doing something retarded to weaken them. Such a shame. I have a hankering for music and acting stories and this started out pretty promising.

In fact. The more I think about it, the more this annoys me. Usually, it's stories where things just seem to go right and everything just falls into the MC's lap. This time, it's a series of coincidences that just so happen to take everything away from the MC. I dare not read 5.2... more>> for fear that on top of all of this, he will become a slave. <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
The Girl Who Ate a Death God
March 28, 2016
Status: --
I absolutely hate detailed rape. It's a fact it happens, and hearing about it happening is more than bad enough, but I refuse to read about it when they describe in minute detail. So, during the first chapter, when a certain situation seemed inevitable, it was with great relief that it didn't happen. Instead, something quite interesting happened.

What follows is a girl (bottomless pit), on her journey for revenge (even though she doesn't quite remember exactly why). Slowly climbing through the ranks in the army as she carves her own... more>> path (literally), we get to see the different local food specialties that she consumes (three adult sized portions worth) as she is deployed to various locations.

The main character is a somewhat small, malnourished girl wielding a large, black scythe. The war, how it is carried out, the characters, progression and tactics/strategy seem to be fairly believable. I haven't come across anything that breaks the story... Assuming you keep the girl with the scythe in your blind spot.

Backing up this interesting story is a translator/translation team who seem to know what they're doing. A good quality translation is always a pleasure to read. <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
February 15, 2016
Status: --
Can't bring myself to read past the Prologue. It was just ridiculous.

While the following is a spoiler, it only brings up the contents of Prologue 1.
... more>>
Spoiler

The Goddess of the world the 70+ of them are being summoned to, gives them knowledge of the world, a body that can adapt to the world, and a sword. In each sword, part of their soul is imbued within. The Janitor's sword gets stolen from him. So. Some random kid now has part of his soul. What's more, the sword could only be stolen while in the place between worlds where the Goddess talks to them. F**king derp.

[collapse]
<<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Venerated Venomous Consort
October 13, 2017
Status: c56
*Look at Description* Follow Gu Xijiu on her journey to discover her one true love!

*Look at Tags* Rape

You can recognize your one true love when they rape you.

... more>> (Fully intend to read and then re-review. Not a good first impression but I enjoy cultivation stories.)

Edit: As of chapter 56, the only rape has been in the first few chapters of a random nobody. If this story needs the Rape tag, most of the cultivation stories need a Rape tag.

Very not into of the main characters being raped. So with that sorted out, so far it just seems like a typical Transmigrated Female Assassin MC. Not enough has happened to see if there are any unique points. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Occupation: Adventurer; Race: Various
March 30, 2016
Status: --
This was a really interesting idea and it certainly started off well enough. Pity it was thoroughly wrecked by a substandard author. By not thinking things through well enough and properly planning ahead, this author used a lazy author's typical shortcut to thrust the story along.

Minor Spoiler
... more>>
Spoiler

The 'lazy author shortcut' I'm referring to in this case, is when an author, unnecessarily and arbitrarily, kills off one of the cast. There was no thinking involved in this. There was a hint that 'something' was going to happen, but nothing like this.

[collapse]

Major Spoiler
Spoiler

We meet Lelia. Introduced in such a way that it leads us to think she's a possible love interest. Using his skill, our MC is able to see her abilities. We see, Calamity (Only on the days of Crescent Moon), Maniac and Mad Dog of Sorrow. She becomes his tutor in taijutsu. Five years or so pass. (Insert random time skip) Then BAM. It's day of the Crescent Moon. MC isn't home, Leila turns up completely nuts, and somehow manages to eat the father in an instant. Then rips the mother's arms off before our MC just happens to arrive. So, he once again uses his ability to examine her. Then again, specifically on Calamity (or was it Maniac...). Which then describes how on the day of the Crescent Moon, she attacks/kills the people closest to her.

So. Awesome. Because titles/skills like Calamity, Mad Dog of Sorrow and Maniac aren't ominous at all, he never bothers to examine the titles/skills in detail. Even though he had FIVE YEARS to do so. This could make sense if he truly was a four/five year old child, but he was reincarnated with memories, and at the time he starts training, he even comments about how, 'inside he is twenty years old'.

If this wasn't ridiculous enough. Apparently he is possessed by some dragon who takes over his body and saves the day. Then heals his mother, restoring her arms. Then, before the dragon can explain anything, has to sleep for two years because he's used too much of his awesome dragon power.
I just don't see the reason behind any of this. The whole situation is unreasonable and poorly thought through. The father was a great character for amusing hijinks.

[collapse]

For better or worse (depending on how you feel about the story), as of chapter 29, the translator has mentioned that the author is barely updating the story anymore. That unless the author starts regularly updating again, he will finish off the volume (about three chapters), before dropping it.

My personal opinion is that he's run the story into the ground, because he never plotted out the main points of the story, and no longer has anywhere to go.

All in all, a very disappointing story. The only positive thing is the translator, who has done a great job. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Immortal Mortal
September 6, 2017
Status: c9
Extremely boring and cliche start. At this point, I feel like I would beg the heavens just to read a story where the MC isn't forced to part with a girl who is close to him because he's 'trash'.

How pathetic.

Even ignoring this, there's still nothing promising.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
I originally loved this story. Well written, well translated.

At c1197 I can no longer bring myself to read this story. It's constantly either the male lead or the female lead getting wounded (with or without lowered cultivation) and then the other having to go save them.

This can only happen so many times before a story should just end.

I think I'll see if I can get this renamed to, "Flogging a Dead Horse".
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
I’m OP, but I Began an Inn
May 12, 2016
Status: --
After reading the currently translated chapters (ch1&2), this seems like it should be a rather amusing story. The first time I have seen this particular reason for the/a God to offer some choices about what happens next, them being dead now. I hope someone translates a few more chapters.

Saying that, I dislike/hate these kinds of, ' "Ohsh*tIF*ckedUp tehepero" Gods'.

On a side note, this was the first time I've seen this and was amused by it and it's use in the story. (^^) V
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
September 15, 2017
Status: c15
Well. Only 15 chapters. Not too much to talk about.

I have to say, the main reason I was drawn to this novel was because of, "MCV". As a huge Command and Conquer fan... Though at the moment that's not what's happened. So far he's only turned an old minivan into...

Spoiler

an armed and armored, luxurious camper van. Complete with bed, bath, kitchen and air cannon.

[collapse]

Eagerly awaiting further translations.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Adolescent Adam
May 25, 2016
Status: v4c6
I enjoyed how there were three factions, each with their own special abilities. Reminds me of Aliens vs Predator. Admittedly, even though there's action and some plot, s*x scenes still make up a good portion of it. As another reviewer commented, this story seems to want to cover a variety of fetishes. Vanilla, robot tentacle, anal, with a somewhat sadistic personality as well as masochistic personality, a little bit of foot, ass play. I worry where it's going to end up, though.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Best to Have Met You
November 16, 2016
Status: epilogue 2
I am not fond of stories with lots of drama. When I read, I tend to connect to the characters/story too much and really feel it, so the constant up and down's really wear me out.

So, when I say, 'I wish this story had just a bit more drama', this is definitely the first time.

... more>>
Spoiler

The points that could/should have caused drama were solved far too easily, even abruptly. The uncle's situation was fine. It seemed to fit his personality. I just don't understand why the father suddenly changed his attitude. It also seemed like the story was setting the Xu family elder's to be a potentially strong obstacle, but that came to nothing.

[collapse]

Going through drama with the character's is what helps us connect to them. Whether it was the lack of drama or something else, I found myself not really connecting with Xu Mo Ting and An Ning. Though I say that, don't misunderstand, I really enjoyed the story and absolutely loved An Ning's character and enjoyed Xu Mo Ting not being as overbearing as some male lead's tend to be.

Big thank you to Hui3r. The translations I've read are very high quality. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Mimizuku to Yoru no Ou
March 24, 2016
Status: --
The story is masterfully delivered. Every single word draws you in further.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
A beautifully tragic tale that pulls at your heart. How no matter what you do, the person you live your life for never once takes notice and how the heart is crushed by it.

A shame that it's hard to follow and figure out exactly what is going on due to the weird way the different translators are handling this.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Stranger’s Handbook
May 12, 2016
Status: --
To begin: You have to read up to at least Chapter 11, where it has another character's point of view. Between that chapter and Chapter 10, whatever you thought of the story up till then will either be confirmed or completely blown away.

As for me, I'm not quite sure what to think but I'm more than willing to give a story with such an interesting, yet somewhat confusing, beginning a chance.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
September 22, 2017
Status: c517
I went off this a few times and but would eventually come back and read more. I can't really say what exactly is missing from this. Maybe the story itself is the problem as I have really liked the main characters we've come across.

Especially the main character.

At around chapters 500+ you come across the, "The Relentless Little Tail in the Shadows" chapters which are hilarious, if you love cute things and the way the MC interacts with them.

Regardless of how you feel about the story, you should forge ahead just... more>> for this. Rated 5 stars just because mofumofu.

(Real rating: 3 stars) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
September 19, 2018
Status: --
The top rated reviewers have the details covered, so my personal addition to this is:

The story should be renamed to: Plot Armor - An Author's Directive.

Just like J. K. Rowling who made a comment about how she had decided on Ron x Hermione and Harry x Ginny at the beginning of the story and refused to change it despite how obviously it should have gone, this author has decided that 'insert event' is going to happen and so it damn well is going to happen despite how the situation should... more>> have happened if anyone bothered rubbing two brain cells together. Due to this, the story isn't convincing at all.

To finish: Despite the (many) ways the story might be lacking, if you prefer stories without drama then it's still a good read. Stories like this are always going to have some problems so it's going to be up to your personal taste whether you will enjoy it or not.

Definitely give it a try. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Obaachan (28) is Free
August 24, 2018
Status: c8
This story is like a group of boys playing around with a train set. The boys in this case are gods and the train set is this poor girl's life. So yeah, while a story may be ruined by having super ultimate God items, these items feel like they have a will of their own (controlled by the God that blessed/gave/created it?) and they just mess with her. The Mapple is the most obvious of this. So, if this story is based on how she reacts to the situations these... more>> Gods dump her in, it will probably be quite good. The 'serious story' stop was passed during during chapter 2. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Real Fake Fiance
July 30, 2016
Status: c10 part2
First off, as another reviewer said, this is not a Comedy and should have Supernatural.

I always enjoy reading happy, romantic fluff with no serious drama. A quick, solid read. The only thing I have to complain about is how I didn't feel totally connected to the characters. Considering the story is mainly told from the female lead's side, I probably shouldn't feel more connected to the male lead...

Huge Spoiler
... more>>
Spoiler

I was more glad that the woman he loved didn't die than I was that her shortened life (due to helping others with her power) was extended. Probably needed to see her suffering more. She has a sharp pain, faints and just wakes up some days later. Sure, she's going to die when she's nineteen years old, but it's everyone around her who loves her that we see truly suffering and heartbroken over it.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
JerryHatrick
JerryHatrick rated it
Kill the Lights
April 18, 2016
Status: --
As of c11 part1: I was pleasantly surprised while reading this. I was hesitant to read this due to the yaoi tag, and even more so when the violent scenes in the first few chapters were somewhat detailed. Since the author had no problems going into that much detail (perhaps it's more accurate to say it's uncensored, rather than detailed?) I figured that, when/if there's a s*x scene, that I'm going to be feeling awfully uncomfortable...

As of c11 part1, there is no s*x scene, but I agree with Ninish.... more>> There will definitely be a s*x scene.
Spoiler

After all, there was a brief masturbation scene.

[collapse]
The best thing is that the story doesn't throw homos*xuality in your face. Some stories end up more about pushing homos*xuality with the story suffering for it.

I'm a huge, huge lover of Skip Beat! and am always on the lookout for good acting stories. Admittedly the focus isn't on the acting in this, it's more about how his previous life experiences affects (comes out in) his acting, but it's still interesting to read.

All in all, it's a very good read and Korean Novels have done a good job with the translation. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report