Report Review
9 Reviews


Helixical
Helixical rated it
Emperor’s Domination
February 19, 2017
Status: c187
Antagonist is arrogant ---> MC says or does something outrageous in response ---> Antagonist gets converted or murdered ---> MC finds some ancient treasure he hid while he was a bird for a million years ----> Return to the beginning. That's the whole story, no need to read this juvenile crock of sh*t. I wish I could rate zero.
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
This story is well written/translated, which accounts for most of those three stars. Unfortunately, I dislike the direction this novel is going. The setting is your typical sword, board, and sorcery fantasy, and that usually implies a fair bit of wanton violence. The MC, on the other hand, is a saint. She dedicated her entire life to saving her country, just to have it all crumble down around her on the whims of a jealous otherworlder. After she, apparently, gains enough power to be able to either get revenge or... more>> just ignore them entirely, she instead decides to accept a commision to protect the same person who ruined her life. The only bits of "revenge" that happen are a couple of snippy speeches centered on how hard the royal family and her relatives f**ked up. It's not enjoyable to read, so I'm probably gonna drop this unless something changes in the next few chapters. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
The New Gate
October 21, 2017
Status: --
Typical Japanese LN bullsh*t. A dense protagonist that bends over backward to be non-confrontational and polite while somehow attracting stereotypical beautiful girls to pine over him in vain, since he'll never return their affections.

There's a rather severe cultural disconnect between what the average Japanese reader and what the average reader anywhere else in the world would find satisfying, and it shows here. This novel isn't good enough to surmount that particular obstacle. This novel is a waste of time for the average English reader, so don't bother. Blah. I wish... more>> I had paid attention to all the negative reviews myself. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
The Second Coming of Avarice
November 8, 2018
Status: --
This novel has characters with real emotions instead of cardboard cutouts hosed down with the flanderized ideals of Asian masculinity. I genuinely empathize with the main character, and that almost never happens with the translated novellas on this website. I'm excited to see how the author manages to keep this up.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
Miracle Throne
February 16, 2017
Status: --
The premise is dumb. The MC is some super godly figure thousands of years in the future when he gets sent back. Instead of laying low and building up strength he pisses off everyone he can talk to. He also hangs around in the same city where he pisses everyone off after he gets freed from slavery. Ridiculous.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
January 25, 2018
Status: c428
The main character's gimmick is that he's retarded. Proudly retarded, even. It doesn't seem to be changing, and I can't tolerate it, thus I'm dropping this novel.

Everything else about the novel is alright though. The world building is cool, the translation is great, and the side characters have plenty of depth for a this sort of novel. 2 1/2 stars.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
Young God Divine Armaments
June 25, 2017
Status: --
Three stars, mostly because I'm a fan of light, fluffy, and mildly pointless webnovels. If that's not your cup o' tea, then you might as well move on, because this story is all three. The translator really needs an editor to go behind him to fix the gratuitous amount of grammatical errors. I think he might actually be allergic to plural nouns, given how he just doesn't use them the majority of the time.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
Virtual World: Close Combat Mage
August 9, 2018
Status: c231
I like this story well enough, mostly on the strength of the side character's entertaining personalities. On the other hand, the world building could use some serious work. The game system feels superfluous. The cities have no appreciable depth. The martial arts background hasn't been expanded on at all, but that could just be something covered later though.

I'd recommend this is you're short on reading material. Just don't set your expectations too high.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Helixical
Helixical rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
March 31, 2017
Status: c55
I'm fifty chapters in and the main character has just recently learned how to not sh*t herself. This story is duller than watching paint dry in between the bits of humor that land and the plot moving an inch forward. Im probably going to ignore this story until it gets in the 100's and then check back to see if anything has happened.

Edit: the author has weird fetishes, and nothing happens. Super derec.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report