Report Review
55 Reviews


Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Overgeared
December 21, 2017
Status: c195
The novel starts like regular korean VR novels, with loser MC and bad luck and grudges. And suddenly everything changes, the MC gets OP, gets the girls (and even the 2 most beautiful girls on the planet), gets successful.. All for the sake of "character development". The novel was good in the beginning but just started to suck when the MC got his overhaul. I dont feel the author planned anything in this story.
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Talisman Emperor
November 2, 2017
Status: c21
Disappointing. The author provides a good start with the MC having no luck, having to provide for his brother, having to rely on his fundamentals of talisman crafting. And after 3-4 chapters everything just gets thrown out of the window. Cliché after cliché, insane power levels, plot armor, all the standard hooks. As if the author suddenly stopped having original ideas. This novel definitly cant be described as "Talisman emperor", seeing as talismans stop playing an important role after the first few chapters.

I give it 2* because its written/translated relatively... more>> well and the plot is not bad, its just standard, boring and ive read stuff like this a hundread times over. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
August 6, 2018
Status: c831
The idea is unique, but it gets old fast and then its just another know-it-all MC doing stuff that never goes wrong. Still the MC can be really badass at times, so this is another solid 4 - just remember to skip the fights.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
This MC Is Kickass
February 6, 2018
Status: c52
It feels as if there is something missing in the novel, as if someone ripped out chunks of text before translating this story, everthing feels so forced. The MC (your average top-beauty, undefeated martial arts monster, super rich family girl) enters a VR game after its already two years public. She somehow chooses to make the ugliest character possible (because shes too beautiful for the game) and -of couse- gets a bunch of OP luck-stat-points, because she is the first person with the lowest beauty settings in the game. (As... more>> if no one in the two years before had the same idea).

Because of her bullsh*t luck stats she reaches lvl 15 (without any fight scenes, or any explanation of her stats/abilites), then -again without doing anything- she reaches lvl 25+ and gets carried throughout the game.

But what about the story?

There is not much of a story. The girl is perfect, the guys around her are perfect, and its a lighthearted comedy. Or atleast it attempts to, because I didnt really found it funny. All the encounters are forced, you just know whats going to happen. Filler characters appear as fillers, whenever the MC needs something she gets it in the next second, and so on.

I read till ~50 chapters because I was curious about the lucky encounters, but tbh it was not worth it. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Godly Model Creator
October 17, 2017
Status: c17
This is just poor. All the scenes are like in a manga, you just know what will happen and how the plot will continue. Also the MC just does everything right, there is no suspense, he always has plot armor and finds exactly what he needs. In manga atleast they train or have difficulties..
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Valhalla Saga
November 3, 2018
Status: c8.1
This novel feels very shallow and lacks depth. The MC - a korean pro-gamer- dies and becomes a warrior in valhalla. There he fights and re-creates the legend (the saga) of his in-game character, the dragon knight. The story just flows on, there are some cool ideas, like the saga and the different legions, but overall there are no bumps and no difficulties and I can already "see" the end of the story, so its honestly not worth to continue reading on..
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Man Huang Feng Bao
August 11, 2018
Status: c15
The first chapter made me hope for something big, but already in the second chapter my hopes got shattered and its another "hurr durr, im a 10 million years old monster, let me spank you buttocks pretty girl. Oh you have a grudge because I molested you?" childish chinese nonsense story..
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
February 12, 2018
Status: c295
The novel is well written/translated, but the plot is a train-wreck. The first 100 chapters it resembles your classical courtesan/main wife story, with the "I am not the MC, just leave me alone" twist, and actually warrants 5*, but then it just gets weird, with super powers, the MC totally changing her attitude/style from "no, we cant kill them" to "slaughter them all", and villains that just get recycled and come back over and over. "They tried to harm me, guess ill just let them go so they can come... more>> back tomorrow and try to harm me again." The whole plot would fit 100-150 chapters, but all the unnecessary plot extensions stretch this to 300. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Its a japanese novel, so I was expecting some level of ignorance and lets-all-be-friends, but I am impressed by the sheer stupidity of this one. The MC gets betrayed, tortured and possibly raped in prison, but because she is pregnant she just lets go of her grudges and moves on - for me, this paints the picture of an utterly mindless, hormone-driven zombie. Furthermore she doesnt utilize her OP powers to secure a stable live for her family ("her one and all") but instead stays in the same adventurer's inn... more>> for 10 years - a place filled with strange, rough and dangerous men. Truly the perfect place to safely let ones kids stay when one has to fulfill their 9-to-6 obligations. If this wasnt enough brainlessness, the author tries to paint the MC as someone who would let the kingdom fall to stay with their kids, but every choice the MC makes is the complete opposite of this. I dropped this novel faster than I could drop an ugly baby. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Little Prodigal Alliance Head (and Cook)
March 20, 2018
Status: c50
This is a weird novel. It mixes gender bender, harem/back yard politics, wuxia, internet slang and cooking and is written/translated really well, but the author just fails the gender bender part. All the time the MC (who everyone should treat as a man) acts cutely like a girl, and everyone is ok with it. It would be fine if that happens after the MCs secret gets found out, but if it happens before its just creepy.

The novel is not quite clear if the MC is a girl in a boys... more>> body or not. Answer here:
Spoiler

MC is a girl in a girls body. No penis.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Plundering the Heavens
March 2, 2018
Status: c209
This is exactly the kind of anti-hero, shameless, perverted and cursing MC I didnt know I needed. Fantastic!

Note: The author has some troubles establishing exactly how shameless/heroic he wants his MC, but after the first ~100 chapters it stays consistent and is really fun to read.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
September 26, 2017
Status: c10
I just cant give this more than 2 stars. Its written well, its translated well, the chapters are lengthy, but it just is not worth my time. The author (like most japanese authors) tries too hard to make the most badass character in the world who is also caring and good-hearted and only punishes the bad guys. Sorry, it doesnt work.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC has a poor life, he first gets abused by his uncle, then abused by some god, then held captive worse than an animal for many years, only to be killed by his former classmates. There is not a single person who has some love for him. Until his last rebirth. He gets to know his loving new mom and his mind gets it's first break after 30+ years of mental torture. But those peaceful days will not last. The MC's mother gets killed (you could see that flag from miles away) ; she gets tortured and burned alive. The MCs mind gets corrupted, he swears revenge. But he is too weak. He levels up and comes back. With his new found power and minions he goes to destroy the city's wall's so that the citizens have to fend against wild animals and also spoils all the fermenting wine so that the city loses its production. Totally badass.

PS: Also the MC is one of the bread-hating asians, not making him any more likeable.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Thousand Face Demonic Concubine
November 10, 2018
Status: c176.1
This starts well, but gets weird quickly. The female lead got too many secrets and too many "super powers" to be likeable. Im ok with her suffering in her last life, but when she got such an arsenal of powerful tools and relationships at her disposal its kinda her fault to end like that. Im ok with martial arts and potent "chinese medicine", but as soon as you involve ... more>>
Spoiler

face changing and

[collapse]
you went too far in the realm of the super-natural. Also the female lead schemes too deep and doesnt resolve her grudges to my likening - she is over-complicating things way too much. The nail in the coffin is the male lead who is basically a case-study of "how to loose a woman that likes you in five days".. All in all its a solid patch-work of petty conflicts, only worth a read if you are in the mood for small-minded women having cat fights but already read the "good" storys.

Another negative is the translators website, clicking next chapter opens a new tab which is extremely annoying. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Red Storm
August 21, 2018
Status: c324
This starts as an awesome 5* story about desert warriors and ends worse than Mass Effect... Dont read beyond book 4, the story literally just stops without conclusion. Neither the main nor the sub-plots get finished in a satisfactory way, most of the hooks the author sets up dont get utilized, its just time wasted you could read something better. Really, really disappointing.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
The Portal of Wonderland
July 22, 2018
Status: c121
This is a solid novel about a boy that tries to reach the martial arts apex, but its has some flaws. The author doesnt keep track of anything (money, skills, people the MC meets) and also really likes to skip time. Furthermore the MC gets a harem of the cheap sort, the "heavenly" girls just save him for no reason, etc.. Still its interesting to read and the ape power is strong in this one.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Mystical Journey
July 12, 2018
Status: c388
For me the novel feels as if the author just wrote down whatever random inspiration he just got 5 minutes before. The story is jumpy and confusing and often inspired by other works (as in: the author just watched that movie and now has to advance his plot in that direction or introduce the core tech of that specific work). It has heavy WTF moments, but it is still very interesting to read and kept me for almost 400 chapters, so I give it a solid 4.

The MC transmigrates into... more>> the body of Garen, a nobody in an alternate world. There he gets a interface where he can level up his attributes.
Spoiler

It starts Konan-esque by solving mysterys to get relicts that provide skill points. The MC often has no idea what to do even though he has an attribute called Intelligence. Instead he levels his strength to pick up martial arts. The martial arts take over and the story evolves into Fist of the North star. This goes on until Garen becomes the strongest man alive, fighting a sorcerer community until someone drops a nuke onto him. The end? No! Garen gets transmigrated another world where he starts similar to Warlock of the Magus world, but with totems instead of spells. Some more random acts happen until Garen transforms himself into another uber-mensch, going on another rampage. I stopped when he got a device that reminded me of the scanner in DBZ. Its over 9000!

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Masked Knight
May 12, 2018
Status: c59
I just cant force me to continue.. Its really bland. The characters are all very stupid, make terrible choices, are very one-dimensional, the schemes are bad, the MC doesnt do anything but still gets his stupid power-ups. There is no blood and sweat in this novel. Still I read 60 chapters, so 3*.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Death Sutra
April 19, 2018
Status: c134
Awesome story. Its very dark and cruel and sadistic, but thats what makes it feel so real. Its just insanely well written and always has me on hooks on what will happen next.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
April 14, 2018
Status: c397
The novel is half politics and half wuxia. The politics part (where the MC poses as Minister King of Hell Chu) is awesome, its almost on the level of The Grandmaster Strategist with deep schemes everywhere. This is the part that I really like, with a thought-out world, intersting characters and the MC doing lots of awesome things, tricking everyone. Its just fun to read. And then there is the other part, wuxia cultivation. Here the MC is Chu Yang and I dont like him at all.... more>> He is a hypocrite, pedophile, asshole, and just overall unlikable. He is madly obsessed with his main love and it just hurts to read. As if the author just had to get the most clichee reason for MCs motivation and uses it to plow through his otherwise well crafted story. Honestly its so bad I cant describe it. It feels so cheap to read about it, and it totally ruins all the fun Ive had with this novel otherwise. 3* max, this is a major disappointment. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Gsichtselfmeter
Gsichtselfmeter rated it
Versatile Mage
March 28, 2018
Status: c35
My god, what a waste of time.. The rewritten first chapter makes hope, but very quickly the story deteriorates to your typical bullsh*t MC chinese revenge clown show. After a few chapters you learn that ... more>>
Spoiler

the poor, bullied MC actually used to bully people a lot, harbors sense-less grudges because of his low social standing, has the "best girl in town" be at his call -actually started the romance sub-plot during his childhood-days, has the hottest female teacher stand up for him, manages to disregard the face of the biggest big-shot of the best family -and the big-shot actually reacts to the provocations of a 18-years old child-, and has op-powers and artifacts

[collapse]
. Summarizing I find the novel very childish and the characters very one-dimensional. Coupled with OPness and predictable plot I cant give this more than 2*, and the 2nd one is only because of the few interesting magical-world/science-world comparisons in the first chapter (s). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3