Report Review
13 Reviews


GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Martial God Asura
October 13, 2018
Status: c3200
The story had a decent start, but the chapters got sh*ttier and shorter as time went on. Only like 5% of the chapters now have any meaningful content, the rest is word vomit added to pad the chapters, things being overly explained and dialogue being redundant, and they recently cut the chapter word count in half. Let me give you a made-up sample of what you can expect one of the latest chapters to look like:

START OF CHAPTER

Side Character: "Have you never heard of the amazing rock of infinite power?"

... more>> Main Character: "No I have never heard of the amazing rock of infinite power, what is the amazing rock of infinite power?"

Side Character: "Really you never heard of the amazing rock of infinite power?"

Main Character: "Truly I have never heard of the amazing rock of infinite power"

Side Character: "The amazing rock of infinite power is a... [blah blah blah long ass stupid meaningless explanation]"

Main Character: "Wow we must get the amazing rock of infinite power"

END OF CHAPTER

If that is not bad enough there is a lot of ass kissing. Everything the MC does is magical and genius even when it is the dumbest most basic act. Here is a sample of that:

Chu Feng picks up a rock. All the elders gasp in amazement and begin to shake uncontrollably, their faces red and flustered. They cannot contain themselves and yell out "Little friend Chu Feng is so amazing" as they all ejaculate in unison from the excitement. They did this because they truly believed from the bottom of their hearts and from the tip of their penises that what Chu Feng had done was something no one else in all the worlds could do. The crowd cheered and called out Chu Feng's name as they reached to the cultivator on their left and began to jerk them off because they too had a tingly sensation on their penis caused by Chu Feng's amazing picking of the rock.

I have a problem, I feel like i've invested a lot of time and I keep digging my trench in deeper. I'm 3000 chapters in, I need to see it thru to the end, at the very least I have to skim thru the chapters until the end. Do yourself a favor and run, don't be fooled by the small hints to an interesting story, no matter how much you dig trying to find it, it will only get buried further and further in a pile of word vomit, and you will end up digging yourself into a trench just like mine.

EDIT: Finally managed to climb out of my trench and drop this constipated steaming piece of sh*t novel. I regret sticking with it this long. I had hoped the sh*tty main story would progress and eventually end, but all I got was just an endless stream of even sh*ttier repeatable side quests. If I could give this novel negative stars I would. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
October 13, 2018
Status: c115
I'm loving the story so far, but it wasn't until about chapter 15 that I got really into it. I would suggest you stick with it at least that far before deciding to drop it.

The novel is still in the very early stages, so it could go bad, many novel have a good start and later turn to garbage, but I'm optimistic about this one. The novel is very well written and well translated.

The MC is very interesting, very manipulative, but not in an asshole kind of way. He just... more>> wants to live a comfortable and peaceful life, so he tries to give side characters a helpful push into the glorious path of becoming heroes, while trying to remain unnoticed, but it looks like fate might have other plans for him.

I can't wait to see if the novel lives up to my expectations, I will be back to update this review in the future.

EDIT: So far this novel is a "feel good read" there arent many enemies for the MC to confront, so far it feel like a story about an MC traveling the world making friends with important or powerful people, collecting them like pokemon. This isn't a bad thing per say, but im hoping that the stakes are raised in the future. It is still relatively early and it feels like something is brewing in the background, but we only get glimpses of it, so I'm still optimistic. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Peerless Martial God 2
December 24, 2018
Status: c401
EDIT (ch. 401) :

At first I gave this 3 stars because very early on it felt like it was true to the original, but it has quickly deteriorated. The writing is very childish and cheesy, specially intimate moments between friends, family, and lovers. Lin Feng's personality is all over the place, one minute he is ruthless the next minute he is letting his enemies off easy. Last chapters I read he actually threatens to sue someone, that was the breaking point for me. Oh how the mighty have fallen. PMG... more>> was my first novel so it has a sweet spot in my heart, but reading this sequel has soured it.

<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
The Godsfall Chronicles
December 15, 2018
Status: v3c19
This is probably one of my favorites novels.

The Good:

    • Characters are not black and white, there is a lot of gray area.
    • Side characters are interesting and have real character development, specially in the later chapters. They have their own motivation and they dont always align with the MC's goals.
    • MC also has good character growth.
    • The story is very well written and translated.
    • Story progression is well paced and has a lot of fluidity from arc to arc.
    • The dialogue is often witty
The not so good:

    • The romance is lacking, there isn't much of it. Some female friendships and a couple of s*x scenes, but no real romantic development. I'm secretly hoping this earns a harem flag in the future, but so far no indication of it,
Contradicting other reviews:

    • Some reviews say the MC is too naive for growing up in the wastelands, but...
      Spoiler

      He was raised and taught by a kind and well educated old man in his early years, an old man who is hinted to have some extraordinary background and was very knowledgeable. So it is understandable that the MC would be different, kinder than all the savage ppl in the wastelands.

      [collapse]
      and he definitely matures throughout the novel.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Lord of All Realms
November 2, 2018
Status: c644
Very decent. The story so far is pretty standard cultivation novel. Nothing yet to significantly set it apart from other similar novels, but it has potential. It's written better than some other wuxia novels, but there is room for improvement.

Nuetral notes:

    • The Harem tag is probably not yet justified, based on translated chapters, it is still a Schrodinger's Harem, as in it both exists and doesn't exists until it is proven one way or the other. There are multiple romance flags, but MC has yet to pair up officially or go the distance with any of them, and non of them have shown any signs of being open to sharing, quite the opposite, the strongest flag carrier, the only one to have at least admitted her feelings to herself, is quite possessive.
What I disliked:

    • Some characters make very dumb choices, even the MC at times, but there are other characters that are more logical to help balance out the overall IQ.
    • I dont find the solo training parts particularly interesting. I wish they were shorter or skipped altogether. This is probably just a personal preference and not necessarily something the novel is doing wrong.
    • Aliases and disguises. I hate this tactic in all novels, specially when they happen more than once, and even more so when the chosen alias is ridiculously stupid, like changing one single character or syllable in your real name. Maybe these aliases make more sense in their original language, but not when translated. The one redeeming quality about this in this novel is that at one point someone actually calls it out and says the aliases are not very creative.
    • Too many names, everyone gets a name, even characters that die on the same chapter they are introduced often get named, making it hard to keep track of who is who at times given how similar the names are, throw in the occasional typo and it becomes a bit annoying to figure out if a new character is being introduced or an old one is coming back.
What I liked:

    • Alliances shift. This is something I'm liking right now, but has the potential to be ruined if overused. Today's enemy could be tomorrow's friend if the situation calls for it.
    • MC's master. I like the relationship between MC and his master.
    • The world. It is still early so world building has been limited, but there have been hint and references to a much larger world with a rich history. Hoping the novel delivers on that.
    • The Romance. Contrary to what other reviewers have mentioned, I like the romance flags that have been planted. They are not all conventional which makes things interesting. Hoping this novel turns out to deserve the harem tag and is not just one of those. "She smiled at me, now she is in my harem"
The spoils

    • Some people have complained about the romance flags planted. It is true that some are a bit controversial, but the issue is way too exaggerated. There are 2 controversial romance flags so far, but is not like the other flags went away just because these 2 flags exist.
      Spoiler

      Yu Tong: This girl was from one of the enemy sects. When MC and young members of the allied sects were on a training expeditions, the enemy sects sent their disciples, including Yu Tong, to go and killed them. MC and Yu Tong fought a couple of times and tried to kill each other multiple times. While it might appear as if Yu Tong is evil, it is clearly stated that the enemy sects are there for revenge because the allied sects had previously messed with one of their projects. I personally see this as two groups on different sides, and not necessarily good vs evil. After the expedition Yu Tong is obsessed with killing MC, cause he made her feel inferior and groped her during their previous encounters. Later on, both group of sects are forced to work together against outside forces, during which time their relationship starts to change slowly. In my opinion it doesn't look like MC intentionally let her escape in any of their battles, but rather they were closely matched, and is not like he only forgave her, all the sects united and forgave each other, considering that non of the people she personally killed were legit friends of the MC I don't see why she gets singled out in other reviews. I find their relationship interesting.

      [collapse]

      Spoiler

      Dong Li: This one is a bit more controversial and more questionable. She too was an enemy of the MC who tried to use and kill him, her personality is very selfish and she seems to only care about herself. When MC first joined her group he noticed right away that she was up to no good. After she killed all the other members of the group the MC tricked her, groped her (sounds familiar?), and set her up so a strong cultivator would kill her, unfortunately said cultivator was in her pocket. After that, MC ran around destroying her plans, killing her people, and leaving mocking messages. She felt humiliated and spent all efforts trying to kill him until eventually they were both forced to retreat. Later on, MC befriends her brother, who has great character. She laters tries to use MC again by forcing him to go on an expedition with her and help her get treasures by threatening his family, with no intention to actually harm them, but with every intention to manipulate the MC. The MC is not happy about this, but her brother tells him that his family is in no danger and that she is just bluffing, he also tells him that he can refuse to go on the expedition, but that he might benefit from it if he goes, and asks him as a favor to look out for his troublesome sister if he goes. With time their relationship changes, they save each other's lives, and come to understand each other better. The way they met is abnormal and I can understand why people find it hard to accept the romance flags that are planted, specially since this is the strongest flag so far. Some things to keep in mind are that Dong Li was doing her original killings as part of a mission from her clan, not sure why she was sent on that sort of mission, or if the killing was a core part of it, or just her way of accomplishing it. Worth noting to that MC knew she was trouble from the start and chose to join and remain in her group, he also knew the others in the group were being set up to die by her and he chose to let them die, not quite the same as killing them, but MC is no saint. Regardless, she clearly only cares about herself and those close to her, and has no problem killing everyone else, MC wasn't close to her at the beginning, but he is now, and since he became close she has fiercely defended him. I like this relationship because it is different, I also like that the MC is aware of how abnormal it is, and is embarrassed when others point out she tried to kill him. In my opinion he has forgiven and in some case befriended people who have come much closer to actually killing him for the sake of a greater goal so I'm not bothered by it.

      [collapse]
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Peerless Martial God
October 12, 2018
Status: c2500
Disclaimer: This was my first novel and so it hold a special place in my heart. I may have subconsciously been lenient with my rating, but even with that in mind I still think this novel is above average.

EDIT: Finally finished the novel, overall I'm sticking to my statement above that the novel is above average, least it hooked me for 2500 chapters. The last hundred or so chapters felt rushed, I think more time passed in the last 100 chapters then the 2400 before it, but I liked the ending, and apparently there is a sequel, i'll be picking that one up too.

The Bad:

    • Rocky start: The first 500 or so chapters are the weakest, they don't do much to set it apart from other cultivation novels, but it gets much better in the later chapters in my opinion, less predictable, I mean it is a cultivation novel so it is still predictable, but there are some interesting twists and turns that catch you off guard from time to time.
    • Side character presence: Some characters dont get enough screen time, including his harem, I wish they were a bit more present, but maybe their absence is the reason I appreciate them when they are around.
    • The MC disguises himself and goes under an alias more times than I would have liked. I'm personally not a fan of that tactic.
    • Skills: This one might just be a personal pet peeve, but I find it hard to visualize a lot of the sh*t that happens in fights, I'm not sure if is just a normal thing in this genre (only read a handful so far), or maybe my imagination sucks, but what the hell is a giant palace coming out of a forehead supposed to look like? and when cultivators turn into swords, is that like a metaphor? I chose to view it as such, but based on the descriptions its probably not a metaphor. idk the scales of these fights are just beyond my imagination, im curious to see how it gets illustrated in the manhua 10 years from now when it catches up.
The Good:

    • It gets better: Like I mentioned before if you stick with it then it gets better. The recurring characters become less predictable, not all characters, but enough to keep you interested. The story becomes more personal, more interesting as MC progresses and meets people who have an impact on him one way or the other.
    • Loose ends get tied up: At first I was mad cause some characters seem to get forgotten and not mentioned for a long time, but they eventually (in some cases a thousand plus chapters later) show up again, their absence addressed, and story concluded or integrated into the current arc.
    • Cool MC: He is badass but not entirely heartless. He is not always stronger than his enemies at first, but you best believe he is going to find a way and come back swinging later. MC always pays his debts.
    • Well written: It isn't game of thrones, but compared to the garbage you often see in these chinese novels, like martial god asura, the writing and quality of translation is good.
    • Release speed: as of the writing of this review we are getting 40 chapters per week, and only a couple hundred more chapters left so should be completed soon.
The Spoils:

    • The fate of my favorite side character.
      Spoiler

      Wen Ao Xue disappears from the novel for over a thousand chapters, and when he comes back it turns out he is a she, which cool i'd be down for her in the harem, but instead due to irreconcilable differences she ends up on the enemy side and dies... :' (

      [collapse]
    • The common trope mentioned by other reviewers.
      Spoiler

      The aphrodisiac killer drug that requires s*x to cure. I'm not offended by the trope, I just dont find it creative and think it cheapens the story. That being said it is far from the worst use of the trope and if I recall correctly the gimmick is only used that one time.

      [collapse]
    • Most characters that I thought forgotten came back, but there are a couple less important ones that I dont think have a clear stated fate.
      Spoiler

      What happened to his grandfather, he hasnt been mentioned in a while, and more concerning what of his cousin who joined the sphere of influence "Shen Gong" in the small world? Shen Gong was apparently mostly destroyed by one of MC's teacher, but his fate is never directly addressed. I would think if he had died the grandfather would have mentioned it before he too went MIA given how attached he was to him.

      [collapse]
    • An unmourned companion.
      Spoiler

      Qiong Qi deserved better, he was a good boy. When Yan Di took over his body I kept expecting him to at some point move on to another body and release Qiong Qi. Don't get me wrong I heart Yan Di, he is my second favorite side character, but poor Qiong Qi, he was a good beast

      [collapse]
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
December 15, 2018
Status: c1560
This novel is extremely average in this genre, I would give it a 2.5 straight down the middle, maybe slightly less than 2.5 so I'm rounding it to 2 instead of 3.

Peerless Martial God was my very first novel, so I was not yet tired of the cultivation cliches, but even looking back and trying to be objective I much prefer PMG to this one.

What I like:

  • MC's relationship with his wives, there is some decent amount of development and MC is not just tossing around pokeballs trying to catch 'em all, there is a bit of a downside to this which I will talk about later.
  • MC's relationship with his friends is also very good, there is a real sense of brotherhood.
  • MC is ruthless, tho I wish he was less arrogant
  • The early story is interesting and has some complexity to it, but it deteriorates not far into the novel, a thousand+ chapters later the story seems to be improving again.
What I dislike:

  • If it has a pus*y it likely falls in love with the MC. I like that the MC is not trying to "catch 'em all" but I wish the author wouldn't make every single female fall for the MC. I just feel bad for them pining for the MC, it is a waste of good pus*y, at least let them fall for MC's friends or something, don't burden them with unrequited love.
  • The fights are boring, I often find myself skipping to the part where the enemy dies or flees. Sometimes these fights are long too, like if they were animated they would give Dragonball a run for its money.
  • "You're courting DEATH!". I've never met an MC who said that as often as this one does. MC's dialogue often reminds me of the young master's from other novels. I mean I get that most of the time they offend the MC first, but it is still weird to see the MC act so arrogantly.
  • Logic is often thrown out the window. This is a world where the strong rule, but sometimes...
    • Instead of war, lets do a contest with a ton of arbitrary rules to determine the winner and the fate of our empires, even tho we all know ultimately war will happen and this is just a waste of time, an excuse for MC to run across some magic beans.
    • You are more powerful than my people, but im here to demand your daughters marry me under some ancient weird law. Instead of killing me on the spot like any strong father should in this universe, lets have a convoluted contest to determine the future of your precious daughters, even tho we all know ultimately you will have to fight us and the hidden power behind us..
  • Bad guy bad acting happens too often:
    • My disciple will kill you and then we will rape your entire family. *MC kills deciple*. Why must you be so ruthless, this was only a spar. Men arrest him.
    • I'm going to break the rules and use this weapon to kill you. *Fails to kill MC despite breaking the rules*. Powerful daddy ancestor emperor, this vile MC broke the rules and tried to use a weapon to kill me in secret, uphold justice for me.
  • The same names get re-used which is annoying. There are like 3 Jiang clans with zero relationship to each other.
  • Other then some fights dragging on, some story arcs also drag on, they feel artificially extended.
    • I must do X to prove myself worthy of love interest, but now that I have accomplished X someone has taken her away and demanded I do Y, but now that I have accomplished Y something else happens and the princess is in another castle.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Against the Gods
December 15, 2018
Status: c1245
As far as cultivation novels go this is a pretty decent one. It has its flaws, but if you are looking for cultivation novels you've seen these flaws before, they are so common that you might as well consider them features since it almost appears intentional in the genre.

I was originally planning to give this 4 stars, but thats because I read ~1200 chapters back to back, so I could skim though the boring parts and focus on the fun bits, but once I caught up it dawned on me... more>> that some chapters feel padded and story progress is not as fast paced as it originally felt, but it's nowhere near as bad as some other novels (Martial God Asura, I'm looking at you).

Random Thoughts:

    • I personally like the harem of this novel, is not the best implementation of a harem and it has a lot of cliche aspects to it, but overall I find it enjoyable.
    • Some of the characters are annoying (Little Aunt, I'm looking at you).
    • Few characters have any real character development, there was an opportunity for a Goku x Vegeta type of relationship but sadly they f**ked that up and killed of Vegeta in the most pathetic way possible.
    • The fights are usually fun, more noticeable in the later chapters.
In summary, if you are looking for a cultivation novel this is a good one to kill time with, there are better one out there, but there are also definitely many worse ones out there. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
A Will Eternal
March 12, 2019
Status: c450
I enjoyed it at first, but the comedy got repetitive and a funny situation can only be funny so many times. Maybe it gets better later on, seems like a lot of people like it, but it wasnt for me. I jumped off somewhere around chapter 450. Maybe i'll give it another shot in the future when I run out of things to read.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Monarch of Evernight
December 16, 2018
Status: v5c161
This is a great novel. I dont understand why so many gave it 1 star, this is far better than many novels that have a high rating on here, but I suppose to each his own, I can only tell you why I like it and it is up to you to give it a shot.

The good:

    • The setting is pretty rare in this genre, a mixture of your traditional cultivation novel with a dark theme of vampires, werewolves, and other creatures, sprinkled with some gun slinging. So this is a good choice for people interested in reading something fresh.
    • The writing is very good, at least compared to the majority of the novel in the same genre.
    • There is character growth, people complain that the MC is weak or naive, but I think these people gave up on the novel too early. If the MC is flawless from the get go what growth can he have?
    • The relationship with other character is great, specially the recurring side characters, they are unique and have a story of their own and are not just backup dancers.
    • The fights are interesting
The bad:

    • The story can move slowly at time
      • Sometimes you can go multiple chapters with zero dialogue which makes the story feel even slower.
      • Fights are fun, but too much time is spent on fights with nameless, one-off characters which can also make the story feel slower.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Swallowed Star
March 22, 2019
Status: c600
This novel had a really strong start, with initially great world building, but then it lost me when the story expended in scope, I actually liked the expansion at first, but it quickly deteriorated as it kept expanding rapidly to the point where the size of the world was meaningless and lacked any sort of depth and substance.

This is the second IET novel I read and the second I'm disappointed with, which I did not expect given how highly regarded he is, perhaps his work is just not a good... more>> fit for me or maybe third time is the charm.

Positives:

    • The sci-fi setting, it is an interesting setting for a cultivation novel.
    • The tropes are not as prevalent as they are in other novels, not too many arrogant young masters in this one, at least not in the chapters I read.
    • Relationships with family and friends are well done, tho they seem to be getting less and less relevant by the time I dropped it.
    • Fight were really interesting in the start, tho this too deteriorated with the expansion.
Negatives:

    • World building after the first 400-500 chapters.
      Spoiler

      The MC ends up leaving earth and going to outer space and quickly realizes how small his world view was, but instead of exploring the universe, new planets, new races, and new cultures, most of the time is spent inside of a ship or inside a virtual world where distance means nothing cause everyone in all the universe has access to it, and death means nothing so al the battles that happen here are pointless. He is gifted 100 planet and doesn't explore them, he is gifted a galaxy and doesn't really explore it. All the races he seems to meet are not much different from humans and not much about them is explored.

      [collapse]
    • Some important moments seem to get glossed over while other less important moments end up taking way too long.
      Spoiler

      He comes back from the dead after saving the world and the reaction to it is way too brief, while training a single move can go on for many chapters.

      [collapse]
    • Conflict resolutions were anticlimactic, with few exceptions. I loved his first couple of enemies, the way they came after MC and the way MC fought them, but later ones were disappointing
      Spoiler

      I'm struggling to think of any enemy who was not from earth and was not a lacky who actually died, I think they all escape, or die in virtual space. The only enemy I have fond memories of is the rival squad back on the early days of earth.

      [collapse]
Minor annoyances:

    • Inconsistent morality. I dont mind a dark story, I dont need MCs to be moral, but what bugs me is when MCs talk like they are moral but then their actions contradict them. This wasn't a big deal, but a minor annoyance for me.
      Spoiler

      The MC is apparently disgusted by slavery but buys slaves, bets on slave death matches, and uses some secret technique to brainwash (soul-wash?) powerful experts making them forget any old loyalties and revere him as master, makes them slaves at a level even crueler than the existing slavering system.

      [collapse]
    • The training chapters are boring. This is likely just a personal thing as I find this to be the case in most (not all) novels, so I tend to skim through them.
    • Exposition kind of sucks, which doesn't help world building, basically just data dumps every so often with a lot of useless information that could easily be inferred through context.
    • The inclusion of the stock market. A surprisingly amount of chapters keep bringing up the stock market, which would not be a bad thing if it was relevant to the story and not so ridiculously dumbed down, but as is, it feels like it is just there to give the mc's brother something to do.
    • Currencies, too many words wasted away explaining currencies and exchange rates which don't really matter in the grand scheme of things and should really only be mentioned once if at all.
    • Names, this one is more on the translators I think, but the amount of times a name changes is ridiculous, sometimes in the same paragraph the same person will be referred to by two very different spellings of the name. For example "Brolin" and "Bu Luo Lin" are used interchangeably. Maybe I'm being picky, but it was an annoyance and in some cases I legit thought there were two characters and got super confused as to what was going on in the story.
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
The Desolate Era
March 15, 2019
Status: v5
I was disappointed, I let the hype get to me because so many people were describing this novel as a must read for any cultivation fan, so I was expecting at the very least a 3 star experience. This novel is highly overrated in my opinion. I couldn't get past book 5, and I only made it that far cause I kept stubbornly hoping it would get better. The biggest praise I can give this novel is that it is not as bad as Martial God Azura, but it is... more>> not much better and thats not hard to accomplish. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GrumpyNPC
GrumpyNPC rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
October 13, 2018
Status: c1422
This was the first novel I ever dropped, not the only one, but def the first to open the flood gates.

The Good:

His relationship with his family, clan, and children is interesting, not often is enough screen time given to family in these novels, but that being said, the romance/conquest part of it is pretty boring and repetitive.

The only other good thing about this novel is that after dropping it I no longer hesitate to drop other novels when they let me down. I used to stick with garbage to the... more>> end, with maybe one or two exception that I just skim thru to see how they will end, but this novel broke me.

The Bad:

Progress: This novel has a lot word vomit, there is just so much boring crap in-between the lightly interesting bits. Redundant or unnecessary poorly written descriptions make me want to pull our my hair. The power ups are so underwhelming because he gets them without putting in any effort like literally tripping over treasures. It is worse than using ↑ ↑ ↓ ↓ ← → ← → A B START on a konami game.
Spoiler

In the blink of an eye he becomes a doctor, a chef, a blacksmith, an alchemist, a jewelcrafter, a leatherworker, a miner, etc. Simply because he had s*x with someone and powered up or got hit in the head, or some bullsh*t I dont even remember, I think I just started listing world of warcraft professions at the end there cause blanked out like I did while reading most of these chapters. Not only did he learn to be all those things magically, but also the best at all those things in the entire world apparently.

[collapse]

The Dialogue: There isnt that much dialogue, sometimes you get like 2-3 back to back training chapter (calling it training is a disservice to the word) and these often have zero dialogue. Most of what is said is cringe worthy ass kissing from the crowd, random passerby, or side characters, or illogical justifications to try and cover up dumb decision making. There is also the "romantic" dialogue that sounds like what an antisocial 13 year old would think is s*xy or romantic to say.

The Plot: The story is full of inconsistencies. The MC is constantly described as mature but acts immaturely. He pursues "mature" women yet these women act like teenage girls with zero experience around him. He makes a lot of questionable choices, but none of them seems to ever have any negative consequences. The plot armor is strong with this one.

The Math: 2+2=fish in this novel. If you know elementary school math then you know more then the writer, and unfortunately he uses it in almost every fight, with dumb percentages being mentioned often. The numbers contradict each other all the time and change from chapter to chapter with no explanation.

The Harem: it was interesting at first, usually these novels don't spend as much time in the slice of life harem part of the story, but it got tiring and repetitive pretty quick, no challenge. The MC trips over new ass the same way he trips over treasures. These girls he meets lose whatever little personality they had when introduced, after getting with the MC they all turn into the same 1 dimensional shy lovesick teenage girl regardless of how "mature" they are in age. The way he gets some of these girls is also ridiculous.
Spoiler

I'm not particularly offended by the presence of non-consensual s*x, but I just think the trope of killer aphrodisiac poison that needs to be screwed out of the girl's system is boring and lacks imagination, it cheapens an already cheap story, and it happened with like 3-4 of his wives, and I did not even finish the story, I bet it happens again

[collapse]
he doesn't seem to learn from his mistakes.

This is the worst novel I have read so far, and im told the chapter word count was reduced in later chapters, which is hard to justify when 90% of it was already filler word vomit. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report