Report Review
17 Reviews


HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Demon’s Diary
February 16, 2016
Status: --
I agree with all the reviews except readingdigest. We are only 52 chapters into a 1552 chapter novel. The guy has barely powered up yet and is just starting the his new life. We have 1500 chapters to come full circle. What’s the point in the new role if he doesn't have wiggle room to get strong, meet people (like his new “family” perhaps), learn the secrets of his past, learn new techniques, and finally whoop @ss. Plus, why not move easily at first in his new identity, unless he... more>> wants to be instantly killed? I personally like the idea. I suggest anyone who is interested in reading this should try it. There is great pacing so far, lots of foreshadowing, and yes, at least up to 52, there hasn't been any retarded villains. For me, it’s the only webnovel I read at Gravity. <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
Started off good. Better, actually, than the positive reviews say. It was quite addicting, like a kdrama. That was until I got to the point I started making excuses for the characters' wayward behavior. The MC is not so much pure or dumb to me as foolish in one particular trait. It's her forbearance. If it's just overcoming snobs, however cliche, I could deal with it. But her forbearance of EVERYTHING, especially the male MC's behavior, is a deal breaker. I could have stuck with this novel longer to see... more>> the development the author is sooo very very fantastic at giving (double that with the superb translation). However, I also started thinking about all the books on hold on my reading list while waiting for this one to advance. And a warning to those who didn't know: there is a ridiculous amount of rape, violence, and domestic abuse in this novel. And I'm only at c219. Not saying you shouldn't read because of it, but be aware. I kept reading even when something upset me because the author has a smooth way of hooking you in and solving challenges. But for me, it just wasn't worth it. Certainly not 1400+ chapters worth it either. 3* Stars <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
The Nine Cauldrons
February 12, 2016
Status: --
Spoiler

Only one love interest dies so I don't understand what the other reviewer is talking about. The second love interest doesn't die. Maybe he is talking about the fact that he MC had a wife who died before start of the story but that doesn't count as a love interest IN THE STORY.

[collapse]

I scraped through the MT of this book a couple of months ago and it was so good, I finished it. This is a huge feat in the world of horrendous MT but it is such an enjoyable read, I couldn't stop. 5* Though honestly, IET didn't have to end it where he did. It is a rare case of actually having more exploration possible at the end of a xianxia webnovel. Hope someone picks this up soon. I wanna read in English!
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Versatile Mage
January 16, 2016
Status: c100
Updating this review. I'm up to c100 and I'm not sure what to think. MC is supposed to be a genius but I can't see where he is very smart. He is a hot head, who makes rash decisions but overall, with a character that is neither unique or interesting. Other characters are equally generic and uninteresting. Because the author made the characters 95% of the story. What you get is a unique setting and concept ultimately dumbed down by uninterestin g and random dramatics the further you go. Even... more>> so, it's not the worst thing I've read. Just sub par. I put this on hold because it's still readable nonetheless. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
I finished reading this novel this morning, and I can honestly say that the reviewers before me did not lie. Rather than saying the ending is abrupt, it is more accurate to say there was alot of cramming in the last 6 chapters. I had read the reviews so I was expecting it. The cramming wasn't as bad as I feared though. So I give the ending 3/5. After all, it was still good and only left a few things unresolved.

As for the story, it took an unexpected direction. There... more>> were devils, demons, ghosts, and blood rituals. I was thinking cultivating schoolgirl plays in forest of magical beast. But I forgot that MC is a FORMER cultivator. She's living in a CD world now. It should have been obvious, but cultivating was out. Nonetheless the world setting was very well put together. The only thing that baffled me was those special chosen, world shattering individuals. This threw me for a loop at the end as well and I was left to wonder about power dynamics. For that, I'm taking 1pts. Story Setting 4/5

I actually liked all the characters. Even the villians were well handled. Reading this novel, I learned that there are better ways to handle annoying villians in CN. Up until now, most authors treated them two ways: drag it out or instant fodder. In this cn, all the vilians don't die. Some actually live until the end. And that's ok. Because they aren't hitting the MC's face every chapter. All the characters, good or bad, reappeared in multiple arcs. Allies and friends are treated the same as the villians, but with more development and screen time. Rarely do people just disappears.
Spoiler

*shrugs* The few that did can only blame the ending

[collapse]
Side Characters 4/5

This story revolved around the FL chasing the ML and making him her baby's father. I really liked the relationship between the FL and ML. Both characters were sincere and loyal. The MC is very pure. The ML has the ability to recognize the pure of heart. This becames pretty hilarious later on as he continuously worries about her being cheated. As for when she is chasing him, the entire pure-hearted characteristic leads to some pretty embarrassing situations for our male lead. Their allies and friends converge to help the MC get her man and dish out some pretty interesting advice. On the other hand, we are shown rather than told how much they like each other. However, I do wish the auther wore the FL transition in her feelings for ML as more than her baby's father. Main Couple & Plot 5/5 <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Elqueeness
April 20, 2016
Status: --
This is a gender bender with an androgynous male character who is technically s*xless (spirit kings have no gender) but there is NO yaoi in this. It is speculated and imagined by some readers b/c of overprotective nature of the people around the MC. The story is essentially the mc's life story. Chapters are long and broken into parts with steady but not fast releases. Boo hoo. If that sounds daunting, then stack chapter before each read. Don't let MondoX's review prevent you from checking this out. Judge this for... more>> yourself. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Hitomishiri Onna ga Isekai de Seitenka shita Kekka
February 15, 2016
Status: --
This is a slow but well thought out novel. POV does change within one chapter, but that just gives even more perspective and development. I don't want to put any spoilers b/c that would ruin the story but it does get a little heavy and explores serious issues and conflicts. Unfortunately, the author is slow to update and translations aren't much faster. I hope that the translation continues and the writer finishes the story.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Ultimate Assassin System
June 16, 2016
Status: c88
The plot is forced for no rhyme or reason. It's like the author didn't know how to start the story but had the middle plotted out already. Which is why you have to stick in there past the initial dozen chapters for a proper story to start coming together.
90 chapters in right now, and I like the character interactions most. Especially law enforcement division and the other seedy professionals. If I had any complaints, it would be that the MC. Other than one villain, he's the only character I... more>> don't particularly like. He is too wishy washy and not very well characterized. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Chen Yue Zhi Yao
February 15, 2016
Status: --
This story is full of laughs and an enjoyable read. Unfortunately, it suffers from a slow moving plot and snails pace revelations. I would just wait til this translation completed and then binge read a few volumes at a time.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Bu Sha
January 16, 2016
Status: --
This novel should be read for what it is. Fluff. The fluffy, almost nonexistent plot and nearly undetectable character development of our MC makes this a novel you’d only read as a joy ride. It’s a novel you read while taking a break from reading JAPANESE novels. The content is simply closer to the demographic. And yes, the MC does develop but it is so subtle and with a deus ex machina reveal that you can miss it. Other characters, as already mentioned by other reviewers, simply have zero development.... more>>

Fighting is not Yu Wo’s forte, you’ll be disappointed if you're expecting xanxia. It has martial arts but it’s not xania, wuxia, or any of those type of novels. Read the tags, folks. They have them for a reason.

The strong point of this novel though is the world building itself. Anyone who says otherwise has definitely not been paying attention. There is mecha, magic, martial arts, magical creatures, dimension jumping, and more. All of this is so well integrated into the story that you can see it as an actual world without feeling anything is odd or out of place and disjointed. If you’ve got your expectations in order, there’s no reason to be disappointed...

Spoiler

Until you get to the end, of course. The little bit of anticipation you build up in the last few novels is destroyed by Yu Wo’s classically evil Deus Ex Machina ending in just four paragraphs.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Jus Primae Noctis
February 15, 2016
Status: --
Author clearly isn't well acquainted with European history. That aside, the story has a much better romance than HHYL. It takes a while tho, and assuming you can get past the repeated rapes at the beginning, you're in for a short, lightly dramatic, and quirky read. It's the same as Bao Er's other works, but not the same either. Think European HHYL with a less evil seme and not so desperate uke.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
June 12, 2016
Status: c23
This has similar vibes like Otherworldly Evil Monarch except with a girl who is a doctor with a pass. She has a bad reputation b/c of her former host. She does not rebuke this old identity (doesn't embrace, just ignores it), she has a wheelchair bound uncle who used to be a martial arts talent, her father was killed in battle, and the old doting grandfather is the only one holding the family together. Meets a cunning man early on in the story and later grows affection for the grandfather,... more>> so that she vows to protect him. That's not all b/c there are quirks without the OEM parallel that makes this an extremely interesting read without treading far in the generic territory. A unique read so far, by far. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell
Beloved Marriage in High Society
September 11, 2017
Status: c45
Other than some complex backstories and skeletons in the closet, there is nothing but love between our OTP. The MC is so pure, straightforward, and honest. He is very blunt, but never in a malicious way. It's hard to play tricks and dig into the rice bowl when the owner is too honest (but not at all dumb) and the rice bowl is too devoted (and uninterested). People try to scheme but our ML is just too intimidating. People want to bully our MC but his martial arts is too... more>> op. What do you, as a reader, get out of all this? A cute and fairly easygoing romance you can enjoy just for the romance. Intrigue be damned. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Our Second Master
April 4, 2016
Status: --
Read this three times. Short and sweet with a lot of character development. This story doesn't drag with useless and repetitious content. Only, because it is so short, you need to pay attention to each event to get the most out of your reading experience. By the last chapter, you'll feel immensely satisfied.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Kill No More VS ½ Prince
January 24, 2016
Status: --
This story was not only pointless, but complete nonsense. Any minor winks to anything more is just fan service. If you are a KNM fan, be prepared to be stumped by the end. If you are a HP fan, be realy be deflated completely. 1 star for 9 chapters of flat and silly interactions that went no where..
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell
Dragon Dragon Dragon
July 6, 2016
Status: c20
This nothing more than a fun, little cute read. It's extremely light. Nothing more. I'm surprised by these reviews and ratings because if you looked at the genres you could tell this wasn't going to be some op, heaven sundering xanxia dragon story. Don't just read the tags. This is the irony of people voting down a story for being what it is. A slice of life shoujo. If you don't like either genres, run far from this novel. 3 stars.

Though, a dragon xanxia MC story would have been nice.

"Adventure... more>> Comedy Fantasy Shoujo Slice of Life" <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
HesheFell
HesheFell rated it
Sleeping Bunny
February 15, 2016
Status: --
I’m surprised there are no ratings or reviews for this, as it is quite a heartwarming read. This could be a manga. Even though it is only 5 chapters, it tells a complete story that feels neither too fast or too slow. The characters are likeable and their viewpoints can be easily understood by the reader. 5*
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report