Report Review
22 Reviews


Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Empress Running Away with the Ball!
April 3, 2017
Status: c394
Spoiler

I have never met a more infuriating and annoying villain (and side characters since everybody in this novel seems to be doing a spectacular job of pissing me off). I'll give the author props for giving the baddies more than the usual cannon fodder characteristics. However, it's been almost 400 chapters, can we please move onto a different stage of this terribly-created romantic tragedy? (I cringe at even mentioning romance since the actual romance parts are sparse and few) Seriously, a lot of these troubles are completely unnecessary and occur due to repeated bad decisions made by our heroine and male lead (inserted exasperated facepalm). Like, a divorce will be so close that you could almost touch it and then, "Wait, I'm actually in love with you and not your sister! Let's not get divorced after all and stay married!". This whole thing will happen in FRONT of the male lead who will be doing absolutely nothing because he's kind of powerless and useless. Oh, he's cute and adorable but still kind of useless.

Honestly, I'm starting to pray for the deaths of literally everyone at this point. One character has gone completely off their rocker and decided to do the whole yandere "locking up my love" thing (Okay, so maybe it was completely expected...) and it's making me wonder about whether to even bother with continuing this novel. I can say, with complete honesty, that I am currently much more invested in the royal aunt's love story than the main plot (which is a huge pity because her love story lasted about three paragraphs only and was already a million times more interesting).

So, final verdict? Read if immensely bored and feeling super good about humanity (trust me, it'll either bring you down from optimism to straight pessimism or you'll just hate humans for a few long hours). Other than that, male leads (minus a-hole husband—he belongs in a very special trash pile) are super adorable so at least there's some cute scenes?

[collapse]
91 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
So far, the story is really interesting!

We have a rather evil female lead that takes action based on incentives and doesn't even bother to act nice or disguise her disinterest. She feels a lot more real and relatable so I'm sure many readers will like her. If someone slaps her, she'll slap them right back. Her schemes and plans are pretty straightforward though so don't expect any palace intrigue-level complexity.

The male lead is a bit bland so far. He doesn't really play a role in the story because the female... more>> lead is completely capable of taking care of everything herself (which she does and quite well too, if I may add). Although, it seems like the male lead might be getting some more screen time after the third arc (*fingers crossed*). <<less
58 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao
June 4, 2017
Status: c167
My current favorite historical transmigration novel and I highly recommend it to everyone. The author writes in a very simple style so it's perfect for people that know Chinese but aren't well-versed in the language. Occasionally, the novel acts like a manzai comedy where the story characters will do/say/think something stupid ("boke") and the author will "tsukkomi" in with a line and emoticon.

... more>>
Spoiler

Since the female lead has the ability to talk to animals, there are a lot of animal side characters and her interactions with them are hilarious (especially the fat black cat: Big Black Boss or otherwise lovingly nicknamed as Black Fatty *the translator might translate these names differently). The animals all have their own personalities and they cooperate with the female lead by giving her information on her enemies so the conflicts are usually resolved within a few chapters. It's really light and unstressful, good for people that are sick of intricate scheming that sometimes go nowhere.

[collapse]

Spoiler

The main couple's interactions with each other are utterly adorable due to the differing social values between the male lead and the female lead. The author illustrates this difference super early when the male lead and the female lead have a one-night stand together. (I thought it was funny how the male lead was all "must take responsibility" while the female lead was all "whatever, people do this all the time back in my world".) Since the female lead's common sense is completely different from the historical common sense, it makes for hilarious situations where she completely disregards the rules and just does whatever she wants. My favorite example is when the Empress Dowager tries to keep her out of her courtyard by shutting the doors and the female lead just decides to force-open the doors with brute strength. These scenes would make for a great comedy if this novel ever became a drama.

[collapse]
<<less
45 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
May 18, 2017
Status: Completed
One of the most original transmigration Chinese novels I've ever read. In fact, it's probably an "original" transmigration c-novel because it reads more like a Japanese transmigration novel. So, it's perfect for people that hate being bogged down by the 250 chapter-long cultivation phase that always seems to occur in ancient c-novels.

The author did a great job with both the plot and characters. The plot moves at a good pace and character development occurs with reason so no sudden OOC-ness. I don't remember any major plotholes but there were two... more>> small things that bothered me a little (but that's just my own personal preference speaking so feel free to disregard me if it doesn't bother you).

Spoiler

The sudden inclusion of a wish-fulfilling, blood-sucking plant and a second transported villain was kind of weird. The plant had a deus ex machina feel to it but I'm overlooking it because the author did a great job blending different cliches together to make a interesting original blend. I only wish the author had explored the whole transportation thing more seriously since it would've been nice to let the heroine return home and clean up her situation back there. It's a bit sad that her body might be in an indefinite coma and her family/friends will never find out that she's fine in the other world. It was strange how her heart seems to stop beating in ancient times but not in modern times. That or time passes differently.

[collapse]

Ending-wise:

Spoiler

This novel is a happy ending. There really isn't much of a reverse harem since almost all of the secondary characters get their own adorable husband/wife. The author wrote side stories for two of the side couples (they're adorable) and it's pretty definite that everyone is in love/monogamous. Finally, a word to readers that might be scared of boarding the wrong ship: don't worry, the author literally builds the ship around you so, by the time the ship sails, you're already on the official ship.

[collapse]
<<less
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Great Han’s Female General Wei Qiqi
February 27, 2017
Status: Completed
Relatively more realistic "transported to another world" story where the heroine is not a complete Mary Sue that has a bazillion of hidden talents. It's actually quite refreshing with how she tries to go back to her old world using standard novel cliches. Some readers might dislike her bratty childishness but I find it a welcome change from the "calm and collected Mary Sues" commonly found in other novels.

The male lead is the standard overpowered dark horse with a bunch of enemies and admirers. He's average and can be found... more>> in almost all c-novels. Their interactions were cute but the author had to go and ruin it. *Heavy sigh*

Spoiler

One thing I really hated was how he kept on talking about the heroine's appearance (dem eyes tho). It was really shallow character development and caused me to feel as if he didn't truly love the heroine. The rape scene didn't help either. This novel would've been so much better if the author had allowed the main couple's feelings to develop more before breaking the curse because now it feels like the guy's loving the girl mainly for her appearance (it doesn't feel like love either, more like, "she's my possession").

Well, the author tried to make it romantic near the end and it works simply because Mr. I-rape-the-female-lead-cause-I-love-her looks so much better when you compare him to his brothers, the emperor and this other prince dude. Now, they were really disgusting, in the whole entitled-asshole way. I swear there's some primitive rape-all-the-pretty-girls thing floating in the royal family water because every single royal asshole is a royal rapist that believes they are entitled to screw any girl they want and the girls better like it.

[collapse]

The novel was pretty amusing for the first 50-60 chapters. It went completely downhill afterwards though, especially around chapter 90 to the end. If I had a physical copy, I might've thrown it against the wall. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Rebirth of an Abandoned Woman
January 21, 2017
Status: Completed
As of c87:

I can honestly say this is one of the better re-winding back to the past stories. The big thing that sold me was the male lead. I love him (Yes, I know he was a jerk in the past and loves his maternal cousin). However, you have to remove your heroine bias first and try to understand how he must have felt, being forced to marry someone he didn't love when he loved another. In fact, everything in the past is the cousin's fault and the male lead... more>> just has really really really bad taste (that's putting it very lightly; his taste is crap). But the thing that got me was his character development as his eyes are forced open. I love it that he didn't switch feelings immediately because it shows that he is very loyal to his love. Instead, we see a slow development of how the main characters fall in love. That aside, all the side characters are sort of realistic and have likable and dislikable sides to them all (particularly the male lead's mom; she can be such a witch and then a tolerable witch).

At completion:

I finished the novel and I really enjoyed it but I just had to drop a star due to how long the author dragged it out for. It started feeling really repetitive and tiresome near the end. The repetitiveness was sort of mollified when the plot went on a small intermission and the author focused on a new side couple.

Spoiler

Several chapters were dedicated to the side couple but they're skippable if people want to focus only on the main couple. You don't really miss much since the evil cousin and the main couple don't play a super major role (They still show up though!). The side couple consists of people you already know of from earlier chapters: the runaway male cousin of the male lead (who eloped with some tavern girl, I think) and his abandoned wife. I love how the author drew parallels between the two couples.

[collapse]
<<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Thousand Face Demonic Concubine
July 9, 2017
Status: c98
The beginning was so good that it made the following developments pale next to it. The first few chapters of the novel had this murky, dark, and dangerous feel to it; it gave the story a second layer of anxiety that I really like, similar to a good horror story. Then, the author decided to follow the typical second-life revenge plotline and things turned a little average. It's still good but it doesn't quite give me the same level of excitement and anxiety.

... more>>
Spoiler

The male lead so far has been a welcome change from the typical overbearing and forceful Chinese male leads (I love how he respects the female lead's feelings and decisions!) but we'll see how long his good behavior lasts. Also, I feel like the way the author wrote their relationship was a bit sudden. It kind of felt like she couldn't decide on an effective background story about the purple eyes so she decided to roll with the whole disciple sibling thing without a firm foundation.
Sidenote: The male lead seems a bit different from the image I got in the summary (Maybe he turns overbearing when he's angry?) so I might be getting red herring-ed by the author—which would not be completely impossible because she does throw some red herrings at you regarding the male lead. Readers, good luck not getting tricked the first time.

[collapse]

For people that aren't quite sure of whether to read yet, I've attached a summary of my favorite scene (c61) as a hook:

Spoiler

Essentially, evil stepmother tried to use the whole "she got raped/ruined reputation" plan but fails. Male lead sent four of his personal bodyguards (They have a group name of Twelve Feng or something like that) to save the female lead except she kind of didn't need the saving. Female lead actually had another plan she needed to enact but Feng 3 (Each Feng goes by his number) pressed her acupuncture point and almost ruined her plan. As punishment, she decided to force Feng 3 to crossdress as a female and send him to his master (the male lead) while having him say "Master, aren't I pretty?" Needless to say, the male lead's reaction was pretty hilarious. Feng 1, 2, and 4 were pretty disgusted too, hurting Feng 3's feelings so he became an actual crossdresser for reals to annoy them as revenge.
Best scene ever.

[collapse]
<<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
My Lord is A Stone
July 28, 2017
Status: Completed
After finishing this novel, I realized that the summary is incorrect at certain parts: she didn't break the stone while blocking a sword nor did she "discovered unusually, the emperor was like this he had a malicious tongue, harsh, two-faced and indifferent".

... more>>
Spoiler

The stone actually shattered itself when it jumped up to block an arrow from killing her. Also, she realizes that stone=emperor before she even steps one foot inside the palace (like in the streets, right before she enters the palace). The emperor is completely in love with her at that point too so there's none of that harsh and indifferent treatment. The author probably wrote the summary early on and forgot to change it.

[collapse]

This novel is mostly focused on comedy since one of our main characters is a part-time stone for the bulk of the story after all. However, there is a lot of old-fashion historical family drama mixed in that I felt was kind of redundant. If we take the talking stone out, the entire story would literally be family drama after family drama.

The author says that the female lead is a time-traveler from the future in chapter 2 but there was literally no point to it AT ALL. Her time traveling-ness does nothing for this story. Zero, zip, nada. So, just forget about it and treat her as a girl born and raised in ancient era. In fact, this novel shouldn't even be bothered to be tagged transmigration since I'm pretty sure the author herself forgot the whole time-traveling thing.

The male lead was pretty funny, managing to bypass my anti-emperor bias (only a teensy-tiny little bit though, I still hate all emperors with a burning passion). However, I definitely liked him more as a talking stone. There's just something about stone-form emperor that is so much more cuter than human-form emperor.

Spoiler

Also, for all the talk about how he avoids and punishes his harem, WHEN THE HECK DID HE SUDDENLY HAVE A DAUGHTER!?!? I felt so lied to. I thought this novel was about a cold emperor's first love or something but instead we learn that he had previously liked someone else before! Author tries to excuse him by saying that his feeling then is nothing like what he feels for the female lead now but I'm calling out this BS. The whole daughter thing made me feel like I was reading about a single dad hitting on a teenage girl. *Shudders*

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
The Anarchic Consort
June 19, 2017
Status: c745
At first, it starts off like a usual Chinese female transmigration novel: a powerful modern "underworld" killer who goes into the body of a waste who has a terrible family and a half-sister that steals her fiancé. Then, the female lead somehow catches the attention of the male lead with her "different-ness". It's nothing new but the author does a good job of not making the story drag while the female lead tries to become more powerful.

Usually, the cultivation part of transmigration novels is a never-ending cycle of: female lead... more>> gets an enemy, female lead beats enemy with the lucky discovery of a mystical artifact or family heirloom, and everything is fine for a paragraph until another arrogant idiot shows up to drag the story on even more. Luckily, the author makes sure to develop characters during this cultivation period; in fact, the whole cultivation thing is kind of placed on the backburner and we get a few paragraphs before we go back to watching character interaction and plot development (which means we get to connect with the side characters which is amazing because they're really funny!).

Spoiler

My only problem with the characters is the lack of "good" female side characters. Literally any time a female character shows up, they're automatically a bad guy. Almost all the "good" side characters are male. For people that like reverse harems, give up. Most of the male side characters have their own love interest (who could've shown up as "good" female side characters but the author ignores almost all but one side girl).

[collapse]

Spoiler

Since the plot does move along, the main couple's relationship develops and it makes for fun situations since they both have low EQ. The male lead (sort of) falls in love first but it's the female lead that realizes her love first (which leads to a hilarious situation where she tries to woo the male lead with a book called "106 Ways to Get a Wife"). While the male lead is super powerful and dominating, the female lead is also pretty smart and strong so their relationship dynamic is a lot more balanced than other novels (one of my favorite scenes is when the female lead has a strategic brain battle with the male lead where she manages to successfully escape from the male lead for a few chapters; she gets caught later but the fact that she managed to dodge him, get out of the school, travel to another city, and fulfill her goal before he finds her again counts as a big win in my book). In addition, the male lead gets an actual personality. He will get upset, jealous, happy, and surprised (Happy and surprise don't happen that often sadly but they do happen, rest assure!). The author spends a huge arc on developing him so look forward to it!

[collapse]

Spoiler

Also, the latter half of the novel feels like a different story since it went from a "typical transmigration revenge" story to a "supernatural ghost-busting" story. The author transitions the story really well so don't worry about being abruptly interrupted.

[collapse]
<<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
The Ugly Man’s Big Transformation
August 27, 2017
Status: v2c9
After about 90 chapters, I can safely say that I don't like the uke and there's a high chance that I'm not going to like him. To help people visualize my feelings on the uke, imagine one of those novels where the main character is a mob side character that reincarnated after being killed by the seme because the uke did something stupid and caused the deaths of a bunch of people. And turn the story's POV from the unfortunate mob to the stupid uke. And make the story become... more>> the first round of life where the mob character still doesn't know they're going to die. And you have the basis of this story. Essentially, we have a hypocritical and naive "Mary Sue-ish" uke who loves to cause trouble for the seme and the seme, for some magical reason, still loves this bundle of unnecessary trouble enough to solve all the problems and forgive him (minus some spanking).

Color me, unimpressed.

Spoiler

Honestly, the story would have been a lot better if they had focused on the original owner of the uke body. The uke does nothing but causes trouble and thinks with the mentality of a little kid. The author probably intended for the seme to fall in love with the uke's innocence but she could have totally achieved the same purpose by giving the original owner amnesia. The whole coin and "changing body" thing doesn't even play a role because the uke loses the coin at the very beginning. So far, he keeps on saying that he's going to look for it but the amount of effort I see him doing is an all-time zero.
The only worthwhile character seems to be the seme who's stuck cleaning up after the uke while going through the whole inner conflict about falling in love with his enemy and "brother".

[collapse]

I'll probably stick around for another volume and see how this novel turns out but, so far, it's feeling like a trainwreck. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Doro Doro Obake Ouji-sama
August 9, 2017
Status: Completed
A pretty cute story about two childhood sweethearts getting together despite the fact that one of them was cursed to look like a lump of mud/sand. Male lead didn't actually turn into mud so there's no "mud intimacy" in this novel (Sorry to all you mud lovers out there for shooting your expectations down). It feels a bit like Beauty and the Beast except our female lead is the one chasing after the tsundere Beast. Thus, the heroine is quite active compared to other Japanese novel heroines but she also... more>> has that usual annoying "innocent and naive virgin" cliche that dominates Japanese writing. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Unprecedented Pill Refiner: Entitled Ninth Young Lady
May 30, 2017
Status: Completed
First, I can totally understand if some people find this novel boring since the heroine is basically overpowered from the get-go but please realize that this novel's main focus is NOT power-building (The genre is not xianxia; it's xuanhuan) but character development and plot advancement.

With that said, I'm super sad that this novel is complete now. I was totally hoping for it to go on for another 500-1000 chapters because I really enjoyed it (and there was enough potential plot material for an extra arc or two!). Sadly, all good... more>> things must come to an end (but I'm still hoping for some extra side stories!). Also, while the author wrapped everything up really nicely, I admit that I was a bit disappointed with how fast the final battle was settled. I was expecting a stronger climax but the lighthearted and comedic approach also fits the story style really well.

In retrospect, this novel was most likely intended for people that are sick of the typical transmigration plotline where the transmigrated heroine only slaps and argues with her enemies (Like seriously, I get the slapping but arguing? Why does almost every single c-novel heroine think that embarrassing their enemies with words, especially INSIDE THEIR OWN HOUSE, is going to be effective? At least embarrass them in public or something). Anyway, if you're tired of c-novels with meaningless filler conflicts, try this novel out!

Previous Review:

Spoiler

This novel is probably my second favorite historical fantasy transmigration c-novel. (First place going to Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao only because that one's complete and this one isn't.) The author did a really good job with this novel so far: excellent female lead, adorable male lead, hilarious couple interaction, memorable side characters, and reasonable plot pacing. Almost all of the characters have an actual personality besides the usual "arrogant cannon fodder". Even more amazing? Some minor characters will grow up, change their stances, and apologize! In other words, no 500 chapter-long stupid revenge arc just because "my pride is wrecked".

Spoiler

There are some usual cannon fodder characters but they don't really impact the story too much after their job is done since the female lead will usually kill them. Thank goodness this female lead has a brain and doesn't let annoying stupid people live for 100 chapters despite knowing that they're trying to kill her. It might seem like it takes a while for the female lead to take action but, once she starts, she finishes everything up really fast.

[collapse]

For me, what really made this novel enjoyable to read was the interactions between the main couple. The author doesn't include a lot of romantic scenes but the few rare moments are totally worth it.

Spoiler

One of my favorite scenes is when the female lead stripped and pushed the male lead down while saying she was examining him for wounds. We get to see the male lead's thoughts and it's hilarious how he panics from the close contact while the female lead is ready to eat him up. Of course, he takes charge later but the female lead's reaction was pretty realistic: no "I'm a powerful ___ but I've never seen a guy naked before and now I'm going to blush and act like a regular clueless ancient-era girl". I never understood why all those transmigrated girls kept on blushing when looking at handsome naked men. I mean, I could swear modern folks would be used to seeing naked people by now. Bless the author for not making the female lead's personality inconsistent.

[collapse]

The plot is action-focused and the author doesn't drag much. There's no 1000-chapter long cultivation phase (thank goodness) so the plot moves along quickly. The author also does a great job of tying seamlessly unrelated topics together while slowly revealing the secrets of the world. For example, the Destruction Armor system is a bit like Madoka Magica so I feel like the author might bring up a huge tragedy and kill off some vital minor characters. (Live on, Idiot Trio! I still want to see you three show up again in the novel. #RedTeamForever; readers will get this reference around chapter 384)

[collapse]
<<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
The Eunuch is Pregnant
May 30, 2017
Status: Completed
Spoiler

This novel was really average. The pros were that it has a hilarious female lead and the author does a really good job of tying up all the mysteries and loose ends such as the female lead's body's true identity and how her pregnancy happened. I like how the minor male characters all had something to do with the female lead's true identity. The author did a good job with foreshadowing and twisting in little puzzles and possible red herrings.

[collapse]

However, despite all the pros, the cons made it hard to enjoy reading this novel (especially during the latter part of the novel). The biggest problem that I have with this novel was how draggy it got near the latter half. It felt like the author was adding in random conflicts and pointless side plots just to lengthen the novel, making the novel resemble a badly-made K-drama.

Spoiler

In addition to the first 220 chapters, the author also wrote a 125 chapter-long sequel involving the main couple's son and his attempt to marry his childhood sweetheart. It was a nice parallel to his parent's love story (in which we discovered that the son has better game than the dad but still inherited the dad's "getting cockblocked" syndrome). Both stories resemble a R18 shoujo story so, for readers that can't stand innocent or crybaby female leads, you should probably check out a different novel.

[collapse]
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
General Above I am Below
June 13, 2017
Status: c68
This is a great novel for people that hate gender stereotypes like "strong men, weak women". The female lead is a tough general who has no qualms about killing people while the male lead is a delicate and pampered royal.

... more>>
Spoiler

The reverse gender dynamics lead to a lot of weird/hilarious situations such as a girl trying to become the male lead's concubine because she's in love with the female lead and all the male lead's concubines ditching the male lead to fawn over the female lead because she spoils them with beautiful clothing and jewelry.

[collapse]

The novel does feel a bit draggy though because there isn't an apparent major conflict pushing the plot forward. It feels a bit more like character-driven slice-of-life. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Rouged Lips
August 9, 2017
Status: Completed
A very poetic oneshot. It hits you right in the feels with just a few vague words. Personally, I find this to be one of the better portrayals of arranged marriages in Ancient China. It outlines the entire progression and common mentality towards marriage while maintaining a small emotional distance by not going into the painful details. Normally, that distance would've allowed readers to not be connected to the characters but the simple and vague way the story is written brings to mind that this is the story of not... more>> one but hundreds and thousands of girls. I can't help but feel a bit emotional, thinking about all the girls, before and now, who went through a similar suffering or loneliness. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Cold King’s Dominating Love, Genius Medical Consort
August 12, 2017
Status: c188
This novel is kind of a watered-down version of Princess Medical Doctor except the medical system is a lot more helpful and cooperative: it'll store items, poisons (inanimate and animate), and allow the female lead to mentally-enter inside to make drugs. Furthermore, the system also comes along with a cute little pet that loves to eat poison and can kill anybody in a blink of an eye (I'll take two of that please).

It's pretty entertaining but the characters are kind of flat and one-dimensional. For instance, the romance between the... more>> main couple progresses pretty fast and is cute but the speed of it causes the characters to not have any well-defined emotional development. The side characters are all organized into enemy and ally so there's not a lot of complexity.

Spoiler

One nice thing though was that, for once, we don't have a dead mother or a bastard father in a Chinese transmigration novel. The parents seem pretty good so far (minus the whole "mom about to die because of a serious poisoning" situation aside). The stepmother-concubine is unknown so far but she told her daughter off for bothering the female lead so she might be a friendly enemy.

[collapse]
<<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
The Wolf Prince and the Ice Princess
June 3, 2017
Status: Completed
This is a very light romcom with some R18 moments. I'm a fan of the author and I love her writing style so, if you liked this novel, you should check out her other works too.

The characters are hilarious and completely wacky from the pervert wolf (His official position is hard to translate into English but he's not just a prince; he's the uncle of the crown prince, younger brother of the emperor) to the black-bellied crown prince.

The plot is very straightforward and focused on character interaction. There's no major... more>> conflict so it's good for people that hate unnecessary drama and third parties.

Spoiler

There are some scenes bordering on beastiality since the male lead teases the female lead while in his wolf form. I remember specifically one scene where he licks her underneath her skirt as a wolf. If that's not your thing, you can probably skim the scenes. There's no actual beastiality so rest assure.

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Unrepentant
May 14, 2017
Status: Completed
Very unique story where we get an ex-couple that missed and slipped right by each other prior to the beginning of the story. The summary fails to capture the female lead's exact tone but one of the book's sweetest moments is when you find out the true meaning behind her final words.

Now, I can't lie and say I like the male lead. He sucks, big-time.
Spoiler

As a result, I actually really like the bad ending. To me, I sort of saw it as the female lead becoming "free" from her chains (him) and moving on with her (next) life (which I really really hope is happier because she deserves it).

[collapse]

I totes recommend this book, even if you can't handle sad and angsty stories. The author writes in a very refreshing and straightforward style so the story never really wallows in sadness (think tragicomedy-style).
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Ring Ring
May 20, 2017
Status: Completed
The story was enjoyable but I probably won't re-read it since I personally feel like the author was really dragging out the main characters' reunion. As a result, I didn't get enough exposure towards the male lead, making him kind of a flat character.

I wish the author had included more on their past when the male lead was living in her world (since we need more novels where people are transported to the modern world!). Nevertheless, it's an interesting novel in that the female lead tries to adapt to a... more>> new world without the help of the male lead. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Hanawie
Hanawie rated it
Across A Millennium to Love You
October 14, 2017
Status: c50
This is a plot-focused novel, like Princess Wei Yang. It's different from the usual transmigration novels where the main characters go through "episodes" of minor villains and slowly grow stronger. Instead, we have a story about the entire Murong family and how their interactions/marriages with the imperial family lead to various problems and tragedy. Unlike Princess Wei Yang though, revenge does not push the plot along. It's character interaction and emotional development that make up the plot. This causes the plot to drag and become boring sometimes though.

Another problem I... more>> had with this novel was how frustrating some of the characters were at times. They are very human and the author obviously tried her best to flesh them out. However, because they are so human, I couldn't help but get frustrated with their actions which detracted from my enjoyment of the novel. It's very well-written but I couldn't get myself to like a lot of the characters sadly. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report