Report Review
33 Reviews


Jass
Jass rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
September 28, 2018
Status: --
In my opinion the novel has a big issue with "show, don't tell" aspect. The MC tends to spoil everything in one go, and the novel tends to put in too little effort on developing the story and characters properly, making it feel too fast. Too little content is placed in to make it feel more like a slow burn, as the author skips around with describing certain scenes. It really makes you not care about the side characters.

  • Spoiler

    The chef that's actually a torturer seemed interesting at the start, but it feels like the author didn't put in enough development for me to become invested in him. Same with those cat children, interesting premise, but it fails to keep me hooked because the author didn't seem to intend to develop them very much.

    [collapse]
57 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
August 18, 2018
Status: --
It's like The Scum Villain's Self-Saving System, except it's worser in quality in terms with the romance and the characters.

The characters seem more like archetypes than real people, and the romance is sudden and cliche.

... more>>
Spoiler

First few chapters and the ML immediately falls in love with the MC after MC treats him a little better. The problem is this transition was way too sudden, and the fact that the POV briefly shifts to the ML to tell us he fell in love with the MC is terrible. The author shouldn't make him tell outright when the ML fell for MC (Show, don't tell damn it!), plus his 180 change in attitude towards suddenly adoring the makes me roll my eyes.

The characters, are rather flat, as the story barely seems to expand on their backstory other than having the MC summarize what they are in the novel. ML's personality change suddenly made his main motive to be thirsty for the MC all throughout the novel. The author annoyingly shows us this everytime by linking conversations to the MC, like:

MC: ML you like me right
ML: yes
MC: what if I get bullied
ML: *makes a displeased look*

Why ask him that? What's the point of that, we already established he's already infatuated with him.

Now that might be better if it wasn't in the first 10 chapters, where I don't give a f**k about the characters at the moment. Scum Villain did a better job by not placing in too much focus on the ML specifically in the early chapters, nor being too explicit on how he felt towards the MC.

It's boring to see them interact.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
February 17, 2018
Status: --
I'd say this is one of the few romance BL novels that is fluffy and comedic enough to have male readers find some charm in this novel. Mainly because this sh*t is not just a romance, but also a gigantic parody of xuanhuan harem novels. Plus it's under 100 chapters which means they won't play out this comedy too much to get stale, and the fillers are practically non-existent as well.

In addition, the protagonist and male lead have something that I believe makes it stand out from the other chinese... more>> BL I've read - the subversion of the "seme/uke" or "gong/shou" trope. The MC is a man, and he makes it clear he's a man. He's not feminized or emotionally weakened with his developing romance with the male lead and keeps a firm grasp on his choices and freedom, condemning and portraying the ML's insane and obsessive actions when he attempts to obtain the MC's affection. This results in a much more balanced relationship dynamic between the ML and the MC. Much better than other BL that I've read.

The romance is light hearted and built up on a hilarious amount of misunderstandings. Yes, there is a s*x scene, but it doesn't come until the very last chapter. You can just probably just skip it with the extras if you don't want any smut.

For a majority of the time the novel barely takes itself too seriously, and while it does become a lil dark, it still retains the comedy as you read on.

ML + MC pairing is very cute and believable as well, you can see how the MC starts to develop feelings for the ML. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
Tales of Herding Gods
February 14, 2018
Status: c28
ATM it's a very strong start to a xuanhuan novel - MC is raised by questionable disabled elderly people and he's slowly getting OP from their training. It mixes comedy but makes sure to progress the plot as it does so. If you want an entertaining start you should read this, it's certainly got potential.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
Soaring the Heavens
February 10, 2018
Status: --
This is actually pretty well written, it's just... NTR is very prominent...

Welp, in the starting chapters they did warn the MC he's going to get a sh*tty life and he's going to be all alone if he planned on cultivating.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
March 4, 2018
Status: --
If you don't mind watching the MC slowly degenerating into a lonely hot mess and become emotionally wrecked constantly as he completes through several floors, this is a pretty interesting read. I quite like how they show the deterioration of his mental state due to being isolated from the rest of the cast, as well as the moments where he manages to put a band aid over his emotional scars as time passes by.

If there's one complaint it's the tournament arcs. They are... incredibly boring, imo. He's OP asf so... more>> he just faceslaps all of them, literally no challenge or tension. Does establish the fact that everyone else isolates from him because he's so god damn powerful though. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Crossing to the Future, it’s Not Easy to Be a Man
February 15, 2018
Status: c123
Interestingly enough, the MC is female and she isn't one of those female reincarnators/transmigrators that want to take vengeance on some random rich ass family, wowing people with her OP ass doctor skills or poison assassin sh*t. She doesn't have a trash body either, something I see very much in those female MC novels...

You have no idea how refreshing it is to see this.

Read it, especially if you're sick of those "I've honed my OP professional skills for years and I will politically slaughter this family through subtle verbal manipulation... more>> and while seducing my cold ass husband" novels.

Edit: At some point, the author decided to make the Japanese say weeaboo things and the translator ended up translating that. This extends to several chapters. It sounds awful, please be wary of this. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
World of Cultivation
January 23, 2018
Status: --
Never have I ever read a novel that isn't gay yet has a majority of the male supporting characters explicitly stating they'll devote their whole lives to a single man.

Jokes aside, the world building is interesting, and they manage to give a lot of a lot of characters depth and expansion. They actually make certain characters rather likeable, as well as making the protagonist grow stronger without it nagging it at you in the head.

Sometimes it gets a little confusing though, such as pulling a random character that appeared 100... more>> or so chapters ago. By then I've completely forgotten who they f**k they were and I'd just read on, confused but going with the flow.

Other than that, it's a good read. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Reverend Insanity
January 28, 2018
Status: c172
Reverend Insanity/Gu Daoist Master is a novel that excellently executes an anti-hero MC.

Fang Yuan is a ruthless and cunning MC that throws away the concepts of justice and morals in order to obtain immortality. This is his ultimate goal, and he legitimately does not give a sh*t for anything else. He's an apathetic man, and he cares not for revenge or being nice unless it helps fast forwards his goal. 500 years of sh*tty memories has pretty much made him into a sociopath.

This is very unique compared to the typical... more>> xianxia stories. This protagonist is one of the few that are openly selfish and cruel, yet it still manages to make him a charming person because of it.

Keep in mind though that this story involves a lot of politics. The biggest reason why Fang Yuan is so skin tough is because he's been screwed over by political bullsh*t in the past, so you will no doubt see a lot of pragmatic and scheming side characters in each chapter. Also, there's some philosophical ramble and some gore that can last a chapter or so. If you can handle that, this is a refreshing read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
The Avalon of Five Elements
January 25, 2018
Status: --
Like World Of Cultivation, Fang Xiang brings excellent character development and you can get attached to a whole cast of side characters (Sand golem is a good waif to MC). The world is interesting, and the story seems to be pretty good...

If you can handle the large amounts of ramble in the book.

A big flaw for me is how the author writes a little too much and delays the story with having to fill their quota of 2000 words per chapter to make more money. It gets a little boring... more>> because of this, in my opinion.

Nonetheless, if you can endure something that's a little slower paced compared to World of Cultivation, you'll probably like it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
April 15, 2018
Status: --
Mixed bag from me. Especially the tragedy part.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC tries to save his best friend from being executed, and he actually succeeds, but then best friend KILLS HIMSELF in order to make MC forget about him and live freely...? Only to have MC breakdown and get captured at his death. And then the king and queen have him live freely because he's their long lost son. What was the point of this? How he dies was so pointless and stupid it immediately drew me out of the immersion of the story.

Also, MC's love interest surrenders herself immediately because he left his job as a butler. And the reasoning for that is it's fate for her to do it, and the only reason why she hadn't done it before was because the MC was at her side. Okay, I get it's her fate to fall from nobility, but does she have to break down immediately and suddenly not care about anything else? I feel like her downfall should have more natural progression of her deterioration, but nope, after he leaves she immediately self-destructs.

[collapse]

How it handles the tragedy is unbelievably moronic imo, and I feel like the novel makes it way too dramatic for me to enjoy. Especially since the MC is playing the "misunderstanding" card to create this god damn awful drama. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
The Immortal’s Poison
February 15, 2018
Status: --
The powers the MC gets is pretty atypical compared to other MCs, I haven't seen a xuanhuan/xianxia story that has the MC use poison. It's a bit of a rough start but in 20 chapters MC gets his OP (albeit really deadly to his peers and even himself) power.

I don't get why the reviews seem so negative, the chapters don't really seem that bad, at least for the moment.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
Lucia
July 5, 2018
Status: --
Novel is somewhat of a mixed bag from me. The development is somewhat questionable, as the protagonist is supposedly a special kind of person that somehow manages to attract a man that's known for being playboy. Because he got addicted to her body when they have s*x, or something like that.

I dunno, this all feels a bit too convenient. I don't like the MC at all, she's supposed to be more special than the rest, but most of the time she's just incredibly submissive and that doesn't fit well with... more>> me. Read it to see if you like it, I guess. But for me, it's not really hitting me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
Death Sutra
June 12, 2018
Status: --
Starts off with a somewhat bad hook - the MC, still a young and arrogant kid, is very stupid and his reasons for revenge sound something less like actual passion and more of a duty - as if he's being a hero for doing it, and that it'll be incredibly easy. This can be off-putting for many readers. This doesn't last too long though, within 20 chapters he's realized the complications in achieving his goal for revenge.

MC also quickly learns how to adapt once he's placed in several dangerous, political... more>> situations. He becomes incredibly jaded, manipulative and cold-hearted as an after-effect of living in a dog-eat-dog world. By then people would actually find him more enjoyable, as he smartens up and plays the strategist.

What's the most attracting about this story is the characters. The author is smart enough not to make characters black and white, every important character has depth in them. Sometimes you can't help but feel bad for a few of them, in spite of being legitimately sh*tty people.

A bad thing might be the number of chapters. If you binge reading, you'll probably have a blast, but if you're waiting for chapters it can become more of a chore. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Novel isn't fit for me. It starts off with a serious tone, with Vandalieu suffering and whatnot, but later on the novel has him getting big breasted fanservice girls like no tomorrow, slice of life stuff and being loved immensely while the god reincarnated ofc has to be depicted as the stupid god that gets his ass handed to him.

I can't say it deceived me, it delivered what the sypnosis made it out to be, but the amount of fanservicely women and how the plot develops just has me go... more>> "Mmehhhhh...."

If you like busty girls you should try the novel out, I guess.

If you like cold hearted MCs, sorry to say Van ain't like them and he'll be saving and charming women like the harem master he is. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
Chongfei Manual
March 28, 2018
Status: --
I mean, it's pretty well written but in the end, it's still a traditional "I REVENGE MY FAMILY" story.

Sure, the MC is a petty bitch, but the author writes it so that everything always goes in her way, which is... pretty normal for these novels. She's apparently great at plotting, even though in her first life she was never that proactive in politics nor did she have the experience to manipulate things around them. I can get her being bitter but her being an incredibly good actor is something I'm... more>> skeptical on.

Another thing are the women. MC's female antagonists all have sh*tty endings, usually suffering a great deal before their deaths, which is another generic thing for these novels (and probably the thing I'm iffed on at the most, although it's just another trope in the end, I suppose). I suggest you read it if this is your first time experiencing these kinds of novels though, it's at least a better written revenge fic.

TLDR; It's just another one of these revenge stories, it's not bad but there's nothing eye catching on this specific story. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass
The Human Emperor
March 28, 2018
Status: --
On one hand, it starts out decently entertaining, with the ass-kicking and all -

But then it starts to become grating because every damn thing goes into the protagonist's way. Legit, the protagonist is still a teenager and all the neutral/friendly characters (Even the f**king king ruling this place is giving all kinds of praise instead of being suspicious on how the f**k he's guessing all of this correctly) are going "holy sh*t he's so smart and an innovative thinker", there's barely any traces of doubt. Sh*t man, the lack of... more>> challenge is really making this boring. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Lord and Dragon
February 17, 2018
Status: --
God damn, the fluff here is sickeningly sweet.

It's a novel that's relatively simple (and it kinda lacks depth tbh, but what can you do for short ass stories like these ones), for a BL genre it's short and well written enough for any fujoshi to enjoy.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
February 15, 2018
Status: --
It has an interesting start but as you progress through the plot you'll realize this guy is just going to be dealing with a sh*t ton of arrogant young masters. And aside from MC all of them are either categorized as "neutral but friendly enough" or "irredeemable piece of sh*t", there's no middle ground. The result is most of the cast are pretty flat.

If you like those kind of face slapping then I guess try it out. ¯\_ (ツ) _/¯
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Jass
Jass rated it
Sickly Tyrannical
February 12, 2018
Status: --
Don't like it when the uke acts all naive and stupid, but you want the ML to be neigh abusive to him? This novel is perfect for you, because the MC has decent IQ and all the abuse he's put through is not because he wanted it in the first place, but because the ML is so f**ked up he raped, kidnapped him and spouted out all the good, cheerful things that trigger stockholme syndrome. Bonus, he gets into this sh*t 2 f**king times by 2 f**ked up male leads.... more>> Seriously the story is basically the MC suffers even though he tries to struggle, even when he tries to accept his fate and cope. Literally no god damn ass happy ending for him unless he dies.

It's so f**king depressing, both male leads are assholes towards the MC, its hard to even say which one is the greater evil. But if you enjoy the MC going through a sh*t load of torture, this is for you!

(more of my opinions in here)
Spoiler

Oof, this is pretty grim. There is a lot triggering things. The story involves the MC being kidnapped, raped and abused by the male lead. It doesn't dare try to romanticize this - the situations the MC goes through because of his 'boyfriend' are horrific, and utterly saddening. There are some cute moments around them but it's quite clear even in those that the male lead has incredibly low empathy and that the majority of the time he disregards the MC's feelings. It's very tragic, as all the of the cast has some sort of trauma with depth as their backstory, MC included. Do not expect a happy ending for this novel, the best possible scenario where the MC gets a happy ending is when he breaths his last breath.

Do not treat this as some random garbage yaoi novel that's only written to fetisize the situation. It's much more than that.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report