Report Review
57 Reviews


Ignus
Ignus rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
May 10, 2017
Status: v1c29
The mood set by this story is it's best selling point.

It has a real gritty black ages western magic type feel.

The magic system is unique, diving more into science than most systems.

... more>> The pacing of the story is good, while setting up mystery for future chapters. Not everything needs to be explained up front in the first 10 chapters, or why do you keep reading the story?

Characters are also well done. Well, 30 chapters is not enough for the supporting characters to really shine, but its already better than most of the cookie cutter content out there. One the other hand, the MC is done superbly. It actually shows his growth and mentality. He is actually trying to lay low, and doesn't come out and show off right after saying so. He is not a smart MC, but he is well written as an average person adapting.

There is one moments that is not the best.
Spoiler

A priest doesn't want to go into a smelly sewer, so he threatens the MC into going into the sewer after having him memorize the chant for multiple spells.... A much better scenario could have been crafted.

[collapse]
<<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
108 Maidens of Destiny
March 13, 2017
Status: c40
A really good novel.
Lots of Unique deviations from the typical stories.

The first few chapters are a bit lacking in world building, not explaining cultivation/108 maidens. But then the story becomes much better.
- Good Action
- Puzzles solving
- Good Intelligent characters, with lots of conflict and power struggles.
- An actual plot rather than just getting stronger to fight the next young master, or OP + s*ave Harem from the start.

So this is similar, without the mindless fan service, to Queen's Blade.
Take Queen's Blade:
- get rid... more>> of the crummy dialogue, replace it with mystery & real adventures.
- get rid of dumb busty bimbos with devious and intelligent women
- drop pointless fan service for good quality action <<less
40 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Immortal Mortal
April 19, 2017
Status: c30
I am glad I pick up this story.
It has all the makings for an epic journey.
Although still a tab bit to early to rate, it hints at all the right stuff.

It's pretty obvious that the author has outlined and planned out the majority of the story.
- Less filler material
- Mystery interwoven into the plot, and desire to find out what happens next.
- Less jumping/missing scenes that ruin immersion
- Less blatant plot armor - more naturally written into the story.
The characters are really well... more>> done.
- Dialogue is above average, and meaningful.
- Characterization is colorful, and realistic
- MC uses logic and his reasoning is well explained... and fairly consistent.

There are some negatives:
- So far there hasn't really been much action.
- Author keeps mentioning technology, but finding excuses why it's never used. Its interesting, but also doesn't fit right. Unless the author has plans to use it more... until such time it feels like a poor gimic. <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Immortal and Martial Dual Cultivation
April 14, 2017
Status: c17
Even though rating at 3 stars I enjoyed the read.

It does have good pacing, and some imaginative/descriptive scenes. If you want a light read, a story that you can chuckle at while your brain is set on s*upid, dig in.

Where it fall short is continuity.
- Author blows past scenes without valid explanations
... more>>
Spoiler

MC meets rival family in tomb with one exit. He gets what they want, and they are many many times stronger than him. Do they wait outside the exit to kill him? Do they search for him in the tomb? Author mentions it in passing, that MC walks out without them around... At least mention that the other family thought MC died due to a trap where he fell into a pit (Although smart antagonist would place guards at the entrance to capture them... and MC needs to stealth kill his way out)

[collapse]
- Plot armor for dummies
Spoiler

MC picks up this rare Lightning skill, practices it once, without girls knowledge and he is pro, then goes and fights with his bully brother, and can beat him with it after 6 days of practice vs many years of practice + higher realm cultivation.... Most Xianxia at least explain that the 2 martial skills are realms apart (Although not in this instance, they just differ in quality) Also, that MC has an amazing comprehension type ability that lets him learn things faster.

[collapse]
- Default Xianxia story line leads to some special moments...
Spoiler

MC is from another world, a shut in, and knows he is weak in this new world, then he challenges someone much stronger to a life and death battle???? Riiiight.... of course the story follows perfectly for him to show off his OP skills... MC should grow into accepting life/death through events in the story/and he should be smart enough not to be suicidal in challenging life/death duel without first figuring out how to increase his strength.

Well, the whole soul transfer in this story is poorly used. If it's not going to add anything to the story, just skip it.

[collapse]
<<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Nightfall
March 31, 2017
Status: c75
A highly stylized writing style. I can't imagine how hard this story was/is to translate. (Waiting for it to be picked up again)

The stylized writing brings with it, immersion. Also, confusion. Whole sections of chapters I had only a vague idea of what was happening, but I could care less, because it truly felt like how subtle real political/ancient Chinese educated people converse.... A far cry from every person saying tr*sh this tr*sh that.

The characters are amazing, unique, deep... It actually feels like if something different was said by... more>> the MC, they would respond differently... Like the MC is not protected by plot armor.

The world is vibrant, and described almost poetically rather than literally, and is different from most what I have read before.

The MC himself is great. Trying without spoilers: I really want to know the mysteries behind the MC, and how he, who could be a protagonist, ended up being the way he is... Aye, this is terribly undiscriptive. MC is very unique, with a dark view of the world, not motivated by the typical simple "because I want to be stronger".

The action... There may not be much of it, but what action there is, is absolutely great. There are tactics, strategy, and tasty violence mixed into the action. Its like the difference of watching Dragonball with 2/3s episodes name calling and powering up a single skill (Like many Light Novels that rely on action to carry the story....) To a well thought out action sequence in a realistic military movie.

All in all, this story is so close to getting a 5 star from me. My lack of understanding esoteric Chinese references, causing my moments of confusion, and the disappointment of not being able to read more chapters lead to a lose of star for me. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
The Book Eating Magician
July 16, 2017
Status: c40
Not a bad story, no issues found.

But, it is lacking in character. The thing that separates it from another story. The author's creative touch.

It feels dry, with little excitement built with words as to what could be, danger, intrigue. Even the action doesn't stand out as that great. It feels like the story is following a script rehearsal without costumes and make-up.

Examples: ... more>>
Spoiler

MC gets a grimoire named glutton. So much stuff could be done with this. Like MC freaking out having a parasite in his hand that could kill him. Asking it questions on its origins, or possible harmful/side effects to the owner.

Or a true trek through dangerous mountains, rather than clean sailing until, oh an ambush, fight the main boss and win, and everything returns to status quo. No angst at first kill, no spoils of war, no reflection on combat, or words spoken about it from his mentor... Nope, just arriving at the amazing city with vast walls....

[collapse]
<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Royal Roader on My Own
October 24, 2017
Status: c13
Not the best living in an RPG type world story there is. What story there is, is a poor copy of others.

The story details are a bit bare-bone, and the MC is already forgetting his own previous play through.

A few to many plots are brought up coincidentally, and feels more like the author is coming up with the next idea on the fly rather than a well planned out story.

... more>>
Spoiler

He has to hunt a lvl 27 werewolf within a few hours to prove to a god that he can own the s*ave he just won in a bet... and he died previously... Its not like he spent a day or 2 prepping a unique method to hunt it before winning the s*ave or anything... Nope, its more like author needed to fill in a chapter, and decided to show of MC beating a werewolf thats lvl 27 when he is lvl 1....

[collapse]
<<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Soaring of Galaxia
April 17, 2017
Status: c29
Good premise that falls short on delivery. More time is spent discussing over and over again the family standings and basic noble social structure than on plot. It wouldn't be so bad if the plot wasn't as shallow as it is. ... more>>
Spoiler

Meditating at night, hears footsteps, assassin, captures him, threatens him with broken fingers, he speaks, Evil guy wants to r*pe MC sister... Expand this to half a chapter, which isn't much, and it reads almost as dryly as listing it out.

[collapse]
Throw in a few inconsistencies... subtle ones, including MC choices made often to move the plot rather than show his intelligence.

I can also swear that I have read this exact story line before, but with additional events and deeper plots from another story (A few key details are different). Correct me if I am wrong, because I know what is happening before it happens. Unless this story was translated before and got thrown out... <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
So close to being a great Dungeon Master/builder story.

I had thought to myself if I was to write this type of story, I would have many similar concepts and ideas.
... more>>
Spoiler

Such as Unique Monster Creations, Gathering skills/creature types from other dungeons, creating a city for humans to live in, even fight for my protection (their own home), Small other world introductions, such as city management, apple pie, a casino.

[collapse]

Thankfully author avoid the worst of the Japanese Light novel killers, making it readable, and enjoyable for light reading and passing the time.... Such as avoiding repeating the same thing 3 chapters in a row: (MC acting humble while the author uses 3 sets of people to praise him for the same event in 3 different chapters, therefore repeating MC's achievement 3 times in a row...)

The are a few problems keeping this from being a great story...
Often found in Japanese Light Novels written for a younger audience, and for easy conversion/transition into Manga/Anime.

But the big problem, and it might be a bit more personal, is the use of, or over use of guns. (Sorry gun otakus)
Generally speaking, the inclusions of guns into a fantasy setting ruins the mood.
- It sucks away any action, shoot and their dead. (This story at least has some shotgun action)
- It makes the MC OP.
- I'm to lazy to think of other reasons why....
Also, this story has paragraphs explaining the gun specs, and how it's used.
Honestly, this stories gun use is not as bad as others where the MC is an adventure using gun magic.
Its actually explain, and its not the most op thing, as in magic may be able to get past it... but still, there are a few chapters in a row that only a gun enthusiast would be excited reading. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Scum of the Cultivation World
April 2, 2018
Status: c37
Yeesh, back in the 70s when a bunch of Hippies were "living" homeless in San Francisco, somehow the stray dog problem in the city just magically disappeared. Course no one talks about it. I wonder if the guilt has made them into animal rights activists.

Still, I feel the MC actually has a chance to survive a less civilized world. Gives the story a unique feel even if the story really isn't.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
The Devil’s Cage
July 1, 2017
Status: c33
C33 marks the end of the first arc. An entertaining read that it's style stands out from other game element novels

Its like reading a game of Metal Gear Solid. ... more>>
Spoiler

MC gets same skill set as Snake, and the first arc is like completing an extended mission.

[collapse]

Action is nice, and story is somewhat intelligent. It looks like MC will stay weaker than his challenge and require brains to complete the missions.

A few things bothered me. Stuff that broke immersion of feeling the game world, that the author choose to ignore or add to move the story along.

Spoiler

1. MC doesn't full explore gaining skills, which can boost his stats. Sure there is some, but there are some serious misses in this category. For me, I would try out everything to get as many skills as possible, and since this didn't happen, I couldn't help but cry out after every chapter, please use a blunt weapon, try throwing knives...

2. MC does really well on his noob starting area that has golden opportunities, so what happens, he gets penalized by changing it from 7 days to 3 days. He could unlock so many skills, either by performing actions, help out NPC, which could lead to learning and unlocking skills, or killing military experts to loot skill tomes. All these of course would raise his stats.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
God Of Soul System
September 13, 2017
Status: c53
I can't stand reading bad stories, but One Piece world was enough for me to enjoy this one.

Best way I can describe it is a Chinese Xuanhua meets One Piece.

There are looks of disdain and murmuring crowds. Tournaments that make no real logical sense in "The Navy's" training program. There is the MC being aloof and uncaring, but showing off at each turn of the page.

... more>> MC gets OP to quickly, but if this light novel is shorter around 150-250 chapters only things will be ok.

Still, within all this nonsense, there are a few new devil fruit powers, a nice cast of young known marines, and a few comedic moments with powerhouse like Garp and Z. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Starting from Zero
February 23, 2017
Status: c10
I tired to like this Light Novel.

I typically enjoy reading VRmmorpgs Ding Fest/Japtem novels like LMS (Legendary Moonlight S) It even has an interesting background story about using the game to wage war in the Synopsis. It has a good translator.

BUT.... this story is a whole different level of s*upid. Even if the target audience is supposed to be 7 year old children. (If so, bad cover art choice)

Every chapter MC gets a random OP boost without even doing anything. He gets unbalanced game breaking random rewards at character... more>> creation, and wanders around lost for a few chapters running into OP Pets, items, etc...

I read someone else review on another Novel, and he put it really well.... The plot armor is measured in miles, not inches.

This story is actually hard to review because it is so lacking that there is nothing to review about. The bad rating is not even about what is written into the story, but what is not. MC starts game in "starting village". Spends 2 chapters to kill things, and leaves the starting village. No boss fight, no exploration, no special quests he can use his high charm stat to get... Absolutely Nothing...

At best, this story reads like a rough draft. A generic plot, and general direction of story laid out, but without anything else. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Mysterious Job Called Oda Nobunaga
February 24, 2018
Status: c10
Good idea, poor story telling.

It reads closer to a story outline, than an actual novel.

I guess the worst example is a time skip of a few months, and then a year within a few paragraphs.

It almost reads like...

Spoiler

I decided to implement a new tax structure: (Info Drop)

It was successful.

After 3 months many merchants and even beastman merchants brought their business.

After a year, it even started to rival the capital's business.

Everyone liked it, and paid their taxes on time.

[collapse]
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Green Skin
November 12, 2017
Status: c6
A good story premise, poorly executed.

I was really excited to read this, as I like species evolution novels.

The framework of this novel, the overall plot is good, but the author just skips from one idea to the next without adding story telling.

Such as the action sequences. ... more>>
Spoiler

MC picks up a dagger from a dead goblin, and throws it at the grouped humans. 2 sentences later.... Somehow he has killed 8 humans throwing a dagger. He did not loot any others, he did not time his throws between other goblins attacks.... just poor story telling

[collapse]

Or story telling between events to bring the world alive.

Spoiler

Him and his new goblin clan kill some humans in a cave. Then they show up back at their camp and show off to the other goblin groups. There are many things that happen between those 2 events. Such as clean up, looting weapons, MC showing leadership skills, like rewarding those under him that ranked up, the description of marching back with dead humans tied to shoulder polls like hunted animals, etc...

[collapse]

I could only get half way through chapter 6 before dropping this. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Castle of Black Iron
April 20, 2017
Status: c79
Ignore the low score rating as it comes from previous translation.

This story is really good. Good pacing, vivid fantasy world, great characters...

I pride myself on scoring a story based upon the skill of the author, and not if genre/tags don't agree with me. This story as of chapter 79 is really well written.

The only thing that could turn a few people off is the crude humor. after the first 20 chapters, there is less of it. Even though I am not a fan of the humor, this is still... more>> one of my favorite stories right now.

Also, even though crude humor is treated as a running gag, at least it stands out, and does give the feeling of how virgin immature boys may behave. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Zhu Xian
February 8, 2017
Status: c200
A hidden gem.

The first 50 chapters does have some Editing (Grammar errors) but the translation is still pretty good.
Once you get past that annoyance, the story comes alive.

Lots of Xianxia have good sects vs evil sects. But typically this is almost lightly mentioned to create a vessel for the MC to show off his power, and defeat a whole sect of devils/ghost sect members.

This story has much more emphasis on good vs evil. Think of the Starwars.
Internal struggle vs evil, complex romance, philosophical quandaries, light side arrogance,... more>> dark side corruption.

The MC is not OP, and so far the action relies upon the group MC belongs to. (Not typical MC vs noble spoiled child)
The MC feels fresh, not one of the typical MC molds.

But most importantly, I do not know what is going to happen in the next 50 chapters. Is he going to become more evil? Will he change to a different sect?... (Better than knowing that the guy that just called the MC tr*sh will be defeated in 15 chapters, and his elder brother who is an inner sect disciple in 30, and the stuck up greedy master of the elder brother in 60 chapters because there was a tournament at chapter 45.) <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
The World Online
December 12, 2017
Status: c50
A good concept that moved too fast.

The first 10 chapters of setup was really good. Then followed 40 chapters of Civic upgrading, and getting lucky (plot armor). ... more>>
Spoiler

I mean, the MC's two weaknesses (in stats) is his luck and his charisma (story calls it something else). Yet, everyone loves him, and he gets beyond lucky plot armor.

[collapse]

If this story paced itself better... More world building/combat/game time between a repetitive civic upgrade.

Spoiler

MC ranks village up 3 times in what seems to be a month/month and a half. The same thing happens each time. MC wakes up, upgrades a building, calls a meeting, makes some commands, rinse and repeat

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
World Record
October 8, 2017
Status: c5
Really wanted to get into this story. Sadly it suffers like many, where it would be better as a manga/webtoon.

You can sense the author thinking up the next drawn panel in the story, then turning it into words. Meaning that the story is kind of bare-bone.

It has some of the same overused and tired troupes, with loli sister joking about MC being a pervert, and spending more time describing about a meal than the game elements/action/world.

... more>> This story is not the worst in this case, but it is still there.

Note: You can see the opposite in some of the manga's made from light novels, where the manga can't fit in all the story found in the light novel. This is the opposite. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Ignus
Ignus rated it
Solo Clear
September 29, 2017
Status: c14
The story is very disjointed. Enough to give a reader a headache. Most of the non-professional Originals are better than this travesty.

Example: ... more>>
Spoiler

It's pretty bad story when the MC asks a robot what this item is, and before getting an answer, he eats it.

Or MC gets key to ancient ruins, but since he is injured he doesn't explore it, instead he hikes back to his base and buys a shield spell to replace his missing hand.... Um, he had enough energy to make it back to the base, he could have gone exploring.

MC runs into skeleton that he fears, decides not to fight, then gets aggro on 2 at the same time. He tries to run, looses his hand, then decides to fight... There is definitely something wrong with that sequence. Oh right, he suddenly pulls out his companion, and starts using spells/magic that he didn't have before.

[collapse]

All these examples are only from a single chapter, and there are other random things that just popped as well. Just shows that the author is writing what he wants when he thinks about it. No editing, no concerns over story flow. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3