Report Review
33 Reviews


GregLuck
OP-MC slaughtering common sense for fun, that's how I would describe it. But that's it, just that nothing extraordinary new nor unique. Basically anyone that meet MC either get rekt, or admire him to praise him over and over.

TLDR:

... more>>
Spoiler

your usual OP-MC wrecking common sense and harem building, don't expect something great or new

[collapse]

The story is your usual trope with slight different name and spec, and also there seems to be some flawed logic behind the premise of reincarnated to the future, yet the magic and technology is getting on decline. (Though it is highly connected with the past self MC).

If you want to look for a enjoying slice of live, semi comedy, OP-MC, and wrecking story's common sense, then this is for you.

If you hate the typical mumbling of random japanese minded MC, or possibly thick headed, or something like that, this is not for you. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
Your usual reincarnation trope, with somehow all of the premise in this novel are the used up theme in every jp novel.

  • Salaryman - check
  • Reincarnated - check
  • Non-human MC - check
  • MC turn to human - check
  • Save damsel in distress - check
  • Buy slaves - check
  • Slaves love MC - check
Yet with all of the common tropes used, still somehow decent-ish.

I agree with chamchaworld, if the story revolve with him staying as a dragon with his slime minion, this could be something good, but no the author decided to use the usual trope and throw... more>> away any poaaibility of this novel become slightly unique.

I even thought that the author uses some algorithm where he pick the common trope and only inserting a different name and the story is automatically generated.

Thats how bland this story. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Reincarnation into the Barrier Master
April 18, 2017
Status: c70
As of c15, this is my opinion

... more>>
Spoiler

I got to say there are too many minus in this novel, from the MC character, world building, plot, etc.

The first and most annoying is the pace of the story and world building, while this story is progressing you can not enjoy nor understood much. The way author tells story and the world is like the author only retold some good story he ever heard, it's like just skimming through without any emotion.

The world building and lack of any sort of enjoyment is total letdown. The world lack character and interaction, he is a slave/butler, yet no other maid or servant ever evidently talking or having interaction beside Falco.
You know that there are lots of novel that is just bad with the plots, fan-service, OP-WTF-moment, yet when you read some chapter of them you kinda get attached and just following the translation for filler in wait your favorite novel chapter released, THIS NOVEL IS NOT THAT KIND.

This novel is the type of when you close the browser and don't open it in a few days, you will forget it, dropped the novel, and still not feeling anything. Yes, that is how insignificant this novel is.
As you can see from the other review, that most of them didn't even read to 2 digits chapter. I force myself to read up to chapter 15 and still, no enjoyment, no relatable things, no emotion playing, the world building is ugly, plot is nothing, character is emotionless doll. And I still kind enough to give it a 2 star.

[collapse]

After reading to c56, I revise it to 3, 5 star.

Spoiler

The plot really did get twisted, gotta appreciate the author for that twist. I thought that the story was going to be super-loyal-invincible-butler thing and I was wrong.
No one expect that kind of twist, although it somehow ends up with your usual OP-MC enjoy life will collecting harem. But it still has a uniqueness to the usual harem plot. Although that twist at the beginning, the usual delish-food-everyone-happy story somehow still shows up.

Beside that, there is still many inconsistency about the MC skill from barrier master to somehow anything you could think of is possible inside barrier.
Basically it gets little better as it goes, there is still many flaws and weakness to this novel, it is still on barely decent.

[collapse]

As of ch.70, the story took a drastic change.

From what used to be a struggling emotional MC, now just become your usual super-OP-pushover-MC.

The inconsistency of this novel is just unbelievable. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
A Certain Middle-Aged Man’s VRMMO Activity Log
January 8, 2017
Status: c46
It start of with a good story and premises, but further and further in the story is getting more nonsense and tasteless.

The fact that the MC only play a few hours a day and yet can keep up with the top tier maniac player is already unimaginable. Of course there's no player level in the game and only have skill lvl, but the MC somehow is always the first and become the finder of new things, and the other player won't even think of trying to do what MC doing.

Each... more>> player only got 10 skill slots, and somehow our MC which is half-assing in picking some ordinary combo are the first in everything. How come you can defeat an opponent who's skill all honed to just one single purpose while you are only half-fighter whose time spent more in cooking and crafting.

It's like every other player are a fifth grader playing their first game who can't even think of anything than following online guide.

A maniac player will exist and always exist in every game, and yet this casual old man somehow one-upped them while half-assing.

Also beside that there's that sentient AIs, is it truly a sentient AI or is it connected to other world I don't know. But, in my opinion "The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor" are better than this, sure if you like slice of life, my pace, happy-go-lucky thing, this novel is totally for you. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Wortenia Senki
June 13, 2017
Status: v2c11
First of all, you got to know that it is not some wish fulfillment novel where it gets stronger exponentially. NO. Our MC are trained to be able to kill while on Earth.

The premise of being able to get stronger by killing (level) is there, but not being a main point of interest. Each act and the consequences of Ryouma is well thought.

The author way of hinting and bringing story is good, it flows well and have a good twist.

... more>>
Spoiler

like when Ryouma is so desperate can't go back to the previous world, the author hint it that Ryouma have another whole of dark side 'personality' reside inside him, yet doesn't spoil the story and make a good moment with the twins.

[collapse]

Also the MC is not just brute-force type, nor just the know-it-all guy which make every story just unbearable.

If I have to describe it, it's like a 'summoned slaughterer' and 'genjitshu oukokuzaki' combined and a poured into the plot of 'sevens' here and there. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Ore to Kawazu-san no Isekai Hourouki
May 5, 2017
Status: c35
First of all, this novel is not about struggling against enemy, but about defying common sense.

The premise is good, the comical jokes also fine. The world building is balanced, it grows steadily as the story goes. Although the story filled with OP moment, you can't predict what is actually gonna happen.

But, somehow this novel just seem cursed, as every translator that doing it somehow ends up missing or drop dead.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
January 12, 2017
Status: c190
This story is an interesting one. Okay it starts with a slow my-pace feels, but the plot and mystery each chapter reveal is astonishing and fresh.

Might have a feel of a slight misunderstand or happy-go-lucky, but turns out to be the author's way to hide the turn of event.

Good point of view, the world building and character personalization is clear and good.

A must read.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
January 12, 2017
Status: Completed
If I have to say, this is what hooks me on light novels.

The way story flows, the plot and twist is unexpected and good. Not some weak-hearted or half ass story where every thing always goes well, but could give a tension ans curiosity for each chapter you read.

Not the super-OP-cant-touch-me kind of MC, the harem is good, bit funny but lovable and logical. Each character is well developed and not just some random added character. But a clear human, not just some filler
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
I thought there was gonna be some little adventure or at least a little bit of struggle. But no, what this novel is, is a cuteness overloaded story, which is fine if there is some other side to balance it.

... more>>
Spoiler

Firstly, every single act the MC do that author write is like a kid trying to make a bedtime stories for another baby. No reasoning, no explaining, no hinting, almost every act makes me wanted to shout WHY? The god is prostrating, sure many is like that, but almost every time he met the god prostrating, why? All god's faction and it's retainer wanted to get to MC's good side like he was someone above the god, WHY?

The story is too damn fast, the god imbues every single basic knowledge he needs, which make MC just boring. If this was a game, MC is basically playing new game+ with every item on storage, max stat, full walkthrough, with command windows for admin. He basically made god become his servant.

It's like you are eating a strawberry cheesecake, with honey, covered in ice cream using candy cane spoon with caramel topping, with a slice of orange on top. Which is basically diabetes.

[collapse]

TL/DR:

Only cute, story is boring, lots of reasoning flaws and plot hole (if there is any plot). <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
September 30, 2017
Status: c100
At first I thought it would be a quick paced story, but in the contrary, it is quite slow. The story focus on the childhood of our MC.

This is not my type of novel, this is for you who search fluffy-feel-self-mumbling type of MC. If you like something soft after you read some hardcore sadist novel, this is for you.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
The Crimson Dragon
May 2, 2017
Status: c18
An unexpected good novel, I have a slight prejudice against chinese novel, yet this novel break pass through the common troupe of novels.

TLDR:

... more>>
Spoiler

Good story, unique MC, worth read

[collapse]

A unique story involving reincarnation as a dragon, but not your usual type of pu**y MC like japan's common story, or bastard prideful know-it-all chinese's story. The MC is smart, genuine, felt real, and still have that quirk that makes him lovable. It's the kind of likable and relatable.

The story pacing is good, the info dumping on the earlier chapter is fine and doesn't feel forced.

The world building is good and steady, it grows as the story progress and unveil new info.

The characters is well developed (still 3 that have come, the rest still haven' appeared), although with only little chapter you already get the gist of them.

Basically, some fresh wind for the novel reader that read too many novels and bored with the usual trope. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
November 25, 2017
Status: c170
Basically Overlord get dumbed down and given some comedy.

Too many character introduced all at once, still okay, but most of them just doesn't have any distinction. Pacing is decent, but the world building was shallow.

I don't know if it's the author or translator, but there is just some paragraph or sentences that doesn't make sense and also they way author / translator narrate is just plain bad.
The progress of world building just doesn't feel right, just rushed without any decent thought. I have no problem for the world building... more>> to be rushed, I just don't feel the end result is good enough.

This might be a bit biased, but this is totally a dumbed down overlord with moe chara. The only thing this novel does better than overlord is the MC get laid, everything else is inferior.

I can totally read this novel and follow it, but not gonna recommend it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Reincarnated into a Werewolf, the Demon Lord Servants
January 13, 2017
Status: c42
If you like a logical, strategic, or realistical reincarnation novel, this one is the thing for you.

MC reincarnated as a werewolf, doesn't really have attachment to his previous life, and think very logically. Not your everyday OP MC where he gets to be the top boss suddenly, working slowly with his limitation and condition. Not a super dense, and an agreeable MC.

It's a shame the translator didn't get author's permission to translate and stopped the translation ever since.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
My MCV and Doomsday
May 8, 2018
Status: c346
It start with a good premise, good world building, decent pace, but it slowly deteriorate into your usual OP-MC-knows-it-all wandering the doomsday.

At first it still have some clear and concise goal, but as of ch.340 its practically just author forcing the story to go without any planning. As the story progress there is less and lesser antagonist that could give MC any harship, its not that he is the strongest of all, its just he the poor planning by the author. The basis of MC's power is making thr story... more>> stagnate. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
I actually wanted to give it 2, 5 stars. This novel is pretty generic with bad writing, no backstory, too many flaws on setting and world building.

Imagine, world without anything except land and some stream of water, all necessity came from dungeons, including money, just how bad is the environment that grass is not even there, but strangely on the ilustration it's all greenery. The author just practically write anything that comes to mind into the novel without thinking how it would go, how it would affect the upcoming chapter... more>> or whatsoever.

TOO MANY FLAWS IN LOGIC.

It was mentioned that anything came from the dungeon, even material for building a house, BUT on chapter 87 it was clearly mentioned that they have trees.
Spoiler

[Yeap, though it was blocked by trees, but sometimes you can see it from a certain perspective.] (Alice)

[collapse]

Also, the author said that you can't plant anything or herd anything outside, but they have a village which literally doing nothing, without any income, and the 'big city' kept them around 'just in case' a dungeon will appear ??

I have to mention that the way author put prices on the 'farming' of drop item is ridiculous, a whole salmon cost more than 1 million yen, etc. I have to mention that even though our MC have a crazy amount of strength, he never ever even once of thinking of utilizing it's strength by using sword/axe/hammer or any other arms, instead he was fixated on using guns, in which he have to mind the ammo. And I have to mention that the gun the MC use is a revolver, but in the story it says it uses up an entire magazine, though it's possibly error in TL. The author thinking is so shallow, and honestly I think the author is a fifth grader trying to write a novel.

Also, the dungeon names what based on element, that suggest there should be around only around 115 dungeon would exist, and it was inferred that each city would have around 4-6 dungeon, so that makes it only 20-25 city exists. That in itself shows how small minded is the author. Practically the world building is total crap. I repeat, TOTAL CRAP WORLD BUILDING

The logic flaws, plot hole, no clear aim, shallow MC, unclear side character, lots and lots and lots of stupid choice by MC is making me frustrated.

One of the biggest logic flaw is when you a dropped item have no human around it for a few moment, they will turn into monster again, if it's trash it's become some frankenstein's monster, just imagine you cooking rice and let it go for a while came into kitchen full of monster rampaging. There is too many question hanging about the world building, no clear distinction, no clear laws. Just imagine how far people would go just to transfer rice, or wheat, a staple food.

Another flaw is when MC make the rogue monster drop item, he could actually get unlimited exp from it, he just didn't realized it, total idiot. Item drop > rogue monster > better item drop > rogue monster > better item drop. All the while having exp ball collected each time monster killed, and the item getting better in quality.

Okay, now that the worst part from the novel is barely over, the novel somehow is entertaining, it's like a stupid show but you just keep watching it. There is a slight typical jap-skit, tsukkomi.

Anyway, if you are fine with reading a half-assed story with lots of flaws, but makes you slightly entertained, then go ahead. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
September 30, 2017
Status: c100
If you like a story that have no clear purpose / base, while the MC is totally happy-go-lucky pushover brat, then this is for you.

It feels like some middle or high schooler writing about OP MC with dull plot and no clear purpose.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
June 29, 2017
Status: c128
First of all, this is not the novel where you would know what's going to happen in a few chapters.

Once you read it, you could sympathize with the MC. Also, the plot itself is amazing and lots of twist.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC actually try and succeed to be a god, but not the usual where being a god means having all world under control, but more like he get to make a new admin of the world and make new kind of 'power'.

He is literally twisting the world's rule to his will. Colluding with a death god, changing someone's gender, lots of twist there.

[collapse]

Just try to read until c50 and you would understand why this novel deserve 5 star. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
Legend
April 10, 2017
Status: c35
At the first I thought it was going like "man picked up by gods", going with the favorable reincarnation and taming. But then it feels like arifureta.

-character is just bland
The MC character seems pretty altered after reincarnating, at the first chapter the way author describe things is vivid clear, after a while it just seem like author lost motivation. The MC just don't have any specific character quirk, just like an emotionless empty shell after few chaps.

It was like, 'you all are below me, praise me or die', not... more>> the kind like a relatable MC, just like a big douche with OP skills.

-the world building is fine, but lack the plot, not 'plot'

-overall is fine, just fine.
Although it safely pass the usual generic doom (OP but not stupidly OP, got the world goes around just fine), it just lack something I can't describe, like what those generic have. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
The premises is promising but it fails to deliver a good flow of story, it feels like a forced my-pace-story. Although leveling is good, the chapters getting boring each time to level up

But it is a good read for casual read
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
GregLuck
GregLuck rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
June 7, 2018
Status: Completed
First of all, the rating I gave might / might not be based on frustation because of preference.

The author starts the novel with a smooth sailing and great prospect, going down a little bit because of some repetitive act, and end it like a real a--hole. From any possible ending the author could give, he choose to butcher it, give the worst possible ending.

Actually the story is easy to follow, although predictable. The plot is quite good actually, the harem is actually not so bad (although if you read till... more>> the end you would doubt the harem tag). The battle is not intense at all.

For me I even suggest to not read the last 4 arc and find a fanfic out there. All in all decently written, but for goodness sake, the way it ends just bad, lazy, despairing, also anti-climatic. Heck, I'll settle for the usual harem happy-ending or even the 'battle still going on', rather than this lazy ass 3rd rate ending. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report